A Little Bit Like Love (South Haven, #1)
What if you had everything in the world you wanted…except the man you’d left behind? Jackson Davenport, the charismatic, strait-laced heir to the Davenport fortune, has a secret. One he’s been hiding since he graduated from South Haven all-boys academy—and that secret’s name is Lucas.When a work trip takes Jackson back to his old stomping grounds, memories of the year he shared with Lucas come crashing to the surface. With growing pressure from his father to settle down and take over the family business, Jackson knows he’s on borrowed time, and sets out to find the free-spirited daredevil he once knew.But Lucas isn’t the same man he was eight years ago.One night. A shattered heart. And an endless parade of nameless faces. Lucas Sullivan is South Haven’s ultimate playboy, a reputation he’s honed since the only boy he ever loved left without a trace. To the world, he’s brash and confident, an in-demand artist who spends his days designing one-of-a-kind pieces and his nights as king of the downtown scene.Many have tried and failed to get past the barrier he’s carefully constructed, but it’s the shy, studious boy he once coaxed out of his shell who still haunts him.Maybe it was a mistake. Maybe it was lust. Or maybe…it was a little bit like love.

A Little Bit Like Love (South Haven, #1) Details

TitleA Little Bit Like Love (South Haven, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 27th, 2017
Number of pages278 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, M M Romance, Contemporary

A Little Bit Like Love (South Haven, #1) Review

  • Sabrina
    July 26, 2017
    NOW LIVE!Amazon US * Amazon UKBrooke Blaine, you owe me a new Kindle! Mine just exploded from the heat you threw at me in the form of Jackson and Lucas. A Little Bit Like Love is actually a whole lot of love and steaminess. Jackson and Lucas had one of the best sexual tension relationships I've read about in awhile and I couldn't get enough of it. It was this push/pull kind of raw neediness from both of them that had me turning my fan on high. These characters couldn't have been more opposite, b NOW LIVE!Amazon US * Amazon UKBrooke Blaine, you owe me a new Kindle! Mine just exploded from the heat you threw at me in the form of Jackson and Lucas. A Little Bit Like Love is actually a whole lot of love and steaminess. Jackson and Lucas had one of the best sexual tension relationships I've read about in awhile and I couldn't get enough of it. It was this push/pull kind of raw neediness from both of them that had me turning my fan on high. These characters couldn't have been more opposite, but it was those differences that made them so great together. Where Lucas wasn't ashamed of himself at all and loved to live life to the fullest, Jackson was a bit introverted and used to skating through life doing what his family demanded of him. But when they came together there was so much passion that neither of them could hold back their true feelings. "Fall for me." This story had my heart melting for these characters and I honestly wish I could go back and read it for the first time all over again. Through all of the steaminess and the angst that came with Jackson and Lucas there was also an over abundance of sweetness between them that I loved seeing.I'm actually not even a huge fan of second chance romance but this is one that I loved and cannot recommend hard enough. It has everything you could ask for with the drama, the man on man scenes that will have you reaching for some cold water, and a romance that will leave you deliriously happy. ARC kindly provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Astrid - ☆Vanilla & Spice Books☆
    July 23, 2017
    ✮✮✮ 5 STARS ✮✮✮Review @ Vanilla & Spice Books Jackson Davenport had burrowed his way into my soul a long time ago, and damn if he hadn’t ever let go. On a business trip for his dad's company he overhears a conversation in a diner between two men that has Jackson's heart in his throat. Lucas Sullivan, the one that got away, can be found at a night club, that evening. As a combination of terror and hope fills him he contemplates seeing the love he left behind again. For eight years he has be ✮✮✮ 5 STARS ✮✮✮Review @ Vanilla & Spice Books Jackson Davenport had burrowed his way into my soul a long time ago, and damn if he hadn’t ever let go. On a business trip for his dad's company he overhears a conversation in a diner between two men that has Jackson's heart in his throat. Lucas Sullivan, the one that got away, can be found at a night club, that evening. As a combination of terror and hope fills him he contemplates seeing the love he left behind again. For eight years he has been squashing his lingering feelings him. Right there, in this diner in a place so close to where he last saw Lucas, they all come rushing back to the surface. Argos is Lucas' hunting ground. He is on the prowl to get a faceless body underneath him. It's a temporary fix for the emptiness, the deep seated loneliness that has taken root in his heart and mind. Every time a different body. No repeats. No exceptions. When he catches a glimpse of a familiar face, a face he hasn't seen in a long time yet is still etched vividly in his mind, he needs to know if it's really Jackson. The man who broke his heart so thoroughly.Jackson wants nothing more than apologize for the way he left him all those years ago but Lucas doesn't give him the time of day until a tropical storm forces them together for a night. Lucas isn't just holding a grudge, around the wall built around his heart there is also a barbed wire fence and he lashes out at Jackson. Things come to light, however, things that will change everything they thought happened eight years ago when Jackson left school just before graduation. Even after all this time. I thought I’d gotten over it. Accepted it, moved past it. But seeing him again brought back every ounce of hurt and shame I’d felt back then, which pissed me off because it meant I was still broken. And it was all his fucking fault. Jackson is everybody's darling. He is friendly, kind and sweet, comes from old money and has stunning good looks and boyish charm.Lucas' character is the polar opposite, except in the looks department. He is the local sex god and man-ho and he makes good use of his reputation. Guys flock him and he can choose from an array of tourists that visit South Haven. Having Jackson back in his life means having to face and work through the past and that's not what he wants. Lucas fights Jackson with tooth and nails and settles firmly in jerk territory. “I lost my parents. I lost you. Then Gram passed. Putting up walls is the only way I know how to cope at this point.” He doesn't realize that he hurts himself the most when he lashes out at Jackson. He only knows that he can't get hurt again like he did eight years ago. Him being a grade A asshole towards Jackson doesn't make him sound very likable but despite it all I still did. Lucas' loneliness and hurt is coming off the pages so vividly that you just can't help and feel for him. And when he starts to open up you see the sweet, funny, mischievous guy from Jackson's memory coming back. Lucas groaned and pushed me away as I laughed. “Fucking tease,” he muttered.