Heart of Malice (Alice Worth, #1)
The first time Moses Murphy’s granddaughter killed on his orders, she was six years old.For twenty years, she was a prisoner of an organized crime syndicate, forced to use her magic to make Moses the most powerful and feared man on the East Coast. To escape his cruelty, she faked her own death and started a new life as Alice Worth. As a private investigator specializing in cases involving the supernatural, Alice walks a precarious line between atoning for the sins of her grandfather’s cabal and keeping her true identity hidden.Hired to investigate the disappearance of a mysterious object of power, Alice enlists the help of Malcolm, a ghost running from a past as nightmarish as her own. It soon becomes clear the missing object was taken by someone with a dangerous secret and an unknown agenda. When her client is kidnapped, Alice must find her and the object of power before a vengeful killer destroys the city and slaughters thousands—starting with Alice.

Heart of Malice (Alice Worth, #1) Details

TitleHeart of Malice (Alice Worth, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 13th, 2017
PublisherCity Owl Press
ISBN1944728341
ISBN-139781944728342
Number of pages310 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Vampires, Magic, Supernatural, Romance

Heart of Malice (Alice Worth, #1) Review

  • Stacey is Sassy
    June 9, 2017
    IT'S ALIVE!!Taking a risk has its rewards.***4.5 Stars***I received a friend request on Goodreads the other day, and while I was checking out her profile I came across a book that caught my eye. Now the cover, while not perfect, was very eye-catching. A strong woman with determination in her eyes has a flash of green fire wrapped around her. The background looks a little dark and gloomy which makes the green fire POP. Now, I won’t say that a cover will make or break a book, but if my attention i IT'S ALIVE!!Taking a risk has its rewards.***4.5 Stars***I received a friend request on Goodreads the other day, and while I was checking out her profile I came across a book that caught my eye. Now the cover, while not perfect, was very eye-catching. A strong woman with determination in her eyes has a flash of green fire wrapped around her. The background looks a little dark and gloomy which makes the green fire POP. Now, I won’t say that a cover will make or break a book, but if my attention is grabbed and the blurb is interesting, I’m more than willing to look a little closer. Hmmm…a new author? Hmmm…it’s on NetGalley? Hmmm…a strong heroine, an Alpha shapeshifting werewolf hero, a ghost for a sidekick and a mission that is a race against time? SOLD TO THE SASSY READER, who can’t resist stepping into a world full of magic, lust and adventure.So, I took a risk on a new author and I’m so bloody glad I did. There is NOTHING better than finding a fantastic new paranormal series. Lisa Edmonds has started a series that grabbed and held my attention. What made it even more amazing is that I didn’t suffer the dreaded boring, dull, snooze-worthy, introduction to a new world. I have been known to struggle with stories that tell me all about the magic, rules, characters and world. Heart of Malice successfully shows me the new world as it’s experienced. With a little info here…and a little info there, I wasn’t bombarded all at once and I got to see it all live and in action. SUCCESS!!Now, it turns out our new author happens to be a brainiac (in the best possible way). She actually teaches both writing and literature courses. I hope she teaches as she writes because it gives me hope for authors of the future. Alice is not one to take risks when it comes to her privacy and letting people in. We meet Alice as she hunts down a demon. Things don’t exactly go to plan but at least she’s alive and ready to fight another day. Alice is a private investigator who also happens to be a mage. She uses her powers to help people, while also trying to avoid run-ins with SPEMA (Supernatural and Paranormal Entity Management Agency). Unfortunately, her altercation with the demon brought her face to face with two agents of SPEMA, and that is NOT what Alice wants or needs. We are lead to understand pretty quickly that Alice likes to keep on the down low and bring as little attention to herself as she can. With a little sweet talking…of the abrupt and straightforward kind, Alice manages to avoid being taken in.From the introduction, we work out that Alice has strong abilities that she seems to want to hide. What follows is learning more about Alice, why she is keeping secrets and how she comes to meet her partner in crime, Malcolm the ghost. We also meet Charles the manipulative vampire who wants to suck her blood, and her new client Natalie, who I really hope to see in future stories as well. Alice has a few more ‘friends’ but I think they’re more acquaintances. Their dedication to Charles (their boss), makes any loyalty to Alice non-existent.My favourite additional character is Sean. Oh, my lordy. I loved meeting the strong, sexy, Alpha Werewolf who started out as a one-night thing, that turned into something more. Seriously, this guy won my heart from the very start. He is growly, possessive, understanding and sweet…just the way I like them. There is a time in the story where his loyalty and feelings for Alice are questioned (view spoiler)[but I never doubted him. I always knew he was a good guy and I wanted to shake my finger at Alice for questioning his loyalty and not giving him a chance to explain himself (hide spoiler)].Well, paranormal romance lovers, I can confirm that I have found a WINNER! Alice Worth is one cool character and I can’t wait to see what adventure she’s up to next. My fingers are crossed that Sean stays in her life, Charles backs the hell off and Malcolm gets to hang around a bit more before he heads to the afterlife. I’m an Aussie chick who loves to read and review romance, drink coffee, be a Style Setter and stalk David Gandy. To see more of my reviews, fashion, food and pervathons -
    more
  • Annika
    June 17, 2017
