Hearts Are Like Balloons
May Falkner’s past two years have been a rough road. When her father suddenly passes away, May needs to find a job to help out her mom and regain some control over her life. Working at the bookstore helps her heal, laugh, and hope again. It also leads her to cross paths with Nico Evitts, who begins as just a co-worker, but becomes so much moreWhen it all becomes perfect, because there is no perfect, life steps in to prove once again that it all can crash down harder than before. This is a story about finding yourself, love, and the things in life that are still here.Hearts are like balloons. Sometimes they inflate… Sometimes they deflate…

Hearts Are Like Balloons Details

TitleHearts Are Like Balloons
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 30th, 2017
PublisherCreateSpace
Number of pages228 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary

Hearts Are Like Balloons Review

  • Melissa ♥ Dog Lover ♥ Martin
    July 1, 2017
    Wow, this book really pulled on my heart strings. I love it so much better than her other book. It was just perfect. May's father has died. He had cancer and then something even more horrible happens. May and her mom are trying to get through it. May's mom finally goes back to work as an accountant and May gets a job with her best friend, Jessie, at a used bookstore. This is where we meet the wonderful Violet that runs that place for her family. I love her, she's an artist and she has purple hai Wow, this book really pulled on my heart strings. I love it so much better than her other book. It was just perfect. May's father has died. He had cancer and then something even more horrible happens. May and her mom are trying to get through it. May's mom finally goes back to work as an accountant and May gets a job with her best friend, Jessie, at a used bookstore. This is where we meet the wonderful Violet that runs that place for her family. I love her, she's an artist and she has purple hair! I want purple hair! Violet's brother Nico also works at the bookstore. May and Nico find a bond together and they get along so good. Every one in this book is wonderful. I love May so much, she's so funny and I feel for her with all she had to go through. This book made me cry, laugh and then cry some more. Poor May, Nico, her friends and family had to go through so much. I don't want to give anything away but this is a tough book. But don't let that stop you because it's so wonderful too. Not everything has to be the end of the world and things are fun and quirky and loving. I love more than anything when I find a book that I fall right in love with when I least expect it. ♥Hearts really are like balloons. . . . .Review on my blog has Q & A w/ Candace. Linked below MY BLOG: Melissa Martin's Reading List
    more
  • Mischenko
    June 25, 2017
    To see my Q&A with author Candace Robinson and to see my full reviews for her current two books, please visit www.readrantrockandroll.comHearts Are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson is a story about a teenage girl named May who has just lost her father to lung cancer and is trying to move on with life. Her dad was important to her and she has no choice but to let him go. The loss is difficult for her, but she must find a way to move on and to remain strong for her mother.As May moves on to f To see my Q&A with author Candace Robinson and to see my full reviews for her current two books, please visit www.readrantrockandroll.comHearts Are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson is a story about a teenage girl named May who has just lost her father to lung cancer and is trying to move on with life. Her dad was important to her and she has no choice but to let him go. The loss is difficult for her, but she must find a way to move on and to remain strong for her mother.As May moves on to finding a job at a bookstore, she meets new people that help her along the way, including a hip new boss named Violet, and a new relationship with a boy she really likes named Nico. Violet hits it off with May right away as they have similar interests. Nico happens to be Violets sister and works there as well. May and Nico develop a great relationship as Nico is warm, understanding, and very much into her. It’s just what May needs to help heal her from the loss of her father. An unexpected event will change everything with their relationship which brings more challenge and heartache for May to overcome.I have to say that I loved this book. I loved the story as it felt real and was written well. It was emotional and I found myself crying a few times. I appreciated the relationships in the book and enjoyed all the characters. May has a really good support system in place and is loved by all that know her. I enjoyed Violet’s personality the most out of all the secondary characters. Despite the emotion in the book, it’s a feel good read and I was happy with the conclusion.I think I just found myself a new favorite author!Five *****
    more
  • Candace Robinson
    May 10, 2017
    Just being biased again! Yes, to serious issues and yes, to quirky side characters! Humor makes life a little easier especially when real life issues are a tough road.