“What was that?”He plastered a fake smile on his face. “I said do you like any of these?” If Jackson was anything less but as patient and understanding as he was, Lucas train wreck of a life would end like that - lonely and bitter. Jackson is a good man, the better man really, and the way Lucas treated him sometimes would have chased every other guy away but he can see right through Lucas' facade. It couldn't have been anyone else saving this abrasive, acrimonious man. Jackson was incredibly lovable and endearing and everything Lucas needed to let go of his fear. A thousand words were said in those moments of silence, and most of them began with, “I’m sorry.” All of the anger and hurt and resentment washed away as we sat there making up for our offenses without saying a word. This story had everything that ticks my boxes, angst, lighthearted humor, a gripping plot and fascinating characters. Anxiety tightened my chest not just once and when Lucas fired off his barbs my eyes stung with tears a couple times. He could be such an asshole.The set of secondary characters is amazing and while I'm looking forward to both Shaw's and Bash's stories, the scales tipped slightly in Bash's favor towards the end. He is such a scintillating, colorful character! Having said that though, I LOVED Shaw.This is the first MM romance Brooke Blaine wrote alone and didn't co-author. I am tremendously impressed how riveting, hot and intense this story was. Ms. Blaine wanted to give her readers her very best and let me tell you, it is one of the best MM books I've read this year. Whenever I wasn't studying my eyes were glued to my Kindle. If you read MM do yourself a favor and pick this up. Now the waiting for Shaw's story begins.A Little Bit Like Love is the first installment of the South Haven series.All teasers courtesy of the author
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    July 13, 2017
    Eight years ago Jackson and Lucas were each other's ... everything. For a short eight months, they were best friends, and so much more. But then Jackson's father dragged him out of the Georgia all-boy's academy two weeks before graduation - to 'get ready for Yale' back home in Connecticut.But we all know that he must've found out about the queer boy corrupting his son.They haven't seen each other in eight years.But now Jackson has business down in South Haven.And Lucas is a famous artist (and se Eight years ago Jackson and Lucas were each other's ... everything. For a short eight months, they were best friends, and so much more. But then Jackson's father dragged him out of the Georgia all-boy's academy two weeks before graduation - to 'get ready for Yale' back home in Connecticut.But we all know that he must've found out about the queer boy corrupting his son.They haven't seen each other in eight years.But now Jackson has business down in South Haven.And Lucas is a famous artist (and sex god/man whore) in town. Who is a tiny little bit mad at Jackson for how things ended back then.Can this finally be the second chance for Jackson and Lucas?Or have all those secrets, lies, omissions, misunderstandings and whatnots destroyed everything?And will Jackson be able to finally stand up to his father? Fight for what he really wants?WHAT WiLL HAPPEN WiTH JACKSON & LUCAS???WiLL THERE FiNALLY BE A HAPPILY EVER AFTER???READ THE BOOK TO FiND OUT! ☺══════════════════════════LOOOVED IT!!Such an adorable second-chance love story!You immediately love both Jackson and Lucas.They're both so very different, but at the same time, they're just the same. Both pretty much all alone in the world.They should've been together all these years, but now they finally get that second chance. Let's just hope they fight hard enough for it! We want that Happily Ever After!!!!This was such an erotic and adorable and moving and frustrating and beautiful romance!I loved every second of it!Can't wait to see what Shaw will have to tell us in the 2nd book:A little bit like Desire - coming this fall!!!!☺ A LITTLE BIT LIKE LOVE was such an adorable & sexy & moving second chance love story! Hurry to your nearest amazon for your own Lucson/Jackas!!! These two are MINE! ☺ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
    more
  • DW
    July 31, 2017
    Lucas and Jackson were hot as hell. That is all 🔥🔥
  • Angela (Reading Frenzy Book Blog)
    July 23, 2017
    4.5 stars Brooke Blaine is rapidly becoming a 1-click author for me. She proves why once again with A Little Bit Like Love, a second chance M/M romance that hit all the right notes with me. An ill-fated couple with incredible chemistry? Definitely. Heart? In abundance. Angst? You’ve got it. Colorful supporting characters with humor? Check. An antagonist you love to hate? Oh yeah.Jackson and Lucas were doomed almost as soon as their tentative romance began at an all-boys boarding school in South 4.5 stars Brooke Blaine is rapidly becoming a 1-click author for me. She proves why once again with A Little Bit Like Love, a second chance M/M romance that hit all the right notes with me. An ill-fated couple with incredible chemistry? Definitely. Heart? In abundance. Angst? You’ve got it. Colorful supporting characters with humor? Check. An antagonist you love to hate? Oh yeah.Jackson and Lucas were doomed almost as soon as their tentative romance began at an all-boys boarding school in South Haven, Georgia. It’s now eight years later and Jackson finds himself temporarily back in the town where he suddenly disappeared from Lucas’s life. The openly gay scene in South Haven is a far cry from the straight-laced lifestyle Jackson is used to in Connecticut.I appreciate that the author doesn’t make a huge production over Jackson questioning his sexuality. It’s refreshing. Brooke Blaine knows how to incorporate plenty of other obstacles to make the story interesting. Lucas and Jackson have some serious crap to wade through in order to heal old wounds, break down stubborn walls, and deal with Jackson’s interfering father.Jackson is so honest, mature, and very patient with Lucas, who keeps his emotions well guarded. The push and pull between them as they try to define their relationship is delicious. I loved the unexpected ways in which the changes in Lucas’s life—both good and bad—are revealed.Lucas’s completely over the top, hilarious best friends Shaw and Bash are major highlights! Their comic relief helps balance out the inevitable conflicts. This well-planned story comes together nicely and left me quite entertained as well as pleasantly touched. Cheers to another Brooke Blaine winner.Recommended for fans of:Second chance romanceM/M romancePopular gay clubs**ARC received in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
  • Meags
    April 27, 2017
    3.5 StarsA Little Bit Like Love is a solid intro to Blaine's fresh new M/M series set in South Haven, Georgia. This second chance romance follows teenage sweethearts Jackson Davenport and Lucas Sullivan, who met and fell in love at South Haven's prestigious all-boys school during their final year. But before their relationship could really take off, they were abruptly separated, (unknowingly) due to a manipulative parent and poor teenage boy communication, causing a lot of (avoidable) hurt and h 3.5 StarsA Little Bit Like Love is a solid intro to Blaine's fresh new M/M series set in South Haven, Georgia. This second chance romance follows teenage sweethearts Jackson Davenport and Lucas Sullivan, who met and fell in love at South Haven's prestigious all-boys school during their final year. But before their relationship could really take off, they were abruptly separated, (unknowingly) due to a manipulative parent and poor teenage boy communication, causing a lot of (avoidable) hurt and heartache along the way. In the aftermath of their separation, Jackson moved back to Connecticut to follow his (asshole) father's life-plan to join the family business, as was expected of him. Meanwhile, Lucas stayed in South Haven and became a bit of a playboy, sleeping his way through the townsfolk and the tourists alike, never taking names and keeping his heart locked tight to avoid further heartbreak. Eight years later, the two men are suddenly reunited when Jackson comes to town on business. Initial interactions are filled with anger and resentment, but