DEVIL
DEVIL. A DARK SUSPENSE NOVELEvi Devil. Yes, that’s really my name.The irony is not lost on me.I was created from two evil souls and have the name to prove it. Devil worshipers, perverts, murderer. Is all terms used to describe the parents I refuse to remember. My mind won’t allow me to. And why would I want to? One born of dirty blood running through her veins can never truly be clean from its murky hue. No matter what they try to tell me happened in my past, my mind denies me access, therefore how can I know it’s true? How can I believe that’s what I’m born from?Glimpses of my past haunt me, the screams of terror echo in the silent darkness of my memories, trying to remind me that my Mother went from room to room butchering our family. I’ve learned from scars that I suffered abuse and that my Father and siblings weren’t my Mother’s only victims. Hearing what they tell me.Reading the words printed in the papers. None of it can prepare me for what’s to come. My biggest lesson is learning that some memories we suppress for a reason.

DEVIL Details

TitleDEVIL
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 25th, 2017
Number of pages209 pages
Rating
GenreDark, Suspense, Thriller

DEVIL Review

  • warhawke
    July 26, 2017
    Genre: Dark SuspenseType: Standalone POV: First Person - FemaleRating: Evi Devil was lost in between her own memories. She often woke up from snippets of vision, not knowing which one the truth and which one was the fabrication of her mind. One thing for certain, her past was violent one. With the help of someone from her past, it was up to her to uncover the truth, no matter how dangerous and painful it could be. I want to become water, seep into his skin and live just under the surface, feeli Genre: Dark SuspenseType: Standalone POV: First Person - FemaleRating: Evi Devil was lost in between her own memories. She often woke up from snippets of vision, not knowing which one the truth and which one was the fabrication of her mind. One thing for certain, her past was violent one. With the help of someone from her past, it was up to her to uncover the truth, no matter how dangerous and painful it could be. I want to become water, seep into his skin and live just under the surface, feeling his blood rush through his veins every day for the rest of my life. I felt sorry for Evi. Being in her situation must have been confusing and scary. It required a lot of inner strength to survive what she's been through. You might not remember me, Evi. You might not remember us, but I do. Every single detail. Max was an interesting character. I like how supportive and patient he was with her. “I’m damaged,” I whisper without thought. Smiling down at me, he speaks with affection, making love to each word . “Frayed at the edges maybe. The colors distorted. But still a masterpiece.” I love reading suspense books with the character having memory issue. It made it interesting trying to figure out the truth and this book will make you speculate until you get the answers. I enjoyed delving into the characters' past and possible motives with the darkness that surrounded them.Devil is a story of a woman trying to mend the shattered pieces of her past. It would appeal to readers who enjoy dark suspense with a hint of romance.💀 ⚔️ 💀 . . . (F)BR With Twinsie CC . . . 💀 ⚔️ 💀For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  •  KAT ⚛ Kitty Kat's Crazy About Books ⚛
    July 22, 2017
    Dark, Haunting & Hypnotic DEVIL: is a standalone suspenseful, dark novel by Ker Dukey. This review is going to be a no frills review where I'm pretty much not even going to write up the review how I normally would, this is Evi's story and it's not a pretty story. In the ‘Prologue' we’re introduced to twenty-one year old Evi sitting in her therapists office trying in vain to go back in her mind when she woke up outside of her house near death, aged 9, stabbed, losing a lot of blood to wa Dark, Haunting & Hypnotic DEVIL: is a standalone suspenseful, dark novel by Ker Dukey. This review is going to be a no frills review where I'm pretty much not even going to write up the review how I normally would, this is Evi's story and it's not a pretty story. In the ‘Prologue' we’re introduced to twenty-one year old Evi sitting in her therapists office trying in vain to go back in her mind when she woke up outside of her house near death, aged 9, stabbed, losing a lot of blood to waking up in the hospital with no memory of what took place that fateful night. Authors Warning This title deals with some sensitive subject matter and should be read with caution.If you’re a Ker Dukey reader/fan already, ignore this warning, as you’re fucked up enough to not need it. 😂Chapter by chapter like Evi we slowly try and piece the pieces of her mind back together again, but in order to do that she needs to go back, back to where it all happened, back to where her whole family met their demise. Enjoy the ride!!Ever read a book then it comes to writing up your review and you sit back and wonder what the fuck had you just read? Yeah me neither!! In all seriousness though this book sent my mind into a tailspin, I didn't know what was happening from one minute to the next, you have to keep your wits about you because it does flit from memory to memory to distorted memory as she tried to piece them all back together again like a jigsaw missing a few pieces. This book had all the twists and turns you could expect from Ker Dukey, would I call it dark, yes, but she doesn't unleash the darkness on us unsuspecting souls until you near the end of the book, the suspense was there in buckets. Don't go into this thinking you know what's going to happen because believe me you'll be wrong. So very very wrong!! don't read reviews if they have divulged spoilers. This book is best read when you go in blind, expect one fucked up mother of a train wreck of a crazy assed ride, an unputdownable suspenseful dark, gritty read.
