A Beautiful Composition of Broken
r.h. Sin, bestselling author of the Whiskey, Words & a Shovel series, returns with a collection of poetry and prose meant to remind the wounded that they are, in fact, beautiful in a way society may never comprehend.A Beautiful Composition of Broken is inspired by some of the events expressed artistically by Samantha King in the bestseller Born to Love, Cursed to Feel. It serves as a poetic documentary of the lives of people who have been mistreated, misunderstood, and wrongfully labeled in a way that limits them in this world. The author’s most personal volume yet, A Beautiful Composition of Broken builds a conceptual bridge between r.h. Sin’s earliest work and his forthcoming series, Planting Gardens in Graves.

A Beautiful Composition of Broken Details

TitleA Beautiful Composition of Broken
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
PublisherAndrews McMeel Publishing
ISBN1449490166
ISBN-139781449490164
Number of pages480 pages
Rating
GenrePoetry

A Beautiful Composition of Broken Review

  • Joseph
    May 22, 2017
    r.h. Sin is the bestselling author of the three-book collection Whiskey, Words & a Shovel. The first edition sold out quickly and a second and expanded printing of the first book has since been published making it accessible to most readers. Sin created a sensation in American poetry with the release of Whiskey, Words, & a Shovel. Although some may wonder if his work is poetry, in the strictest sense, it did make reading poetry a cool thing again and brought with it a younger generation r.h. Sin is the bestselling author of the three-book collection Whiskey, Words & a Shovel. The first edition sold out quickly and a second and expanded printing of the first book has since been published making it accessible to most readers. Sin created a sensation in American poetry with the release of Whiskey, Words, & a Shovel. Although some may wonder if his work is poetry, in the strictest sense, it did make reading poetry a cool thing again and brought with it a younger generation now eager to explore poetry. Only a few of Sin's poems are more than a dozen lines. He keeps the word count low and the meaning high. His previous three books were an accolade to Samantha King, his soulmate. This collection offers advice and recognition to those who are suffering in their relationships, lives, and identity. Sin describes his handling of critics to his work and the handling of abuse people. Keeping with his younger audience he includes social media and today's biggest distraction in life:"mobile distractions."should’ve held my hand moreinstead of your phoneSin shows the reader that they to have value despite what others may think or say to them. Others must demonstrate their value before they can have an effect on you. Critics, bullies, and malcontents should be kept at a distance and ignored."in the ashes of."burn bridges for warmthburn bridges for lightburn bridges to otherswho don’t deserveto get to youIn a cross between self-help and contemporary cultural philosophy, Sin uses words and poetry to advise, comfort, and to encourage. Fans of Sin's writing will appreciate this new collection and its different message. For those who haven't read Sin's work, this is an easy volume to slip into and read cover to cover or pull random passages for inspiration or comfort. Available July 25, 2017
    more
  • Hirdesh
    July 16, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Kobi
    July 7, 2017
    I was allowed access to this book as an E-Arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. "the moon is full as i empty myself of you" I haven't previously read any of Sin's work, but after reading 'A Beautiful Composition of Broken', I also now don't plan to. Although I can see where many people find interest in modern poetry, I think it's about time I stop trying to find something redeeming in it. Much of this collection felt extremely personal, almost as if I were reading someone else's I was allowed access to this book as an E-Arc from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. "the moon is full as i empty myself of you" I haven't previously read any of Sin's work, but after reading 'A Beautiful Composition of Broken', I also now don't plan to. Although I can see where many people find interest in modern poetry, I think it's about time I stop trying to find something redeeming in it. Much of this collection felt extremely personal, almost as if I were reading someone else's diary, just with consent. Many of the pieces seemed to be repetitive and demanding. Less of them told stories and more of them made statements. Every time I turned the page I found myself to be reading almost the exact same poem, just worded slightly differently. At times I also felt as though specific poems were asking something of me, the reader, a woman.Many of the poems were extremely choppy/inconsistent and I found them to really not flow well. I believe that modern poetry like this in general should be read aloud rather than read silently. I found the majority of this collection to be boring to say the least, because I felt like I had already read it elsewhere. I hate to make a comparison to Rupi Kaur's 'Milk and Honey' but I honestly found no difference or uniqueness in 'A Beautiful Composition of Broken'. None of it felt fresh or new, and it almost felt as though Sin regurgitated every other modern poem. I give credit to Sin for putting out a collection of modern poetry that many people enjoy and can relate to, but unfortunately I didn't get the pleasure to experience much enjoyment (apart from the handful of poems that I bookmarked). I hope that when this is released, many people find joy in Sin's words.
