Right Where We Belong
Whether in a quaint home bakery in Langhorne, Missouri, a cozy boho coffee shop in Maple Valley, Iowa, or a charming lakeside cottage in Sweethaven, Michigan, love grows best in small towns just like this!

Right Where We Belong Details

TitleRight Where We Belong
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseApr 17th, 2017
Rating
GenreChristian Fiction, Contemporary, Novella, Romance

Right Where We Belong Review

  • Heidi Robbins (Heidi Reads...)
    April 22, 2017
    Sweet small-town stories from wonderful authors! Each story is set in the town from the author's full-length book or series. I don't think you'll feel lost if you haven't read the book(s) that inspired the novellas. It did make me want to go read the longer books though! While I enjoyed all the stories, I think my favorite was the last one by Courtney Walsh.
    more
  • Caitlyn Santi
    May 20, 2017
    This is an absolutely delightful collection of small town romance novellas! I really enjoyed all three of them. Though Melissa Tagg's was my personal favorite, I have been so looking forward to Megan's story and it was so awesome, it exceeded every single one of my expectations! I've read one story of Deborah Raney's in the past (A January Bride, which I absolutely loved!) so I knew I enjoyed her writing style, and her novella in this collection was so fun, and I had no trouble reading it even t This is an absolutely delightful collection of small town romance novellas! I really enjoyed all three of them. Though Melissa Tagg's was my personal favorite, I have been so looking forward to Megan's story and it was so awesome, it exceeded every single one of my expectations! I've read one story of Deborah Raney's in the past (A January Bride, which I absolutely loved!) so I knew I enjoyed her writing style, and her novella in this collection was so fun, and I had no trouble reading it even though I hadn't read any of the novels that were set in the same town. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Raney's writing in the future!I loved the historical details and tad bit of mystery that were a huge part of Courtney Walsh's novella. This was my first time reading a book by Ms. Walsh, and I can't help but wonder why it took me so long! I loved everything about this novella and Courtney's writing style, I will soon be getting her newest release to review and I can't wait! I highly recommend this novella collection!
    more
  • Brittany
    May 3, 2017
    What a fun collection of novellas! I enjoyed each of these stories and the fact that they were all set in small towns. Each of the authors did a good job of creating characters that I cared about. Every story had some heart-tugging moments. The main characters in all three novellas had good chemistry and found themselves in situations that created great romantic tension between them. I felt very invested in knowing that these couples would receive their happily ever afters.One of the things that What a fun collection of novellas! I enjoyed each of these stories and the fact that they were all set in small towns. Each of the authors did a good job of creating characters that I cared about. Every story had some heart-tugging moments. The main characters in all three novellas had good chemistry and found themselves in situations that created great romantic tension between them. I felt very invested in knowing that these couples would receive their happily ever afters.One of the things that I enjoy about novella collections is when I find a new author because they were included in the collection with other authors whose books I know that I like. That was definitely the case in Right Where We Belong. I had not previously read any books by Courtney Walsh, but I really loved her novella and I plan to read more books by this author.(4.5 stars)You can read this review on my blog:https://brittreadsfiction.wordpress.c...
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    April 24, 2017
    Three authors who write good books team up together to write 3 novellas. What's not to love? This one was a no-brainer.I thoroughly enjoyed each offering, especially Melissa Tagg's which carried a spiritual message that really spoke to my heart. Highly recommended.*I received a preview copy of this book and was under no obligation to leave a positive review. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Kara
    May 16, 2017
    So much swoony happiness in these stories! I loved all three and if I had to pick a favorite, I'm not sure I could do it. Ms. Raney's meet cute between Lily and Gage was super cute! And the way Lily kept ordering stuff one day at a time just so the cute guy could keep coming back to her house? Too funny! Yet the chemistry between Ms Tagg's Megan and Eric? Wow! There was no denying it, no matter how much they both tried. The same goes for Ms. Walsh's Eleanor and Jason! They had good chemistry and So much swoony happiness in these stories! I loved all three and if I had to pick a favorite, I'm not sure I could do it. Ms. Raney's meet cute between Lily and Gage was super cute! And the way Lily kept ordering stuff one day at a time just so the cute guy could keep coming back to her house? Too funny! Yet the chemistry between Ms Tagg's Megan and Eric? Wow! There was no denying it, no matter how much they both tried. The same goes for Ms. Walsh's Eleanor and Jason! They had good chemistry and best of all, history behind it. I loved watching the two of them swoon over each other. :)So! Long story short? These three stories are absolutely adorable fun and I sorely wish they were full length novels because I could've used a few hundred pages more with each of these characters!
