The Debt (The Debt, #0.5)
LOVE AND SECOND CHANCES ARE NOT FREE For the five kids who live at St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles, life is a nightmare. Carissa, the youngest, has been there the longest. And barely speaks. Rosa is sixteen and pregnant. Simon keeps his head down and studies, hoping to get back the life he lost. Beth and Tommy, in the middle of the darkness, have found each other, and all they want is to be together. But when they get caught making out at school, it puts everyone in danger. Tommy is used to the beatings from their foster father, but when Beth is singled out for punishment, Tommy can’t sit back and let it happen. AND ALL DEBTS MUST BE PAID What happens that night rips apart the lives of the five teenagers forever. After the blood has been spilled, a bargain is made. A deal with the devil that should have solved things. It should have fixed everything. But nothing is free - not love, not innocence, and certainly not freedom. And sooner or later, all debts must be paid...

The Debt (The Debt, #0.5) Details

TitleThe Debt (The Debt, #0.5)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 31st, 2017
PublisherMolly O'Keefe
Number of pages52 pages
Rating
GenreNovella, Dark, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Suspense

The Debt (The Debt, #0.5) Review

  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    May 31, 2017
    This was a super short prologue that sets up THE DEBT series. I have to admit it was a bit on the depressing and violent side. That said I am intrigued to see where the author is going to go with this series and characters. Next up is Beth and Tommy's book. I am not overly crazy about her being a pop star as I am not a fan of musician books but I'll keep an open mind.
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    June 8, 2017
    Find my review in the review for book #1 LOST WITHOUT YOUThis here was just a free novella to introduce us to the story - you don't need to read it - this will be included in Lost Without You!
  • (Tori-Smexybooks) smexys_sidekick
    May 31, 2017
    Originally posted at SmexyBooks-http://smexybooks.com/2017/06/review-...Favorite Quote: “I know who you are… Who you really are.”Five teenagers…The St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles is a nightmare run by an abusive pastor and his wife. Five teenagers try to band together for protection and safety. Carissa, the youngest and non-verbal. Rose, alone and pregnant. Simon, one mistake away from losing everything. Beth, a rich girl who is there for unknown reasons, and Tommy, the boy who loves Originally posted at SmexyBooks-http://smexybooks.com/2017/06/review-...Favorite Quote: “I know who you are… Who you really are.”Five teenagers…The St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles is a nightmare run by an abusive pastor and his wife. Five teenagers try to band together for protection and safety. Carissa, the youngest and non-verbal. Rose, alone and pregnant. Simon, one mistake away from losing everything. Beth, a rich girl who is there for unknown reasons, and Tommy, the boy who loves her.One deadly secret…The only good part of living at St. Jude’s for Tommy is Beth and his love for her. When he and Beth are caught making out at school and a teacher tells the Pastor, it puts everyone in danger. Tommy is used to the beatings but when Beth is singled out for punishment, Tommy can’t sit back and let it happen.A debt owed…A single act seals their fate in the blood. When a mysterious man shows up, they are given one shot at freedom. The price? They owe a debt to him. And when he commands, they will come.The Debt is a roller coaster ride as we are taken on a journey through a foster home run by a sadistic pastor and his equally cruel wife. Children are placed there for various reasons and struggle to stay healthy and alive until they are free. Fans of O’Keefe’s Bad Boy Romance series may notice some familiar names in here as this story is set in the same world. I can;t WAIT to see where O’Keefe runs with this. I do want to add a warning that this may trigger some as there is abuse, violence, and sexual assault.As always, O’Keefe doesn’t hold back as she gives readers a front row seat to the dark and gritty edges life has to offer. O’Keefe offers no promises as she slowly peels back the layers to show us the truth and the price some pay for it. Though this novella is only fifty-two pages long, it reads like a full-length novel with a strong emotional storyline, intriguing characters, and a suspense-filled conflict. I was wiped by the end; completely wore out from the emotional avalanche I experienced while reading.Heavily character driven, the story is told from alternating points of view. The dispassionate voices of these teenagers hits home far harder than if they were colored in fear and/or anger. O’Keefe does an excellent job setting the scene for the next book-Lost Without You-one of two full-length novels that make up the series. We are only given the bare bones of why these kids are in foster care but the overall feeling is they are victims of fate or bad parenting. We see the extreme length they are forced to go to and the price they have to pay.This quick dark read is hard in the heart but necessary to understand the journey these kids will take in the future. I wholeheartedly recommend M O’Keefe’s The Debt and am looking forward to book two which releases June 19th. The Debt is currently being offered for free for a limited time. If you miss this deal, I am told this title will be included with book two.GRADE: B
    more
  • Bubu
    May 31, 2017
    This is currently for free on Amazon.com and uk. I think also on all the other ebook formats.
