Small Change (Small Change, #1)
Ginger Holtzman has fought for everything she’s ever had—the success of her tattoo shop, respect in the industry, her upcoming art show. Tough and independent, she has taking-no-crap down to an art form. Good thing too, since keeping her shop afloat, taking care of her friends, and scrambling to finish her paintings doesn’t leave time for anything else. Which … is for the best, because then she doesn’t notice how lonely she is. She’ll get through it all on her own, just like she always does. Christopher Lucen opened a coffee and sandwich joint in South Philly because he wanted to be part of a community after years of running from place to place, searching for something he could never quite name. Now, he relishes the familiarity of knowing what his customers want, and giving it to them. But what he really wants now is love.When they meet, Christopher is smitten, but Ginger … isn’t quite so sure. Christopher’s gorgeous, and kind, and their opposites-attract chemistry is off the charts. But hot sex is one thing—truly falling for someone? Terrifying. When her world starts to crumble around her, Ginger has to face the fact that this fight can only be won by being vulnerable—this fight, she can’t win on her own.Small Change is the first book in a series that will include M/F and M/M romances.

Small Change (Small Change, #1) Details

TitleSmall Change (Small Change, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 1st, 2017
PublisherMonster Press
Number of pages285 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Small Change (Small Change, #1) Review

  • Judith
    May 19, 2017
    4 Stars.Ginger is Daniel's best friend from In the Middle of Somewhere and this book,kind of,runs parallel with that one.However this is a standalone and the first book in a new series by Roan Parrish that will also include MM stories.Ginger Holtzman is a tough independent woman.She's had to work hard to get where she is and she's not about to relinquish her independence any time soon.The owner of a Tattoo shop and currently working on an upcoming art show,she knows how hard it is for a woman in 4 Stars.Ginger is Daniel's best friend from In the Middle of Somewhere and this book,kind of,runs parallel with that one.However this is a standalone and the first book in a new series by Roan Parrish that will also include MM stories.Ginger Holtzman is a tough independent woman.She's had to work hard to get where she is and she's not about to relinquish her independence any time soon.The owner of a Tattoo shop and currently working on an upcoming art show,she knows how hard it is for a woman in this industry.Christopher Lucen is the owner of a coffee shop in the same area.One of the good guys,He's patient,caring,steady, and is always there for people......oh,and he's just a bit hot!Christopher is instantly smitten with Ginger .....but is she ready to let someone into her life permanently? She's very open about her sexuality...she's bi sexual but has never really had any kind of long term relationship before, What if, with Christopher, I could burn the world down when I needed to, and he could extinguish a spot for us in the center of it, carve out a safe place for us while the fire raged outside. What I loved about this book,-Christopher (happy sigh )-I want one of my own.If ever there was a description of a perfect man,this is him,I absolutely loved him and he's a huge factor in this book working for me.All he wants is to be loved... "Christopher wants to be loved(...)And he wants to be needed.It's what he's always wanted(...)" -A slow build up.Both characters are in their thirties and there's no insta lust and falling into bed.The sex scenes are perfectly placed in the story.-A secondary character....Faron.Hello,if ever I was intrigued by someone it's most definitely him.The story is told,primarily,from Ginger's pov but we do get an insight into Christopher's thoughts by way of emails to his brother,Jude.On that note,Jude is gay and I'm so excited to get his story and I've got high hopes for him and a certain character.....A bit of drama and angst towards the end and I definitely got annoyed with Ginger,but overall I really enjoyed this.A recommended read.-
    more
  • Riley
    June 12, 2017
    This was such a great and diverse romance.The main character is a queer jewish woman who owns a tattoo shop. I absolutely loved the theme of female power in this book. It discussed a lot about the sexism in the tattoo community and how female tattooers aren't taken seriously. Her shop was named most queer friendly and I loved the found family of people who worked there including a black woman and a trans man. The love interest was adorable and I loved that he was genuinely a good person. I am so This was such a great and diverse romance.The main character is a queer jewish woman who owns a tattoo shop. I absolutely loved the theme of female power in this book. It discussed a lot about the sexism in the tattoo community and how female tattooers aren't taken seriously. Her shop was named most queer friendly and I loved the found family of people who worked there including a black woman and a trans man. The love interest was adorable and I loved that he was genuinely a good person. I am so sick of these asshole/broody love interests. He owned a sandwich/coffee shop and loves to cook which I found so attractive. I loved getting to hear his POV via emails he sent to his brother who was in hospital for an attempted suicide. I am really looking forward to the next books in this series because there were hints at a connection between two of the side characters that I am just dying to see.
    more
  • Avon Gale
    April 18, 2017
    Look, I've read a lot of romance novels. I've been reading them since I was 12 -- historical, gothic, contemporary, paranormal, you name it. And I don't think I've read one quite like Small Change -- and that's why this book is so important. (It's also freaking fabulous, but it's Roan Parrish, so that goes without saying.) I won't reiterate the plot, but here's what I loved about this book: GingerUm, I FLOVE her. I want to be friends with her, I want to hang out with her, I want a Tattoo Bitch t Look, I've read a lot of romance novels. I've been reading them since I was 12 -- historical, gothic, contemporary, paranormal, you name it. And I don't think I've read one quite like Small Change -- and that's why this book is so important. (It's also freaking fabulous, but it's Roan Parrish, so that goes without saying.) I won't reiterate the plot, but here's what I loved about this book: GingerUm, I FLOVE her. I want to be friends with her, I want to hang out with her, I want a Tattoo Bitch t-shirt and I want her to ink me. What a great, relatable, believable and complicated character she was! What I loved most about Ginger's story is that her concerns about being in a relationship were based on things like....you know, she was busy. She had her shop, her art, and sure, her vulnerabilities. But there were these practical concerns, too, that said this character has a life. She has her own shit going on, and fitting a relationship with another person into this life is not going to be easy. It was so refreshing to see a woman who was happy navigating the idea of a relationship. You didn't get the sense Ginger would be incomplete without a man or a woman (BECAUSE BISEXUAL FEMALE CHARACTER YESSSS), but you *did* get the sense that Christopher would be a happy addition to an already fulfilling life. But that wasn't going to be easy, and how could she make it work? This was just like...revolutionary, to me, and SO REFRESHING. Ginger wasn't less because she didn't have Christopher and the beginning, and Ginger wasn't more at the end because she did. Ginger was Ginger, and together she and Christopher made a great team but they were totally equals. They complimented and brought wonderful things to each other, and as I say constantly my definition of romance is people who are better together than apart. That doesn't mean that Ginger-- or Christopher -- would be less without the other. One thing I always love about Roan's books is the theme of people who find they have to love all the parts of themselves -- even the prickly, vulnerable parts -- before they can love anyone else. With Ginger, I got the feeling she was there, she loved herself and yet still had some vulnerabilities to deal with that were realistic but didn't overwhelm the daily awesomeness of her life that she'd made for herself. Her agency in her own happiness and satisfaction basically pleased the hell out of me. Also Ginger hi you are just hot (/superficial moment)ChristopherLET ME TELL YOU MY LOVE FOR YOU, CHRISTOPHER. Here we have a strong, capable man who could hold his own, was HILARIOUS, sweet, charming and