Lowcountry Bonfire (A Liz Talbot Mystery #6)
Private Investigators Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews have worked their share of domestic cases. So when Tammy Sue Lyerly hires them to find out what her husband is hiding, they expect to find something looney but harmless. After all, this is the guy who claims to have been a DEA agent, a champion bull rider, and a NASCAR driver. But when he turns up dead the morning after Liz and Nate deliver the incriminating photos, Tammy is the prime suspect. Questioning the truth of Zeke Lyerly’s tall-tales, Liz and Nate race to uncover small town scandals, long buried secrets, and the victim’s tumultuous past to keep Tammy Sue out of jail and the case from going up in flames. “The authentically Southern Boyer writes with heart, insight, and a deep understanding of human nature.” – Hank Phillippi Ryan, Agatha Award-Winning Author of What You See “Susan M. Boyer gets it. And by ‘it,’ I mean ‘the Southern voice.’ And by that I do not mean she throws 'Y’all' into every other line of her dialogue. I mean she understands deep down how Southern people talk and can replicate the cadence and music of that speech on the page as delicately as a master chef adding a last pinch of sea salt to a batch of Hollandaise sauce.” – CriminalElement.comRelated subjects include: women sleuths, private investigator mystery series, cozy mysteries, murder mysteries, whodunit mysteries (whodunnit), book club recommendations, Southern fiction, Southern humor, Southern living. Books in the Liz Talbot Mystery Series: LOWCOUNTRY BOIL (#1) LOWCOUNTRY BOMBSHELL (#2) LOWCOUNTRY BONEYARD (#3) LOWCOUNTRY BORDELLO (#4) LOWCOUNTRY BOOK CLUB (#5) LOWCOUNTRY BONFIRE (#6) Part of the Henery Press Mystery Series Collection, if you like one, you'll probably like them all…

Lowcountry Bonfire (A Liz Talbot Mystery #6) Details

TitleLowcountry Bonfire (A Liz Talbot Mystery #6)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherHenery Press
Number of pages244 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Cozy Mystery, Fantasy, Paranormal

Lowcountry Bonfire (A Liz Talbot Mystery #6) Review

  • Betty
    May 25, 2017
    Tammy Sue Lyerly is angry as she had learned that her husband, Zeke was having an affair with Crystal Chapman. Tammy, She has gathered all his clothes placed them in his favorite car and set it afire. The fire department has put out the fire. The plan is to move the car to the sheriff's department and in order to do the trunk must be open. Everyone stared in horror as Zeke's body is stuff in the trunk. Tammy Sue collapsed.Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews have their work cut out for them when they beg Tammy Sue Lyerly is angry as she had learned that her husband, Zeke was having an affair with Crystal Chapman. Tammy, She has gathered all his clothes placed them in his favorite car and set it afire. The fire department has put out the fire. The plan is to move the car to the sheriff's department and in order to do the trunk must be open. Everyone stared in horror as Zeke's body is stuff in the trunk. Tammy Sue collapsed.Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews have their work cut out for them when they begin to explore the death. There were many questions they need to find answers. Who were Zeke enemies? Was the killer from his twenty years as a CIA agent? Who is Alice, his first wife? Who on the island has access to the POISON? What happened at the bonfire picnic? Answers must be found to keep Tammy Sue from being convicted of Zeke's murder. The ending will surprise you as it did me. I highly recommend this book and series.Disclosure: I received a free copy from Henery Press through NetGalley for an honest review. I would like to thank them for this opportunity to read and review the book. The opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Judy Lesley
    June 5, 2017
    I received an e-ARC of this novel through NetGalley and Henery Press. Thank you.I've read all of the Liz Talbot mystery novels and this is the one I like the least. I kept picking up on too many things that just seemed wrong. Granted, author Susan M. Boyer still writes Southern the way it really is - maybe with just a tiny bit of exaggeration for emphasis purposes. I must confess to liking the books more when the ghostly presence was kept as more of a background note and the way Liz and her husb I received an e-ARC of this novel through NetGalley and Henery Press. Thank you.I've read all of the Liz Talbot mystery novels and this is the one I like the least. I kept picking up on too many things that just seemed wrong. Granted, author Susan M. Boyer still writes Southern the way it really is - maybe with just a tiny bit of exaggeration for emphasis purposes. I must confess to liking the books more when the ghostly presence was kept as more of a background note and the way Liz and her husband Nate walked all over correct police procedure in this book was too egregious to overlook. So was this just me being too picky? I don't know for sure, but I didn't have to dither around to decide on a 3 star rating - smack in the middle of really/kinda bad and really/kinda good. This story begins with a woman pitching a purely hissy fit when she gets the investigative report from Liz and Nate (private detectives) that her husband is having an affair. So she gathers up his clothes, piles them in the 1969 Mustang convertible he loves so much and sets the clothes on fire. Naturally Tammy Sue is going to be a suspect when her lying, cheating husband turns up dead. Except that's also when everybody on the tiny island South Carolina community of Stella Maris finds out just how little they knew about Zeke Lyerly.As I have said, this one didn't work well for me. If you live in a very small community, and everyone is supposed to know the complete history of everyone there, then why was nobody ever curious about Zeke's background? You really can't have it both ways. Plus, Colleen (the ghost) has turned into a pest instead of a charming point of interest of the series. At least for me.