  • Nance
    June 30, 2017
    Review to be written soon...
  • Raeshelle, A Naughty Girl's Novel World
    June 4, 2017
    Molly O'Keefe's The Debt is one of the most haunting love stories that I have read. Ever. This story about the five teenage residents of St. Jude's Home for Court Place Juveniles (aka St. Jokes) kept me up at night ruminating over the events that occur in this prologue. Tommy and Beth's sweet, lovely high-school romance tattooed its place on my heart from the very first line of the first chapter. I will never eat another bag of Skittles without thinking about this book. The author brilliantly hi Molly O'Keefe's The Debt is one of the most haunting love stories that I have read. Ever. This story about the five teenage residents of St. Jude's Home for Court Place Juveniles (aka St. Jokes) kept me up at night ruminating over the events that occur in this prologue. Tommy and Beth's sweet, lovely high-school romance tattooed its place on my heart from the very first line of the first chapter. I will never eat another bag of Skittles without thinking about this book. The author brilliantly highlights the joys of first love and the physical, mental and emotional highs associated with the sweetness of experiencing a teenage love affair for the very first time. On the other hand, where there is blinding light, there is also infinite darkness, because the events that occur after school at St. Jude's Home for Court Place Juveniles shattered me and had me sick to my soul. Allow me to be perfectly clear: The Debt is chilling. It gave me the creeps. I shook my head in denial like "No...No...NOOOO!!!!" What happens behind closed doors hit me hard and deep with a level of sadness that I was not prepared for. This unconventional love story about young love and innocence lost had me shedding tears. My heart pounded due to anxiety, my stomach plummeted because of my sense of dread and my eyes wept for the plight of these characters. When the shit hit the fan I was relieved, thrilled that the imminent threat was finally eliminated, only to discover that an entirely different menace loomed ahead of these teenagers' futures. The events of one night resulted in a debt. The tagline suggests that "love is never free," and Molly O'Keefe has done an excellent job wetting my palette for Lost Without You . I am dying to start the next installment to see where Beth and Tommy's dark, raw and outright gritty love story leads me. In spite of the emotional roller coaster, I tremendously enjoyed this prequel! Never have I been so emotionally affected by four short chapters! The Debt is profound. It is beyond twisted, yet there is a sense of vindication that I absolutely fell in love with. I am definitely looking forward to solving the mystery surrounding the suspense in this series and I am SO eager for more! Hats Off to Molly O'Keefe for a job well done! 5/5 evocative, powerful stars!