    more
  • Julia
    July 18, 2017
    you've been hurtyou've made your mistakesyou've been called out of your nameyou've felt brokenyou've fallen downyou've had to pick up the piecesof your heart and start overyou've been mishandled, neglecteddisrespects and you've felt unprotected all of which has caused you to guard your heartbut you're strongerlook at what you've been throughyou're a queen who always gets throughyou're a woman who continues to survive I was so looking forward to this release and I was not let down. I have read you've been hurtyou've made your mistakesyou've been called out of your nameyou've felt brokenyou've fallen downyou've had to pick up the piecesof your heart and start overyou've been mishandled, neglecteddisrespects and you've felt unprotected all of which has caused you to guard your heartbut you're strongerlook at what you've been throughyou're a queen who always gets throughyou're a woman who continues to survive I was so looking forward to this release and I was not let down. I have read all of R.H. Sin's other work and absolutely adored them all. His collections really connect with me and they hold the spot for some of my fav poetry collections ever- along with "I wrote this for you". I thought this collection was so real for me and just really hit close to home in a lot. I would highly suggest any of his work if you love poetry or if your new to reading poetry. I have over 50+ tabs in this book for my favorite poems and would have done more but ran out of my orange tabs XD Anyways,yes. please. read. this. These collections honestly mean a lot to me. I always enjoy the experience of reading them.
    more
  • Chanel
    June 26, 2017
    I received an ARC of this book on NetGalley. Earlier this year I bought Whiskey, Words, & a Shovel II and was thoroughly disappointed in it. I was hoping this new title would bring redemption for me, but I was mistaken. As with the previous title, the pieces in this work didn't feel like solid, polished, final-draft works. It felt much more like the beginning ideas that I writer might jot down quickly in a notebook by the bedside at midnight to come back to and develop later. In fact, some p I received an ARC of this book on NetGalley. Earlier this year I bought Whiskey, Words, & a Shovel II and was thoroughly disappointed in it. I was hoping this new title would bring redemption for me, but I was mistaken. As with the previous title, the pieces in this work didn't feel like solid, polished, final-draft works. It felt much more like the beginning ideas that I writer might jot down quickly in a notebook by the bedside at midnight to come back to and develop later. In fact, some pieces are even simply titled with a time and/or date stamp which show this might even be the case. Many of the pieces, the diction, and all of the themes felt highly repetitive both of each other and of the pieces in the previous title I read. At the same time, though, there seemed a lack of structure in the order of the pieces. I don't mean that the pieces need to form any sort of cohesive narrative, only that I felt it rather jostling to move from poems about heartache into revelations of moving on, to the jump back to heartache and then female empowerment, then a quick jaunt into DJ Khalid style major keys and back the heartache....(etc.). It just felt really all over the place. Nothing felt new, fresh, deeply explored, or surprising. There were no revelations within the work and rarely did the pieces express anything beyond the words on the page. I spend a lot of time looking at Indie poetry and went in hoping to like it but was still sorely disappointed by a compendium of written work that felt lacking in poetic style and which left me feeling dissatisfied.I can see, however, that there may be some readers out there who would find this enjoyable, easy to read (I read it in one sitting right before bed), relatable, and heartfelt. It just wasn't those things for me personally.