    It's books like this one that remind me of why I love Netgalley so much. Who knows how long it would've taken me to stumble across this little gem otherwise? I was a haunted house, and not the fun kind you visited on Halloween for cheap thrills. The scars on my back were nothing compared to the ones on the inside. This book was perfection - action, mystery, romance, magic, humor, characters. Let's start with the latter, shall we?Alice Worth, the heroine and narrator: sarcastic, funny, bad-ass ga It's books like this one that remind me of why I love Netgalley so much. Who knows how long it would've taken me to stumble across this little gem otherwise? I was a haunted house, and not the fun kind you visited on Halloween for cheap thrills. The scars on my back were nothing compared to the ones on the inside. This book was perfection - action, mystery, romance, magic, humor, characters. Let's start with the latter, shall we?Alice Worth, the heroine and narrator: sarcastic, funny, bad-ass galore, independent, proud, damaged, amazing. I adored her so muchSean Maclin (love the name!), the love interest: hot alpha werewolf, protective, easy-going, a little bit nerdy, charming, determined. I wanted to lick him.Malcolm, the wisecracking sidekick: recently deceased mage ghost, sweet, powerful, skittish and sooo endearing. I wanted to hug him.Charles Vaughan, the... um... antagonist? .. nah, not really, I just don't know yet what to make of him: powerful, businessman vampire "whose ulterior motives have ulterior motives", inscrutable, delectable. I need more of him.Actually, I need more of all of them!This book has a certain Ilona Andrews vibe going on, what with the rather trashy cover, Alice being a sassy, kick-ass PI working on a mystery case, the swoon-worthy alpha hero who gives a good chase for the woman he wants, all the magic and excellent world building... It's not hard to guess where Lisa Edmonds got her inspiration from. But that's all she took from Andrews: inspiration. This is not a carbon copy but a very unique story and characters that will steal your heart hands down.The humor was exactly my kind, subtle and cynical, the banter was hilarious and there wasn't a moment I felt bored. "You're pretty good at this private investigation thing. Maybe you should be the PI and I should be the wisecracking assistant.""That would work, except your jokes suck," Malcolm quipped. I still can't believe this is the authors debut novel. Her writing is brilliant and refreshing and she's one of those who know how to show instead of just telling.This book left me happy and giddy and so incredibly impatient for the next in the series. Hurry up, please! I can't wait to see what awaits Alice and her adorable entourage next.ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Carvanz
    July 27, 2017
    This book starts out fast! As in once you open your kindle, don’t plan on getting any sleep. From the very beginning this story is constantly in motion. There is no down time, no moment that you might think you can close it and take a break. Alice has a past that she has gone to great lengths to keep hidden. As a powerful mage she is a prize to those who would use her for their own gain. Running her own private investigation business, she takes on a case of a young woman who thinks she’s being p This book starts out fast! As in once you open your kindle, don’t plan on getting any sleep. From the very beginning this story is constantly in motion. There is no down time, no moment that you might think you can close it and take a break. Alice has a past that she has gone to great lengths to keep hidden. As a powerful mage she is a prize to those who would use her for their own gain. Running her own private investigation business, she takes on a case of a young woman who thinks she’s being poisoned by someone in her family. Man, once Alice steps into it all kinds of magical mysteries erupt. Along the way is a whole cast of characters that I gave the side eye to because I didn’t trust anyone. But then again, neither did Alice. However, when Sean enters the scene, I begged Alice to set aside her distrustful nature and give him a chance. And she does. To a point. That point being very limited initially but gaining in strength as the story progresses.Alice is one tough heroine who has learned to take care of herself and refuses to lean on anyone. Sean is an alpha hero who just wants to protect her and keep her. However, if he wants her, he’s got to let her have her independence. It’s a fine balancing act for him. I absolutely loved both of these characters. Usually the tough heroine can get on my nerves but I totally understood where Alice was emotionally. There was one part where I had to grit my teeth because she wasn’t thinking clearly at all.This ends on a bit of a cliffhanger, which I detest, and a happy for now regarding Sean and Alice. I loved the story and the writing is incredible, but dang I hate it when an author does a cliffhanger. I definitely would read more from this author but I hope future books will be wrapped up and not left open ended.ARC provided by NetGalleyHeroine POVSafe from other women dramaNo apparent triggers
    more
  • Mara
    July 9, 2017
    3 1/3It will not win any brownie points for originality, but it was a decent read that grabbed me. I look forward to reading the second book.
  • All Things Urban Fantasy
    July 26, 2017
    Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyHEART OF MALICE was a great introduction to what could be a pretty amazing new urban fantasy series. It ticks every box for a classic urban fantasy story: tough as nails heroine escaping from a murky past, fun magical abilities, and interesting enough plot complexities to last multiple books. The plot is fast-paced and revolves around an excellent magical mystery with earth shattering consequences should something go askew. I loved the attention to deta Review courtesy of All Things Urban FantasyHEART OF MALICE was a great introduction to what could be a pretty amazing new urban fantasy series. It ticks every box for a classic urban fantasy story: tough as nails heroine escaping from a murky past, fun magical abilities, and interesting enough plot complexities to last multiple books. The plot is fast-paced and revolves around an excellent magical mystery with earth shattering consequences should something go askew. I loved the attention to details in the world building and more specifically the main story in HEART OF MALICE. I really got a feel for the tone and history of the world as well as who the characters were. Please note: there are some pretty gory moments in HEART OF MALICE that might be hard to get through for the squeamish.Alice is a pretty badass heroine who has potential to be one of my favorite in the genre. She takes a beating, heals herself, and goes back into the fray. I loved how determined she was to help someone else and do so with skill and intelligence. It becomes a bit disconcerting just how much she allows her body to be worn down so much. She blacks out a lot! Perhaps her recklessness will be a plot point in future books? I think Alice's recklessness might be linked to her fascinating past. I kept hoping we'd get more flashbacks to her escape from the cabal. I hope we get more as what we do get gives some interesting insights to Alice's rather determined and stubborn personality.HEART OF MALICE was a decent start to what looks like a pretty classic urban fantasy series. I loved Alice's backstory and learning how this world works. I look forward to seeing what is in store for Alice in the next book.
    more
  • Rhonda Hasty
    July 3, 2017
    This is a good one people the h is a little on the stubborn side but she gets better by the end.