    more
  • Amy
    April 24, 2017
    'Right Where We Belong', is a collection of 3 short stories, all with this concept of finding that place, and with whom you 'belong'. As one of the authors, Courtney Walsh states, this is the beauty of a short story - don't have a lot of time to read? Then these are perfect. You don't have to read in order. I started with Melissa's because I've read all her Maple Valley books, and was eager to learn more about Megan. You can start where you like and enjoy a simple sweet story without all the com 'Right Where We Belong', is a collection of 3 short stories, all with this concept of finding that place, and with whom you 'belong'. As one of the authors, Courtney Walsh states, this is the beauty of a short story - don't have a lot of time to read? Then these are perfect. You don't have to read in order. I started with Melissa's because I've read all her Maple Valley books, and was eager to learn more about Megan. You can start where you like and enjoy a simple sweet story without all the complexities that make up a novel, and come away uplifted. ~ A Langhorne Romance ~ by Deborah RaneyOh how I can relate. Long distance relationship anyone?! I had the epitome of that. Across the pond (Atlantic Ocean sized pond) and only a few thousand land miles away from the guy I knew in my heart and soul was just the right one for me. Absence does make the heart grow fonder.... Or crumble, and you're right, that test of distance can work wonders in figuring that all out early on. Cute plot, I'm pretty sure I have never read any kind of story set around a delivery truck. This is the first book I've read by Deborah Raney and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Lily owns a small business baking out of her home, albeit a state of the art kitchen. Meet handsome new delivery driver Gage, bringing packages of baking supplies to her door. Suddenly the supplier's 'free shipping' policy never looked sweeter! With a sneaky plan to catch more glimpses of Gage, Lily starts breaking down her orders to have him show up more often. Will the feelings be mutual? There's a cat. An allergy. Then a job offer that's hard to refuse. Often in my younger days (and just as often now) I struggled with this concept of being unsure about the direction of my life. Choices. Decisions. Some big, others not so much. Each one that would lead me to my knees in prayer. Most times the answer is to just take a step, a risk, move forward. I loved this line from the book. "We don't have to see every twist and turn on the journey in front of us. We just have to take the first step...and then trust God to show us the next one… And the next."~ A Maple Valley Romance ~ by Melissa Tagg'Don't look down, look out' As a fan of Maple Valley from the day I read 'Three Little Words', first glimpse of the lives and loves of the Walker Family, I get excited at the thought of getting to go back. Discover the new characters, locations in town, yet checking in with all the old favourites. There has been someone who has played a constant minor role in all of these books. Megan. Owner of 'Coffee Coffee', she has taken her difficult lot in life and worked so hard to create a niche for herself in this small Iowa town. Left home at 18, and bounced around emotionally by people she met. The influence and care she initially received from Kate Walker developed into a solid friendship. One in which we see Megan rise to her challenges and attempt to put her life into order.Eric is the owner of Hampton House, a half way house in town. As a non coffee drinker. He hasn't crossed paths with Megan over the 5 years she has lived there. A chance meeting prompted by his concern for the awning of her shop - changes all of that. Their friendship ensues and he helps her open doors long closed.The arrival of Delia's (Megan's daughter) Father, rocks the boat. Fear and anxiety replace the relative peace and contentment Megan has found. Will she be able to tackle this head on, and hold on to the new and blossoming love with Eric? The biggest question of all - do people change - will be laid out there for our consideration. "The best way to thank God for all the second chances He’d given her was to be generous with the grace she showed others." Oh how true this is. Extending grace to those who hurt us is one of the hardest things in life. We want/need it to come from God. We want Him and others to show us mercy, yet so easily withhold it from them. Second, third, fourth (this list is never ending) chances that come from God, can absolutely be returned in thanks through our actions towards another. Beautiful and simply put, this novella is as always written skillfully by an author who knows how to reach inside the hearts of the characters and invite us in. Will leave you considering what you can personally do to support change in others, find courage to extend grace. The courage to implement personal change. ~ A Sweethaven Romance ~ by Courtney WalshA century old family feud. Small town Lake Michigan shoreline. A time capsule mystery. What's not to love about this?! I haven't read Courtney Walsh's Sweethaven series, though the location reminded me a lot of her upcoming novel 'Just Look Up'. As a newbie to Michigan I fell