Summer at Buttercup Beach
Pull up a deck chair and bask in the beautiful sunshine on Buttercup Beach. The sand is warm, the sea is sparkling blue and romance is sizzling in the air… For two years Freya Greene has hidden the fact that she’s totally and utterly in love with her best friend Rome Lancaster. It’s not been easy – they work together in his glasswork business, she lives above his workshop and, he’s completely gorgeous. But Rome has never shown any sign of returning those feelings. Until now… Lately they’ve shared affectionate touches and words heavy with meaning. Yet Freya knows Rome has a damaged heart. After losing his fiancé in a tragic accident, he’s not allowed himself to fall in love. Freya has already had her heart broken by a man who couldn’t let go of a past love. Can she risk it happening again? Rome and Freya have a friendship that could blossom into something more. Are they both brave enough to take that chance?

Summer at Buttercup Beach Details

TitleSummer at Buttercup Beach
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJun 30th, 2017
PublisherBookouture
Number of pages292 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Readers also enjoyed


Summer at Buttercup Beach Review

  • Nicola
    June 16, 2017
    Holly Martin whisks us back to Hope Island for Summer at Buttercup Beach and, if you read Spring at Blueberry Bay , you'll have already met Rome and Freya: best-friends, co-workers and a couple whose feelings for one another are running slightly deeper than either realises. I love a man who's an unexpected romantic and Rome is most certainly that. This is a man who lost his first love in tragic circumstances and refuses to let himself fall in love again, but when he catches a certain look from Holly Martin whisks us back to Hope Island for Summer at Buttercup Beach and, if you read Spring at Blueberry Bay , you'll have already met Rome and Freya: best-friends, co-workers and a couple whose feelings for one another are running slightly deeper than either realises. I love a man who's an unexpected romantic and Rome is most certainly that. This is a man who lost his first love in tragic circumstances and refuses to let himself fall in love again, but when he catches a certain look from Freya, who herself has been badly hurt and has done her best to hide the fact that she has fallen in love again, the game changes. "...you saved me when I was at my lowest, every day was a struggle but you, you made me smile again." You can't beat a good dose of wooing in my book and Rome woos with the best of them, yet at the same time he holds back a little down to his fear of history repeating itself. And whilst I liked Freya for her honesty and willingness to put her heart on the line, at the same she frustrated with her assumptions. But you simply can't not root for this couple because they do have a wonderful relationship, and as they venture across the friendship line, the temperature starts to rapidly rise. "You make it sound like there would be more than one cuddle?""I’m hoping there would be multiple cuddles." Without saying too much, I felt certain aspects were drawn out a little, however that didn't prevent me from devouring this in one sitting. But have to say though as much I adored Rome and Freya, and all the characters on Hope Island, the one who absolutely stole the show for me was Rome's dad, Finn. The man was nothing short of hilarious, quite innocently bringing the laughter with him wherever he went. "...we had sex in the sea once and the condom just floated off." Full of heart and heat, Holly Martin once again delivers on the happy-ever-after, and whilst Rome and Freya's journey finding love may have concluded, Eden and Dougie are waiting in the wings. I'm already rather taken by Dougie so can't wait to discover what Christmas at Mistletoe Cove will bring. Copy received courtesy of Bookouture for an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Claire Robinson
    June 17, 2017
    3.5 - "Seize the day!" Stars!We return to Hope Island for the second book in Holly Martin’s series of the same name.Rome Lancaster and Freya Greene figured quite a bit in the first book being best friends, as well as co-workers, it took about two paragraphs of them together in Spring at Blueberry Bay to work out as a reader that they both unwittingly see the other as more than those terms. Although one a little more willingly than the other it has to be said. He was with his best friend and it c 3.5 - "Seize the day!" Stars!We return to Hope Island for the second book in Holly Martin’s series of the same name.Rome Lancaster and Freya Greene figured quite a bit in the first book being best friends, as well as co-workers, it took about two