    more
  • Jolie Vines
    June 4, 2017
    This book is a short, free (at time of writing) prequel to the new series Molly O’Keefe is launching rapid-fire over the next few weeks. As I started it, I knew two things. One: it was going to be a big tease, and two: it was going to hurt to read it.See, the story is set around a group of teenagers living in a foster care home in San Francisco. St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles. Tommy and Beth are in love, sharing stolen kisses in the art room at school. They can’t date, as the husband This book is a short, free (at time of writing) prequel to the new series Molly O’Keefe is launching rapid-fire over the next few weeks. As I started it, I knew two things. One: it was going to be a big tease, and two: it was going to hurt to read it.See, the story is set around a group of teenagers living in a foster care home in San Francisco. St. Jude’s Home for Court Placed Juveniles. Tommy and Beth are in love, sharing stolen kisses in the art room at school. They can’t date, as the husband and wife who run the home wouldn’t allow it.They rule the place with an iron fist.In fact these people, known as The Pastor and The Wife, aren’t just rule-enforcers, they are truly evil. The kids can’t tell anyone the awful things that happen there, as the last time someone tried it didn’t go well for them. So the day Beth and Tommy are caught kissing by a teacher who has no choice but to tell, they know the consequences are going to be severe.Can you feel the fear? Smell the evil? Gah. I hated it. The situation these kids live in is dire. Sent there by court order, their only other option is jail. Tommy thinks that’s where he’s headed anyway. Kids like him wind up in jail all the time. But Beth is in a more unusual situation, and one that we don’t find out the conclusion to in this short. He desperately wants to protect her, even if he knows so little about love and what it means. And that is the beacon of this tale: the shining, embryonic love between these two young adults. It’s beautiful.“Beth had freckles scattered like stars across her creamy skin, caught even on her lips and eyelids. She hated them, I knew. Her red hair and her freckles. But I wanted to put my lips against every one of them and whisper thank you, thank you for being here.”The other kids, Carissa, Rosa, who’s pregnant, and Simon, have methods of communicating under the nose of The Pastor and The Wife. The behaviors they display as a result of being locked up and far far worse, are heart breaking. Tommy is as thin as a rake where they deny him food despite his rapidly growing big frame clearly needing it. And what goes on in The Office truly chilled my blood.“The sound came again and I could identify it now because I wasn’t sleeping. Not a scream. It was the sound of a scream cut off before it could get started. It was a sound a thousand times worse than a scream, and all the hair on my body stood up.”Wonderful writing, as always, and I was left clamoring for more. And do you know? As I finished reading this at 1AM, the first full-length novel, book two, Lost Without You, appeared on my Kindle. Thanks promoter! I’m racing on to find out what happened with these kids after the dreadful night of reckoning is over.Rating: AFirst reviewed here: http://redhotbooks.com/2017/06/review...
    more
  • Elizabeth (Liz)
    June 1, 2017
    I'm Hooked!Whoa, that was an extremely well-done set up/tease for the series! Need books for each of the characters, like, ASAP!!
  • Timitra
    May 31, 2017
    Rated 4.5 StarsThis author knows how to weave a story that has you anxious, dreading what's to come yet practically salivating to see what happens next. I cannot wait to read the duet that follows.
  • Suz
    June 2, 2017
    this is the prologue to her next duet of books... there are 5 kids that live at the St. Judes Home for Court placed Juveniles - Beth, Carissa, Rosa, Simon and Tommy under the 'care' of the Pastor and his Wife (capitals intended).The book opens with two of the kids, Tommy and Beth, making out in the art room at the HS. They are interrupted by the school principal... it seems like he is going to let them get away with this but then he says he has to let The Pastor know about it... it seems that th this is the prologue to her next duet of books... there are 5 kids that live at the St. Judes Home for Court placed Juveniles - Beth, Carissa, Rosa, Simon and Tommy under the 'care' of the Pastor and his Wife (capitals intended).The book opens with two of the kids, Tommy and Beth, making out in the art room at the HS. They are interrupted by the school principal... it seems like he is going to let them get away with this but then he says he has to let The Pastor know about it... it seems that the deal with the HS is that residents of St Judes cant be in the same classes or fraternize and any infractions have to be reported back to the The Pastor. Beth knows that if it gets reported Tommy is going to get a really bad punishment (because things at St Judes aren't what they seem).... she seems to be about to tell the principal what really goes on but...Things are weird back at St Judes that night... Tommy gets to eat dinner which he usually doesn't... the girls are doing dishes as usual but then Beth is left to do them alone... Later that night, Tommy is woken up from a sweet dream about Beth ... there are screams and then then thumps coming from the girls rooms ... everyone is locked into their rooms at night at St Judes... he thought that The Pastor would come for him but The Pastor went for Beth... Tommy knows that if The Pastor gets Beth in his office, he will rape her, that is what The Pastor does with the foster children in his care.Tommy and Simon try to figure out how to get out of their room - it is locked from the outside.... somehow Rosa has gotten a set of keys. Carissa has gotten a knife; they get into the office and Tommy gets The Pastor off Beth....Tommy wakes up in a police station in hand cuffs, bloodied and broken, next to Simon and Carissa. Tommy had no idea where Beth was,other than her mother had come for her (and I don't know about the rest of you but I got creepy vipes about Beth's mom's) In strolls Bates, who we met in Baby Come Back - he was Lazarus's henchmen. He ordered out the police officer in the room. He told Carissa, Simon and Tommy that if they agreed to come work for him, when he called in THE DEBT, they could walk out of the police station.I can't wait to see where this goes... Where did Rosa go? Carissa? We know that Simon went to UCLA and Tommy works in construction... Beth becomes a pop star.... I can't wait to see how the Debt get paid...
