Friend (With Benefits) Zone
I’m ridiculously attracted to my best friend.Today is a bad day. The worst actually. After dealing with the constant manhandling that comes with being a cocktail waitress at a dive bar and surviving a date from hell, I see an eviction notice slapped on the door of my sketchy basement apartment. Great.When my best friend Devon shows up at my door and uses his stubborn charm (emphasis on stubborn) to get me to move in with him, I give in. We’ve had about a million sleepovers since we met in the kindergarten Deaf program, but this time it’s different because I can’t stop thinking about his hard body covering mine, every single night. I know Devon would do anything for me, but I’m afraid what I want to happen will ruin our friendship forever. And the more time we spend together in close quarters, the harder it’ll be to resist the spark of attraction I’ve always felt. But maybe it’s possible to have the best of both worlds: keep the one relationship I can’t live without and indulge in an attraction I can’t deny.I guess the only thing we can do is try…

Friend (With Benefits) Zone Details

TitleFriend (With Benefits) Zone
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
PublisherAvon Impulse
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, New Adult, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

Friend (With Benefits) Zone Review

  • Hollis
    June 16, 2017
    FRIEND (WITH BENEFITS) ZONE was a book that I was pretty excited about. What I thought was a love story about a deaf character and the bestfriend/boy she loves was actually a love story about two deaf besties and the feelings they've long since denied. So, #ownvoices author, diverse cast, and friends to lovers. Seemed like a slam dunk.We used to talk things out; now we fed emotions with sex.Along the way my excitement kind of waned; it was feeling like a solid three read at one point but the rel FRIEND (WITH BENEFITS) ZONE was a book that I was pretty excited about. What I thought was a love story about a deaf character and the bestfriend/boy she loves was actually a love story about two deaf besties and the feelings they've long since denied. So, #ownvoices author, diverse cast, and friends to lovers. Seemed like a slam dunk.We used to talk things out; now we fed emotions with sex.Along the way my excitement kind of waned; it was feeling like a solid three read at one point but the relentless drama from Jasmine, wanting to do things on her own, refusing help, using sex to avoid her problems, shutting people out, being contrary within her own head.. it felt endless and frustrated me to no end.I held his eyes, begged him to leave it at that. I wanted a few days of ignoring being a burden to anyone but myself. He squeezed my hand -- message received. The delay should have been a relief; it wasn't.Whereas Devon was much easier to love. He wasn't without his problems, he was relentless in his desire to help and yet also enabled his bestie/girlfriend into being the way she was. I could respect that he didn't want to change her, didn't want the fact that they were now dating to change how he treated her, but it still bothered me. Especially when he didn't push back against using intimacy to avoid the real intimacy of talking things out. But his heart was always in the right place.. even if he had his own problems he constantly refused to deal with, too. "We need time to figure this out." <-- yeah, because almost 80% of the book is clearly not enough time.I absolutely appreciated the concept of this story, I loved the diversity (some lgbtq+ themes, a mix of deaf and hearing parents, mental health, and more) and the realities of the daily struggles in trying to be employed in a world that is not always accommodating.. that, especially, was not something I'd read about before. However the angst was too much, I hated the communication difficulties (and ironically they had nothing to do with their lack of verbal speech or ability to hear) and, at least initially, I felt it was not always clear when someone was signing vs speaking. It took me a while to realize Devon was also a deaf character and she wasn't reading his lips when he spoke. We were going around in circles when we both wanted the same thing.Because of how much I loved the idea of this kind of romance, if not the story on a whole, Brown has definitely sparked in me a desire to read more of this topic.. or at least investigate more titles that share these particular themes. FRIEND (WITH BENEFITS) ZONE may have been angstier than I expected, and the latter half of the story dragged on with repetitive interactions and frustrations, but the ending was sweet. That being said I hope we see a lot more romances with both, not just one, main characters having differences that don't make them different to each other. It's always wonderful reading a story about acceptance or being accepted by the world or another.. but we need more romances, more stories, where that acceptance isn't an issue at all. They just are. Different, sure, but where their differences aren't the issue. And for that I applaud the author. I just wish the parts around that central theme had been as moving. 2.5 "I knew her better than anyone else, yet I still didn't know how to be what she needed" stars** I received an ARC from Edelweiss and the publisher (thank you!) in exchange for an honest review. **