  • Tammy
    June 29, 2017
    4.5 starsI like it ... a lot! AT first Heart of Malice seems like a typical Kick-ass mage heroine but Alice Worth is darker (in person) and harsher. I like that there's no long paragraph explaining tidbit or how magic works but we see them through Alice's adventure. Good plot interesting characters especially Alice. Confession...at first I think the book lacks emotion but since it's from Alice's POV and what i gather through is she was raised in to be a killing machine i think her POV suit. I li 4.5 starsI like it ... a lot! AT first Heart of Malice seems like a typical Kick-ass mage heroine but Alice Worth is darker (in person) and harsher. I like that there's no long paragraph explaining tidbit or how magic works but we see them through Alice's adventure. Good plot interesting characters especially Alice. Confession...at first I think the book lacks emotion but since it's from Alice's POV and what i gather through is she was raised in to be a killing machine i think her POV suit. I like how Lisa balances Alice's personality: harsh by the past with what she want to be at present and in the future. She has emotion but just not whirlwind like we usually see in feisty hetoine but she is feisty no less just in her own way. There's a slow pace toward the middle of the book and the romance is quite arupt but when the shit is about to hit the fan....I'm so excited I have to take a break and after that? I can't seem to put it down. I'm definitely a fan now. C'mon book 2 !!!
    more
  • Jeannie Zelos
    June 6, 2017
    Heart of Malice, Alice Worth Book 1, Lisa EdmondsReview from Jeannie Zelos book reviewsGenre:  Romance, Sci-fi and fantasyWhat a cracking read this is, and it seems to be Lisa's debut book! I love when I find an author who can write books like this, with so many multi layers of plots, with interesting and varied characters that it keeps me gripped to the end. There are so many paranormal reads out right now, and it seems 90% are one plot romances; those where its a meets b, and there's just one Heart of Malice, Alice Worth Book 1, Lisa EdmondsReview from Jeannie Zelos book reviewsGenre:  Romance, Sci-fi and fantasyWhat a cracking read this is, and it seems to be Lisa's debut book! I love when I find an author who can write books like this, with so many multi layers of plots, with interesting and varied characters that it keeps me gripped to the end. There are so many paranormal reads out right now, and it seems 90% are one plot romances; those where its a meets b, and there's just one plot making - or preventing - that happening. Clearly that's what many readers want, they sell really well, but some of us want that bit more. A story where it isn't obvious which way its going from the first chapter, and Heart of Malice delivers that. There's a clear and solid story-line in this first book that wraps up, but there is so much more going on in tandem with that, that its easy to see its going to make a fabulous and gripping series. My favourite Fantasy authors are Patricia Briggs, Jeanine Frost, Kelley Armstrong, Kim Harrison, Rachelle Mead, Debbie Reynolds and of course Sookie's creator Charmaine Harris. Those reads are what I love, ones where the world settings are clear, the plots multi layered and always imaginative, and there's so much more going on underneath the main plot in each book. I read and reread them finding more each time I devour the content. They kind of build up an over-arcing story-line, while delivering individual ones, and the Alice Worth series feels that way. Clearly Alice has a gruesome and terrifying history, she's escaped for now but the dangers are ever present. We get glimpses of her past from her memories and nightmares. Then there's the world as it is, where supernaturals are open and out, mixing with humans, but as ever there are some vigilant, at times over vigilant, official organisations policing them. We've ghosts, shifters, vampires, mages, in the supernatural types, SPEMA and SPERA gov orgs and I'm sure more will come out in future reads. Alice is a Mage PI, working alone, always trying to keep her head down, avoid any hint of her past being exposed. That means she tends to be very self contained, doesn't have freinds, and when Malcolm the ghost comes into her life he's kind of the first person I feel she really talks to.She's careful with him too though, but his help in this current investigation is invaluable as it gets ever more complex and brings her into real danger. Natalie, her client was a great girl, and I felt a real rapport between her and Malcolm. Will anything come of that in later books? Who knows...Then Alpha wolf shifter Sean comes in. Alice meets him in a bar, and he tries to persuade her they can be more than just a one night stand. The chemistry they have is incredible, but is he really trustworthy? Its far too soon for Alice to let down her defences, however beguiling and persuasive he seems, and she keeps him at arms length. Except for those scorching times when he's not ;-)And what about Vampire Charles, over 200 years old, suave, good looking, perfect charm and manners, very well respected by the Vampire Alliance, and full of his own vampire intrigues...what's his interest in Alice? He's held back so far, keeping her in a kind of loose acquaintance field which suits her. She trusts him, just a little bit, a very, very little bit, but she isn't letting her defences down for a pretty face and a few vampire wiles. She's wary as to what his end game is, vampires aren't known for altruism...He's never yet hinted at wanting more from her but it feels like there's an unspoken text whenever they meet. Of course we can't forget Agent Lake either, comes into the book early and turns up again at the end. I get the feeling he's got an interest in Alice, but why? What sort? What does he want from her? Its a cracking read, ages since I read a new fantasy story that's gripped me like this, that I so enjoyed. Its up there with my favourite reads and I hope Lisa is hard at work with the next book.  Stars: five, a fabulous read, fast paced, solid plots great characters, and will join my favourites. ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers
    more
  • Penny Noble
    June 10, 2017
    When I read the description of this book, I thought it sounded like a good book and was eager to read it. I am happy to report that not only was it a good book, it was a great book! Alice was such a great character, with her being emotionally-removed and -scarred because of her violent past. I found myself feeling so much for her and found her to be very fascinating and wanting the best for her. Added to that, there was Sean, a werewolf Alpha who seemed to really care about her, who has the maki When I read the description of this book, I thought it sounded like a good book and was eager to read it. I am happy to report that not only was it a good book, it was a great book! Alice was such a great character, with her being emotionally-removed and -scarred because of her violent past. I found myself feeling so much for her and found her to be very fascinating and wanting the best for her. Added to that, there was Sean, a werewolf Alpha who seemed to really care about her, who has the makings of a great romantic interest, even if Alice is still too gun-shy to really trust anyone. Don’t think, though, that this book has just a great romance, because it doesn’t. The mystery had me guessing and wondering what was going to happen next, especially adding in Charles, a vampire who seems to care about Alice but doesn’t seem 100% trustworthy. And, let’s not forget the great ghost side-kick Malcolm who complements her magical sleuthing very well, and I can’t help but think he has some kind of connection to her past. Speaking of that, I can’t wait to learn more about Alice’s past, and I just know that we will one day meet her grandfather. Add everything together, great writing, great characters, interesting pasts, and great plotting, I can’t wait to read more! Highly recommend! Thanks to NetGalley and City Owl Press for the e-book which I voluntarily reviewed. This exact review will be posted on both Amazon and Goodreads.