    more
  • Ptiteaurel
    June 4, 2017
    Ce prologue de la nouvelle saga de Molly O'Keefe remplit amplement son rôle . Les bases sont posées et nous avons envie de connaitre la suite . Même si je veux évidemment en savoir plus sur Beth et Tommy , les destins de Simon , Carissa ou encore Rosa m intriguent tout autant .Chronique à venir ...
    more
  • Saunders
    June 20, 2017
    The Debt 0.5 sets the scene for what happens next - I will read the series but this is one of those that starts off reasonable but each subsequent book the price goes up.this one is free on Amazon UK at the moment but you can also read the prologue in book 1.
    more
  • Ralou by Collector Of Book Boyfriends
    June 5, 2017
    review to come
  • MJ
    June 1, 2017
    I don't typically give 5 stars to a novella that is the start to a series but omg Molly O'Keefe has clearly made me a fan for life with her latest.This extremely emotional beginning had me right from the very first pages. The story of a home for youths, abused by the Pastor and his wife gave me pause. Focusing on 5 of the young people, they seemingly make a deal with the devil after a horrific incident that results in them being taken in for questioning by the police. And now they are set free. I don't typically give 5 stars to a novella that is the start to a series but omg Molly O'Keefe has clearly made me a fan for life with her latest.This extremely emotional beginning had me right from the very first pages. The story of a home for youths, abused by the Pastor and his wife gave me pause. Focusing on 5 of the young people, they seemingly make a deal with the devil after a horrific incident that results in them being taken in for questioning by the police. And now they are set free...3 of them with the other two missing.I cannot wait to see how their journey continues as they seek out true freedom and find themselves being a productive part of society. Truly another fantastic adventure that the author delivers each and every time I pick up one of her books.You need to give this one a try. It promises to be as different as it is compelling.5 solid stars.
    more
  • Rhonda Brant
    June 12, 2017
    There's one thing you can count on with Molly O'Keefe, whatever she writes, it's going to be an emotional roller coaster, and this very short novella is no exception. We are very quickly introduced to Tommy, Rosa, Beth, Simon and Carissa, all have the unfortunate commonality of being in the same foster home, all have dark secrets, all have been abused by the caretaker and his wife of the home. Honestly, this really isn't my kind of book, but damn if the author hasn't sucked me in to where I now There's one thing you can count on with Molly O'Keefe, whatever she writes, it's going to be an emotional roller coaster, and this very short novella is no exception. We are very quickly introduced to Tommy, Rosa, Beth, Simon and Carissa, all have the unfortunate commonality of being in the same foster home, all have dark secrets, all have been abused by the caretaker and his wife of the home. Honestly, this really isn't my kind of book, but damn if the author hasn't sucked me in to where I now need to read the next installment coming out soon. Genius that she made this novella free, because readers will definitely follow after reading it. I love the way Molly writes, very descriptive, even when you would rather it not be, and flows quickly keeping you very engaged in the story. I hesitantly will purchase the second book in the series, I have to find out how this works it's way out, even though I know I will be on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book.
    more
  • Becky Rendon
    June 4, 2017
    A tease of what will be...The Debt is the beginning of the end for these kids and they never even knew it. Ok, maybe they did but not the way you think.St. Jude's isn't exactly home sweet home. Not all of them were certain they would actually leave on their own two feet but I can guarantee that never expected this to happen.What a great tease. You formed a bond with these characters now you need to know what happens next!Reviewer for Naughty Book Blog
    more
  • Carol
    June 24, 2017
    Loved this intro into The Debt series!!! I reviewed this as part of my review for Lost Without You, located on my blog and on Goodreads.
