Pop-Out Girl
When Zane Hollister returns home to Las Vegas after two years in prison and discovers his showgirl-lover is with another guy, he goes ballistic. After stalking and taunting the couple for months, his toxic jealousy takes a darker turn. To wipe out new boyfriend Colton, Zane masterminds a devilish zip line accident and a terrifying car crash. When those fail, he resorts to kidnapping Jen and forcing her to marry him. And it gets even worse when Zane shoots Colton’s boss, Matt, by mistake as he aims for Colton in a horrific drive-by shooting.With Matt lingering in a coma, Jen’s cocktail-waitress mother, Brandi, absorbs a seismic shock of her own. After hearing Matt’s name on the local news, she realizes he’s her first love of decades past—and Jen’s real father. Will Matt emerge from his coma to reunite with Brandi and Jen? Do the cops nab Zane, who’s hiding out in Hawaii? And can Jen and Colton’s love survive Zane’s lethal jealousy?There’s a happy ending for some, but not for all, in Pop-Out Girl.

Pop-Out Girl Details

TitlePop-Out Girl
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseApr 30th, 2017
PublisherSynergEbooks
Number of pages188 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Pop-Out Girl Review

  • Cheryl
    May 14, 2017
    Do not judge a book by its cover. This book has a lot of good, solid substance with good characters and a nice storyline. The story that the author writes is one where readers can find a connection with all of the characters in this book. Although, at the beginning of this book, I was starting to have second thoughts about it. It felt too "fluffy" and I was not feeling any of the characters or the story. Just in part two of this book, which goes back in time to set up the present events that hap Do not judge a book by its cover. This book has a lot of good, solid substance with good characters and a nice storyline. The story that the author writes is one where readers can find a connection with all of the characters in this book. Although, at the beginning of this book, I was starting to have second thoughts about it. It felt too "fluffy" and I was not feeling any of the characters or the story. Just in part two of this book, which goes back in time to set up the present events that happen in part one; this was a whole different story. I instantly was connected to the characters and what I was reading. My only real complaint had to do with Brandi and Matt's story. They kept mentioning their great love for each other but Brandi never one sought out Matt again and Matt tried but not very hard. If they shared this deep love, I wanted them to fight for it more. So, it kind of was exhausting hearing them both mention each other when they were in other relationships all the time.My overall thoughts about this book: More then a comedyGood charactersNice storylineEasy readingWill read more books from this author.
    more
  • Georgia
    June 25, 2017
    Review can also be found in Chill and readJen is a Pop-Out girl in Las Vegas shows. She lives a quiet life with her waitress mother in Sin City. She has met a young man, Colton, from Silicon Valley during one of her shows for Colton’s boss. That is all after her ex-boyfriend and first love of hers gets locked up in prison. All is about to change as Zane is released from prison and claims her back in his life.The story starts pretty fast and engaging with Zane going ballistic over Jen. A Jen who Review can also be found in Chill and readJen is a Pop-Out girl in Las Vegas shows. She lives a quiet life with her waitress mother in Sin City. She has met a young man, Colton, from Silicon Valley during one of her shows for Colton’s boss. That is all after her ex-boyfriend and first love of hers gets locked up in prison. All is about to change as Zane is released from prison and claims her back in his life.The story starts pretty fast and engaging with Zane going ballistic over Jen. A Jen who does not want anything to do with him after his drug problem and lock up. She has a smooth life ahead of her and she doesn’t want Zane to abrupt it. But he won’t take no for an answer and he will go beyond logic by kidnapping Jen.After the kidnapping adventure goes off, we get to know a little bit about everyone in the story. Jen’s mother and how Jen was born. Colton and his family. Colton’s boss and hs whereabouts and off course Zane.It is a crazy heartbreaking story, where a mother confesses her sins to her only child while waiting for the love of her life to recover from a coma. A young lady finds out about her real life father after over two decades and realizes that had she been with him all along her life and that of her mother’s would be a different one. Difficult choices had to be made at difficult times, under stress and negativity. It goes without saying that “…we are who we are today, because of the choices we made yesterday…”