in love with the big Lake at first sight. I can relate perhaps to how the founders of this town felt when they first set eyes on the beauty of the lakeshore. Eleanor & Jason have known each other their whole lives, or rather known of each other. The Waverly - Holloway history has defined both their families for decades. One has benefitted in status, community respect and wealth. The other, as no good menace to society. A brief encounter during their senior year has left our main characters wondering about each other and that moment, but they haven't spoken for over a decade. Will preconceived ideas be overcome? A quest for the truth will bring more than just answers to a mystery to Eleanor's life. Will she have the courage to go against her fathers wishes for the sake of honesty? I loved the concepts being brought to the forefront. That we often judge each other, based on appearances or information we think is true but may not be. Deciding for ourselves what their story is, even if it's completely wrong. “But you just remember where you come from doesn’t determine who you are today." Perfect. We can change. We often hold ourselves back, because of this inability to see past... our past. We are the masters of our fate. Beautiful novella from Courtney Walsh. Thank you to the authors for providing me with a complimentary copy, I won in a giveaway. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Terri Simmons
    April 21, 2017
    This is a truly delightful collection of stories from three amazing authors. While all three novellas are set in small towns, each author brings her own style and charm. A sweet way to spend an afternoon!
  • Britney
    May 22, 2017
    I loved this collection and delighted in the charm of its small-town settings and sweet romance! I adore Melissa Tagg’s Walker Family series, so I was especially excited for Megan to enjoy her own story and happily ever after. Right Where We Belong boasts endearing characters and engaging story lines, and each novella was a pleasure to read!I received a complimentary copy of this book. No review was required, and all thoughts expressed are my own.
    more
  • Courtney Clark
    May 2, 2017
    If you’re looking for something lighthearted, fun, and sweet to fill your reading time, look no further!Dubbed as “3 small town contemporary novellas”, each of these standalone stories takes place in a fictional town you might recognize from an existing series by each author. While I haven’t read the main series from Deborah or Courtney, I was still enthralled with their respective communities. Melissa Tagg’s, though, I was over the moon to get through because Megan from the Walker Family series If you’re looking for something lighthearted, fun, and sweet to fill your reading time, look no further!Dubbed as “3 small town contemporary novellas”, each of these standalone stories takes place in a fictional town you might recognize from an existing series by each author. While I haven’t read the main series from Deborah or Courtney, I was still enthralled with their respective communities. Melissa Tagg’s, though, I was over the moon to get through because Megan from the Walker Family series FINALLY gets some story time! *happy dance*Each of these stories were distinct in plot and themes, but all were set in quaint little small towns where happiness is found in daily routine. I loved that. The romances in all of them were sweet and believable.To start with, Deborah Raney’s novella features a heroine who bakes daily for a living. And she has a cat. I was all over that (because food is life). The meet-cute setup of that story turns out to be one of the funniest I’ve read in a while. And, the subsequent challenge of a long distance relationship is faced head-on by the characters while they weigh the costs of their dreams with the reality in front of them.Melissa Tagg’s novella was, as expected, adorable, funny, and deep all at once. She always manages to speak to your emotional side until you are wrapped up in whatever conflict the characters’ hearts are in. In this case, a train ride, superglue, and a plethora of houseplants were involved. Oh, and a lesson of acceptance, purpose, and forgiveness.I expected Courtney’s novella to be humorous and quaint. It was, and more. Leave it to her to spin the feuding “Hatfields and McCoys” into a modern “secret” love story of rivalry, heritage, and redemption. This concept allowed the story to introduce serious questions of reputation and prejudices, and just how much one is willing to believe — or forgive — concerning your neighbors. It wasn’t all seriousness, though, because there was a swoony romance (of the long-time acquaintance variety), a cute little coffee shop, meddling old ladies, and a town time capsule unveiled.
    more
  • Velma
    April 23, 2017
    I have enjoyed books by all three of these authors, so I was excited to read this book of three novellas set in small towns. Though one stood out as my favorite, which is natural, I enjoyed reading these stories. It was a wonderful way for me to relax and enjoy the last of my Spring Break before facing the end of the year with my hyper middle school students. I look forward to reading more works by each of these authors in the future.