  • Sheila {ShesGoingBookCrazy.com}
    June 8, 2017
    This full review can be viewed on my blog along with others: She's Going Book Crazy Release date June 30, 2017! My heart is a harness of nothing, a deflated balloon, and a place of loss. May is a teenager in her last few years of high school. She grew up alongside her father, loving to learn his techniques with art. When he is diagnosed with cancer, his deterioration is devastating to witness. Just when her father is released from the hospital to come home, May thought things couldn't get wors This full review can be viewed on my blog along with others: She's Going Book Crazy Release date June 30, 2017! My heart is a harness of nothing, a deflated balloon, and a place of loss. May is a teenager in her last few years of high school. She grew up alongside her father, loving to learn his techniques with art. When he is diagnosed with cancer, his deterioration is devastating to witness. Just when her father is released from the hospital to come home, May thought things couldn't get worse---but they do. As she grapples with loss, with change, and with challenges, she is forced to make hard decisions that force her to grow up faster than she had expected.--------------------------------------------- This is the first contemporary book I've picked up, so I wasn't sure what to expect going into it. Needless to say, I cried, laughed, mourned, thrilled, and contemplated much while reading the story following May's life.This story touches on some major topics that change, and have the potential to wreak havoc in a person's life. They are brutal each in their own way. The beauty of this story is that it and its characters are able to bring life from the ashes. While hurt may never fully leave, and scars may never completely heal, finding beauty in the dust is a starting point to move on, and to grow. This is exactly what May was able to do. May didn't always make the best decisions, but she learned from them. She realized the weight that a choice truly carries. Even though she hit some very low points, she was able to turn those experiences, and choices, around for the better. Even though the topics are melancholy, this was a nice read to break up my normal genres. It's not "light and fluffy," as many term contemporary to be. But it was a well-written read that made me think. You can blow into a balloon and watch it inflate, and then release it and see it deflate. You can take that same balloon and blow into it again, and observe it inflating. That's what my heart is doing in this moment, inflating and holding the air. Sexual content: There are two intimate scenes, but they don't go into much detail.Violence: Minimal, but it centers around the topic of suicide.Vulgarity: Quite a bit.4 stars.Thank you Candace for an ARC of this book.
    more
  • Frankie Lovely
    June 8, 2017
    You can Pre-order this book right now for only .99 on Amazon!!!
  • Dianne
    May 28, 2017
    It’s true, hearts ARE like balloons, they begin as we do in life, blank, smooth, deflated, but then they fill with what life gives us. In those times we experience pain, loss or disappointments, hopefully they only deflate a little, but when life gets almost unbearable with the weight it presses down on us, the heart deflates so much that what is left is stretched out and misshapen. There is only one way to fix that and it is to find that missing love and happiness and hang on tight!Candace Robi It’s true, hearts ARE like balloons, they begin as we do in life, blank, smooth, deflated, but then they fill with what life gives us. In those times we experience pain, loss or disappointments, hopefully they only deflate a little, but when life gets almost unbearable with the weight it presses down on us, the heart deflates so much that what is left is stretched out and misshapen. There is only one way to fix that and it is to find that missing love and happiness and hang on tight!Candace Robinson’s HEARTS ARE LIKE BALLOONS is one girl’s story of how her balloon deflated and almost didn’t get inflated again. Get ready to feel the intense emotions of a tale that could happen to anyone because life isn’t perfect and it is how you take on those bumps and smooth patches that keep your balloon afloat.This is May’s story of love, loss, grief, mistakes and starting over, sadder, wiser, but ready to take on the world as she comes into her own, grows comfortable in her own skin, her own mind and matures with grace and dignity. Follow and FEEL May’s life unfold with some bold strokes of reality from author Candace Robinson. There is no over-the-top-angst, but there is realistic and raw emotions, struggles and the light at the end of a long and dark tunnel for one young woman I could only wish the very best for!Find characters that feel and act real, witness true human responses to grief, disappointment, pain and joy. Candace Robinson has created a remarkable tale that knows no age boundaries, but has some great insights into the “what ifs” that can happen in an otherwise “normal” life. A wonderful hidden gem of a read!I received an ARC edition from Candace Robinson in exchange for my honest review. Add it to your TBR pile, it is that good!Publication Date: June 30, 2017Publisher: Candace RobinsonGenre: YA Social IssuesPrint Length: 158 pagesAvailable from: AmazonFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Carrie
    June 15, 2017
    May Falkner is just turning seventeen when her family gets horrible news after a trip to the hospital, May's father has terminal cancer. After returning home to go under hospice care with the family reeling from the news May's father commits suicide sending their world spinning once again. After her father's passing May vows to make things easier on her mother while she's coping with her loss by trying to find a part time job. A friend gets May an interview at a small bookstore where May meets N May Falkner is just turning seventeen when her family gets horrible news after a trip to the hospital, May's father has terminal cancer. After returning home to go under hospice care with the family reeling from the news May's father commits suicide sending their world spinning once again. After her father's passing May vows to make things easier on her mother while she's coping with her loss by trying to find a part time job. A friend gets May an interview at a small bookstore where May meets Nico Evitts who becomes more to May than she ever could have imagined. Hearts are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson is a young adult contemporary read that spans over several years time within the book. There's a lot of emotion built into the story with love and loss really oozing from each turn of a page. For me I felt I could connect with a lot of the story even being past my young adult years myself so I did find the story quite touching at times. The one thing I could say I would have liked to see with this book to make it a bit more of a five star read for myself would have been a bit more depth in places during the story. The author did cover a ton of ground spanning the book over a few years time and covering a lot of big events in the characters lives but a few times I felt as I got invested the story moved on a bit too quickly. Otherwise this one was a really good emotion filled read. I received a free copy of this book from the author. For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Minx -The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    May 12, 2017