    more
  • CC
    July 22, 2017
    4.5 Stars! Evi Devil suffered abuse and a life-altering experience when she was a only 9 years old. Since then, Evi adapted as best as she could despite her memories but as she turns 21, an event triggers her need to get answers and finally reconcile what she’s felt for all these years. Returning to the place of origin, Evi’s quest painfully begins. “I don’t feel like a complete person. I’m particles of a whole but the whole is fragmented and floating like dust particles caught in the stream of 4.5 Stars! Evi Devil suffered abuse and a life-altering experience when she was a only 9 years old. Since then, Evi adapted as best as she could despite her memories but as she turns 21, an event triggers her need to get answers and finally reconcile what she’s felt for all these years. Returning to the place of origin, Evi’s quest painfully begins. “I don’t feel like a complete person. I’m particles of a whole but the whole is fragmented and floating like dust particles caught in the stream of light, visible only when it shines through a crack in the window." As Evi becomes reacquainted with Max, a friend from the past, she feels a deep connection with him but her mind won’t budge as to the closeness they share. Sensing Evi is in a precarious situation, Max is sensitive to her emotions and tries to help her in every way he knows how. “He was a good thing in my life before; I can feel it deep in my soul.” In addition to their friendship, Evi is incredibly attracted to Max which she doesn’t try to hide from him. While Max doesn’t want to push Evi in the wrong direction, he isn’t afraid to give Evi exactly what she wants. With Max’s honed to perfection body and need to envelop Evi, their sexual chemistry is palpable and leads to unadulterated hot times. “His palms move down to my ass cheeks, squeezing and guiding me up and over him, skin slapping skin and the wet juices slurping as he plunges so deep inside me he may never be able to leave.” Told from Evi’s perspective, Devil sets an insidious tone from the first page. Getting inside Evi’s mind is a perilous investment due to the feeling of uncertainty and there isn’t any other option but to empathize with her memories and emotions. Creating a character like Evi is complex because while she has vulnerabilities and self-doubt, she is also a survivor in need of a re-boot. With the addition of Max, his measured and easy personality compliments Evi by giving her the space and comfort she so desperately needs. With the character highs and lows, I felt every moment whether it was despair, lust, anger or affection. In trying to decipher clues, the suspenseful plot arrangement and steady pace intensifies the need for answers within a richly layered narrative. Evi’s plight isn’t easy yet I was with her the entire way. Additionally, Max’s tenderness is absolutely endearing and panty melting.In Devil, Ker Dukey successfully brings the reader into the unsteady mind of a character that is struggling to find normalcy. It’s a story that is atmospherically tragic yet offers hope and a chance to find contentment in a uniquely moving way. For those who enjoy twisty suspense, Devil offers a powerful dose of sentiment and thrill. I highly recommend! *An ARC was generously provided in exchange for an honest review.**This was a (F)BR with Twinsie Hawkey!*For more reviews/reveals/giveaways visit:
    more
  • Philomena Callan Cheekypee
    July 23, 2017
    Amazing. This is truly an amazing read. I sat and read this as soon as it hit my kindle. I had a feeling it was gonna be good but it was a brilliant read.I loved Max. I felt so sorry for Evi and was so proud of how strong she was. These two are my favourite characters that I've read so far this year. No clues about the story from me. You just gotta read it for yourself. The author had me thinking the story was gonna go one way and then bam it was going another way. The twists kept coming and had Amazing. This is truly an amazing read. I sat and read this as soon as it hit my kindle. I had a feeling it was gonna be good but it was a brilliant read.I loved Max. I felt so sorry for Evi and was so proud of how strong she was. These two are my favourite characters that I've read so far this year. No clues about the story from me. You just gotta read it for yourself. The author had me thinking the story was gonna go one way and then bam it was going another way. The twists kept coming and had me in the edge of my seat. I'm so looking forward to reading more from this author.
