The Man She Knew (By Way of the Lighthouse #1)
Don't they both deserve a second chance? Fourteen years ago, one reckless act cost Ian Sylvestry everything, including the girl he planned to marry. Since then, he has fought hard to turn his life around. Returning to his Baltimore town after serving a prison term was the first step. Winning back Maleah Turner's trust is a far more daunting challenge. From their first sparks-flying reunion, it's obvious they still have powerful feelings for each other. In fact, they might be even stronger together now. But if their second chance is going to work, Maleah has to believe that Ian is a changed man. She really wants to believe…but she simply isn't convinced

The Man She Knew (By Way of the Lighthouse #1) Details

TitleThe Man She Knew (By Way of the Lighthouse #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherHarlequin Heartwarming
ISBN0373368410
ISBN-139780373368419
Number of pages384 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary

The Man She Knew (By Way of the Lighthouse #1) Review

  • Lisa (Bookworm Lisa)
    June 4, 2017
    A stupid decision can alter the path of your life. Ian Sylvestry learned this fact when he was sent to prison, leaving the girl he loved heartbroken. Years have passed and he is a successful businessman, but he still has not made amends with Maleah.This book was about second chances. How do you take a wrong and find a way to make it right? Ian knows that he has lost trust and respect, but knows he is a man worthy of both. His past broke him and he is letting it break his future happiness.Maleah A stupid decision can alter the path of your life. Ian Sylvestry learned this fact when he was sent to prison, leaving the girl he loved heartbroken. Years have passed and he is a successful businessman, but he still has not made amends with Maleah.This book was about second chances. How do you take a wrong and find a way to make it right? Ian knows that he has lost trust and respect, but knows he is a man worthy of both. His past broke him and he is letting it break his future happiness.Maleah comes from a family of law enforcement. The last person they want her to find happiness with is an ex-felon. She has problems overcoming the hurt that he put her through. How can she let go of the past to find happiness with Ian?This book dealt with some real emotional issues. I was impressed the Loree Lough took a tough subject matter and turned it into a positive. There are so many psychological issues that had to be overcome for this book to succeed. I felt that it was done well. If you like books about second chances, success in spite of obstacles, family loyalty, and honor, this may be a book for you to dive into. It is clean with kissing.Source: I received a review copy from the author. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Aimee (Getting Your Read On)
    June 8, 2017
    I really loved the premise for this book. One stupid mistake and everything changes. For Ian, that stupid mistake meant prison and heartbreak. Since his prison release, he has fought hard to become a man worthy of trust and respect. He is a pillar in his community and his service knows no bounds. Ian was the shining star of this story and I loved him.Maleah is a bit more difficult to understand and love. I'm not sure I saw what Ian saw in her but I guess the heart loves who the heart loves. The I really loved the premise for this book. One stupid mistake and everything changes. For Ian, that stupid mistake meant prison and heartbreak. Since his prison release, he has fought hard to become a man worthy of trust and respect. He is a pillar in his community and his service knows no bounds. Ian was the shining star of this story and I loved him.Maleah is a bit more difficult to understand and love. I'm not sure I saw what Ian saw in her but I guess the heart loves who the heart loves. The whole premise of the book is such an interesting one and I was caught up in Ian's struggle. There is just something about a story of second chances, especially one in the extreme like this one. It wasn't just a second chance at love but a second chance at life. I think the story could have been condensed a bit- it dragged on in the middle and my patience started to wear thin but the ending was sweet and just proved once again how much I loved Ian.Content: Clean-I received a copy of this book in conjunction with this book tour. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Susan Snodgrass
    June 2, 2017
    This was my first Loree Lough book. I thoroughly enjoyed it, too. Nice, clean contemporary romance. Great characters, good plot and some awesome truths here. This will not be the last book of Lough's I read.
  • Janet Marie Dowell
    May 28, 2017
    Ian Syvestry messed up as a teenager and it cost him ten years of his life. His community wants to make him pay for the rest of life. We all have people in our lives who has made mistakes and we should be willing to give them a second chance.Meleah Turner is and has always been in love with Ian. She grew up in a family of cops. They make hard for Ian to be friends with Meleah. She has a huge heart but is hesitant about giving him another chance.To find out if Meleah gives Ian another chance and Ian Syvestry messed up as a teenager and it cost him ten years of his life. His community wants to make him pay for the rest of life. We all have people in our lives who has made mistakes and we should be willing to give them a second chance.Meleah Turner is and has always been in love with Ian. She grew up in a family of cops. They make hard for Ian to be friends with Meleah. She has a huge heart but is hesitant about giving him another chance.To find out if Meleah gives Ian another chance and if her family eases up on their judgemental thinking, you have to read the book. Happy Reading!