    In the beginning of Hearts are like Balloons I was enamored from the starts as I learned about May Faulkner’s early memories of her father. It amazed me that the author was able to in one chapter show the emotional bond that May felt for her Father. Absolutely had my heart already tied up in this book by the first chapter.With her father’s sudden passing May tries to focus on what needs to be done to help her mother. She is grieving but more than anything she is soldiering on. Trying to remain s In the beginning of Hearts are like Balloons I was enamored from the starts as I learned about May Faulkner’s early memories of her father. It amazed me that the author was able to in one chapter show the emotional bond that May felt for her Father. Absolutely had my heart already tied up in this book by the first chapter.With her father’s sudden passing May tries to focus on what needs to be done to help her mother. She is grieving but more than anything she is soldiering on. Trying to remain strong for her mother. One of her main priorities is to find an income to help supplement the loss of her Father’s income. This drive, to pitch in financially, brings May to look for a job at a bookstore that soon became a lifeline. This job would introduce her to people that would have a long-lasting impact on who she became as an adult.What I loved about this book was the feels. There was every kind in this story! As I was reading this book I was amazed at how authentic this story felt. If I was told that this was a true story I would not be shocked. The characters are written realistically and I could see any of these life situations happening to someone I know. I cried with May and loved it when everything went right. I sobbed when tragedies struck her life and I love, love, love that she was not perfect.There is a sweet little romance tucked into this book and I just adored it! It was not a typical romance and appeared to end before it really had a chance to begin due to circumstances beyond anyone’s control. Truly heartbreaking. After a period of years where May had the time she needed to heal, mature, and grow as a person she had her second chance at love and what a swoony second chance it was. When you read this story, you will LOVE the red string scene. A real heart melter! Soooo good!If I could I would write and write and write about this story. I loved it so much. It was just perfect and perfectly tragic. Sigh, but I can’t because then I would spoil this story for you. If you are looking for a contemporary read that deals with death, friendship, love, loss, and second chances then I highly recommend this book to you. This book is more than it promises to be, it is a gem!This review is based on a complimentary book I received from Author, Candace Robinson. It is an honest and voluntary review. The complimentary receipt of it in no way affected my review or rating.Find this review and more at The Genre Minx Book Reviews
    more
  • Juliana Botha
    July 3, 2017
    *** Voluntary Requested a ARC for an honest review *** This was an awesome book to read.. YA Contemporary Romance and oh so well written..Loved all the characters, story line and the youngsters dealing with so much heartache, love, life and much more.May is a enigmatic and great young woman with a talent with great love of art that she inherited from her father, who at that point in the book battles with cancer.. They spend as much time as possible with each other up until her dad decided to tak *** Voluntary Requested a ARC for an honest review *** This was an awesome book to read.. YA Contemporary Romance and oh so well written..Loved all the characters, story line and the youngsters dealing with so much heartache, love, life and much more.May is a enigmatic and great young woman with a talent with great love of art that she inherited from her father, who at that point in the book battles with cancer.. They spend as much time as possible with each other up until her dad decided to take his own life. ( Sad ) ( For anyone that have been through it with someone / or them self knows that cancer is an illness so destructive not just for the cancer patient / survivor but for everyone involved.. No one should go through this.. I feel for May and her mother and my heart broke for them and dealing with the grief of losing a loved one is never easy and May's father was her all..After her father died May decided to go for a job interview at her best friends Jessie's work, to help her mum having to have extra burdens in paying for studies etc. Here is were she meets Nico and his sister the very Awesome Violet.. and yes the name is great but her appearance even more so, she is obsessed with the color purple. ( My kinda friend *Wink *Wink)... Um mm i'm getting of track now. LolMay and Nico starts hanging out, studying etc, and you guessed it, they fall in love... They have such a great sweet relationship and believe it or not, not without heartache, loss, anger and rejection.. *Sad face*... This part was very hard to get through.. But will May & Nico get their HEA?Thank you to Candace for gifting this amazing book, and for a first time writer this book is exceptionally well written, and it kept me glued to the pages, made me smile, cry and even got mad with May, but i can understand what she went through... Must Read Book.. Remember to leave a review, even if it's two sentences....Happy Reading..Juls
    more
  • Victoria
    May 12, 2017
    A beautifully written story, Hearts Are Like Balloons had me hooked from the start. I couldn't put this book down! It begins with a crushing life altering event with some equally emotional happenings in between (grab the Kleenex!) and finishes off with a sweet reconnection. Fall in love with 'Hearts' and fall in love with Nico and May!