attentive and oh my god that scene in the alley *fans self*. I loved Christopher for his unfailing loyalty, his positivity, and his willingness to take Ginger as she was and not try and change her or force her to make a place for him in his life. But he never compromised his own sense of self, and that was just awesome. Christopher is the prime example of how a "nice guy" doesn't have to be a doormat or a sleaze, and my god, can we please have more male MCs like this in romance novels? Confident, assured men who are interested in being someone's partner? Because it was such a healthy dynamic, and I just feel like we need more of these characters in our stories. His clear respect for Ginger was so attractive, but so was his own self-respect. I just loved him, basically. Also, a ginger for Ginger! Bi-repOh my god I could write paragraphs on this one, how nice it was to see a bisexual/queer woman MC. And yes, her ending up with a man does not make her any less queer or bisexual. I will cut anyone who tells me I can't relate to male characters because I'm a woman, because I think that's nonsense and sexist. But it *was* pretty awesome to have a character like Ginger, who is one of the first female M/F romance novel MCs that I felt so connected to, in a way I haven't before. The queerness, her fierce sense of self and her genuine joy in the life she's worked so hard to build. This is me talking about Ginger again but look, I love her. Anyway, as a bisexual-id'ing woman whose life partner is a man, this kind of rep is priceless and I love it. It was hot afUmmmmm....yeah. AGAIN. ALLEY SCENE. I loved the sex scenes in this book. They were playful, real, and...equal, if that makes sense? I basically loved their dynamic in bed, is what I'm saying here. Queer found familiesMy. Favorite. Thing. Ever. Friendship and found families in addition to ALL THE ABOVE? Seriously, yes please. Ginger's shop! Her friendship with Daniel! BASICALLY I LOVE THIS AND I THINK YOU SHOULD READ IT. Roan is admittedly one of my dearest friends, but I really do think this book is important. It's a queer romance that addresses a lot of important issues and features two strong, capable people who find their way together, and ugh. It's basically perfect, so read it :D
    more
  • K.J. Charles
    June 7, 2017
    This was fantastic. It's a very much emotion based-romance, internal rather external conflict: angry, prickly, defiant tattoo artist pushes away sweet, nurturing cook out of a combination of inability to express emotion, deep seated feelings of not being good for others, and rage. Only, the tattoo artist is a woman and the cook is a man and my God I've never read this before. Ginger is a magnificent character, a woman living in a state of constant simmering rage at the world, the injustice of it This was fantastic. It's a very much emotion based-romance, internal rather external conflict: angry, prickly, defiant tattoo artist pushes away sweet, nurturing cook out of a combination of inability to express emotion, deep seated feelings of not being good for others, and rage. Only, the tattoo artist is a woman and the cook is a man and my God I've never read this before. Ginger is a magnificent character, a woman living in a state of constant simmering rage at the world, the injustice of it, the endless slights and misogyny and needling and casual insults offered by men and too often other women. You hardly ever get to see a really angry woman in books/film--not a righteous superhero, but someone whose baseline constant anger makes it hard to function when you most want to be calm, so angry that you mess up your life and relationships, so angry it will never entirely go away. I have rarely identified so much. Men are allowed that anger all the time, and women are expected to nurture and soothe it. Well, in this book Christopher does the emotional labour--and it's very clear how much work that is for him (and how much easier it is for him because of his privilege as a large white man). Chris fulfils all the classic female roles here: he does the emotional heavy lifting and speaking about feelings while Ginger sorts out her feelings, he takes the brunt of her anger, he even provides nurturing food. All the women's jobs, and it doesn't make him a doormat, or in the slightest less hot or wonderful or 'manly' whatever that means. He's simply *doing his fucking bit like a decent human* because he is one. As a result, Ginger is hugely identifiable. I love her journey--her steadfast refusal to compromise on her work and achievements or to feel guilty about not making more time for a man, followed by her realisation that maybe she wasn't the one setting her own targets, and she needs to define for herself what success means. That's a hugely important realisation (and an epiphany I had myself a few years back; boy, did that bit ring true) and allows a pivot in the relationship where Ginger can give herself space to admit that independent doesn't have to mean alone, and that it isn't weakness to trust. The switch of the emotional roles isn't simplistic--we are very much in the world here, with Chris's male privilege showing, and Ginger's feelings complicated by her awareness of how her anger and attitudes aren't socially acceptable, and her resented but undeniable social conditioning to please others. It's a lovely complicated emotional story, hence not much external plot at all. In fact it's a classic romance novel in every respect apart from the switch of the emotional roles. Two lovely characters, tons of heart, and a pleasure to read.
    more
  • Elsa Bravante
    June 4, 2017
    Roan es una de mis autoras favoritas y esperaba con muchas ganas este libro, Ginger aparece en el libro de Daniel, In The Middle of Somewhere, y me gustó desde el primer momento, ¿no sería genial leer también su happy ending?Sin embargo, he de confesar que en el primero 25% del libro mis sentimientos hacia lo que estaba leyendo estaban muy confusos, Ginger no me gustaba tanto como en el libro de Daniel, quizás porque ahora no solo veíamos su lado divertido, había muchísimo diálogo interno, y tod Roan es una de mis autoras favoritas y esperaba con muchas ganas este libro, Ginger aparece en el libro de Daniel, In The Middle of Somewhere, y me gustó desde el primer momento, ¿no sería genial leer también su happy ending?Sin embargo, he de confesar que en el primero 25% del libro mis sentimientos hacia lo que estaba leyendo estaban muy confusos, Ginger no me gustaba tanto como en el libro de Daniel, quizás porque ahora no solo veíamos su lado divertido, había muchísimo diálogo interno, y todo parecia enfocado a presentar una situación, una historia, con su escenario, sus personajes, que nunca llegaba. Seguí leyendo por las ganas que tenía de que saliera Daniel y porque Cristopher prometía ser un buen contrapunto para Ginger.Y qué bien que seguí leyendo, porque despues de un comienzo un tanto decepcionante la historia comenzó a subir en interés, en análisis de personajes, en discusión de diferentes puntos que yo considero importante en la sociedad que nos rodea. Al final, he conseguido querer a Ginger tanto o más de lo que la quería antes de comenzar Small Change, quiero a Christoperh porque, en serio, qué hay que no se pueda querer en Christopher? quizás ha pecado de mucha perfección, algo que parece un poco distintivo de las parejas de Roan. Tenemos a nuestros messy Daniel, Colin, Will y Ginger que encuentra su estabilidad con los wonderful Rex, Rafe, Leo y Christoper. Todo mi amor para el personaje de Ginger que se presenta tal como es con lo complicado que es eso, y por el personaje de Christopher, que también se presenta tal como es arriesgándose a ser un blanco fácil para ser herido. Pero no solo me han gustado sus principales, me han encantado todo lo relacionado con la tienda de tatuajes de Ginger, he pasado todo el libro deseando hacerme otro más, muy interesante también el análisis de la mujer en el negocio, y en cualquier negocio en general, aunque la autora en alguna ocasión creo que ha caído en lo preachy, ha habido momentos en que parecía que me estaba dando una lección, y por mucho que yo esté de acuerdo con lo que dice, es algo que me incomoda mucho cuando leo, yo quiero aprender y tener mi opinión sobre distintos asuntos a través de las experiencias de los personajes, más que por un discurso.No quiero dejar de mencionar unos secundarios maravillosos, todos, bien perfilados, nada de estereotipos planos, y mención especial para Jude y Faron, maravillosos, no puedo esperar a leer su libro.Una lectura muy recomendable, muy romántica, con buenas escenas de sexo, nada superficial y bien escrita. Roan sigue siendo una de mis favoritas.P.S.: Amor incondicional a Daniel, cada vez que le mencionan, o aparece, para mi él siempre steals the show.