paragraphs of them together in Spring at Blueberry Bay to work out as a reader that they both unwittingly see the other as more than those terms. Although one a little more willingly than the other it has to be said. He was with his best friend and it couldn’t get more perfect than that. Rome is your usual man about town, having been burnt by love in the past he tends to keep his interactions with women quick and commitment free. Freya came to the island for similar reasons and literally stumbled into her home and job with him. Both are shy of taking their relationship to the next level, but neither can deny that their feelings are not just of a friendly nature anymore."Sex wouldn’t ruin us, it would complete us."Although another easy read from the author, I didn’t fall in love with Rome and Freya’s story as much as I did Bella and Isaac's in the previous book. The drama is a little heavier in their story, but more due to lack of communication and drawing the wrong conclusions, and although understandable in parts a lot of it just felt over the top and a little immature, for two supposed adults. That-said I didn’t struggle with the story at all, I just wish the author had pulled the angst back a bit as some of it just felt a little unnecessary. On the plus, the sexy times were emotive and diverse, and there are parts of the story with Rome's father where I was literally crying from laughing so hard."Some things can’t be fixed."If you are looking for an easy summer read, both books in this series are definitely worth a few hours of your time, and cannot wait for Eden and Dougie’s book; Christmas at Mistletoe Cove is definitely eagerly anticipated by this reader.ARC generously provided via Netgalley, in exchange for the above honest review.
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 12, 2017
    Release Date: June 30, 2017 Genre: Chick LitSummer at Buttercup Beach is the latest novel from one of my favorite chick lit authors, Holly Martin. Readers will be swept away by this friends to lovers romp and fall head over heels with Buttercup Beach. This is the type of place where we readers can imagine ourselves vacationing in, and possibly even wanting to live. If you have read Spring at Blueberry Bay (one of my favorites of the year) then you may remember Freya and Rome who were secondar Release Date: June 30, 2017 Genre: Chick LitSummer at Buttercup Beach is the latest novel from one of my favorite chick lit authors, Holly Martin. Readers will be swept away by this friends to lovers romp and fall head over heels with Buttercup Beach. This is the type of place where we readers can imagine ourselves vacationing in, and possibly even wanting to live. If you have read Spring at Blueberry Bay (one of my favorites of the year) then you may remember Freya and Rome who were secondary characters. Those two are actually the couple that I wanted to see played out in their own book and this is for them! So to say I was excited to read this one would be an understatement. And alas, I wasn't disappointed! Summer at Buttercup Beach has the perfect amount of romance to make readers swoon. So even if your not a chick lit reader then I would strongly suggest giving this one a try. It has everything that fans of both chick lit and romance would want! Now I am even more excited to see where the author takes us next. I have high hopes for a certain couple... I won't name any names quite yet.
    more
  • Jessica
    June 9, 2017
    I really wish I could give this book more than 5 stars because I really loved it. It has definatly become one of my favourite books ever!As soon as I began reading Summer at Buttercup Beach I found it so easy to read and I was hooked, I just couldnt put it down. Freya and Rome's story has got to be one of the best romances ive ever read, the way they are together is just so perfect. Theyve so much love and respect for each other its really amazing. They are two characters I won't ever forget.The I really wish I could give this book more than 5 stars because I really loved it. It has definatly become one of my favourite books ever!As soon as I began reading Summer at Buttercup Beach I found it so easy to read and I was hooked, I just couldnt put it down. Freya and Rome's story has got to be one of the best romances ive ever read, the way they are together is just so perfect. Theyve so much love and respect for each other its really amazing. They are two characters I won't ever forget.The thing I love about Hollys books is how she creates these wonderful islands, loveable characters and fantastic stories. I love how they all link up and the characters used are ones we love from previous books in the serious.I really cant wait for book 3 in this series.
