Resurrection (Redemption Harbor #1)
From USA Today bestselling author Katie Reus comes the ALL NEW Redemption Harbor series where sparks fly and so do bullets…She faked her own death…Skye Arévalo left the CIA and faked her death to protect Colt Stuart, the only man she ever loved. Months later, a brutal kidnapping draws her to quietly infiltrate a dangerous cartel. Just when she thinks she’s home free, things go horribly wrong and she escapes with bloodthirsty enemies on her heels…only to find herself face to face with a bewildered and angry Colt.He’ll cross every line to save her…When Colt, a former Marine, finds out the woman he loved betrayed him, he’s shocked and hurt, but it doesn’t stop him from breaking every law on the books to keep her alive. Unfortunately, it might not be enough to stop a powerful enemy who will do anything to see the world burn and Skye dead.FIRST IN NEW SERIES.

Resurrection (Redemption Harbor #1) Details

TitleResurrection (Redemption Harbor #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherKR Press, LLC
Rating
GenreRomance, Romantic Suspense, Suspense, Contemporary, Action, Adventure, War, Military, Adult

Resurrection (Redemption Harbor #1) Review

  • Claire Robinson
    July 5, 2017
    4.5 - "You’re not dead yet." Stars!ITs LIVE!!►kindle smarturl.it/i17clu►iBooks smarturl.it/732l2d►Nook smarturl.it/41ivzh►Kobo http://bit.ly/2sCMZ5UA new romantic suspense series from Katie Reus, is certainly something to get excited about, and Resurrection delivers romance, action and adventure in the author’s usual inimitable style.I really enjoyed this one, Katie is one of my go-to authors if I am looking for a bit of action and suspense with my romance, and the action was definitely there wi 4.5 - "You’re not dead yet." Stars!ITs LIVE!!►kindle smarturl.it/i17clu►iBooks smarturl.it/732l2d►Nook smarturl.it/41ivzh►Kobo http://bit.ly/2sCMZ5UA new romantic suspense series from Katie Reus, is certainly something to get excited about, and Resurrection delivers romance, action and adventure in the author’s usual inimitable style.I really enjoyed this one, Katie is one of my go-to authors if I am looking for a bit of action and suspense with my romance, and the action was definitely there with Skye and Colt’s story. Not the usual dose of suspense in this one, you pretty much knew who the players were from the offset, and the author gives good dual POV so you get into everybody’s heads at the right times. She didn’t want to let go of him… once had been enough. The premise for this one was great as well, Colt has spent the last six months believing his partner in work as well as in life is dead, killed from an explosion, when on an undercover op, to rescue the wife of one of his closest friends who should he come face to face with. One day he’d learn all her secrets… So you have the second chance reconnection between Colt and Skye, and quite an emotive one at that, playing out around the rescue and return home of Mary Kate to her husband Mercer in Redemption Harbor, this is where we are then introduced to the rest of Colt’s family/crew. And once Skye gives Colt the reasons for her faking her death, he realizes he is going to need each and every one of them to have his (and her) back trying to bring the villain to justice."I can never get enough of you."Great start to the Redemption Harbor series, the author has basically given the origins of Redemption Harbor Consulting with this story, and set up the series nicely, while also giving you a little insight to each of the guys in Colt’s close knit group of friends. Skye was sassy, smart and well able to look after herself too, so-much-so she was almost the Alpha of the two of them, well until they hit the sexy-times that is, but then she wasn’t afraid to tell Colt exactly what she wanted him to do there either."We all need this, need to have a purpose, to give back too those who need it most."You can feel the potential oozing out of your Kindle for this series, and I cannot wait for the next book Savage Rising; due for release in September."This is going to work. I feel it."ARC generously provided by the author, and it was, as it always is, my absolute pleasure to provide the above honest review.
    more
  • CC
    July 17, 2017
    If you like romantic suspense - stop what you are reading and read this book! I am just giddy over how much I loved it! It was the perfect combination of kick ass action and a wonderful reunion between the MCs who are already in love. It starts off fast, calms down a bit and then races to the end. My only complaint is that I would have liked more. Colt is perfect. And I mean perfect!!! There are just no other words to describe him. Skye is my hero. I want to be her in another life. She kicked as If you like romantic suspense - stop what you are reading and read this book! I am just giddy over how much I loved it! It was the perfect combination of kick ass action and a wonderful reunion between the MCs who are already in love. It starts off fast, calms down a bit and then races to the end. My only complaint is that I would have liked more. Colt is perfect. And I mean perfect!!! There are just no other words to describe him. Skye is my hero. I want to be her in another life. She kicked ass but was not offensive or OTT alpha. She was the perfect combination of tough and caring. While I would not call her sweet, she has a huge heart and is willing to martyr herself for others. But there is not one stupid bone in her body. I loved the secondary characters. Would have loved even more time with them. Mary Grace and Mercer seem like an awesome couple and I cannot wait for the books about the other guys. Please Katie WRITE FASTER!!Totally safe for my GR friends.
