The Tea Dragon Society
From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The Tea Dragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in the enchanting world of tea dragons. After discovering a lost tea dragon in the marketplace, Greta learns about the dying art form of tea dragon care-taking from the kind tea shop owners, Hesekiel and Erik. As she befriends them and their shy ward, Minette, Greta sees how the craft enriches their lives—and eventually her own.

The Tea Dragon Society Details

TitleThe Tea Dragon Society
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 31st, 2017
PublisherOni Press
ISBN1620104415
ISBN-139781620104415
Number of pages72 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Fantasy, Childrens, Middle Grade, Comics, Dragons

The Tea Dragon Society Review

  • Melanie
    August 1, 2017
    The Tea Dragon Society is an absolutely stunning graphic novel and now I really want my own tea dragon!The illustrations in this graphic novel are incredibly beautiful. Everything is so colorful and the artist really gave life to these characters. There are several different species in this story and all of them were absolutely stunning. The best illustrations are definitely the tea dragons, which are so adorable I was squealing in delight and raving about how much I wanted one as I read this.Th The Tea Dragon Society is an absolutely stunning graphic novel and now I really want my own tea dragon!The illustrations in this graphic novel are incredibly beautiful. Everything is so colorful and the artist really gave life to these characters. There are several different species in this story and all of them were absolutely stunning. The best illustrations are definitely the tea dragons, which are so adorable I was squealing in delight and raving about how much I wanted one as I read this.The story has a very diverse cast, both in the characters' species, histories and their sexualities. Greta, a girl learning the art of blacksmithing, learns about a culture far different from her own when she stumbles upon the world of tea dragons. She's taught the importance of keeping traditions alive in the changing world. She also develops some wonderful friendships over the course of the book.After the story ends, there is a section in the back of the book with information about tea dragons and their history as well as facts about the different types of tea dragons. I loved the section that gave facts about a specific type of tea dragon accompanied by an illustration of that species. The different types of tea dragons all had such distinct personalities and they were incredibly adorable.Overall, The Tea Dragon Society was an absolutely adorable read with amazing artwork and I highly recommend it.**I received an advance copy of this book from Netgalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Cam (abookeater)
    August 2, 2017
    A copy was provided by the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewI was so glad to see this on the Read Now section because I'd seen it around on Good reads and it looked perfect for me. I was not wrong.This short graphic novel is magical, soothing and beautiful. I loved the diversity of the characters in terms of skin color, disabilities and sexual orientations. Everything was so subtle yet wonderful; I felt immediately at peace while reading it. It's unlike anything I've e A copy was provided by the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewI was so glad to see this on the Read Now section because I'd seen it around on Good reads and it looked perfect for me. I was not wrong.This short graphic novel is magical, soothing and beautiful. I loved the diversity of the characters in terms of skin color, disabilities and sexual orientations. Everything was so subtle yet wonderful; I felt immediately at peace while reading it. It's unlike anything I've ever read before with it's melancholic atmosphere and beautiful and colorful artwork.I hope to see much more from this author!
    more
  • Hazel (Stay Bookish)
    June 8, 2017
    I OFFICIALLY WANT MY OWN TEA DRAGON. Preferably Jasmine, Peppermint or Chamomile. HOLY CUTE!!!!! THIS BOOK IS SO ADORBS.
  • Julie
    June 7, 2017
    Y'all. This art work is STUNNING. The cast has different species, races, and sexualities. The story is sweet and heartwarming and I'm just. Obsessed with these dragons.