    more
  • Amber Hodges
    June 27, 2017
    Now that was a story! Right from the beginning you are sucked into the life of May and are not able to stop until you finish the last page! I finished the whole book in a day, I just had to keep going to know what happened next. This was such a sweet story with such loveable characters. There wasn't a single one that I didn't like and I have to say that I think that is a first for me. May was such a sweet girl doing all she can to not let life get her down. Violet and her personality is just as Now that was a story! Right from the beginning you are sucked into the life of May and are not able to stop until you finish the last page! I finished the whole book in a day, I just had to keep going to know what happened next. This was such a sweet story with such loveable characters. There wasn't a single one that I didn't like and I have to say that I think that is a first for me. May was such a sweet girl doing all she can to not let life get her down. Violet and her personality is just as vibrant as her purple hair. Jessie is a total sweetheart and the best friend anyone could ever wish for. And Nico...swoon! How can you not love him. Guys should read this book to see how they should be! Nico was in the easiest words to say, perfection. While this book was full of sweet romances and lots of smiling moments, it also had just as many times of heart ache and pain. The author does a perfect balance to make you turning each page until the very end. Someone who knows the pain of losing those you love so suddenly was really able to relate but even someone who hasnt will still be able to understand the experience written in the pages and still have the desire to keep going. The messages in this story are wonderful. The biggest one I took with me was never give up. No matter what happens in life, there is always a way. Don't be afraid to get help either. I think anyone out there should get a copy of this book. Young, old, male, female, doesn't matter. The message is so spectacular that everyone needs to read it and take it with you through the rest of your life.
    more
  • Donna
    May 14, 2017
    I'm sitting here still trying to get my emotions under control after reading this very moving book. Hearts Are Like Balloons is the kind of book that, after you read it, it stays with you. I was deeply affected by the beginning when May lost her father, because I, just months ago lost my sister, and even though circumstances were different I was there with May. I really felt her pain. But it's more than just my personal tragedy, throughout the book I felt May's ups and downs in life. This is how I'm sitting here still trying to get my emotions under control after reading this very moving book. Hearts Are Like Balloons is the kind of book that, after you read it, it stays with you. I was deeply affected by the beginning when May lost her father, because I, just months ago lost my sister, and even though circumstances were different I was there with May. I really felt her pain. But it's more than just my personal tragedy, throughout the book I felt May's ups and downs in life. This is how well Candace Robinson wrote her characters. Speaking of the characters, May was a very strong young girl who experienced a lot at a young age. I liked May a lot. I liked her wit, her strength, her passion and she really had a wonderful heart. Niko...sweet Niko...the perfect boyfriend for May. There really isn't anything negative I could say about Niko...he's just about perfect. Just about. Jessie, May's best friend. The bestest of best friends. Jessie was great. Violet, Niko's purple loving sister. Violet is a bit of a crazy artist, but also a good sister and a good friend to May. Jana, May's mother. May and her mom have been through a lot, but remained close through it all. Jana was a really good mom. I loved this book!! This book touches the heart. It will make you cry, laugh, smile, cry again, laugh some more....you get the picture. ALL THE FEELS!!!! This one is a solid 5 stars for me and one I won't soon forget. I will be buying this for my bookshelf.
    more
  • Janet
    June 18, 2017
    This was a 4.5 out of 5 stars read for me!Have you ever loved someone so much that their absence leaves a gaping hole in your heart? Where the tears silently leak from your eyes whether you mean for them to or not? Where the pain as your heart tears is physical... And the despair you feel is guttural... The pain feels like it will never end...For May, watching her dad slowly succumb to the devastating effects of cancer is almost unbearable. He was always her coach, her mentor, her savior, her f This was a 4.5 out of 5 stars read for me!Have you ever loved someone so much that their absence leaves a gaping hole in your heart? Where the tears silently leak from your eyes whether you mean for them to or not? Where the pain as your heart tears is physical... And the despair you feel is guttural... The pain feels like it will never end...For May, watching her dad slowly succumb to the devastating effects of cancer is almost unbearable. He was always her coach, her mentor, her savior, her friend, and the most important person in her life. To see such a strong and forcible man reduced to a frail and helpless figure desecrates May in ways she never thought possible. To watch him die, unbearable. For her, it was unthinkable for the world to exist without her father in it. Candace Robinson paints a compelling portrait of what it means to be rescued, both literally and figuratively, by hope, ingenuity, and love in her beautifully written second novel Hearts Are Like Balloons.I found myself crying, laughing, thinking, and grateful to Robinson for creating such a sublimely crafted tale. This novel spoke to my heart. The loss of my father and all the feelings I have surrounding it seemed to be written on the pages of this delightful contemporary.May does not always get things right, (but seriously, isn't making mistakes how we learn?) but she hangs in there despite the twisted hand of fate she is dealt. Robinson has created a treasure that she has graciously shared with the world. Hearts Are Like Balloons will lift spirits and break hearts. I did not want it to end!Brilliant, clever, riveting - pick your adjective; they all apply. But do pick up Hearts Are Like Balloons. Just be careful when you pick it up because you won't be able to put it down. I received an ARC from the amazing author, Candace Robinson, in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. Thank you, Candace, for allowing me to experience May's journey (and thus allowing me to relive and re-feel those powerful emotions with the loss of my dad) in Hearts Are Like Balloons.You can find my review here: https://oceanviewsandbookreviews.com/...You can also get this amazing book for $0.99 on Amazon here : https://www.amazon.com/Hearts-Like-Ba...