    more
  • RO G'ma
    May 23, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire is the sixth book in Susan Boyer’s Liz Talbot Mystery series. Ms. Boyer provided enough character background that this book can be read as a standalone. There was no gratuitous sex or violence but there was a little more adult language than one usually finds in a cozy. This is an easy read and moves along at a relaxed but steady pace, providing readers with a well-crafted mystery, well-developed characters, lots of Southern charm, and just a touch of paranormal. There are plen Lowcountry Bonfire is the sixth book in Susan Boyer’s Liz Talbot Mystery series. Ms. Boyer provided enough character background that this book can be read as a standalone. There was no gratuitous sex or violence but there was a little more adult language than one usually finds in a cozy. This is an easy read and moves along at a relaxed but steady pace, providing readers with a well-crafted mystery, well-developed characters, lots of Southern charm, and just a touch of paranormal. There are plenty of twists and turns and no lack of suspects. The final reveal was quite surprising to me.Liz Talbot and her husband, Nate Andrews, are private investigators and live in Stella Maris, South Carolina. Liz’s friend, Colleen has been a ghost and Liz and Nate are the only ones who can see and communicate with her. Colleen is the island’s guardian angel and her assignment is to prevent the population from growing but she also looks out for Liz and Nate. Tammy Sue Lyerly hired Liz and Nate to find out if her husband, Zeke, was being unfaithful to her and after she learned he was cheating with Crystal Chapman, she piled Zeke’s clothes into his classic 1969 Mustang convertible and set them on fire. When authorities popped the trunk to make sure the entire car was cooled down they found his body. No flames had reached him and an autopsy determined he had been poisoned. Liz’s mom and dad, Frank and Carolyn, live across the street from the Lyerlys and insist that Tammy Sue stay with them so they can provide the moral support she needs. Blake Talbot, Liz’s brother and police chief of Stella Maris, hires them to help with the investigation. Liz and Nate are well organized and methodical in their investigations and leave no stone unturned as they question potential suspects and discover small town scandals and secrets regarding Zeke’s past.I received an Advance Reader Copy of this book from NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed it.
    more
  • Lisa Hudson
    May 27, 2017
    FANTASTIC FROM START TO FINISH!!Lowcountry Bonfire (A Liz Talbot Mystery Book 6) is the best book in this series to date!! I've enjoyed this series since the first book, Lowcountry Boil, was published in 2012. While Boyer uses many of her beloved characters in each book, she always manages to introduce interesting new characters that make the story so much more interesting and intriguing. By the time I had finished the first two paragraphs of Lowcountry Bonfire, I knew this book was going to kee FANTASTIC FROM START TO FINISH!!Lowcountry Bonfire (A Liz Talbot Mystery Book 6) is the best book in this series to date!! I've enjoyed this series since the first book, Lowcountry Boil, was published in 2012. While Boyer uses many of her beloved characters in each book, she always manages to introduce interesting new characters that make the story so much more interesting and intriguing. By the time I had finished the first two paragraphs of Lowcountry Bonfire, I knew this book was going to keep me busy because I was "hooked" & didn't want to stop reading until I was finished! The opening scene will leave you speechless! This book has a fantastic plot, superb characters, family love, friendships old & new and some very deep, dark secrets that cause someone to seek revenge. Can Liz and Nate solve the case before the death toll rises? What other secrets will they uncover? I received a complimentary copy from the publisher and NetGalley but this opinion is strictly my own and without Influence.