    more
  • April Wood
    June 21, 2017
    Jen makes her living emerging from multi-tiered cakes, singing and dancing for Stripper Grams. She’s a romantic, with a troubled past. Pop-Out Girl is a chick lit novel that chronicles Jen’s life, and how poor choices made by both her mother, Brandi, and herself, lead to a series of devastating tragedies, that in the end pave the way to their happily-ever-after.Pop-Out Girl by Woodbury is a fast-paced tale of love, revenge, and tragedy — but it is not without hope. The story is told in third per Jen makes her living emerging from multi-tiered cakes, singing and dancing for Stripper Grams. She’s a romantic, with a troubled past. Pop-Out Girl is a chick lit novel that chronicles Jen’s life, and how poor choices made by both her mother, Brandi, and herself, lead to a series of devastating tragedies, that in the end pave the way to their happily-ever-after.Pop-Out Girl by Woodbury is a fast-paced tale of love, revenge, and tragedy — but it is not without hope. The story is told in third person, and features the perspectives of not only the heroine and her mother, but the villain too — which I really like in a story! I also really like the cover, as I feel it fits the mood of the story.This story is a good match for readers who enjoy dramatic fast paced stories where there is literally NEVER a dull moment. The drama begins almost immediately, and before you turn the first page you are thrown into the chaotic whirlwind that is Jen’s life. Tragedy seems to follow Jen everywhere, and her mother, Brandi’s life is no different. Their drama is not only limited to one other; it reaches out with toxic tentacles, infecting everyone around them. Complications abound every corner and their high maintenance lifestyles prove to be too much for most to handle.I really enjoyed this story and I’m rating it 5/5 stars. If my review intrigued you, please support this author by purchasing Pop-Out Girl on Amazon, or your favorite book retailer of choice.Full Book Review on A Well Read Woman Blog: https://awellreadwomanblog.wordpress....
    more
  • Paige Lovitt
    June 13, 2017
    Jen is a beautiful young woman who works in entertainment in Las Vegas as a pop-out girl. She was raised by a mom who also works in Las Vegas. Jen grew up watching her mom go through a series of failed romances, so she didn’t have a good role model when it came to relationships. At seventeen she got involved with Zane, who was a bad boy. Their strongly intense, physical relationship came to a halt when Zane went to prison. Being young, Jen moved on with life. When Zane got out of prison, he was Jen is a beautiful young woman who works in entertainment in Las Vegas as a pop-out girl. She was raised by a mom who also works in Las Vegas. Jen grew up watching her mom go through a series of failed romances, so she didn’t have a good role model when it came to relationships. At seventeen she got involved with Zane, who was a bad boy. Their strongly intense, physical relationship came to a halt when Zane went to prison. Being young, Jen moved on with life. When Zane got out of prison, he was not willing to accept that she moved on with her life and he did everything he could to try to ruin her chance of happiness with someone else. This included shooting the man that Jen will soon discover is her birth father. As Jen tries to figure her life out, the author takes us into her mother’s past so that we can gain an understanding of what went wrong in her life. Things are so much more complex than would appear on the surface. I have had the pleasure of reading all of the books written by the author Irene Woodbury. Once again, she does not disappoint. The good characters are likeable and very real. The bad character is bad. But the author takes us inside his mind so that we can see how he thinks. That doesn’t make his behavior acceptable but it does give us a better understanding of why he is the way he is. This knowledge adds more dimension to the storyline. Going back and forth between the mother and daughter’s stories broke up the intensity of each situation so it diluted their experiences, however, in retrospect it helped everything fall into place. I recommend this book to fans of romance and drama. They will enjoy being able to take off to another adventure in Las Vegas.
