The Wife
His scandal. Her secret.When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived fling, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past.Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.

The Wife Details

TitleThe Wife
Author
ReleaseJan 23rd, 2018
PublisherHarper
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Suspense, Mystery Thriller, Psychological Thriller

The Wife Review

  • Chelsea Humphrey
    January 1, 1970
    This book was a sandwich of compulsive reading material; it begins and ends with a bang and in between it kept my eyes glued and my mind engaged. No really, the first and last sentences were chilled to perfection. There is currently a flood of domestic/psychological thrillers in the book market; they are selling well and everyone wants a piece of that success. If you're like me, you may be wondering how you can spot the ones worth reading without having to sift through all the mediocre wannabes. This book was a sandwich of compulsive reading material; it begins and ends with a bang and in between it kept my eyes glued and my mind engaged. No really, the first and last sentences were chilled to perfection. There is currently a flood of domestic/psychological thrillers in the book market; they are selling well and everyone wants a piece of that success. If you're like me, you may be wondering how you can spot the ones worth reading without having to sift through all the mediocre wannabes. In short, it's taken trial and error on my part to be able to find authors I can count on to bring me new stories with a familiar touch. Alafair Burke is one of the few we can trust implicitly.In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I'd been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband. One of the many reasons that Burke is such a widely acclaimed novelist is due to the fact that she writes about what she knows, what is relevant, and in a way that people can relate to and connect with. In this particular story, she includes knowledge from her legal background, as well as her experience as a professor, and blends it into the timely matter of sexual assault and how the media responds to such. This was a bold story, one that shows all sides of this type of case, but it's also riddled with side mysteries that were both clever and profound in their own way. There were many layers of complexity to the plot; I won't go into heavy detail, because doing so would risk spoiling some of the exciting surprises and that would be a crime, but just know that this isn't really the type of book the reader solves from the beginning. Sure, everything looks straightforward in the first couple of chapters, but then we start getting new information periodically. It was an absolute delight to find a novel that I didn't have figured out in the first 15 pages!I'm dying to include more quotes, but I just can't risk setting off a bomb that might ruin the read for you, so I'll just say that I was surprised multiple times over with the reveals. I wouldn't say there is one major AHA moment; it more felt like every few chapters there was a new piece of the story revealed, and as each portion was thrown in it changed the story and showed things in a new light that we couldn't see before. I think this is an undervalued tactic, because so many readers focus on a whodunnit type of mystery and trying to figure it out before all is revealed; here you are at the mercy of the writer. So yes, the twists were wonderful and greatly appreciated, but I also liked that this was a book which made me think. I've always taken such a clear stance on sexual assault claims; I'm a huge proponent of supporting other women who are walking through the horror of surviving that type of trauma, but this book made me question so many of my beliefs and prejudices.If you're looking for a domestic drama that includes just enough legal thriller and a dash of current events, this one's for you. I can't express how fulfilled I felt upon finishing this one; I was worried that I had finally burned out on the mystery/suspense/thriller genre, but I realize now that I just needed to pick up a classic, something that would hold my attention and blow me away with it's sheer genius. If you've never picked up one of Burke's novels-what are you waiting for? Seriously, pick up any of them! You can't go wrong! I'm so pleased that I've found a winner to recommend so early in 2018 to all my buds; put this on on your list for January folks and read it quickly, because I need to chat about it with you!*Many thanks to the publisher for providing my copy; it was a pleasure to provide my honest thoughts here. 
    more
  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader
    January 1, 1970
    Happy Publication Day (January 23, 2018) to The Wife!5 innovative, timely, and edge-of-your-seat stars to The Wife! 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 The Wife grabbed me from the very first chapter. The writing was tight, and the pacing was on point. When Angela’s husband was accused of sexual harrassment, and later sexual assault of a different woman, would she continue to stand by her husband? How far would she go to protect him? And just what is it about her past that keeps her in this marriage? The last chapter is Happy Publication Day (January 23, 2018) to The Wife!5 innovative, timely, and edge-of-your-seat stars to The Wife! 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 The Wife grabbed me from the very first chapter. The writing was tight, and the pacing was on point. When Angela’s husband was accused of sexual harrassment, and later sexual assault of a different woman, would she continue to stand by her husband? How far would she go to protect him? And just what is it about her past that keeps her in this marriage? The last chapter is perfection. I was able to figure out one of the twists, but not the other; but it took me until later in the book to put my finger on it. On another twist, I followed one red herring so far in the wrong direction that I practically landed in the water with it! 🐟 Yeah, I think I’ll end my review here. It’s another one where I feel like my hands are tied because I don’t want to ruin any of the reading experience with this review. Friends, this is a great thriller! #thehypeisrealWith the #MeToo movement and widespread media coverage of sexual harassment and sexual assault as of late, The Wife is a timely release that would offer plenty of discussion for book clubs. Thank you to Alafair Burke, Harper/Harper Collins, and Edelweiss for the ARC to review.
    more
  • Alafair Burke
    January 1, 1970
    I am too biased to review the insides, but isn't the jacket pretty? Hope you enjoy what's behind the cover.