    more
  • Dísir
    June 18, 2017
    'Friend (With Benefits) Zone' started out very promising, with the blurb sounding a growing-up story of 2 deaf people trying to find their way in the world just as the notion of building a career looms large. But beyond that, I liked the idea of putting people with disabilities in the spotlight and showing that they actually do lead lives as 'normal' as those who don’t—and thought that this would provide a different edge to the best friends turned lovers type of read. But with the sexual tension 'Friend (With Benefits) Zone' started out very promising, with the blurb sounding a growing-up story of 2 deaf people trying to find their way in the world just as the notion of building a career looms large. But beyond that, I liked the idea of putting people with disabilities in the spotlight and showing that they actually do lead lives as 'normal' as those who don’t—and thought that this would provide a different edge to the best friends turned lovers type of read. But with the sexual tension between Jasmine and Devon shattering so early on, the direction in which the story was going to go became rather unclear. And I found myself unpleasantly surprised when maturity (or the lack of it) came into play and formed the major part of the conflict—driven mostly by Jasmine. She started out as strongly independent, but that soon moved to bullheadedly, stupidly stubborn when she started insisting on being an island and going at it all on her own, pushing everyone else away because that was the way she wanted it to be. Not accepting help from Devon and her closest friends (then have them trying to reel her back in), using sex avoid the issue, vacillating between wanting Dev and wanting her own way were just signs of her irrational immaturity that frustrated me to no end, which actually went on ad nauseum to the point where I thought they should have given up on her because there was no getting her to see reason. As much as Devon's desire to help her and support her in everything, he did come across as somewhat spineless towards the end, when he needed to leave Jasmine on her own for her to finally come to her senses. Instead, he couldn't quite let her go or do a complete break, even when he had his own share of dodging the intended career path that his family wanted for him throughout. In fact, I needed to see that Jasmine wanted their relationship Devon even if she had nothing to her name. But because Devon had arranged it such that she could have her bar and own it (with the startup costs included as a loan), it felt as though it was only with her future secured and in place that it was easy to get back with him. This constant push-pull vibe that got stronger, as well as the anti-climatic ending did, unfortunately, grate on me. I couldn’t quite shrug away how much I disliked the characters by the end and this sadly, tanked the whole story for me. *ARC by Edelweiss(still grateful for the copy, mind)
    more
  • Jacque
    June 19, 2017
    I don't know why but I kind of expected Friend (With Benefits) Zone to be a humorous book. I think it's the combination of two 'friend' phrases being mashed together. Well that and the blurb. It contained some keywords that had me thinking this should be a funny, sweet story. I was wrong. I'm really on the fence with this one. On one hand, I loved the story. Lifelong friends becoming something more, working the whole friends things, the bumps along the way to get to their HEA. All the pining awa I don't know why but I kind of expected Friend (With Benefits) Zone to be a humorous book. I think it's the combination of two 'friend' phrases being mashed together. Well that and the blurb. It contained some keywords that had me thinking this should be a funny, sweet story. I was wrong. I'm really on the fence with this one. On one hand, I loved the story. Lifelong friends becoming something more, working the whole friends things, the bumps along the way to get to their HEA. All the pining away, the angst sometimes makes for great reading. Sometimes. What can kill it for me is too much angst, too many bumps. And that there is where I have issues. Not with Devon. He was great although at times it was just a bit too much of a helper. I can see this could be a bit annoying but when it's come from the heart, you have to just love them for it. Then there is the family and friends. I loved all the extra characters especially Blake, Nikki and Pete. Funny, familiar and willing to point out the obvious to those they love. Without them, the story wouldn't have been complete. That leaves one person and there is where my problem lays.