    more
  • Deepa Kalangi
    June 23, 2017
    The plot of the story was pretty fast and engaging. The young lady Jen gets to see, experience and make decisions based on what she encounters all through her life of the story. Considering Jen's background and upbringing, her reactions/actions are realistic and consistent throughout the novel. The interconnecting plots make it more appealing and the way the author organized the scenes makes it more interesting because of the suspense it leaves the reader until they know the backstory, especiall The plot of the story was pretty fast and engaging. The young lady Jen gets to see, experience and make decisions based on what she encounters all through her life of the story. Considering Jen's background and upbringing, her reactions/actions are realistic and consistent throughout the novel. The interconnecting plots make it more appealing and the way the author organized the scenes makes it more interesting because of the suspense it leaves the reader until they know the backstory, especially Jen's mom's. This is first of my story in this kind of genre and I was pretty impressed with the overall plot of the story, character development and the way it is structured. Felt true to their characters.
    more
  • Valerie
    June 23, 2017
    I couldn't relate to this book on every level. It all seemed a bit dramatic and unrealistic to me, especially the way all of the characters were intertwined with one amother.However...The author did an amazing job executing storyline, character development and pace if the story. Once the story really got underway there was never a dull moment. Great suspenseful ready that keeps you guessing what will happen next.Highly recommended for all of the people who love action and suspense.
    more
  • Diane
    June 4, 2017
    Pop-Out Girl will appeal to fans of women's fiction who look for stories of feisty females in difficult situations and provides the realistic story of a couple challenged when an ex-boyfriend leaves prison and begins stalking them. Jealousy and its dangerous course is one of the primary themes of the story as Jen and Colton face a dangerous convict who still has the idea that Jen is his girlfriend, despite obvious indicators otherwise - and who has no intention of letting her go.As violent encou Pop-Out Girl will appeal to fans of women's fiction who look for stories of feisty females in difficult situations and provides the realistic story of a couple challenged when an ex-boyfriend leaves prison and begins stalking them. Jealousy and its dangerous course is one of the primary themes of the story as Jen and Colton face a dangerous convict who still has the idea that Jen is his girlfriend, despite obvious indicators otherwise - and who has no intention of letting her go.As violent encounters escalate and drag innocents into Zane's quest to regain his position in Jen's life, Jen faces difficult decisions that test her resolve, her future, and her inclination to view the world through the eyes of an optimistic romantic. Jen's career, also shelved, was serving as a 'pop-out girl': one who emerges from giant cakes to then sing, dance, and provide a stripper show for special events. This theme - of emergence, daring, and putting on a display - pops up through the story, which foregoes a slow build-up in favor of a vivid kidnapping scene and just keeps escalating from there.Jen's perspective isn't the only focus to this story: Jen's mother Brandi, who is a cocktail waitress, faces the fact that her first love from long ago, Jen's father, has also inadvertently become part of Zane's dangerous spree, and her involvement and perspective are also developed as one of the strong threads connecting family and love.From how Jen squeezed a romance with Colton into her busy career as a pop-up girl to the terrors of being stalked by a relentless ex with murderous intentions on his mind, Pop-Out Girl excels in interconnected subplots and in capturing a winning background filled with the glitz and glamour of its Vegas setting.There were a few lapses in punctuation, for example, a period left off the end of a sentence ending with quotation marks. But these instances do not detract from the overall plot.Women who look for realistic, powerful stories of love and survival, jealousy and confrontation, and change will find Pop-Out Girl a winning leisure choice that probes troubled relationships, alienation, and the long and rocky path to home.
    more
  • Rabia
    May 9, 2017
    Reviewed by Rabia Tanveer for Readers' FavoritePop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is the story of love, vengeance and finding what is lost. The novel follows Jen and Colton, two people who fell in love at the right time for each other. Jen is a showgirl who hasn’t had much luck in finding her one true love. She had to kiss a lot of frogs before she was able to find her Prince in Colton. He is the perfect guy for her. He is loving, honorable, decent and very handsome. Her life is perfect and she cann Reviewed by Rabia Tanveer for Readers' FavoritePop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is the story of love, vengeance and finding what is lost. The novel follows Jen and Colton, two people who fell in love at the right time for each other. Jen is a showgirl who hasn’t had much luck in finding her one true love. She had to kiss a lot of frogs before she was able to find her Prince in Colton. He is the perfect guy for her. He is loving, honorable, decent and very handsome. Her life is perfect and she cannot wait to spend the rest of her life with Colton.However, tragedy is waiting just around the corner. Her ex-boyfriend, Zane, is out of prison after two years and he is hell bent on getting Jen back. He is not giving up and he will go to all lengths to get her back, even if it means that he will have to kill Colton and kidnap Jen to force her to marry him. During all this chaos, something very unexpected happens, something that she never expected. What is it? Can Colton and Jen stay together with Zane on their tail all the time?This was a thrilling, action packed romance/drama novel that you will have no desire to put down. I really liked the way Irene Woodbury wrote Pop-Out Girl and I really loved to hate Zane. I really liked Colton and I really liked the relationship between him and Jen. He was calm and collected when things were going to hell. Woodbury’s writing style is very calm and engaging, plus the cover of the novel is really good. I really enjoyed it.