  • Shannon
    January 1, 1970
    I BLEW through The Wife by Alafair Burke. I loved every second of it. I don’t know how many times I can say it but shortish chapters are the best! Also, multiple POVs always gets me excited. I was hoooooked!So what’s it about? Jason has many jobs, one of being a professor and the other a consulting business. Oh, he’s also a best selling Author. Jason seems to have it all. Money, jobs, an actual house in NYC. He is married to Angela and has a step son named Spencer. Angela has had a horrible and I BLEW through The Wife by Alafair Burke. I loved every second of it. I don’t know how many times I can say it but shortish chapters are the best! Also, multiple POVs always gets me excited. I was hoooooked!So what’s it about? Jason has many jobs, one of being a professor and the other a consulting business. Oh, he’s also a best selling Author. Jason seems to have it all. Money, jobs, an actual house in NYC. He is married to Angela and has a step son named Spencer. Angela has had a horrible and tragic past but has moved forward in life by marrying Jason. Because Jason is well known, Angela often times feels worried that her past life will come back to haunt her.An intern from Jason’s business goes to the police after an incident in his office. SVU Detective, Corrine Duncan leads the investigation. (I really enjoyed Corrine and her ADA, Brian King.) Corrine decides there’s not much proof, more of a he said she said type of deal. “Somehow” the incident gets leaked in the paper. After the post another woman, Kerry Lynch, has come forward accusing Jason of something terrible. Eventually, Kerry ends up missing.Angela sticks by Jason’s side through out it all. She believes he’s innocent. But is he really? Did Jason hurt these women? Betrayal, lies, secrets oooooOOo so juicy! So many twist and turns! And the last chapter: OMG!! I was GRINNING to myself after reading the final chapter. The HYPE is real Well played, Alafair. Well played! Highly recommended. 5 Stars!Thank you to Harper for the advanced copy via Edelweiss!
    more
  • Reading.Between.Wines
    January 1, 1970
    ⭐⭐⭐⭐💫 / 5 rounded up to 5 ⭐ for Goodreads. I think I have really been on a roll of good books lately, and The Wife by Alafair Burke did not disappoint.I loved this book so much. Seriously, you need to run and not walk to get yourselves a copy of this one. It is out now!This book reminded me a little bit of Anatomy of a Scandal, but with a faster place and it was less procedural (which I liked). You can tell that Burke is a former prosecutor and that she teaches criminal law. I love that she wrot ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️💫 / 5 rounded up to 5 ⭐️ for Goodreads. I think I have really been on a roll of good books lately, and The Wife by Alafair Burke did not disappoint.I loved this book so much. Seriously, you need to run and not walk to get yourselves a copy of this one. It is out now!This book reminded me a little bit of Anatomy of a Scandal, but with a faster place and it was less procedural (which I liked). You can tell that Burke is a former prosecutor and that she teaches criminal law. I love that she wrote about what she knows and you can really tell she knows what she is talking about. Even though the book isn't incredibly procedural, there's still a lot of things that show off what she knows about law. I basically loved everything about this book, but I especially loved the short chapters, they made me feel like I was flying through the pages. Plus, multiple viewpoints! The book switches between Corrine, the detective investigating Jason, and Angela, Jason's wife. Then at almost the halfway point it includes Ginny, Angela's mom, as well. The book is also sectioned off and each part had a title, which was very fun and something I love in a book. And of course, I also appreciated that there were lots of strong female characters in this book! All the characters are well fleshed out, and I loved Corrine and (even though she was a bit overbearing) Jason's lawyer Olivia. I'm sure she has a reason though, which I hope to find out when I read The Ex! Anyway, there were some great characters in this book, and I liked that Angela didn't seem to be a complete doormat. This book also brings up a very current issue - rape - and how many men get acquitted of it even if they did it. I understand it's a hard case to try, but it just makes me so angry. As much as I love it, I refuse to watch Law & Order SVU anymore because I just got so sick of seeing the men get off. EVERY. TIME. I know it's true of today's society, but that doesn't make me any less disgusted or angry. Sorry for the rant! Final Thought: If you want a domestic drama with a great twist, this is the book for you. I didn't see the ending coming at all. I had my suspicions, but the actual outcome was different than I had imagined it would be. Also, if you want something that isn't super procedural, but still has some courtroom drama, this is a good one as well. Like I said, it had a little bit of that Anatomy of a Scandal vibe, but this one was a more enjoyable read for me. I can't believe this is the first book I've read by Burke because she is an absolute genius. I can't wait to go back and read The Ex and anything else I can get my hands on from her!! *This title was published on 23 Jan 2018* *Thanks so much to HarperCollins for providing me with a free advanced copy of this book in exchange for my review. My review is completely honest and unbiased*
    more
  • Janelle
    January 1, 1970
