Her Cowboy's Promise
Three years ago, artist Emily White’s grief and survivor’s guilt sent her to the small Wyoming town of Fly Creek. Since then, she’s kept her emotions safely tucked away—until she meets the new rancher at Sky Lake Dude Ranch. Stetson in hand, the gorgeous cowboy’s arrival in her store immediately shakes up her world.Adam Conley is only in Fly Creek for as long as it takes to fulfill his promise to his late cousin. The small town brings up too many memories of the life he left behind years ago. He knows his task won’t be easy, but the last thing he expects is the instant attraction to the reason he’s in town. Emily is beautiful, vibrant, and completely off-limits. He’s there to keep his promise—not fall in love.But Adam’s secret will crumble everything Emily’s life has revolved around.

Her Cowboy's Promise Details

TitleHer Cowboy's Promise
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 17th, 2017
PublisherEntangled Bliss
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance, Adult, Westerns

Readers also enjoyed


Her Cowboy's Promise Review

  • Ayekah
    July 7, 2017
    This is one hell of a debut novel! I could not put the book down. Even a day later, it's hard to put words to this story. My review won't do it justice, just read the book. It's tender, overflows with sadness yet hope, you watch Emily unfold like a flower under Adam's prodding; breaking through the protective walls she's built to keep herself safe. There are great laughs and lots of down home meddling by the women folk and some bitter memories from Adam. And there is deceit, and some not forthco This is one hell of a debut novel! I could not put the book down. Even a day later, it's hard to put words to this story. My review won't do it justice, just read the book. It's tender, overflows with sadness yet hope, you watch Emily unfold like a flower under Adam's prodding; breaking through the protective walls she's built to keep herself safe. There are great laughs and lots of down home meddling by the women folk and some bitter memories from Adam. And there is deceit, and some not forthcoming communication that upends mainly Emily but Adam as well.Emily moves to Fly Creek Wyoming from back east after losing the love of her life in a canoeing accident. She was in the boat with him, they had their future planned. She feels as though she failed to save him and still has waking dreams of the incident after 3 years that paralyze her. She's an artist, she opens a gallery, lives in a tiny loft upstairs and keeps to herself. She's totally isolated socially. The towns people accept that, seeing her pain. She meets Adam Conley when he walks in to her gallery one day to pick up a painting she did for Sky Lake Ranch. Adam just got hired on as a ranch hand for the season. He's actually there for another reason, known only to him, to keep a promise he made to his cousin Drew, Emily's fiancé, to make sure she was happy and moved on. Adam has a deadline, he's only there until September and while he's at home on the ranch and his skills are being put to good use, he ran from a small town because of the gossip and same life. Went to college and took a job in NY in finance and business, suit and tie and all of it. He's rocking those boots and jeans though ladies... Adam slowly draws her out, Emily is slow going and is still terrified of water. She finally goes over to the ranch one day and she starts opening herself up to life a little. Still protective, but allowing herself to experience things. Adam still hasn't told her after a period of time and they grow very close.The dialogue gets heavy now and then and both of their inner dialogues and so well written.Adam's brother gets out of the Marines after 14 years and after taking care of some business in their hometown, joins Adam and Sky Lake. Emily finally coming out of her shell, Adam knows he still needs to tell her the truth about Drew, he stalls a little too long and their world implodes. Especially Emily's. Right back into her shell and isolating, she doesn't know yet what's going on, the truth that Adam has come to tell her, so she has little to go on. It's one of those breath holding moments when she finally lets him talk to her. This book is a debut novel. I have to tell you it's so well written, so close to the bone, you'll be moved and pulled in many directions reading this. The plot line was great. The dialogue so real, her pain and grief radiates up off the pages, as does her happiness when she starts to come back into her own.Adam was a peach and despite the fact his cousin pretty much sent him on the impossible task.Truly I wouldn't want to be him. He adores Emily and is torn. You can sense his emotions too, he's so careful with her. Long and the short of it.... read this book. Today. You won't be able to put it down either and end up like me, a tad speechless.Amazing story Jennifer! **arc from NetGalley and Entangled in exchange for a fair review**
    more
  • Elaine
    July 19, 2017
