The Summer House
Some summers will stay with you forever... Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon have finally done it: put their life savings into the beach house they admired through childhood summers, on the dazzling white sand of North Carolina’s Outer Banks. They’re going to buff the salt from its windows, paint its sun-bleached sidings, and open it as a bed and breakfast. Callie’s too busy to think about her love life, but when she catches the attention of local heartthrob Luke Sullivan, his blue eyes and easy smile make it hard to say no. He’s heir to his father’s property empire, and the papers say he’s just another playboy, but as they laugh in the ocean waves, Callie realizes there’s more to this man than money and good looks. Just when true happiness seems within reach, Callie and Olivia find a diary full of secrets... secrets that stretch across the island, and have the power to turn lives upside down. As Callie reads, she unravels a mystery that makes her heart drop through the floor. Will Callie and Luke be pulled apart by the storm it unleashes, or can true love save them? The Summer House is an absolutely gorgeous, heart-warming summer romance, about the importance of family, not keeping secrets, and learning how to open your heart. What everyone’s saying about Jenny Hale: ‘Captured my heart from the very first page and never let it go … Jenny is quickly becoming one of my favorite authors … One minute I’m giggling and the next there is a huge lump in my throat … My heart melted … I just wanted to reach in the pages and give them all hugs. I can’t wait to read more by this wonderful author.’ Color Me Read ‘Absolutely fantastic, I loved this book and will definitely be remembering and revisiting it in future. Jenny Hale is a supremely accomplished and highly talented author. I can’t wait to read more from her!’ Splashes into Books ‘A perfect romance read. Full of tension and heart-wrenching feelings … Oh I really did enjoy it … One to lift my mood and put a smile on my face and warmth in my heart … Full of charismatic characters, family love and bonds, honesty, small town loveliness and soul mates. Reading perfection!’ 5/5 Pajama Book Girl ‘This book is the epitome of everything I love about reading, about fiction and about romance. It was heart-warming, touching, upsetting, endearing, beautiful and one hundred other adjectives I could reel off… It’s an absolute must-read for any romance fan.’ Paris Baker’s Book Nook

The Summer House Details

TitleThe Summer House
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 9th, 2017
PublisherBookouture
Number of pages282 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

The Summer House Review

  • Carrie
    May 23, 2017
    Callie Weaver is ready for a new start in life, she and her best friend Olivia have just invested in a beach house that they are renovating to open as a bed and breakfast at North Carolina’s Outer Banks. As busy as Callie has been preparing for their opening the last thing on her mind was a relationship but when a chance encounter with local heartthrob Luke Sullivan happens Callie finds herself wanting to get to know him. While Callie and Olivia are working on the house they stumble across an ol Callie Weaver is ready for a new start in life, she and her best friend Olivia have just invested in a beach house that they are renovating to open as a bed and breakfast at North Carolina’s Outer Banks. As busy as Callie has been preparing for their opening the last thing on her mind was a relationship but when a chance encounter with local heartthrob Luke Sullivan happens Callie finds herself wanting to get to know him. While Callie and Olivia are working on the house they stumble across an old diary and wonder what to do with it. The diary is full of old secrets of the prior owners but when a few fall a bit too close to home Callie wonders what it will mean for her new relationship with Luke. The Summer House by Jenny Hale can easily be called a perfect summer beach read. The author did a wonderful job with this story, the setting was described so well I could almost picture myself in the quaint seaside community at times. The characters were also very likable and it was nice to have a bit of suspense added into the romantic read with the old secrets that were brought out into the light.Starting off reading this one I thought it was going to be a bit of the rich spoiled boy and the girl that finally turns him but the story became so much more rather quickly. Luke is rich and set to inherit his father's company but he never came across as the "rich jerk" type and it was easy to like him. With the deeper story it was easy to get engaged and root for a happy ending while reading this one. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Elizabeth
    June 25, 2017
    I'm beginning to see a trend in the books I'm choosing lately. They all seem to be about summer and beaches! Who knew? I love those things so I guess it's appropriate."The Summer House" by Jenny Hale was a really enjoyable read. I read it quickly because it was hitting home. The Outer Banks is one of my favorite places in the US to just be myself. I would love, and can picture myself, in a cottage on the shore there (a far cry from where I love - just dreaming). This book sent me there and it ma I'm beginning to see a trend in the books I'm choosing lately. They all seem to be about summer and beaches! Who knew? I love those things so I guess it's appropriate."The Summer House" by Jenny Hale was a really enjoyable read. I read it quickly because it was hitting home. The Outer Banks is one of my favorite places in the US to just be myself. I would love, and can picture myself, in a cottage on the shore there (a far cry from where I love - just dreaming). This book sent me there and it made me wish for it more than ever.The characters were interesting and I wanted to get to know them, which helped me to want to read the novel, the setting was perfect (duh!) and the story was perfect for a summer afternoon on the deck with a glass of iced tea and this book. I promise you won't be disappointed by Jenny's writing. It's nice and smooth! It was good to take some time to relax and pretend I was on the Outer Banks!Thank you to NetGalley and Bookouture for the opportunity to read and review this novel.
    more
  • Amy
    June 9, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comCan we please take a moment to appreciate the beauty of that cover?! I mean seriously, it’s stunning, it makes me want to dive right in. The Summer House was a perfectly satisfying summer read that I devoured in an afternoon. It had me longing to have my toes in the sand and the sea breeze in my hair, meanwhile I’m actually in Arizona where ninety something degrees is considered “not too hot at all!” Sigh.Callie was the sort of character that All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comCan we please take a moment to appreciate the beauty of that cover?! I mean seriously, it’s stunning, it makes me want to dive right in. The Summer House was a perfectly satisfying summer read that I devoured in an afternoon. It had me longing to have my toes in the sand and the sea breeze in my hair, meanwhile I’m actually in Arizona where ninety something degrees is considered “not too hot at all!” Sigh.Callie was the sort of character that wiggled her way into my heart right away. She was lovely, kind and warm and not in the market for a boyfriend at all. She’s way too busy renovating the Beachcomber with her best friend Olivia to worry about romance, but they say you find love when you’re not looking…Luke is the love interest of Callie and man was he hot! I have such a vivid picture of him in my minds eye thanks to Hale’s fantastic imagery. The relationship between these two was adorable and not one of those where they fell in love within five minutes. It was realistic as Callie was cautious and hesitant to get involved. Besides the romantic storyline there was a bit of a mystery as Callie finds an old journal and a lockbox left by the previous owner of the house. I just love when a romance author adds some intrigue into the plot, it really breaks things up and adds something special. This was just a delightful read with fabulous lead characters as well as a really fun group of supporting characters as well. The setting was totally gorgeous as well, I really felt like I could envision the Beachcomber and the town perfectly. If you’re looking for a sweet read to sink your teeth into this summer look no further, The Summer House was a highly endearing read.