their bond is still unavoidably present, and once shocking truths are revealed and past actions are forgiven, Jackson and Lucas tentatively rekindle a love that they thought was lost forever. I enjoyed this story, and although I generally liked Lucas and Jackson as characters, they both did things that irked me the wrong way. From the first page, I struggled with Jackson’s doormat behaviour towards his clearly tyrannical father. I could only feel so sorry for the love he lost and the life he was “stuck” living up to a point, because I simply thought he handled things wrong and a lot of his own heartache (and Lucas’s) was his own damn fault. I will, however, give him points for the way he loved Lucas and for making good choices once he was back in South Haven. Now, I had a slightly opposite reaction to Lucas. I liked and understood his feelings and actions from the get-go. He was a lovely, hurt and lonely character, who finally got his lost love back. This was all great, until that last little section of the story when he tried to self-sabotage for the stupidest reasons ever. It just seemed so out of character and such an overdramatic reaction to the situation he was faced with. Sure, it all resolved itself fairly quickly, but it definitely resulted in me knocking a half star off my ultimate rating, which is a damn shame.I must say, that my favourite thing about this story was the great secondary characters, particularly Lucas’s best friends, Shaw and Bash. Bash stole every single scene he was in, and I for one cannot wait to get to his story within the series!Overall, this was a sweet and sexy second chance romance, and a great first solo M/M offering from Blaine. I eagerly await Shaw’s story next.
    more
  • Michelle
    July 27, 2017
    ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest reviewIt’s a Brooke Blaine book so naturally it’s given that I WOULD READ this book since it’s pretty much obvious how much I LOVE her writing and how could I not when she writes stories that are packed with heat, passion, sexiness, and raw emotions whether it be romantic comedy, suspense, or an M/M love story. Either way, her books are always phenomenal. And in her latest M/M novel, A Little Bit Like Love, I more than like this book. I LOVED IT! ARC provided by author in exchange for an honest reviewIt’s a Brooke Blaine book so naturally it’s given that I WOULD READ this book since it’s pretty much obvious how much I LOVE her writing and how could I not when she writes stories that are packed with heat, passion, sexiness, and raw emotions whether it be romantic comedy, suspense, or an M/M love story. Either way, her books are always phenomenal. And in her latest M/M novel, A Little Bit Like Love, I more than like this book. I LOVED IT!!!!! This book was everything and so much more. It was a second chance romance that packs all the punches. It had steam, sexiness, sophistication, class, and characters that you instantly fell in love with. Oh and as for the writing, it was beyond amazing as Brooke took me on an emotional high where I was reminded of what it feels like to have your heart flutter and beat wildly for the union of Jackson and Lucas. So if you are looking for a dramatic and beautiful love story that will leave you breathless, then A Little Bit Like Love is the book for you. Brooke Blaine
    more
  • Sanaa ☆ Sanaa's Book Blog ☆
    July 22, 2017
    5 stars. He wasn't a fling. He was fatal. The damage he could do to me if I let him would be irreparable. Out of all the Brooke Blaine books I've read to date, this has got to be my favorite. Hands down. And the fact that I think this is her first solo MM novel? A cherry on top if you ask me. The way the story had been written, it looked like she's been doing it all her life.I loved the way everything flowed so naturally. I'm not the biggest fan of second chance romance but Brooke has writte 5 stars. He wasn't a fling. He was fatal. The damage he could do to me if I let him would be irreparable. Out of all the Brooke Blaine books I've read to date, this has got to be my favorite. Hands down. And the fact that I think this is her first solo MM novel? A cherry on top if you ask me. The way the story had been written, it looked like she's been doing it all her life.I loved the way everything flowed so naturally. I'm not the biggest fan of second chance romance but Brooke has written it a way that made me just fall in love. And feel. There was so much chemistry between Lucas and Jackson that you can't help but swoon and root for them. "I miss my best friend." And just like that, I knew. I would've gone to the ends of the earth for that man. I honestly loved this book from the cover to the last page of the story.I cannot wait to see what Brooke has stored for us in the future weather it's working with Ella or writing another solo book. An arc was provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Dani
    July 31, 2017
    I must say I adore second chance love. I enjoy seeing what the characters went through and how they will overcome their problems to be together again. Besides, this kind of story comes with a certain amount of angst and I’m an angst-junkie so I cannot say no to this type of book. However, I admit this wasn’t as good as I expected and it’s a bummer.In his senior year in all-boy school, Jackson Devenport meets the new transferred kid, Lucas Sullivan. What they didn’t imagine is that their brand-ne I must say I adore second chance love. I enjoy seeing what the characters went through and how they will overcome their problems to be together again. Besides, this kind of story comes with a certain amount of angst and I’m an angst-junkie so I cannot say no to this type of book. However, I admit this wasn’t as good as I expected and it’s a bummer.In his senior year in all-boy school, Jackson Devenport meets the new transferred kid, Lucas Sullivan. What they didn’t imagine is that their brand-new friendship was going to become more, that they were going to fall for each other. Jackson is the rich boy with a path already set by his father and just weeks before their graduation Jackson leaves the school under his father’s orders without a single word to Lucas. Eight years later, on a business trip, Jackson overhears two men talking about Lucas Sullivan, the ‘sex god’ and that he’d be in a night club. Jackson can’t help himself and takes advantage of the information he overheard to go to see Lucas so he can tell him how sorry he was for leaving out of the blue but the last thing he expected was to find a man completely different from the boy he used to know. To say things are strained between these two is an understatement. Jackson didn’t expect that leaving Lucas was going to hurt him so much, but there are some things that happened he’s not aware of and obviously, Lucas blames him.In general was a good plot, but honestly, the problems between Jackson and Lucas were mostly because of misunderstanding and resentment. The chemistry between these two was undeniable but I truly felt it after 20% when they started to interact and spent less time in their heads. I totally saw that plot twist at 70%, so I can’t say this story wowed me. In this sort of books, flashbacks are necessary to know what happened and to know how they used to be but I truly HATED how the author managed the flashbacks in this book. They appeared at the most inopportune moments (like when they were having sex, wtf?) or when they were having important conversations and sometimes I had to go back so I could remember what they were talking in the present. The drama was ok at first, but then it felt like a bit too much, Jackson’s dad was a predictable douche bag and the flashback thing was annoying, that’s why I can’t give it more than 3 stars.