    more
  • Elaine
    June 30, 2017
    When I consider what I want from a great read, this story certainly ticks all the boxes!☑ Great setting - Hope Island and Buttercup Beach ☑ Brilliant, easy to relate to characters☑ Enthralling plot with plenty of twists and turns☑ Highly talented author - well this is by Holly Martin, so that goes without saying - she’s superb!☑ Loved reading it!Anyone who has already read the first book set on this island, ‘Spring at Blueberry Bay’ will be familiar with many of the characters in this book, and When I consider what I want from a great read, this story certainly ticks all the boxes!☑ Great setting - Hope Island and Buttercup Beach ☑ Brilliant, easy to relate to characters☑ Enthralling plot with plenty of twists and turns☑ Highly talented author - well this is by Holly Martin, so that goes without saying - she’s superb!☑ Loved reading it!Anyone who has already read the first book set on this island, ‘Spring at Blueberry Bay’ will be familiar with many of the characters in this book, and it was great to catch up on what is happening in their lives. Having said that, I don’t think you need to have read that one to appreciate this - though it is also another brilliant read so I also recommend that one!This one focusses on Rome Lancaster, a talented glassworker, who set up his business after the tragic death of his fiancée six years ago. He’d been in a bad place emotionally until the heartbroken Freya Greene came to the island after catching her now ex-fiancé being unfaithful; that was two years ago. She ended up staying on the island and working with Rome, becoming a skilled glassworker and helping expand the business by promoting its web based presence, including posting images of Rome working without his shirt on! The two are now best friends but she dreams of being more, acknowledging she’s in love with him. He, however, is unsure of his feelings and reticent to spoil their friendship by taking a chance on becoming more than friends. This is a “will they”/“won’t they” friends to lovers romance that keeps you guessing right to the end, with angst, turmoil and humour along the way!I thoroughly enjoyed journeying via this story to Hope Island and visiting the people who live and love there. It is a heart warming tale of a small community where everyone knows everyone else and really cares about each other - though sometimes they’re rather nosey! I loved escaping into this page-turner and have absolutely no hesitation whatsoever in highly recommending this book (and all the others I’ve read by this amazing author)!
    more
  • Karen
    June 20, 2017
    I started reading Summer at Buttercup Beach on my way in to work Monday night. I already knew the main characters somewhat, having had "met them" in Spring at Blueberry Bay. Roman's the brother of Bella, the heroine of Spring, and Freya's his best friend/employee at his glassworks shop. It was pretty clear in the last book that they were fighting feelings, because .... you know .... things are never simple.I couldn't put this down once I started it (aside from getting my son ready for school). I I started reading Summer at Buttercup Beach on my way in to work Monday night. I already knew the main characters somewhat, having had "met them" in Spring at Blueberry Bay. Roman's the brother of Bella, the heroine of Spring, and Freya's his best friend/employee at his glassworks shop. It was pretty clear in the last book that they were fighting feelings, because .... you know .... things are never simple.I couldn't put this down once I started it (aside from getting my son ready for school). I carried my phone with me everywhere and even cut my post-work nap short so I could finish it and then try and find the right words for a good and proper review.I can't do that, it seems, so instead I'm going to write an open letter of sorts to Holly.Oh, my dear Holly Martin. I don't know how you always seem to know just what I need from a book. It's as though you've been teaming up somehow with my Kindle app and, I don't know, maybe my cat (I'm fairly certain he at least has his own Twitter or Tumblr). You've somehow niggled your way into my very being. Once again, you have delivered to me (via your brilliant publishers & NetGalley) a book that's hugged me close and let me snot all over its shirt (if a book wore clothing, that is) and whispered that everything really could work out in the end. You've made me shed an almost ridiculous amount of tears, followed by laughing until I snort beverages out of my nose, followed by more tears.Once again, you have given me believable characters to love and root for. You've developed an amazing couple who are able to overcome past foibles and future fears to reach that happily ever after that seems so elusive at times. And even though we all know that it's where they'll end up, it isn't so contrived and cliched in its telling that is feels like you've just called it in.So thank you, yet again, Holly. Every time I open one of your books my romantic sappy side grows a little bit stronger and my pessimistic side weakens. If you're ever in my area, I owe you a drink.