    more
  • Alyssa Marie
    June 18, 2017
    I received this eARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.1.5 *ALRIGHTY THEN. So I went into this book hoping I would like it, maybe even love it. I had heard some not so great things about the author and how he might not be the greatest person. But separate the author from his work?? Yeah didn't happen. I basically hated this...a lot. Probably 90% of the time I was trying to keep myself from rolling my eyes, vomit, or laugh. This was cheesy y'all. Like not the kind of cheese I like t I received this eARC from netgalley in exchange for an honest review.1.5 *ALRIGHTY THEN. So I went into this book hoping I would like it, maybe even love it. I had heard some not so great things about the author and how he might not be the greatest person. But separate the author from his work?? Yeah didn't happen. I basically hated this...a lot. Probably 90% of the time I was trying to keep myself from rolling my eyes, vomit, or laugh. This was cheesy y'all. Like not the kind of cheese I like that makes you feel all happy inside. I tried really hard to love this and give it a fair shot, hence why I finished the whole thing. The author just seems so condescending and full of himself. I don't need anyone (especially a man) telling me how I should feel and act. Cheesy love poems aside, he just comes off as a jerk?? And he seems bitter and petty as all get out. Look, I'm sorry if you like his work. It's just not for me AT ALL. All that being said, there were maybe a handful (being generous) of poems that weren't half bad. It also seemed to flow pretty well which was a bonus. But I've frankly read better. MUCH better.
    more
  • Angie
    May 25, 2017
    I've loved Sin's past work and really enjoyed the Whiskey, Words and a Shovel series. This one was...not that. It's an odd combination of life advice, self-help and complaints about heartbreak poorly disguised as poetry. This just didn't work for me. There are several mentions of people that the author feels are simply jealous of his success. Bringing that up once is a turn off, bringing it up several times just seems petty and immature. The little bit of magic that exists throughout Whiskey is I've loved Sin's past work and really enjoyed the Whiskey, Words and a Shovel series. This one was...not that. It's an odd combination of life advice, self-help and complaints about heartbreak poorly disguised as poetry. This just didn't work for me. There are several mentions of people that the author feels are simply jealous of his success. Bringing that up once is a turn off, bringing it up several times just seems petty and immature. The little bit of magic that exists throughout Whiskey is missing here and that's unfortunate. If asked, I'd recommend the older works from Sin before this one.I received a free advanced copy from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for review.
    more
  • Cassandra Doudoumis
    July 14, 2017
    I wish I could get every word of his tattooed onto my body. Somehow I've related to just about 97% of what R.H Sin has written in each of his books and I have never felt that way before. I though Milk and Honey got to me on a level that I didn't think possible, but without a doubt R.H Sin takes Rupi Kaur's place as of now. I loved this. I wanted to let this run for a while and not read it all in one go because I always find myself missing out on a lot of deeper poetry when I read these books lik I wish I could get every word of his tattooed onto my body. Somehow I've related to just about 97% of what R.H Sin has written in each of his books and I have never felt that way before. I though Milk and Honey got to me on a level that I didn't think possible, but without a doubt R.H Sin takes Rupi Kaur's place as of now. I loved this. I wanted to let this run for a while and not read it all in one go because I always find myself missing out on a lot of deeper poetry when I read these books like I usually read novels. So I took my time and was not disappointed. If you haven't picked up on of this man's books yet, I highly recommend that you do soon.*Thank you to NetGalley for a free ARC of this in exchange for an honest review!!*
    more
  • Sarah
    July 16, 2017
    It isn’t often that a poetry book is written to empower women, to encourage the broken-hearted and to challenge its readers to love themselves more. This is, however, one such book. It urges people to be strong and to not settle for less than they deserve in either a partner or in life. This book highlights the importance of loving yourself and is a positive force in the battle for equality. I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.4/5 stars : highly recommended!