    more
  • Becky
    April 24, 2017
    Some of the best things in life come in threes and Right Where We belong proves this. Written by three amazing authors with 3 different writing personalities you will love each story from start to finish. While the stories are short they are not short on character development, wonderful plots and great endings. This book is a must read!
    more
  • Kim
    April 22, 2017
    This was a super cute and fun collection of novellas that did not disappoint! I bought the book primarily because Melissa Tagg had written Megan and Eric's story, which meant I got to visit Maple Valley (my favourite fictional town that I wish wasn't fictional!), but the other two stories by Deborah Raney and Courtney Walsh are equally enjoyable. Each author has crafted a sweet love story in a small town that you'll want to visit after!
    more
  • Erin
    April 3, 2017
    "Right Where We Belong" is a collection of novellas set in the authors' favorite fictional towns. As a huge fan of Melissa Tagg and her stories set in Maple Valley, I've been waiting for this release for several months. Here's a brief look at each of the tales in this compilation.A Langhorne Romance by Deborah Raney. Lily runs a bakery out of her house and begins finding reason to order supplies more frequently when she meets her handsome new delivery driver. This story contained every reason I "Right Where We Belong" is a collection of novellas set in the authors' favorite fictional towns. As a huge fan of Melissa Tagg and her stories set in Maple Valley, I've been waiting for this release for several months. Here's a brief look at each of the tales in this compilation.A Langhorne Romance by Deborah Raney. Lily runs a bakery out of her house and begins finding reason to order supplies more frequently when she meets her handsome new delivery driver. This story contained every reason I typically don't read novellas. I know novellas are by nature shorter and therefore you will lose some things that you could develop more in a full-length book, but I do like some believability and depth to be present. I will say that while I didn't like the story, at least it was written well. 2 starsA Maple Valley Romance by Melissa Tagg. If you've read Melissa's Walker Family Series, you know about Megan, the barista and single mom who is friends with the Walkers. Megan meets Eric, the owner of the local halfway house, and he begins helping her with some renovation projects. Things become complicated when the father of Megan's little girl comes on the scene, finding out about his daughter and threatening to take her away from Megan. The theme of this story is the question "Can people change?," and it's one Megan and Eric grapple with in several different strained relationships. I loved getting to see parts of Maple Valley we'd never seen before! Looking forward to final Walker Family novel coming out in August! 4 starsA Sweethaven Romance by Courtney Walsh. Within the first pages of this story I was struck by how well Courtney Walsh writes small towns! All the characters were distinct and so much fun, no matter if they appeared in one scene or several. This was my first trip to Sweethaven but I might have to go back and read the previous books. Our heroine is Eleanor, the director of the Historical Society, who is on the verge of a momentous Founder's Day festival that will include the unveiling of the time capsule buried in Sweethaven by the original settlers. But when the time capsule turns up something unexpected - a mystery that can only be solved with the help of town bad boy Jason Holloway - Eleanor knows she'll face extreme disapprobation if she chooses to unravel the clues. The most surprising find may be that Jason doesn't deserve his reputation! 3 starsThis review originated at http://reviewsbyerin.dreamwidth.org
    more
  • Barbara
    May 9, 2017
    On a scale of cotton candy to Brussels sprouts, Right Where We Are (three small town contemporary romance novellas) by Deborah Raney, Melissa Tagg, and Courtney Walsh is a pastry shop. With a selection of delicious delicacies, how could anyone select a favorite? Or even just one. So why not three sweet yet different variations: a sugar cookie, a coffee cake, and a pie?A Langhorne Romance by Deborah Raney reminded me of sugar and spice and everything nice. Despite the confusion and stitches, the On a scale of cotton candy to Brussels sprouts, Right Where We Are (three small town contemporary romance novellas) by Deborah Raney, Melissa Tagg, and Courtney Walsh is a pastry shop. With a selection of delicious delicacies, how could anyone select a favorite? Or even just one. So why not three sweet yet different variations: a sugar cookie, a coffee cake, and a pie?A Langhorne Romance by Deborah Raney reminded me of sugar and spice and everything nice. Despite the confusion and stitches, the character orchestrated meet cutes between Lily and Gage had me giggling constantly. I love that these characters were so conscious of how to care for the other.A Maple Valley Romance by Melissa Tagg churns with espresso and steamed milk, bitter amongst the creamy. I loved Megan