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    June 12, 2017
    Everything you could want from a Holly Martin book, and more. It features an incredibly romantic man and a woman who knows what she wants, but isn't sure whether she will get it. There is plenty of advice from friends of the main characters, and just about everyone, other people on Hope Island, and the reader can see what Freya and Rome are meant to be together...however whether they will realise it before you run out of pages is another thing! It really didn't take too long for my to start fall Everything you could want from a Holly Martin book, and more. It features an incredibly romantic man and a woman who knows what she wants, but isn't sure whether she will get it. There is plenty of advice from friends of the main characters, and just about everyone, other people on Hope Island, and the reader can see what Freya and Rome are meant to be together...however whether they will realise it before you run out of pages is another thing! It really didn't take too long for my to start falling for Rome myself, he is gorgeous, unsure of what his feelings really mean but just seems to want to make Freya happy. He has had issues in the past, but is finally ready for something more meaningful than a one night stand. What I really loved about Rome was his creativity, especially with Stained Glass, which he has taught Freya how to do too. I enjoyed reading about the various projects they were woking on, as well as Rome's inner geek! I really enjoyed reading about Freya and Rome's friendship too, as well as catching up with Eden and Bella who we first meet in Spring at Blueberry Bay. This book can be read as a standalone as the main focal characters are different. I'm already looking forward to the third book in this series, as I am eager to find out what happens to Eden. The writing style is like coming home to a good friend, warm and comforting..you know you are going to enjoy it, and it doesn't let you down. This is such a pleasurable story to read with plenty of will they-won't they moments, in addition to some lovely romantic gestures. Thank you so much to Netgalley and Bookouture for this copy, which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Aurelia Rowl
    June 30, 2017
    4.5 stars
  • Shanice Singh
    June 11, 2017
    Freya and Rome have been best friends for the past six years. But while Freya has feelings for Rome, he only sees her as a sister. Or does he? Recently the two of them have been getting closer and closer. It seems like only a matter of time before the two of them are finally together. However there is still the issue of Rome and his tragic past. Rome lost the woman he loved in a brutal and tragic accident which has left him with deep scars.This was a very interesting book and I loved reading it. Freya and Rome have been best friends for the past six years. But while Freya has feelings for Rome, he only sees her as a sister. Or does he? Recently the two of them have been getting closer and closer. It seems like only a matter of time before the two of them are finally together. However there is still the issue of Rome and his tragic past. Rome lost the woman he loved in a brutal and tragic accident which has left him with deep scars.This was a very interesting book and I loved reading it. I thought this book had hotter scenes that any of Holly Martin's previous books which I really enjoyed. Freya and Rome's characters are well-written and real. This book also sets up the background for the next book in the series (which I absolutely cannot wait for!).Like all of Holly Martin's books, this features a variety of entertaining and colourful characters, a beautiful small town and a great romance. I recommend this book to all fans of contemporary romance.
    more
  • Alison
    July 3, 2017
    My expectations are always high whenever I begin a new book by Holly Martin, that is purely because I have enjoyed each and everyone so far and I know she won’t let me down! I know I say it every time but this lovely lady seems to have a magic quality that ensures the next book is even better than the last. I really have no idea how she does it but I’m so pleased she does.This time we are back on Hope Island mingling with previous characters which is always a comfort. The focus is on Rome and Fr My expectations are always high whenever I begin a new book by Holly Martin, that is purely because I have enjoyed each and everyone so far and I know she won’t let me down! I know I say it every time but this lovely lady seems to have a magic quality that ensures the next book is even better than the last. I really have no idea how she does it but I’m so pleased she does.This time we are back on Hope Island mingling with previous characters which is always a comfort. The focus is on Rome and Freya .. both have been hurt badly in the romance stakes but they are best friends so all is perfectly platonic .. right!?Rome is an absolute star, kind, considerate, good looking and oozes charisma. Freya has the kind of personality that is immediately likeable, she realises her feelings for Rome run deeper than friendship but can she jeopardise their precious connection if he doesn’t feel the same? This is a drama of will they, won’t they .. with a little help from Rome’s sister’s who adore Freya and the rest of the tight-knit community it makes for a charming story.A whole bundle of fun, love, romance and humour (Rome’s dad Finn has some classic one-liners) set amongst the glorious back-drop of the island, Summer at Buttercup Beach is an instant winner as a holiday read.I’m looking forward to the next book from Holly already. Many thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.