    more
  • Samantha
    July 22, 2017
    I received a free e-copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.I loved this collection of poems so very much. As a disclaimer, I have not read much poetry, but it is something I am interested in reading a lot more of. I have not read anything by this author before. This book is described as "meant to remind the wounded that they are, in fact, beautiful in a way society may never comprehend" and it certainly does that.I bookmarked a little over half of the works in this col I received a free e-copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.I loved this collection of poems so very much. As a disclaimer, I have not read much poetry, but it is something I am interested in reading a lot more of. I have not read anything by this author before. This book is described as "meant to remind the wounded that they are, in fact, beautiful in a way society may never comprehend" and it certainly does that.I bookmarked a little over half of the works in this collection as ones I strongly related to, poems referencing abuse, death, abandonment, betrayal, romantic love, self-love and peace. The overwhelming feeling I had after finishing this work was hope, hope that the world can be a better place, that life can be beautiful, that loss is not always a tragedy, that you will not always be broken. I may not always have interpreted the work the way the author meant, but I found little pieces of myself throughout, and fell in love with the writer's ability to make me feel so profoundly.This collection is incredibly accessible, without an overwhelming amount of flowery language, metaphor and abstract ideas, the author writes as if putting pen to paper and releasing a stream of consciousness. In so many books of poetry I have been reading lately, I just cannot get a grasp on what the writer means to convey, and I very seldom feel like I can interpret the work accurately. A Beautiful Composition of Broken was a breath of fresh air for someone struggling to break into this genre and unsure what they are looking for.There are a lot of poems I just could not relate to, but I still found beauty in the work and language used. Perhaps the only pages which jolted me slightly were the ones referencing the writer's critics, those could come across slighty self important and petty at times, outright stating that if you do not enjoy the work then the author is better than you and you are just jealous, which for a book touting the beauty in everyone and the error in treating people unfairly, seems a little hypocritical. While I can understand the anger and frustration at having your work, those very personal pieces of yourself, dismissed or insulted, perhaps the writer should have taken their own advice to rise above. Those are such a small percentage of the entire work though, that I feel like it would be a mistake to not at least pick this book up and experience it for yourself.I will leave you with the poem I loved the most, which, not surprisingly, is about reading.read, loverbooks stained with the tearsof the reader with the broken heartbooks held tightlike lovers in the darksometimes all you have are the wordssometimes all that's leftare the books
    more
  • Tainah Rodrigues
    June 17, 2017
    E-ARC PROVIDED BY NETGALLEY AND THE PUBLISHER - DNFIn the first few pages of this, I was loving it. And it has some amazing stuff inside this book, it could have been my favorite poetry collection I've read so far. But.The author says stuff like "everyone who doesn't like me it's because they're jealous of my success, they are never going to achieve nothing in this life, they are garbage, I'm incredible! Muahaha!"Ok, not with this words, but that's how I feel.Sometimes people don't like you just E-ARC PROVIDED BY NETGALLEY AND THE PUBLISHER - DNFIn the first few pages of this, I was loving it. And it has some amazing stuff inside this book, it could have been my favorite poetry collection I've read so far. But.The author says stuff like "everyone who doesn't like me it's because they're jealous of my success, they are never going to achieve nothing in this life, they are garbage, I'm incredible! Muahaha!"Ok, not with this words, but that's how I feel.Sometimes people don't like you just because they don't, it doesn't mean they jealous.Because someone someday maybe didn't like you, It doest mean he/she is unworthy and will never do something good with their lives, it just means you will not be best friends forever.And the last pages I read, somewhere in the middle of the book, gave me the impression that this author simply can't deal with criticism. Not everyone will love what you write, that's normal. If you can't accept that, don't publish stuff.And be more humble, I don't want to read 400+ pages of your ego thinking you're the best thing that ever happened to the literary world.Take all the "OMG, I'm such an amazing writer!!" pages out and the book will be really good.
    more
  • Abby
    July 24, 2017
    Even if you don’t immediately recognize the name r.h. Sin, there’s a good chance you’re familiar with his work. His poetry has taken Instagram and the poetry world by storm, popularizing the writing form in a way that the world hasn’t seen in quite some time.A Beautiful Composition of Broken is r.h. Sin’s sixth collection and serves as an ode to the beautifully broken. His words touch on women finding strength within themselves, the brokenhearted mending their wounds, and the insecure learning t Even if you don’t immediately recognize the name r.h. Sin, there’s a good chance you’re familiar with his work. His poetry has taken Instagram and the poetry world by storm, popularizing the writing form in a way that the world hasn’t seen in quite some time.A Beautiful Composition of Broken is r.h. Sin’s sixth collection and serves as an ode to the beautifully broken. His words touch on women finding strength within themselves, the brokenhearted mending their wounds, and the insecure learning to find the confidence they’ve always had.I had pretty mixed feelings about this collection. On one hand, it felt a little thrown together with no real order or true theme, aside from a few multi-part poems. There was a lot of repetition, and a lot of poems that were really just a few words separated by line breaks. On the other hand, there were several absolutely stellar poems that made me want to shout from the rooftops and tattoo the words across my entire body.It was definitely worth it for the handful of phenomenal poems, but overall wasn’t my favorite collection.3 stars.Note: I received an ARC of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Zöe Yu
    June 4, 2017
    I enjoyed reading R. H. Sin's poems. Not the first poetry book, definitely not the last one. The language and spirit are young and delightful, even talking about pain and sorrow. I feel the poet's soul, loving, caring and writing done details that touch us in daily lives. I enjoyed reading the poem entitled "the Internet", and "in poetry.", and so many more. It tells us, inspires us, in a way like a river, flowing through our deep wound. It hurts, but it heals as well. The poet has a special and I enjoyed reading R. H. Sin's poems. Not the first poetry book, definitely not the last one. The language and spirit are young and delightful, even talking about pain and sorrow. I feel the poet's soul, loving, caring and writing done details that touch us in daily lives. I enjoyed reading the poem entitled "the Internet", and "in poetry.", and so many more. It tells us, inspires us, in a way like a river, flowing through our deep wound. It hurts, but it heals as well. The poet has a special and keen eye for emotions in life. I'm grateful that there are people with wonderful souls are keeping up.