    more
  • Angie
    June 11, 2017
    Highly enjoyable summer feel-good read! Would be a great beach book. Has all the right elements to make for fun vacation reading, but also is great to read at home (like I did). It has romance, friendship, and family secrets with a picturesque setting of the Outer Banks. And that cover!! Gorgeous! Perfectly describes what you'll get out of The Summer House. Callie & Olivia, friends since childhood, are pooling their resources to buy/open a bed and breakfast in a beach house both have long ad Highly enjoyable summer feel-good read! Would be a great beach book. Has all the right elements to make for fun vacation reading, but also is great to read at home (like I did). It has romance, friendship, and family secrets with a picturesque setting of the Outer Banks. And that cover!! Gorgeous! Perfectly describes what you'll get out of The Summer House. Callie & Olivia, friends since childhood, are pooling their resources to buy/open a bed and breakfast in a beach house both have long admired. They are working hard to get it ready to open, and neither have thought about or have time for romance right now. But, as we all know, love doesn't wait for perfect timing... Can spoiled rich boy Luke possibly be the man Callie has hoped for? And will Olivia find love right in front of her? Or will long-held secrets coming to light damage the budding relationships? I've read 2 prior Jenny Hale books, both at Christmas time (and they were holiday themed) and really enjoyed them. No exception here, and I'll be searching for her other books as well. Great writing with warm, fun-loving characters who you'd like to befriend yourself. You'll definitely finish this with warm-fuzzies abounding. **Big thanks to NetGalley and Bookouture for an ARC to honestly review!**
    more
  • Carla Johnson-Hicks
    June 26, 2017
    Callie Weaver and her best friend Olivia Dixon are starting over. With Olivia's son in tow, they have purchased a large beach house and are renovating to open as a bed and breakfast on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Callie and Olivia are doing a lot of work themselves so the last thing they have time for is a relationship. The timing does not always work as planned. When Callie runs into Luke Sullivan (rich, heartthrob playboy), something happens to both of them. As they tentatively begin to Callie Weaver and her best friend Olivia Dixon are starting over. With Olivia's son in tow, they have purchased a large beach house and are renovating to open as a bed and breakfast on the Outer Banks of North Carolina. Callie and Olivia are doing a lot of work themselves so the last thing they have time for is a relationship. The timing does not always work as planned. When Callie runs into Luke Sullivan (rich, heartthrob playboy), something happens to both of them. As they tentatively begin to get to know one another, life gets in the way. While Callie and Olivia are working on the house they stumble across an old diary and a lock box belonging to the previous owner and her brother. When Callie starts to read the diary and looks at the contents of the lockbox, secrets emerge. Secrets that could derail her new relationship. If that is not enough, a hurricane is moving in to the Outer Banks and they are forced to evacuate. Will the Bed And Breakfast survive? Will Callie and Luke's new relationship survive? What will the secrets mean to the other residents of The Waves. The Summer House by Jenny Hale is a great summer read. I loved the story. This was more than girl meets rich handsome playboy. There was a whole story behind both Luke and Callie. His family was likable and very real. I loved Olivia and her son Wyatt. They were a very important part of the story as well. The setting was amazing. The descriptions of the island, the Sullivan home and even the Hurricane and its aftermath were so real, I could picture it all. Yes there is romance, yes there are some happy endings, yes there is also drama and major decisions to be made. Overall, a good story that I have come to expect from Jenny Hale. The publisher generously provided me with a copy of this book via Netgalley.
    more
  • Shell Baker
    June 13, 2017
    This is the second book that I have read by Jenny Hale, so I am familiar with the author's writing. And once again Jenny doesn't disappoint in this beautiful, heartwarming summer read.Transporting us to the white sand of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, with stunning descriptions that made you feel right there in the story. We meet Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon. Who are doing up a Beach house to open it has a Bed and Breakfast. Then along comes pretty boy local heartthrob Luke Sullivan This is the second book that I have read by Jenny Hale, so I am familiar with the author's writing. And once again Jenny doesn't disappoint in this beautiful, heartwarming summer read.Transporting us to the white sand of North Carolina’s Outer Banks, with stunning descriptions that made you feel right there in the story. We meet Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon. Who are doing up a Beach house to open it has a Bed and Breakfast. Then along comes pretty boy local heartthrob Luke Sullivan who catches Callie’s eye. Luke is from a wealthy family and leads a completely different lifestyle to Callie. She soon begins to realise that there is more to him than money and good looks. But then Callie and Olivia find a diary full of secrets and she begins to unravel a mystery from the past. Will Callie and Luke be pulled apart by the storm it unleashes, or can true love save them?To start with I wasn't sure where this story was going with it being a more fluffy read for me. But I loved how the author has weaved the whole diary storyline in dropping pieces of the puzzle throughout the story making this a pageturner. I actually read this in one afternoon I simply couldn't put it down. I loved the relationship between Callie and Olivia they are both likeable characters. Callie being the main character grows throughout the story after playing hard to get with Luke when she firsts meets him. I loved that about her.This is a must read for Nicholas Sparks fans which I highly recommend giving it 4 stars.
    more
  • ItaPixie
    June 26, 2017
    I'm a fan of Jenny Hale's writing,I love to read her stories during Christmas and Summer times and this was not an exception.I really liked this lovely, warm, summery, colourful story.The author made a beautiful work with the description of the landscape,I'm italian so when I closed this book I went on google to look to some Outer Banks pictures and they looked like what I have envisioned while reading.Callie, our heroine,is so focused on the success of her business she thinks there is no time I'm a fan of Jenny Hale's writing,I love to read her stories during Christmas and Summer times and this was not an exception.I really liked this lovely, warm, summery, colourful story.The author made a beautiful work with the description of the landscape,I'm italian so when I closed this book I went on google to look to some Outer Banks pictures and they looked like what I have envisioned while reading.Callie, our heroine,is so focused on the success of her business she thinks there is no time and room for love but she realizes pretty soon that to be happy she needs Luke in her life. I appreciated how their relationship developped throughout the book and I wished they could find a way to be together even during the hard times.