  • Cherise (mermaidschasing)
    August 1, 2017
    This adorable story follows Greta as she's learning from her mother how to be a blacksmith. One day, while in town, she finds a small tea dragon. She manages to get it to safety and her father tells her who the owner is. When she returns it, she's asked if she would like to learn how to care for tea dragons. In this adventure, she meets Hesekiel and his partner Erik, and Minette, who has trouble remember things, but who she befriends.This is honestly such a quick, adorable read. The art is so we This adorable story follows Greta as she's learning from her mother how to be a blacksmith. One day, while in town, she finds a small tea dragon. She manages to get it to safety and her father tells her who the owner is. When she returns it, she's asked if she would like to learn how to care for tea dragons. In this adventure, she meets Hesekiel and his partner Erik, and Minette, who has trouble remember things, but who she befriends.This is honestly such a quick, adorable read. The art is so well done and the story is short but impactful. I cried over how sweet it was. It's cast of characters are diverse from race, to disabilities, to temperaments. The plot is quick and we learn with Greta about keeping old traditions alive and making friends with everyone, that not everyone is how they seem. But if you have time for something quick that will touch your heart, read this. I can't drink tea, but man, do I want a tea dragon.
    more
  • Lexie
    June 1, 2017
    I want a tea dragon. Can I have a tea dragon? THRY ARE MY NEW FAVORITE KIND OF DRAGON.
  • Liz
    August 2, 2017
    oh my god this might be the sweetest, most pure thing i've ever experienced.the artwork is absolutely delightful and all the diversity on top of that was the icing on the cake. i need a tea dragon in my life asap!!!
  • Shenwei
    July 15, 2017
    a very cute and wholesome story with lovable diverse characters :')
  • FlowerTaisen
    August 3, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I really enjoyed the sweetness of The Tea Dragon Society. Greta and Minette's friendship is very believable, and I loved how Greta gave Minette time to get used to her. Greta never forces her way in, and doesn't get offended when Minette is shy when they first meet. Although, this comic is fairly short it does a good job of showing the passage of time, and giving the friends time to slowly build trust and compani I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I really enjoyed the sweetness of The Tea Dragon Society. Greta and Minette's friendship is very believable, and I loved how Greta gave Minette time to get used to her. Greta never forces her way in, and doesn't get offended when Minette is shy when they first meet. Although, this comic is fairly short it does a good job of showing the passage of time, and giving the friends time to slowly build trust and companionship. Some of the things that attracted me to this comic were the beautiful art, the fantasy setting, and the diverse cast of characters. I have previously read Princess Princess Ever After by O'Neill as well, and you can tell the art style in Tea Dragon is a little more intricate. The backgrounds, borders, and color palette do a wonderful job of setting the tone, and they add depth to the story. The fantasy setting was used very well our gender norms did not appear to carry over to this fantasy world. Not only were the races diverse with people of color, characters with goblin-blood, satyrs, cat people, Lupine featured creatures, and humans mixing together. There is also a character in a wheel chair who is handled very respectfully. I am fairly sure there are romantic LGBT relationships in this book as well which is cool, but it is so hinted that it could also be really close friendship which is also good. Of course the most appealing part of this book are the adorable tea dragons. They are so cute and so well fleshed out. There is even a little Bit of info on Tea Dragons in the back of the book with bios on the different types, and snippets of knowledge on how to care for them. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone young or old who, loves cute dragons, and tea.
    more
  • Emma
    August 2, 2017
    This book is beautifully illustrated and written. I really enjoyed Princess Princess Ever After so had high hopes for this book, and I wasn't disappointed. The story is sweet and heartwarming like a good cup of tea. The dragons are adorable, as are all the other characters. I loved the story, but there was a little section at the end with information about caring for tea dragons which was super cute too.[Free ARC from Net Galley]
    more
  • Luna
    June 13, 2017
    Review to come.
  • Marcela
    July 2, 2017
    Well, this was just the cutest thing ever.