*Sigh* Jasmine. She was just too much. Too much pride, too much drama, too much angst. At first, it wasn't too bad. I get why she has issues. Her father died when she was young and her mom emotional checked out. We eventually find out why her mom is the way she is and while it wasn't great, it did make sense. She doesn't want to depend on someone else and get hurt again. I. Get. It. Nevertheless, there comes a time where you begin to think okay now she's gonna come around. No? Okay now. Umm..how about now? There will eventually be a now, right? And so begins the story dragging. Like a record with a skip, it just kept coming and coming. Now to be clear, Friend (With Benefits) Zone did not suck. On the contrary, I did like it. The beginning was great, the ending even better, it's just some stuff in the middle that had my mind wandering. Yes, I would still recommend the book because I like what I have read by author Laura Brown. I would just add a clause to the recommendation.I received this book from The JeepDiva prior to release with the express purpose of an honest review. The opinions, contents, and rating of this review are solely mineStars - 3.5, Flames - 3
    more
  • Christa
    July 1, 2017
    This is a character driven romance about two friends who become lovers. I loved Devon and Jasmine. They have been friends since childhood. Jasmine has not had it easy, and Devon has been a constant in her life. The transition from good friends to dating was very natural and the problems faced were realistic. The plot did drag at times, but I was never bored.I love the way Laura Brown writes deaf characters. Her main characters may be deaf, but this by no means defines them. There is no bitternes This is a character driven romance about two friends who become lovers. I loved Devon and Jasmine. They have been friends since childhood. Jasmine has not had it easy, and Devon has been a constant in her life. The transition from good friends to dating was very natural and the problems faced were realistic. The plot did drag at times, but I was never bored.I love the way Laura Brown writes deaf characters. Her main characters may be deaf, but this by no means defines them. There is no bitterness or angst, it's a part of who they are. Signs of Attraction was the first book I read by Laura and it's one of my favorites. Characters with disabilities or chronic illnesses are generally sidelined to secondary characters who are defined by their disability. People are more than a disability and it's so refreshing to read main characters written this way. I even hesitate to call it a disability. It doesn't slow down any characters, being Deaf is just a different way of experiencing life. I recommend this book for people who like character driven romance. If you prefer a heavier plot, you might not enjoy this book as much as I did. 4 Stars!
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    June 11, 2017
    Whenever a Laura Brown novel is within reach, a box of tissue need not be far away. She enlightens, inspires and seduces, while emphasizing the beauty of being unique. Jasper and Devon are the centerpieces of an exceptional love story. In a world where being different can be alienating and dangerous, two special people have found acceptance in each other. Written with love and full of hope and heartbreak, Friend Zone is a tale that needs to be told. One meant to uplift, not tear down.
    more
  • Jane
    June 7, 2017
    I won this book from Goodreads First-reads. This did not influence my review.This is my first book by Laura Brown but will not be my last. This is the story of Devon and Jasmine. Both are hard-of-hearing but Devon does have hearing aids to help him out a bit. Jas does not and relies on ASL. Dev and Jas have been each others best friend since kindergarten. They have always been there for each other. For some reason neither has been able to form any kind of lasting relationship with someone else. I won this book from Goodreads First-reads. This did not influence my review.This is my first book by Laura Brown but will not be my last. This is the story of Devon and Jasmine. Both are hard-of-hearing but Devon does have hearing aids to help him out a bit. Jas does not and relies on ASL. Dev and Jas have been each others best friend since kindergarten. They have always been there for each other. For some reason neither has been able to form any kind of lasting relationship with someone else. Then the day comes that they realize they each have feelings for the other. Not wanting to ruin the best friend relationship they have they do nothing, for awhile. I really can't say anymore without spoilers. This is a great love story that will hold your attention from start to finish. I read it in one day. Give it a try. You will not be disappointed.