    more
  • Laura- BookBistroBlog
    July 25, 2017
    DevilBy: Ker Dukey4 StarsWell goodness gracious what did I just read? Ker Dukey is known for her twisted, mind blowing stories and this one didn’t disappoint! Evi Devil, a young girl who is struggling with trying to figure out what happened that one night when she was just 9 years old. Waking up in a hospital, she is recovering. Quickly adopted and loved by her new family, Evi still has haunting dreams of that night.Max has never forgot that little girl who grew up next door to him. Evi has alwa DevilBy: Ker Dukey4 StarsWell goodness gracious what did I just read? Ker Dukey is known for her twisted, mind blowing stories and this one didn’t disappoint! Evi Devil, a young girl who is struggling with trying to figure out what happened that one night when she was just 9 years old. Waking up in a hospital, she is recovering. Quickly adopted and loved by her new family, Evi still has haunting dreams of that night.Max has never forgot that little girl who grew up next door to him. Evi has always been in his head. Years have gone by and there she is, standing in the home where it all happened. What a roller-coaster ride this one was! Just like riding one in real life, the best twist in the ride comes out of nowhere and freaks you out!!!Follow us on---FB – https://www.facebook.com/groups/BookB...Blog -https://bookbistroblogcom.wordpress.comBlog -https://bookbistroblogger.blogspot.comTwitter - https://www.twitter.com/BookBistroInstagram - https://www.instagram.com/BookBistroBlog
    more
  • mells_view
    July 26, 2017
    Oh my geez....That was a mind hump of epic proportions.I don't even know what to say other than Ker Dukey once again takes us on a mind blowing ride with Evi. Her past is really really screwed up. Her present feels like an erotic blur. Luckily she doesn't remember the past, and has the water to calm her present. Will you read this book and help Evi remember her past? Does she actually want to remember it?If you like dark suspenseful romance then I would absolutely read this story. It's full of t Oh my geez....That was a mind hump of epic proportions.I don't even know what to say other than Ker Dukey once again takes us on a mind blowing ride with Evi. Her past is really really screwed up. Her present feels like an erotic blur. Luckily she doesn't remember the past, and has the water to calm her present. Will you read this book and help Evi remember her past? Does she actually want to remember it?If you like dark suspenseful romance then I would absolutely read this story. It's full of triggers, but it is so worth the read.
    more
  • Laveda Kasch
    July 23, 2017
    I started Devil today, I finished it today...what does that tell you? Unputdownable, for real. Once I started I couldn't stop, I didn't even want to stop and eat, I needed to know where this story was going. It took me to one place, forked off to another, and then back again. I tried my hardest to figure this book out along the way but was unsuccessful in my many attempts. Evi is an enigma, you will try to figure her out and you will fail. And Max, like a knight in some hot ass armour, coming in I started Devil today, I finished it today...what does that tell you? Unputdownable, for real. Once I started I couldn't stop, I didn't even want to stop and eat, I needed to know where this story was going. It took me to one place, forked off to another, and then back again. I tried my hardest to figure this book out along the way but was unsuccessful in my many attempts. Evi is an enigma, you will try to figure her out and you will fail. And Max, like a knight in some hot ass armour, coming in to save the day. There is so much I want to say about this book but I won't, in fear of saying too much. All I will say is that this book is one you do NOT want to miss out on and you need to one click it as soon as this bad boy goes live. Let Ker take you on a tailspin of a ride that you won't want to get off of. In fact, I guarantee, you'll beg for more.Just a few of my favorite lines from the book: ☆ "I have demons, Evi, but you bring them to their knees.""Why?""To worship their queen."☆ I find beauty in pain and darkness because of the horrors that bestowed me in light.☆ "Even the purest of us still create a dark shadow.""Then let's live in the shadows together."