    more
  • Devann
    July 7, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis is actually one of the first new urban fantasy series in awhile that I've really enjoyed. I think the world-building and the magic system is very interesting and all the characters were really great too. Alice has trouble letting people get close to her, but it's clear that she still really cares about them and wants to help. It's actually pretty funny because she's all brooding over in the corner like ~I wor I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis is actually one of the first new urban fantasy series in awhile that I've really enjoyed. I think the world-building and the magic system is very interesting and all the characters were really great too. Alice has trouble letting people get close to her, but it's clear that she still really cares about them and wants to help. It's actually pretty funny because she's all brooding over in the corner like ~I work alone!!!~ and then she ends up adopting literally every supernatural creature in need that crosses her path like Batman scooping up Robins. The only part I wasn't crazy about was the strong romance angle. I picked this up in the first place because there is literally no indication of romance in the summary, but of course I could never be that lucky. While I did find Sean kind of annoying with all his ~I'm an alpha~ nonsense and there were a couple awkward sex scenes to skip, overall it wasn't too bad and I appreciate that Alice at least always stood up for herself whenever he tried to boss her around.
    more
  • Francheska
    July 9, 2017
    This was awesome. Action, fantasy, spectacular magic, witty snark and amazing characters that take the best of all of these and makes a completely wonderful book that will remind you of Ilona Andrews or Patricia Briggs. Urban fantasy at its best. Alice is independent, and damaged and proud. It makes her real and easy to relate to. Sean the werewolf alpha. Loved his nerd side. I mean loved it. Charm and nerding all in one is irresistible. And the sidekick? A mage ghost. I loved that! Comedic reli This was awesome. Action, fantasy, spectacular magic, witty snark and amazing characters that take the best of all of these and makes a completely wonderful book that will remind you of Ilona Andrews or Patricia Briggs. Urban fantasy at its best. Alice is independent, and damaged and proud. It makes her real and easy to relate to. Sean the werewolf alpha. Loved his nerd side. I mean loved it. Charm and nerding all in one is irresistible. And the sidekick? A mage ghost. I loved that! Comedic relief and I mean a mage ghost. So interesting as an option for a side kick. The plot was fast paced and interesting. I look forward to more by this author for sure!
    more
  • Susan
    June 12, 2017
    Heart of malice by Lisa Edmonds. For twenty years, she was a prisoner of an organized crime syndicate, forced to use her magic to make Moses the most powerful and feared man on the East Coast. To escape his cruelty, she faked her own death and started a new life as Alice Worth. As a private investigator specializing in cases involving the supernatural, Alice walks a precarious line between atoning for the sins of her grandfather’s cabal and keeping her true identity hidden.Fantastic read with br Heart of malice by Lisa Edmonds. For twenty years, she was a prisoner of an organized crime syndicate, forced to use her magic to make Moses the most powerful and feared man on the East Coast. To escape his cruelty, she faked her own death and started a new life as Alice Worth. As a private investigator specializing in cases involving the supernatural, Alice walks a precarious line between atoning for the sins of her grandfather’s cabal and keeping her true identity hidden.Fantastic read with brilliant characters. Loved Alice. She was my favourite character. I love anything to do with magic. 5* . Netgalley and city owl press.
    more
  • Pam
    May 17, 2017
    ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!! It reminded me of Patricia Briggs and Mercy Thompson. Love the mythology of Alice's world, the different mages, the cabals, the blood magic, and how Malcolm, though a ghost, still has his mage abilities. Really liked Sean and really didn't like Charles, manipulative bastard. Loved the first chapter of the second book. I can't wait to read it! Can't wait to learn more about Grampa Murphy and all the evil he does/did. So glad to have found another Urban Fantasy series ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!! It reminded me of Patricia Briggs and Mercy Thompson. Love the mythology of Alice's world, the different mages, the cabals, the blood magic, and how Malcolm, though a ghost, still has his mage abilities. Really liked Sean and really didn't like Charles, manipulative bastard. Loved the first chapter of the second book. I can't wait to read it! Can't wait to learn more about Grampa Murphy and all the evil he does/did. So glad to have found another Urban Fantasy series to read!!
    more
  • Amanda
    July 3, 2017
    4.5 rounded up to 5. Solid start to a new series.