    more
  • Lisarenee
    July 1, 2017
    >>>>>My Synopsis (Review Follows): <<<<<Jas and Dev have been best friends since they were young. In Jas' crazy messed up world, Dev's been her one constant, her rock. When she gets evicted from her apartment, he comes to her rescue. He offers her a place to stay and, as they've done since they were kids, she crashes in his bed. The thing is they aren't kids anymore, and this time something starts to stir between them. Dare they give in to it? Is the risk of what co >>>>>My Synopsis (Review Follows): <<<<<Jas and Dev have been best friends since they were young. In Jas' crazy messed up world, Dev's been her one constant, her rock. When she gets evicted from her apartment, he comes to her rescue. He offers her a place to stay and, as they've done since they were kids, she crashes in his bed. The thing is they aren't kids anymore, and this time something starts to stir between them. Dare they give in to it? Is the risk of what could be lost worth the price of what could be gained?>>>>>My Review: <<<<<This was a sweet romance that dealt with family issues, the changing dynamics of a friendship, and fear. Fear is a powerful thing. It can keep us from reaching our potential, keep us from doing what we're meant to do, or keep us from finding the love of our life. The latter is the dilemma that both Jas and Dev face, but of the two, if things don't work out, Jas is the one with more to lose. While Dev has family to fall back on, he's been Jas' rock when times got rough. Jas' fear is real and while she's not alone in it, she, as her friend Nikki points out, is the one with the baggage that needs to be dealt with for the relationship to have a chance.Dev and Jas are both deaf, but Dev still has some hearing and uses hearing aides. He's about to graduate from college and is supposed to go work for his dad's accounting firm, something he doesn't wish to do. He'd rather go into social work. Jas, on the other hand, works as a waitress and is saving her money so she can open her own bar. It's what her father had done and she's inherited his passion for running such a place. Unfortunately, her father passed away years ago and the bar he'd once run has since been sold, but she's saved his recipes in the hope that some day she'll follow in his footsteps.The song that was playing in my head as I read this one was 'Say You Won't Let Go' byJames Arthur:'Then you smiled over your shoulderFor a minute, I was stone-cold soberI pulled you closer to my chestAnd you asked me to stay overI said, I already told yaI think that you should get some restI knew I loved you thenBut you'd never know'Cause I played it cool when I was scared of letting goI know I needed youBut I never showedBut I wanna stay with you until we're grey and oldJust say you won't let goJust say you won't let go'I really enjoyed this romance and gave it 4 1/2 out of 5 roses. I loved the relationship between these two, and the way Dev knew how to handle Jas, and, ultimately, put her fears to rest. I could totally relate to Jas because when you lose one parent, for me it was through divorce, and the other is dealing with their own pain and grief sometimes the kids get the short end of the stick. I had other family to fall back on, but Jas had none. What she hasn't yet come to realize is that Dev already is her family. They just haven't made it official. I enjoyed every step of Jas' journey in making that discovery. On the Lisarenee Romance Rating Scale, this one get a STEAM rating--too hot for a fan, but you still have a handle on things. You should use extreme caution when reading a book with this rating in public. People may inquire as to why you looked flustered and flushed.
