Switch Hitter (Shifter Hardball, #3)
Tucker Wilde’s life is in a tailspin. Twenty-four hours ago, he was one of the top second basemen in the all-shifter professional baseball league. Now, he’s lost his starting spot to a rookie, been dumped by his girlfriend, and had a night of explosive passion with a man—a teammate at that. He can’t get Dixon out of his mind—even though Tucker still believes himself to be straight. With his career in jeopardy, he’s unsure where to turn or how to fix the mess.Dixon Foxx is a baseball prodigy, though a perfectionist father stole any joy he might find in the game. He only sticks with it because it’s all he knows—and because of Tucker, the man Dixon’s wanted since they met. His dreams come true one night, only to turn into a nightmare the next morning when Tucker blows off their incredible time together as a drunken mistake, never to happen again.The life of a switch hitter is all about mixing things up. Tucker excels at it. Only this time, the game isn’t on the line—his heart is.

Switch Hitter (Shifter Hardball, #3) Details

TitleSwitch Hitter (Shifter Hardball, #3)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 5th, 2017
PublisherDreamspinner Press
ISBN1635335876
ISBN-139781635335873
Number of pages200 pages
Rating
GenreParanormal, Shapeshifters, Romance, M M Romance, Fantasy, Sports and Games, Sports, Contemporary

Switch Hitter (Shifter Hardball, #3) Review

  • Sara
    June 21, 2017
    4 HeartsI nice addition to the series of baseball playing shifters with a not so instant mating this time around. Review on the blog and then here.
  • Jodi Ciorciari-marinich
    May 23, 2017
    I started this book because the blurb caught my attention. The open shifter baseball team is a great premise . It is a team of all shifters and they are a pack. They look out for each as if they are a family and I really enjoyed reading about the whole team as well as Dixon and Tucker.So going into this story I was looking forward to see how these men lived and worked together. Tucker's personality is great, he is the second basemen and the joker of the group. He is also the ladies man and doesn I started this book because the blurb caught my attention. The open shifter baseball team is a great premise . It is a team of all shifters and they are a pack. They look out for each as if they are a family and I really enjoyed reading about the whole team as well as Dixon and Tucker.So going into this story I was looking forward to see how these men lived and worked together. Tucker's personality is great, he is the second basemen and the joker of the group. He is also the ladies man and doesn't want to settle down. Dixon is the third basemen and an open gay player. He has wanted Tucker since he came to the team but knowing he is straight he settles for being friends.One night at a team party Tucker gets drunk because he just got dumped by his latest girlfriend and demoted from the starting line-up. Dixon takes him home and they have a hot night of sex. The next day Tucker doesn't know what he is feeling and wants to go back to being friends with Dixon. As far as Tucker knows he is straight and has never found a man attractive so he is confused about what happened. Dixon doesn't want to be friends anymore because he wants more from Tucker. Tucker fights his feeling for Dixon and is also trying to figure out if he is guy or bi or what. Dixon is giving Tucker time to figure out who and what he wants but in the meantime he is helping Tucker get back his baseball groove by coaching him. Through all this Tucker's feelings grow for Dixon and he knows he has to figure out what he wants or could lose out on possibly the best thing that could happen to him. The chemistry between Tucker and Dixon is hot even before Tucker came to the realization that he loves Dixon. Once their feelings are out in the open Tucker knows he made the right choice. I enjoyed the pull Tucker felt towards Dixon the more he got to know him but I think the I love you's came a little too fast. I would have liked to see the relationship grow slower once Tucker decided to go for it. All in all I liked the story and will definitely read the next book in this series.*ARC provided by Dreamspinner Press in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Jodi from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Laura ~Passion flower
    May 16, 2017