  • Philomena Callan Cheekypee
    May 31, 2017
    This is a good start to what looks like a promising story. Five children in a court appointed home find themselves in debt to a man after they fight for their freedom.What will they have to do??I'm looking forward to reading more of this story.
  • Kini
    June 4, 2017
    This was a great intro in to the series. So many questions. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
  • Victoria
    June 9, 2017
    A wonderful suspenseful start to what we know will be a great series from Molly. Can't wait for book one. And great to see the younger Bates! ( will this bad man ever have his own story? )
  • Sparklybearsy
    June 1, 2017
    Omg! I need more! This series is going to be epic.
  • Amanda (Booknerd_1107)
    June 4, 2017
    *thank you to the author for providing an arc*5⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐The Debt may be short but it certainly packs a punch. You are introduced to Tommy and Beth who live together at St. Jude's but have found a budding romance between them. While things at St. Jude's is not the best life, at school they are able to steal a few moments to be with each other. When they are found together one afternoon they know it will not end well.That night while at St. Jude's, Tommy begins to think maybe they will be okay, the pa *thank you to the author for providing an arc*5⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️The Debt may be short but it certainly packs a punch. You are introduced to Tommy and Beth who live together at St. Jude's but have found a budding romance between them. While things at St. Jude's is not the best life, at school they are able to steal a few moments to be with each other. When they are found together one afternoon they know it will not end well.That night while at St. Jude's, Tommy begins to think maybe they will be okay, the pastor hasn't come to find him and so far he believes the girls are all okay. Little does he know that this night will change not only his life, but the lives of three others.Molly O'Keefe does an amazing job grabbing your attention with this short story and gets you set for the next book and find out what has happen to Tommy and the others.
    more
  • Courtenay Bennett
    June 4, 2017
    Such an intriguing (and bleak) introduction to the series! Can't wait to find out what happens next...
  • Allison ❤️Will Never Conquer Her TBR❤️
    June 8, 2017
    This is basically the prologue to book one, Lost Without You. It's also Part One of Lost Without You, giving us a background to the character- the juveniles in state foster care called St Jude's. It sucked me right in and I'm thankful I had the first book to keep going. Now to wait for book two!
    more
  • Dawn Brown
    June 4, 2017
    I received a copy of this book for my honest and unbiased opinion!So, for a short book, this story is hard to put into words. For me it was anyways.First of all, everyone needs to know that The Debt is NOT a full story. It's a prologue. And it's not even the full story. The Debt is only the first four chapters of the first full novel Lost Without You. I really am hoping that I'm explaining this properly.In The Debt, you meet Tommy, Beth, Rosa,Simon and Carissa. They are all foster children that I received a copy of this book for my honest and unbiased opinion!So, for a short book, this story is hard to put into words. For me it was anyways.First of all, everyone needs to know that The Debt is NOT a full story. It's a prologue. And it's not even the full story. The Debt is only the first four chapters of the first full novel Lost Without You. I really am hoping that I'm explaining this properly.In The Debt, you meet Tommy, Beth, Rosa,Simon and Carissa. They are all foster children that live in what they call the place St. Jokes (St.Judes) and a Pastor and his wife run this home. It is found out really quickly that these people abuse these children. You have Tommy and Beth are in kind of a relationship, Rosa is a pregnant teenager, Carissa, the youngest but has been there the longest and Simon, who is quiet, has an high IQ, and keeps his nose in the books.In the beginning of the book, Tommy and Beth are at school on their lunch period and making out in the art room. And they get caught by the principal. He informs them that he has to let his foster parents know and Beth wants to tell the principal the truth about what goes on in that house but Tommy won't allow it. I honestly think that the principal already has his suspicions. But since no one will speak up, he can't do anything about it.Now, I'm trying to figure out how much to tell you because like I said, it's a short story and if I say much more then I'm just going to give the whole story away.Let's just say that later that night, things go bad and blood gets spilled and Tommy, Simon, and Carissa find themselves in the police station looking at doing some heavy time. Then in walks a man that you do not want to