    more
  • Zili
    June 25, 2017
    Friend (With Benefits) Zone is a short and dramatic friends to lovers story. I'm going to completely honest and say that I'm a little conflicted about the plot, which was for the most part, a bit of a mixed bag for me. Don't get me wrong I did like the story I just didn't love it...Oh the Diversity! It really shouldn't be such a rare occurrence to read a story where the main characters are deaf but unfortunately it is. I find this particularly shocking because one of my school friends is deaf. W Friend (With Benefits) Zone is a short and dramatic friends to lovers story. I'm going to completely honest and say that I'm a little conflicted about the plot, which was for the most part, a bit of a mixed bag for me. Don't get me wrong I did like the story I just didn't love it...Oh the Diversity! It really shouldn't be such a rare occurrence to read a story where the main characters are deaf but unfortunately it is. I find this particularly shocking because one of my school friends is deaf. When we were in junior school a team from the National Deaf Children's Organisation come in to teach us the basics of BSL fingerspelling to help us communicate with Glenn. Although we all enjoyed learning BSL (which I'm reliably told is different from ASL) I genuinely don't think as 10-year-olds we understood the significance of how hard it would be for a him not being able to communicate in the same was as the rest of us. BUT he never seemed in any way less able and is still just Glenn, not deaf Glenn. So what I really appreciated in the book was the positive representation of deaf people and the inclusion the characters demonstrated. Being deaf is just a part of their lives and although it is incorporated seamlessly into the plot, the real story is about the relationship between Jasmine and Devon.I'm a sucker for a friends-to-lover story so this element was always going to be a bonus for me. I'm not totally convinced on how the actual romance progressed. Jas is full of self doubt and I wasn't sure what to make of her constant back-and-forth. I often found myself getting cross and hoping Dev would leave her to save herself for once rather than always being the hero.Dev is everything you would want in a BBF - if only he could move past his saviour complex! He's patient, sweet and selfless. I just REALLY wanted him and Jas to move past the angst and be on the same page as lovers, like they were as friends. On the upside Dev knows how to bring out the swoon and totally woos Jas, even when she doesn't want to be wooed.All in all it's a cute story with lots of laughs, kissing and drama surrounded by a much deeper meaning than your average friends-to-lovers coming of age story. 3 Stars in my Sky!I received a copy from the publisher (via Edelweiss) in exchange for an honest review!
    more
  • Sarah
    June 26, 2017
    I fell hard for Devon from the moment he was introduced and he just kept getting better as the story progressed. I loved the friendship between him and Jas from the start. The sense of innocent devotion mixed with emerging sexual awareness makes for an almost intoxicating chemistry between them. This is very much a new adult romance. As Devon finishes college, Jas and Devon are choosing careers and futures for themselves and as Jas finds herself frustrated by seemingly impossible obstacles, Devo I fell hard for Devon from the moment he was introduced and he just kept getting better as the story progressed. I loved the friendship between him and Jas from the start. The sense of innocent devotion mixed with emerging sexual awareness makes for an almost intoxicating chemistry between them. This is very much a new adult romance. As Devon finishes college, Jas and Devon are choosing careers and futures for themselves and as Jas finds herself frustrated by seemingly impossible obstacles, Devon finds himself caught between family expectations and his own dreams. I really enjoyed the adulting aspect of this book but there were times where Devon and Jas’ opportunities felt a little too easy and their futures a little too tidy. I found myself fascinated by Jas and Devon’s experiences as Deaf. The subtleties of their communication with each other and with others was interesting and Jas’ experiences with work were quite thought provoking. I love the way the author makes these two immediately recogniseable Millennials before we even notice that they are Deaf. I also enjoyed the moments where the experience of being Deaf adds to the intimacy between Jas and Devon. I really enjoyed the characters in this story but I did struggle with the slightly rambling plot. Jas has a complicated life and past experiences have left her wary of relationships and commitment. The result is a whole lot of angst filled yo-yo emotions that I found tedious by the mid point of the book. There were times I struggled to believe in the ‘best friends for life’ relationship between Devon and Jas because their communication is so poor and Jas finds it impossible to trust. I had some empathy for Jas because of her family experiences but there were a number of times I wanted Devon to stand up for himself and stop letting her walk over him. This isn’t a balanced relationship at all - Devon is Jas’ emotional support but she doesn’t give a whole lot back. Jas and Devon’s friends are thoroughly enjoyable in this story. Devon’s brother and his boyfriend are a sweet and calm anecdote to Jas and Devon’s angst. I love their relationship with their school friends and Devon’s experiences as a social worker are great.