    more
  • Jennifer Ritter
    June 20, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire is the sixth installment of Susan M. Boyer's Liz Talbot Mystery series. The day after Liz and Nate meet with Tammy Sue Lyerly to give her the information they have gathered on the indiscretions of her husband Zeke, they are called by Liz's father on an early Tuesday morning. Liz and Nate, among many other Stella Maris residents, watch as Tammy Sue lights her husband's vintage Mustang on fire, feeding the flames with his clothing after he does not come home the night before. Wh Lowcountry Bonfire is the sixth installment of Susan M. Boyer's Liz Talbot Mystery series. The day after Liz and Nate meet with Tammy Sue Lyerly to give her the information they have gathered on the indiscretions of her husband Zeke, they are called by Liz's father on an early Tuesday morning. Liz and Nate, among many other Stella Maris residents, watch as Tammy Sue lights her husband's vintage Mustang on fire, feeding the flames with his clothing after he does not come home the night before. When the tow truck driver is asked to open the trunk, no one standing by expects the contents--Zeke's body.This is just the beginning of a week of confusing leads followed by Liz and Nate as they have been retained by the Stella Maris town council for just such an occasion. Their suspect board has become a who's who of the island with items regularly changing, but leads all pointing back to a bonfire party several months prior. It seems that an unfortunate choice of party games may have led to Zeke's death, but why?Just what was it in Zeke's past that has caught up with him. Were all the tall tales he told about spies and missions true? As Liz and Nate follow the leads to far off events, the path leads right back home and almost adds Liz and Nate to the list of fatalities.This book, as with the prior books in the series, is well written with a twisting plot. The characters are genuine, you probably know someone like them. Although this book would stand alone, why ever would one want to miss the rest of the series? I wholeheartedly recommend this book!
    more
  • Karyn Niedert
    June 18, 2017
    "Lowcountry Bonfire" is Susan M. Boyer's best Liz Talbot mystery to date. Liz and husband Nate delve into the mysterious murder of Zeke Lyerly, a local Stella Maris mechanic and neighbor of Liz's parents. Readers who enjoy cozy Southern mysteries should not hesitate to grab this book up as a top summer read.Zeke Lyerly has been catting around on his beautiful wife, Tammy Sue. After am epic hissy fit which includes setting Zeke's Mustang on fire, Zeke's body is discovered in the trunk. Zeke has b "Lowcountry Bonfire" is Susan M. Boyer's best Liz Talbot mystery to date. Liz and husband Nate delve into the mysterious murder of Zeke Lyerly, a local Stella Maris mechanic and neighbor of Liz's parents. Readers who enjoy cozy Southern mysteries should not hesitate to grab this book up as a top summer read.Zeke Lyerly has been catting around on his beautiful wife, Tammy Sue. After am epic hissy fit which includes setting Zeke's Mustang on fire, Zeke's body is discovered in the trunk. Zeke has been a Stella Maris enigma for years, favorite son turned teller of tall tales. His stories of being a mysterious spy, NASCAR racer, and other crazy tales which happened during his time away border on insanity. As Liz and Nate delve deeper into Zeke's past, his time away from Stella Maris before meeting and marrying Tammy Sue may hold the key to his death.I love stories set the in South, and Stella Maris has developed into a dream location for my (years from now) retirement, Liz and Nate are a wonderful couple, and other than some sexy scenes, there wasn't needless gratuitous sex. I am concerned about Colleen's future
    more
  • Ann
    June 25, 2017
    I love this Liz Talbot mystery series. This is book 6 and each one is unique and a great mystery. Liz and Nate are Private Investigators that are frequently hired by their small town to aid the police investigating crime. With Liz's brother the police chief there is a small sibling rivalry. Liz an Nate are also aided by their ghost friend Colleen. The series keeps getting better and better. The southern humor and small town residents have you smiling the whole book. Liz Talbot is a great charact I love this Liz Talbot mystery series. This is book 6 and each one is unique and a great mystery. Liz and Nate are Private Investigators that are frequently hired by their small town to aid the police investigating crime. With Liz's brother the police chief there is a small sibling rivalry. Liz an Nate are also aided by their ghost friend Colleen. The series keeps getting better and better. The southern humor and small town residents have you smiling the whole book. Liz Talbot is a great character and I always look forward to seeing her next book.
    more
  • Tamara
    June 5, 2017
    Review to come later.Quick thoughts:Liz is a great character. Southern. Charming. Funny. Liz and Nate are hired by a friend of Liz's to find out if her husband is cheating on her, but that is only the tip of the iceberg of this story.Liz and Nate have a great chemistry and their quick witted banter as they try to find out who decided to silence the cheating husband forever is priceless.