    more
  • Amy Cousins
    May 17, 2017
    God, this book. I love it. I stayed up all night reading it, so now I'm an incoherent zombie, but as soon as I nap and wake up again, I'm gonna write something so damned eloquent about it, everyone who knows me will be unable to resist reading it on release day. It's a gorgeous book. <3
    more
  • Mirjana ***Let's Sound It Out - - - Mary-On-A***
    April 18, 2017
    ***4 Stars*** "In cooking, you can swap out one ingredient for another. Sometimes it doesn't change much, like oil for eggs in a cake. Sometimes it changes everything, like salt for sugar. The way I feel about you? It's not like a recipe. I don't want to swap out your moodiness for a smile, or your temper for a laugh. It's like...alchemy or something. The way people come together, and it's just...Magic." It's no secret that I'm a fan of Roan Parrish's writing, and she's easily kept the magic g ***4 Stars*** "In cooking, you can swap out one ingredient for another. Sometimes it doesn't change much, like oil for eggs in a cake. Sometimes it changes everything, like salt for sugar. The way I feel about you? It's not like a recipe. I don't want to swap out your moodiness for a smile, or your temper for a laugh. It's like...alchemy or something. The way people come together, and it's just...Magic." It's no secret that I'm a fan of Roan Parrish's writing, and she's easily kept the magic going with her first M/F book (a spinoff from her MM series). This is a hopeful book about two people falling in love. It's about smoothing out your edges, without losing your shape. There's no drama, no miscommunication...just an honest look at what happens when you take that scary leap of putting yourself out there, letting someone else see all of your shit, and finding that person who wants you to walk tall beside them. We were learning each other in small, manageable pieces - mapping each new inch of terrain slowly, to see how far into each other's territory we could venture. After finishing this book, there are three things I know for certain: (1) I wanna be friends with Ginger and talk about stupid things while we guzzle large quantities of coffee. Not only was she awesome, but there were these little nuggets of insecurity that were so damn relatable I had to pause and take a deep breath... ...Fear that someday I'd get so lonely I'd compromise in ways I didn't want to. Fear that I'd be so afraid of compromising when I shouldn't that I'd refuse to compromise when I should. (2) I really want a hug from Christopher. They sound like a glorious cocoon of comfort and joy. And I'm pretty sure they can solve the world's problems. But even if he didn't want to hug me, I'd be okay just being in his warm, kind, and easy company. He had a fantastic laugh - loud and rich and from the belly, and it terminated in a kind of chuckle, like he wasn't quite ready to stop yet. It was the kind of laugh that made you feel lucky that you said something he thought was funny. (3) I will read anything that Roan Parrish writes. What if, with Christopher, I could burn the world down when I needed to, and he could extinguish a spot for us in the center of it, carve out a safe place for us while the fire raged outside. I can't wait to see where Roan Parrish goes with this series. I hear Jude's (Christopher's brother) story is next...and oh man, I'm gonna have to get my feelers ready for that one!--------------------------------Ginger's story!! She's Daniel's BFF from In the Middle of Somewhere. We already got a peek at Ginger and Christopher's relationship in that series and now it's time to get their full story!!
    more
  • Elle the ClosetRomanceReader aka Leftie aka Shoebelle
    May 17, 2017
    *ARC received from author via A Novel Take PR as part of blog tour*2 things I want to say immediately:1) I'm kicking myself for still not having read Roan's Middle of Somewhere series, even though they're all ready to go on my tablet. (A friend is doing this for me mentally already anyway, I'm sure hehe) #somanybookssolittletime2) If you only read M/F in your romance, with diverse representation at that, I think you can safely put Roan in your radar.The first bk in a new series, it's Roan's firs *ARC received from author via A Novel Take PR as part of blog tour*2 things I want to say immediately:1) I'm kicking myself for still not having read Roan's Middle of Somewhere series, even though they're all ready to go on my tablet. (A friend is doing this for me mentally already anyway, I'm sure hehe) #somanybookssolittletime2) If you only read M/F in your romance, with diverse representation at that, I think you can safely put Roan in your radar.The first bk in a new series, it's Roan's first foray into M/F romance. I take it that people who've read In the Middle of Somewhere would be familiar with Ginger, the h. This is her story. It's her story with Christopher.Ginger, a tattoo artist, is the owner of Small Change. She's a very busy woman who has hardly any time for anything else. Her growing years were all about not meeting expectations and never being enough. So in her older years, she has hang-ups, only trusts a few and hard pressed to open up to anyone outside of her inner circle.She meets Christopher who happens to own the sandwich place near her shop. Christopher is pretty much the opposite of Ginger. He's open, easygoing, straightforward, and just plain sweet.There is nothing I don't love about Christopher. He's just perfect, that even his tiny flaws were perfect *insert heart eyes* I love that what you see is what you get with him. I love how he got Ginger. I love that he gave what Ginger needed. I love his views. I just love him!Ginger's experience, feelings and thoughts will feel familiar at some point to any woman. The family issues, the societal pressure, the biases, the insecurities, the challenges, all of them... I feel like to judge Ginger is to judge womanhood, in general. We've all been there, I'm sure. And this is coming from one who's of a minority background. Ultimately, regardless of all the bullsh!t, what I really appreciated is her growth throughout this journey.I love that this is primarily from Ginger's POV, but you get Christopher's POV in email forms. I love the people that surrounded these 2. Just when I'm starting to feel at times that Ginger and Christopher are hardly together or that Ginger might've stayed in her head a tad longer at times, I love that Roan managed to pull me right back in quite easily, with a line or a turn of event. I love that these 2 are so relatable and life-like, if that makes sense. I love the balance of the characters' personality. I love how the pace of the story moved so naturally. I love the depth Roan gave to the story. I love the emotions that this managed to evoke out of me, the giggles, the tear or 2, and yes, even the anxiety. And it bears saying again, I love, love Christopher, yes!!! "Care bear stares" PS. Ginger just inspired me more to get another tat.PPS. Who's next on the series, Roan? Jude? Farron? Yes?:pPPS. I really have to find the time to read the Middle of Somewhere seriesPPPS. Me=happy!!!:D
    more
  • Meep
    June 13, 2017
    I liked this a lot at first, can totally get saying the wrong thing and hitting out at the nearest target when tired and stressed, because you're on the warpath and their there in your sights. I got that part. Didn't so much get the easy forgiveness when she finally got around to apologising. Christopher is lovely. I'm married to a Christopher who gives hugs and makes me frequent coffees and occasional bagels - they're worth holding onto. Would LOVE more of these 'nice guys' in books as opposed I liked this a lot at first, can totally get saying the wrong thing and hitting out at the nearest target when tired and stressed, because you're on the warpath and their there in your sights. I got that part. Didn't so much get the easy forgiveness when she finally got around to apologising. Christopher is lovely. I'm married to a Christopher who gives hugs and makes me frequent coffees and occasional bagels - they're worth holding onto. Would LOVE more of these 'nice guys' in books as opposed to the manly testosterone fuelled heroes you generally find.At the start I was thrilled to have a m/f book with such a strong female character, roles reversed Christopher is the support act and Ginger is never weak or coy, she's angry and prickly and real. The sex is hot and these are adult characters it's not at all shy or virginal. Past halfway I was loving the dynamic Christopher's accepting smitten-ness and Ginger's prickles. Also Ginger is Bi and it has to be the best way I've seen that written, matter-of-fact not the author making a point just part of the character. Still part of the character when she's seeing a man.First person present tense really wasn't the best device for this story though. Parrish has a very wordy writing style that can cause stumbles and this book is an abundance of internal thoughts.It's Ginger. Too much Ginger. Past halfway it had become exhaustively Ginger, I'd had enough of her, which made me wonder why Christopher was still putting up with her shit. And to avoid dual pov the book turns epistolary giving little much needed insights into Christopher through emails to his brother. A device to have the reader warm to Christopher and get to see how he really is a sweet guy, and introduce his brother who never seemed entirely real. He [the brother] has some big issues but only appears briefly to mediate the Ginger-show. A few side characters are waved tantalisingly close but not developed, unfortunately I was more curious about them than the main. Christopher was too often a mere foil for Ginger and not let to breath and become real in his own right. His brother a mere prop to show Christopher has personality. For me to keep enjoying I needed a break from Ginger's head, as much as she was getting oversaturated by the world around her, I was feeling the same from being so much in her head.Because it is all about Ginger. She's tough, she's made it herself and been judged along the way, I'd respect her heaps for that - but not once in the story does she ever spare a thought for anyone else. By the end it had changed from championing her to thinking her a very selfish character. (view spoiler)[Her staff are working the clock around but she's too busy painting to really care. She has a staff member's kid do her twitter when a storm goes down no thought to whether that's appropriate reading for her - she rewards the kid with a trip to the pub - how self-involved and clueless is that?, Christopher's brother has serious depression but she talks to him and it's all about her, never a thought of