    more
  • G
    May 9, 2017
    Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is a fiction drama novel which revolves around the life of Jen as the main protagonist. That being said, the story is woven in such a way that there are a number of other important characters, namely, Jen’s current boyfriend Colton, her ex-boyfriend Zane Hollister, her mother, and of course her friends. The story begins when Jen has just come out of an accident and is temporarily out of work. Zane was her first relationship and, although they are no longer together Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is a fiction drama novel which revolves around the life of Jen as the main protagonist. That being said, the story is woven in such a way that there are a number of other important characters, namely, Jen’s current boyfriend Colton, her ex-boyfriend Zane Hollister, her mother, and of course her friends. The story begins when Jen has just come out of an accident and is temporarily out of work. Zane was her first relationship and, although they are no longer together, Zane harbors a deep jealousy and wants Jen back. This leads to a series of increasingly violent attempts including assault, kidnapping, rape, and even forced marriage. There is another twist in the story when Zane accidentally targets Colton’s boss, Matt, who turns out to be someone with a secret. The plot continues with many twists and turns until the very end.Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is a fictional story set in contemporary modern day USA. The writing is fairly fast paced and the book turned out to be an easy read. Although I appreciated the character sketches of Jen, Zane, Colton, Brandi, and others, I couldn’t help but wonder if Zane would have been apprehended sooner had other steps been taken. That being said, I did enjoy his dark, brooding, and somewhat delusional character portrayal and could see things from his point of view. Overall, this is a slightly dark fiction read that readers who enjoy this genre would appreciate.
    more
  • Sefina Hawke
    May 7, 2017
    Reviewed by Sefina Hawke for Readers' FavoritePop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is a fictional drama novel that would appeal most to a mature young adult and adult audience that enjoys fictional dramas. Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury takes place after the end of a two-year prison sentence for Zane Hollister. Just released from prison, Zane Hollister finds his lover with another man. Finding his once lover with another man causes Zane to go off the deep end as he is determined to have Jen and make h Reviewed by Sefina Hawke for Readers' FavoritePop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is a fictional drama novel that would appeal most to a mature young adult and adult audience that enjoys fictional dramas. Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury takes place after the end of a two-year prison sentence for Zane Hollister. Just released from prison, Zane Hollister finds his lover with another man. Finding his once lover with another man causes Zane to go off the deep end as he is determined to have Jen and make her his, no matter what.Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury is packed full of drama at every turn. There is Zane Hollister who becomes a murderous stalker, willing to kill off any competition coming between him and Jen. He even goes so far as attempting to force her to marry him through kidnapping. Then there is Jen’s current boyfriend’s boss who ends up getting caught in the crossfire. Jen’s mother discovers that Jen’s boyfriend’s boss is actually not who he says he is. All of that is just the beginning in this dramatic novel; there is literally not a single dull moment nor a single slow one in this novel. There is so much going on that I had to go back and reread to make sure I knew about everything. This style of multiple story lines reminds me a lot of the way the Game of Thrones TV show is organized. Overall, I have to say that I loved every page of Pop-Out Girl by Irene Woodbury; I only hope that there is a follow up in the future!