  • Yaiza
    August 2, 2017
    This was so pure and sweet and heartbreaking at the same time? We don't deserve it
  • Casey Cassidy
    August 5, 2017
    (REVIEW UP ON BLOG 8/7/17)Title(s): The Tea Dragon SocietyAuthor: Emily O'NeillGenre: Fantasy - Graphic NovelRating: 5/5Page Count: 72Publication Date: October 31st, 2017Disclaimer: ecopy provided in exchange for an honest review through NetGalley.Plot:This is less then 80 pages, so I'm not going to say much, but I will say: tiny tea dragons, who get very attached to their owners. And are adorable.Why can't I have a tea dragon?Review:I read the authors first graphic novel, Princess Princess Ever (REVIEW UP ON BLOG 8/7/17)Title(s): The Tea Dragon SocietyAuthor: Emily O'NeillGenre: Fantasy - Graphic NovelRating: 5/5Page Count: 72Publication Date: October 31st, 2017Disclaimer: ecopy provided in exchange for an honest review through NetGalley.Plot:This is less then 80 pages, so I'm not going to say much, but I will say: tiny tea dragons, who get very attached to their owners. And are adorable.Why can't I have a tea dragon?Review:I read the authors first graphic novel, Princess Princess Ever After, in 2016 I believe. And I loved the art, and the story, and it was just overall adorable. (it's f/f, and there's also a dragon but a bigger one).This one I didn't read anything about before I picked it up. I saw someone post about reading it and thought the art style was familiar - alas, that's because it was - and ended up seeing when it came out, and then heading to NetGalley to see if I could snag it to read.I don't normally do a full review for graphic novels - just because they're so short, so there isn't much to say before spoiling it - but this one was just so good, and so cute. First off, the art is gorgeous, as is the coloring. And I teared up at one point, because this is very much about loosing art forms because they take time. It's, also, however about tiny tea dragons. We start off with our main character rescuing one from dogs and bringing the poor thing back to it's owner, who offers to teach her the art of it since she's so enthralled with them. (have I mentioned tiny tea dragons? how couldn't you be enthralled with tiny tea dragons. I'm actually upset that I can't one day have one as a companion).There's more I want to talk about, but I don't want to spoil anything. Like her first, this is also a queer book with an m/m couple, and the girls are young but I think it could be read as a crush or whatever (which is how I read it, just realized typing this that everyone might not read it that way).Overall - I'd highly recommend checking this graphic novel out, along with her first one. They're gorgeous and heartwarming, but not in a pure fluff kind of way.
    more
  • Siina
    August 4, 2017
    I love tea. The Tea Dragon Society is just wow! How creative! How different! O'Neill surely has done a magnificent job, since the comic is cute, wonderful and made of cupcakes and happiness with a tint of sadness in it. Greta is learning to become a blacksmith like her mom and at the market place she finds this odd creature that is bullied and saves it. It's a tea dragon and the owner wishes Greta to learn the art of tea making and along the way she meets new friends and obviously has a crush on I love tea. The Tea Dragon Society is just wow! How creative! How different! O'Neill surely has done a magnificent job, since the comic is cute, wonderful and made of cupcakes and happiness with a tint of sadness in it. Greta is learning to become a blacksmith like her mom and at the market place she finds this odd creature that is bullied and saves it. It's a tea dragon and the owner wishes Greta to learn the art of tea making and along the way she meets new friends and obviously has a crush on this sweet girl named Minette. The owner Hese himself is in love with Erik and we get to learn how Erik ended up in a wheelchair and how a tragedy formed this new pleasant situation. Little occurrences make an amazing story about acceptance, values, family and friends and love. Tea blends in with culture and it's very Asian in a sense. I love the LGTBQ tones in the comic and how everything seems so normal and magical at the same time. Greta is to learn that she can do both blacksmith and tea stuff, since both actually mean the same thing. The story is simple, but effective and there's room for interpretation too. I just wish it was longer, since the end seemed slightly rushed.The art is perfect in its cuteness and the candy colors are the best counterpart to that. The naive roundness of the comic works well with the sad undertones and at the same time highlight positivity and meaningfulness. The Tea Dragon Society is warm and easy to approach not to forget that the tea dragons are so cute that you want them all. The comic seems light, but is actually quite heavy in content and that I appreciated a lot. I'd really love to have this in Finnish!