him or how Christopher's perfect life might be hard and he might need some support. And her apology sign was more about her than him. (hide spoiler)] Caught up in her internal tangles there's barely any thought to others unless reminded. Parrish does a great job of conveying her and her moods, stresses, struggles; but a step outside her pov for more than a brief email would have been a breath of fresh air and given some balance to the story.The story is all woven around inequality within the tattoo industry, possibly to fill pages. It never seemed entirely real a cause; Ginger could be full force ahead then it was forgotten about, then they were tracking twitter again, it all seemed strangely distant then suddenly Ginger was noticing it again and effected by it. Um hello, this happens outside of the tattoo industry! It's actually not uncommon in a lot of work environments and in general life - I can rant on it myself, but here it felt more a plot-device than a genuine battle close to her heart. (view spoiler)[at the start I suspected she was more or as concerned with being made to look bad in front of a tattooist she idolised than the actual issue (hide spoiler)] Did wonder if it's a culture thing too, here lots of people male and female have tattoos, while there's always dissenters it's not a big 'cover that up' stigma.I'm not that certain the main characters were together that much. There's mention of waking up together that suggests some meetings off-page, but mainly they're two people running businesses and with busy lives that get in the way.This all sounds very negative, there was a lot I liked, things I loved, just overall it left me tired. It went from an easy 5* to wavering at 3* but I after thought it's not one I'll be in a rush to re-read so it ends on a tired 2*
    more
  • Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾
    May 25, 2017
    Review to comeARC courtesy of author in exchange for an honest reviewFind me on:
  • Mel
    May 16, 2017
    Surprisingly for me, I didn’t love the book. Until now all of the author’s books were 5 star reads and favourites of mine, but Small Change sadly couldn’t live up to my expectations. Which isn’t to say it’s a bad book (as you can see from my rating) but I wish it would have been better. There are some aspects here that I really loved, some that I didn’t like, and others that I am quite conflicted about.I am delighted that the female/male relationship was awesome. There are no stereotypical gende Surprisingly for me, I didn’t love the book. Until now all of the author’s books were 5 star reads and favourites of mine, but Small Change sadly couldn’t live up to my expectations. Which isn’t to say it’s a bad book (as you can see from my rating) but I wish it would have been better. There are some aspects here that I really loved, some that I didn’t like, and others that I am quite conflicted about.I am delighted that the female/male relationship was awesome. There are no stereotypical gender roles regarding both Ginger and Christopher which is very important to me. I can’t even tell you how much I appreciated this. Some books fall back into weird gender dynamics once the couple has sex but this was also not the case here. I enjoyed their sexual encounters a lot, because they were really hot and also realistic.Ginger’s bisexuality is another aspect of the book that I loved. It’s written in a very natural way—as opposed to being forced unto the page for representation’s sake—and I also liked that her identity wasn’t limited to being interested in both men and women, but that her whole identity is queer.Ginger is a likeable character despite all her faults—or maybe because of them—but I didn’t quite fall in love with her. Christopher, on the other hand, is a character who is very easy to love. He’s hot (red hair, freckles, tall) and kind and very charming. However, I think that if it weren’t for his brother Jude’s side story and depression and it’s influence on Christopher, he would be kinda flat and boring and too perfect. Maybe we will see more of Jude in future books but for the moment he felt more like an addition to the story to complement Christopher, like his purpose for existing was to give Christopher more depth.The book rather appears as an assortment of intermingling different parts, more like a puzzle that is made to fit and not necessarily fitting in the first place. There is the couple’s (mostly Ginger’s) individual journey, dealing with mental illness of a loved one, and the critique of sexism and misogyny (in the tattoo industry) that was too preachy in the execution for my taste. Actually, what I think is that this story is a bit forced. Like the author wanted to write about Ginger (because, clearly, she rocks), but then realised there wasn’t enough to write her story, so things needed to fill the hole.Additionally, this book was really too long and slow. I was bored—not the whole time—but again and again. There were many details, long paragraphs, and I realise that this is kinda the author’s style and that it didn’t bother me at all in her other books. I believe it’s because I found the story itself lacking and the language less magical. The spark and wonder was missing for me.But I haven’t mentioned some other stuff that was pretty cool. While the book is written from Ginger’s point of view, I really loved that we could read Christopher’s charming mails to Jude, thus getting to know him and his thoughts a little better.I also thought that there was no unnecessary angst which is how I like it. I also really appreciated that I didn’t have to witness a family meeting with Ginger’s mentally abusive family, and conflicts between Ginger and Christopher were solved in a satisfactory manner and not overly dramatic. Usually, that is. What Ginger said to Christopher in their ‘big fight’ didn’t even make sense and was really hurtful and I really wasn’t a fan, but that’s how fights go, especially if fear and anxiety are involved.While Small Change wasn’t as good as I had hoped and while I do have lots of complaints it seems, it’s still a good book and read-worthy. Especially if you’re looking for great representation of a bisexual woman, then you should definitely check it out.____________________________________Genre: Contemporary RomanceTags: F/M Pairing, Bisexual Character, Heterosexual Character, Tattoos, ArtContent Warnings: Depression and Mention of Attempted Suicide (Secondary Character), MisogynyRating: 3.5 starsBlog: Review for Just LoveDisclosure: ARC for Review
    more
  • Rafa Brewster
    June 3, 2017
    4 StarsThis struck me as a great romance story for the modern woman. Ginger is a strong, independent woman who's very set in her ways. I thought the author did a thorough job showing us the many sides of Ginger - her passion for her tattoo shop, Daniel and her employees who are essentially her family, her art, her staunch feminism, her quirkiness and her intensity. While I was fascinated by her and thought I got a pretty good handle on her, I don't really know if I ever actually connected with h 4 StarsThis struck me as a great romance story for the modern woman. Ginger is a strong, independent woman who's very set in her ways. I thought the author did a thorough job showing us the many sides of Ginger - her passion for her tattoo shop, Daniel and her employees who are essentially her family, her art, her staunch feminism, her quirkiness and her intensity. While I was fascinated by her and thought I got a pretty good handle on her, I don't really know if I ever actually connected with her because her mental and emotional walls were so impenetrable. Each time she questioned her feelings for Christopher or rebelled against the idea of being in a relationship because she was afraid of losing her autonomy and her independence, I wanted to shake her and wished she'd just give for once and not just receive, receive, receive all the love Christopher wanted to shower on her. Christopher was a wonderful hero, almost too good to be true, and I loved the way his story was revealed over time, adding more depth and nuance to his character. While I enjoyed his messages to his brother Jude and I thought that was a brilliant way to show us Christopher's POV, I was particularly glad when Jude became more than just a ghost on the page. His relationship with Christopher gutted me and his exchanges with Ginger proved to be essential to the story in the end. Also the possibility of him paired with the enigmatic Faron in a future book has me super stoked.While I enjoyed its powerful and positive feminist message, I thought the #nodrama drama and the ensuing social media campaign happened way too late in the book and as a result it felt very forced, especially as it sort of overtook the final third of the story (it was even the focus of the epilogue). It's a shame that it popped up unexpectedly and so late; I think it would have flowed so much better (and filled some of the slower early-middle parts) if it had occurred towards the end of the first third.Overall, I wish I'd seen more reciprocation (thoughts or actions) from Ginger towards Christopher. I don't really recall any point during the book when he was first and foremost in her mind (it was Christopher doing all the chasing and swooning and sandwich-making). Even her grand gesture in the end, which was obviously a desperate attempt to win him back, was presented days after her Massive Realization that she wanted him in her life - and this was some time after she'd chased him off with some cruel, horrible words. For someone as independent as she is, I also really hated how co-dependent she was on Daniel. I get missing him and wanting to spend every minute with him during his visits, but when her first instinct after her Massive Realization was to call Daniel (instead of, say, immediately hunt Christopher down to apologize and maybe tell him that maybe she cares for him too), I sort of checked out. Based on Ginger's deeply ingrained attitude towards love and independence and autonomy, I would label this book a HFN. The epilogue taking place only a month later simply underlined the impermanence (in my mind) of their love affair. I just imagine her reverting to her old ways and rebuilding those walls over time, and poor Christopher would have to tear them down each time (which bless him, he seems to be perfectly willing and able). I don't see it as a bad thing and it doesn't mean I think that Ginger is somehow "unloveable" or doesn't deserve love/to be loved, but as far as being in a long-term, committed relationship with HEA, I'm not sure if that's something she would even want? A worthy read despite the pacing issues I had and its HFN ending.