    more
  • Sharon
    June 27, 2017
    Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for this review copy. Freya Greene has worked with the handsome Rome Lancaster for the last two years in his glasswork business. She’s also been in love with him for two years! Until now, Rome has only shown interest in Freya as a friend, but is that beginning to change?I knew before I started reading this book that I would love it. I don’t think there is a Holly Martin book yet that I haven’t loved. What isn’t there to like about this book – the romance Thank you to Netgalley and the publishers for this review copy. Freya Greene has worked with the handsome Rome Lancaster for the last two years in his glasswork business. She’s also been in love with him for two years! Until now, Rome has only shown interest in Freya as a friend, but is that beginning to change?I knew before I started reading this book that I would love it. I don’t think there is a Holly Martin book yet that I haven’t loved. What isn’t there to like about this book – the romance, the setting and of course the characters. There is plenty of romance, and also plenty of sex (but all tastefully done!!) The setting of the Scilly Isles is just beautiful and makes me want to pack my bags and move there right now….even more so if they have more men like the handsome and gorgeous Rome Lancaster! The characters in the book are also known from Holly’s previous book Spring at Blueberry Bay so if you’ve read this one, you do have an inkling as to what the characters are all about anyway. If all the men in the Scilly Isles are like the ones that Holly has offered us already, then I’m surprised the islands aren’t full to burst with young (or even old) romance seeking women!! You couldn’t have got a more perfect couple than Freya and Rome – best friends both in and outside of the bedroom! This is such a lovely easy to read book. It grabs you from page one and takes you through to the end on a ride of love and laughter. Just one word of warning, watch what you are doing on the beach – you never know who might be watching!!Well recommended! Five Stars!
    more
  • Fiona Wilson
    June 12, 2017
    I have read most of this author's work and loved every one, this was no different. She has produced yet another brilliant story which transports us away to Hope Island once more, and into the lives of those who live and work there.As with the first story in the Hope Island series, I read this in one sitting. I honestly couldn't put it down. Not only do we get to read Rome and Freya's story, we also catch up with all of the characters from the first book. I love that the author allows us to find I have read most of this author's work and loved every one, this was no different. She has produced yet another brilliant story which transports us away to Hope Island once more, and into the lives of those who live and work there.As with the first story in the Hope Island series, I read this in one sitting. I honestly couldn't put it down. Not only do we get to read Rome and Freya's story, we also catch up with all of the characters from the first book. I love that the author allows us to find out how characters like Bella and Isaac are getting on, as well as Eden and Dougie. Hopefully their story will follow soon, hint hint Holly!This is a well written story which will appeal not only to fans of the author, but also those who want a summer read which isn't all love and kisses. The story has credibility to it due to the fact that the characters don't instantly fall into bed with each other. There are more than a few hurdles in their way, and it is touch and go as to whether they will even get together, never mind have a happy ever after.Huge thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for providing a copy.