  • **Vee**
    June 22, 2017
    5 Star Read!I haven't been this excited for an UF/Paranormal series since I started the Kate Daniels series! I loved how this book pulled you straight into the action, I was hooked from the first page. Edmonds weaves a fantastical tale of magic, mayhem, murder and mystery. I really appreciated Edmonds' world building, she didn't explain it to us but brought it to life so we could experience the wonder of it first hand. While this can be confusing when not done well, Edmonds carries it off superb 5 Star Read!I haven't been this excited for an UF/Paranormal series since I started the Kate Daniels series! I loved how this book pulled you straight into the action, I was hooked from the first page. Edmonds weaves a fantastical tale of magic, mayhem, murder and mystery. I really appreciated Edmonds' world building, she didn't explain it to us but brought it to life so we could experience the wonder of it first hand. While this can be confusing when not done well, Edmonds carries it off superbly in Hearts of Malice. Alice, and her magical sidekick ghost, Malcolm, make a great team; add in a romance with a local Alpha Werewolf Shifter and I had the perfect mix for my reading enjoyment. It was a great start to a series that will be highly anticipated.The further I delved into this book the more deeper I fell for this brilliant cast of characters and I can't wait to join them again in Book 2!I highly recommend it, you will love Alice Worth, especially if you love Kate Daniels or Aisling Grey or Mercy Thompson! ***********ARC kindly provided by the author via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*************
    more
  • Chantale Canadian Book Addict
    May 29, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book. They story was a little different than what I have ever read. I read this book slowly but just because I have had migraines so didn't feel up to reading but I know i would have read this quickly if it weren't for migraines I do highly recommend this book
    more
  • Alison
    May 18, 2017
    Alice Walker is a Mage PI, or MPI for short. And that's not her real name. She is really a very powerful blood Mage on the run from her grandfather, the psychopathic head of a criminal cabal who used 'Alice' to exact revenge on his enemies. She's a loner trusting no one, trying to stay under the radar until a new client and a friendly ghost overturn her life.I loved this, with overtones of Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Underworld and a nod to Devon Monk's Allie Beckstrom this has ghosts and we Alice Walker is a Mage PI, or MPI for short. And that's not her real name. She is really a very powerful blood Mage on the run from her grandfather, the psychopathic head of a criminal cabal who used 'Alice' to exact revenge on his enemies. She's a loner trusting no one, trying to stay under the radar until a new client and a friendly ghost overturn her life.I loved this, with overtones of Kelley Armstrong's Women of the Underworld and a nod to Devon Monk's Allie Beckstrom this has ghosts and werewolves and vampires and cabals and elemental magic.This was an awesome start to a new series, loved the world and the characters. I can feel a love triangle in the offing, or a quadrangle? Can't wait for the next book, sign me up.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  •  Diana Davis
    July 21, 2017
    Heart of Malice (Alice Worth Book 1) Kindle Editionby Lisa EdmondsI received a complimentary copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review and can't be happier to have done so.Wow, just plain wow! Ms. Edmonds created such a unique character that you can't help but be drawn into her world. A world of Cabals, Mafia like magical organizations that use whatever mean necessary, from torture to near death experiences to force Mages to do their dirty and I do mean dirty work.Alice Worth, a new id Heart of Malice (Alice Worth Book 1) Kindle Editionby Lisa EdmondsI received a complimentary copy via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review and can't be happier to have done so.Wow, just plain wow! Ms. Edmonds created such a unique character that you can't help but be drawn into her world. A world of Cabals, Mafia like magical organizations that use whatever mean necessary, from torture to near death experiences to force Mages to do their dirty and I do mean dirty work.Alice Worth, a new identity and we never learn her real name, has fled across the country to escape her grandfather. That man is beyond evil, far beyond a sociopathic sadist. He was willing to use another blood mage to strip Alice's body of flesh and force an even more painful healing spell to force her to do evil. He has done this since she was eight years old and accidentally killed her parents with fire and blood magic while her grandfather watched. Since then, she withstood torture while she planned an escape.Changing her name to Alice Worth and going through massive plastic surgery, she changes herself, to escape what `she had done, she tries to right the wrongs of other as a an MPI, a Maj Private Investigator.She gets caught up in a family full of `secrets that nearly leads to her death but not before meeting the alpha werewolf of the major pack of the city and becoming his lover. Something `\she has never allowed herself before. She allowed herself more than a one night `stand, allowed herself a connection. And never having had anything resembling a real relationship, she doesn't know she is falling love with the him until it is too late and as has tied them together.There is the `stereotypical vampire involved, but he is no Lestat or Jean-Claude. He at times is icy cold and other's burning hot.Told entirely in Alice'`s voice, and from her point of view, we fall into her sorrow and root for her to find some kind of happiness. The mystery `she is involved in is more of a MacGuffin to give us insight into Alice'`s horrible past and her hope for the future. The MacGuffin is an object o pure evil power that will show us the true purity of Alice'`s soul.I can't recommend this book enough. So original, `so deep and so powerful, the Book Nerd places it at the top of her new favorite character, `story and world. This book is deeply approved by the Book NerdIt reaches the highest score possible, a 5 out of 5. I would go higher if I could. Truly put this on one your to be read pile and get to it as quickly as possible.https://www.amazon.com/Heart-Malice-A...