    more
  • Jayme
    July 24, 2017
    It was my first MM romance and I'm enchanted. Although I have no comparison, now I know why you all love them. And damn, it was hot too.***ARC kindly provided for an honest review. Thank you!
  • Elsbeth
    July 29, 2017
    *3.5 stars*I didn't connect with the characters as all the others did. So I wasn't ready to forgive Lucas for his stupid behavior at the end than Jackson was.I did like the side characters but it saddened me we didn't get a glimpse of their relationship with Lucas in the missing years of Jackson. I am looking forward to their stories though!! Shaw's story first!
    more
  • Aeren
    July 27, 2017
    No está mal, pero bueno, es la típica novela llena de malos entendidos y malos malosos muy acartonados, el padre era casi una broma en su previsibilidad, se supone que habrá al menos dos secuelas más, ya que deja bastante entrever la vida de dos de los amigos del pobre Lucas, que tiene menos luces que un candil. Se agradece el KU, al menos.
    more
  • Heather the Queen of (Smut)Books
    July 30, 2017
    3 starsPretty good solo MM novel from the author who co-wrote the PresLocke series with Ella Frank. RTC
  • Jay
    July 23, 2017
    4 stars – A Little Bit Like Love is my first exposure to Brooke Blaine, and while I had some (mostly) small issues while reading it, I enjoyed this rather angsty second-chance romance overall and believe this to be a book that most who read it will love not only for the smoldering heat between the lead characters but also for the sense of desperation it invokes through the setup of a relationship that cannot succeed because of the characters’ circumstances.During his senior year at an exclusive 4 stars – A Little Bit Like Love is my first exposure to Brooke Blaine, and while I had some (mostly) small issues while reading it, I enjoyed this rather angsty second-chance romance overall and believe this to be a book that most who read it will love not only for the smoldering heat between the lead characters but also for the sense of desperation it invokes through the setup of a relationship that cannot succeed because of the characters’ circumstances.During his senior year at an exclusive all-boys high school in coastal Georgia, Jackson Davenport was completing the first steps toward his prescribed future, following in his father’s footsteps at the family firm. He didn’t count on falling for the new kid. But from the moment he met Lucas Sullivan, he was hopeless caught in Lucas’s magnetism, building up to the one night that meant everything to Jackson before the pull of the path his father set for him separated them, a path that could never accommodate Jackson being in love with a man. Eight years later, Jackson returns to the area on a business trip only to have a few overheard words from a stranger flood his mind with memories of their time together, rendering him unable to resist the idea of seeing Lucas again. What he finds is a man very different from the boy he wanted in school. On the outside, Lucas exudes an air of brash confidence due to his reputation as both a talented metalworking artist and as the man notoriously known for never leaving the club with the same man twice. The latter, though, is a cover for the pain of abandonment, especially that of Jackson’s disappearance from his life.Apparently I have a bit of an undeserved reputation for not being fond of second-chance romances. Granted, it’s a trope that even in the best written story can fall horribly flat for me, though it depends almost completely on how believable I find the reason behind the first chance’s ending and how much history the pairing has prior to the start of the novel. The best plot twist in A Little Bit Like Love comes when the truth is revealed about what happened in the weeks following high school graduation, so along with the fact that Jackson and Lucas’s past intimate moments are far eclipsed by the sexual tension surrounding the days after they meet again, the incredible chemistry of their impossibly ill-fated attraction guaranteed I would not have a problem with the trope this time. This impression was also greatly helped by the author’s smooth storytelling and writing style.There is plenty of angst in this story, coming from both characters’ individual histories. For the most part, the drama that resulted was executed well, but in the few cases where I felt it wasn’t, it really wasn’t, so much so that it pulled me out of the story to ponder whether or not I could convince myself to believe what had just happened. It was part of a trend that made me feel like the story could have been improved if there had been a little more background development, particularly in Lucas’s character, in order to justify the level of drama his reactions were based upon. As it was, it didn’t quite keep from stepping into the realm of being melodramatic a few times.That being said, as I indicated earlier, the storytelling in A Little Bit Like Love impressed me enough to make me want to read more of this author’s books. I hope, however, that it isn’t one of her writing trademarks to make extensive use of flashbacks. As with the drama mentioned in the previous paragraph, the flashbacks typically worked well, but the inopportune placement of one in particular—right in the middle of the sex scene that should have been the one that solidified their connection for the reader—resulted in me being completely pulled out of the story there and left me scratching my head in wonderment of what the author thought would be accomplished by interrupting the feelings she obviously wanted me to get from the scene.Fortunately, these instances were far from common, so I was able to enjoy the story as a whole. And in case I’ve seemed overly critical, take heart in the fact that there was much about the book that I loved. For example, beyond Lucas and Jackson, the side characters that appeared throughout the story added to the depth of the story in a way I found satisfying. Two of these characters are clearly potentials for being main characters, separately I hope, in future books of the series. Also, the author deserves kudos first of all for making Jackson’s “girlfriend” not turn out to be a total dick upon her discovery of Jackson’s sexuality—though her initial reaction sure made it look like she was going to be…bravo for perfect execution of that scene—and secondly for not turning this into an ugly gay-for-you story. Jackson may have never acted upon his attraction to men other than with Lucas, and he actively tried to suppress these feelings throughout his life, but he doesn’t misguidedly cling to the label of “straight” once he realizes he’s willing to give up everything in order to have Lucas.While the few issues I had were big enough to keep me from rating A Little Bit Like Love higher than I did, my first taste of a story written by Brooke Blaine was more than good enough not only for me to recommend this book for those who love stories of romances that look doomed to fail but also for me to add her to my list of authors to read again in the future.The author and/or publisher generously provided me a complimentary copy of A Little Bit Like Love in exchange for this fair and honest review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Guilty Pleasures Book Reviews