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    July 3, 2017
    Resurrection has me excited to see where Katie Reus is going to take this series. There is such a great cast of characters in this first book that it just builds the anticipation for the next one to publish. Colt is a swoon worthy Hero with just the right mix of possessiveness and protectiveness. Skye is a badass heroine who not only can take care of herself, but ends up being a Hero all on her own. To see Colt not feel threatened by this, but actually love her more for it, made these two a grea Resurrection has me excited to see where Katie Reus is going to take this series. There is such a great cast of characters in this first book that it just builds the anticipation for the next one to publish. Colt is a swoon worthy Hero with just the right mix of possessiveness and protectiveness. Skye is a badass heroine who not only can take care of herself, but ends up being a Hero all on her own. To see Colt not feel threatened by this, but actually love her more for it, made these two a great couple to read about.This book was pretty heavy on the action and suspense but I never felt the romance was overshadowed by it. I think that's because this author has a talent for making her main characters so devoted to each other that you feel their love and loyalty in everything they do.I'm looking forward to book 2! ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • ♥ WishfulMiss ♥
    July 13, 2017
    💕~Skye & Colt~💕Best Friends, Lovers, Soulmates Katie Reus gave us another flawless romantic suspense with a kick ass heroine and a swoon-worthy hero!!! And it is 100% safe ladies!!Legendary CIA agent, Skye Arevalo fakes her own death to keep her partner/lover, Colt Stuart, alive. Faking her death was easy, trying to stay in the shadows while hunting the man who destroyed her life is another matter. When she hears through her contact that Colt's childhood friend Mary Grace, isn't dead but act 💕~Skye & Colt~💕Best Friends, Lovers, Soulmates Katie Reus gave us another flawless romantic suspense with a kick ass heroine and a swoon-worthy hero!!! And it is 100% safe ladies!!Legendary CIA agent, Skye Arevalo fakes her own death to keep her partner/lover, Colt Stuart, alive. Faking her death was easy, trying to stay in the shadows while hunting the man who destroyed her life is another matter. When she hears through her contact that Colt's childhood friend Mary Grace, isn't dead but actually being held hostage at a drug cartel compound, Skye can't walk away. Walking away from Colt was the hardest thing Skye had ever had to do. Getting in and busting his friend out is a small price to pay to the man who came to mean more to Skye than anything else in the world. For six months, Colt thought his best friend and love of his life, Skye has been dead. To come face to face with her, alive and whole, Colt sees this as his second chance to grab hold of his woman and never let her go.When the threat to Skye is revealed, Colt will do everything in his power to make sure Skye is finally safe and finally by his side, where she belongs. What I loved: I loved everything about this book. Resurrection was action packed, adrenaline fueled, had great side characters, sweet romance, scorching off-the-charts heat and all around feel good moments. Skye is one of my top fave heroinces. She's smart, funny, sweet, awkward but so endearing. She is the type of heroine we need to see more of. She was independent, strong and capable. Her interesting upbringing and her skills made her an oddity but she was comfortable in her own skin." Social awkwardness is my super power." She was perfectly matched with Colt, and I loved him for being a man confident enough and smart enough to appreciate Skye. He saw her differences and appreciated them for what they were. He embraced her quirks, admired her strengths and accepted her whole heartedly. Even if they did butt heads - because no one person called the shots between the two of them. They were a team, in the field and out. He realized early on that she was it for him. I loved that he was strong enough for both of them and wasn't afriad to express the depths of his feeling for Skye. He was devoted, determined and 100% in love. *sigh*Colt is one of Katie Reus' best heroes. I have a serious crush on him!Between the awesomeness that is Skye and swoon-worthy Colt, there was nothing I didn't love about Resurrection. Katie Reus is fast becoming my top go-to author. Favorite Lines: "Blood makes you related. Love and loyalty makes you family." Memorable Moments: I really found myself enjoying the flashbacks of Skye and Colt's relationship. The beginning of their romance was sweet and fresh and wildly addictive. I liked watching them sharing and bonding. I don't normally like flashbacks but in this one, I actually found myself wishing for more flashbacks. Colt and Skye are just so awesome that any extra glimpse of them together was a bonus for me. I cannot recommend this one enough. I loved the story, the H and h, the epilogue, the romance, the love story, the friendships and the family love that bonds the characters. A must read!!! I have got to make time to read the author's book list!! * * *ARC provided for an honest review* * * SAFETY (view spoiler)[Ages: Colt is 34 and Skye is either the same age or close to it.Cheating: None.OM/OW drama: None.Separation: 6 months. Skye fakes her death and Colt is left to believe that she is dead. Colt remains celibate during their seperation :)Push/Pull: Skye pushes away but only because she thinks it is literally the only way she can keep Colt and his family safe. Although not ideal, she does have valid points for distancing herself from Colt. Once the truth comes out, she finally allows her self to think about a future with Colt and taking down the enemy as a team, no longer working alone. She because 100% invested in the chance of a HEA with Colt. Main Pursuer of relationship: Colt is definitely the main pursuer. Skye is a tough cookie to crack but Colt knows she's worth it. And Skye doesn't put up much a fight, especially when she gets her second chance to be with the man she loves.Triggers: None.HEA/HFN: Ends with a HEA and a cute epilogue. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Janie
    July 18, 2017
    This is a great start to a new series by Katie Reus. It was a good blend of action, suspense, romance and world building. I absolutely adore this group of friends that are a family in all the ways that it matters. I can't wait to see all of them find their love and get their hea. In this book we meet Colt and Skye. Skye had to fake her death 6 months ago and it almost destroyed Colt. This story brings them together again. I loved that while Colt was angry with her decision, he didn't make her pa This is a great start to a new series by Katie Reus. It was a good blend of action, suspense, romance and world building. I absolutely adore this group of friends that are a family in all the ways that it matters. I can't wait to see all of them find their love and get their hea. In this book we meet Colt and Skye. Skye had to fake her death 6 months ago and it almost destroyed Colt. This story brings them together again. I loved that while Colt was angry with her decision, he didn't make her pay for it. He was happy to have his girl back. I also loved how he was alpha but also knew she could take care of herself and loved her all the more for it. They were perfect for each other. And the fact that he didn't start jumping into random beds to deal with his grief was a huge plus also. Up next is Savage and I can tell he's going to be delicious. Also the story will have the h's little girl and I love stories with kids. I can't wait for the next addition to this series.