    more
  • Maria Rose
    June 5, 2017
    Small Change by Roan Parrish is the first in a new series, a spin-off from her Middle of Somewhere novels. It’s set in the bustling busy streets of South Philadelphia and stars a feisty tattoo shop owner and her business neighbor down the street who runs a sandwich cafe. It’s my first experience reading this author, and definitely won’t be my last!Ginger Holtzman is a workaholic. Getting her tattoo shop off the ground has come with a price, most notably the lack of time for a personal relationsh Small Change by Roan Parrish is the first in a new series, a spin-off from her Middle of Somewhere novels. It’s set in the bustling busy streets of South Philadelphia and stars a feisty tattoo shop owner and her business neighbor down the street who runs a sandwich cafe. It’s my first experience reading this author, and definitely won’t be my last!Ginger Holtzman is a workaholic. Getting her tattoo shop off the ground has come with a price, most notably the lack of time for a personal relationship. She’s still struggling with the departure of her best friend Daniel who has found life and love in a new city. Proving herself to her family, her friends, her community and herself is taking a toll. So when she meets sandwich shop owner Christopher, the spark of attraction she feels for him comes with a bit of wariness too.Christopher Lucen loves being part of the community of South Philly and making people happy – it’s what he excels at. Meeting Ginger is an experience unlike any other, and though others might be put off by her brash attitude and flamboyant tattoos, he finds her quite fascinating. Little by little he is able to break through some of Ginger’s defenses. But will she be willing to let him all the way in?This is an excellent example of a character-driven romance that captivates the reader from start to finish. Though the story is told from Ginger’s point of view, we get a glimpse into Christopher as well. He has a brother who is being treated for manic depression, and Christopher writes him a letter or text message every day. Those letters are his voice in the story. I thought this was a really interesting plot device that reveals aspects of Christopher’s character by his thoughts instead of his deeds. But his deeds are definitely generous and thoughtful when seen through Ginger’s eyes. Christopher starts showing up at Ginger’s tattoo parlor with meals for her, understanding how much her business means to her and how little time free time she really has. It’s his way of showing his interest in her while not compromising her work ethic. In return, Ginger finds her own way to show Christopher that she cares for him too, using her artistic talents at his shop. It’s a sweet give and take as they get to know each other.The development of their romance proceeds with some expected ups and downs. Sexual attraction is definitely not a problem for them and there are some very sexy scenes that show Christopher might be a ‘nice’ guy but he’s quite handy in the bedroom. Ginger has a lot on her plate – a fractious relationship with her family, a shop with too much business and not enough staff, the discovery she’s being used unwittingly in a social media fight, and a deadline to complete some artwork for a gallery show. It will take a lot of courage on her part to find room in her life for Christopher – and Christopher will have to show patience and perseverance to convince Ginger that he’s the right person to stand by her side. There are some laughs and some tears on the way to Ginger and Christopher’s happy ending but it’s a wholeheartedly enjoyable affair. I look forward to reading more of this series, and catching up on the author’s backlist!This review also appear at: https://straightshootinbookreviews.co...A copy of this story was provided by A Novel Take PR for review
    more
  • Carol
    May 22, 2017
    We finally get Ginger and Christopher's story!!! We've seen them as side characters in the Middle of Somewhere series, and I've always wondered how a tattoo artist and sandwich shop owner ever got together. The timeline for this story takes place in parallel with In the Middle of Somewhere. While this book totally works as a standalone, I would highly reading the other series as well to fill in some of the gaps and because the m/m series is wonderful.Ginger has fought her way in the tattoo indus We finally get Ginger and Christopher's story!!! We've seen them as side characters in the Middle of Somewhere series, and I've always wondered how a tattoo artist and sandwich shop owner ever got together. The timeline for this story takes place in parallel with In the Middle of Somewhere. While this book totally works as a standalone, I would highly reading the other series as well to fill in some of the gaps and because the m/m series is wonderful.Ginger has fought her way in the tattoo industry to get respect, and to eventually own the tattoo shop she works at. She's worked hard at becoming independent and her career and her art mean everything to her. Her best friend, Daniel, has just moved away to Michigan, and she feels a lost without him. She dedicates all her time to her work at the shop and the art pieces she's doing for an art show coming up. The last thing she ever expected was for a sandwich shop owner across the street to catch her attention.Christopher, bless him, is such a red-headed sweetheart and loves making delicious sandwiches and memorizing every customer's orders. He is just a genuine person and really nice, all-American guy. He's not at all someone Ginger would think would fall for her. He does, but their journey together isn't without some angst.What do you do when the person you're falling in love with is conflicted about being with you?Ginger and relationships never really worked out before, because she loves her independence and doesn't want to give any of that up for a relationship. It's not worth it to her. But Christopher is very persistent and brings sandwiches to the tattoo shop, not only for her, but for her co-workers as well. He is just instantly heart eyes for Ginger, and it's so cute to read. In the author's previous series, the stories were only told in one person's perspective, but in this book, we get to see Christopher's thoughts and feelings through the emails and texts he sends to her brother.Dude, I'm-I'm fucking smitten. Yeah, who says shit like that? I don't know. Me, apparently.So, Christopher is like the perfect man. He is both innocent and hot. Honestly, I was taken aback when he started cursing. The only downside to reading this book is realizing that no man can be the sheer perfection that is Christopher (I obviously love him a lot). Christopher's brother, Jude, is a very interesting, if not sad, character. I'm thrilled that we'll get to read his story next. Because just hearing his and Christopher's history together already breaks my heart. The secondary characters who work in Ginger's shop are intriguing additions to the story, especially Faron and Marcus."Girl, get a grip. That shit is made to order. Don't no one have 'extra sandwiches.' He brings those damn things to have an excuse to hang out with your obtuse ass.""I know," I'd mumbled.I love Ginger. She's tough and unapologetic about who she is. I liked getting this book to look into Ginger and Christopher's relationship, because the other series made it seem that everything was sunshine and rainbows for them. But, I think the push and pull in this story really showed how their relationship developed over time.Overall, I really loved this story and I highly, highly recommend this book. It's fun, it's angsty, and a story that's full of lovely characters. I can't wait to read book two!!!***Thanks to Judith at Binge on Books/A Novel Takes PR for the ARC as part of a Bookstagram book tour***
    more
  • Liz Jacobs
    June 6, 2017
    Oh my god. Oh my god, I'm just so happy and satisfied and full of FEELINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG. What a wonderful, human, loving story ❤❤❤ I loved this to bits and pieces ❤❤❤❤ Oh my god. Oh my god, I'm just so happy and satisfied and full of FEELINGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGG. What a wonderful, human, loving story ❤️❤️❤️ I loved this to bits and pieces ❤️❤️❤️❤️
    more
  • Maygirl7
    June 7, 2017
    I really, really liked this story. I could so identify with Ginger's anger. Maybe more will be added later to make this more of a review and less of a few disconnected sentences thrown into the same space. Side note: It was nice to see Daniel from In the Middle of Somewhere again.
    more
  • Gillian
    June 8, 2017
    4 starsThere's a lot to like about this book. The relationship between hardworking, prickly, talented Ginger and the eminently lovable, loyal Christopher is certainly something to behold, even if I didn't get always get the attraction on Christopher's part. Then again, I know plenty of couples IRL who shouldn't work but who just...do. I loved Ginger's passion for her art, for her shop and for her co-workers who are more than just employees, they are her family. She's tough, uncompromising and un 4 starsThere's a lot to like about this book. The relationship between hardworking, prickly, talented Ginger and the eminently lovable, loyal Christopher is certainly something to behold, even if I didn't get always get the attraction on Christopher's part. Then again, I know plenty of couples IRL who shouldn't work but who just...do. I loved Ginger's passion for her art, for her shop and for her co-workers who are more than just employees, they are her family. She's tough, uncompromising and unafraid of hard work. She's self-aware inasmuch as she realizes she's an acquired taste but has little or no time (or is unwilling to take the time) to really get to know someone. That is, until Christopher comes along.I swear, if it weren't for Christopher's emails to Jude, he would be perfectly bland. Somehow, the act of corresponding with this brother - even if it's almost completely one-sided - gives Christopher some interest and dimension. It's a shame then that despite being patient, lovely, and charming, I still found Jude 100% more interesting than Christopher. Having said that, though, I did enjoy watching Ginger let down her defenses a little, in order to let Christopher in to her life. I can completely understand how she built those walls up, so I also understand how difficult it was for her to take it apart, piece by fucking piece, to get to a place where she and Christopher could be happy. I have to say that despite really enjoying the book, I hated the epilogue. Or rather, I hated that the reason why everyone was there at the end was because of Christopher. The emotional labour he invests in both Ginger and Jude is so skewed already, that his grand gesture just seems unfair. He might not look at it that way, of course, given that trying to make everyone happy is his modus operandi, but I really hope he gets to be the recipient of some major spoiling one day. It would surprise me if that person was Ginger, so for me this is an HFN. All in all, I thought this was an excellent book. Roan Parrish should be very proud of her first foray into m/f romance and I hope it won't be her last.