    more
  • Best Crime Books & More
    June 9, 2017
    That picture on the front of this book, well it sums up this story perfectly. Callie Weaver has invested everything she has into the Beach house in the Outer Banks. I'm a fan of Jenny Hale and I must say that this latest book was just what the doctor ordered for me. Jenny Hale manages to do a wonderful job of describing this quaint town with it's stunning white beaches and I could almost picture the house that Callie is renovating. Her and her childhood friend Olivia want to reopen the house as That picture on the front of this book, well it sums up this story perfectly. Callie Weaver has invested everything she has into the Beach house in the Outer Banks. I'm a fan of Jenny Hale and I must say that this latest book was just what the doctor ordered for me. Jenny Hale manages to do a wonderful job of describing this quaint town with it's stunning white beaches and I could almost picture the house that Callie is renovating. Her and her childhood friend Olivia want to reopen the house as a Bed and Breakfast. Olivia's Grandmother Glady's lives across the way and with her help and support they start the arduous task of getting it all ready for the end of the Summer.Callie was a reserved character but one that I liked. Her tentative attitude towards people she doesn't know that well is endearing and as a reader it's nice to share her journey while she takes some chances with her career as well as her personal life. Callie runs into a guy whilst out shopping and circumstances throw them together. She has no idea at first that there is more to Luke Sullivan that the press make out. To the press he is just a Playboy and a man who seemingly does little more than flaunt his wealth. At first I have to be honest and say I wasn't overly enamoured with Luke, but as the story progresses you soon see there is a lot more to him than meets the eye.Callie's story also sees her stumble across something that could tear people's lives apart and she doubts what she should do. I loved reading about Callie and Olivia's friendship and although Callie was the lead character it was nice to see Olivia's life changing too in the background. The story progresses and eventually Callie realises that she needs to take a huge chance and just wonders whether in doing so she will jeopardise everything she has worked for.Overall this was a hugely enjoyable book and would make a perfect beach read. Jenny Hale has managed to capture my attention with every book she has written and manages to take me away from it all, so much so I could almost imagine standing on that beach. Her last book remains my all time favourite but this was still a great read and an author I would highly recommend.
    more
  • Amanda
    May 19, 2017
    Callie and her best friend Olivia have moved to the Outer Banks, Carolina to follow their childhood dream of buying the cottage across from Olivia's grandmother Gladys and restoring it to its former glory as a bed and breakfast. The women have their work cut out for them as they hurry to get the cottage renovated and ready for a late Summer opening. Too busy for romance and other complications, and burdened by past issues, the women are both solely focused on achieving their dreams but fate, lov Callie and her best friend Olivia have moved to the Outer Banks, Carolina to follow their childhood dream of buying the cottage across from Olivia's grandmother Gladys and restoring it to its former glory as a bed and breakfast. The women have their work cut out for them as they hurry to get the cottage renovated and ready for a late Summer opening. Too busy for romance and other complications, and burdened by past issues, the women are both solely focused on achieving their dreams but fate, love, and a little stardust have other ideas. When Callie meets Luke she sees more than the playboy millionaire facade he shows to the world and he sees in Callie someone who he can truly be himself with. But as the hot Summer days morph into intense Summer storms, secrets are uncovered that could shatter not only their budding relationship but an entire family. Jenny Hale does a wonderful job describing the beauty of the Outer Banks area and clearly has a deep love for the beach, at one point you can almost smell the crisp salty air and feel the zap of electricity as the afternoon storms rumble in. I delighted in the synchronicity of the unravelling family drama with the increasingly dangerous weather.With well-developed characters, family intrigue, secrets, and lies, a realistically paced love story that doesn't rely on the insta-love trope, and a tropical storm that leaves mayhem and destruction in its wake, The Summer House is undoubtedly a satisfying and heart-warming story. I can thoroughly recommend it as a perfect Summery beach read!*This review is based on a complimentary copy from the publisher and provided through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.*
    more
  • Kristine
    June 5, 2017
    Original review can be found at http://kristineandterri.blogspot.ca/2...** I received an advanced readers copy from Bookouture via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!**Callie and her best friend Olivia bought the summer home that they admired on the Outer Banks as children with the hopes of turning it into a successful bed and breakfast. With renovations and a time crunch in front of them, Callie never dreamt that a potential love interest would be in her future. A chance run Original review can be found at http://kristineandterri.blogspot.ca/2...** I received an advanced readers copy from Bookouture via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!**Callie and her best friend Olivia bought the summer home that they admired on the Outer Banks as children with the hopes of turning it into a successful bed and breakfast. With renovations and a time crunch in front of them, Callie never dreamt that a potential love interest would be in her future. A chance run in with the local heartthrob and celebrity Luke Sullivan turned the world as she knew it upside down and she struggled to deal with her closely guarded emotions. Was he just a playboy after his next conquest or was his interest in her genuine?Not only was Callie dealing with a new business and the possibility of love but there was the mystery of the journal and lock box that was found during the cottage renovations. What became of Frederick and who was the little boy?Let me start off by saying that the setting of this book was spectacular. It was so easy to envision the cottage, the beach, and the town of Waves. I could feel the ocean breeze and taste the salt in the air. Hale did an incredible job of describing it and making it just as much a character as the people within the pages. I think the setting was my favourite part of this entire book.The mystery behind the journal and lock box was too sporadic and I felt like it needed to be a bigger part of the story than it was in the beginning. Callie would just randomly think about it and read small portions in the middle of renovations and her budding relationship with Luke. It almost didn't fit. I think it needed to be front and centre to make the second half of the book more believable. I wanted more journal entries and I wanted more of a back story. Even though it was only a small portion of the beginning I clearly could foresee what was going to happen and there was no shock value at all.As far as the love story went I was routing for Luke and Callie from the very beginning. Callie's over thinking was somewhat annoying and they were both too squeaky clean and perfect but I liked them all the same and wanted a happily ever after for them. If I'm being completely honest, I wished for a little more chemistry than what I got. Again, they were so squeaky clean that it almost got in the way of me feeling what they were feeling.Over all this was a sweet and clean romance that is perfect for that summer beach read. With likeable characters, a cute story and a stunning setting it is bound to put a smile on your face.