    more
  • Amanda
    June 16, 2017
    Heart of Malice is the first book in the 'Alice Worth' series by the debuting author Lisa Edmonds and she really kicks this series off in great style! It is Urban Fantasy at its best; with fast paced action, humour and magic bursting off the page from the very first chapter.For 5 years, Alice Worth has been in hiding from her grandfather Moses Murphy, a powerful and vicious Cabal leader. After fleeing her horrifying imprisonment, Alice fakes her own death, changes her identity and tries her best Heart of Malice is the first book in the 'Alice Worth' series by the debuting author Lisa Edmonds and she really kicks this series off in great style! It is Urban Fantasy at its best; with fast paced action, humour and magic bursting off the page from the very first chapter.For 5 years, Alice Worth has been in hiding from her grandfather Moses Murphy, a powerful and vicious Cabal leader. After fleeing her horrifying imprisonment, Alice fakes her own death, changes her identity and tries her best to keep under the radar of the Cabals and the Supernatural and Paranormal Entity Management Agency while working as an MPI (Mage Private Investigator). Alice is a mage of great power; however, remains scarred physically and emotionally by the horrors she experienced at the hands of the East Coast Cabal, and her aura is tainted by the blood magic she was forced to perform. Alice is a kick ass MPI with a sassy mouth and a tough, take-no-prisoners attitude but her trust issues confine her to a lonely, isolated existence. That is, until Malcolm, a ghost with unusual gifts and a terrible past of his own, becomes mysteriously bound to her. When Alice takes on a case to find an magical object her client believes to be missing from their library, she and her new side-kick, Malcolm, embark on a terrifying series of twists and turns. Their torturous journey leads them to a crazed killer who plans to destroy everything in their path. Added to the craziness is an alpha werewolf, Sean, who lets Alice be the person she needs to be while reigning in his inherently protective nature; as well as a crafty, manipulative vampire with a hidden agenda, and a SPEMA agent who follows the hints and blood trails to her door. I am a big fan of the Urban Fantasy genre with its imaginative world building and exciting story-lines and I feel that Heart of Malice fits the mould beautifully. There is a lot to love about this book as it really has something for everyone! Lots of action, some very cool magic, some fun romance (and a little bit of sexy-time), laughs, and great secondary characters. I feel that Lisa Edmonds is going to be someone to watch closely in the future, and I can't wait to see what else she has up her sleeve! Overall, Heart of Malice is a well written, entertaining story and I am very much looking forward to seeing where this series goes.**I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.**
    more
  • Nicole
    May 15, 2017
    I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!This novel was better than I expected it to be. I enjoyed the characters and I liked the idea behind they story. The story was told in first person point of view and she is a bada$$ type of character.Alice Worth is an alias. She escaped from her grandfather who used and abused her for her magical abilities as well as made her an assassin. Now, Alice runs a private investigation company that deals with all types of problems, in I received this book from net galley for an honest review. Thank you!!This novel was better than I expected it to be. I enjoyed the characters and I liked the idea behind they story. The story was told in first person point of view and she is a bada$$ type of character.Alice Worth is an alias. She escaped from her grandfather who used and abused her for her magical abilities as well as made her an assassin. Now, Alice runs a private investigation company that deals with all types of problems, including the supernatural. She tries to live her life and keep the SPEMA off her back and not leave blood anywhere that could show how powerful her abilities are and give away her identity. She has deep trust issues and relies on no one but herself. She meets Malcolm, a ghost that is somehow bound to her. He was killed and was a mage that still has his abilities. He becomes very helpful and useful to Alice in her investigations. When Alice takes on a new client, she gets into much more than she signed a contract for. Many things were hidden from Alice's client by her family and the backlash led to some interesting and unsuspecting discoveries. Alice also gets help from an alpha werewolf named Sean. Sean wants more from Alice after their initial meeting and things heat up between them in more ways than one. However, Alice is afraid of letting someone close to her. After all, putting your trust in others can get to you to be betrayed. I also like how the author incorporated some flashbacks of Alice's past, though we never learn her true name. Sean and Alice work together to help her client. However, when Sean is accused if something, Alice feels betrayed and it hurts her deeply. The person who accused Sean has ulterior motives and wants Alice. When Alice learns the truth, she is angry.Alice's client is kidnapped and then she is targeted. Sinister things are ahead and some will do whatever is necessary to achieve their goals. Will Alice be able to save her client and solve the mystery surrounding her client? I am looking forward to the next book in the series!!
    more
  • Pamela
    June 17, 2017
    RATED 4.5!Alice Worth is an M.P.I. (Mage Private Investigator). She took on the job to make a living and to continue to put her supernatural gifts to good use. Everything is going as usual, or something similar to it when Alice finds herself in a sticky situation. She finds out a ghost, Malcolm, has been bound to her, and he is a very powerful one at that. Alice needs to keep an eye on him, so she makes Malcolm her partner. Alice must work against the clock for her new client, but little does sh RATED 4.5!Alice Worth is an M.P.I. (Mage Private Investigator). She took on the job to make a living and to continue to put her supernatural gifts to good use. Everything is going as usual, or something similar to it when Alice finds herself in a sticky situation. She finds out a ghost, Malcolm, has been bound to her, and he is a very powerful one at that. Alice needs to keep an eye on him, so she makes Malcolm her partner. Alice must work against the clock for her new client, but little does she know what is in store for her or her new co-worker Malcolm. Malcolm saves her butt more than once, and a friendship even develops between them. Still, Alice must not let down her guard. Her latest case may be dangerous, but not near as much as the man Alice is hiding from, her grandfather, Moses. No matter what, Alice must always watch her back or she may find herself in his clutches once again... and this time she won't survive. HEART OF MALICE is a very interesting paranormal read! I love all the different directions that the story went while still circling a very important one. I could not put HEART OF MALICE down. Alice and her antics constantly had me on edge. Poor Malcolm! He had no idea what he was getting into when he became bound to Alice. I love her client, Natalie, and hope to see much more of her. I also hope to learn more about Malcolm, the ghost, Sean, the werewolf boyfriend and even Agent Lake. It may just be me, but I definitely think there is more to Agent Lake's interest in Alice than there appears!