    Tragedy caused artist Emily White to move to Fly Creek, Wyoming, three years ago. She’s opened up her own gallery there but kept herself emotionally disconnected from the world until Adam Conley enters her store. He, too, has moved to the area but his motivation is to fulfil his promise to his cousin regarding Emily. She’s totally unaware of his connection to her dead fiancé but both are very aware of the instant attraction between them. As emotional barriers are broken down, will love find a wa Tragedy caused artist Emily White to move to Fly Creek, Wyoming, three years ago. She’s opened up her own gallery there but kept herself emotionally disconnected from the world until Adam Conley enters her store. He, too, has moved to the area but his motivation is to fulfil his promise to his cousin regarding Emily. She’s totally unaware of his connection to her dead fiancé but both are very aware of the instant attraction between them. As emotional barriers are broken down, will love find a way to help the two of them find romance together or drive them apart forever?Packed with emotion, this story journeys from devastating grief, through love, deception, courage and romance. It involves fighting the past to move on to the future and is written in a way that draws the reader in and makes this such a memorable story. It is the first in a new series, with a brilliant, caring community that I can’t wait to read more about in future, I’ll certainly be looking out for more by this highly talented author and have no hesitation in highly recommending this book.I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.
    more
  • Elizabeth Neal
    July 24, 2017
    **3.5 Stars**"A life she existed rather than participated in."This sentence perfectly encapsulates Emily's past three years. She's simply existing, alive, but not living, because Drew, her fiance, truly is gone and she's been unable to fully move on, okay, not at all, since. She's essentially secluded herself, emotionally if not literally. She paints, she works, she interacts, but that's the extent...until Adam walks into her store to pick up an order for his boss. For some reason, Emily feels a **3.5 Stars**"A life she existed rather than participated in."This sentence perfectly encapsulates Emily's past three years. She's simply existing, alive, but not living, because Drew, her fiance, truly is gone and she's been unable to fully move on, okay, not at all, since. She's essentially secluded herself, emotionally if not literally. She paints, she works, she interacts, but that's the extent...until Adam walks into her store to pick up an order for his boss. For some reason, Emily feels as if he truly sees her, not the facade she's been presenting to everyone else, and she's attracted to him, which is also unexpected.Adam has returned to a way of life he eagerly left behind, but as it's to fulfill a wish to his cousin, Drew, he's following through, albeit with a deadline. Once he does, he's leaving to continue his search, that of a career and home, one that's escaped him for a decade. Emily, and his attraction to her, completely surprised him. He's everything he imagined and yet so much more. When Emily, after being unable to stop imagining her and Adam in certain situations, decides to live, even if for one night, Adam is definitely interested, but knows he shouldn't due to his goal and connection to Drew. Adam knows he's sending her mixed messages, yet he's unable to stop as he's truly conflicted in regards to what he should, or shouldn't do, versus what he wants to. A kiss is all they allow themselves though, even if it's for different reasons.Though Emily is greatly attracted to Adam, and visualizes having more with him, she can't help but feel as if she's betraying Drew for even thinking of being with another man. As for Adam, he needs to stay focused, accomplish his promise to Drew of helping Emily move forward, and then walk away. They both, regretfully, decide to label themselves as friends, though both know it is and could be so much more.As Adam and Emily steadily grow closer, both know they can't continue to maintain the charade of only being friends. However, while they're falling for one another, Adam is still keeping secrets, one of them with the ability to change Emily forever, and turn her love for both Adam, and the memory of that which she shared with Drew, into heartbreak, destroyed by betrayal and distrust.What happens when Emily learns who Adam is and his real reason for entering her life? How will she react upon learning some revelations regarding Drew, and their relationship? Will Emily retreat back into herself, and this time a different sort of grief, upon learning two men she loved betrayed her? Or will she break free from the emotions that had weighed her down for so long? Is Adam just as anxious to leave? Or has he found a reason to stay? Can he make peace with his past and see what he truly wants out of life? Is there any chance these two can find a HEA together?One-click now and follow along as two people, brought together under false pretenses, find a love that will need to overcome numerous obstacles in order to survive. I'm looking forward to Levi, Adam's brother's, story. **I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.**
    more
  • Ali (Ali's Bookshelf )
    July 16, 2017