    more
  • Rachel
    June 30, 2017
    Romance is well and truly in the air in Summer at Buttercup Beach and I can't praise this story enough as it really has got a wonderful heartwarming vibe. It is also a beautiful story about two people who have been hurt in the past and have a lovely friendship that is edging more closely towards being romantic. The big question is it worth the risk to their friendship?Every character has a part to play that gave the story that added extra something special. The friendships and family dynamics ar Romance is well and truly in the air in Summer at Buttercup Beach and I can't praise this story enough as it really has got a wonderful heartwarming vibe. It is also a beautiful story about two people who have been hurt in the past and have a lovely friendship that is edging more closely towards being romantic. The big question is it worth the risk to their friendship?Every character has a part to play that gave the story that added extra something special. The friendships and family dynamics are wonderful to see and you genuinely get attached to the characters. After reading Spring at Blueberry Bay I couldn't wait to catch up with Bella and Isaac. Even though they are mentioned in this story this book is easily classed as a standalone. However I do recommend reading it just because it is another fab story by Holly Martin. Freya is just a lovely person that I instantly liked and I couldn't help but root for her to achieve her happy ever after. Rome is a pretty perfect love interest and I could definitely understand the attraction. As I mentioned there is that gorgeous heart warming feel but also some laughs too especially one scene that had me not only cringing but laughing in equal measure. I'm sure that this book can be guaranteed to brighten your day just as it did for me, it really does have a lovely feel good factor. Summer at Buttercup Beach made me smile but also sigh with a lovely contented feeling, it's a definite hit with me!I very nearly read it in one evening but I really did need to get some sleep especially when it got to 1am. However the next day as soon as I could I picked it back up again and just had to finish it. The will they won't they aspect to Freya and Rome's relationship was pretty addictive reading and I had to know how it would all end. I can't wait for Holly Martin's next book every new story is just as entertaining as the last.Fun, romantic with a beautiful charm!With thanks to Bookouture & Netgalley for my copy. This is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Fabulous Book Fiend
    July 2, 2017
    firstly, I loved the fact that this was a companion novel but not a sequel to Spring at Blueberry Bay. I loved the characters in that novel, especially the siblings that it revolves around and so I was really pleased when I got to hear more from that family and more from Hope Island. The characters in this novel are great, even if they did drive me a bit crazy at time. This novels centres around Rome and Freya. Rome's sister Bella was the subject for Holly's previous book and so we do get to hea firstly, I loved the fact that this was a companion novel but not a sequel to Spring at Blueberry Bay. I loved the characters in that novel, especially the siblings that it revolves around and so I was really pleased when I got to hear more from that family and more from Hope Island. The characters in this novel are great, even if they did drive me a bit crazy at time. This novels centres around Rome and Freya. Rome's sister Bella was the subject for Holly's previous book and so we do get to hear a little from her in this novel but this one is really all about Rome and Freya and how their relationship develops. They are both lovely people and great characters to be able to sympathise and relate to straight away but boy did they make me frustrated at times. My husband will attest to the fact that I was shouting at them as I read this because of some of the things they were doing or not doing as the case may be. I love when a character in a book has that hold over you though, don't you?This is mainly about their relationships but there is also great insight life on the island in this novel. There are some fabulous coastal scenes obviously and we get a real insight into how the dynamics work and how people manage day to day which, as a reader, I really appreciated. Holly Martin gives some great descriptions of the people and places and she really has a gift when it comes to sex scenes. The sex scenes in all of her novels will definitely have you hot under the collar and this one is no exception!I really enjoyed this read. I didn't love it as much as Spring at Blueberry bay but it was a great to have a spin off novel, nevertheless. The family dynamics and the steamy romance are what made it for me and this one is definitely a summery read so great for packing into your suitcase or sitting in the garden and reading. I enjoyed this read and can't wait to hear more from the gang on Hope Island!