    July 27, 2017
    Once again I find myself thanking an author for introducing me to another author; about a year ago Ella Frank co-wrote a series with Brooke Blaine who I had never read before. I loved their #PreLocke series and immediately started grabbing up Brooke’s backlist and fell in love with her humorous, fun, and sexy stories. So, I was thrilled to find out she was writing her first solo gay romance (#PresLocke is also a gay romance co-authored with Ella) and having just finished A Little Bit Like Love I Once again I find myself thanking an author for introducing me to another author; about a year ago Ella Frank co-wrote a series with Brooke Blaine who I had never read before. I loved their #PreLocke series and immediately started grabbing up Brooke’s backlist and fell in love with her humorous, fun, and sexy stories. So, I was thrilled to find out she was writing her first solo gay romance (#PresLocke is also a gay romance co-authored with Ella) and having just finished A Little Bit Like Love I can honestly say that this book is exactly what I am looking for when I read romance of any kind. A Little Bit Like Love is a second chance romance yet not quite because honestly, these two men didn’t have a chance the first time around and I won’t say anymore because I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone. This book was powerful, emotional, sexy, and heart breaking but it also had a well deserved HEA and that my friends along with an excellent plot and well developed characters makes it exactly the kind of book I love to read.Eight years after their lives were torn apart; Jackson Davenport is back in the area where he went to an all boy’s prep school to close a deal for his father’s company. He has fond memories of the area, but he still remembers the anguish of that time and losing the boy who was his best friend and more. Jackson has been the model son, completing his degree and going to work for his father’s multi-million dollar company, dating the right woman, and truth be told living a total lie. What he doesn’t expect is how overhearing the name Lucas Sullivan in the town’s small diner will affect him. I’ll admit the first time Jackson and Lucas see each other again after 8 years, I wasn’t sure I liked Lucas as all, but not having all the information about their past had me making that snap decision. Even after the second time they saw one another again, I wasn’t quite sure about him, but as the story unfolds, as he begins to examine his life thanks to some wise advice, we begin to watch the layers of this complicated man peel away. Both these men have spent eight years trying to get over one another and not succeeding. Lucas has lived his life with one night stands and partying with his friends when he isn’t working himself to the bone. Jackson has lived his life by his father’s rules denying his true self even though he didn’t truly realize it until he sees Lucas again. This was a complicated journey for these two men who had so much hurt and anger from their past to get through and for Jackson to accept that despite living as a heterosexual man for years, that really isn’t his true self. Add to that a woman in Jackson’s life who is expecting more from him, his overbearing father, and a deal that he can’t close and it becomes clear he is dealing with a whole lot in his life and while having Lucas back in his life makes him happy he can’t help but think about what happens next. Every scene, every impassioned speech, and every touch had me spellbound and I fell in love with both these men and their journey.Engaging characters, a strong and intricate plot, the perfect about of emotion, and supremely sexy times made A Little Bit Like Love a complex love story that I could not put down.Review copy provided for a voluntary review.
    more
  • Shayna
    July 21, 2017
    When I see the name Brooke Blaine, I usually associate it with her co-written work with author Ella Frank. I've only read one author book by Ms. Blaine as an independent writer, and I'm kicking myself for not reading more of her own work. After finishing up A LITTLE BIT LIKE LOVE, I can easily say I'm ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE with her writing, with these characters, and with their epic journey back to one another. This is the type of romance that gets my blood pumping, my heart racing, and my entire b When I see the name Brooke Blaine, I usually associate it with her co-written work with author Ella Frank. I've only read one author book by Ms. Blaine as an independent writer, and I'm kicking myself for not reading more of her own work. After finishing up A LITTLE BIT LIKE LOVE, I can easily say I'm ABSOLUTELY IN LOVE with her writing, with these characters, and with their epic journey back to one another. This is the type of romance that gets my blood pumping, my heart racing, and my entire body tingling. It hits all of my emotional buttons and it took my breath away, again and again.  "I don't want to hurt you.""You may not have a choice." In looking at Brooke's backlist, I think Jackson and Lucas' story is the first MM Romance she's done on her own. It's possible I could be missing something, but if that is the truth, HOLY SHIT! She writes this genre like an absolute veteran. And with this being the first book in a brand new series titled 'South Haven', I can't wait to see what Brooke has up her sleeve with this town, with these characters, with EVERYTHING! Because not only do you fall head over heels in love with Jackson and Lucas, you meet a couple of other characters that will steal a piece of your heart as well. EVERYTHING about this book is FANTASTIC! From the book cover to the synopsis to the impeccable writing to the unforgettable characters...there is NOTHING in this book that MM Romance readers won't fall hard for, or won't become addicted to. When you are starting a brand new series, THIS is the kind of book you need to write. THIS is the type of journey that you need to bring your readers on. THIS is the type of book that fans will never forget. I'm addicted! I'm hooked! Sign me up for the next! 