    more
  • Allyson Abu-hajar
    July 3, 2017
    I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.Alice Worth is a private detective of the paranormal spectrum. She, also, happens to be a mage, but escaped from her grandfather, who heads a capal, which reminds me along the lines of a mafia, only magic is involved. Alice reinvents herself and carefully guards her past. She also is trying to keep under the radar of SPEMA, an agency with a great deal of power and authority.Used to working on her own, Alice has I received a free copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.Alice Worth is a private detective of the paranormal spectrum. She, also, happens to be a mage, but escaped from her grandfather, who heads a capal, which reminds me along the lines of a mafia, only magic is involved. Alice reinvents herself and carefully guards her past. She also is trying to keep under the radar of SPEMA, an agency with a great deal of power and authority.Used to working on her own, Alice has an unexpected visitor in her office, a ghost named Malcolm, in the form of a grotesque monster. Alice threatened to exorcise him, and the snarky ghost showed his skills of magic. Malcolm intrigued Alice enough to welcome him as a member of her team.When Alice is asked by Natalie Newton to help her find missing books. Alice discovers a secret about Natalie's grandmother. Alice along with Malcolm set up protection spells on the house to help ward off any more intruders. Alice and Malcolm hit a snag and uncovered another secret that leaves Natalie caught off guard. Alice flees to go talk to Charles for his help, a vampire, owner of a bar. There Alice meets Sean, who is a handy guy to know and to lend a hand. Alice just might need every spare hand, she can find because the object missing is much more than mere books.So many interesting characters in this book. My favorite had to be Malcolm, the ghost, and the relationship between Sean and Alice. A ghost, mages, vampires...oh my! Great read!
    more
  • Sandra
    July 9, 2017
    Excellent urban fantasy with a strong kick ass heroine. The mystery was interesting, the pacing was good, there is plenty of actin and the balance between action, investigation and character interaction was just right. All the characters were good and I particularly like sidekick ghost Malcolm and how quickly he and Alice form a seemless partnership. I am interested in finding out more about the seeds planted at the beginning about how/why he is back and bound to Alice. Mysterious vampire Charle Excellent urban fantasy with a strong kick ass heroine. The mystery was interesting, the pacing was good, there is plenty of actin and the balance between action, investigation and character interaction was just right. All the characters were good and I particularly like sidekick ghost Malcolm and how quickly he and Alice form a seemless partnership. I am interested in finding out more about the seeds planted at the beginning about how/why he is back and bound to Alice. Mysterious vampire Charles is another good character and someone else I am looking forward to finding out more about, including his interest in Alice cause I am convinced there is something more than romantic interest at play. At least I am hoping so anyway because I do not want what promises to be and awesome UF series ruined by a stupid love triangle. One of the things I enjoyed so much about this was while there is some romance (Yay. Loving protective alpha wolf Sean and his patience and persistence – being clear he is interested in a relationship but respecting Alice’s decisions and not being all stalkery and controlling) there wasn’t any hint of a triangle at least until they very end. So I am going with that kiss being 1 part general attraction and 2 parts ulterior motive for Charles and sticking with Alice’s explanation of influenced by the infusion of vamp blood for healing for her. Really looking forward to the next one. Recommend for fans of Ilona Andrews.
    more
  • Red from Red Hatter Book Blog
    June 15, 2017
    🎩🎩🎩🎩🎩 five hats! Heart Of Malice starts off strong and doesn't stop! Alice is fantastic! This whole book had me on the edge of my seat, you didn't know what would happen next. Alice is a mage with pretty kickass abilities. Teamed up with Malcolm the ghost, they make a near unstoppable team. One thing some authors can't grasp on urban fantasy is blending the world as we know it and a new magical world together. Ms. Edmonds does this seamlessly. Everything was so believable made me want to forget 🎩🎩🎩🎩🎩 five hats! Heart Of Malice starts off strong and doesn't stop! Alice is fantastic! This whole book had me on the edge of my seat, you didn't know what would happen next. Alice is a mage with pretty kickass abilities. Teamed up with Malcolm the ghost, they make a near unstoppable team. One thing some authors can't grasp on urban fantasy is blending the world as we know it and a new magical world together. Ms. Edmonds does this seamlessly. Everything was so believable made me want to forget this isn't our world. I adored Alice and Sean. I like a little romance in my UF, this definitely wasn't an overwhelming romance. This book was packed with a lot of action, a little romance, and some mystery. Alice has a lot to work through in future books, and I really hope we meet her grandfather to make him pay. For being a first book in a new series I didn't feel lost and didn't feel like it was informational overload. I enjoyed every bit of it from beginning to end. Ms. Edmonds has a new fan and I can't wait to see where she takes Alice next. (I'm hoping Sean will be along for the ride 😉)
    more
  • Dawn
    May 27, 2017
    I was a little skeptical at first. A powerful blood mage who is held prisoner by her own grandfather, tortured and forced to do terrible things, fakes her death in order to escape and changes her face. In the beginning scenes she chases a criminal and defends herself forcefully. Then......she almost gets herself killed twice doing dumb amateurish stuff. It didn't make sense. Then the same extremely secretive Mage, meets a guy and opens up like a flower, reluctantly, but she still does it. It see I was a little skeptical at first. A powerful blood mage who is held prisoner by her own grandfather, tortured and forced to do terrible things, fakes her death in order to escape and changes her face. In the beginning scenes she chases a criminal and defends herself forcefully. Then......she almost gets herself killed twice doing dumb amateurish stuff. It didn't make sense. Then the same extremely secretive Mage, meets a guy and opens up like a flower, reluctantly, but she still does it. It seemed opposite to what I think the character was trying to be, but I guess it also made her human. The book had a little 'Kate Daniels' feel to it, and I love Kate Daniels.The storyline kept me guessing and was action packed, though the ending happened quickly, was explained quickly and then forgotten. All that wind-up and it kind of fizzled in the end. I was intrigued by Charles and what his end game is. He is almost as creepy as the vampire in J.C. Daniels books. I was worried about a love triangle, but now I wonder about his motives. Overall, a great read and can't wait for the others.I received a copy of this ARC from Netgalley. This is my honest review.