    more
  • Erin
    July 1, 2017
    There are some book releases from several authors that I look forward to every year. Jenny Hale is one of them. It's one of those scenarios where I hope I'm lucky enough to receive an advanced copy so I don't need to wait just quite as long, but know I'm going to pre-order my own copy anyway! Jenny's latest Summer novel is here and takes us straight back to the Outer Banks.The Summer House is all about Callie and Luke. Callie is finally beginning to realise her dream of owning a B&B with her There are some book releases from several authors that I look forward to every year. Jenny Hale is one of them. It's one of those scenarios where I hope I'm lucky enough to receive an advanced copy so I don't need to wait just quite as long, but know I'm going to pre-order my own copy anyway! Jenny's latest Summer novel is here and takes us straight back to the Outer Banks.The Summer House is all about Callie and Luke. Callie is finally beginning to realise her dream of owning a B&B with her best friend Olivia. The story starts with the early stages of renovation and follows Callie through her summer with a few more bumps in the road than she predicted. Luke is the local celebrity and heartthrob. At first Callie tries to keep him at arms length all while Luke continues to woo her proving there is more to him than the gossip columns say. He proves himself throughout the story and is up there with the best of Jenny's book boyfriends.While the main story throughout is the love story between Callie and Luke there is a little something else bubbling away in the background built into the history of Callie and Olivia's house. I enjoyed the parallel storylines and how parts of each complimented the other. I always find Jenny's books to be unputdownable but for the first time here I was gripped with tense excitement and suspense to see how the story was going to unfold. The storyline simmers along gently before coming to a full blown boil in the last half of the story! Jenny has more than demonstrated the strength of her writing and story development here and each of her characters come into their own light, rounding them out before the end of the story.As usual Jenny has hit it out of the park in terms of describing the setting for her book. After I read this novel I headed straight to Google to search for images of the Outer Banks so I could carry on imagining myself there. I would LOVE to visit and that inspiration has come from reading Jenny's books. I feel like you can completely immerse yourself in the story, imagine yourself walking along the same streets, same shop fronts, same beaches with the characters and it's one of my favourite things about Jenny's books.If you enjoy Nicholas Sparks novels I'm quite sure you will enjoy Jenny's.
    more
  • Simona
    June 11, 2017
    *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review* Callie and her best friend Olivia have put their savings together and they have bough the The Beachcomber. It’s a lovely beach house on the Outer Bnks of North Carolina. Their dream is to open it as a bed and breakfast and Callie spends every day getting the house ready.However, she catches the attention of gorgeous Luke Sullivan, who comes across as a bit of a player. Callie gets to know him though and realises that he is differe *Book provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest review* Callie and her best friend Olivia have put their savings together and they have bough the The Beachcomber. It’s a lovely beach house on the Outer Bnks of North Carolina. Their dream is to open it as a bed and breakfast and Callie spends every day getting the house ready.However, she catches the attention of gorgeous Luke Sullivan, who comes across as a bit of a player. Callie gets to know him though and realises that he is different. I loved reading about these two together. Their relationship developed slowly, smoothly and sweetly. Jenny Hale captured it all beautifully.Callie and Olivia find a diary full of secrets, which will add a lot of drama, involving Luke and some of their friends. It’s intense and it tests them on several levels, which added a lot of great excitement to the story. Then there was also a hurricane coming closer, so they had their fear of The Beachcomber being destroyed in their minds as well.I absolutely adored this lovely bunch of characters, all so well lined out, all of them adding a spark to the story and of course they got their story told as well, without taking away space from Callie’s story. Luke is probably my favourite character, he is so thoughtful and just a sweetheart. Callie is a very relatable character and she goes through a real journey in this book, learning to trust again and not building too many walls around herself. Jenny Hale managed to include it in the story in a great and exciting way.Jenny Hale has a real talent when it comes to describing places and settings. She did it again in this book, her descriptions are so vivid and real, it really feels like you are there with the characters.This is your perfect summer read. It’s full of emotions, colourful and mesmerizing descriptions, lively and authentic characters, love, romance and much more.
    more
  • Marti
    June 10, 2017
    The Summer House by Jenny Hale was a great summer read. It had all the important ingredients: HOT and famous boyfriend, two best friends starting over, a huge hurricane and a family secret. What is not to love!Two best friends, Callie and Oliva buy an older house on the coast in North Carolina. They have worked tirelessly preparing the house for a quaint bed and breakfast. Meanwhile Callie meets Luke Sullivan - seriously hot material! He begins to ask Callie out and things are looking rosy. Then The Summer House by Jenny Hale was a great summer read. It had all the important ingredients: HOT and famous boyfriend, two best friends starting over, a huge hurricane and a family secret. What is not to love!Two best friends, Callie and Oliva buy an older house on the coast in North Carolina. They have worked tirelessly preparing the house for a quaint bed and breakfast. Meanwhile Callie meets Luke Sullivan - seriously hot material! He begins to ask Callie out and things are looking rosy. Then Oliva and Callie find the diary and the lockbox and things start to get a little dicey. IF dicey isn’t enough then a hurricane comes barreling up the coast looking to land on their newly renovated with all their savings bed and breakfast. The Summer House was a fun read. It maintained its focus on the plot line more than the hotness of the two characters, but you know it is there! A fun fast read!
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    May 18, 2017
    This is a well-written, fun, light-hearted romance you’ll fall in love with thanks to a heartwarming plot, great group of characters and a beautiful North Carolina setting all rolled together to make the perfect summer escape.The storyline is fabulous and includes a great twist as it winds down towards the end making you wish there would be a sequel so you can follow where this great couple go next. It’s one of those books you can easily fall into and binge your way to the finish without taking This is a well-written, fun, light-hearted romance you’ll fall in love with thanks to a heartwarming plot, great group of characters and a beautiful North Carolina setting all rolled together to make the perfect summer escape.The storyline is fabulous and includes a great twist as it winds down towards the end making you wish there would be a sequel so you can follow where this great couple go next. It’s one of those books you can easily fall into and binge your way to the finish without taking a break as you soak in the chemistry between Callie and Luke.I hadn’t read anything prior by Jenny Hale but she’s going on my authors to watch list because I adored her writing. By the end of the book you’ll find yourself hopping online to plan out your own trip to North Carolina so you can see for yourself the beauty Hale managed to capture.
    more
  • Amy
    June 21, 2017
    If you are looking for a great beach read, look no further! I am a fan of Jenny Hale's and I love this new story. From the gorgeous cover to the gorgeous characters to a plot that sucks you in on the first page, this is what summer reading is all about. As someone who lived on the Outer Banks for 10 years, I was transported back there in The Summer House and I found myself wishing I had a friends like Callie and Olivia. As we join them to renovate The Beachcomber Inn, we get a summer full of fri If you are looking for a great beach read, look no further! I am a fan of Jenny Hale's and I love this new story. From the gorgeous cover to the gorgeous characters to a plot that sucks you in on the first page, this is what summer reading is all about. As someone who lived on the Outer Banks for 10 years, I was transported back there in The Summer House and I found myself wishing I had a friends like Callie and Olivia. As we join them to renovate The Beachcomber Inn, we get a summer full of friendship, romance, secrets, and a little mystery. It is a wonderful combination with some fabulous supporting characters in the mix. Throw this book in your beach or pool bag and get ready to be transported to the shores of NC for a wonderful escape. I can't recommend this book enough!