    more
  • Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
    June 12, 2017
    The Man She Knew starts a brand new series by Loree Lough, and it’s full of great characters and a heartfelt plot.Maleah’s family is lots of fun, as long as you see past their fierce (and prejudicial) protectiveness of her. Her grandparents, particularly her grandfather, made me chuckle and cry in turn. Ian’s Aunt Gladys is a hoot! Oh my stars, I loved her. She’s feisty and speaks her mind and loves deeply.Maleah and Ian’s relationship is complicated – in both the past and the present. One thing The Man She Knew starts a brand new series by Loree Lough, and it’s full of great characters and a heartfelt plot.Maleah’s family is lots of fun, as long as you see past their fierce (and prejudicial) protectiveness of her. Her grandparents, particularly her grandfather, made me chuckle and cry in turn. Ian’s Aunt Gladys is a hoot! Oh my stars, I loved her. She’s feisty and speaks her mind and loves deeply.Maleah and Ian’s relationship is complicated – in both the past and the present. One thing I loved about this novel is that, while neither Maleah and Ian have fully gotten over each other, when they are reconnected they start out friendly with no expectation for more. Both have the right to still be upset – Maleah for how Ian screwed things up and Ian for the painful way Maleah rejected him (and his letters) when he most needed her. Yet, instead of trading barbs and bitter insults, they are for the most part kind to each other. Awkward, at first, to be sure. But kind and respectful. It was refreshing to watch this play out between them.I did think some of the pacing in their relationship felt odd as it progressed. Maleah’s sudden change of heart … and then back again… gave me a bit of pause, as did Ian’s surprising (to me) actions at the end. The progression seemed steady and then sped up and then went back to the level it had been at… and then barrelled to a conclusion without much explanation between the two. Overall, this isn’t a big deal though and all the pluses in this novel outshine this one negative.Bottom Line: There are a lot of things going on in The Man She Knew – and it all combines to make a great read! An inspiring story of second chances, forgiveness and family, this novel more than lives up to its ‘heartwarming’ brand. It never gets sappy, though, or saccharine; instead, Lough has given us warm characters, a compelling plot, and a tender romance.(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)see my review at Reading Is My SuperPower
    more
  • Janice Sisemore
    June 1, 2017
    The Man she Knew Ian is from Maleah's past. Her family does not like him. He served his time and now is a changed man but can he prove it Maleah and her family. They are forced to work together on a project thru her job. Loved that beside that he owed and ran a restaurant that he also did search and rescue with his dog. Love the families on both sides and closeness. I definitely recommend this book. I was honored to be given an opportunity to read an advanced copy of the book.
    more
  • Lynn Brooks
    June 8, 2017
    Redemption, turmoil and undying love are brought to life in Loree Lough’s latest release! We meet Ian, a tarnished man who has gone to great lengths to turn his life around and is such a joy to grow to adore throughout the book. The heroine however, is not easy to love. She’s a kind and generous soul to everyone else, but to him, she’s self-righteous and hurtful. In the end, we have to find forgiveness in our heart as well as we make our way through the story towards that happily-ever-after and Redemption, turmoil and undying love are brought to life in Loree Lough’s latest release! We meet Ian, a tarnished man who has gone to great lengths to turn his life around and is such a joy to grow to adore throughout the book. The heroine however, is not easy to love. She’s a kind and generous soul to everyone else, but to him, she’s self-righteous and hurtful. In the end, we have to find forgiveness in our heart as well as we make our way through the story towards that happily-ever-after and realize that for all these years, she felt hurt, abandoned and torn between various loves. She wasn’t always strong enough to stand up for what she felt, but in the end she finally realized he was worth it!Fourteen years ago as a rebellious teen, Ian Sylvestry made one stupid mistake that he couldn’t take back. After spending a decade in prison, he has worked hard to turn into the man he truly wants to be. He’s kind, he’s generous, he’s good-hearted … and a day doesn’t go by when he doesn’t think about the love of his life that his mistake cost him.Maleah Turner made it all too clear that she wanted nothing more to do with the likes of Ian when she returned all of his letters and told him to stop contacting her. She has gone on to live a productive life and is happy … or at least as happy as she has ever allowed herself to be. When she runs into him years after his release, she can’t believe how much he’s changed. When she gets stuck working with him on a charity project, she’s not happy. He seems so different … but how can she trust him again?