    more
  • Kyra
    July 24, 2017
    Holy hell. I opened the first page with excited trepidation - this is how I open all Ker Dukey books lol. The chapter titles sent a shiver through my spine, and it didn't really let up until I closed the book when I was done. Evi Devil will crawl inside your soul and live there. You will want to protect her, and yet you'll always be a little wary of her because it's clear throughout that she's been through a lot. And Max. He is actual perfection in the body of a "lumberjack". Ker Dukey has writt Holy hell. I opened the first page with excited trepidation - this is how I open all Ker Dukey books lol. The chapter titles sent a shiver through my spine, and it didn't really let up until I closed the book when I was done. Evi Devil will crawl inside your soul and live there. You will want to protect her, and yet you'll always be a little wary of her because it's clear throughout that she's been through a lot. And Max. He is actual perfection in the body of a "lumberjack". Ker Dukey has written a masterpiece here. There is so much beauty in the words, even though the story is filled with so much pain. This is the kind of story that only the truly talented can pull off. It's an absolute must read.
    more
  •  Charlie ✰ WLTB Blog ✰
    July 23, 2017
    Well, what a book I have to say for me Devil is for me one of my top reads for 2017.I am not going to go into details just know you have to read this one.It is so different from what I have read from Ker’ before but it is so good. It really messed with my head. I thought I had it figured out and I was wrong it will keep you guessing throughout I did not see the twists and turns...I really liked Max and Evi you just want to hug and take Evi away from everything and her family argh I will not spoi Well, what a book I have to say for me Devil is for me one of my top reads for 2017.I am not going to go into details just know you have to read this one.It is so different from what I have read from Ker’ before but it is so good. It really messed with my head. I thought I had it figured out and I was wrong it will keep you guessing throughout I did not see the twists and turns...I really liked Max and Evi you just want to hug and take Evi away from everything and her family argh I will not spoil it.This book is a must read from Ker and if you have never read anything from Ker before jump right in and give this a read you will not be disappointed. So well written and characters you will fall in love with.
    more
  • Expresso
    July 24, 2017
    Dukey does it a-friggin-gain!!! Dark? Hmmm as IF! This magnificent story is pitch black!Have you ever read a book where you know something juicy is near the end but you have to read the beginning and middle to understand the ending? Hello! Ding ding ding! Dukey expertly build the suspense throughout the story! She makes everyone seem guilty and by 40% I was convinced the therapist, the neighbor, and the grade school teacher were all culprits! But whoooooaaaa! It's not what you think. What is inn Dukey does it a-friggin-gain!!! Dark? Hmmm as IF! This magnificent story is pitch black!Have you ever read a book where you know something juicy is near the end but you have to read the beginning and middle to understand the ending? Hello! Ding ding ding! Dukey expertly build the suspense throughout the story! She makes everyone seem guilty and by 40% I was convinced the therapist, the neighbor, and the grade school teacher were all culprits! But whoooooaaaa! It's not what you think. What is innocence anyway when observing the scope of the entire situation???!! I'm talking mindf*ck on a grander scale than ever!This story is pretty graphic so if you're toddling on the edges of the dark genre, please DO NOT choose this book to capitulate fully into darkness! This story will traumatize and wreck you in a ways you simply can recover from if you're a toddler. As for the rest of us darklings, it's PERFECT!Five stars!