    more
  • Annie
    August 6, 2017
    This is a charming all-ages book written and illustrated by Katie O'Neill. I was completely drawn in from the cover onward. This lovely little book is so calm and charming and kind that I felt soothed and entertained and enriched after finishing it.It defies genre, really, though if I had to classify it, I would call it fantasy realism. There are a lot of heavy duty themes like family loyalty, truth, love and friendship through adversity. It was very gently handled and I never felt preached at a This is a charming all-ages book written and illustrated by Katie O'Neill. I was completely drawn in from the cover onward. This lovely little book is so calm and charming and kind that I felt soothed and entertained and enriched after finishing it.It defies genre, really, though if I had to classify it, I would call it fantasy realism. There are a lot of heavy duty themes like family loyalty, truth, love and friendship through adversity. It was very gently handled and I never felt preached at and the art and narrative fit together so seamlessly that it was delightful to fall into their world for a little while.The art is gorgeous and whimsical and lush. The story is wonderful.Though the main characters (other than the tea dragons of the title) are young, it doesn't feel like a tweeny book. I would recommend it to anyone at all who needs a bit of soul soothing and to escape the 'all-too-real' world for a little while.I intend to go out straightaway and buy the author's other mentioned work, Princess Princess Ever After.The narrative reminds me a little of Linda Medley's work, but the art is not reminiscent. The Tea Dragon Society is a luminously beautiful book. Highly recommended!5 stars art and story. Love this!Disclosure: I received an ARC at no cost from the author/publisher.
    more
  • Leila
    August 3, 2017
    I received a free copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This book was adorable! The art style is so cute, which is the main reason I picked up the book in the first place. Additionally, the story is amazing. Like, I cried a little reading this. We are introduced to a little girl named Greta who is learning to be a blacksmith from her mother. It isba dying trade, because no one really uses swords and stuff anymore. Honestly, the story is really subtle and cute I received a free copy from the publisher through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.This book was adorable! The art style is so cute, which is the main reason I picked up the book in the first place. Additionally, the story is amazing. Like, I cried a little reading this. We are introduced to a little girl named Greta who is learning to be a blacksmith from her mother. It isba dying trade, because no one really uses swords and stuff anymore. Honestly, the story is really subtle and cute. There is a lot of representation in this story, which is nice to see in a fantasy setting like this. Also, at the end, there is a little section on tea dragons and how to care for them. It's really cute, and adds a lot more to the world.I hope to see more from this author, because this was really great!
    more
  • Louise
    August 3, 2017
    I really love the style of the illustrations in The Tea Dragon Society. The outlines are almost invisible and the colouring is quite flat with few shadows. This gives the images a beautiful soft quality and fits perfectly with the sweet, soothing story.The story is really lovely, as Greta and Minette learn more about the dragons and what they want from their future. The idea of the tea dragons themselves is very cute and original. Tea leaves grow on the dragons horns which are harvested and brew I really love the style of the illustrations in The Tea Dragon Society. The outlines are almost invisible and the colouring is quite flat with few shadows. This gives the images a beautiful soft quality and fits perfectly with the sweet, soothing story.The story is really lovely, as Greta and Minette learn more about the dragons and what they want from their future. The idea of the tea dragons themselves is very cute and original. Tea leaves grow on the dragons horns which are harvested and brewed into teas. As well as being tasty, the drinker gets to see some of the dragon's memories. The books even has a cute little appendix about the types of dragon and their care.A beautiful story with exquisite artwork. I definitely want a tea dragon of my own now.
    more
  • Sandra
    June 3, 2017
    I'm not sure how to review this one. It's quiet and sweet and freaking adorable-can I have a ginger and a rooibos dragon?But I'm not sure how many kids are going to be into tea enough to get the in jokes, nor sure how many will appreciate the pure craft of it. But I think the sheer sweetness of illustrations will tempt plenty for a peek and hopefully hook them. (The blurb mentions how to train your dragon and pokemon fans, not so sure about that, but it will certainly appeal to studio Ghibli fan I'm not sure how to review this one. It's quiet and sweet and freaking adorable-can I have a ginger and a rooibos dragon?But I'm not sure how many kids are going to be into tea enough to get the in jokes, nor sure how many will appreciate the pure craft of it. But I think the sheer sweetness of illustrations will tempt plenty for a peek and hopefully hook them. (The blurb mentions how to train your dragon and pokemon fans, not so sure about that, but it will certainly appeal to studio Ghibli fans-the craft, artistry, gentle colors and friendships with hints of being in a much larger magical world.)