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    June 1, 2017
    The perfect beach read! A nice well written easy story with well developed characters and a great pace that's perfect for relaxing.Needing changes in their lives Callie and her best friend Olivia decide now is the time to buy, renovate, and open the B&B they've been dreaming about since they were kids vacationing on the outer banks. The last thing Callie has time for is a new romance but for Luke Sullivan making the time seems well worth it. The paparazzi may have painted him as an uncaring The perfect beach read! A nice well written easy story with well developed characters and a great pace that's perfect for relaxing.Needing changes in their lives Callie and her best friend Olivia decide now is the time to buy, renovate, and open the B&B they've been dreaming about since they were kids vacationing on the outer banks. The last thing Callie has time for is a new romance but for Luke Sullivan making the time seems well worth it. The paparazzi may have painted him as an uncaring playboy but that's not the man Callie has gotten to know. Just when things seem to be going well Callie stumbles upon an old journal that contains secrets that could threaten not only her relationship with Luke but Luke's happiness.I highly recommend this one.
    more
  • Tara
    May 19, 2017
    I received this ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.This is my first try at a book by author Jenny Hale. This was a great read with strong and well-developed characters and a believable plot. There was a small mystery withing the story, but the book was not a mystery. Two best friends are renovating a summer house in the Outer Banks and plan to turn it into a bed and breakfast. Along the way, they encounter family, old and new friends and of course a romantic interest or two. Beautifully wri I received this ARC from Netgalley for an honest review.This is my first try at a book by author Jenny Hale. This was a great read with strong and well-developed characters and a believable plot. There was a small mystery withing the story, but the book was not a mystery. Two best friends are renovating a summer house in the Outer Banks and plan to turn it into a bed and breakfast. Along the way, they encounter family, old and new friends and of course a romantic interest or two. Beautifully written and it kept my interest the entire way through.
    more
  • Debbie Krenzer
    June 6, 2017
    A great beach read set in . . . a beach house! I enjoyed reading this book, while a little cheesy sometimes, it was a fun read. The blurb was absolutely correct in saying "a gorgeous, feel good romance that will have you hooked"! The added bonus of a secret diary hiding a huge secret made it very interesting, as well.Thanks to Bookouture and Net Galley for providing me with a free e-galley in exchange for an honest, unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Nicole
    June 17, 2017
    Well it is a Jenny Hale book...and all is said :)
  • Chellsandbooks
    July 1, 2017
    full review will be posted on www.chellsandbooks.wordpress.com
  • Booksandchinooks
    May 14, 2017
    This was a cute and easy summer read. Two friends, Callie and Olivia, are remodelling a house by the ocean into a bed and breakfast. As they do so they meet some of the local residents. Callie begins a relationship with Luke - a reported playboy. As Luke and Callie get to know each she realizes he is not the shallow person the press has reported. As they continue to renovate the old house Callie discovers secrets from Luke's past. He is not aware of any of this so when it comes to light he is in This was a cute and easy summer read. Two friends, Callie and Olivia, are remodelling a house by the ocean into a bed and breakfast. As they do so they meet some of the local residents. Callie begins a relationship with Luke - a reported playboy. As Luke and Callie get to know each she realizes he is not the shallow person the press has reported. As they continue to renovate the old house Callie discovers secrets from Luke's past. He is not aware of any of this so when it comes to light he is in shock. Luke blames Callie for causing disorder in his and his family's life. Much of what Luke thought to be true about his family is not and they all have to reconcile to this. It a nice summer read and I would recommend it. Thanks to Netgalley for allowing me to read this for an honest review. This book is available June 9, 2017.
    more
  • Ana
    June 12, 2017
    Originally posted on This Chick ReadsI'm a HUGE fan of Jenny Hale and she really is my go-to author whenever I'm in need of a sweet romance book. She's got such an enormous talent and writing skills and really can create the most gorgeous, lovable characters. Especially the male characters, boy..they'll sweep you off your feet. The Summer House is truly an enjoyable and gorgeous read, just like the cover. I remember seeing the cover for the first time and thinking how mesmerizing it is. How it s Originally posted on This Chick ReadsI'm a HUGE fan of Jenny Hale and she really is my go-to author whenever I'm in need of a sweet romance book. She's got such an enormous talent and writing skills and really can create the most gorgeous, lovable characters. Especially the male characters, boy..they'll sweep you off your feet. The Summer House is truly an enjoyable and gorgeous read, just like the cover. I remember seeing the cover for the first time and thinking how mesmerizing it is. How it screams 'Freedom' and 'Beauty'. Besides thinking the cover art is amazing I really think it captures the very essence of the story.Callie and her friend, Olivia have just bought a house in North Carolina’s Outer Banks and they're doing their best to finish renovating and open the B & B just by the end of summer. Ever since the first time they visited Olivia's grandmother in this small, picturesque place they've dreamed of buying a house there and starting their own business. They were thrilled when they finally could make an offer on the house and start their new business venture. As in all of Hale's stories, there's a dishy hero ready to sweep the heroine off her feet. A guy most romance lovers will drool over, and list him in their top 10 book hero crushes. Luke Sullivan is gorgeous, smart, classy and despite the rumors he's a playboy, he's actually a great and well mannered guy. If I wasn't already familiar with Jenny's books I might have feared of 'rich boy meets a not so rich girl'cliche, and even think the hero would be a spoiled brat, however I knew this was not going to be the case. Jenny's book couples sometimes tend to be on the border of too good to be true or 'too perfect', however this doesn't bother me the slightest. It's actually one of the reasons why I love books, especially romance ones, cause in these stories everything is possible and I can forget all about my real problems and even for a while believe the world is perfect. The story is just so gorgeous it actually makes you forget about yourself as you get immersed in Callie's life, her relationship with Luke and the mystery of the diary.Speaking of this mysterious diary, Callie stumbles upon while renovating the house, it contains some very intriguing things, some secrets which might destroy certain people and their lives. Should she reveal it? Should she do something about it? While there are kind of two stories to follow, the whole mystery part is in the background and adds more drama to the book. It's clear Jenny wanted to give the book more depth and complexity however I didn't find it as interesting as the romance part. Don't get me wrong, it still kept my interest and made me turn the pages with the speed of light, however if I compare it to the romance...it didn't flow that easy. But I was (as usual) totally immersed in Luke and Callie's story and adored the chemistry between them. If you're looking for a clean romance, this is definitely the book for you.Another forte of Jenny's is location and how she manages to completely transport you to this beautiful, colourful place in North Carolina. It's like you can smell the salt in the air, feel the sunshine rays on your skin, breathe in the sea air. I could close my eyes and already feel at the beach, feeling that freedom and enjoying the nature. Jenny's the absolute master in describing the scenery and making you feel like you're actually there.If you're a fan of sweet romance stories that will leave you feeling all fuzzy and warm inside, look no further! The Summer House is the perfect beach read. Prepare yourself to meet your next book crush (Luke <3 ) and to spend hours gushing about it.