    more
  • Romance Readers Retreat
    July 25, 2017
    Wow this book was a trip and a half down deep dark lane! It has to be one of my favourite Ker Dukey books yet. I'm not going to rehash the story on this one. All you need to know is that it's extremely dark, disturbing in some places and extremely psychological. If you're not careful you will get lost so pay attention and concentrate when reading because the story goes back and forth in Evi's mind from past to present. There are quite a few twists to the story that you won't see coming and they Wow this book was a trip and a half down deep dark lane! It has to be one of my favourite Ker Dukey books yet. I'm not going to rehash the story on this one. All you need to know is that it's extremely dark, disturbing in some places and extremely psychological. If you're not careful you will get lost so pay attention and concentrate when reading because the story goes back and forth in Evi's mind from past to present. There are quite a few twists to the story that you won't see coming and they will definitely leave you asking what just happened.Evi is like a rubix cube that's being twisted one way then the other, you can't help but feel sorry for her and want to wrap her in cotton wool! Max is extremely lovable, he is kind and compassionate and he definitely proves the love he has always had for Evi and that he would do anything for her.I loved this book! It's been a while since I have ventured into something really dark that has a mind boggling, screwed up psychological twist to it and boy have I missed it. I need more more more, I just couldn't get enough and I inhaled it all in one go. If you love a no holding back dark read with huge psychological twists then grab this as I promise you won't be disappointed.
    more
  • A Book Lover's Emporium Book Blog
    July 23, 2017
    Well what we have here is another five plus star read by Ker Dukey. Oh yes indeedy, I was glued from start to finish. If you want something out of the ordinary then you should definitely give this a go.There are twists and turns of course; it is Ker Dukey's book and wouldn't be right without those mind **** moments. There were parts I was like REALLY?! I did not see those parts coming at all. It was very cleverly written and made you believe every word, until everything you believe to be true is Well what we have here is another five plus star read by Ker Dukey. Oh yes indeedy, I was glued from start to finish. If you want something out of the ordinary then you should definitely give this a go.There are twists and turns of course; it is Ker Dukey's book and wouldn't be right without those mind **** moments. There were parts I was like REALLY?! I did not see those parts coming at all. It was very cleverly written and made you believe every word, until everything you believe to be true is no longer the case.I was well and truly sucked into the mind of Evi; I felt her darkness, feelings, thoughts, emotions and I even felt the heat when her dirty thoughts took over jeeeeez!! I felt like I used the pensieve in Harry Potter; as soon as I opened the page it sucked me in and I was living it, completely oblivious to what was going on around me. It's definitely a one clicker!
    more
  • Angie Crabtree-Liezel's Book Blog
    July 26, 2017
    "I have demons, Evi, but you bring them to their knees." "Why?" I honestly need to know. "To worship their queen."Devil is unlike any book I've ever read before. This is Evi's story and it unfolds before us like it does for Evi. Not everything is what it seems. Some lies are truth and some truth are lies. Who's good, who's bad? Who is right and who is wrong? When you think you have the plot figured out, Ker throws in a twist to make you realize she's not done fucking with you yet. Devil takes yo "I have demons, Evi, but you bring them to their knees." "Why?" I honestly need to know. "To worship their queen."Devil is unlike any book I've ever read before. This is Evi's story and it unfolds before us like it does for Evi. Not everything is what it seems. Some lies are truth and some truth are lies. Who's good, who's bad? Who is right and who is wrong? When you think you have the plot figured out, Ker throws in a twist to make you realize she's not done fucking with you yet. Devil takes you on an emotional roller coaster through heaven and hell as you travel through Evi's mind trying to decipher everything that you're being told. The first person narrative leaves you with a spine tingling sensation that there's evil lurking around every corner and the feeling of being watched."The monsters ravaged and ruined me so I became one."