    more
  • Abigail
    July 28, 2017
    Quick review of initial thoughts (longer review to come):This is a collection of poetry written for people who feel broken, who have dealt with or are dealing with toxic relationships, and overall has some good themes and messages to follow. However, while I try not to determine what is and isn't poetry, some of the pieces in this collection did not hold up to some of his other work and felt more like a collection of thoughts he had and wrote with line breaks because there is only so much room o Quick review of initial thoughts (longer review to come):This is a collection of poetry written for people who feel broken, who have dealt with or are dealing with toxic relationships, and overall has some good themes and messages to follow. However, while I try not to determine what is and isn't poetry, some of the pieces in this collection did not hold up to some of his other work and felt more like a collection of thoughts he had and wrote with line breaks because there is only so much room on grocery receipts. Gems are hidden throughout, but overall it felt repetitive of past work.
    more
  • Jeanne
    July 16, 2017
    a terrible terror of love Iit's scaryhow you can doso much for someoneand yet they'd rather focuson what you don't do It's just an okay read but I still enjoyed reading the book. Whiskey Words & a Shovel series was still much better than this though I have only read the Book 1 so far.I received an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rebekah
    July 16, 2017
    I have really enjoyed RH Sin's other works. However, while reading this one, I felt that many of the poems were repetitive and simply repeating the same ideas and feelings in different words. This was a long book that could have definitely been condensed by eliminating the repetitive works. These poems just were not as original as I am used to from Sin.I received this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Rachel-Morgan Di Stefano
    July 31, 2017
    So in love with these poems. Every time I read him I feel closer to my husband. ❤
  • Abby
    June 17, 2017
    I couldn't really engage with the poems, but I do think almost all of them had such lovely messages, so I'm glad I read it anyway.
  • Krystal
    May 22, 2017
    Like every other piece of writing from this poet, their words resonate with my sense of humanity, down to its core! Such talent at capturing raw emotions! Quite simply, everyone should read this.
  • Pamela Scott
    June 3, 2017
    https://thebookloversboudoir.wordpres...I was given an ARC by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.I thought A Beautiful Composition of Broken was okay but the collection did not live up to expectations created by his Whiskey Words & a Shovel series. The same themes appear here as his other collections; love, grief, human fragility, being fragile and simply being human and getting it right a lot and wrong a lot of the time as well. There are some really good poems here. Wh https://thebookloversboudoir.wordpres...I was given an ARC by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.I thought A Beautiful Composition of Broken was okay but the collection did not live up to expectations created by his Whiskey Words & a Shovel series. The same themes appear here as his other collections; love, grief, human fragility, being fragile and simply being human and getting it right a lot and wrong a lot of the time as well. There are some really good poems here. What spoiled it for me a little is that there are several, quite angry poems dissing people Sin feels jealous of his success. This may work once in a wry, tongue-in-cheek kind of way, but done repeatedly comes across as petty and almost childish, like a baby stomping its feet and throwing a rattle at a wall. These poems left me cold and soured the whole collection. I would recommend Whiskey Words & a Shovel series but not A Beautiful Composition of Broken.
    more
Write a review