    THE WIFE by Alafair Burke - Thank you so much to Harper for providing my free copy - all opinions are my own. “In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I’d been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband.”This book rocked my world! I LOVED it with a capital LOVE! It is completely addictive, fun, and the ending is perfect! There is literally a cliffhanger at the end of each chapter! Angela and Jason Powell are a happily married couple with a 13-year-old son, Spencer. They own a hou THE WIFE by Alafair Burke - Thank you so much to Harper for providing my free copy - all opinions are my own. “In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I’d been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband.”This book rocked my world! I LOVED it with a capital LOVE! It is completely addictive, fun, and the ending is perfect! There is literally a cliffhanger at the end of each chapter! Angela and Jason Powell are a happily married couple with a 13-year-old son, Spencer. They own a house in Manhattan because of Jason’s continued success in the financial world. He’s a tenured professor at NYU, he’s written best-selling books, and owns his own company. He’s widely known in the public because of his books and television appearances. Angela likes to keep a low profile because of secrets in her past. She worries, rightly so, that Jason’s job will somehow push her into the eye of the media. One day, an allegation from Jason’s intern comes to light causing a snowball effect. One thing after another puts this family directly into the spotlight. One of the details I enjoyed most about The Wife is that the story includes an investigation, a courtroom, and suspect/witness interviews without being a police procedural. The novel has a complex structure that I thoroughly enjoyed—I refuse to tell you why because I don’t want to ruin your reading experience. Trust me, you’ll want to read this book as the author intended. As usual, I love short chapters and multiple point of views—it’s so easy to devour a book with this makeup. Angela is one of the more interesting characters in the book and I thought the SVU detective, Corinne Duncan and her ADA, Brian King, were awesome! All of the characters are well thought out, the plot was brilliant, and the ending was THE BEST! I can’t say enough amazing things about this suspense novel!! I am officially a hardcore fan of Alafair and will blindly trust that any book she writes is amazing! Highly recommended!
    more
  • Julie
    January 1, 1970
    “YOU KNOW WHAT THEY SAY: THERE'S A SPECIAL PLACE IN HELL FOR WOMEN WHO DON'T SUPPORT OTHER WOMEN.” It is no surprise that many readers are calling this Alafair’s best work yet!  I was a huge fan of The Ex making The Wife a no-brainer read. I devoured this novel in a day and was completely blown away.  There are some books you must keep quiet on, as one reveal, reveals everything. This is definitely one of those books. The story is heavy but oh so engaging; with such complexity to its plot. I “YOU KNOW WHAT THEY SAY: THERE'S A SPECIAL PLACE IN HELL FOR WOMEN WHO DON'T SUPPORT OTHER WOMEN.” It is no surprise that many readers are calling this Alafair’s best work yet!  I was a huge fan of The Ex making The Wife a no-brainer read. I devoured this novel in a day and was completely blown away.  There are some books you must keep quiet on, as one reveal, reveals everything. This is definitely one of those books. The story is heavy but oh so engaging; with such complexity to its plot. I am such a sucker for legal inclusion in novels. If I did not previously know that Alafair is a criminal law professor, I would have easily picked up on this fact. Alafair's strength is writing on topics she is considered an expert on and she does a fabulous job of offering this knowledge without the overpowering use of legalese. The reader is easily guided through the criminal process as the claims against Jason escalate. Her presentation of this within the novel is not some boring legal lesson, but further captivates the reader in the story. Honestly, I want to sit in Alafair's class. Can that be made possible?Although this novel was started two years prior to its publication, it was written on a topic at a time where it is most relevant.  Angela’s secret past is slowly peeled away as the truth behind the accusations against her husband, Jason, are revealed. I feel Angela’s story alone would have been enough to write a novel, but Alafair dives in deeper offering her reader so much more with Jason’s story and the impact it has on Angela’s.The Wife is filled with plot twists you will not see coming again and again. I tried my hardest to figure this one out, to determine whether Jason was guilty or innocent, likable or not. It was to my delight I never caught on to where this one was going. Alafair wastes no time in simply peppering these facts throughout the story as breadcrumb. Instead, she reveals the whole truth leaving no questions to be asked. I am often felt deflated at the end of a novel, but this ending is impossible to figure out and I was completely taken by surprise.Once you start this novel be ready to finish it as it is impossible to break away from.  I can only hope that this story continues, and if it does, I will be first in line to preorder. If you have not purchased this incredible domestic thriller yet… seriously, what are you waiting for?Many thanks to Alafair Burke and HarperCollins for an advanced reader’s copy of this novel in exchange for an honest review. Harper was kind enough to also send me a finished copy of The Wife and one lucky book lover will be adding it to their bookshelf! To enter, head over to my Instagram and/or Twitter! Good luck and the winner will be announced on Friday, January 26th!Blog | Instagram | Twitter
    more
  • Kimberly
    January 1, 1970
    You'll never see it coming! The twist is better than the one in Gone Girl.