cross. He makes them a deal, you can go to prison for a very long time or you can just walk out. But if you walk out, you will end up owing a debt. And when it's time to pay that debt, if you do not do it, then evidence for a worse crime will be planted that implicates you and you will go down for that crime.Now, this book to me wasn't your usual story. When I first started to read it, I didn't think I would like it because of the child abuse. But I read it to the end and I still can't figure out my feelings surrounding this book. It's like when I told Heather Roberts when we were discussing it, "It's like a car accident that you want to look away from, but you can't." That's the furthest that I can explain my feelings on this book. Now, I was given an advanced copy of Lost Without You and I can explain my feelings better on it than I can this one. But since that review isn't due until a couple more weeks, I'm just going to keep my mouth quiet on that one. The Debt was well written and it might hit you in the feels with it but since this book doesn't give out much, it may not. You'll have to be the judge of that. All I can say is, happy reading!!
    more
  • Claudia Alfaro
    June 14, 2017
    4 starsEven when contemporary romance stories are my favorite, I also love dark romance stories every once in awhile. The kind of stories that make your heart literally ache, the one you find struggling right along with the characters, feeling their pain, their lost and wishing for them a happy ending. Molly O’Keefe is the kind of author who can give you all of that with a unique, well paced and written story. THE DEBT is the prequel and the grounds to a very interesting story. Tommy, Clarissa, 4 starsEven when contemporary romance stories are my favorite, I also love dark romance stories every once in awhile. The kind of stories that make your heart literally ache, the one you find struggling right along with the characters, feeling their pain, their lost and wishing for them a happy ending. Molly O’Keefe is the kind of author who can give you all of that with a unique, well paced and written story. THE DEBT is the prequel and the grounds to a very interesting story. Tommy, Clarissa, Rosa, Simon & the newly arrived Beth have met in Saint Jude’s Home for Court-Placed Juveniles, we don't have the details to WHY they are there in the first place, just that they all have sustained a life of abuse from the people who are supposed to take care of the children in the foster care, Pastor Kendrick and his wife.Surrounded by all the pain and abuse, Tommy never was more happy in his life than when he met Beth. They found each other in the most horrible situation and place, but they managed to have some moments of happiness (especially at the art room in their school). But sadly for these kids happiness never lasts, so when Tommy & Beth were caught together at their school, a punishment was coming and the Pastor chose Beth to be the one who received it.Tommy always wanted to protect her. So with the help of the other kids, they hoped to stop The Pastor, but Tommy received the worst part. The Pastor beat him almost to death. When Tommy recovered consciousness, he finds out Beth is gone, the Pastor was dead and that they were in jail. Now, they will have to make a deal “with the devil” in order to walk free. But this freedom they get, comes with a prize. Anytime soon the devil will be back to collect his Debt.What a prequel! Completely intriguing and gripping! Now I'm intrigued with what twists and turns this author will give to this story.
    more
  • Shannon
    June 15, 2017
    The Debt tells the story of a group of teenagers in a group home run by a preacher and his wife. They are treated horribly in that house, and things reach a breaking point that will change the lives of all of the teenagers. Among the group is Beth and Tommy, these 2 have a deep connection, but they aren't free to express their young love in the group home. The Debt is sort of like the prequel to the main story told in Lost Without You, and I think it does a great job of showing us some of what s The Debt tells the story of a group of teenagers in a group home run by a preacher and his wife. They are treated horribly in that house, and things reach a breaking point that will change the lives of all of the teenagers. Among the group is Beth and Tommy, these 2 have a deep connection, but they aren't free to express their young love in the group home. The Debt is sort of like the prequel to the main story told in Lost Without You, and I think it does a great job of showing us some of what shapes these characters as the adults that we see in the next book, Lost Without You, and I think it's necessary to read this to understand the whole story. I really felt for these characters and I want so bad for them to be happy! Molly O'Keefe sure knows how to draw you in! Once I finished this I wanted to see how this story would play out! Interesting, quick read with depth!