    more
  • Sarah - Musings of the Modern Belle
    July 27, 2017
    ***AVAILABLE NOW - FULL REVIEW***4.5 LOVELY CROWNS*Sigh* I love Lucas and Jackson! Their romance and story, while heartbreaking at times, is so perfect and heartwarming.This second chance romance is so effective because of how wonderful Jackson and Lucas are as people. This is not to say they are perfect. Jackson bends to the will of his father, who has less than honorable intentions. He has denied himself happiness to honor his father wishes and be the namesake of his family. Lucas has coped wi ***AVAILABLE NOW - FULL REVIEW***4.5 LOVELY CROWNS*Sigh* I love Lucas and Jackson! Their romance and story, while heartbreaking at times, is so perfect and heartwarming.This second chance romance is so effective because of how wonderful Jackson and Lucas are as people. This is not to say they are perfect. Jackson bends to the will of his father, who has less than honorable intentions. He has denied himself happiness to honor his father wishes and be the namesake of his family. Lucas has coped with loss by a string of one-night stands. He has emotionally shut himself off from others and seeks physical gratification to siphon the pain. Readers are incredibly sympathetic to these characters and what they have been through. We love them and root for them to overcome the hurt of the past to have a better future together.These two, once they meet up, have immediate chemistry, and Brooke Blaine brings the heat from their first intimate moment together. Through plot development, the reader along with the characters, gets to see what actually occurred in the past, which increases investment in Lucas and Jackson to make it work this time around. The best part of the novel though is the evolution of Jackson and Lucas. Getting to see them stand up for themselves and against those set out to separate them is so rewarding! Plus, Brooke Blaine gives us a host of side characters I adore. Brooke Blaine continues her MM reign. I adore her stories and her men. The relationships and stories are really something special. ----ARC received in exchange for an honest review.For more reviews and other book news, check out Musings of the Modern Belle at www.modernbellebooks.com.--------Get your copy today:Amazon US: http://amzn.to/2h40LtxAmazon International: myBook.to/ALBLLebook
    more
  • Amanda
    July 23, 2017
    This book should name 'A Lot Like Love' because there is nothing 'little' about the intensity and the deep level of emotional connection between Jackson and Lucas. This second chance romance nearly slayed me, there is just too much adversity that the guys had face to finally achieve their well deserved HEA.If I were to exclude the prologue and the epilogue, this entire story only took less than a week. But what a week it was. As with any second romance, there are much heartache past and present, This book should name 'A Lot Like Love' because there is nothing 'little' about the intensity and the deep level of emotional connection between Jackson and Lucas. This second chance romance nearly slayed me, there is just too much adversity that the guys had face to finally achieve their well deserved HEA.If I were to exclude the prologue and the epilogue, this entire story only took less than a week. But what a week it was. As with any second romance, there are much heartache past and present, but I believe the future that brings is well worth it. The way Jackson and Lucas ended their relationship eight years ago, is heartbreaking. But the more we learn about the truth behind it, the more I want to weep for them. During Jackson's limited time in South Haven, they manage to reconnect again after clearing the air. There is never a lull moment during their tentative steps towards learning about each other again. Lucas seems a bit more reserve about accepting Jackson back into his life again, but that's understandable especially knowing Jackson will be leaving soon. There is just so much love between these two soulmates, even when they can't see it for themselves.There are some dramatic scene towards the end, which I find highly entertaining and absolutely well done. Jackson's life was upheaval when he found out the truth about his family and he had some strings back in Connecticut that he had to handle. I daresay everything was handle really well and even with Lucas rash behavior at the end. I definitely get more than I bargained for when I expect this read to be lighthearted.
    more
  • Kim
    July 23, 2017
    4.5 + starsJackson Davenport is a serious, competitive, charismatic business man working for his father's company in Connecticut. Now he is returning to Georgia for a business deal...near the All Boys Academy he attended and where he first loved and lost. His life has always been controlled by his father to the point that he was left heartbroken and never really had feelings for anyone else. He works, he goes through the motions, and does what is expected.He never really thought that his ghost f 4.5 + starsJackson Davenport is a serious, competitive, charismatic business man working for his father's company in Connecticut. Now he is returning to Georgia for a business deal...near the All Boys Academy he attended and where he first loved and lost. His life has always been controlled by his father to the point that he was left heartbroken and never really had feelings for anyone else. He works, he goes through the motions, and does what is expected.He never really thought that his ghost from the past, Lucas Sullivan, would still be there. But he had to at least satisfy his curiosity. Lucas used to be kind of a lost boy, but was also strong and free-spirited. He was Jackson's best friend and first love. He gave Jackson his whole heart, but ended up hurt and alone. In the past eight years he has become a closed-off manwhore who has walls up to keep people out. His facade portrays him as untouchable, angry, selfish, stubborn, and arrogant. It hides the core of a broken man who is scared to let anyone in and have a chance to hurt or leave him. And he is also still sad and angry over events that transpired in the past. As they are face to face again it inevitably comes time for hard conversations about their history. But neither really had the full story. They have both been living in the shadows of secrets, lies, misunderstandings, and manipulation. But coming to terms with the past, does not make the present much easier. No matter what their unresolved feelings are, they still live separate lives and Jackson has obligations and some secrets. And Lucas' defense mechanism is to push people away for self protection and he is pretty good at self sabotage as well.But at least temporarily they begin to enjoy a reprieve to their loss and loneliness and find friendship and feelings again. It is a time of reconnecting, mending hearts, healing from the truth, and the possibility of second chances. This wealthy, straight-laced yankee and the artsy southern boy who does not mind getting his hands dirty made a great contrast, but something about their souls just fit together too. As walls started to break down, I enjoyed their flirty banter, innuendo, and chemistry. I could feel their connection, their shared disappointments and pain, and the intense longing they had for each other.This is an emotional, heartfelt, sexy, angsty, and humorous second-chance love story. It is told in dual points of view and flashbacks (although a couple of times I felt the flashbacks took me a bit out of the story). But overall, it flowed well and kept me enthralled. The characters are well developed, likable, and I could understand their motivations and issues. I thought the drama and even their sometimes strong reactions were believable based on the character's personalities and history. I was emotionally connected to them both even though there were times I wanted to shake them. I enjoyed their dynamics and rapport.There are a few twists and surprises. There are issues to deal with from the past and the present, before they could even consider a possibility of a future. They both have demons and issues to face. They both have fears and insecurities. They are on borrowed time again and both are afraid to deal with the hard questions and decisions. They loved and lost once and barely survived, but the stakes are even higher now.This is a great start to a new series from Brooke Blaine and I am hooked. The side characters are also intriguing and interesting. I am looking forward to more with the burly tattoo artist and bartender, Shaw, and the stylish, intuitive, and outgoing, Bash. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Momof3-in an Ash and Cael sandwich
    July 29, 2017
    I liked these guys.I enjoyed the flashbacks that we got, though I wish there had been more.I got a little frustrated with Lucas *shakes fist*Some awesome secondary characters, can't wait for more about Bash and Shaw.Shaw ***dreamy sigh***
  • ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
    July 23, 2017
    ARC received for an honest reviewI have adored every word written by Brooke Blaine so far, so the chance to read an early copy of her new MM book was a no brainer.MM is my jam - I seriously can't get enough of it, and can't get enough of Lucas and Jackson.I love a second chance romance, and A Little Bit Like Love swept me away with the raw emotion and love and lust our boys have for each other.I liked that there wasn't too much OTT drama and angst - sure there were some issues, that is why they ARC received for an honest reviewI have adored every word written by Brooke Blaine so far, so the chance to read an early copy of her new MM book was a no brainer.MM is my jam - I seriously can't get enough of it, and can't get enough of Lucas and Jackson.I love a second chance romance, and A Little Bit Like Love swept me away with the raw emotion and love and lust our boys have for each other.I liked that there wasn't too much OTT drama and angst - sure there were some issues, that is why they were away from each other, however it is real issues that were relatable.The sexual tension is through the roof - this girl is still fanning herself a couple of days after reading. With all that spark, you just knew that things were going to be hot hot hot once they got to that place.Jackson and Lucas have an epic journey to get back to each other, and each and every page is a delicious insight into their lives, leaving me anxious and gasping with anticipation at what would happen with them next.Now I am tapping my foot, impatiently waiting for the second book in the South Haven series.