    more
  • Robyn
    June 26, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire was a fast paced read that kept me glued to the pages from the beginning to the end. I love Liz, Nate, and the entertaining cast of characters. This book had me laughing out loud at some of the antics that went on. I highly recommend this book!
    more
  • Diane
    June 11, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire by author Susan M. Boyer will keep you guessing and pondering about just who the killer could be! This sixth book of the Liz Talbot mystery series is an easy to read mystery with great characters. The story is wonderfully filled with wit and southern exclamations, which I remember my grandma using. The partnership of Liz and Nate as a husband and wife investigation team is great.As they help Blake with an investigation into the death of Zeke Lyerly, they learn a whole differen Lowcountry Bonfire by author Susan M. Boyer will keep you guessing and pondering about just who the killer could be! This sixth book of the Liz Talbot mystery series is an easy to read mystery with great characters. The story is wonderfully filled with wit and southern exclamations, which I remember my grandma using. The partnership of Liz and Nate as a husband and wife investigation team is great.As they help Blake with an investigation into the death of Zeke Lyerly, they learn a whole different side of Zeke’s life than they knew existed. Colleen is a delightful member of the Liz Talbot stories. You may just laugh out loud. I enjoyed Lowcountry Bonfire very much. Well hell fire…. Did Nate Really get shot???Read the book, you will love it!
    more
  • ❇ Critterbee
    May 31, 2017
    Thoroughly drenched in the modern southern voice, Lowcounty Bonfire is sixth in the Liz Talbot mystery series. I was happy to go adventuring again with Liz and her crazy friends, acquaintances and relatives. The dialogue and character interactions are hilarious and had me laughing throughout the story. For such a small area, there sure are a lot of murders! This time it is one of her parent's neighbors, Zeke, and Zeke's widow Tammy Sue is the first to be blamed for his death. Liz and partner / p Thoroughly drenched in the modern southern voice, Lowcounty Bonfire is sixth in the Liz Talbot mystery series. I was happy to go adventuring again with Liz and her crazy friends, acquaintances and relatives. The dialogue and character interactions are hilarious and had me laughing throughout the story. For such a small area, there sure are a lot of murders! This time it is one of her parent's neighbors, Zeke, and Zeke's widow Tammy Sue is the first to be blamed for his death. Liz and partner / partner Nate are on the case to clear Tammy Sue and find the real culprit. Most of the suspects are from Stella Maris, although a few new people are introduced. Mother is still the same perfect southern hostess. Father is busy upping his crazy. Colleen is bray-snorting and jesting.Overall a great, fun read in a lovely, comforting (for a cozy!) series. Not to be missed.**eARC Netgalley**
    more
  • Kathy
    June 19, 2017
    After being hired by Tammy Sue Lyerly to find out whether her husband, Zeke, is cheating, Liz and Nate, in the opening scene of this book, discover Tammy Sue has set Zeke’s prized Mustang, with all his possessions, on fire in front of her house. To make matters worse, when the trunk of the Mustang is opened, Zeke’s dead body is discovered. Zeke is a victim of strychnine poisoning, and all fingers point at Tammy Sue as the murderer. Liz cannot believe Tammy Sue killed Zeke, so she and Nate begin After being hired by Tammy Sue Lyerly to find out whether her husband, Zeke, is cheating, Liz and Nate, in the opening scene of this book, discover Tammy Sue has set Zeke’s prized Mustang, with all his possessions, on fire in front of her house. To make matters worse, when the trunk of the Mustang is opened, Zeke’s dead body is discovered. Zeke is a victim of strychnine poisoning, and all fingers point at Tammy Sue as the murderer. Liz cannot believe Tammy Sue killed Zeke, so she and Nate begin an investigation to find out who the murderer is. This story covers all the ins and outs and twists turns of their investigation. I have read the other books in this series, and this one is as good as the rest. I enjoyed the way the author, who is obviously very familiar with the setting, brought the reader right into the South Carolina lowcountry, with all its cultural, small town and distinct foibles and nuances. Again, Liz and Nate show their excellent sleuthing skills as they uncover clue after clue about this murder mystery, ultimately leading to a somewhat surprising finale, where the murderer and rationale for the crime are revealed. The story moves along smoothly and quickly, as we follow Liz, accompanied and assisted by her husband Nate, delve into the secretive, surprising life of Zeke, both in the lowcontry and during twenty unaccounted years, during which he was who knows were doing who knows what. A lot of what Zeke passed off as his accomplishments and adventures comes out as false, but there are some big surprises in his life that no one would have thought possible or probable. This is a fairly well-done story of a secretive man everyone listened to and doubted, who really had lived an exciting life between his growing up in the small town and his life after those years. I enjoyed reading about the lowcountry, as it always fascinates me. This book is part of a series, but can be read as a stand-alone, though it will only whet the reader’s appetite for more about this PI duo. Throughout the series, Liz and Nate have matured into solid PI’s. Nate has taken on a bigger role, though Liz remains the main sleuth. This book is one that will appeal to readers of this series, to anyone who is familiar with or is interested in the lowcountry or to anyone who enjoys a good, light wholesome mystery, with no sex or passionate scenes—just good, wholesome fun. I received this from NetGalley to read and review.