    more
  • Diana
    June 25, 2017
    Pop-out Girl by Irene Woodbury was not quite what I was expecting. The plot of this story was so much more. I love how the author wrote the book in parts. Jen who is a Pop-Out Girl who pops out of cakes wants to have a normal life, a normal boyfriend. She popped out of a cake and met her new boyfriend at a party she did. She was totally in love with Colton. They were so right for each other is many ways. Everything was great until her ex-crazy boyfriend came back into her life. This book talks a Pop-out Girl by Irene Woodbury was not quite what I was expecting. The plot of this story was so much more. I love how the author wrote the book in parts. Jen who is a Pop-Out Girl who pops out of cakes wants to have a normal life, a normal boyfriend. She popped out of a cake and met her new boyfriend at a party she did. She was totally in love with Colton. They were so right for each other is many ways. Everything was great until her ex-crazy boyfriend came back into her life. This book talks about all the main characters and goes back in time to when the story really started. Which I really love because I love the whole story. As you can read in the blurb this is a fast-paced book. The one thing I was disappointed in was the ending. I felt it was abrupt. If this book becomes a series I can understand it. But as far as I know, it isn’t part of a series. This fantastic story left me wanting more and to see what happens. I still recommend this book to read, it is a Chic-Lit and fun to read. I was entertained by the story. I felt this book was also a clean romance type of book. I want to thank Read For Review, NetGalley and the Author Irene Woodbury for a chance to read this book.I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. ***
    more
  • Bethany Swafford
    May 24, 2017
    Jen's life goes from zero to one hundred in a split second. Kidnapped by her ex-boyfriend, she makes every attempt to get free, and when she does, she learns the truth about her past.The telling of this story is a bit choppy. It is divided into sections and each section is about a different person connected to Jen. We start with her and the kidnapping. There is a rape, though it is not detailed or graphic. Then, we jump to her mother and go back in time to tell her mother's story.Each section fe Jen's life goes from zero to one hundred in a split second. Kidnapped by her ex-boyfriend, she makes every attempt to get free, and when she does, she learns the truth about her past.The telling of this story is a bit choppy. It is divided into sections and each section is about a different person connected to Jen. We start with her and the kidnapping. There is a rape, though it is not detailed or graphic. Then, we jump to her mother and go back in time to tell her mother's story.Each section feels like it could have been expanded into separate stories to be better told. We spend a lot more time with Jen's mom, so I feel like I came to know her better than Jen herself. As stated in the description, there are happy endings, but not for everyone. There is one particular person who is a real jerk by the end.Overall, it is an interesting story and it was fascinating to see each person's story and how they all connected to Jen.I received a free copy from the author through More Than A Review where I rate a book by its contents.
    more
  • Suzanne
    June 21, 2017
    The main character at the start of the book is Jen, a beautiful Vagas girl who pops out of giant cakes doing strippergrams for a living. Jen hasn't had an easy upbringing, though she seems to be a genuinely nice person. The story starts with Jen being kidnapped by her ex Zane who has recently been released from prison and forced to go along with his plans even though she has a new boyfriend Colton. The 5 parts to the book explain how a group of people's choices in their own lives, have an impact The main character at the start of the book is Jen, a beautiful Vagas girl who pops out of giant cakes doing strippergrams for a living. Jen hasn't had an easy upbringing, though she seems to be a genuinely nice person. The story starts with Jen being kidnapped by her ex Zane who has recently been released from prison and forced to go along with his plans even though she has a new boyfriend Colton. The 5 parts to the book explain how a group of people's choices in their own lives, have an impact of the rest of the group, and how their lives intertwine and impact on each other. I must admit it took me a little while to get into, but once you get to Brandi and Lizzard's story it got me hooked.
    more
  • Heather B
    June 25, 2017
    Pop-Out Girl, by Irene Woodbury, was an interesting story. Overall, it was a solid story, but I found it lacking in areas. The story goes back & forth between past/present, which in general, is not bad - but the way it was done felt that it made the story drag. Additionally, I anticipated a HEA by the time I finished, but it certainly wasn't in the way I had anticipated and I felt let down by the end of the book.
    more
Write a review