    more
  • Mortisha Cassavetes
    July 24, 2017
    Oh how I just loved this book. I would love to have all these little tea dragons! As a person who loves fantasy and loves tea just as much, this book was one that made me smile all the way through it. A coming of age story that follows Greta & her new friends and how they find themselves and their purpose in life. I hope there will be more. I can just imagine the adventures they could go on and so many more tea dragons. I will be watching out. I read this book for the Booktube-a-thon and wou Oh how I just loved this book. I would love to have all these little tea dragons! As a person who loves fantasy and loves tea just as much, this book was one that made me smile all the way through it. A coming of age story that follows Greta & her new friends and how they find themselves and their purpose in life. I hope there will be more. I can just imagine the adventures they could go on and so many more tea dragons. I will be watching out. I read this book for the Booktube-a-thon and would recommend it to everyone!
    more
  • Elaine Griffin
    June 10, 2017
    Adorable, original, and beautiful. The story, art, and concept of this sweet graphic novel pull together to form a perfect little book. Needless to say, I am dying to own my own Tea Dragon (plushies, anyone??? Pleeeease?). I cannot wait for the release of this book so I can own the final edition. I was lucky enough to obtain an ARC at BookCon.This book is ideal for kids and teens, as well as any diehard fans of graphic novels!
    more
  • Maria
    August 3, 2017
    Very cute with beautiful illustrations! The story is interesting, an entertaining fantasy tale featuring diverse characters and adorable dragons. The friendship, and maybe even something more, between the girs is nicely developed for the amount of pages, as well. The graphic novel leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy.Really liked the last section with all the details about the different kinds of dragons, adds a very nice touch. A really lovely read for kids that is both fun and thoughtful.A big Very cute with beautiful illustrations! The story is interesting, an entertaining fantasy tale featuring diverse characters and adorable dragons. The friendship, and maybe even something more, between the girs is nicely developed for the amount of pages, as well. The graphic novel leaves you feeling all warm and fuzzy.Really liked the last section with all the details about the different kinds of dragons, adds a very nice touch. A really lovely read for kids that is both fun and thoughtful.A big thank you to the publisher for the opportunity to read this via Netgalley.
    more
  • Devann
    August 1, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis book was just absolutely gorgeous. It has the same feel as Princess Princess Ever After, but you can definitely see an improvement in both the art and the story. There still isn't a whole lot of depth to the story, but I think it would be perfect to read with very young children. I love the diverse characters, and the tea dragons themselves are just absolutely adorable. A really cute fantasy read!
    more
  • Sheziss
    August 6, 2017
    It's so fluffy I gonna die!Is there a train ticket to this place, pretty please?Incredibly cute. I felt I was walking on little pink clouds while reading it and the smile it gave me still lasts.********Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.***
    more
  • Bridget
    August 3, 2017
    I got an ARC of this at ALA this summer, and it's AMAZING. I really like O'Neill's art and storytelling from other things I've seen, and this was just a perfectly sweet story about family, friends, and dragons. The art is lovely, with beautiful colors and ADORABLE DRAGONS. You should definitely read it, and I'm planning to buy it as soon as the finished book is available.
    more
  • Bridgette
    July 31, 2017
    My boss got an ARC from ALA Annual. It has the most ADORABLE artwork ever. I want a Tea Dragon soooooo bad. The characters are wonderful, there's tons of everyday diversity (a wheelchair user and it's not a big he's in a wheel chair), and it's charming and perfect and wonderful, and I wish there was about a hundred more pages of it.
    more
  • Flannery
    June 24, 2017
    I was so excited to read this ARC! The artwork is stunning, the plot is very cute, and it's overall just what I like. It has elements with wide appeal for many age levels. I recommend it for anyone who likes sweet, adorable, feel-good stories.
  • Dayna
    August 2, 2017
    This book was so cute! It follows Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, after finding a lost tea dragon in the marketplace. She befriends its owners Hesekiel and Erik, and their ward Minette, who teach her about the art of tea dragon care. Charming, beautiful artwork and perfect for any age. I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Grab
    June 6, 2017
    Absolutely precious and entirely too adorable.
  • D.
    July 26, 2017
    Review to come on JustLoveReviews.com
Write a review