    more
  • Roi-Bree
    June 23, 2017
    **3.5 Stars**Thanks to NetGalley and Henery Press for the free arc in exchange for a honest review.In the latest installment of the Liz Talbot Mystery Series, Lowcountry Bonfire, private investigator Liz Talbot and her husband, Greg, find themselves embroiled in a murder that happens close to home. Right next door, in fact. The story starts with Liz’s latest client, and her parents’ neighbour, Tammy Sue Lyerly, lighting her cheating husband’s car on fire. What they don’t know, is the cheating hu **3.5 Stars**Thanks to NetGalley and Henery Press for the free arc in exchange for a honest review.In the latest installment of the Liz Talbot Mystery Series, Lowcountry Bonfire, private investigator Liz Talbot and her husband, Greg, find themselves embroiled in a murder that happens close to home. Right next door, in fact. The story starts with Liz’s latest client, and her parents’ neighbour, Tammy Sue Lyerly, lighting her cheating husband’s car on fire. What they don’t know, is the cheating husband is in the trunk…dead. Liz and Greg are quickly drawn into the investigation by the town Sheriff, Liz’s brother, Blake, and forced to investigate their friends and neighbours as they try to piece together the truth about the eccentric Zeke Lyerly, his hidden past, and who had reason to kill him.I want to start by saying that I love this series and was highly anticipating this latest installment. Sadly, I felt that this time the story fell short. Zeke Lyerly was the type of character whose murder could have led in many directions, but most of these were left under-developed or abandoned. There is a sense that this book was rushed to print, as characters remained two-dimensional, the ongoing story of Colleen was hardly touched, and there were stretches of dialogue left without any narration. I was also disappointed by the low quality of editing in regards to sentence structure and continuity.I would love to say that this book lived up to the rest of the series, but that just wasn’t the case. I still highly anticipate the next book and hope that these issues will be addressed.
    more
  • Marilyn Watson
    June 29, 2017
    I really enjoy this series. Susan Boyer has the dialect of the South down just fine with her newest addition. Her Liz Talbot series is a fine and dandy Mystery. I defy anyone to stop reading in the opening Chapter when Tammy Sue sets fire to her Husband's Mustang, over his cheating, and a body is discovered. Half of the island is there to witness it. Liz and her Husband Nate are hired to help find the Murderer in their home area. They are watched over by Colleen, who is a former deceased friend I really enjoy this series. Susan Boyer has the dialect of the South down just fine with her newest addition. Her Liz Talbot series is a fine and dandy Mystery. I defy anyone to stop reading in the opening Chapter when Tammy Sue sets fire to her Husband's Mustang, over his cheating, and a body is discovered. Half of the island is there to witness it. Liz and her Husband Nate are hired to help find the Murderer in their home area. They are watched over by Colleen, who is a former deceased friend of Liz's, and guards the Island. She seems to have a stronger, human- element than the earlier Boyer books, because now she takes solid form on occasion and likes ham biscuits.This among a diet by the locals which has rich gravy, cheese eggs, and all kinds of goodies to eat. You will definitely appreciate the food.There were quite a few characters in this story and all of them have a history with each other. Zeke, on the other hand, was a huge story- teller, but no one knew the real person. That was a page turner... to find out what happened in those twenty years- before he married, and ended up dead, in the back-end of a Mustang. The first Chapter sets a fast pace and builds to a few surprising twists.I really liked the Characters built into Stella Maris- the island. Their warmth and family loyalties... even tempers, make it interesting. Low Country Bonfire has lots of brooding feuds, and secrets sure to keep you reading. The food, the characters, all come across as appealing. Susan Boyer writes a fun, entertaining mystery.Thanks to Netgalley and Henery Press
    more
  • Jeanie Jackson
    June 26, 2017
    I was already a fan of the series so I was not surprised that I loved Lowcountry Bonfire. These books are female private investigator procedurals with personality plus. First of all the series regulars are great characters and caring people that it a requirement for any series I read. <> I love that Liz and Nate are dynamic characters and their lives develop and move forward too; as a matter of fact, many of the characters have dynamic lives. And finally I love that the plots are complex a I was already a fan of the series so I was not surprised that I loved Lowcountry Bonfire. These books are female private investigator procedurals with personality plus. First of all the series regulars are great characters and caring people that it a requirement for any series I read. <> I love that Liz and Nate are dynamic characters and their lives develop and move forward too; as a matter of fact, many of the characters have dynamic lives. And finally I love that the plots are complex and unpredictable. This one starts out with a bang with a neighbor of Liz's parents burning her husband's clothes in a VINTAGE MUSTANG. Horrors. Much to their surprise, Liz and Nate had presented her with evidence that her husband has been cheating on her the day before so they understood her anger but were shocked at the level of her reaction. They are even more shocked when the fire department opens the trunk of the car to find the body of the unfaithful husband inside. I requested and received an advanced readers copy of Lowcountry Bonfire from Henery Press via NetGalley. I always review books that I enjoy and I truly enjoyed this one. I can't wait for the next book to come out!!!