    more
  • Yesha
    June 23, 2017
    (Note: I received a review copy of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to author. I’m glad I got a chance to read this book.)That last line of blurb perfectly goes with the story. This book is about May’s feelings, love, relationship, and ups and downs in her life.Characters– I loved Violet. Now-a-days, I like side characters more than the main characters. Am I only one like that?! It’s not that main characters were unlikable but smartness and easy going natu (Note: I received a review copy of this book from the author, in exchange for an honest review. Many thanks to author. I’m glad I got a chance to read this book.)That last line of blurb perfectly goes with the story. This book is about May’s feelings, love, relationship, and ups and downs in her life.Characters– I loved Violet. Now-a-days, I like side characters more than the main characters. Am I only one like that?! It’s not that main characters were unlikable but smartness and easy going nature of Violet just brightened this book more. I was giggling at first description of her in the book. I loved her even more at the scene when May and Nico were at Nico’s place to meet his parents. Both main characters Nico and May were little naive. Few times I felt them too innocent to be considered stupid and sometimes few of the things about them just touched my heart. So, overall I liked them.What I liked? ‘Hearts Are Like Balloons’ is very sweet and smooth. My love for contemporary romance is increasing these days. They feel so emotional with all sort of feeling and yet relaxing, refreshing, and realistic at the end. And so was this book. My heart inflated and deflated along with story and character. May’s feeling, grief and coming out of the loss was nicely described which was a heart of the book. Her passion for art was touching I loved it how she described it. It was little related to my passion for reading. Mother- daughter relationship was so adorable in this book. I could picture my mother at some points. Graveyard scene in the book was the best, I liked her idea of cleaning and painting the headstone. Clean romance, not too much details, it was cute in fact.There comes a time in the life when loss leave a hole in the heart and drown you in depression. You need that one person who grab you out of that condition and make your life breathable again. That is what happen to character here and it felt so relatable. I love this book for giving that connection. Yeeyyy! and this time Candace wrote past events in Italics. ❤End- It was perfect. I felt so younger after reading this book. That I am! I mean back to that feeling of 18 😉 It left a big smile on my face.This book was fast paced and a real change for me that I required from my usual read- YA, Fantasy-fictions.You can also read review here
    more
  • E. Burden
    April 6, 2017
    A slice of life contemporary isn't something I'd normally grab, but this one deals with the everyday deep tragedies our society doesn't even seem to talk about. And it's all told from a young person's perspective, so it captures that moment we all remember when we realized death and life don't always make any sense and we have to become resilient to weather our journey. This is an important story about grief and life after. I'd definitely recommend this to any contemporary and romances fans: it' A slice of life contemporary isn't something I'd normally grab, but this one deals with the everyday deep tragedies our society doesn't even seem to talk about. And it's all told from a young person's perspective, so it captures that moment we all remember when we realized death and life don't always make any sense and we have to become resilient to weather our journey. This is an important story about grief and life after. I'd definitely recommend this to any contemporary and romances fans: it's a nice, quick read and packed with a lot of emotion.
    more
  • meghann
    June 26, 2017
    This one got me right in the feels. It's rare that a book makes me cry, but this one had me legit grieving. Just when I thought May had made it through the worst, life came through and drove her right back down. Ugh, it was heartbreaking. But there were also really beautiful things that happened, and by the end I was feeling all sorts of gushy squee. This isn't a genre I've explored too much, but I am so glad I read this book. ***Thanks to the author for providing me with an ARC of this book.***
    more
  • Mallory McCartney
    June 4, 2017
    Thank you Candace for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review! Hearts are like Balloons truly captures the beauty and heartache in life, and as the reader you are right there with May from page one. How can I express how I feel right now!? This novel is beautifully written and will have you crying, laughing, aching with nostalgia and rooting on the sidelines! Do yourself a favour and read this book, May's story is one that won't fade from my memory anytime soon, and Candace doe Thank you Candace for providing me with an ARC in exchange for my honest review! Hearts are like Balloons truly captures the beauty and heartache in life, and as the reader you are right there with May from page one. How can I express how I feel right now!? This novel is beautifully written and will have you crying, laughing, aching with nostalgia and rooting on the sidelines! Do yourself a favour and read this book, May's story is one that won't fade from my memory anytime soon, and Candace does a seamless job portraying every moment of this book!
    more
  • Lynndell
    June 16, 2017
    I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of Hearts Are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson! The story begins with May in her teen years helping her mom take care of her cancer stricken father. The story continues on with May and her mother trying to deal with the loss of their loved one, after her father took his own life. They handle things differently and in their own ways but eventually they move forward with their lives, still keeping him close to their hearts. This book is about relationships, I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of Hearts Are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson! The story begins with May in her teen years helping her mom take care of her cancer stricken father. The story continues on with May and her mother trying to deal with the loss of their loved one, after her father took his own life. They handle things differently and in their own ways but eventually they move forward with their lives, still keeping him close to their hearts. This book is about relationships, tragedy, friendship and love and is a tear-jerking read; both sad and happy tears. It's also a soothing balm to help heal wounds and sadness. I love Hearts are like Balloons with its humor and strong characters. 5 stars for this realistic fiction, romance story!
    more
  • Fafa's Book Corner
    June 30, 2017
    DNF Mini review to come.