    I would give this book a 4 1/2 puppy ratingI really enjoyed the connection between these characters and how much the town really pulled for Emily. That is one thing I will mention the town in this book was one that I wouldn’t mind living in myself. Everyone knew who she was and even though she was closed mouthed about who she was and what had happened to her the town still protected her and that to me is amazing. I really loved all the secondary characters as well and you don’t often see that in I would give this book a 4 1/2 puppy ratingI really enjoyed the connection between these characters and how much the town really pulled for Emily. That is one thing I will mention the town in this book was one that I wouldn’t mind living in myself. Everyone knew who she was and even though she was closed mouthed about who she was and what had happened to her the town still protected her and that to me is amazing. I really loved all the secondary characters as well and you don’t often see that in a book. Don’t get me wrong I love all the main characters, but when you can root for others that makes me as a reader love a book so much more.I hope the author writes more stories with these characters, I need to know more about the others as well. Maybe his brother or Peyton's story. (Hint Hint) . I would defiantly read those books as well. All in all Her Cowboy’s Promise is one that I would recommend to anyone that is looking for a great love story. If you’re looking for a book with lots of twists and turns and one that you have no idea what’s going to happen next, then Her Cowboy’s Promise is perfect for you.(Whole review is on the blog)
    more
  • Kim Reads (Read Your Writes Book Reviews)
    June 26, 2017
    Entangled Publishing’s Bliss imprint is all about sweet romance, family, everyday men and women, and small towns, with caring if not nosey and pushy townspeople. Her Cowboy’s Promise encompasses all that and more.After the heartbreaking death of her fiancé Drew, Emily White left everything she knew including her family and friends to escape the pain. She moved halfway across the country and started over. It’s been three years and she’s only living a shell of a life. She doesn’t socialize outside Entangled Publishing’s Bliss imprint is all about sweet romance, family, everyday men and women, and small towns, with caring if not nosey and pushy townspeople. Her Cowboy’s Promise encompasses all that and more.After the heartbreaking death of her fiancé Drew, Emily White left everything she knew including her family and friends to escape the pain. She moved halfway across the country and started over. It’s been three years and she’s only living a shell of a life. She doesn’t socialize outside of greeting and interacting with customers at Painted Glass, her art store. She doesn’t eat out. In fact, she doesn’t go out at all. The townspeople of Fly Creek, Wyoming seem to understand that she has a past and is carrying the weight of the world on her shoulders. They’re happy to sit back and wait for her to come around.Adam Conley managed to escape small town ranch life and never wants to look back. His desire not to be a rancher earned him a finance degree and jobs in New York and Chicago. But he still isn’t happy. His cousin Drew made him promise to look after Emily and to make sure that she’s happy and moves on with her life. It’s this promise to Drew that finds him where he doesn’t want to be, as a ranch hand at Sky Lake Ranch in Fly Creek, Wyoming.For weeks, Adam has been in town, interacting with people to get a feel for Emily. When they finally do meet, sparks fly and neither is prepared. Emily hasn’t felt anything for anyone since Drew’s death. She simply hasn’t wanted to really live. But Adam makes her want to touch a man and step out of her self-imposed exile. Adam wants to fulfill his promise, but he doesn’t know how to handle his sudden feelings for a woman he knows he can’t and shouldn’t have. Together, Emily and Adam set out on a journey of self-discovery, healing, forgiveness, and ultimately love.Her Cowboy’s Promise is a very impressive debut from new author Jennifer Hoopes. This story is heartbreaking at times, so be sure to have tissue handy. But it’s also about healing and moving forward. Surprisingly for me, I didn’t hate the small town, nosey citizens. They actually added to my love of the story. In fact, all the characters are great, from Piper who wants to be Emily’s friend, but is like a steamroller when given the chance; to Shelby, owner of Sky Lake Ranch who’s like a mother hen and grizzly bear rolled in one. Adding to this amazing cast of characters are Levi, Adam’s older brother, Dan, Adam’s friend and another ranch hand and Polly Brooks, Piper’s grandmother.Her Cowboy’s Promise is a definite bookshelf keeper. Jennifer Hoopes has earned her place on my auto-buy author list and I can’t wait to return to Fly Creek.**Received a copy from Entangled Publishing and voluntarily reviewed. I also personally purchased a paperback copy.**
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    July 11, 2017
    He teaches her how to breathe. She shows him how to love. Her Cowboy's Promise is a story that screams emotion. From heartbreaking grief, to emotional reawakening, Ms. Hoopes tale is one of courage, devotion and second chances. A tragedy changes the course of two peoples lives, but a promise has the power to heal their broken hearts. I am new to this particular author, however anytime a story lingers on the mind for days on end, it's obvious she made an impression.