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    I have mixed feelings on this book. The writing, suspense, and characters were good, but I am not thrilled about where the plot went. Honestly, I wish this book would have stuck to being an intense drama, and left out the plot twists. It was so close to being a 5⭐ book for me, and now I just feel disenchanted because of the last bit of the book. This book had an opportunity to present a decent message, and completely failed. I just think that right now is not the time to say what The Wife says.T I have mixed feelings on this book. The writing, suspense, and characters were good, but I am not thrilled about where the plot went. Honestly, I wish this book would have stuck to being an intense drama, and left out the plot twists. It was so close to being a 5⭐ book for me, and now I just feel disenchanted because of the last bit of the book. This book had an opportunity to present a decent message, and completely failed. I just think that right now is not the time to say what The Wife says.That being said, everything leading up to it was amazing. The story is an addicting one, and it's something I would follow in real life. It was relevant (for the most part). I loved most of the book, so it gets 3.5⭐, but I'm still so frustrated by what happened. I would still be interested in trying another one of Burke's books because I did enjoy the writing.
    more
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I did not see that coming. I love this woman’s work. RTC
  • switterbug (Betsey)
    January 1, 1970
    I gambled on this book, not confident that a beach read could keep me riveted to its pages, but Alafair Burke swept me up in its plot and characters, right until the titillating last sentence. No, this isn’t literature. The language is plain spoken, but unpretentiously unself-conscious, and the author risked a powerful, topical plotline which could have been ripped from today’s headlines—sexual allegations in the workplace and beyond, a subject that could easily be trivialized by platitudes, gra I gambled on this book, not confident that a beach read could keep me riveted to its pages, but Alafair Burke swept me up in its plot and characters, right until the titillating last sentence. No, this isn’t literature. The language is plain spoken, but unpretentiously unself-conscious, and the author risked a powerful, topical plotline which could have been ripped from today’s headlines—sexual allegations in the workplace and beyond, a subject that could easily be trivialized by platitudes, grandstanding, or a hackneyed narrative. But she kept it real and relevant. This had to be written before the current scandals, almost as if Burke were prophetic. Like me, you may get a few hot tingles down your spine before you get to the end.Angela, the wife of the accused, Jason Powell, narrates a large part of the story. Angela has a troubled history that leaks out over the course of the book, and it made me wonder more than once if she was a reliable narrator. I do love my unreliable narrators—but this could even be more juicy—not knowing if the wife was being straight with us or not. Let the reader decide! Jason is a writer and economics professor at NYU, plus a lead consultant in a cutting-edge firm that crossbreeds international finance with human rights causes. He’s a successful, handsome, and apparently doting husband. After earnings from his book allow him some cushion, he and Angela move to the Village (which is near NYU). Angela’s son, Spencer, is not yet a teen but is quite bright and adored by both. Jason has been a little off-track about finishing up the adoption papers, but treats him like a beloved son.The first line sets up tension straightaway: “In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I’d been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband.” It starts in media res, with a police officer coming to the door, and it is obvious that Angela has encountered this woman before. I like how it throws me off, makes me pay attention as the narrative shifts back and forth to past and present, filling in the blanks with onerous allegations about Angela’s husband and combining it with pieces of Angela’s past coming up to haunt her, and also Jason. It’s obvious that the couple know more than us, and Burke is ace at switching points of view and apportioning perception of events. There are also facts that we are privy to but are murky to other characters. The police officer, Olivia, is trying to put all the pieces together.It’s a fast-paced and psychologically cunning domestic thriller plus police procedural, but the author doesn’t sacrifice characters for plot. There’s delight in the parsing of the Powells, and how they respond to events. Although some of the supporting characters are stock, Burke flawlessly finesses Jason, and especially Angela, that you won’t feel shortchanged. It’s a meaty story, not hollow or boilerplate. I picked up clues here and there, and perhaps guessed some truths along the way, but it is far from a hollow plot; there’s always more to unpack, right until the glittering finish.I was both satisfied and piqued at the end, which is ripe for discussion and debate. If you’re looking for a nice, tight wrap garnished with a bow, look elsewhere. Burke wins the reader by not vanquishing all options. If you like it authentic, with a touch of ambiguity to unwrap, you won’t be disappointed.