  • Shannon
    June 14, 2017
    Oh wow! I loved this! So sweet and heartfelt! Hearts Are Like Balloons deals with some intense, sad, and difficult things, and this story is just beautiful. May has recently lost her father, so to help her mother out, May decides to get a job at a used book store where her best friend works. May meets Nico, who also works at the bookstore, and the two have an instant connection that quickly becomes a friendship that turns into more, but when life throws another curve ball, will their relationshi Oh wow! I loved this! So sweet and heartfelt! Hearts Are Like Balloons deals with some intense, sad, and difficult things, and this story is just beautiful. May has recently lost her father, so to help her mother out, May decides to get a job at a used book store where her best friend works. May meets Nico, who also works at the bookstore, and the two have an instant connection that quickly becomes a friendship that turns into more, but when life throws another curve ball, will their relationship survive? May and Nico are so adorable! I love their little jokes with each other, and I love the depth of their connection. Their relationship is wonderfully sweet, and my heart hurt for them both during some trying times. The connection between all of the characters was wonderful, May's best friend and Nico's sister, were awesome side characters, and I loved the personalities of each character. I love the quirks that Candace Robinson gives to her characters, the quirks make the characters seem more real, which adds reality to the characters and the story. Hearts Are Like Balloons (Love the title by the way and the cover) touched my heart. Loss, Hurt, Hope, Love, and Heart. Loved it all.
    more
  • Katie Jo
    July 3, 2017
    Talk about all the feelings. This story is about a girl named May and how she deals with traumatic and joyous events in her young life. I immediately felt like I've known May for years and connected with her. As a lover of all things bookish, I love that a bookstore is where May meets Nico and more importantly (in Violet's opinion) Violet. May discovers that each situation affects everyone differently and that there are several kinds of grief. Death, sickness, grief, depression, and life in gene Talk about all the feelings. This story is about a girl named May and how she deals with traumatic and joyous events in her young life. I immediately felt like I've known May for years and connected with her. As a lover of all things bookish, I love that a bookstore is where May meets Nico and more importantly (in Violet's opinion) Violet. May discovers that each situation affects everyone differently and that there are several kinds of grief. Death, sickness, grief, depression, and life in general are tough topics to write about while keeping a light feeling to the overall story, but Candace does an amazing job of taking the reader on a roller coaster ride of emotions. She balances the sad and happy, dark and light extremely well. Her use of balloon metaphors is subtle but poignant. Overall, this book was amazingly well written and needs to be read with some tissues. I voluntarily read and reviewed this book.
    more
  • Brooke
    July 2, 2017
    This was such a great book. I laughed. I cried. I felt a connection to the characters.I hate to give any part of the book away because I don't like spoilers myself but the story starts off pretty lousy for May but she finds herself again after meeting a sister and brother that run their parents book store. When things start to look up for May there is more road blocks and sadness for May. She eventually finds herself again and finds her way back to those who helped her in the beginning.