    more
  • B
    June 24, 2017
    Susan Boyer crafted another blockbuster mystery plot which kept me guessing until the end, which is why she's my favorite Southern mystery writer. I could hardly put Lowcountry Bonfire down. Upon first glance, life in Stella Maris seems idyllic- southern coastal living at it’s best. PIs Liz Talbot & her husband, Nate, find themselves in the middle of a murder investigation of Liz's parents’ neighbor. As they methodically evaluate local and foreign suspects who had motive to kill, many Stella Susan Boyer crafted another blockbuster mystery plot which kept me guessing until the end, which is why she's my favorite Southern mystery writer. I could hardly put Lowcountry Bonfire down. Upon first glance, life in Stella Maris seems idyllic- southern coastal living at it’s best. PIs Liz Talbot & her husband, Nate, find themselves in the middle of a murder investigation of Liz's parents’ neighbor. As they methodically evaluate local and foreign suspects who had motive to kill, many Stella Maris secrets surface.The interesting characters have authentic southern charm & the intriguing mystery plot is well developed with many twists and turns. I think this is the best book yet in the Liz Talbot mystery series, but I say that after every new book release! While it is the 6th book in the series, this can be read as a standalone book.I'm a big fan of Susan Boyer’s Liz Talbot Mystery Lowcountry Series, so thrilled to receive an advance read courtesy of Henery Press through NetGallery; I was not influenced to write a positive review because I received this book from the publisher.
    more
  • Laura
    June 28, 2017
    This is a great book; this is the sixth book in the Liz Talbot Mystery series and written by Susan Boyer. Private Investigators Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews have worked their share of domestic cases. So when Tammy Sue Lyerly hires them to find out what her husband is hiding, they expect to find something looney but harmless. After all, this is the guy who claims to have been a DEA agent, a champion bull rider, and a NASCAR driver. But when he turns up dead the morning after Liz and Nate deliver t This is a great book; this is the sixth book in the Liz Talbot Mystery series and written by Susan Boyer. Private Investigators Liz Talbot and Nate Andrews have worked their share of domestic cases. So when Tammy Sue Lyerly hires them to find out what her husband is hiding, they expect to find something looney but harmless. After all, this is the guy who claims to have been a DEA agent, a champion bull rider, and a NASCAR driver. But when he turns up dead the morning after Liz and Nate deliver the incriminating photos, Tammy is the prime suspect. This is a great book with a wonderful story and well developed characters. This book will keep you reading long into the night. If you are looking for a great book, then you need to read this book. I am looking forward to reading the next book by this great author. I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader’s copy of this book. The free book held no determination on my personal review.
    more
  • Debi Paglia
    June 29, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire is the 6th book in the Liz Talbot Mystery series. The book is set on the sea island of Stella Maris, South Carolina. Liz Talbot and her husband, Nate Andrews, are private investigators. They had just finished up a case for Tammy Sue Lyerly and had discovered that her husband, Zeke, was cheating on her. When Zeke shows up murdered and Tammy Sue is the prime suspect, Blake Talbot, Liz's brother and the Stella Maris Police Chief, asks Liz and Nate to join in the investigation as Lowcountry Bonfire is the 6th book in the Liz Talbot Mystery series. The book is set on the sea island of Stella Maris, South Carolina. Liz Talbot and her husband, Nate Andrews, are private investigators. They had just finished up a case for Tammy Sue Lyerly and had discovered that her husband, Zeke, was cheating on her. When Zeke shows up murdered and Tammy Sue is the prime suspect, Blake Talbot, Liz's brother and the Stella Maris Police Chief, asks Liz and Nate to join in the investigation as consultants to find out who murdered Zeke. Having grown up in the Charleston area, I love anything and everything about the SC lowcountry. Ms. Boyer has once again captured the essence of island living in small-town South Carolina. Her style of writing is descriptive, detailed and authentic. While reading, you feel like you are there. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes cozy mysteries, a great story and lots of Southern charm!