    more
  • Taylrbookgirl
    September 10, 2016
    Beta/Edit Read in exchange of my honest review. I have no idea of what to say because there is so much I want to say. I am completely being honest and truthful with all of you who read this when I say this. This book is Soooo good, it has become my Top Read of the Year so far. I loved every minute of this book, It sucked me in and it's keeping me there. I am now a depraved fan of hers and never want to come back out of the Devils mind. Her words are like poetry, they seep into your soul like blo Beta/Edit Read in exchange of my honest review. I have no idea of what to say because there is so much I want to say. I am completely being honest and truthful with all of you who read this when I say this. This book is Soooo good, it has become my Top Read of the Year so far. I loved every minute of this book, It sucked me in and it's keeping me there. I am now a depraved fan of hers and never want to come back out of the Devils mind. Her words are like poetry, they seep into your soul like blood pumping through your veins. I can't believe this is the first book I have read by her but I don't regret it because this book is so Beautiful, so Dark, that I would do it all over again just to feel these words again. It has twists and turns, sexy and steamy, dark and depraved, sadness and poetic all in one. I felt so much, I didn't see anything coming, it kept me on my toes and made me want to flip the pages to see what happens. I stayed up late, just to read more. I haven't done that in a long time. Evi is my Mad-hatter and I am her Alice. I got sucked into her crazy world and I never want out. She is Strong, Beautiful, Sexy, Twisted and damaged. I loved her in every way. Her soul is meant for Max. His soul was meant for hers. Max is everything you want in a Hero. He is just as crazy and dark as her, and that makes him her King to his Queen. They stand by each other out of love for one another. They will do anything for each other and nobody will ever compete. Because they are each others half, and through the darkness in their soul they find love. I don't want to spoil anything or give anything a way cause you need to go in blind. You will be glad you did. I truly believe this author will be something great because of her words and her passion. This book is Dark so don't read it, if you can't handle it. But you will be missing out. Step into the Spiders web, I dare you.
    more
  • Kahea
    July 25, 2017
    ***5 ‘Crazy Colors’ Stars*** Hello mind fuck. I honestly didn’t know which way was up half the time and I was absolutely captivated by it all. If you want to go down a rabbit hole, here’s your opportunity. It was dark (I know, duh it is a Ker Dukey book, but not everyone heeds the warning) and messed with my head more often than not but I couldn’t put it down and I found Evi, and Max, absolutely fascinating. Evi absolutely fascinated me. Being in her head, seeing the world through her eyes was ***5 ‘Crazy Colors’ Stars*** Hello mind fuck. I honestly didn’t know which way was up half the time and I was absolutely captivated by it all. If you want to go down a rabbit hole, here’s your opportunity. It was dark (I know, duh it is a Ker Dukey book, but not everyone heeds the warning) and messed with my head more often than not but I couldn’t put it down and I found Evi, and Max, absolutely fascinating. Evi absolutely fascinated me. Being in her head, seeing the world through her eyes was truly an experience. Calling her past hellish is an understatement but as all of the events unfolded two mythological creatures kept popping into my head in association with her: The chimera and the phoenix. One is easier to explain than the other, but when you read the book you’ll understand.And then there is Max. If you are in Dukey’s darKER souls FB group you will know how she feels about Max and I wholeheartedly agree. He is everything and in order to find out why, you will have to read the book. Not fair, I know, but trust me when I saw you will fall for this man. And as for their romance? Let’s just say it is epic and they were truly meant to be together forever. I’m not sure what to call this book. Dark Romance. Dark Romantic Suspense. Dark Suspense. All fit and none fit. The twists and turns played with my head and I had to go back and read a couple things to make sure I had the facts straight and when everything finally came clear it was like “Whoa!” and made absolute sense. So if you can handle the dark themes and situations that tend to go hand in hand with a Ker Dukey book and want to fall down the rabbit hole for a couple hours, pick up this book and enjoy the hell out of it!Fav Quote: “Not all beasts do atrocious things. Sometimes the evil around us creates a monster because the world sometimes needs one to ride the world of worse monsters” Chapter 11~ Copy provided by the author & voluntarily reviewed ~