    more
  • Luanne Ollivier
    January 1, 1970
    Oh, Alafair Burke, you have outdone yourself with your new novel, The Wife! Brilliant, addictive, full of twists - and that last line ending? Perfect!I was hooked from the opening line: "In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I'd been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband."The husband, Jason, is a celebrated public figure. When one of his interns makes an accusation against him, the foundations of his public and private lives begin to crumble. His wife, Angela, has secrets Oh, Alafair Burke, you have outdone yourself with your new novel, The Wife! Brilliant, addictive, full of twists - and that last line ending? Perfect!I was hooked from the opening line: "In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I'd been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband."The husband, Jason, is a celebrated public figure. When one of his interns makes an accusation against him, the foundations of his public and private lives begin to crumble. His wife, Angela, has secrets in her past that she wants to keep out of the public light. And she doesn't want her son exposed to any of it. What will Angela do to keep that secret? To protect her husband? Her son? Is Jason guilty? Or is he the victim of a campaign to discredit him and his work? Ahh, a delicious premise and one I couldn't wait to dig into!The Wife falls into the genre of 'domestic thriller'. This has fast become a favourite for me. I love not knowing who is telling the truth, the possibilities of whodunit, the turns and twists that jump out of a chapter to surprise me, and unexpected endings."To know something, he argued, was not the same as to be certain beyond all doubt. And to believe something was definitely not the sane as to know it."Burke's characters are so well drawn, coming alive in my imagination. Angela is portrayed as a sympathetic character - but does she deserve it? I was happy to see Olivia Randall in this novel. She's a high powered defense attorney last seen in Burke's previous book, The Ex. (And I hope we see her again.) The dialogue flows easily, the plotting is addictive and the prose are so very 'readable.'The Wife benefits greatly from Burke's legal background. (Burke teaches criminal law) The case, the police investigation and the legal machinations are so well portrayed and unfold in a believable manner. Suspense, mystery, police procedural and some social commentary - The Wife has it all. This is one you're going to want to pick up. I loved it!
    more
  • Susan Johnson
    January 1, 1970
    It's hard to put this book down as there are so many twists and turns. There is no way I could have guessed the ending and I was simply breathless with anticipation of what would happen next. This book is a true roller coaster.Jason is an university professor who has become rich and famous with a breakout book. He's opened his own consulting firm and owns a real house in NYC. He has a lovely wife, Angela, and a thirteen year old stepson, Spencer. He apparently has it all until an intern makes a It's hard to put this book down as there are so many twists and turns. There is no way I could have guessed the ending and I was simply breathless with anticipation of what would happen next. This book is a true roller coaster.Jason is an university professor who has become rich and famous with a breakout book. He's opened his own consulting firm and owns a real house in NYC. He has a lovely wife, Angela, and a thirteen year old stepson, Spencer. He apparently has it all until an intern makes a sexual harassment claim against him and everything starts falling apart. Then as the complaint is leaked to the press, another woman comes forward. She is a client of his firm and she says she has evidence of a sexual assault.Things get really bad for him and his wife goes nuts. She has a dubious history of her own that she wants kept private. She will do anything to accomplish that. She doesn't want anyone to know who she is and there are a lot of very good reasons why. As her secrets are uncovered, she becomes less and less sympathetic. In fact, as all the characters are fleshed out there becomes no one likable. There is no one to root for because they are all so flawed.That makes this a remarkable story. You keep reading to find out what new despicable thing a character has done and they all keep surprising the reader. It's like a train wreck that you just can't turn away from. When the last character's secrets are revealed you feel like you've been kicked in the stomach.Really a captivating read that will have you turning the pages late into the night.