    more
  • Nicola
    July 10, 2017
    Katie Reus isn’t an author I’ve read before, and I’m actually unsure why as looking at the raft of books she’s published she’s absolutely up my street. And with action, suspense and a good helping of steamy second-chance romance, Resurrection kicks the Redemption Harbour series off with a bang.What immediately struck me was how there’s no quiet lead in and readers are thrown right into the thick of things as the characters come to grips with the kidnap and assumed death of one of their own, Mary Katie Reus isn’t an author I’ve read before, and I’m actually unsure why as looking at the raft of books she’s published she’s absolutely up my street. And with action, suspense and a good helping of steamy second-chance romance, Resurrection kicks the Redemption Harbour series off with a bang.What immediately struck me was how there’s no quiet lead in and readers are thrown right into the thick of things as the characters come to grips with the kidnap and assumed death of one of their own, Mary Grace. And for ex-marine now CIA agent, Colt Stuart, this unearths all manner of feelings having lost his own partner and love six months previously. "Her name is Skye. And she is listed as dead." Whilst this didn’t hold quite the amount of suspense and action I was hoping for, it was still a great read and Katie Reus has put all the pieces in place to continue the series, introducing us to each character and allowing us to get to know them a little, whilst at the same time captivating us with what was a heated, sensual and, at times, emotional reconnection for Colt and Skye. "I knew you loved me long before you could admit it." Thankfully we don’t have long to wait as #2 Savage Rising is due in September and, after the set-up created, I'm excited for more from the gents, and ladies, at Redemption Harbour Consulting.Copy received courtesy of the author via NetGalley for an honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Irene
    June 30, 2017
    4.5 starsResurrection is the first book in the new series Redemption Harbor by the talented Katie Reus and I loved it!I love how author Katie Reus always manages to bring out the feels with her words. Once again she's managed to capture my mind and heart with Resurrection. I loved Syke and Colt, they were amazing, likable and endearing characters that you couldn't help but fall in love with.I loved their passion, I loved their commitment and I loved how hard they loved each other. These two were 4.5 starsResurrection is the first book in the new series Redemption Harbor by the talented Katie Reus and I loved it!I love how author Katie Reus always manages to bring out the feels with her words. Once again she's managed to capture my mind and heart with Resurrection. I loved Syke and Colt, they were amazing, likable and endearing characters that you couldn't help but fall in love with.I loved their passion, I loved their commitment and I loved how hard they loved each other. These two were born to be together and nothing was going to keep them apart.Resurrection by Katie Reus is a fast paced, suspenseful and romantic read and I highly recommend it!*Purchase Links*►Amazon smarturl.it/i17clu►iBooks smarturl.it/732l2d►Nook smarturl.it/41ivzh►Kobo http://bit.ly/2sCMZ5U►Audible smarturl.it/9ru4ym*Thank you to the publisher via Netgalley for the advance copy.*
    more
  • Carolyn Reilly
    July 10, 2017
    This is only book one in the new Resurrection Harbor series by Katie Reus, and I can already tell it will be one of my new favorite romantic suspense series.I love this author’s writing, and as expected, Skye and Colt were off-the-charts explosive together. A steamy, action-packed and thrilling read I couldn’t put down. Can’t wait to read book two, Savage’s story 😊Highly recommended! * I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ♥ Dri ♥
    July 14, 2017
    4,5 stars!!! Eu simplesmente adorei esse livro!!!!Não sou muito fã de histórias narradas em 3ª pessoa, na maiorida das vezes eu desanimo e acabo abandonando a leitura... mas essa aqui foi perfeita! Não me senti perdida em nenhum momento, pelo contrário, fiquei muiiiiito presa e isso pra mim conta vários pontos. Eu me apaixonei pelo casal, Colt & Skye, você sente o quanto o amor dos dois é forte, verdadeiro e sem mimimi. Foram perfeitos em tudo! <3E os personagens secundários??? Senhor, e 4,5 stars!!! Eu simplesmente adorei esse livro!!!!Não sou muito fã de histórias narradas em 3ª pessoa, na maiorida das vezes eu desanimo e acabo abandonando a leitura... mas essa aqui foi perfeita! Não me senti perdida em nenhum momento, pelo contrário, fiquei muiiiiito presa e isso pra mim conta vários pontos. Eu me apaixonei pelo casal, Colt & Skye, você sente o quanto o amor dos dois é forte, verdadeiro e sem mimimi. Foram perfeitos em tudo! <3E os personagens secundários??? Senhor, eu quero livro de TODOS os amigos do Colt!!!! Amigos de infância, leais, do tipo que você chega com o corpo e eles já estão com a pá cavando o buraco. Adorei ver um pouco de cada um e fiquei querendo mais!O que eu mais gostei nesse livro é que aqui temos uma mocinha badass, mas sem exageros. Já li várias histórias onde a mocinha era fodona, mas exagerada ao extremo. A Skye pra mim foi na medida certa. Recomendo muito! ❤️❤️
    more
  • ~Nichole~ Sizzling Pages Romance Reviews
    July 16, 2017
    Now that's how you write a second chance love story... See folks. No matter what some authors try to shove down your throat not every man has to deal with grief by jumping into bed after bed. No this hero Colt was perfect and amazing in every single way. You've got mystery, suspense, bad guys, a heroine who was presumed dead and the love they shared was phenomenal. Loyalty like this is hard to find in romance these days. Katie has a knack of injecting passion with intrigue and the anticipation o Now that's how you write a second chance love story... See folks. No matter what some authors try to shove down your throat not every man has to deal with grief by jumping into bed after bed. No this hero Colt was perfect and amazing in every single way. You've got mystery, suspense, bad guys, a heroine who was presumed dead and the love they shared was phenomenal. Loyalty like this is hard to find in romance these days. Katie has a knack of injecting passion with intrigue and the anticipation of the love connection is as entertaining as the mystery itself. I flipped through pages and enjoyed it all. The building up of the coming series installment toned down things for a while but getting to know all the characters will do that when a series starts..all in all this was just great.. A freaking totally loyal love story like I know is possible.. I'll always thank an author for proving celibacy when you love someone is a true testimony of that love. 10000‰ safe. No ow om at all. And even the side romance was swoon worthy and safe too.