    more
  • Lyn Gideon
    June 30, 2017
    Such a great series of books and here's another great installment. Mrs. Boyer always brings such an authentic Southern voice to her characters. They are smart, witty, and sassy. Some of the best things about the South are represented in these cozy mysteries, love of family, heritage, and home without being cliche or over done are in this series. I like to listen to the audio version so I can work on things around the house and Liz Talbot and company managed to make sanding and priming several pi Such a great series of books and here's another great installment. Mrs. Boyer always brings such an authentic Southern voice to her characters. They are smart, witty, and sassy. Some of the best things about the South are represented in these cozy mysteries, love of family, heritage, and home without being cliche or over done are in this series. I like to listen to the audio version so I can work on things around the house and Liz Talbot and company managed to make sanding and priming several pieces of furniture a much more fun task than it would have been otherwise. Loretta Rawlins has performs a great Southern accent, true to the area and never done in a way that you ever feel offended as someone that drops a 'g' in their own speech. :-)If you haven't read any of these yet, I highly recommend the whole series. They are consistently funny and often times remind me of some of my own family dynamics and things from my youth in the best ways.
    more
  • P Karr
    June 25, 2017
    Liz Talbot and Nate seem to have settled into a routine. This one is mostly set on the island of Stella Maris. I miss all the excursions into Charleston Liz and Nate indulge most times.The victim is a former spy but Liz is sure the culprit is an islander.I had a feeling that the solution for this one would be far fetched. I thougt of a few far fetched scenarios. But the actual solution turned out to be different. I don't think even habitual mystery readers will be able to guess it.The book was a Liz Talbot and Nate seem to have settled into a routine. This one is mostly set on the island of Stella Maris. I miss all the excursions into Charleston Liz and Nate indulge most times.The victim is a former spy but Liz is sure the culprit is an islander.I had a feeling that the solution for this one would be far fetched. I thougt of a few far fetched scenarios. But the actual solution turned out to be different. I don't think even habitual mystery readers will be able to guess it.The book was a fast read. We didn't see Merry at all, and hardly saw Colleen. Some of the dialogue made me wonder if the Colleen character is going to be phased out. I hope not.Liz and Nate do get into a scrape or two as always. Overall, this book has less jaw dropping scenes or reveals compared to some of the previous ones.A must read for fans of the series.
    more
  • Lauri Rottmayer
    May 29, 2017
    Might I just start this review by saying I want to eat at Mamma's house! I love this series and I loved this book. I'm pretty sure, if Mamma were a real person, I'd love her the most. :-DLiz and Nate have another death to investigate when Tammy Sue's husband is found, dead, in the trunk of his Mustang she has set on fire. While it would seem she should be the first person suspected, there are just too many other variables to consider. Zeke, Tammy Sue's husband, was a popular former high school b Might I just start this review by saying I want to eat at Mamma's house! I love this series and I loved this book. I'm pretty sure, if Mamma were a real person, I'd love her the most. :-DLiz and Nate have another death to investigate when Tammy Sue's husband is found, dead, in the trunk of his Mustang she has set on fire. While it would seem she should be the first person suspected, there are just too many other variables to consider. Zeke, Tammy Sue's husband, was a popular former high school baseball standout who liked to tell tall tales. He had left small town, Stella Maris, to join the Army after high school and the 20 intervening years are an additional mystery to solve.The story is full of good food and an exciting investigation. I loved it and can't wait for the next!