    more
  • Wall-to-wall books - wendy
    July 1, 2017
    Totally fell in love with Jas (Jasmine) and Devon in the very first chapter.For some readers it's all about the setting, where it takes place, in the city, in the country, someplace you've never been before, someplace you've always wanted to go. For some people it's all about the suspense, or all about the romance. This book, for me, was all about the characters. Everything else took second stage to them. But then... Jas really started to frustrate me so much! I still loved her, I was just frus Totally fell in love with Jas (Jasmine) and Devon in the very first chapter.For some readers it's all about the setting, where it takes place, in the city, in the country, someplace you've never been before, someplace you've always wanted to go. For some people it's all about the suspense, or all about the romance. This book, for me, was all about the characters. Everything else took second stage to them. But then... Jas really started to frustrate me so much! I still loved her, I was just frustrated with her. She was guarded, I get that. But she was guarded to the point of being a brick wall! Stopping Dev right in his tracks. Devon was a sweetheart and never gave up on her and I loved that about him. She just needed to trust him and her love for him.It was very interesting that the two main characters and most of their friends were deaf. I don't think I have ever read a book like this. I, myself took two semesters of sign language because I worked in Special Ed. So it was kind of cool to actually be able to visualize the signing that was going on. I was testing myself - I have forgotten a lot :-( LOLThe story got a little long in the middle, But - had a fantastic ending! Ohh what he did for her at the end... it was OMG romantic! It was definitely worth the wait and worth the read. This was a nice summer read!* (warning - it was a little HOT in places! and there was a bit of swearing). I voluntarily posted this review after receiving a copy of this book from Partners in Crime Tours - Thank You!
    more
  • Avid Reader
    June 26, 2017
    Friend (With Benefits) Zone by Laura Brown4 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: Discrimination of deaf people, severe depressionI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.This is a sweet story about friends who are more family. Jas is working as a waitress in a bar, but her true dream is to own and run her own bar - a bar where deaf people wouldn't be discriminated against. She is deaf and despite her deafness, she has lived on her own since her father passed away. Despite having a living Friend (With Benefits) Zone by Laura Brown4 starsM/F RomanceTriggers: Discrimination of deaf people, severe depressionI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.This is a sweet story about friends who are more family. Jas is working as a waitress in a bar, but her true dream is to own and run her own bar - a bar where deaf people wouldn't be discriminated against. She is deaf and despite her deafness, she has lived on her own since her father passed away. Despite having a living mother, when her father died, her mother fell in to a deep depression and never recovered. Jas tries to keep some kind of a relationship with her, but her mom barely learned how to sign in order to communicate with her daughter and is just angry and bitter.Jas wants to do things on her own - she refuses to have a handout. Even though things keep creeping up and landing on her - she keeps getting back up and hoping to continue on with her dream.Devon is sweet, kind, and totally in love with Jas. He is also deaf and has been Jas' support since they were kids. Devon has a home life with one parent who is partially deaf and another who teaches deaf students. They are kind and definitely want their children to be happy. However, the father is somewhat of a tough sell - he wants his boys to follow in his footsteps.This was a long, drawn out story and I felt that it was, at times, too long and drawn out. There were some chapters that could have been deleted without compromising the story at all, but overall, this was a sweet story and I did enjoy it.
    more
  • Cam (abookeater)
    June 26, 2017
    DNF @ 58%A copy was provided by the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewFrom the premise alone, I sincerely thought this Romance would click instantly with me. It has one of my favorite tropes, friends turned lovers, plus, they’re roommates! This was supposed to be domestic fluff galore.Unfortunately, the plot was all over the place and I felt like I knew nothing about these characters. The dialogue was stiff and boring a well. Their personalities were super bland and I c DNF @ 58%A copy was provided by the publisher through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewFrom the premise alone, I sincerely thought this Romance would click instantly with me. It has one of my favorite tropes, friends turned lovers, plus, they’re roommates! This was supposed to be domestic fluff galore.Unfortunately, the plot was all over the place and I felt like I knew nothing about these characters. The dialogue was stiff and boring a well. Their personalities were super bland and I couldn’t care less about their advancing relationship. There was so much unnecessary conflict and drama; I wanted to drop it sooner but I felt like maybe they deserved a chance. Turns out I was wrong. I guess I set my expectations way too high.I did like that both MCs were deaf and spoke in ASL. It added something real to the story but it just wasn’t enough for me to keep going.