    more
  • Johnaka
    July 24, 2017
    Devil by Ker Dukey“A mind screw, 4 stars”I honestly don’t know what I just read. Devil made my brain all foggy. It’s a mix of suspense and mystery with a hint of romance. I will give credit where credit is due and tell you I never saw this story going where it went. At one point, I thought that maybe someone should do a welfare check on Dukey because Devil is so messed up in an awesome way.Evi doesn’t remember who she is. All she knows is her body is covered in scars that lead her to believe she Devil by Ker Dukey“A mind screw, 4 stars”I honestly don’t know what I just read. Devil made my brain all foggy. It’s a mix of suspense and mystery with a hint of romance. I will give credit where credit is due and tell you I never saw this story going where it went. At one point, I thought that maybe someone should do a welfare check on Dukey because Devil is so messed up in an awesome way.Evi doesn’t remember who she is. All she knows is her body is covered in scars that lead her to believe she was abused before she was adopted. As the story continues you see different sides of Evi and her personality. You never know what is real and what is make believe. Devil is the journey of Evi remembering who she is and where she belongs.Years ago, Max met a girl, he knew she was his person but life would keep them apart. He knows her home life was awful and tries to help. Only for her to be ripped away and never heard from again. Her family stained the town with their odd behavior. What happens when the little girl he once knew shows up at the house across the street from his mother’s? Can he protect her from her past or will he help her put together all the pieces?This isn’t a love story. It’s dark and twisted. The way Dukey wrote I was captivated. This may not be a love story but it had some killer quotes, here are a couple that I liked;“I want to pull a little of peace of heaven down just for you so you feel the beauty in the world,” he whispers.“My soul has known yours before we were put here on Earth and it will love you long after we leave it. Whether you stay with me or leave me to go back to your life, I’ll find you again. I promise.”Plot- 4/5Characters- 5/5Heat- 3/5Writing style- 5/5Overall- 4/5**SBR Reviews**
    more
  • Nadia Debowska-Stephens (Obsessed by Books)
    July 23, 2017
    "The trees around me away in mourning. The creatures have broken wings and the water holds ghosts. My past has me by the throat. I'm in a choke hold, gasping, begging for air."Thud...This story had me wrapped around it's little finger.Thud...With each chapter I was sucked in to a vortex of half truths and cloaked lies.Thud...Evi Devil has hidden her reality in a world of her own making, confusing the tangible with the ethereal.Thud...thud...thud...Ker Dukey has once again delivered a story that "The trees around me away in mourning. The creatures have broken wings and the water holds ghosts. My past has me by the throat. I'm in a choke hold, gasping, begging for air."Thud...This story had me wrapped around it's little finger.Thud...With each chapter I was sucked in to a vortex of half truths and cloaked lies.Thud...Evi Devil has hidden her reality in a world of her own making, confusing the tangible with the ethereal.Thud...thud...thud...Ker Dukey has once again delivered a story that has surpassed all expectation and secured her as one of my all time favourite go to authors. Devil is a tale of a woman lost to the trauma of her past, haunted daily by glimpses of the events that scarred her, her dreams are plagued with ghosts that are desperate to reveal their secrets. With an air of melancholy Evi portrays a world where she is drowning in the vagueness of her uncertainty, her fragile grip on the boundaries of her truth precariously becoming more and more endangered as we slowly watch her unravel. Jolting from one piece of the puzzle to the next can she fit them altogether to complete who she was and now is...or will the pieces forever be missing? With Garret taking control and enabling her the safety to explode her repressed memories, will his approach make or break her? And can she trust the sense of belonging when she is reunited with Max or is her burdened soul too weighed down by the shadows dogging her? This is a story woven with dark themes, there is only retribution and no redemption and that's perfectly sinful and befitting for this story. Max is a beautiful man, embracing his soul mate and being the perfect reflection of her needs, I swooned! Evi is ...I have no words to adequately describe her without giving away clues so therefore I will leave it at that but I'm crushing hard on them both. I love my characters dark, brooding and very broken. Devil was all I wanted and more.A five star..thud...thud...thud...read. ~*~ Reviewed on behalf of Obsessed by Books ~*~
    more
Write a review