    Switch Hitter (ARC) was graciously provided to me by Gay Book Reviews for an honest review. "Batter Up!" Baseball games. Those special times, very often in the oppressive, sweltering, and, sticky heat, when people watch athletes use a piece of wood or metal to hit a small circular item as far as they can, all to the cheers of the fans who are secretly wishing they had a bucket of shaved ice for either a sweet and cold dessert or an ice cold margarita. Forgetting about whether their team is lo Switch Hitter (ARC) was graciously provided to me by Gay Book Reviews for an honest review. "Batter Up!" Baseball games. Those special times, very often in the oppressive, sweltering, and, sticky heat, when people watch athletes use a piece of wood or metal to hit a small circular item as far as they can, all to the cheers of the fans who are secretly wishing they had a bucket of shaved ice for either a sweet and cold dessert or an ice cold margarita. Forgetting about whether their team is loosing or not, fans begin to wonder when they'll be able to come and show their support for their favorite team again, regardless of the heat, because it's the whole experience that makes it so much fun. "Let's Go Predators, Let's Go Predators!" *clap, clap, clap, clap* What an exciting read Switch Hitter was for this avid baseball fan. And to have shifters as well? Pfft, I readily began reading this story before my computer even had the chance to cool down upon receipt of this new book. Forget about facing the heat and the commercials, I welcomed the reading of this book, with it's heavily infused baseball-themed plot with its various shifters from the All-Shifter Baseball League. Switch Hitter, by Cheyenne Meadows, as it is a part of the Shifter Hardball Series, is a fun, hot, heart-breaking, beautiful, heart-warming, and exhilarating read about shifters Tucker Wilde and Dixon Foxx. Having been friends for many years, both sweet, kind, and hard-working young shifters find themselves reaching for what, they feel, would bring them the greatest amount of peace, and, that is..love, companionship, and family. I really enjoyed this book, I found it to be well written, with its character development, realistic characters, and a well-developed shifter world. My heart broke for Tucker, on more than one occasion, and had marveled at his ability to forgive so quickly. I was also just as frustrated and yet so proud for Dixon, that I found myself cheering extra loud when he had achieved his..special moment. Despite the fact that I have not read any of the previous books in the series, and I do recommend that they be read, I was still able to follow along with the plot of this particular book. While I did have some moments of confusion, they really didn't take away from the overall plot or subplots. The secondary characters, with their cameos, were great. Minus one. I'm just going to say, that, she was..certainly very different.. And, that's all I'm going to say about that. *grinning* That being said..I also believe that it's pace was very slow, and, it could have benefited from less of certain areas. I did like reading all of it, I really did, as previously mentioned, but, I just wish that it was more evenly spaced out. I wish there had been more scenes involving actual shifting, as the theme implies, possibly with more angst, because there was very little angst, and that which did exist, was resolved rather quickly. In addition to this, dare I say, a slightly less focus on the many baseball games, the various repetition of certain aspects of the plot, and, some of the detailed shenanigans. One thing that I would have absolutely loved to have seen more of, was the bond, the love, that connection that Tucker and Dixon clearly have, as the bonding of mates goes bone deep. Every single time I read about their bond and their definite chemistry, even though it was sparse, I still found myself bawling like a baby because it was just so beautiful. And, that's what makes a bonded pair. Whether they are male or female. I would have loved to have seen more of their squishy and "I need to be near you" kind of love. :) Switch Hitter is just one of those stories that will grab, and, somehow hold onto you, with it's hot and sexy shifters in a plot that will tug at your heart-strings, and will leave you with a new found knowledge of baseball, that will have you wanting more..:)
    more
  • Levi
    May 24, 2017
    Full review is coming at :OptimuMM - Home of MM Book Reviews
  • Chris Kottner-Kirschner
    June 6, 2017
    Tucker Wilde hatte schon bessere Tage. Seine Karriere als Second Baseman gerät irgendwie ins Straucheln und plötzlich landet er auf der Ersatzbank. Daraufhin lässt ihn auch noch seine Freundin fallen, die nur erfolgreiche Männer Daten will. Tucker gilt als Frauenheld und hat keine Pläne sich ernsthaft zu binden, trotzdem verliert er irgendwie den Boden unter den Füßen. Im Suff geschehen die merkwürdigsten und dümmsten Dingen und oftmals bereut man seine Taten.Tucker bereut nicht nur, sondern nun Tucker Wilde hatte schon bessere Tage. Seine Karriere als Second Baseman gerät irgendwie ins Straucheln und plötzlich landet er auf der Ersatzbank. Daraufhin lässt ihn auch noch seine Freundin fallen, die nur erfolgreiche Männer