    more
  • Kelly
    June 3, 2017
    I hit a point early on in this book where I had to put it down for a bit because I could SEE something bad on the horizon and I didn't feel like I was emotionally equipped to handle it. (To be fair, I got a lot of sun today and my cold, dead heart can't handle EMOTIONS on top of sunlight. So part of this may be on me. But part of it was totally not on me, too. Because EMOTIONS.)This is the setup, guys. This is where the wheels are put in motion and they're some mighty big wheels. The St. Jude's I hit a point early on in this book where I had to put it down for a bit because I could SEE something bad on the horizon and I didn't feel like I was emotionally equipped to handle it. (To be fair, I got a lot of sun today and my cold, dead heart can't handle EMOTIONS on top of sunlight. So part of this may be on me. But part of it was totally not on me, too. Because EMOTIONS.)This is the setup, guys. This is where the wheels are put in motion and they're some mighty big wheels. The St. Jude's kids are in a bad place and they make a series of choices that leave them with only one way out. Well, I guess they could have taken their chances with the police, but I somehow doubt that would have turned out any better.Book 2 awaits!-Kelly @ Reading the Paranormal
    more
  • Amanda
    June 10, 2017
    This book is free on Amazon right now, so grab it!This is a short prologue to a new series by O'Keefe and it is dark. This story is told through the POV of Tommy and Beth, two teens living in a group foster home with The Pastor (this is how he's referred to the whole book) and his wife. Tommy and Beth are fooling around in school and get caught by a teacher. We learn both of them are terrified of The Pastor and his wife because they are abusive, but they don't think anyone will believe them if t This book is free on Amazon right now, so grab it!This is a short prologue to a new series by O'Keefe and it is dark. This story is told through the POV of Tommy and Beth, two teens living in a group foster home with The Pastor (this is how he's referred to the whole book) and his wife. Tommy and Beth are fooling around in school and get caught by a teacher. We learn both of them are terrified of The Pastor and his wife because they are abusive, but they don't think anyone will believe them if they go for help.We also meet the other teens in the group home: Carissa, Simon, and Rosa (who is pregnant). And a character you'll recognize if you've read her previous books shows up near the end. No spoilers, though! This was so depressing, but it does a great job setting up the next books. Can't wait.
    more
  • Rachel & Jen
    June 5, 2017
    Amount of sex 1 / 5How explicit 2 / 5Story 5 / 5Overall: 5 / 5The Debt is an exciting introduction to the upcoming debt series written by author Molly O’Keefe. This novella focuses on Beth, Tommy, Clarissa, Simon and Rosa who all live together in a foster home at St. Jude’s Home for Court Appointed Juveniles.The Pastor and his wife are their guardians and also run St. Jude’s home. They are extremely strict and often frighten the kids. Although, they soon will be dealing with a terrifying life al Amount of sex 1 / 5How explicit 2 / 5Story 5 / 5Overall: 5 / 5The Debt is an exciting introduction to the upcoming debt series written by author Molly O’Keefe. This novella focuses on Beth, Tommy, Clarissa, Simon and Rosa who all live together in a foster home at St. Jude’s Home for Court Appointed Juveniles.The Pastor and his wife are their guardians and also run St. Jude’s home. They are extremely strict and often frighten the kids. Although, they soon will be dealing with a terrifying life altering event together.I am completely hooked and have so many questions! I can’t wait for the second book, Lost Without You, which will be releasing on June 19th.*Voluntarily Reviewed an Advanced Copy*
    more
Write a review