    more
  • Carvanz
    July 8, 2017
    What an awesome read! I absolutely loved everything about this book!Colt’s woman died eight months ago in a warehouse explosion. He’s doing what he has to do to get through and right now that’s helping out a friend whose wife was reported as dead. However, Colt’s got a lead that she’s not and he’s headed to Mexico to check it out. Skye had to fake her death in order to protect not only Colt but those around him he calls family. She’s had a very unconventional childhood which led to an unconventi What an awesome read! I absolutely loved everything about this book!Colt’s woman died eight months ago in a warehouse explosion. He’s doing what he has to do to get through and right now that’s helping out a friend whose wife was reported as dead. However, Colt’s got a lead that she’s not and he’s headed to Mexico to check it out. Skye had to fake her death in order to protect not only Colt but those around him he calls family. She’s had a very unconventional childhood which led to an unconventional life and one of the best things about it is Colt. She must do what is necessary to secure his safety as well as those he loves.Even after her “death” she finds herself needing to ensure that Colt’s friend is safe and in doing so she places herself directly into his path. I absolutely loved this couple! Their relationship wasn’t the typical alpha hero/sweet heroine. While he’s definitely all man, she’s more than capable of taking him down if needed. Theirs is an equal opportunity affair and I loved the dynamics of it. Skye is tough and capable but she never comes off as overbearing or too sassy. She’s confident in her skin and her job. Colt definitely has protective, possessive tendencies but he’s also aware that Skye is a bit skittish and he’s careful to treat her accordingly. Together they set my Kindle on fire and my heart racing. Resurrection is full of action and drama, great secondary characters that I’m sure we’re going to see more of, and some incredibly sexy moments. I’m excited about this series and curious to see who will win Olivia and Valencia’s hearts.ARC provided by NetGalleyDual POVSafeNo apparent triggers
    more
  • JoRead
    July 11, 2017
    *** 4.5 stars ***Action-packed, romance-filled, and riveting to say the least; this story will grab you from page one! CIA agent Skye fakes her own death to protect her partner and lover Colt Stuart and all those he holds dear. She’s never stopped loving him and knows she hurt him deep but she’s also sure what she did was for the best. When a dear friend of Colt is kidnapped she sees her rescuing as an opportunity to somewhat make it up to him, and although he might never know it was she who res *** 4.5 stars ***Action-packed, romance-filled, and riveting to say the least; this story will grab you from page one! CIA agent Skye fakes her own death to protect her partner and lover Colt Stuart and all those he holds dear. She’s never stopped loving him and knows she hurt him deep but she’s also sure what she did was for the best. When a dear friend of Colt is kidnapped she sees her rescuing as an opportunity to somewhat make it up to him, and although he might never know it was she who rescue his friend, she still goes for it. What she didn’t account for was that Colt would find out she didn’t die and once he did he wouldn’t let her go ever again. Not only that but he would go to extremes to protect her and never have to lose her again. OMG! This story! To me it had one of the best opening convos ever! It was funny while setting the pace for what was coming. Sky was one of the most assertive, self-confident, witty, and cool heroines I’ve ever read. Kudos to the author for giving me such an awesome character. Colt is your typical self-assured and overprotective alpha CIA agent that will do anything to protect those he loves (and I mean AN-NY-THING), however what’s great about his relationship with Skye is that he sure as hell knows Skye’s boundaries and as the gracious and romantic lover he is, he also knows how to make her feel safe and cared for. The dynamics between the friends was heartwarming and was pulling my heart strings at every corner. As a reader I could feel how much they really cared for each other. Once the “mission” is officially over we are immediately introduced to the next one and luckily we don’t have to wait too long as the second installment will be out within the next few months. This story was the perfect introduction to the series and if it’s any indication of what the whole series will be then we sure are in for a heck of a ride.I received this book from the author at no cost to me and I volunteered to read it; this is my honest opinion and given without any influence by the author or publisher.
    more
  • Rachel
    July 10, 2017
    Skye Arevalo faked her own death to protect the ones she loved. In hiding for the last 6 months, she has stayed vigilant and continued to work her CIA contacts, even if they don’t know who she really is. Colt Stuart goes rogue, off books and solo, in order to learn if the rumors are true. A friend he thought was dead is alive and captive. In his search, he learns that not only is his friend alive, but the love of his life is also still alive. He would have gone to any length to protect her, but Skye Arevalo faked her own death to protect the ones she loved. In hiding for the last 6 months, she has stayed vigilant and continued to work her CIA contacts, even if they don’t know who she really is. Colt Stuart goes rogue, off books and solo, in order to learn if the rumors are true. A friend he thought was dead is alive and captive. In his search, he learns that not only is his friend alive, but the love of his life is also still alive. He would have gone to any length to protect her, but learning of her betrayal will leave a mark.This was an action packed story full of heat. Even before the two main characters meet again, there are bombs exploding and life or death situations. Once they meet again, the danger only ups the ante because they will each do whatever it takes to protect the other. In addition to the tension as a result of the danger, the chemistry between these two is off the charts. Even though he thought her dead, the 6 months they have been separated has done nothing to cool things off. This is the first in a new series and does a great job introducing the characters. It felt a little like coming into a story already in action, as the side characters are all a close knit group of friends with varying backgrounds. They rally around each other, fight for each other, and have built a great sense of community in Redemption Harbor. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Elise Spencer
    July 17, 2017
    4 STARSLiked the main story, liked the sub story of the other characters. Really nice execution by Katie. Safe, awesome h, swoon worthy H and really hot sex scenes!