    more
  • Amanda
    July 14, 2017
    I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book. Thank you City Owl Press and NetGalley. The cover pulled me in and the description definitely piqued my interest. I was excited to read this book. It took me a while to get to it unfortunately, which after picking up I kept asking myself why it took so long. This story is amazing and I absolutely loved it. It is hard for me to get into other books right now as I am waiting on another series but there were no problems with this one. I wo I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book. Thank you City Owl Press and NetGalley. The cover pulled me in and the description definitely piqued my interest. I was excited to read this book. It took me a while to get to it unfortunately, which after picking up I kept asking myself why it took so long. This story is amazing and I absolutely loved it. It is hard for me to get into other books right now as I am waiting on another series but there were no problems with this one. I would have read it in 1 sitting but of course I had to be an adult and be ready for work the next day. So it took two days. It is a quick read but a great one. Nice quick twists and turns throughout and great story plot. The characters are well developed especially with the lead character Alice. I can't wait to see more of how she became the strong person she is. Also, how the story line will go between her and the hot alpha werewolf Sean and the vampire Charles. This is not just a romance though it does touch on it but has a great mystery that keeps you guessing until the end. I guess the best thing I can say is that I am now impatiently wanting the next one already!
    more
  • Bridget
    July 27, 2017
    Lisa Edmonds is new to me. I really wish she had more books! I loved Heart of Malice. Great characters, fast paced, interesting story. Just enough background that you understand Alice but not so much it bogs down the story. I am a fan of urban fantasy but there absolutely must be an HEA. It looks like this series will fill that need. I like strong female characters (Mercy Thompson, Kate Daniels etc) and Alice fits the bill. In fact, this book pretty much encompasses everything I like since we ha Lisa Edmonds is new to me. I really wish she had more books! I loved Heart of Malice. Great characters, fast paced, interesting story. Just enough background that you understand Alice but not so much it bogs down the story. I am a fan of urban fantasy but there absolutely must be an HEA. It looks like this series will fill that need. I like strong female characters (Mercy Thompson, Kate Daniels etc) and Alice fits the bill. In fact, this book pretty much encompasses everything I like since we have a ghost, vampires, and shifters too. We're only missing a dragon;-) I'm not usually a fan of witch based stories but in Heart of Malice, the magic is almost a character of its own. A character I liked a lot.The only thing wrong with this book is that, aside from a couple of novellas, there won't be another one until Spring 2018. Hopefully, the novellas will tide me over until then. Truely loved the book.
    more
  • Alia Therese Lazo
    May 21, 2017
    Deceptions and lies are just right around the corner Alice Worth is sassy, bad ass and knew how to be dependent on herself when things got rough. She is very secretive especially about her past and quite stubborn. After her horrible past with his grandfather’s Cabal, she has trust issues and rarely relies on others. I loved how her character developed throughout the story. The romance was well balanced between sweet and hot. The plot was fast paced and quite enjoyable. The beginning was engagi Deceptions and lies are just right around the corner Alice Worth is sassy, bad ass and knew how to be dependent on herself when things got rough. She is very secretive especially about her past and quite stubborn. After her horrible past with his grandfather’s Cabal, she has trust issues and rarely relies on others. I loved how her character developed throughout the story. The romance was well balanced between sweet and hot. The plot was fast paced and quite enjoyable. The beginning was engaging and it continued up until the end. The writing was fluid and fit quite nicely with the story. The Magic system and its concept was quite interesting. The way magic was treated was dealt perfectly. I received an ARC from the publisher from Net galley. I thank them and the publisher for sending this wonderful book to me.
    more
  • Amber Meyer
    June 26, 2017
    Lisa Edmonds has given a really solid entry into this genre, although it straddles several genres. The characters are solid, particularly Alice. Edmonds is writing in first person, so we get to know Alice's secrets (although not all, which is great because I want to know more). It feels like we're in on something that no one else knows, and I love that feeling of knowing a character better than the other characters. There's a lot of fun supernatural beings about, which just adds to the richness Lisa Edmonds has given a really solid entry into this genre, although it straddles several genres. The characters are solid, particularly Alice. Edmonds is writing in first person, so we get to know Alice's secrets (although not all, which is great because I want to know more). It feels like we're in on something that no one else knows, and I love that feeling of knowing a character better than the other characters. There's a lot of fun supernatural beings about, which just adds to the richness of the story. I'm a very visual reader, and her writing made me feel like I was watching a movie in my head. I don't get this with every book, and it's a real pleasure when this happens. Also, when I read a novel and immediately want the second one, that's also a great sign. I want the second one yesterday. I highly recommend this great read.
    more
  • Pidabean
    June 13, 2017
    I realized I have not read anything by Lisa Edmonds then noticed this is her debut novel. I am fan of supernatural books and this met my expectations. I enjoyed the PI angle for the main character, Alice Worth. She has secrets she keeping from everyone yet tries to help her client even if it get her almost killed. Sean, the alpha werewolf so good, love werewolves. I like how Alice is a alpha but needed Sean’s help and he was willing to help. I liked all the secondary characters in the book as we I realized I have not read anything by Lisa Edmonds then noticed this is her debut novel. I am fan of supernatural books and this met my expectations. I enjoyed the PI angle for the main character, Alice Worth. She has secrets she keeping from everyone yet tries to help her client even if it get her almost killed. Sean, the alpha werewolf so good, love werewolves. I like how Alice is a alpha but needed Sean’s help and he was willing to help. I liked all the secondary characters in the book as well. Can’t wait to read the next Alice Worth book and other books Ms. Edmonds might publish. I received a review copy of this title courtesy from the publisher via NetGalley for a honest review.
    more
Write a review