    more
  • Cortney Thompson
    May 31, 2017
    ***ARC*** 4.5 stars I had way to many thoughts about this book. This is my first book with this author and it didn't disappoint. The beginning of the book was a little rough for me. Not only was there a complication and it was sad but then boom bomb drop. I will admit I did get emotional and had to put the book down for a little while. I didn't expect that kind of emotion so early on in the book. I waited but turns out I was too curious and had to pick it back up until I was finished. The story ***ARC*** 4.5 stars I had way to many thoughts about this book. This is my first book with this author and it didn't disappoint. The beginning of the book was a little rough for me. Not only was there a complication and it was sad but then boom bomb drop. I will admit I did get emotional and had to put the book down for a little while. I didn't expect that kind of emotion so early on in the book. I waited but turns out I was too curious and had to pick it back up until I was finished. The story it's self was great and true to real life. A life of trying to over come issues and to stay strong and carry on. I felt like I could relate to May in so many ways. I went through something as similar as her and her reactions were almost my own in a way. To me Nico **swoon** can not do wrong! Absolutely loved him! He could have talked her more in between but in the long run everything worked out! My only complaint would be the ending. It did end with questions answered but just felt a little rushed. Maybe I'm a hopeless romantic and just wanted a little more detail instead of all the jumping years forward. Other than that it was a great read!Thank you Candace! Can't wait to read your other books!I voluntarily reviewed an advance complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Rendz
    June 26, 2017
    I haven't read a book in one day in a long time! I enjoyed this quite a bit. And it's a contemporary *gasp*
  • Jennifer G
    June 1, 2017
    Hearts are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson is an emotional, realistic piece of life. Life isn't always pretty, it's not always sunshine and rainbows. Sometimes though, after the rains, the sky turns blue and the sun shines bright. This book captures the pain and the joy of living. It encompasses every aspect of life; birth, death, friendship, first love, life-long love. There's joy, anguish, fury. This book is rough from the beginning. Tragedy strikes almost immediately and it hurts. But out o Hearts are Like Balloons by Candace Robinson is an emotional, realistic piece of life. Life isn't always pretty, it's not always sunshine and rainbows. Sometimes though, after the rains, the sky turns blue and the sun shines bright. This book captures the pain and the joy of living. It encompasses every aspect of life; birth, death, friendship, first love, life-long love. There's joy, anguish, fury. This book is rough from the beginning. Tragedy strikes almost immediately and it hurts. But out of tragedy a life is changed. May gets a job at the bookstore her best friend Jessie works at. It's a family owned store run by quirky Violet and manned by her brother Nico. Violet and May are fellow artists and hit it off immediately. May and Nico also become good friends, although May is interested in more. Slowly they become much, much more to each other, but once again tragedy strikes. This time May can't find a way to cope and turns against Nico. Maybe fate has more planned for these two down the road though. What they had was something special. The tragedies in this book are all parts of real life. Unfortunately, I know from experience, so I can vouch for how well they are portrayed. This book is heartbreakingly genuine. Losses leave a person emotionally raw and a little broken. Each person deals with loss differently; some cling to others, some strike out against loved ones. There's no right or wrong, only a personal journey to endure. Time has a power over loss. We mature, we forgive, we heal. May didn't handle her losses with grace, but she took back her life. She owned her mistakes and the pain she caused others. I cried along with her and loved every second of her fight back to happiness. Nico was easily my favorite character in the book. Other than one moment of weakness he embodied all you could want in a man. Sweet, caring, thoughtful. Musical; he plays the guitar! He's not perfect, but pretty close. And Violet was fantastic. She brought life to every scene she was in. The rest of the characters were nicely flushed out and added to the overall story. I felt like the ending was a bit rushed. There was a lot crammed in right at the end. I enjoyed everything that happened, but I wanted it expanded on even more. Or maybe I just wanted to enjoy the good times a little longer. May's story put me through an emotional wringer; but it was so worth it! I ended the book with a big smile on my face. Recommend!
    more
  • Danielle
    June 16, 2017
    I was excited to read this book, as I have also read Candace's book "Quinsey's Wolfe's Glass Vault" and really enjoyed it. I enjoy contemporary fiction, but it is the genre that I read the least, so I still wasn't sure what to expect. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars was because I felt like the author's writing was stronger in her other book. I felt that it took a little while for me to feel that tug that I get when a book has me in its thrall, but once I was excited to read this book, as I have also read Candace's book "Quinsey's Wolfe's Glass Vault" and really enjoyed it. I enjoy contemporary fiction, but it is the genre that I read the least, so I still wasn't sure what to expect. Overall, I really enjoyed this book. The only reason that I gave it 4 stars was because I felt like the author's writing was stronger in her other book. I felt that it took a little while for me to feel that tug that I get when a book has me in its thrall, but once I felt that, I was a goner! Once I was able to really get to sit down and actually read (yay motherhood ;-), I found that I read it really quickly. While it was a quick read, it definitely is not a light book. There are some sad things that happen in the book, but they are handled very well, and yes there is a HEA in the end. :-) The more I read, the more engaged I got. I really was not expecting some of the things that happened in this book!I really liked Nico's character. Jessie and Violet were also great side characters. I think that the cover is absolutely gorgeous, and I love how that image, and the title are tied in in really nice subtle ways in the story. I think the thing I liked best about this book was how it was told. The first half of the book was told just normally, but then after that it was told over the course of several years. So the next chapter would be a year later, and then 2 years later, etc. It made it really interesting. I really liked this book and its plot line. The characters are likable and I was definitely invested in them. I look forward to reading more by Candace Robinson!I was honored to receive an ARC of this book from the author. All thoughts and opinions are my own.