  • Carlabulian
    July 16, 2017
    3,8. Adoro essa combinação de espionagem, paixão, aventura e ação. Mas achei tudo muito corrido nesse livro. Achei a paixão dos personagens principais um pouco superficial, pois pra mim, não foi descrito o suficiente. No geral o livro foi bom.
    more
  • Jackie Kiwibooknerd
    June 12, 2017
    Advanced Readers Copy Courtesy of Netgalley...:)I am a HUGE fan of this author and I when I heard she was releasing a new series, I could not have requested it quick enough.This is the first book in the Redemption Harbor series and its all about Skye and Colt. They are both CIA operatives who are also partners as well as lovers. Skye ends up faking her own death in order to protect Colt and the family that he loves.Colt is devastated when he looses Skye and if that is not enough one of his bes Advanced Readers Copy Courtesy of Netgalley...:)I am a HUGE fan of this author and I when I heard she was releasing a new series, I could not have requested it quick enough.This is the first book in the Redemption Harbor series and its all about Skye and Colt. They are both CIA operatives who are also partners as well as lovers. Skye ends up faking her own death in order to protect Colt and the family that he loves.Colt is devastated when he looses Skye and if that is not enough one of his best friends since childhood, Mary Grace has also been killed in Mexico where she was working as a doctor. Not only is he reeling from that, but also trying to get Mary Grace's husband Mercer through his loss.When Colt uncovers information that Mary Grace may not be dead, but instead held captive by a Mexican drug cartel, he heads down to Mexico to see if the rumor is true or not. Meanwhile Skye has also found out that Mary Grace is infact alive and she decides to break MG free, as she knows how much she means to Colt, and if Skye cant have the man she loves then she at least wants to help him get one of his friends back.The first book in this series is action packed and I loved how not only did we get Skye and Colt's story, we also got a bit of Mercer and Mary Grace's as well. We also get introduced to the rest of the Redemption Harbor crew and if you ask me, this is defiantly the start of a awesome new series..... cant wait!!!
    more
  • Laurie
    July 12, 2017
    I’ve been on a Katie Reus kick lately so when I saw Resurrection on Netgalley and noted it was the first in a new series I jumped on it. Like the previous KR books I’ve read, this had an interesting storyline with some awesomely great characters but there were some plot holes and timeline jumps that bugged the crud out of me.He stripped her until she was emotionally naked, vulnerable, unable to hide who she truly was to him. The man saw straight through to the core of her.I’ll talk up what worke I’ve been on a Katie Reus kick lately so when I saw Resurrection on Netgalley and noted it was the first in a new series I jumped on it. Like the previous KR books I’ve read, this had an interesting storyline with some awesomely great characters but there were some plot holes and timeline jumps that bugged the crud out of me.He stripped her until she was emotionally naked, vulnerable, unable to hide who she truly was to him. The man saw straight through to the core of her.I’ll talk up what worked first. I loved Colt and Skye, both CIA agents who were equally badass. He is sexy as hell, and oh so good with Skye and all her hang-ups. In fact, I loved the times when they were together because he knew how to overcome his Skye’s issues and insecurities without steamrolling over her. He let her do what she needed to do and actually partnered with her instead of trying to take over. He knew if he tried to roll her up in bubble wrap and keep her from harm, she’d shove that stuff right where the sun doesn’t shine.“I have a capacity for creating maximum damage when necessary. It’s one of my best skill sets.”As for Skye, I think I have a girl crush. She is as tough and capable as they come. In fact, I think she could take Colt. Her idea of an essential to keep with you isn’t lipstick, it’s C4. And don’t even get me started on her choice in underwear. I want to shop where she does. She has some issues and quirks but they make her more lovable rather than annoying.I loved all of Colts friends too. They are a diverse group with skill sets I want to know more about. Mercer and Mary Grace were the cornerstones of the group and they had kind of a sweet, action packed story within a story happening. Mary Grace’s problems had shaken the group to their core and brought them all home, which is really where they’d belonged, working together to save her once they discovered the truth.Now for the issues I encountered. It felt as if the story started in the middle and I was missing vital information. At random intervals, we would jump back in the timeline and things would be disclosed all willy-nilly. I actually got so annoyed I put the book down and read something else to clear my mind. By not getting to see the romance start from the beginning I think we missed out on the emotional connection they had built up and how low Colt was brought down when he believed Skye was dead.Another problem with the way the book was laid out is that I never felt like I completely got their back stories. Yes, I loved both characters but I would have loved them more if I had been given a deeper understanding of their issues. We know there are problems between Colt and his Dad, but it doesn’t really give us the whys and wherefores. It was the same with Skye and her dead parents. We know her upbringing was difficult for her, but we never get below the surface of why it translated to her being so skittish with love.The biggest issue of all was that I thought Skye faking her death was stupid. This was cemented into fact by the problem being dealt with so easily after she came clean. As I read this, my mind kept going over so many scenarios that would have better served Skye and not made her look like a dumbass for not being forthcoming from the beginning. To add to it, the circumstances of her death and the item she had when she did it didn’t make sense at all. Did she destroy what she stole and if so how, because blowing it up seemed dangerous?So once again I find myself in a rating quandary. I loved the characters and found it interesting, but my issues with it drove me batshit crazy. I also want everyone else’s story. I think I’m going to chalk it up to first-in-series-itis and one click the next one as fast as I can when it comes out.Rating: 3.5 I’ve Got a Girl Crush on Skye StarsI voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Kim
    July 4, 2017