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    Alafair Burke is a must read author for me each year and I’m rarely disappointed, The Wife was no exception. The mark of a great story in my mind is one where I don’t see the ending coming but does not seem so out of nowhere that it doesn’t track with the character’s personality, prior actions and the rest of the story and I found that to definitely be the case here. Look for The Wife in just a few weeks!Thank you to the publisher for an advance copy. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Nancy
    January 1, 1970
    Really solid story telling. Revelations are well paced and I really didn’t guess the ending until nearly there. Excellent thriller. The author paced the story perfectly, revealing secrets and possible explanations with perfect timing. I read this over two days. It was very unexpected with twists and turns in the plot that had me guessing.
    more
  • Miriam
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book so much. It captivated me from the first sentence and I was surprised at every turn. HIGHLY recommend.
  • Jennifer
    January 1, 1970
    I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review4-4.5 starsWhat can I say about The Wife that won’t spoil anything for you? Let’s start with how much I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This was my first book by Alafaire Burke and it certainly won’t be my last. In the heavily written about topic of sexual abuse and the legal cases behind them, it hard to find the hidden gems of books that actually hook you with the plot. Much like the overused “Girl” and “Amnesia” themes, this is I received this book from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review4-4.5 starsWhat can I say about The Wife that won’t spoil anything for you? Let’s start with how much I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This was my first book by Alafaire Burke and it certainly won’t be my last. In the heavily written about topic of sexual abuse and the legal cases behind them, it hard to find the hidden gems of books that actually hook you with the plot. Much like the overused “Girl” and “Amnesia” themes, this is fast becoming the next “plot du jour”. I am here to say that The Wife is a standout in this class. The plot is so thickly woven that you truly become enraptured by Angela and her story that you will not want to put this book down. The story is just twisty enough, but not in major “Aha” moments. It just twists and turns along the way until all the sudden you are putting the book down and muttering things like “holy bleep” under your breath. The pacing and suspense are just right, and makes you want to keep reading “just one more chapter”. And Kudos to Burke for keeping the chapters short and sweet. Side Note: I heart short chapters. And the end, well, it was really quite fabulous. There was something that I suspected that was confirmed at the end, but everything else, not a chance. I was satisfied and excited all at the same time because there definitely isn’t a nice tidy bow. All in all, I would highly recommend this book and I look forward to reading more books by this author.
    more
  • Sara
    January 1, 1970
    Alafair Burke has produced a well written but super convoluted story that takes the reader on a roller coaster ride through almost every hot button social issue and thriller plot you can think of! I enjoyed this but it suffered hugely from the near constant "but THEN!" mini climaxes that appear just as plot points look like they're going to be resolved. I appreciate a twist as much as the next thriller reader, particularly when the writer is as talented as Ms. Burke, but even I need a chance to Alafair Burke has produced a well written but super convoluted story that takes the reader on a roller coaster ride through almost every hot button social issue and thriller plot you can think of! I enjoyed this but it suffered hugely from the near constant "but THEN!" mini climaxes that appear just as plot points look like they're going to be resolved. I appreciate a twist as much as the next thriller reader, particularly when the writer is as talented as Ms. Burke, but even I need a chance to at least take a breath! This book left me moderately anxious which isn't a sensation I especially enjoy. I'm not sure how I'm supposed to feel about any of the characters or the nebulous ending that seems to suggest this is actually the beginning of a series? Definitely a high octane, intelligently written thriller with Burke's usual outstanding research and solid character building but toooooo many plots, subplots, and subsubplots.
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    Review to follow.
  • Stacey A. Prose and Palate
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 Stars. Review to come to home
  • KC
    January 1, 1970
    Jason Powell, successful NYU professor and wealthy businessman, loving husband to Angela, attentive stepfather to son, Spencer, suddenly finds himself accused of sexual misconduct and rape. Angela had everything until the allegations against her husband threw her off kilter. Having escaped a terrible and tramatic past, Angela will stop at nothing to protect her son and to salvage what she can of her marriage. Alafair Burke has made her characters real, likable, and emphatic but allowing the read Jason Powell, successful NYU professor and wealthy businessman, loving husband to Angela, attentive stepfather to son, Spencer, suddenly finds himself accused of sexual misconduct and rape. Angela had everything until the allegations against her husband threw her off kilter. Having escaped a terrible and tramatic past, Angela will stop at nothing to protect her son and to salvage what she can of her marriage. Alafair Burke has made her characters real, likable, and emphatic but allowing the reader to keep in mind that someone is guilty of some very heinous crimes. If you enjoyed Unraveling Oliver by Liz Nugent, than you will most certainly love Burke's latest thriller.
    more
  • Vlorini
    January 1, 1970
    Her best yet. Combined her usual detective/mystery with a large dose of thriller.