    more
  • Bec - Book Magic: Under a spell with every page Reviews
    July 17, 2017
    Three years ago Emily White lost the man she loved. She's still grieving and finding it difficult to move on with her life. However, the moment she meets Adam Conley, she finds their instant attraction just might make her ready to get close to someone again. Yet, when she learns the truth of why he's come to Fly Creek, will she be able to forgive his deception, or will her second chance at happy ever after never happen.What an incredibly captivating, fast-paced, mesmeric debut novel Ms. Hoopes h Three years ago Emily White lost the man she loved. She's still grieving and finding it difficult to move on with her life. However, the moment she meets Adam Conley, she finds their instant attraction just might make her ready to get close to someone again. Yet, when she learns the truth of why he's come to Fly Creek, will she be able to forgive his deception, or will her second chance at happy ever after never happen.What an incredibly captivating, fast-paced, mesmeric debut novel Ms. Hoopes has penned in this story that had me wrapped up in the magic of the main characters back stories, which had me sympathizing with the pair; the dialogue, which was a perfect combination of intense and light-hearted moments that had me smiling throughout this story until towards the end where all I did was cry for the heroine; and the satisfying ending, which had me completely enchanted. Because even though this couple have a rather tough obstacle to overcome, they're a meant to be couple and I enjoyed how they helped each other heal from their pasts. The way this story started had me empathizing with the heroine, because it seems she's barely going through the motions and not even remotely ready to move on from her grief. Will she ever be ready? However, the moment Adam enters this story, I was absolutely delighted and had the biggest smile on my face, because he's instantly an inviting character; a hero that without a doubt readers will want to discover more about. I know I certainly wanted to. Furthermore, the heroine is resilient and brave and I liked how she bloomed throughout this story. In the beginning, she's so wrapped up in her grief, but with every interaction she has with the hero, she becomes more open to love again. I also liked how Emily went about facing her fears, because it also helped her heal from her past; and how willing she was to interact with the secondary characters, as it was good for her in making friends and helping her make more of her business. Certainly, her love of art saved her in her time of need. While the hero, I could empathize with Adam when it came to his past and the secret he was keeping and how when it came to light that it would hurt the heroine. I also liked his interactions with the secondary characters when it came to their offering advice, their matchmaking efforts and their protectiveness of the heroine, as Adam is the first person she's really opened up to in the three years she been in Fly Creek.Overall, Ms. Hoopes has penned a spellbinding read in this book where emotions run high, the chemistry between this couple was strong, the romance was on the sweet side and the secondary characters will definitely have me wanting to read more of this series. The way this story ended had me absolutely hooked, because of the way the heroine overcomes her fear and how she makes things right with Adam once she's had time to work through all she discovers when it comes to what the hero was keeping from her. However, it was the epilogue that wrapped this story up wonderfully, as this couple deserve all the happiness they achieve. I would recommend Her Cowboy's Promise by Jennifer Hoopes, if you enjoy second chance romances or books by authors Jody Holford, Kyra Jacobs, Susan Meier or Victoria James.