    Colt Stuart is an ex-Marine and covert CIA agent and he is heading out on an off the books mission to try to rescue a close friend believed dead. What he did not expect to find was his past love that he thought was dead to show up. He has been mourning her death and this throws him for a loop. He is equally angry and betrayed, and relieved and happy. He is protective, smart, dependable. and charismatic. He does not hesitate to stand up for those he cares about.Skye had her reasons for faking her Colt Stuart is an ex-Marine and covert CIA agent and he is heading out on an off the books mission to try to rescue a close friend believed dead. What he did not expect to find was his past love that he thought was dead to show up. He has been mourning her death and this throws him for a loop. He is equally angry and betrayed, and relieved and happy. He is protective, smart, dependable. and charismatic. He does not hesitate to stand up for those he cares about.Skye had her reasons for faking her own death and leaving the CIA. She has her own protective streak and is fiercely independent. But she is also beautiful, funny, intelligent, adaptable, deadly, and pretty bad-a**. She has the power of a one woman army and plenty of connections. She still cares for Colt, but does not know how to manage to have him in her life and keep everyone safe from the threats that sent her into hiding in the first place. They both have a tendency to go "Lone Ranger," but they also work well together as partners. And his friends are adamant about having their backs. This time, Colt is not taking any chances. He is determined to keep her and not let her try to slip away again. I loved his attitude and determination, even when faced with resistance. They are sucked into dangerous situations where they will have to outsmart the enemies and rely on each other. Skye definitely has her own mind and opinions, but is also reasonable. They have a snappy rapport and hot chemistry. Their passion is certainly not dead. This is an all new romantic suspense series. It has kidnappings, threats, big players, multiple enemies, danger, action, and suspense. But it also has reunited lovers with strong emotional connections. There is a core group of friends as the framework for the story with various skills: Savage, Mercer, Brooks, Gage, Leighton, and Mary Grace and a center point of their hometown of Redemption Harbor. They have varying backgrounds and skills including CIA, security specialists, computer and information techs, former military, Doctor, etc. Most have known each other for many years and they form a tight knit group. The author did a good job setting up the group and their connections, and the plot had some mystery and intrigue. It was fun trying to see how the team was going to approach the multiple possible antagonists and threats in order to try to keep one step ahead and keep each other safe. I am looking forward to the next book, Savage Rising.I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Catherine (The Sassy Bookster)
    July 11, 2017
    It's been a while since I read a book by Katie Reus and starting a new series is the perfect way to go. If you are in the mood for fast action and suspense, sizzling hot chemistry and unconditional friendship, then this is a really good book to read and a really great start to Ms. Reus's new series.RESURRECTION is an easy read, with less action and suspense than I expected, but the appeal of the story lies in the unqualified love the characters have for each other as shown in the bond of friends It's been a while since I read a book by Katie Reus and starting a new series is the perfect way to go. If you are in the mood for fast action and suspense, sizzling hot chemistry and unconditional friendship, then this is a really good book to read and a really great start to Ms. Reus's new series.RESURRECTION is an easy read, with less action and suspense than I expected, but the appeal of the story lies in the unqualified love the characters have for each other as shown in the bond of friendship between Colt Stuart and his childhood friends, a bond that would have him risking everything to find his friend's wife in hostile territory on a vague tip, which in turn reunites him with the love of his life. It's also obvious in the choice Skye Arévalo made to fake her own death to avoid being used to hurt Colt. Skye was a really great character - smart, sassy and very capable, something of a legend in fact with an interesting upbringing, and perfect for Colt. Colt is very devoted to those he loves and every action he takes in this book only highlights that devotion. While he lives in a grey area due to his career choice, he is something of a white knight, ready to fight for justice for those who cannot.The author has laid a solid foundation for the rest of the series with this book and the introduction of the cast of characters, each with a skill set that will come in handy for the task they have undertaken. One of the most fun parts of this book for me was reading Mercer and Mary Grace's story and I can't wait for the rest of the series to get to know the other guys better.Disclaimer: I voluntarily reviewed a copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely mine.Want more? Subscribe to my Newsletter on The Sassy Bookster.Follow me on Twitter | Tumblr | Bloglovin’. Like my page on Facebook.
    more
  • Dísir
    July 13, 2017
    There’s always a sense of excitement and trepidation each time I begin a new series, particularly what looks like a whole new set of novellas—akin to the Red Stone Security series—that Katie Reus is starting. It’s fresh meat to devour, crudely speaking, and sinking my teeth into a romantic suspense book just knowing there’s more to come is always an unforgettable feeling that I seek over and over again. I liked the unusual dynamics of the group of good friends in Redemption Harbor, as I did the There’s always a sense of excitement and trepidation each time I begin a new series, particularly what looks like a whole new set of novellas—akin to the Red Stone Security series—that Katie Reus is starting. It’s fresh meat to devour, crudely speaking, and sinking my teeth into a romantic suspense book just knowing there’s more to come is always an unforgettable feeling that I seek over and over again. I liked the unusual dynamics of the group of good friends in Redemption Harbor, as I did the setup for this story. The prologue was hilarious and Skye/Colt were off to a fantastic start before we find out what really happened to them. Reus writes more than a credible heroine in Skye Arévalo—scared but not too scared, gutsy when it mattered and never too TSTL to run away—and a hero who is pretty much the mirror image of her, which makes me think that Redemption Harbor is off to a good start.It’s also only lately that Reus has been dabbling with setting up 2 couples in her books and so far, I think that it has been working, for me at least. Reus tries this here once more (sort of) and once again, I liked it very much as this particular technique just amps up the plot, the stakes and the characters you get to be invested in. There are parts of course, that pushed my ability to suspend disbelief, but in all, ‘Resurrection’ is as much focused on sharpening the fuzzy lines of supporting characters as it is with developing the relationship between Skye/Colt and a little between Mercer and Mary Grace. And it’s here that the story stutters a little, as too many POVs spoil the broth as did the flashbacks that broke the narrative with interspersed scenes of the time Skye and Colt shared before she disappeared. That said though, I was fully entertained for the few hours it took me to finish this novella. It’s action-packed, fairly solid for an establishing book and I think I’m already a fan.