  • nomadreader (Carrie D-L)
    January 1, 1970
    ALAFAIR BURKE'S BEST BOOK EVER. SO. FUCKING GOOD.
  • Gloria Feit
    January 1, 1970
    The WifeBy Alafair BurkeHarperJanuary 23, 2018ISBN: 978-0-0623-9051-6Hardcover, 338 pp., $26.99Reviewed by Gloria FeitIn an eerily prescient novel, Alafair Burke has given us a psychological thriller that feels more than ripped from the headlines, one that kept this reader rapidly turning pages to see what will happen next.From the publisher: When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived thing, like so many relationsh The WifeBy Alafair BurkeHarperJanuary 23, 2018ISBN: 978-0-0623-9051-6Hardcover, 338 pp., $26.99Reviewed by Gloria FeitIn an eerily prescient novel, Alafair Burke has given us a psychological thriller that feels more than ripped from the headlines, one that kept this reader rapidly turning pages to see what will happen next.From the publisher: When Angela met Jason Powell while catering a dinner party in East Hampton, she assumed their romance would be a short-lived thing, like so many relationships between locals and summer visitors. To her surprise, Jason, a brilliant economics professor at NYU, had other plans, and they married the following summer. For Angela, the marriage turned out to be a chance to reboot her life. She and her son were finally able to move out of her mother’s home, to Manhattan, where no one knew about her tragic past. Six years later, thanks to a bestselling book and a growing media career, Jason has become a cultural lightning rod, placing Angela near the spotlight she worked so carefully to avoid. When a college intern makes an accusation against Jason, and another woman, Kerry Lynch, comes forward with an even more troubling allegation, their perfect life begins to unravel. Jason insists he is innocent, and Angela believes him. But when Kerry disappears, Angela is forced to take a closer look at the man she married. And when she is asked to defend Jason in court, she realizes that her loyalty to her husband could unearth old secrets.The novel opens with these provocative words: “In an instant, I became the woman they assumed I’d been all along: the wife who lied to protect her husband.” And a woman who is told “You’re more than a bystander. . . Don’t let Jason take you and your boy down with him.” Angela had met Jason at 24, when she was a mother to a six-year-old boy, Spencer, whose legal adoption by Jason turns out to be more difficult than anticipated. But difficulties and complications are just beginning. It is impossible to read this book without flashing back to the headlines of the recent past.The author, a former prosecutor who now teaches criminal law, has given the reader a page-turner of a book, one which is highly recommended.
    more
  • Kathleen (QueenKatieMae)
    January 1, 1970
    After reading, and enjoying, all Alafair Burke's novels, I have decided her latest, The Wife, is well and truly my favorite of all of them. The themes are topical, the stories inspired by past and current events, and, oh, the twists! The Wife has some amazing twists that I never saw coming. And, side note, I love the edge of the book's pages; bend the book one way, it says HIS SCANDEL, bend the other way, HER SECRET. Clever and telling detail.Angela and Jason have a perfect marriage. He's a cele After reading, and enjoying, all Alafair Burke's novels, I have decided her latest, The Wife, is well and truly my favorite of all of them. The themes are topical, the stories inspired by past and current events, and, oh, the twists! The Wife has some amazing twists that I never saw coming. And, side note, I love the edge of the book's pages; bend the book one way, it says HIS SCANDEL, bend the other way, HER SECRET. Clever and telling detail.Angela and Jason have a perfect marriage. He's a celebrated writer and professor who loves his wife and adores their son. She's a loving and supportive wife dedicated to raising their son. Then Jason is accused of sexual misconduct. He denies it and Angela believes him until another woman comes forward accusing him of rape. Their world comes crashing down, especially for Angela who has worked so hard to keep her life quiet and her past secret. But with social media so predominant, one Facebook post or a single tweet can destroy everything. Even a friend can say the wrong thing.Currently, society is finally coming to terms with the fact that even people we admire are capable of sexual misconduct. It can be a popular actor, a respected politician, a high power businessman; all are capable of sexual abuse or harassment. In The Wife, Jason is respected, charming and a loving husband, and Angela is torn by the accusations. Surely her husband is not guilty, but why would those women lie? It's a predominate conundrum that every reader has faced, personally or socially, at some point in their life.As the author slowly peels away the mystery behind Angela's past and the truth behind the accusations against Jason, the reader will be absolutely riveted. You think you know the answers but you don't. You think you have figured out how the book ends? You haven't. This is a first-rate novel that makes you think and keeps you guessing.The writing is spot on when it comes to dealing with current topics and sensibilities. There was one aspect involving the second woman's accusations that initially bothered me but as her part of the story progressed, I realized the author was in control. It was a delicate dance that could have been a disaster in a lesser author's hands, but Burke handled it very well.Now, the ending; the last chapters are total bombshells. Just stunning. But, is this book a standalone or is there a second part? All the threads are tied into neat little bows and there are no cliffhangers, but there is something about the last few pages that lead me to ask this. I would prefer a standalone because I like how it ends.An exceptional story that makes you think, written by an author who deserves kudos of the highest kind. Well done, Ms. Burke, well done.
