Saga #43
NEW STORY ARC BEGINS FOR JUST 25 CENTS!!!SAGA returns monthly with a brave new direction, and to celebrate Image’s 25th Anniversary, this full-sized issue costs just 25 cents! In a perfect jumping-on point for first-time readers, Hazel and her star-crossed parents embark on a thrilling new adventure at the westernmost edge of the universe.

Saga #43 Details

TitleSaga #43
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 31st, 2017
PublisherImage
Number of pages29 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Comics, Science Fiction, Graphic Novels Comics, Graphic Novels

Saga #43 Review

  • Claudia
    May 31, 2017
    Not so enjoyable as the rest. It has a tough subject, deals with a few sensitive issues but the characters' behavior doesn't seem to support the story. Anyway, I missed the lot and Hazel managed to steal a smile from me.
  • Brandon St Mark
    May 31, 2017
    The Saga team never fail to impress.
  • Tudor Vlad
    May 31, 2017
    I thought this was a great start to a new chapter in the story. I admit that my rating is probably biased by the fact that the 5 months long hiatus made me crave for every small taste of Saga I could get, combined with the fact that I thought the last story arc was pretty bad. But this was funny and emotional, a promising start of what I hope to be a return to classic Saga, both in the quality of the writing. the story and overall enjoyment.I also love the wild west, just saying.
    more
  • Leticia
    May 31, 2017
    My only complaint about the Saga books: I read them too fast. ;-)
  • Alain St.Victor
    May 31, 2017
    Great to have back!Just happy after a long break for Saga to be back. This is one of my favorite series out at the moment and this issue does not disappoint. It's a great start off point for people who want to dive right in but also great for the long time readers.
    more
  • Kirra
    May 31, 2017
    "I'll just never understand why war is easy, and peace is so god-damn hard."After a huge length of time waiting for this new issue, I devoured it as quickly as I could and was once again blown away. I'd love to find this issue in person because it's a special anniversary issue for Image Comics and such a colourful, emotional beginning to the new story arc. I think there was a good balance of storyline and emotional conversation in this one too with about three or four huge points covered. After "I'll just never understand why war is easy, and peace is so god-damn hard."After a huge length of time waiting for this new issue, I devoured it as quickly as I could and was once again blown away. I'd love to find this issue in person because it's a special anniversary issue for Image Comics and such a colourful, emotional beginning to the new story arc. I think there was a good balance of storyline and emotional conversation in this one too with about three or four huge points covered. After reading this issue I'm excited about the direction it's heading but I was also really touched by the empowering messages about the character's bodies and the strength of a woman as well. I'll be discussing events in this issue so don't read on if you don't want to be spoiled!(view spoiler)[This is the returning issue after a shocking conclusion and it beings in Abortion Town, yes you read that right. It actually looks like an old Western town from a movie but with things you would never find in one of those. Hazel's little brother and Marko and Alana's son is sadly gone now after a violent fall Alana suffered in the last issue. The problem is though that the baby won't come out of its own and the longer it's inside her the more it will affect her health. Being a baby from mixed species neither of their people would help so they're forced to outsource wherever they can find help.Abortion Town actually sounds like a lovely place. They aim to help all women and it's only open to them and immediate family they choose to come with them. Unfortunately, since Alana is eight months along it's against the law of Landfall to perform on her and they're sent to the Badlands on a dangerous journey to "doctors" that will do anything. While her parents heal and work Hazel has an incredibly sweet moment with Petrichor when she asks about her body which immediately offends her but then she explains that it's just because she's so scared about her body being a young girl from two species that have never had children together before (that we know of). I liked what Petrichor said about being transgender and how it feels when someone questions their body and I think she's a great addition to the comics. The highlight was the end of this issue without a doubt. Once again we get a brilliant paragraph about the hurt and common pain of miscarriages that follows you out of the page and into reality too but that pain and possibly the baby inside Alana has given her strength and power in the form of this wave of heat that comes from Alana's hand and saves them from a threat. This new storyline almost makes up for the fact that the creators killed their son because I think is Alana now has powers like Marko because maybe she absorbed them when their baby died then that is really exciting for her and another huge change to their universe. (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Carol
    May 31, 2017
    As always, poignant and moving, yet so beautifully drawn that I just can't put them down. Just cannot praise this series highly enough!
  • Tara
    June 1, 2017
    kick-ass Alana is here!
  • Sarah
    June 1, 2017
    Hazel was adorable as ever!The main subject matter was depressing as ever.
  • Rambles Corbeau
    May 31, 2017
    Gah! Was that even shorter than usual?
  • Amber
    May 31, 2017
    Bring back my robot friend!!!!!
  • Brennan
    May 31, 2017
    Great issue.
  • Hayley
    May 31, 2017
    Well that was sort of amazing.
Write a review