    more
  • Sunny
    July 9, 2017
    ARC ReviewThis is the kind of work that lets Katie Reus really stretch her romantic suspense muscles and shine. From the get go, this is a page turner. It has a two story lines - one that features a second chance romance and one that features a secondary character. They are not equal, and I confess, I could use a little more of the relationship aspect of the second story. It could be flushed out as a novella or full length book, but still you can see the strength of the relationship between the ARC ReviewThis is the kind of work that lets Katie Reus really stretch her romantic suspense muscles and shine. From the get go, this is a page turner. It has a two story lines - one that features a second chance romance and one that features a secondary character. They are not equal, and I confess, I could use a little more of the relationship aspect of the second story. It could be flushed out as a novella or full length book, but still you can see the strength of the relationship between the doctor and her husband and their relationship with Colt. They all grew up and forged a life-long relationship in Redemption Harbor. The author also brings in the point of view a villain and that amps up the tension. A strong and exciting start to a new series, I cannot wait to see what Katie Reus has in store for us.
    more
  • Madison Warner Fairbanks
    June 19, 2017
    Resurrection by Katie ReusEspionage and deaths. And selflessness. Good people helping the world get rid of the bad. Cornerstone of a Katie Reus novel and character structure. A fast, furious read moving from one thrilling moment to the next dangerous predicament. First in the Redemption Harbor series. I really enjoyed the book and especially the Chapter headings. They are fun and indicative of the content. And they are consistent with the type of storyline: action, adventure, and swoon-worthy ro Resurrection by Katie ReusEspionage and deaths. And selflessness. Good people helping the world get rid of the bad. Cornerstone of a Katie Reus novel and character structure. A fast, furious read moving from one thrilling moment to the next dangerous predicament. First in the Redemption Harbor series. I really enjoyed the book and especially the Chapter headings. They are fun and indicative of the content. And they are consistent with the type of storyline: action, adventure, and swoon-worthy romance.Chapter 3 "I believe in karma. I also believe in a good throat punch when necessary."Chapter 4 "blood makes you family. Love and loyalty make you family."Chapter 6 "If she doesn't scare you a little, she's not the one"Chapter 10 "Some people just need a high five. In the head. With a golf club."Chapter 12 "When you show up with a dead body, a real friend grabs a shovel and doesn't ask questions"Chapter 13 "Social awkwardness is my super power"Chapter 15 "I'm yours. Now and always."So much fun. I will be waiting anxiously for the rest of this series.I received a copy of his book via NetGalley. I also purchased a copy for gifting.
    more
  • Dawn
    June 9, 2017
    Yay! A new series by one of my favorite authors. Katie Reus is fantastic and is always an immediate pick of mine. This is a series about seven friends that grew up together in Redemption Harbor and are now all badasses. With that being said, when one hurts, they all hurt and this starts with meeting Colt and Skye. The are new partners who work for the CIA and their banter is funny. Fast forward and Colt's friend, Mercer's wife, one of the seven, has died and Mercer is in a bad way. So Colt needs Yay! A new series by one of my favorite authors. Katie Reus is fantastic and is always an immediate pick of mine. This is a series about seven friends that grew up together in Redemption Harbor and are now all badasses. With that being said, when one hurts, they all hurt and this starts with meeting Colt and Skye. The are new partners who work for the CIA and their banter is funny. Fast forward and Colt's friend, Mercer's wife, one of the seven, has died and Mercer is in a bad way. So Colt needs to keep him alive just until her searches out this tip that Mary Grace is alive and being held captive by a cartel. There is so much going on in this book and I don't want to ruin any of it for you so you're just going to have to read it! It is total gold! Friendship, loyalty, love, and badass friends that stand behind you! I received this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Laura
    July 10, 2017
    ***ARC Provided by the Author and InkSlinger PR***3.5 StarsSecond chance romance is a lot of fun and one of my favorite tropes. This one did not disappoint, and in fact there are 2 second chance couples in this, and it makes it all the better. There is a lot of emotion in both of the stories that become somewhat central to the telling of this story.I enjoy Ratie Reus as an author, I like the stories she tells and the characters she creates, and in this I liked Skye and Colt, a lot. I also liked ***ARC Provided by the Author and InkSlinger PR***3.5 StarsSecond chance romance is a lot of fun and one of my favorite tropes. This one did not disappoint, and in fact there are 2 second chance couples in this, and it makes it all the better. There is a lot of emotion in both of the stories that become somewhat central to the telling of this story.I enjoy Ratie Reus as an author, I like the stories she tells and the characters she creates, and in this I liked Skye and Colt, a lot. I also liked the other supporting characters that we met. And, oddly, this was part of the reason I didn't rate this higher.The first book in a series has the job of not only telling the story but setting up the rest of the series and, while I enjoyed this, I found myself really looking forward to the stories of the other characters. To me, there was a little lost in the Skye and Colt story for the telling of the stories of others and the set up for the next in the series.That said, I liked Skye and Colt and I enjoyed their chemistry. You really do believe she would make the decision to fake her own death to protect him, and the decisions he makes because of Skye are also believable...if maybe a little obvious as it is the start of a new series.I know it sounds like I didn't enjoy this, but that is not the case at all. I did. I liked the characters and I was pulling for them and their happy ending. I was invested in them and I was happy to see them work things out.I enjoyed this title overall, and as I have mentioned, I am looking forward to the next in the series.