    more
  • Emma Star Crossed Reviews
    June 11, 2017
    This review was originally posted on Star Crossed ReviewsSome summers will stay with you forever...Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon have finally done it: put their life savings into the beach house they admired through childhood summers, on the dazzling white sand of North Carolina’s Outer Banks. They’re going to buff the salt from its windows, paint its sun-bleached sidings, and open it as a bed and breakfast.Callie’s too busy to think about her love life, but when she catches the att This review was originally posted on Star Crossed ReviewsSome summers will stay with you forever...Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon have finally done it: put their life savings into the beach house they admired through childhood summers, on the dazzling white sand of North Carolina’s Outer Banks. They’re going to buff the salt from its windows, paint its sun-bleached sidings, and open it as a bed and breakfast.Callie’s too busy to think about her love life, but when she catches the attention of local heartthrob Luke Sullivan, his blue eyes and easy smile make it hard to say no. He’s heir to his father’s property empire, and the papers say he’s just another playboy, but as they laugh in the ocean waves, Callie realizes there’s more to this man than money and good looks.Just when true happiness seems within reach, Callie and Olivia find a diary full of secrets... secrets that stretch across the island, and have the power to turn lives upside down. As Callie reads, she unravels a mystery that makes her heart drop through the floor.Will Callie and Luke be pulled apart by the storm it unleashes, or can true love save them?The Summer House is an absolutely gorgeous, heart-warming summer romance, about the importance of family, not keeping secrets, and learning how to open your heart.Thank you to Kim for letting me take part in this blog tour. I have read quite a few of Jenny's book and I adore her writing style so when I heard about the tour I had to sign up.Like Jenny's other summertime books this story is set at the Outer Banks. Callie and bestie Olivia have bought their dream house The Beachcomber. They have admired this house since they were little so when it came on the market they knew they had to get it. the Beachcomber sounds like the perfect place to stay if you were holidaying in this area. It has the views, the beach and the house itself sounds very relaxing.When popping out to pick up some lunch one day Callie meets Luke. Luke Sullivan is a bit of a celebrity in these parts and has been portrayed as a flashy playboy by the media. Luke is actually a real sweetie.Callie has so many walls around her. She was hurt when she was young by one of the people that are supposed to love you unconditionally. This has led her to keep people at arms length, never really letting them in.I won't ruin the story for anyone but I felt so sorry for Callie. Knowing that secret put her between a rock and a hard place. There was no right answer. I think she handled it very well though.This story is the perfect summer read. It will have you wishing for those chill out days on the beach and those long  summer nights.
    more
  • Petra
    June 9, 2017
    I am always looking forward to a great romantic dose of Jenny Hale's books, and thankfully she writes two books a year! So when the day arrives, I am sure to dip my toes into a perfectly wrapped package of a story. In the Summer House, Jenny Hale yet again waved her magical writing wand and transported me right into Outer Banks, a beautiful place nestled on the white sand of North Caroline beach.Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon have finally done it: put their life savings into the beac I am always looking forward to a great romantic dose of Jenny Hale's books, and thankfully she writes two books a year! So when the day arrives, I am sure to dip my toes into a perfectly wrapped package of a story. In the Summer House, Jenny Hale yet again waved her magical writing wand and transported me right into Outer Banks, a beautiful place nestled on the white sand of North Caroline beach.Callie Weaver and best friend Olivia Dixon have finally done it: put their life savings into the beach house they admired through childhood summers, on the dazzling white sand of North Carolina’s Outer Banks. They’re going to buff the salt from its windows, paint its sun-bleached sidings, and open it as a Bed &Breakfast.Callie’s too busy to think about her love life, but when she catches the attention of local heartthrob Luke Sullivan, his blue eyes and easy smile make it hard to say no. He’s heir to his father’s property empire, and the papers say he’s just another playboy, but as they laugh in the ocean waves, Callie realises there’s more to this man than money and good looks.Just when true happiness seems within reach, Callie and Olivia find a diary full of secrets... secrets that stretch across the island and have the power to turn lives upside down. As Callie reads, she unravels a mystery that makes her heart drop through the floor. As in all previous Jenny Hale books, I found myself adoring the leading character of The Summer House, Callie Weaver who jumped at a chance to make her childhood dream come true. Callie eagerly throws herself in making Beachcomber a successful Bed&Breakfast business with the help of her best friends Olivia. Callie has a charming personality and therefore seem to attract the attention of local "celebrity' Luke Sullivan, and although those two don't move in the same circle, they appear to be drawn to one another. The supporting cast of characters are equally adorable - Olivia, her young son Wyatt and Gladys provide much-needed love and support for Callie who is quite guarded when it comes to love.​The author's building of the setting and the area of Outer Banks made me almost feel the sand on my toes and the ocean spray on my face. Aside from the budding romances throughout the story, there was also another aspect that piqued my interest - the discovery of a mysterious diary and a lockbox added layer to the story and brought it to an intriguing level. I love when romance perfectly balances with a dose of mystery!Jenny Hale so effortlessly manages to write a story where the words just leap out of the pages tugging me on an adventure that is full of sparkle, warmth, love and intrigue.