    more
  • Lori
    July 11, 2017
    Wow! What a powerful and emotionally charged story! Just a forewarning, have some tissues close by for this one. It is definitely a heart string pulling kind of book. My heart broke for Emily and also for Adam. I can totally understand her pain throughout this book. After such a devastating and sudden loss, I am not sure I would be better off than Emily. The writer made you feel her pain and suffering as well as wanting to start living again. Ms. Hoopes really got to the deep heartache and heart Wow! What a powerful and emotionally charged story! Just a forewarning, have some tissues close by for this one. It is definitely a heart string pulling kind of book. My heart broke for Emily and also for Adam. I can totally understand her pain throughout this book. After such a devastating and sudden loss, I am not sure I would be better off than Emily. The writer made you feel her pain and suffering as well as wanting to start living again. Ms. Hoopes really got to the deep heartache and heartbreak for Emily and Adam. Their emotions were raw. But somehow they found the strength to continue on and find a reason to live. I loved the town and it's supporting characters. They were the sweetest trying to protect Emily in their own way. What a great small town to live in where people actually want to know you, care for you, and help. I have read other small town stories before where the people in it were awesome, but this town seemed to be "more." And I feel that added a lot more to like in this story. I sincerely hope we get more from this town. Levi and Piper, to me, both need their own happy ending. This is my first read by Ms. Hoopes, but will not be my last. I received this book in exchange for an honest review from the publisher through Netgalley.
    more
  • Becky Burciaga
    July 3, 2017
    This was both at the same time heartbreaking as it was heartwarming; the emotions it evoked cannot be explained. Only that the writing was a prime example of what every writer aspires to...causing the reader to feel the emotions of the characters and the story itself. It became so easy to fall in love with Adam and his hesitancy to cause emotional harm to Emily. From the first moment he appeared in her store, flashing his dimples, and holding his hat in his hands ("treading it through his finger This was both at the same time heartbreaking as it was heartwarming; the emotions it evoked cannot be explained. Only that the writing was a prime example of what every writer aspires to...causing the reader to feel the emotions of the characters and the story itself. It became so easy to fall in love with Adam and his hesitancy to cause emotional harm to Emily. From the first moment he appeared in her store, flashing his dimples, and holding his hat in his hands ("treading it through his fingers") I could feel his depth of hesitancy and sincerity in bringing Emily some measure of peace. In Emily there was a wounded bird, unable to fly. The author so eloquently portrayed her suffering and emotions through Emily's art. The supporting cast of characters enriched the story in their own way...bringing light to the emotional protection that a small town brought to two people in need of healing. This has been one of the most poignant stories I have read in a very long time. It truly made my heart feel. This ARC book was complimentary, provided by the Publisher and Netgally, I am voluntarily providing my honest review.
    more
  • Mommaleena
    July 8, 2017
    Her Cowboys Promise (Fly Creek #1 ) by Jennifer Hoopes • Living Again Grief can cause so much pain and sometimes it's difficult to recover from and truly love again. The guilt over surviving can also be debilitating until someone comes along and helps see you through that pain. However secrets can cause more pain, but can you get past that and see the truth? That's what happens between Emily and Adam. Will they get the happily ever after they're both seeking or will they continue to run and hid Her Cowboys Promise (Fly Creek #1 ) by Jennifer Hoopes • Living Again Grief can cause so much pain and sometimes it's difficult to recover from and truly love again. The guilt over surviving can also be debilitating until someone comes along and helps see you through that pain. However secrets can cause more pain, but can you get past that and see the truth? That's what happens between Emily and Adam. Will they get the happily ever after they're both seeking or will they continue to run and hide from their pasts and the future they both deserve? You'll have to read Her Cowboys Promise to find out, it's an emotional story, but once I started reading it I couldn't stop. I absolutely loved it and look forward to finding more stories from Jennifer about Fly Creek. I voluntarily reviewed an ARC copy of this book via Entangled Publishing through NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Lisa
    July 3, 2017
    LOVED THIS BOOK!! This is a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this story of Emily and Adam. (Without giving anything away....) Emily's life has been on hold since a great loss she suffered 3 years earlier. She has left her life behind and is barely existing in her "new" life in Wyoming. Adam is new to town but has his own secrets and agenda and his reasons for picking this small town. Their story is wonderful and shows that love can truly overcome any obstacle if you trust your heart an LOVED THIS BOOK!! This is a new author for me and I thoroughly enjoyed this story of Emily and Adam. (Without giving anything away....) Emily's life has been on hold since a great loss she suffered 3 years earlier. She has left her life behind and is barely existing in her "new" life in Wyoming. Adam is new to town but has his own secrets and agenda and his reasons for picking this small town. Their story is wonderful and shows that love can truly overcome any obstacle if you trust your heart and take that leap. Didn't want the book to end.