    more
  • Danielle Gypsy Soul
    July 10, 2017
    Honestly I usually hate the "fake death" plot but I gave this a chance since I love Katie Reus and I'm so glad I did. Usually I just don't understand why the woman (yes it's usually the woman) fakes her death instead of just asking for help and trusting the person they love. However, the way this one was written (I won't give it away) actually worked and was believable. I found myself thinking okay I can understand why she did what she did. Better yet, the hero does as well and I loved that he u Honestly I usually hate the "fake death" plot but I gave this a chance since I love Katie Reus and I'm so glad I did. Usually I just don't understand why the woman (yes it's usually the woman) fakes her death instead of just asking for help and trusting the person they love. However, the way this one was written (I won't give it away) actually worked and was believable. I found myself thinking okay I can understand why she did what she did. Better yet, the hero does as well and I loved that he understands her decision and doesn't hold a grudge or anger at the heroine. This book actually has two couples and although Skye and Colt and clearly the main couple I really loved reading the parts with Mercer and Mary Grace as well. I even loved that we got the POV of the first villain and thought that rounded out the book nicely adding an element to the story. The suspense elements were well paced, exciting and kept me turning the page while the romance was hot and emotional. The perfect mix of suspense/romance and a great start to a new series - I can't wait to see what happens next.A copy of this book was provided to me by NetGalley and the publisher with no requirements for a review. I voluntarily read this book and my comments here are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Nerdy Dirty & Flirty
    July 11, 2017
    When Skye Arévalo faked her death, leaving the CIA, she broke the heart of the only man she ever loved. Assigning herself on a rescue mission six months later, she comes face to face with the man she hurt. She can't destroy him again, but how could she live with herself if the people who threatened him find out she faked her death and seek retribution?Colt Stuart has been devastated for months after losing his love. Now on a rescue mission to bring home one of his good friends, he comes face to When Skye Arévalo faked her death, leaving the CIA, she broke the heart of the only man she ever loved. Assigning herself on a rescue mission six months later, she comes face to face with the man she hurt. She can't destroy him again, but how could she live with herself if the people who threatened him find out she faked her death and seek retribution?Colt Stuart has been devastated for months after losing his love. Now on a rescue mission to bring home one of his good friends, he comes face to face with what should be a ghost. He's facing a whirlwind of emotions, but one thing is for sure; he will not let her out of his sight again. He wouldn't survive losing her a second time. Syke did what she had to do to protect Colt. The only thing she can't do is break his heart again. The danger is high, her tormentor will stop at nothing to see her dead for real. I loved both Colt and Skye in this book. It's a new series by this author and a perfect beginning. It also happens to be the first book I've read by her. The main characters are both strong and protective people who will do anything for the ones they love. I enjoyed meeting all of the supporting characters, who I hope will all eventually have their own books. It was filled with action and danger, and kept me on the edge just waiting to see what would happen next.
    more
  • Suzie
    July 14, 2017
    Another winner :-)I just love a good second chance romance. Happily for me, Katie Reus did this one right. This book is the first of a new series and Katie takes a little time to introduce some terrific side characters in addition to a team of really kick ass MCs.Both Skye and Colt were great characters, they were strong, clever, capable, confident, big hearted, and loved each other. There is no OW/OM poop in this story and the way the separation happened was very believable. I loved that Katie Another winner :-)I just love a good second chance romance. Happily for me, Katie Reus did this one right. This book is the first of a new series and Katie takes a little time to introduce some terrific side characters in addition to a team of really kick ass MCs.Both Skye and Colt were great characters, they were strong, clever, capable, confident, big hearted, and loved each other. There is no OW/OM poop in this story and the way the separation happened was very believable. I loved that Katie took the time to explain to the reader how a character as smart and capable as Skye ended up in a corner where her best option was to fake her death.The supporting cast really exemplified the “when you show up with a dead body, a real friend grabs a shovel and doesn’t ask questions” kind of friends we all want in our lives and I look forward to seeing their stories in the upcoming books.This story is well paced with lots of action and a very satisfying conclusion (the bad guy doesn’t get away with it – YEAH!!!). The author gifted me an audible copy of this book with a request for an honest review. Well, I enjoyed the book so much, I bought the kindle copy too. The narrator did a very good job.
    more
  • Victoria
    July 12, 2017
    4.25 RATING- A great start to this new series! I love Katie Reus romantic suspense but was surprised to like this one as much as I did. Of course, I do love a back from the dead story line which may have factored in to why I liked this one so much but putting that aside, this was a solid story! I was pulled in immediately and read it right through. The pacing was well done throughout. I loved that the heroine was a complete bad ass! I have no complaints about the hero either, he was all in, all 4.25 RATING- A great start to this new series! I love Katie Reus romantic suspense but was surprised to like this one as much as I did. Of course, I do love a back from the dead story line which may have factored in to why I liked this one so much but putting that aside, this was a solid story! I was pulled in immediately and read it right through. The pacing was well done throughout. I loved that the heroine was a complete bad ass! I have no complaints about the hero either, he was all in, all the way, which I love. The book introduces several characters which I'm sure will be featured in future books. Readers get a very short peak into what the story line may be for the next book and I'm stoked. I love a good damsel in distress/woman on the run story. I'm only bummed it's not scheduled to release until "late 2017". Book two is definitely going to the top of my TBR list when it releases.
    more
  • Romance Readers Retreat
    July 5, 2017
    This is a really great first book to the Redemption Harbour series. I haven't read anything by Katie Reus so I was eager to jump in.The story itself is engaging and has lots of tension. Skye and Colt have a great relationship which we get to be a part of right from the off. There's even humour in the mix. Skye is not your average woman but it seems that's she's just the woman for Colt.What I enjoyed most was the camaraderie between all the characters. It's heartfelt and the loyalty shines throug This is a really great first book to the Redemption Harbour series. I haven't read anything by Katie Reus so I was eager to jump in.The story itself is engaging and has lots of tension. Skye and Colt have a great relationship which we get to be a part of right from the off. There's even humour in the mix. Skye is not your average woman but it seems that's she's just the woman for Colt.What I enjoyed most was the camaraderie between all the characters. It's heartfelt and the loyalty shines through. There are quite a few sub-characters in this book, who I'm sure will have their own stories. I thought that we, the readers, were given just enough of a taste, of each, to entice us. There's something for everyone and I'm really looking forward to book #2.A thoroughly enjoyable, action packed read.
    more
Write a review