    more
  • Vanessa
    June 5, 2017
    When I began reading this it was when my dog past away, so I dove into the story to distract myself. I breezed through it easily since the flow of the story is simple. It isn't complicated with too many descriptions, or words that are too "fluffy", instead it was everything I needed for a relaxing read. I'm already a sucker for romance, so following Luke and Callie as they navigated their attraction to one another, was everything I wanted it to be. It was sweet and gradual. Most stories tend to When I began reading this it was when my dog past away, so I dove into the story to distract myself. I breezed through it easily since the flow of the story is simple. It isn't complicated with too many descriptions, or words that are too "fluffy", instead it was everything I needed for a relaxing read. I'm already a sucker for romance, so following Luke and Callie as they navigated their attraction to one another, was everything I wanted it to be. It was sweet and gradual. Most stories tend to have an instant-love, and while yes, Luke and Callie did have an attraction from the start, they didn't fall in love right away. They didn't even kiss untill around midway into the book. I love a story where the love doesn't come easily though, and Callie's reluctance to be open with Luke felt relatable. I loved that she she didn't kiss him on the first date, but I also hated (in a good way) that she couldn't get out of her head and out of her own way. It was a nice way to create conflict between them since Luke was so open with her from the start. Then when she was finally starting to open up to Luke and later tells him about his family secret and he pushes her away, I found myself angry with him. Lol. It was so easy to become invested in the characters. While I knew that by the end of the story they would makeup and live happily ever after, I was still rooting for them as they went through their rough patch.As far as the other parts of the story, I enjoyed the renovation of the Beachcomber. The author has a knack for being descriptive without overkill and I could picture it quite vividly in my mind. I also liked that there was a side romance occurring with Olivia and Aiden, as well as a bit of mystery with the diary. I was able to guess early on where the diary entries were leading, but even so, I enjoyed figuring out whether I was right or not.Over all, I feel this story is a great read. Especially when you're looking to get lost in the pages of imaginary people. Reading this helped me during a hard time after losing my dog. She was always by my side and such a great companion, so the loss really hit hard. I thank the author for allowing me to forget my grief for a bit and I look forward to other book written by her.I was given an early copy of this book, thanks to Netgalley
    more
  • Kathy
    May 29, 2017
    This is a well done, light summer read in the chick lit genre. Callie and her best friend Olivia are restoring an old house in the Outer Banks, NC, to re-open it as a B&B. Though she has little time for anything but work on the house, Callie meets Luke Sullivan, a rich local as well as a well-known and well written-about community resident. They hit it off well from the get-go. In fact, Luke becomes as infatuated with Callie as she does with him. Their romance spans the summer, as they both This is a well done, light summer read in the chick lit genre. Callie and her best friend Olivia are restoring an old house in the Outer Banks, NC, to re-open it as a B&B. Though she has little time for anything but work on the house, Callie meets Luke Sullivan, a rich local as well as a well-known and well written-about community resident. They hit it off well from the get-go. In fact, Luke becomes as infatuated with Callie as she does with him. Their romance spans the summer, as they both dance around their budding relationship, while Callie and Olivia work on the old house restoration. While restoring the old house, Callie stumbles upon an old journal belonging to the house’s former owner. The revelations in this journal have the power to send shock waves through their lives as well as through the community, especially the well-known and well-reported-in-the-news Sullivan household. This is a good summer, beach read. My only problems with the book are that there is practically no plot, the relationship between Callie and Luke, though interesting, is inevitable from the very start and the secrets in the journal were not very earth-shattering or enough to keep me in suspense. The main and supporting characters are well done, as is generally the case in Jenny Hale’s books. The setting is ideal for a story such as this one. The story starts out well and immediately sucked me in. However, it lost steam about a quarter way in and dragged until about the last twenty percent of the book, where it picked up steam again. I easily became bored reading through the many pages in the middle, hoping things would soon begin to hurry along to what I knew, from the start, as I said, would be the inevitable conclusion. The journal Callie found added some mystery to the story but not very much. It did, nevertheless, help to move things along a bit. I have read Jenny Hale’s other books and enjoyed them as much as this one. I do wish it had maintained a steadier pace throughout, though, in the end, I was glad I stuck with it. As I said, this is a good summer chick it read that can help pass the time on the beach, traveling or on a vacation (when you don’t really want a story that is too involved or complex). I received this from NetGalley to read and review.
    more
  • Alison
    June 13, 2017
    What a delightful cover to entice the reader into The Summer House. If you are looking for a feel-good, summer story with a splash of mystery then this will do you nicely.Callie and Olivia have been friends for ever and now they are about to embark on their dream of buying, renovating and opening a guest house, situated on the stunning Outer Banks. They need to buckle down and work their little socks off in order to get it up to scratch and suitable for the grand opening.I really liked these two What a delightful cover to entice the reader into The Summer House. If you are looking for a feel-good, summer story with a splash of mystery then this will do you nicely.Callie and Olivia have been friends for ever and now they are about to embark on their dream of buying, renovating and opening a guest house, situated on the stunning Outer Banks. They need to buckle down and work their little socks off in order to get it up to scratch and suitable for the grand opening.I really liked these two women, they aren’t afraid of hard work and can sense their potential. Olivia has a young son Wyatt and she balances motherhood and work with the help of Callie and her grandmother Gladys.Callie’s own family life is a bit battered around the edges and this has made her rather introverted .. she certainly won’t suffer fools and has built a protective wall around her heart.However like all good romance stories she soon spots a dishy guy .. Luke appealed to me immediately, yet another ‘book boyfriend’ to make me swoon. As we unravel his personality and circumstances he could do no wrong in my eyes!This is a book on several levels all intertwined to make a compelling read. While they are busy working on the house preparations Callie discovers a diary that will turn the world of someone close to her upside down based on her decision of whether to disclose it or not. I felt her turmoil and suffered her pain .. this was beautifully written and really plays on the readers emotions.If you absorb yourself in this book you can feel the breeze, smell the sea air, have the texture of sand between your toes, what more could you ask for?Perfection between the pages, this is a book that will entertain, make you smile and cry and leave a pleasant satisfaction at the end. I highly recommend. Jenny has an ability to write descriptively and with such sweet charm.Many thanks to Kim and Bookouture for inviting me to take place on the tour and to Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.