Daten will. Tucker gilt als Frauenheld und hat keine Pläne sich ernsthaft zu binden, trotzdem verliert er irgendwie den Boden unter den Füßen. Im Suff geschehen die merkwürdigsten und dümmsten Dingen und oftmals bereut man seine Taten.Tucker bereut nicht nur, sondern nun wird sein ganzen Leben irgendwie auf den Kopf und in Frage gestellt. Es war kein guter Plan mit seinem besten Kumpel Dixon, der auch gleichzeitig sein Teamkamerad ist, ins Bett zu gehen und es dort krachen zu lassen. Denn im Gegensatz zu Dixon, der offen schwul lebt, hält Tucker sich für absolut und uneingeschränkt heterosexuell. Und daran kann auch die Nacht mit Dixon nichts ändern, auch wenn Tucker sie einfach nicht mehr aus dem Kopf bekommt.Dixon hat schon länger Gefühle für Tucker und nach der gemeinsamen Nacht scheint ihre Freundschaft gefährlich ins Wanken zu geraten. Der konfuse Tucker verletzt Dixon mit seinem Verhalten und ihre Wege scheinen sich als Freunde zu trennen. Doch Dixon will Tucker nicht aufgeben und legt wirklich eine Eselsgeduld an den Tag, auch wenn er selbst eigene Probleme zu wälzen hat. So fällt es ihm immer schwerer mit der Erwartungshaltung und der Kritik seines Vaters angemessen umzugehen. Auch der Sport scheint ihm langsam keine wirkliche Freude mehr zu machen.Tucker weiß, dass er Mist gebaut hat. Jeder Versuch Dixon aus dem Kopf zu bekommen, scheitert. Doch Tucker, der auch als Spaßvogel des Teams gilt, versucht Ordnung in sein Gefühlschaos zu bringen. Dabei bekommt er ausgerechnet von einem Teamkollegen – Ram – durchaus nützliche Ratschläge, die er immer wieder und wieder überdenkt.Tucker und Dixon sind sehr ausgewogene Helden, die von der Autorin gut beschrieben werden. Vor allem Tucker bekommt viel Platz, da er ja mit wirklich viel fertig zu werden hat. Leider geht Dixon dabei ein wenig unter und ich hätte mir auch ein wenig mehr Action zwischen den Helden gewünscht. Natürlich braucht Tucker eben Zeit um sich selbst zu finden und dann auch noch etwas mit Dixon aufzubauen. Allerdings verliert sich Cheyenne Meadows in dieser Geschichte sehr viel im Sport und geizt nicht mit Spiel- und Trainingsbeschreibung. Das war mir persönlich dann irgendwann zu viel und ich habe diese Seiten einfach überblättert. Hätte sie das etwas zusammengestrichen und dafür mehr von Dixon und Tucker Annäherung geschrieben, wäre das Buch ganz große Klasse gewesen.
    more
  • Natosha Wilson
    June 3, 2017
    I really enjoy a good lighthearted read with little drama. Switch Hitter was exactly that. There was little drama involved in this read but there was a lot of baseball, practical jokes, and some team building. Cheyenne Meadows created a lighthearted read with a lot of amusement involved. The only drama in this book was not truly dwelled upon. There was a small amount of it but the drama was handled in true Dixon and Tucker fashion.Dixon and Tucker are both shifters and both play for a shifter ba I really enjoy a good lighthearted read with little drama. Switch Hitter was exactly that. There was little drama involved in this read but there was a lot of baseball, practical jokes, and some team building. Cheyenne Meadows created a lighthearted read with a lot of amusement involved. The only drama in this book was not truly dwelled upon. There was a small amount of it but the drama was handled in true Dixon and Tucker fashion.Dixon and Tucker are both shifters and both play for a shifter baseball team. So the fact that they are shifters is non grata. Neither is the fact that Dixon is gay. What is a problem for Dixon is, he is attracted to Tucker and Tucker has been nothing but straight since they have met. Dixon has pretty much fallen head over hills in love with Tucker but he will never tell him because he does not want to lose his friendship.On the night that Tucker was pretty much benched by the coach for not living up to his potential, his girlfriend at the time dumps him because being with someone that is benched is not the ideal person for her. Tucker decides that it would be ok to proceed to drink his worries away and that is how Fixon finds him.Dixon knowing that Tucker is upset and a lot drunk takes matters into his own hands and decides to drag him out of the party they are attending and get him home and sober before letting him leave. Little does Dixon or Tucker realize this night is going to be a night that will set all sorts of changes in motion and neither of their lives will be the same. After a night of what starts out helping his best friend end up in a safe place to sleep off his drunkenness turns into a night of complete exploration of one another and the hottest sexy times of either of their lives, will Tucker wake the next morning to regret what he instigated or will he accept what hapened between them and figure out where to go from there.I truly enjoyed this read. It is full of humor and pranks. It was full of mated pairs and two very exciting men trying to find their way in a confusing time in their lives. Cheyenne made this read so enjoyable that I will be going back and reading the books in this series since this is the first in I have read. I look forward to reading future books in this series. Amazing read.Was given this galley copy for free for an open and honest review