    more
  • Malene_D *BadAndDirtyBooks*
    July 30, 2017
    Brooke Blaine nailed her first solo M/M story. I was instantly enthralled from the first chapter. Jackson and Lucas were two amazing characters who complemented each other flawlessly. Because Logan had been hurt in the past he now had his walls closed around him, never letting anyone in only his two friends Bash and Shaw. Now he's a party and one night stand kind of guy. Jackson works for his father's company and doing what everyone else wants and expects of him making him feel lonely and not wh Brooke Blaine nailed her first solo M/M story. I was instantly enthralled from the first chapter. Jackson and Lucas were two amazing characters who complemented each other flawlessly. Because Logan had been hurt in the past he now had his walls closed around him, never letting anyone in only his two friends Bash and Shaw. Now he's a party and one night stand kind of guy. Jackson works for his father's company and doing what everyone else wants and expects of him making him feel lonely and not who he really is.The chemistry between these two guys was insane. I loved the push and pull between them and how Lucas tried to push Jackson away but he wouldn't budge. Jackson was determined to show Lucas that nothing would come between them again. Their past history was also something that made me connect and fall in love with them even more. Lucas' friends Bash and Shaw were fabulous. I loved them just as much and they flowed well with story. A great introduction of the two of them.I've read Brooke Blaine's L.A. Liaisons series and loved that as well. With A Little Bit Like Love Blaine has created another wonderful series with intriguing characters who have so many layers. I'm so excited for the next book cause this one was fantastic. 5 BadAssDirtyLetMeInStars
    more
  • Jen
    July 27, 2017
    Note: This ARC was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review and the full review can be read on Dog-Eared Daydreams.Ah, these two guys. They came along on a weekend that started off on a nightmare of a note, and their story not only brought a smile to my face but helped to end the same weekend on a far better note. I'm something of an angst whore, so I loved the angst between Lucas and Jackson, and believe me, it came in healthy doses. After all, there was no excusing Jackson's dec Note: This ARC was provided by the author in exchange for an honest review and the full review can be read on Dog-Eared Daydreams.Ah, these two guys. They came along on a weekend that started off on a nightmare of a note, and their story not only brought a smile to my face but helped to end the same weekend on a far better note. I'm something of an angst whore, so I loved the angst between Lucas and Jackson, and believe me, it came in healthy doses. After all, there was no excusing Jackson's decision to up and leave without explaining why when they were eighteen, and then there was Lucas's refusal to open himself up to the possibility of both forgiving Jackson and entertaining the notion of even becoming friends again, not that I could blame him, but hey, I happen to be an expert when it comes to holding grudges. I saw quite a bit of myself in both Jackson and Lucas. Maybe that's why A Little Bit Like Love so registered with me...or maybe it was because this book had heart, and so it captured mine. Five-plus stars. ♥
    more
  • Maree Repa
    July 26, 2017
    Second ChancesFive Amazing StarsI was completely thrilled to recive the first book from the exciting new series, South Haven. Written by the most incredible, Brooke Blaine. I so thoroughly loved all her amazing sexual MM books. I was so pleased to enjoy this one too!!I so thoroughly adored this sexy book. Found it just so difficult to put down!!As Lucas Sullivan had decided to eat a most tasty morning meal together. We'd both travelling down south in Savannah, Georgia. Both having such a wonderf Second ChancesFive Amazing StarsI was completely thrilled to recive the first book from the exciting new series, South Haven. Written by the most incredible, Brooke Blaine. I so thoroughly loved all her amazing sexual MM books. I was so pleased to enjoy this one too!!I so thoroughly adored this sexy book. Found it just so difficult to put down!!As Lucas Sullivan had decided to eat a most tasty morning meal together. We'd both travelling down south in Savannah, Georgia. Both having such a wonderful time together. Now Jackson Davenport had been forcefully removed by his father an boys academy situated further north in Connecticut. Sadly, away from his dearest friend Lucas.As Jackson remembered back to this time. Many years had past, Jackson was a charming head business man in Connecticut. Living here made Jackson a responsible adult for once in his life. He had suffered deeply and he just knew that he that his past memories where all gone.!!Such a marvellous romantic love story between both Lucas and Jackson. I so thoroughly adored this fabulous sexy delicious tale. I completely loved these wonderful unique characters so very much. A complete winner for Brooke Blaine, amazing author and good friend too!!* I recommend this book to everyone!!