    more
  • Maryline M's Bookshelf
    July 2, 2017
    This review was first published at M's Bookshelf - http://mssbookshelf.blogspot.comHolly, Holly, Holly. You have yet to write a book I don't absolutely love from the moment I start reading it. After reading the first installment in the Hope Island series (Spring At Blueberry Bay) I knew Rome and Freya's story would be just as perfect. And I was right.Eventhough you had a pretty good idea of how their story would end, as with every Holly Martin book you're never quite sure about the journey that' This review was first published at M's Bookshelf - http://mssbookshelf.blogspot.comHolly, Holly, Holly. You have yet to write a book I don't absolutely love from the moment I start reading it. After reading the first installment in the Hope Island series (Spring At Blueberry Bay) I knew Rome and Freya's story would be just as perfect. And I was right.Eventhough you had a pretty good idea of how their story would end, as with every Holly Martin book you're never quite sure about the journey that's going to get them there. Surprising twists, unexpected bumps in the road,... Always interesting and never predictable.Holly's characters always feel real and honest, their passion and love tangible and their conversations genuine and believable.Love can be the most amazing thing, and yet slowly destroy you. Both Freya and Rome know this, each from their own terrible experiences in the past. They both struggle with their feelings for each other and it's knowing how much they've been hurt before - and thanks to Holly Martin's fabulous writing - actually almost feeling their hurt, that makes Rome and Freya's love story even more intense and romantic. I could not put this book down. I cried, laughed and swooned. Absolutely and completely in love with Rome... and Hope Island. I already marked my calendar for the next release.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    June 14, 2017
    Thank you for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance reader copy of this book. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon. On goodreads.com/karenwhittard on Amazon under k.e.whittard from publication date. And on instagram.com/bookfairyukIt's always lovely to catch up with old friends from previous books and so it was lovely to see what Eden and Bella have been getting up to since we met them in spring at bluebell bay which is a lovely Thank you for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance reader copy of this book. You can find my review on both Goodreads and Amazon. On goodreads.com/karenwhittard on Amazon under k.e.whittard from publication date. And on instagram.com/bookfairyukIt's always lovely to catch up with old friends from previous books and so it was lovely to see what Eden and Bella have been getting up to since we met them in spring at bluebell bay which is a lovely book. Rome and Freya are great characters and the descriptions of Hope island made me long to be there. This is a lovely romantics read perfect for fans of chicklit and romance. If you haven't checked out Holly Martins books before I highly recommend her. Her books always manage to make me smile and leave me feeling all happy and gooey. Another great book by a great author. Even if you could see what was coming from the first few pages. Happy reading everyone and as let me know what you think of the book.
    more
  • Grace J Reviewerlady
    June 26, 2017
    Buttercup Beach - what a gorgeous name! And this book continues with great character names too - which all add up to a lovely, feel-good, summery read. I didn't realise until the author's comments at the end that this was the second in a trilogy; however, it works very well as a stand-alone read. Hope Island is an amazing setting and Holly Martin's descriptions are terrificThis is the tale of two people who work together, socialise together, are the very best and closest of friends but who still Buttercup Beach - what a gorgeous name! And this book continues with great character names too - which all add up to a lovely, feel-good, summery read. I didn't realise until the author's comments at the end that this was the second in a trilogy; however, it works very well as a stand-alone read. Hope Island is an amazing setting and Holly Martin's descriptions are terrificThis is the tale of two people who work together, socialise together, are the very best and closest of friends but who still don't confide truthfully in each other. Quite a true situation I would think as very few people own up to what is truly going through their mind - as opposed to what comes out of their mouth! A very cleverly written romance, and one which I have not only enjoyed thoroughly but would have no hesitation in recommending to anyone looking for a lighthearted, uplifting read.I received an arc via NetGalley in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • annemarie_bookaholic
    June 10, 2017
    Wow! Absolutely fell in love with Rome and Freya! Every time I pick up a Holly Martin book I devour it within hours and Summer at Buttercup Beach was no exception. The only thing stopping me from reading it in one day was sleep. I had to get some sleep.Holly Martin's writing is more than a 5 star rating...I love how she intertwines her characters from one book to another and how she makes her locations somewhere where I would love to live. Rome and Freya have that love story that every little gi Wow! Absolutely fell in love with Rome and Freya! Every time I pick up a Holly Martin book I devour it within hours and Summer at Buttercup Beach was no exception. The only thing stopping me from reading it in one day was sleep. I had to get some sleep.Holly Martin's writing is more than a 5 star rating...I love how she intertwines her characters from one book to another and how she makes her locations somewhere where I would love to live. Rome and Freya have that love story that every little girl dreams of....falling so in love that sometimes you don't actually realize it until someone else tells you that you are in love. Their chemistry together is so much fun to read....I laughed, I cried and really enjoyed the book. Yes I get right into the books I read.