immediately, and let's be honest, I tried not to cry while laughing when she first met Eric. Meanwhile, these characters had some serious issues to chip away at in very few pages, and yet, Tagg delivers.A Sweethaven Romance by Courtney Walsh reminds me of a chipotle chocolate. It's like nothing you expect. Eleanor and Jason are from two different sides of the town, or, are they? I love the character of Eleanor because she values truth over pleasing people, and I adore a good bad boy.I bought this book because I met Deborah Raney's writing in college (and I'm hoping to snag an autograph at a conference), and I also know I like Melissa Tagg's writing. Courtney Walsh swooped in with an unforgettable story as well. Writing three stand apart yet stand together novellas can't be easy, but these women had me longing to live in a small town in moments. These women created three solid stories with strong characters.Confession: I read the entire book in three days. #definiterecommendation
    more
  • Suzie
    May 17, 2017
    Three Authors. Three Small Towns. Three Perfect StoriesAuthors spend a lot of time building their fictional worlds. Whether a planet with all of the alien technology and the ruling government or a much simpler town filled with quirky characters, the details are what draw readers in and make them want to stay.Deborah Raney, Melissa Tagg, and Courtney Walsh have excelled in this and now they come together with a collection of novellas that will delight their faithful readers.I’ve visited Langhorne Three Authors. Three Small Towns. Three Perfect StoriesAuthors spend a lot of time building their fictional worlds. Whether a planet with all of the alien technology and the ruling government or a much simpler town filled with quirky characters, the details are what draw readers in and make them want to stay.Deborah Raney, Melissa Tagg, and Courtney Walsh have excelled in this and now they come together with a collection of novellas that will delight their faithful readers.I’ve visited Langhorne, Missouri and Maple Valley, Iowa with Raney and Tagg in their previous novels. I have not read any of Courtney Walsh’s Sweethaven (MI) novels but her novella was my absolute favorite in this collection (I’ll get to why in a minute).All of the stories are sweet and quick reads—which is why I love novellas. Both Raney and Tagg bring their characters together for the first time in their contributions. But Walsh touches on one of my favorite tropes in the romance genre: couples with a connection in their past.And while Eleanor Waverly’s and Jason Holloway’s connection is a short one, it is also an extremely memorable one. What makes this Sweethaven romance even more fun is the opposite worlds these two characters come from, the challenges that lay in front of them. Will Eleanor defy her family in order to tell the truth?In each of these stories, readers are reminded that love can indeed conquer all the odds stacked against it.
    more
  • Cathy
    May 13, 2017
    A Maple Valley RomanceI just got through reading A Maple Valley Romance and loved it!! Melissa Tagg has such a gift of drawing you into a story and making you feel like her characters are living, breathing people. The quirky heroine, Megan, and kindhearted hero, Eric, ended up being a perfect match and their story captured my heart. I highly recommend this sweet, clean, inspirational romance. The kissing scenes were great also ;)
    more
  • Emily F
    May 8, 2017
    Fun selectionThis was a fun anthology of three really sweet and clean stories. It was a great sampling of three different authors and I'm looking forward to reading more of their work. Need a variety of good stories? Read this compilation!
  • Laura
    May 16, 2017
    Three sweet summer stories perfect for a summer read! I enjoyed meeting two new authors in the first two novellas, and got to revisit Sweethaven in Courtney's Walsh's concluding novella. Very enjoyable read!
  • Linda Syman
    May 3, 2017
    A super collection from 3 of my favorite authorsIt's one of those books that makes you sad it has ended. Each story drew me into a fictional world with real believable characters. This is a collection I will definitely re-read again and again.
  • Andrea
    May 6, 2017
    I very much enjoyed the visits to these small towns and the stories they told.I do not think you have to be familiar with the novels these novellas are based on. They read very well on their own. I look forward to reading more from these authors!
  • Rebekah Peurifoy
    May 26, 2017
    3 cute but short stories
  • Laura Napier
    May 27, 2017
    The only story I like was Melissa Tagg's. I give it 5 starts. I didn't like the writing style of the first one and I just couldn't get into the story. The third one just didn't interest me at all.
  • Melissa
    May 7, 2017
    Three Sweet NovellasThree sweet novellas by three favorite authors!I can't pick a favorite because I really enjoyed each story. Love a small town live story.
  • BritGirl
    May 8, 2017
    A Langhorne Romance = zero *A Maple Valley Romance = 2*A Sweethaven Romance = 3*
  • Deborah Raney
    April 20, 2017
Write a review