    more
  • Verity W
    June 30, 2017
    *******Copy from NetGalley in return for an honest review****This was the first in this series that I've read and I really enjoyed it. I liked the set up - which meant the main character had a proper reason to be investigating the murder and is good and competent and not on the too-stupid-to-live scale. I've had a run recently where some or all of these haven't been the case and this restored my faith in cozy crimes a little. The mystery is good - well put together and clever with lots of option *******Copy from NetGalley in return for an honest review****This was the first in this series that I've read and I really enjoyed it. I liked the set up - which meant the main character had a proper reason to be investigating the murder and is good and competent and not on the too-stupid-to-live scale. I've had a run recently where some or all of these haven't been the case and this restored my faith in cozy crimes a little. The mystery is good - well put together and clever with lots of options for the murderer, but in the end a clear and sensible (if you know what I mean) solution. I could even cope with the ghost. Who knew. Lots of fun - and I'll be looking for more of these.
    more
  • Tanama
    June 22, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire by Susan M. Boyer is book 6 of A Liz Talbot Mystery, which I didn't realize at the time. I was a little lost with all the people and had a feeling I was really missing out on details I needed. But all in all, it had a very good mystery that left you guessing until the very end. The characters were very amusing and entertaining. It did have a little more language than I'm accustomed to, but not too bad. I'd recommend if you've read the previous books in the series. I received a Lowcountry Bonfire by Susan M. Boyer is book 6 of A Liz Talbot Mystery, which I didn't realize at the time. I was a little lost with all the people and had a feeling I was really missing out on details I needed. But all in all, it had a very good mystery that left you guessing until the very end. The characters were very amusing and entertaining. It did have a little more language than I'm accustomed to, but not too bad. I'd recommend if you've read the previous books in the series. I received an e-book copy from Net Galley and Henery Press and this is my honest opinion.
    more
  • Bonnie
    June 25, 2017
    I was excited to be able to preview this through Netgally.comA 3.5 Rating: This is a fun beach read with a bunch of "who-dunnit" mixed in. Readers get the feeling of being in the south from the author's vivid description of the land. My biggest issue with the book was that as the 6th novel in the series, there were times I felt VERY out of the loop on characters and cross-stories. Overall, an enjoyable read and I'll look for this author in the future.
    more
  • Gena DeBardelaben
    June 3, 2017
    eARC: NetgalleyI've loved each and every Liz Talbot Mystery and Lowcountry Bonfire is no exception. The characters are so much fun! It's great to read a series set in the South that's written by a true Southern Belle like Susan M. Boyer! The settings, dialogue, food, characters, everything all ring true. If you haven't read any of the Liz Talbot Mysteries, you need to treat yourself today! You won't regret it!
    more
  • Sherry
    June 29, 2017
    A Hot Read!Susan Boyer's Lowcountry series is always a pleasure, the action is intense & the romance is sweet. Lowcountry Bonfire is another winner in this series. It's very well plotted with lots of unexpected twists to keep the reader guessing till the end. Definitely should not be missed!
    more
  • Pam Flynn
    June 28, 2017
    Lowcountry Bonfire was such a refreshing read with clean, precise characters who draw the reader into their lives. Susan Boyer brings such interesting plots that allow the reader to feel a part of the story. There is always a feeling of escape while reading her books, and Lowcountry Bonfire takes you away from the ho hums of our everyday lives.
    more
  • Kathy Kennerley
    June 25, 2017
    Loved it!...the books in this series are ALWAYS excellent! I love the characters and the southern speak "We said hey and all that" :) and the process Liz takes investigating. There were so many good suspects in this book that I couldn't figure it out till Liz narrowed it down. I enjoy this author so much! ARC netgalley.com
    more
  • Carol Bellamy
    May 18, 2017
    Read a pre-publication copy from NetGalley. Enjoyed getting back in touch with the characters in this series and the spot-on descriptions of the culture of the American south. I did have trouble accepting the motive behind the murder in this book but overall find this series very entertaining.
    more
  • Megan Worley
    June 9, 2017
    I have to say that I adore this series and this installment didn’t let me down. Nate and Liz must solve a murder in their home town to clear the name of one of their Private Investigation clients. The mystery becomes more and more interesting as they deserve odd facts about the murdered man’s background. Untangling this mystery involves delving into the history of several town members who have some sordid secrets. This story was a fun read and I enjoyed it immensely. I love all the side characte I have to say that I adore this series and this installment didn’t let me down. Nate and Liz must solve a murder in their home town to clear the name of one of their Private Investigation clients. The mystery becomes more and more interesting as they deserve odd facts about the murdered man’s background. Untangling this mystery involves delving into the history of several town members who have some sordid secrets. This story was a fun read and I enjoyed it immensely. I love all the side characters and the chemistry between Nate and Liz is undeniable. I can’t wait for the next book in the series. If you love cozy mysteries you shouldn’t check this series out! If you are an audiobook lover like me these also make a great listen!
    more
Write a review