    more
  • Gem ~ Bee
    June 28, 2017
    Having loved the first book in this series and Holly's previous books, I'm pleased this latest novel lives up to high expectations, such a gem of a book! Full of swoons, drama, comedy and stunning scenery it has everything you'd want in a romantic fiction book. Definitely some funny moments amongst the tension, Rome's parents are amazing!! I loved the (clearly well researched) information on glasswork and you could really picture the skill of the pieces. The beauty of the island as ever calls yo Having loved the first book in this series and Holly's previous books, I'm pleased this latest novel lives up to high expectations, such a gem of a book! Full of swoons, drama, comedy and stunning scenery it has everything you'd want in a romantic fiction book. Definitely some funny moments amongst the tension, Rome's parents are amazing!! I loved the (clearly well researched) information on glasswork and you could really picture the skill of the pieces. The beauty of the island as ever calls you and you're instantly in love, with the scenery and the fabulous characters on it.
    more
  • Theresa
    June 19, 2017
    First of all i would like to say thank you to netgalIery for letting me reveiw this book. This is the second book of the series hope island. This book didn't disappoint loved the characters and the storyline fell in love with Rome really looking forward to when the third of the series is published.i enjoyed the book so much have looked in to going on holiday near the place where this book is set.
    more
  • Jennifer Dicenzo
    June 28, 2017
    I loved this book by this author. I love the troupe of best friends falling in love! Freya and Rome have known each other for a number of years now, working together and becoming best friends. Her secret? She has been in love with him for two years. Is he over his late fiancée? Would he ever see her as more than a friend? Grab this book by Holly Martin and find out!I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Loz
    July 1, 2017
    There wasn't a lot of plot to this, and I found bits of it a little repetitive, but those niggles aside it was an enjoyable read. It had some great humour and some deliciously romantic parts. As ever I will definitely be reading more of Ms Martin's books!
    more
  • Vickie Richens
    July 1, 2017
    Love Holly's books and this was no exception, devoured it one day and already looking forward to the next book in the series
  • Emma Star Crossed Reviews
    July 1, 2017
    This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews Pull up a deck chair and bask in the beautiful sunshine on Buttercup Beach. The sand is warm, the sea is sparkling blue and romance is sizzling in the air…For two years Freya Greene has hidden the fact that she’s totally and utterly in love with her best friend Rome Lancaster. It’s not been easy – they work together in his glasswork business, she lives above his workshop and, he’s completely gorgeous. But Rome has never shown any sign of This review was originally posted on Star Crossed Reviews Pull up a deck chair and bask in the beautiful sunshine on Buttercup Beach. The sand is warm, the sea is sparkling blue and romance is sizzling in the air…For two years Freya Greene has hidden the fact that she’s totally and utterly in love with her best friend Rome Lancaster. It’s not been easy – they work together in his glasswork business, she lives above his workshop and, he’s completely gorgeous. But Rome has never shown any sign of returning those feelings. Until now…Lately they’ve shared affectionate touches and words heavy with meaning. Yet Freya knows Rome has a damaged heart. After losing his fiancé in a tragic accident, he’s not allowed himself to fall in love.Freya has already had her heart broken by a man who couldn’t let go of a past love. Can she risk it happening again? Rome and Freya have a friendship that could blossom into something more. Are they both brave enough to take that chance?Thank you to Holly for letting me be part of today's Blog Blitz. I adore Holly's writing and I have been looking forward to this book since I finished Spring in Blueberry Bay back in April.This story follows Freya and Rome. If you read The first book in Hope Island then you would have already met these two characters. This book can be read as a standalone but I would highly recommend reading Spring at Blueberry Bay because it was just so good.Freya met Rome two years ago and has been in love with her best friend ever since. Freya arrived on Hope Island after catching her fiance in bed with someone else. With nothing to keep her in her old life she decided to move to Hope Island and start over. Freya loves working for Rome but her feelings for him are slowly killing her.Rome Lancaster is everything you hope for in a man. He's extremely hot, he's humble, he's good-natured and he would do anything for those that he loves.  Rome lost his fiancee in a terrible roller-coaster accident 6 years ago, since then he's kept his heart guarded.This story has everything you need for a summer story. It has the beaches, it has the humour and it has the romance. Holly's writing style is everything I look for in a book and I love coming back time and time again. I am eagerly anticipating the next story at Hope Island, which I believe is out later this year. 
    more
Write a review