    more
  • Kristin's Novel Cafe
    June 15, 2017
    I loved this book! Callie and her best friend, Olivia, just purchased the Beachcomber. It is an old home they are renovating to become a B&B, located on the coast of the beautiful North Carolina. On a busy afternoon, Callie goes to town to pick up lunch and runs into the gorgeous and famous, Luke Sullivan. Sparks fly, and the rest (as they say) is history!First, the characters in this book were just perfect. Callie is such a strong woman, with vulnerabilities holding her back from giving in I loved this book! Callie and her best friend, Olivia, just purchased the Beachcomber. It is an old home they are renovating to become a B&B, located on the coast of the beautiful North Carolina. On a busy afternoon, Callie goes to town to pick up lunch and runs into the gorgeous and famous, Luke Sullivan. Sparks fly, and the rest (as they say) is history!First, the characters in this book were just perfect. Callie is such a strong woman, with vulnerabilities holding her back from giving in to Luke’s charms. Luke is the perfect man, sweet, funny, and handsome. He is every woman’s dream! The two of them had great chemistry from the start, which was so fun to read. I also enjoyed the supporting characters: Olivia, her grandmother Gladys, and Luke’s family.The setting of the book makes it the perfect summer read. I can envision this being read on a cruise ship, or on white sands while sipping a fruity drink (with a fun umbrella, of course!). The author’s descriptions of the ocean, the beach, and the cute little town allowed me to escape as though I was right there with Callie and Luke, running on the beach, salt in the air.There are a couple of little twists that add a slight mystery to the story. While renovating, Callie and Olivia discover an old journal and lockbox from the previous deceased owner. After taking matters in to her own hands, Callie learns a deep secret that could destroy the Sullivan family. While I did find it a little predictable, it was a great added element that only deepened the story and characters.I highly recommend this fun, light read!
    more
  • Jen Lucas
    May 27, 2017
    Sun, sea, storms, surf, millionaires and romance. Who could ask for anything more right?Callie and Olivia have the opportunity of a lifetime to renovate and reopen a bed and breakfast in the small seaside community of Waves, North Carolina, a place they have loved since their childhood. Callie isn’t looking for love, her focus is on the house and getting ready to open by the end of the summer, but a chance meeting with local millionaire Luke, and a tropical storm blowing in from the Atlantic, th Sun, sea, storms, surf, millionaires and romance. Who could ask for anything more right?Callie and Olivia have the opportunity of a lifetime to renovate and reopen a bed and breakfast in the small seaside community of Waves, North Carolina, a place they have loved since their childhood. Callie isn’t looking for love, her focus is on the house and getting ready to open by the end of the summer, but a chance meeting with local millionaire Luke, and a tropical storm blowing in from the Atlantic, threaten to throw her plans into disarray. Oh and boy do they…I don’t want to say too much more about the plot – the blurb gives a hint of what you can expect after all. But what I will say is that, in spite of the troubles that Callie and Luke face, this is a truly beautiful and heart warming read that will have all us old romantics feeling the warm and fuzzies for sure.I really liked the characters of Callie and Olivia. They were both down to earth and easy to get to know and warm to. The story centres more around Callie obviously, but Olivia, her Grandmother Gladys and her son Wyatt are also key parts of the story and all equally lovable. Gladys was brilliantly imagined, a strong independent woman who looked out for the young women and supported them all that she could and I could recognise my own gran in her humour and wisdom. Brilliant. Olivia was fun too, a great friend to Callie, and her tentative flirting with old college chum Aiden was quite sweet.But Callie and Luke – that is where the sparks fly. They may have met by accident but the chemistry bled from the page and although you knew it was never going to be an easy ride, they way in which they fought to overcome the expectations and misconceptions about who Luke really was was so endearing and beautiful to read. Told you. Warm and fuzzies. Callie had her own demons to overcome, ones which overshadowed her relationship with Luke, and her trust issues added a real layer of conflict, especially when she trusted his reputation over taking man she saw in front of her at face value. And as for Luke? Tall, tanned, surfer dude millionaire. What is not to like in that?Now, as in every good romance, there is another layer of conflict which threatens to derail this romance before it even really begins. And boy is it a good one. Not only do they have to contend with a tropical storm which threatens to wipe out all of the progress they have made on the house, but a deep rooted secret comes to the fore and for some of the residents it is a hard thing to take. Whether they all make it through okay… Well you’ll have to read for yourself won’t you?There are so many moments in this that will make you swoon, go awww and just have a right good old chuckle. I said it before and I’ll say it again. This is a beautiful, engaging and heart warming read, with excellent characterisations and descriptions so vivid I want to get straight on a plane to North Carolina right now. (I also want me a hot millionaire but realise I have more chance with the plane ticket…)Fans of Jenny Hale will not be disappointed. A perfect summer holiday romance read.
    more
  • LaBibliodeCaro
    May 23, 2017
    This is the first “summer” book I’ve read from Jenny Hale. I had already reviewed one of her Christmas novels a few months ago and I had really enjoyed the author’s writing style. So I knew that I was likely to enjoy this new publication.And the promise of a feel-good, romantic story has been delivered. I really had a lovely time delving into this heartwarming tale. The whole cast was endearing and easy to like. Although at first, I was having some reservations about the “millionaire” side of Lu This is the first “summer” book I’ve read from Jenny Hale. I had already reviewed one of her Christmas novels a few months ago and I had really enjoyed the author’s writing style. So I knew that I was likely to enjoy this new publication.And the promise of a feel-good, romantic story has been delivered. I really had a lovely time delving into this heartwarming tale. The whole cast was endearing and easy to like. Although at first, I was having some reservations about the “millionaire” side of Luke.I couldn’t not say anything about this element of the book, especially given that I sort of criticized this recurring theme/cliché in chick lit in my last review of the French translation of “A Night With Grace Kelly” by Lucy Holliday. But, last weekend Pippa Middleton did marry that kind of rare man, so it is not as unrealistic as one would think, right? Let’s accept this feature as part of the wild romantic fantasy we might all nurture to some extent at some point! 😊Overall, I enjoyed seeing the main protagonists slowly get to know each other. The author really managed to write warm scenes with vivid, dynamic descriptions. I really was under the impression that the film was unfolding before my eyes.The Summer House is a feel-good love story for the hopeless romantics we all secretly are. Luke is the dream boyfriend we’d all wish to meet one day — kind, supportive and reliable. I recommend this book if you need a sweet, easy read to escape.
    more
Write a review