    more
  • Selu
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 and rounding up to 4 stars because Corinne is a rockstar and I'd love a whole series about her.
  • Talk Supe
    January 1, 1970
    This is one fucked up story & I hope there’s a sequel. Every character is rotten!
  • Rosanna
    January 1, 1970
    Well that will teach me to think that a story has a ho hum ending before I get to the very end! Wow, did this book have it all! Lying, deceit, sex, violence, betrayal, plus a smart-mouth kid to round things out. This is the first book I have read by this author and can't wait until it is released so I can tell all my friends to read it. It reminded me quite a bit of Peter Swanson's "The Kind Worth Killing." The story ended up being more intricate that I thought it would be with great characters. Well that will teach me to think that a story has a ho hum ending before I get to the very end! Wow, did this book have it all! Lying, deceit, sex, violence, betrayal, plus a smart-mouth kid to round things out. This is the first book I have read by this author and can't wait until it is released so I can tell all my friends to read it. It reminded me quite a bit of Peter Swanson's "The Kind Worth Killing." The story ended up being more intricate that I thought it would be with great characters. I can't say that I really liked any of them, but it was almost like an accident that you can't help but watch. I just had no idea the story would end up where it did.Thank you to Edelweiss + for the advanced copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. Now, everyone go add this to your TBR list.
    more
  • Veronica
    January 1, 1970
    Burke gets better with each book.
  • Tracy Thomas
    January 1, 1970
    First and Foremost, Thank you too Harper Books for sending me a free copy of this book, in exchange of my honest review. All opinions are my own. #partnerThis book was like crack, and it fed my addiction perfectly. I could not put it down once I started. I was waking up in the middle of the night, just so I could read more. I was absolutely pulled into this story, and I still cannot believe all the twists that were in the last few chapters of this book, my mind is still reeling. The writing is s First and Foremost, Thank you too Harper Books for sending me a free copy of this book, in exchange of my honest review. All opinions are my own. #partnerThis book was like crack, and it fed my addiction perfectly. I could not put it down once I started. I was waking up in the middle of the night, just so I could read more. I was absolutely pulled into this story, and I still cannot believe all the twists that were in the last few chapters of this book, my mind is still reeling. The writing is superb too, it was well paced, well thought out, an intricately woven story of manipulation at it's finest. There is some hot topic items in this book too, rape, sexual harassment, infidelity, it's all crammed in and I loved every single page. Once I started reading, I instantly thought Jason was a dirt-bag, but the more I read, and the more back story I got, I did start to soften towards him a little. With Angela, I knew there was more to her, and than once you learn about her tragic past, you root for her. I was mad at her for some of the choices she made through-out the book. But than I realize you do what it takes to protect those you love. When does it become too much? I know for one, I would do ANYTHING to protect my kids, to keep them safe. This book isn't a light fun read guys, it's pretty heavy, and it deals with some pretty dark and heavy materials, so be prepared going in. But even though there is a lot of mention of rape, it is done with tact, without deep details. It makes it a lot easier to read. I respect authors who allude to the act, instead of describe it in detail. Less is more, and I'd rather leave something up to my imagination, than have to read about the horrific dead on the pages. So thank you Alafair Burke for writing about this topic so extremely well. This was my first Alafair Burke book, I do remember when "The Ex" came out, I had wanted to read it so bad, but for some reason it fell off my radar, well now its back, and I plan to purchase that one very soon! 
    more
Write a review