    more
  • Sandra Shipman ~ Two Book Pushers
    June 7, 2017
    Hearts are Like Balloons is a standalone YA novel. It is also the first book I have read by Candace Robinson and i am surprised that it is her first contemporary romance. She did a great job and if she writes another one, I would definitely read it. I am not so much a fantasy fan but I am sure those are great too if you are into the genre. Anyway...back to this book. At almost seventeen, May's life changes drastically. After a loss, she finds love. She might be young but the love is intense, fun Hearts are Like Balloons is a standalone YA novel. It is also the first book I have read by Candace Robinson and i am surprised that it is her first contemporary romance. She did a great job and if she writes another one, I would definitely read it. I am not so much a fantasy fan but I am sure those are great too if you are into the genre. Anyway...back to this book. At almost seventeen, May's life changes drastically. After a loss, she finds love. She might be young but the love is intense, fun, and life-changing. From the moment she met Nico, she knew he was going to be something special. But, the high of being in love doesn't last long enough and she becomes lost once again. Will she be able to find herself again? Found that kind of love again? Yeah. That was super short. Especially if you follow my reviews. I don't want to say much since there is a lot of story in between. I will say that it's an emotional ride over 10 years times in May's life. I definitely cried a few times. I felt for her and Nico. They are young when it starts out but they are also very mature and go through things nobody should have to. Overall...it's a great story of finding yourself, love, and friendship. The characters are lovable and real. I only gave it a four star because I think it could have been even deeper than it was. But overall, Candace did an awesome job of giving us a wonderful story that both broke my heart and warmed it. Quotes: It’s more than a kiss. It’s a rain dance filled with twirling, rain, lightning, and storms.“Are you crazy? This is our night, and we are going to own it.”“What if that boat sinks?” I groaned. “Then I’ll toss you a life jacket, and we’ll have to swim to shore.”
    more
  • Fiona Leung
    June 14, 2017
    Thank you Candace for offering me a copy of Hearts Are Like Balloons, so glad I picked it up as I really enjoyed it. Oh and please will you take a look at the cover? It's so pretty!This is quite a heart-wrenching emotional story, especially the beginning of the book which was quite tough going. Personally, the story didn't really really pick up until around 25%. Once we were past 25%, I couldn't put the book down.May experienced something that was life-changing while in High School and soon had Thank you Candace for offering me a copy of Hearts Are Like Balloons, so glad I picked it up as I really enjoyed it. Oh and please will you take a look at the cover? It's so pretty!This is quite a heart-wrenching emotional story, especially the beginning of the book which was quite tough going. Personally, the story didn't really really pick up until around 25%. Once we were past 25%, I couldn't put the book down.May experienced something that was life-changing while in High School and soon had to start picking up the pieces. While doing so, she met Nico whom she fell for. Things progressed from there and May got another shock of her life early on in their relationship. While they were happily together, yet another turning point occurred...It was devastating and difficult for the reader, I'm sure it must've been even more so for Candace to write. We as the readers were put through such an emotional rollercoaster ride I just kept wishing for things to look up.I hope I haven't revealed much in my review, but I really did enjoy Hearts Are Like Balloons and recommend everyone to read this!(I voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book)
    more
  • Rebecca Ayala
    June 14, 2017
    When I first started reading books I only wanted to read scary books about ghosts and anything else that is scary. When I am presented the opportunity to read a contemporary book such as this one it changes my mind completely. I freaking LOVED this book. Everything about it. I experienced so many emotions while reading it. My husband kept throwing the most concerning looks my way when I would bust out laughing, or just break down crying. I would tell him to leave me alone because he's gonna ruin When I first started reading books I only wanted to read scary books about ghosts and anything else that is scary. When I am presented the opportunity to read a contemporary book such as this one it changes my mind completely. I freaking LOVED this book. Everything about it. I experienced so many emotions while reading it. My husband kept throwing the most concerning looks my way when I would bust out laughing, or just break down crying. I would tell him to leave me alone because he's gonna ruin the moment. I'm talking pee my pants type of laughing as well as full blown snot show with tears streaming down my face. Candace did a great job bring out the emotions in May as well as the other characters but especially May since she is the main one. After I finished this book I found myself still thinking about everything in it and the characters like I know them somehow. You know just wondering what they are up to now. I am looking forward to whatever else Candace has to write because this book was AMAZING!
    more
  • Dana
    June 1, 2017
    Prepare yourself with some tissues because this one made me cry from beginning to ending. I loved how realistic May’s experiences were and I also enjoyed how she handled each hurdle. Nico as well as his family are amazing characters I immediately felt a connection with. Violet was one of my favorites whom I had fun cheering on because she reminds me of one of my closest friends. I am tearing up right now as I think about Nico and May’s relationship; from the meet-cute to the HEA, it is so beauti Prepare yourself with some tissues because this one made me cry from beginning to ending. I loved how realistic May’s experiences were and I also enjoyed how she handled each hurdle. Nico as well as his family are amazing characters I immediately felt a connection with. Violet was one of my favorites whom I had fun cheering on because she reminds me of one of my closest friends. I am tearing up right now as I think about Nico and May’s relationship; from the meet-cute to the HEA, it is so beautiful. You are just going to have to read the book to see what I mean. I liked the flow of the story and felt May matured at a realistic pace. I found her artwork derived from tombstone rubbings was incredibly original and quite interesting. Overall, I rate this 4.5 stars because I would have liked more scenes with May’s father as well as her uncle. I received a copy and volunteered to review it.
    more
Write a review