    more
  • Sarah
    June 7, 2017
    Small Change was an emotional read for me. Ginger’s journey and her growing awareness of finding some balance was so well written. I think it depicted very accurately what it is like to be a woman in a profession and striving for excellence. And, hello toxic masculinity, and some serious frustration and anger. The writing about tattooing captured perfectly that relationship between artist and subject too. So good!One of the stronger parts of the book for me was Ginger’s anger. It really resonate Small Change was an emotional read for me. Ginger’s journey and her growing awareness of finding some balance was so well written. I think it depicted very accurately what it is like to be a woman in a profession and striving for excellence. And, hello toxic masculinity, and some serious frustration and anger. The writing about tattooing captured perfectly that relationship between artist and subject too. So good!One of the stronger parts of the book for me was Ginger’s anger. It really resonated, even to the point of making it an uncomfortable read. The confusion and inadvertent pain and distress anger can cause made me totally teary, because women are just not supposed to feel this way and yet of course we do. Seriously. It was so refreshing to read this. For me, as a pretty angry youth, this was depicted perfectly. The frustration, impotence and sheer pissed off feeling and tone was completely on point and vivid. How she struggles to deal with these feelings was poignant. I thought about this a lot after I’d finished reading. I loved the relationships that Ginger had with her friends and the queer representation. They were a found family, which is a theme I really enjoy. That idea that family is who you surround yourself with. I hope there are friends books!Christopher was well written, seriously hot and I loved his red hair, kind heart and willingness to be vulnerable. The fit together so beautifully and were exactly what the other needed, while being by no means perfect. They were such a great couple and just fit. This was a total treat, beautifully written and well worth a read.
    more
  • Rachel
    May 20, 2017
    What can I say about this book other than wow? Small Change absolutely blew me away, it’s amazingly good. But I guess I need to say more than that right?Well, this was my first read of Roan Parrish but after finishing this, I can honestly say that it won’t be the last because I’m going to dive into her back list. Why have I not read this author before? Bad reader.There is just something about this book that sucks you in and keeps you reading long after your eyes start to glaze over just because What can I say about this book other than wow? Small Change absolutely blew me away, it’s amazingly good. But I guess I need to say more than that right?Well, this was my first read of Roan Parrish but after finishing this, I can honestly say that it won’t be the last because I’m going to dive into her back list. Why have I not read this author before? Bad reader.There is just something about this book that sucks you in and keeps you reading long after your eyes start to glaze over just because you don’t want to stop. It’s like crack, one taste and you’re hooked. Or it was for me. Crack I tell you!!!I can’t pin point if it was the main characters in Ginger and Christopher who I totally love, the story that had so much depth and heart or the side characters in Jude, Marcus, Morgan and Faron or maybe it’s a combination of all these things that make this book so unputdownable.While reading this story it was so easy to fall into the world within the world that the author has created. It’s rare to find a cast of characters like this, so diverse that I found myself itching to go back to them when I needed to take a break while reading.I loved Ginger from the first lines. It’s refreshing to see a strong, fierce, vulnerable but tough woman (trust me while that sounds odd, it’s totally her) who not only went after her dream, she owns the shop that makes it a reality every day in Small Change. There’s just a spark about her that draws you in. Be it the tattoos, the family she has created around her or the strong will to be the best at her profession Ginger will have you falling for her faster than Christopher does.As for Christopher, oh man, he will put other book boyfriends to shame. OMG, I loved him. There were so many times I wanted to hug him just for being him. As the story unfolds you will fall harder and harder for the big guy as he shows his softer side in a different way than normal. It was so touching that at times it triggered the water works. Sigh….But together, Ginger and Christopher are perfect for each other. There is no better way to describe it. They really do complete each other as corny as that sounds. But read this and you will see why I say that.I know I’ve waffled on, but it is truly hard to capture in my crappy words how awesome this book was. I can’t do it justice. I love when a book or an author blow you away and make you think and this is exactly what Small Change and Roan Parrish has done. The world isn’t black and white, it’s every shade of colour and it’s what make each of us unique and loveable. No matter how messed up we are.Roan Parrish you have definitely landed a well-deserved spot on my keeper shelf, I can’t wait to re-read this book and for what else you have coming in this series. Judging by what I’ve read so far and the fantastic other characters introduced, I see many more keeper books in my future.
    more
  • J a n n i (erchomaiii)
    June 1, 2017
    Ginger is the main character in this novel but for readers of the 'Middle of Somewhere' trilogy she isn't a stranger! Ever since Ginger started raving about this guy she met to her best friend Daniel in 'In the Middle of Somewhere' I knew I wanted this book as much as I wanted air and the wait was worth it!Ginger is this gorgeous tattoo artist with a very deep love for coffee and sassy comments who is also such a strong and tough woman.. you cannot help yourself but by the time you realize it yo Ginger is the main character in this novel but for readers of the 'Middle of Somewhere' trilogy she isn't a stranger! Ever since Ginger started raving about this guy she met to her best friend Daniel in 'In the Middle of Somewhere' I knew I wanted this book as much as I wanted air and the wait was worth it!Ginger is this gorgeous tattoo artist with a very deep love for coffee and sassy comments who is also such a strong and tough woman.. you cannot help yourself but by the time you realize it you are in love with her already. She worked so hard for everything she is and she's not ready to give her freedom up for anyone!Christopher owns this coffee shop and he's such a good and patient soul. He is creative, supportive and he's absolutely in love with Ginger (but how could he not be?) He is also quite hot.I was able to feel the chemistry between them the second they met each other. Their romance is so beautiful and rather slow burn, there is absolutely no room for drama and excuses which made this novel such a fun read! It's the perfect summer read and I think I will never shut up about this one! If you're into fun talks about tattoos and art, a breathtaking romance and don't mind craving bagels and sandwiches while reading, go and pick the book up right away!