    more
  • Jessica Alcazar
    July 27, 2017
    I don't even know where to begin. No wait, I do LOL I love this tittle. Ridiculously perfect for this story plus it allows me to say .... more like a whole lot of hot sexy lovin' #forrealYa'll know I like my M/M to be raw and gritty and hard. I love it when there's tension that just crackles off the pages. Well, Brooke Blaine delivered in spades! These two guys had me glued to my kindle. I read this in mere hours. I was sucked into the world from the very beginning, right up to the end. And th I don't even know where to begin. No wait, I do LOL I love this tittle. Ridiculously perfect for this story plus it allows me to say .... more like a whole lot of hot sexy lovin' #forrealYa'll know I like my M/M to be raw and gritty and hard. I love it when there's tension that just crackles off the pages. Well, Brooke Blaine delivered in spades! These two guys had me glued to my kindle. I read this in mere hours. I was sucked into the world from the very beginning, right up to the end. And there is so much left to tell about the world the author has created. Fall cannot come soon enough my friends!If M/M is something you enjoy reading, this book should be on your TBR yesterday! #TRUSTCopy provided for blog tour review
    more
  • Jennifer☠Pher☠
    July 31, 2017
    This could have gone either way but luckily it went the right way. I enjoyed it.It had the required annoying bits but they weren't shake your head annoying, they mostly fit.There were moments where I couldn't put a finger on Jackson or Lucas. Their personalities changed at times and I couldn't tell who I was reading but these were small blips.I can not wait for Shaw's story and then I know I will be dying for Bash's.So, for her first solo M/M, good job.
    more
  • Kizzy
    July 26, 2017
    OMG!!! Jackson and Lucas have my heart.<3 . I can't put into words how much I loved their story. I am such a huge fan of Brooke's and when I heard she was writing her own MM romance, I was so excited!! She did not disappoint!Lucas and Jackson's story is heartbreaking yet beautiful when it all comes together. Having been separated for 8 years, we have Jackson who is now working for his father. He is having breakfast when he overhears some guys talking about Lucas. His Lucas, the one he left be OMG!!! Jackson and Lucas have my heart.<3 . I can't put into words how much I loved their story. I am such a huge fan of Brooke's and when I heard she was writing her own MM romance, I was so excited!! She did not disappoint!Lucas and Jackson's story is heartbreaking yet beautiful when it all comes together. Having been separated for 8 years, we have Jackson who is now working for his father. He is having breakfast when he overhears some guys talking about Lucas. His Lucas, the one he left behind. What does he do? He heads out to the location where Luke is. How does this all play out? Will Luke welcome him with open arms?Luke, oh how I loved him. Poor thing has been through so much and losing Jackson was the the icing on the cake. He is well known for his hook ups and basically being a sex god. What does he do when he comes face to face with Jackson? He is so hurt, angry and vulnerable at the same time and my heart broke for him. I understood where he was coming from, but I also understood Jackson too.Things are revealed, but will Jackson and Lucas drop their guards down to finally be together?Can they get over all the hurt and pain? I had such a book hangover when I was done. All the feels <3Special mention to Lucas' friends Shaw and Bash! They were awesome and introducing them into this book makes you excited for their stories to come. This is going to be an amazing series!
    more
  • Cadiva
    July 22, 2017
    Loved, absolutely loved this tale of second chances, of finding your place, of going back and making something right, of getting the boy you never forgot and throwing out the damaging things which have made you unhappy.Brooke Blaine is supremely good at this type of romance, she builds up the tensions but never throws in "plot for plot's sake" dramady (as I like to call it). The drama in this book comes wholly from within the narrative and follows the natural progression of two men - who were ea Loved, absolutely loved this tale of second chances, of finding your place, of going back and making something right, of getting the boy you never forgot and throwing out the damaging things which have made you unhappy.Brooke Blaine is supremely good at this type of romance, she builds up the tensions but never throws in "plot for plot's sake" dramady (as I like to call it). The drama in this book comes wholly from within the narrative and follows the natural progression of two men - who were each tricked into thinking the other had dismissed them as unimportant after a single night of passionate commitment - when they find out the truth nearly a decade later.I loved Lucas and Jackson, I loved the way they eased back into their teenage experiences but with a hint of holding back just in case but then, when everything came out in the open, how they embraced the fact they'd never stopped holding a torch for the other.It made perfect sense for Lucas to react as he did, the pain he'd kept inside him for eight years had been lanced and then he saw something which he felt was taking him back to the night his heart had been broken. And Jackson, he needed to have the confrontation with his past so that he could finally make the break from a life he'd been neatly slotted into without ever having a choice.And the setting, this is the beginning of a new series with a whole host of beautifully drawn secondary characters who will be getting their stories too and I can't wait to find out more about Shaw and Bash and I hope we still hear from Syd as it's such a pleasant change to have "the female rival" not be an utter witch.This romance is sexy, it's spicy, it's hot and passionate but it's also about finding and reconnecting, it's about emotions and love and it's about making the choice to trust even though you've been hurt by the person to whom you're handing over your heart.#ARC received from the author in return for an honest and unbiased review.
    more
  • Lelyana
    July 24, 2017
    Ever wonder what would it be if your life turning upside down and all you've ever known was all lies?Ever wonder what life could have been if you found out that your first love is still love you and life turned you to face the love of your life once again? For a second chance no less.Gosh! This book did a lot to me. At first, I was skeptical because this is Brooke's first MM. Many MF authors didn't make it to the MM world. But I'd say, Brooke, you're welcome to MM community wholeheartedly!This b Ever wonder what would it be if your life turning upside down and all you've ever known was all lies?Ever wonder what life could have been if you found out that your first love is still love you and life turned you to face the love of your life once again? For a second chance no less.Gosh! This book did a lot to me. At first, I was skeptical because this is Brooke's first MM. Many MF authors didn't make it to the MM world. But I'd say, Brooke, you're welcome to MM community wholeheartedly!This book is sexy, unputdownable, and I cannot put it down, but didn't want to say goodbye to Jackson and Lucas.They're perfect.I can feel the chemistry right from the start, and during my reading, I kept holding my breath that somebody's better not fuck it up.I almost losing my mind when something 'almost' happen. But I think Brooke knows how to play the fields. Nothing made me disappointed. Nothing, not even Lucas's behavior before Jackson.There are two person caught my attention. Bash and Shaw.I couldn't wait to read about Shaw in the next book. I hope Bash will also get his own story, his story could be 'interesting', since Bash is...well, Bash. Wink.READ THIS BOOK. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Julia Valentine
    July 28, 2017
    Is it a legit review if I just say I loooooved A Little Bit Like Love??
Write a review