    more
  • Shannan
    June 10, 2017
    I'm a Maryland girl born and raised. So I went into this book with very high expectations - and Loree blew them away. Subtle mentions of infamous and famous places around Charm City, such as Poe's grave, Ravens Stadium, Constellation, the Baltimore Magazine, Fells Point (bonus points for knowing that blizzards don't stop people in Fells Point from going outside to shop and eat), Patapsco State Park...some of the places I've been and others in which I haven't even visited yet. Some locations are I'm a Maryland girl born and raised. So I went into this book with very high expectations - and Loree blew them away. Subtle mentions of infamous and famous places around Charm City, such as Poe's grave, Ravens Stadium, Constellation, the Baltimore Magazine, Fells Point (bonus points for knowing that blizzards don't stop people in Fells Point from going outside to shop and eat), Patapsco State Park...some of the places I've been and others in which I haven't even visited yet. Some locations are fictional such as Meleah's job (based on New Hope Academy I believe) and Ian's restaurant. I also love the caricature of Baltimoreans in Stan and in Kent O'Malley.The meat of the story is whether love can survive a second chance. Ian screwed up as an angry teenager and went to jail for his choices. Meleah loved him with all her heart but that love couldn't truly survive so many years, her broken heart, and the condemnation of her police force family (grandfather, father and both brothers) - though she is single because that little spark of love means no other man can measure up. Ian never stopped loving her. Them getting thrown together by Stan to work on the various fundraising events for the autism school she works at, which benefits kids such as Ian's hostess's son, means facing their past. Until doing a good deed for another almost kills him. This book grabs your heart and straps it into a roller coaster. I didn't want to put the book down, even after I finished it. And the end is so... perfectly suited to the rest of the book.
    more
  • Stephanie (Between the Coverz)
    June 4, 2017
    A heartwarming second chance romance!The Man She Knew is a contemporary romance of two high school lovers that were torn apart by one night and one bad decision. Now years later, the feelings of years ago still running high, they are forced to work together on a project. While Maleah receives constant conflict from her family about the no good ex-con Ian Sylvestry, she sees another side to him that everybody seems to love and talk high praises of. For an ex-con, Ian has connections with many inf A heartwarming second chance romance!The Man She Knew is a contemporary romance of two high school lovers that were torn apart by one night and one bad decision. Now years later, the feelings of years ago still running high, they are forced to work together on a project. While Maleah receives constant conflict from her family about the no good ex-con Ian Sylvestry, she sees another side to him that everybody seems to love and talk high praises of. For an ex-con, Ian has connections with many influential individuals. The Man She Knew was a charming and well-written story. There were many twists and turns that formed a believable plot. There was a lot of action and romance to keep my interest piqued. This author really knows how to build up the story and keep your attention to the very end. The characters were well developed and engaging. Loree Lough did a great job of bringing out several feelings throughout this story – heartache, laughter, love, and hope. This is the first book that I have read by Loree Lough and will certainly not be my last. I was not disappointed at all. I recommend The Man She Knew to anyone that enjoys reading a heartwarming romance that will give you the all the feelings and put a smile on your face.
    more
  • Jess Lawson
    June 3, 2017
    The Man She Knew is a second chance romance. As well as the first book in the By The Way of The Lighthouse Series. Ian and Maleah had a modern day Romeo and Juliet romance, instead of death they ended with Ian behind prison bars. Prison for him left them both full of regret and heartbreak. Elliott the pig headed older brother of Maleah always knew that Ian was bad news and he knows he will never be good enough for his kid sister once a con always a con. Maleah worked with special needs children. The Man She Knew is a second chance romance. As well as the first book in the By The Way of The Lighthouse Series. Ian and Maleah had a modern day Romeo and Juliet romance, instead of death they ended with Ian behind prison bars. Prison for him left them both full of regret and heartbreak. Elliott the pig headed older brother of Maleah always knew that Ian was bad news and he knows he will never be good enough for his kid sister once a con always a con. Maleah worked with special needs children. She has such a huge heart. In the works of an even she is currently planning she must get through it while working with the man that destroyed her ten years earlier. She has never been able to find another relationship that fit quite as perfect as that one. She will keep Ian at an arms length no matter what the cost to her. She can't afford to fall for him all over again. Even if watching him she sees he is great with the special needs children. This book has every thing you could want from a clean contemporary romance. You have heartache, love, laughter, and of course the Happily Ever After. If you looking for something to just make you feel good while your reading it and keep a smile on your face this book is perfect for you.
    more
  • Vickie Fisher
    June 10, 2017
    I love second chance stories, and this one did not disappoint. One bad decision shouldn’t destroy a person’s life. However, when that mistake lands you in prison and the loss of the love of your life, the odds are stacked against you. Ex-con or not Ian is a man to fall in love with. Will Maleah bend to the will of her cop family, or follow her heart? This story will keep you turning the page from beginning to end. Loree Lough has once again touched the heart.
    more
  • Joann
    June 10, 2017
    Wonderful book!!!!Absolutely loved this book!! I couldn't put it down! One of my favorite authors too! The plot was great, the characters were so alive! I couldn't put it down !! Great book!!!
  • Norma Polan
    June 9, 2017
    When you are an adult and you love your parents,what do you do when you family disapproves of the man you love.do people change?best book Loree Lough has written so far.
  • Terri
    May 7, 2017
    I love it! I like all characters in this book . I could not put it down until the end .
  • Harlequin Books
    June 2, 2017
    Miniseries: By Way of the Lighthouse
Write a review