    more
  • Jude Sierra
    June 19, 2017
    Review to Come
  • The_Book_Queen
    May 21, 2017
    Oh damn, I loved this book. Absolutely, completely loved it. It's sexy and emotional but is also ridiculously adorable and sweet. Christopher is such a sexy sweetheart and I want to keep him! :)Full review is up on TBQ's Book Palace now.If you wish to look at some quotes/thoughts I highlighted, please check out my Twitter feed
    more
  • Les Joseph
    June 3, 2017
    First off, a confession. I'm a HUGE Roan Parrish fan girl. For anyone who reads in the MM genre, you'll recognize her name. She is the author of the fantastic Middle of Somewhere series. For everyone else, be prepared to be wowed and impressed by this author's talent. Small Change is the first book in her new Small Change series which will feature both MF and MM couples. This first book showcases Ginger and Christopher, two characters who I absolutely adored and who were so perfect both together First off, a confession. I'm a HUGE Roan Parrish fan girl. For anyone who reads in the MM genre, you'll recognize her name. She is the author of the fantastic Middle of Somewhere series. For everyone else, be prepared to be wowed and impressed by this author's talent. Small Change is the first book in her new Small Change series which will feature both MF and MM couples. This first book showcases Ginger and Christopher, two characters who I absolutely adored and who were so perfect both together and apart. Small Change packs an emotional punch straight into your feels but there is plenty of sweet, swoony romance to keep you smiling from beginning to end. Usually when I read an MF book, I like one character more than the other. Sometimes it's the hero, sometimes it's the heroine, but in Small Change it is impossible to pick one over the other. Both Ginger Holtzman and Christopher Lucen are beyond awesome. Ginger is a kickass tattoo artist and the owner of Small Change. She's fierce, loyal, and immensely talented. She paints as well as tattoos and her work is well-known. She's successful and strong and also endearingly vulnerable. She misses her best friend, Daniel (from her Middle of Somewhere series) and has issues with her family, though she has a strong group of friends and colleagues who support her. She works hard, drinks way too much coffee, and self-identifies as queer. She's mostly happy and focused on finishing her paintings for her upcoming gallery show when she stumbles into Melt, the local sandwich and coffee shop. And where she meets the fabulous, sweet and sexy ginger, Christopher. Christopher Lucen ... you guys. He's about the swooniest, sweetest guy I've come across in some time. No lie. But the thing about Christopher is that he's not so perfect that he seems contrived in any way. He has flaws, admittedly only a few, but they're there and this makes him all the more fantastic. And I'd be remiss if I didn't mention the red hair. And the scruff. And the freckles. And then those eyes. Because ... yeah, he's super sexy but there's lots more to this guy than just his looks. He's charming, caring, and loves his family, especially his troubled brother Jude. I absolutely LOVED how Roan Parrish gave us the backstory to Jude. Through emails that Christopher sends to him, we find out how much Christopher loves his brother and how much he just wants to help Jude. I won't give too much away about this, but it is emotional and at times painful. He is immediately attracted to Ginger and a few heavy looks, some flirting, and a couple of coffees and sandwiches later, these two are off and running. The chemistry between these two was off the charts hot and intense, but there is an underlying sweetness that just made me well, melt. I slid off my chair and bent to look more closely at his wreck of a mountain stream. He ran a palm up my spine to my neck and I bit my lip, glad he couldn’t see my face. It was in intimate gesture, appreciative and possessive, and it made me imagine how he’d touch me if the thin fabric of my dress weren’t between us.Would he trace the lines of my body—follow the shapes of muscle, bone, and flesh—or would he follow the lines of my ink instead?And then there’s this. I reached between us to feel him and his eyelids fluttered. “You make me hard all the time,” he muttered against my mouth. I gritted my teeth against the wave of desire that washed through me. Being wanted, knowing this gorgeous man wanted me as much as I wanted him, made me lightheaded. “Tell me why?” I gasped out, embarrassed, but I needed to know it was real. “Please?”Christopher rubbed the pad of his thumb over my lower lip and my eyes slid closed. He spoke low into my ear. “It turns me on to watch you tattoo. To see you concentrating, marking someone, changing them. The way you walk fucking gets to me. You stalk around, with your hands on your hips and your chin up, and your gorgeous ass out.” I snorted and he grabbed the ass in question. “It’s like you’re constantly about to fuck someone or fuck them up.” He nipped at my neck and I writhed.“What else?” I gasped as he pressed his hips up, letting me feel the erection straining his jeans.“Your voice,” he said. “So hot. And I’m serious about the swearing. I don’t know why it turns me on, but it does. It’s like…I don’t know, like you’ve got so much passion simmering away that normal words aren’t strong enough. Or maybe I just like it because your mouth’s so gorgeous that dirty words make me think about other dirty things…”All. The. Sighs. Their honestly with one another was so refreshing and even with Ginger's sometimes frustrating hot and cold attitude toward Christopher, or well, being in a relationship with him, I was rooting for these two the whole time. There is a wonderful cast of secondary characters that I can't wait to get to know better, especially Jude and Faron. (*hint, hint Roan!) The strong woman vibe from Ginger and her fellow female tattooists was on point and I really liked how Roan incorporated this arc into the overall story. There is great queer representation too—bisexuality, transgender, gay—and this just added to the overall enjoyment of the book. Small Change is a book about love and friendship. About finding out who you are and what you want. It's about family, the good and the bad. It's about finding that ONE person who gets you, all of you, and is all in no matter what. I am so impressed by Roan's first MF romance and if you haven't given this author a try, I urge you to fix that immediately with this book. Romance and swoon and emotion and full of memorable characters, Small Change will make her a favorite of yours, no question. Her talent for writing a story that will make you feel shines through and I am so excited to see what's next in this series. *this review will also be posted on www.prettysassycool.com*
    more
  • Lauraadriana
    June 5, 2017
    To start, I will say that this book, Small Change by Roan Parrish is the kind of romance novel I’ve been waiting for since I started reading this genre as a teen. Finally, I got to read a heroine who didn’t mold her womanhood to the social constructs girls and women are expected to assume. Those things that we are told we need to be, in order to be deserving of love. Feminine, nice, thin, proper… Ginger has been fighting all those paradigms fiercely her entire life, and she’s pissed. She demands To start, I will say that this book, Small Change by Roan Parrish is the kind of romance novel I’ve been waiting for since I started reading this genre as a teen. Finally, I got to read a heroine who didn’t mold her womanhood to the social constructs girls and women are expected to assume. Those things that we are told we need to be, in order to be deserving of love. Feminine, nice, thin, proper… Ginger has been fighting all those paradigms fiercely her entire life, and she’s pissed. She demands that the world see and listen to her on her terms, and all of this comes at a cost to her. She is a woman though, one with desires and who like all of us wouldn’t mind falling in love, for a person that deserves the person she has become, and in Chris she finds a man who not only sees her for exactly who she is, he loves her for it, he RESPECTS for it.I know a book has impacted me deeply when I finish it and immediately ask myself what it would have meant for a teenage me to have read it. I think the teenage me would have felt deeply connected to Ginger and more importantly validated, like she was not alone. For me Roan Parrish with Ginger has delivered a heroine that feels closer to the woman I am than any other one I’ve read in a romance, maybe ever. After thousands of romance novels read, being able to feel like I have a connection to a heroine on the page, is not just nice, it’s monumental. This book worked for me in pretty much every way. The characters where amazing, the romance was well developed and sexy as hell. The universe holds lots of promise and if that is not enough, there is a whole part of the book which is essentially an ode to sisterhood and women and empowering women. I mean I KNOW Roan didn’t write the book just for me, but totally feels mine. Like I said, I love me some Ginger, she is essentially a Jewish version of me if I was a tattoo artist and lived in Philly. I also mentioned that the book worked for me not just because of my love for Ginger, the romance is solid. Chris as a hero is so appealing, because he is such a regular dude in so many ways, and yet his heart and his openness make him so unconventional. Chris is pure sunshine and smiles, he wants Ginger and he tells her, shows her, and when that doesn’t work he just keeps trying until it does, because he is certain she is everything he wants.Ginger is at a loss with this beautiful and a bit annoyed with all the interest from this guy who is beautiful, seemingly perfect, and worse, with a what appears to be a functional family. None of these things are in Ginger’s wheelhouse. She is not sure she can relate to someone that wholesome. She makes assumptions of course, but Ginger has her reasons to be skeptical. She’s not sure she can relate to someone with all the privilege that Christ walks around with, even though he does seem like a nice. To someone like her who has had to be fierce and a little scary to be able to get just a fraction of the respect men are given everyday without question, it seems unlikely she’ll be able to relate to someone like him. But he every interaction with him, every conversation reveals to Ginger a person that is not only interesting and sexy, but a man who carries his own pain and battle scars.The big conflict in this romance is all within Ginger, and the road she has to travel to learn to let herself be vulnerable with someone and for someone. The process of seeing her let Chris in, is beautiful and in the end delivers a truly satisfying happy ending. Along with the romance though we get so much that one rarely gets to experience when reading romance.For one, Ginger takes on the toxic masculinity and misogynist culture the tattooing world and it is glorious. There are hard moments too, Ginger’s family is hard, and so is Chris’ in a different way. Living in this world while trying to be a decent human being can leave one bruise and battered, but Ginger is a warrior and she gets hers, oh yes SHE DOES.This universe promises more love stories, there are some budding pairings there that I would love to see unfold. I already know which I one I want to read next! 🙂 I am looking forward to all of them.I paired the book with a delish Wild Mushroom Pate and French rose, you can find on my bloghttps://thetipsybibliophile.com/