    more
  • Morgan Skye
    June 21, 2017
    This is a book in a series about an all shifter professional baseball league. I think to really, really love this – you’d have to love baseball, too. On the one hand the shifter stuff is immensely cute – they have some characteristics from their animals while as human – which I love! – and they are unique shifters – not just wolves- which I also love!On the other hand they don’t shift a lot and they don’t have that hard core “mine” immediate mate pull that I adore in shifter books.There is a lot This is a book in a series about an all shifter professional baseball league. I think to really, really love this – you’d have to love baseball, too. On the one hand the shifter stuff is immensely cute – they have some characteristics from their animals while as human – which I love! – and they are unique shifters – not just wolves- which I also love!On the other hand they don’t shift a lot and they don’t have that hard core “mine” immediate mate pull that I adore in shifter books.There is a lot of humor and sex in these stories and this is no different. I think maybe there was even more sex in this one? It felt like the main way (outside of baseball) the two MCs connected.Baseball is also prominent in the story – so – if you’re a fan – I think this will really tick some boxes for you.While I really enjoyed the character of Dixon – he was fun and funny, I never warmed to Tucker as much. He wasn’t a great friend and only later became a decent lover/partner.Besides the sex and baseball we have a bit of prejudice and a bit of a career crises to deal with, but this is a low angst book for the most part.All in all this is a fairly low angst, GFY, baseball story that I think fans of the author, the sport and shifters will all find something to enjoy.3.25 of 5 stars
    more
  • Heather Rawlins
    June 11, 2017
    I thought Switch Hitter was cute and adorable. I liked that it started out with a big bang and then there was a slow burn/romance. It was great. There was a lot of questioning and growing and not rushing anything. I really liked that. I like sex in books, but I liked how these 2 carefully developed their relationship.I love shifter romance and sport romance and it was a great combination. Totally enjoyed it. I can’t wait for the next.
    more
  • DeeNeez
    July 6, 2017
    Third in a series which I haven't read, but that didn't phase me at all. A baseball team of mixed shifters, some gay, some mated. It's all about Tucker coming to terms and embracing he's bisexuality and of course, baseball. A lot of baseball. A fun sweet story, with touches of humor. Tucker loves to pull pranks on his team mates.
    more
  • AyoDollFace
    July 3, 2017
    I didn't care for this book. Tucker is straight, alway has been. Never even looked at a man twice or had feelings of ever being with a man and then BOOM. Total bottom boy. A hard pill to swallow for me.
  • Serena Yates
    June 11, 2017
    review to follow
  • Evette
    June 6, 2017
    3.5 Stars I'm pretty sure that Dixon may be be of the nicest guys in the history of nice guys.He helps everyone on the team, he is BEYOND patient with Tucker and can I say again he is really too good for Tucker...well at least for most of the book. BUT- there is hope. Well, kind of...but I digress.I don't know how you break up with your girl, get trashed and then of course fall into bed with your best friend. Even though Tucker is not even drunk when he gets together with Dixon he still uses it 3.5 Stars I'm pretty sure that Dixon may be be of the nicest guys in the history of nice guys.He helps everyone on the team, he is BEYOND patient with Tucker and can I say again he is really too good for Tucker...well at least for most of the book. BUT- there is hope. Well, kind of...but I digress.I don't know how you break up with your girl, get trashed and then of course fall into bed with your best friend. Even though Tucker is not even drunk when he gets together with Dixon he still uses it as an excuse, hurting my sweet Dixon's heart.Slowly- snail like-we see Tucker come into his own, while Dixon is ever supportive. Dixon is able to stand up for himself, in all aspects of his life, creating a path to his true happy.The dialogue was awkward at times, and the story line repetitive. It is a sweet, slightly angsty book with great secondary characters and a sweet HEA
    more
Write a review