    more
  • Karen Mahara
    June 27, 2017
    I love the "friends become lovers" trope, as it reminds me of my own love story with my husband of 12+ years. This twist on the trope didn't let me down for a second. Steamy romance combined with real life struggles snagged my heart and wouldn't let go. Jas can be infuriating and stubborn, but she is resilient and strong. Dev, who is absolutely swoon worthy, loves with all his heart and all he has, and I wish more men--in literature and real life--love the way he does. This couple had me crying, I love the "friends become lovers" trope, as it reminds me of my own love story with my husband of 12+ years. This twist on the trope didn't let me down for a second. Steamy romance combined with real life struggles snagged my heart and wouldn't let go. Jas can be infuriating and stubborn, but she is resilient and strong. Dev, who is absolutely swoon worthy, loves with all his heart and all he has, and I wish more men--in literature and real life--love the way he does. This couple had me crying, laughing, yelling at my kindle, and sighing. The road they walk is full of struggles, but their strength and commitment to each other had me rooting for them at every turn. I look forward to seeing what else this author has in store.
    more
  • Kari
    June 22, 2017
    This one started out strong. I was really loving the relationship and friendship between Devon and Jasmine. I love friend to lovers stories and this one looked promising. However, by the half way mark, I was really looking forward to the book ending. Jasmine just got really tiring. I felt so badly for Devon. She was so stubborn and created so much drama where there didn't need to be. I ended up not caring if she got a HEA in the end. The one thing that saved the book for me was the side romance. This one started out strong. I was really loving the relationship and friendship between Devon and Jasmine. I love friend to lovers stories and this one looked promising. However, by the half way mark, I was really looking forward to the book ending. Jasmine just got really tiring. I felt so badly for Devon. She was so stubborn and created so much drama where there didn't need to be. I ended up not caring if she got a HEA in the end. The one thing that saved the book for me was the side romance. That couple was cute.
    more
  • Heather
    June 19, 2017
    Friend (With Benefits) Zone was a fantastic read, complete with well-developed characters and edge-of-your-seat tension. Laura Brown does a great job pulling her readers in and keeping them hooked until the last page. I loved the build-up between Jas and Devon as they explored their feelings for each other and nagivated their career paths. I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in contemporary romances with realistic storylines.
    more
  • Kristi Davis
    June 28, 2017
    It started off really well. I didn't know these were deaf characters when I downloaded it. I LOVED that. The writing was really excellent too. However I got to 40% and I just got extremely bored and had to keep pushing myself to read it and finally I just gave up and DNF. Very slow, push and pull, and just too much blah blah blah. It had a lot of promise though. Maybe I was just not in the mood.Disclaimer: I received a free ARC from Avon.
    more
  • Bookbesties
    June 1, 2017
    I reeeeally wanted to like this book, I really did..but sadly it just was a miss for me. I didn't really connect with the characters like I'd hoped to. Full review to come...
  • Suzanne Stockman Krohn
    June 27, 2017
    The plot was pretty standard new adult stuff, with really interesting deaf culture aspects. The writing style wasn't for me, however. Spare and awkward at times.
  • Elena ( The Queen Reads )
    June 25, 2017
    Two insanely attractive deaf bestfriends falling for each other? Amazing trope right? Diverse and unique right? Unfortunately, the whole execution was so cliche. I wanted to love it, I do, but it was just too common. Nothing new about it besides the unique plot.
    more
Write a review