    more
  • Aleksandra
    June 14, 2017
    4.5 stars!Small Change is a PHENOMENAL book! I love it so much! The writing, the characters, the plot, topic and issues addressed! The book is feminist af, it's very honest, it's sex-positive, body-positive; the romance is swoon-worthy. I have so much love to this book.Ginger is the main character. She's 34, she's the owner of tattoo shop in Philadelphia. She's Jewish, bisexual fat woman and proud af. Ginger is talented artist and she's so passionate about her work. I fell in love with from page 4.5 stars!Small Change is a PHENOMENAL book! I love it so much! The writing, the characters, the plot, topic and issues addressed! The book is feminist af, it's very honest, it's sex-positive, body-positive; the romance is swoon-worthy. I have so much love to this book.Ginger is the main character. She's 34, she's the owner of tattoo shop in Philadelphia. She's Jewish, bisexual fat woman and proud af. Ginger is talented artist and she's so passionate about her work. I fell in love with from page one. Because she's a woman in tattoo business, the book addresses such issues as sexism, mysogyny and double standards in the industry. Ginger's work is basically her life so a huge part of the story is focused on her trying to manage this blooming romance with charming coffee shop owner Christopher and her work goals and passion for art. A few words about her tattoo shop. She created a great environment for her employees and clients. Her employees are black woman Morgan, who is a piercer, trans man Marcus and two queer man Albee and Faron (all three of them are tattoo artists). I love this cast of characters! Plus a receptionist Lindsey and her teenage daughter Tara. Also I loved that the trainwreck, that Ginger's parents and sister are, weren't prominent figures of the story. They didn't add drama in a usual sense of the story drama. They influenced Ginger's personality and thus some of the struggles Ginger faced in the book originated there. I appreciate the almost complete lack of their physical presence in the story. I had no desire to see them.Back to positive things. Christopher, Christopher! He is a role model for any love interests in NA novels. I'm so over dickheaded love interests. Christopher is kind, caring, he isn't afraid to show his feelings or to care about the people close to him. He is such a wonderful man. I love interludes with his letters to his brother Jude. Christopher isn't all mellow and rainbows tho. He's a well-written complex character with his own struggles and problems. I love him so much.For those who might be hesitant about reading NA books because of explicit content, Small Change is very lowkey on them. There are few and far between sex scenes and they are very well done imo.Highly recommend! One of the best character-driven romance novels I've recently read!P. S. I'm crossing fingers that the next book will be about Jude and Faron. And I hope it'll be out soon! I'd love to read their story and see more of Ginger and Christopher.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    May 31, 2017
    I love being a book blogger. Love it even more when I have an opportunity to discover a new to me author that just blows my socks off with their ability to spin a tale that keeps me captured, enraptured in its spell until the very last words. This is exactly where I found myself with Roan Parrish’s Small Change.Within the first few pages, I found myself fully immersed in Ginger and Christopher’s world in South Philly. Ginger owns a very popular, highly recommended, long established tattoo shop a I love being a book blogger. Love it even more when I have an opportunity to discover a new to me author that just blows my socks off with their ability to spin a tale that keeps me captured, enraptured in its spell until the very last words. This is exactly where I found myself with Roan Parrish’s Small Change.Within the first few pages, I found myself fully immersed in Ginger and Christopher’s world in South Philly. Ginger owns a very popular, highly recommended, long established tattoo shop and Christopher has recently opened a coffee/sandwich shop. Their paths cross when Ginger has broken her coffee pot and is in dire need of a caffeine fix and their relationship slowly unfolds from there.I loved the pace of this story—yes, it was long and drawn out, but it was so real to me. Ginger and Christopher’s relationship was equally as slow to develop—not due to Christopher, but Ginger and her crazy busy schedule and her near-tunnel focus on getting through each day whole. She’s been on her own for so long, self-reliant and proud, that she has difficulty letting people in her heart. But Christopher has the patience of a saint—and he sees Ginger, truly sees and understands her, and loves her warts and all. And they certainly understand each other between the sheets—those are some smokin’ hot sexy times. *fans self* I loved the dynamic between Ginger and Christopher. Loved the relationships Ginger has forged with her “chosen” family—her employees and friends. Loved the relationship between Christopher and his family too. I can’t wait to see where Ms. Parrish takes us next in this series. ~ Missy, 4.5 stars
    more
  • Trader (RedHotBlueReads)
    June 1, 2017
    I'm just going to put it out there -- why am I not reading more of this author's work? Gah, I've been missing out on some really fine writing and storytelling. Ginger is a tattoo artist with a business venture about to take off and she's got more work than employees to handle it. Add to that the fact that her best friend has moved away, her family isn't exactly supportive and Ginger's up to her eyeballs in "stuff". Enter Christopher, a local business owner and gorgeous soul. There's no other way I'm just going to put it out there -- why am I not reading more of this author's work? Gah, I've been missing out on some really fine writing and storytelling. Ginger is a tattoo artist with a business venture about to take off and she's got more work than employees to handle it. Add to that the fact that her best friend has moved away, her family isn't exactly supportive and Ginger's up to her eyeballs in "stuff". Enter Christopher, a local business owner and gorgeous soul. There's no other way to describe him -- he's absolutely wonderful. He's optimistic, sexy and very interested in Ginger. Although, the story is told from Ginger's point of view, there are snippets of Christopher's point of view as he interacts with his brother who is struggling with serious depression, so I felt I got to know him. I really connected with Ginger and her situation. She's a talented, motivated artist trying to prove herself in spite of insecurities deeply rooted in family and past relationships. I just loved her so much and can't even count how many quotes I highlighted that reached right into me. It's wonderful when words can just hit the mark so perfectly. Ginger is good at describing what is holding her back, but not so good at figuring out how to move forward instead of letting her past hold her back. I love it when a romance takes a while to develop between the characters and I thought Ginger and Christopher's relationship progression was perfect. It wasn't all smooth and hearts and flowers -- there were some real bumps as Ginger has to make some real decisions about whether she's going to put herself out there or stay in the safe zone. Christopher's deep feelings for her are palpable -- and yet I did understand Ginger's hesitancy.I read around 3-4 romance titles a week, and it's been a while since I've been "wowed." Small Change wowed me. The hangover from this book is real and big. Needless to say, I will be reading more of this author's workARC provided for review.
    more
  • Michelle
    June 10, 2017
    It's been so long since I've enjoyed an adult romance novel this much! The tattoo artist connection and the author's no-bullshit voice immediately caught my attention and the further I got into it, the better it got! I had a great time with the wit and humor, and banter between both romantic leads and in all the friendship relationships. But what I found myself highlighting, over and over again, were the character's thoughts about life that seemed plucked directly out of my head. No surprise tha It's been so long since I've enjoyed an adult romance novel this much! The tattoo artist connection and the author's no-bullshit voice immediately caught my attention and the further I got into it, the better it got! I had a great time with the wit and humor, and banter between both romantic leads and in all the friendship relationships. But what I found myself highlighting, over and over again, were the character's thoughts about life that seemed plucked directly out of my head. No surprise that it was to my taste, since this book had SO much crossover with a series that I've written but haven't yet published. The cast of side characters was so well developed and quirky, it felt like stepping into a piece of the real world. The tattoo details and descriptions were just delicious, and I enjoyed the feminist commentary on that part of the industry. Christopher was a completely lovable hero- real but sweet and interesting, and I liked all his sandwich recipes. I liked that the book unfolded at the pace of life. It never bogged down or wandered, but it also didn't seem to be cramming "HERE IS THE CONFLICT" down my throat like I sometimes feel like romances do. It just felt real, and genuine, and the best part for me was how much the characters LIKED each other. It wasn't all just heat and sex (though those parts were steamy and well done). They genuinely got along and enjoyed each other's company, which is a huge part of what makes or breaks a romance for me. This author just shot to the top of my favorites list-I'll be checking out her other novels, ASAP!
    more
  • Anke
    May 10, 2017
    Ginger's book - there was already too much of her in In the Middle of Somewhere and I especially didn't like the epilogue of that book.
  • Mariana
    June 6, 2017
    I want a Christopher.. also want Jude's story
Write a review