    more
  • MillsyLovesBooks
    July 12, 2017
    Some books you read, some you devour then there's the books that totally consume you. Her Cowboy's Promise was just that for me, I will honestly say i wasn't expecting such an emotional and beautiful read.This is Jennifer Hoopes debut novel and I have to say it's so well written i would never have guessed. This emotional read will pull you in and keep you there even after you finish. The grief had my heart in my mouth for most of this read. But don't get me wrong its not all doom and gloom. Ther Some books you read, some you devour then there's the books that totally consume you. Her Cowboy's Promise was just that for me, I will honestly say i wasn't expecting such an emotional and beautiful read.This is Jennifer Hoopes debut novel and I have to say it's so well written i would never have guessed. This emotional read will pull you in and keep you there even after you finish. The grief had my heart in my mouth for most of this read. But don't get me wrong its not all doom and gloom. There so many heart warming, swoon worthy and humours parts that make this read so enjoyable.Now i could go in all the details of this superb read but that will only spoil your experience. The bottom line is read this book. You won't be disappointed and hopefully like me be blown away!
    more
  • Karla Andrews
    July 10, 2017
    What a great summer read!!! And proof that everyone is fighting demons. And the is someone for everyone. What started out as a promise to his cousin, turned in to his fight to keep her in his life. Emily has turned into her shell when ur boyfriend died. For three years! Adam is there to make sure she comes out of it. And into the living.
    more
  • Angelia
    July 17, 2017
    I received this ARC copy of this book from NetGallery for an honest review. I give this book 5 stars. The storyline between Emily and Adam met at the Sky Lake Dude Ranch. A must read book. Will Adams secret break them up.
  • Siran
    July 7, 2017
    Normally, I would include a little bit of the plot. This time I thought doing so would reveal too much. ---One thing that attracted me to want to read this book was Emily being an artist. This was the first book that dealt with a rancher. While I believed it to be predictable in the beginning, I was pleasantly surprised at many parts of the story. ---I received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review.
    more
  • Heather
    June 30, 2017
    The technical stuff: This standalone book was a sweet romance with no harsh cursing or on-screen sex. If those things turn you off from a book, you have no worries here.This book was far more emotional than I was expecting, and I loved that. Although Emily was in mourning through a lot of the story, her sadness and anxiety were tempered with enough moments of humor and sweetness that it wasn't a depressing read at all. Don't misunderstand me, I got teary-eyed reading this one than once, a The technical stuff: This standalone book was a sweet romance with no harsh cursing or on-screen sex. If those things turn you off from a book, you have no worries here.This book was far more emotional than I was expecting, and I loved that. Although Emily was in mourning through a lot of the story, her sadness and anxiety were tempered with enough moments of humor and sweetness that it wasn't a depressing read at all. Don't misunderstand me, I got teary-eyed reading this one than once, actually, but this book isn't a downer. The themes of this book are hope, finding real love, and learning to live again, and the author does a beautiful job of balancing those things with the sadness.If I hadn't been told that this was Jennifer Hoopes' first published novel, I would never have guessed it. This book didn't have the kinds of bumps and stumbles that books by new authors tend to have, it was polished beautifully and the story flowed perfectly. I look forward to reading more (Levi's book, for instance) from Ms. Hoopes in the future. If you enjoy an emotional read about grief, hope, love that isn't forced but grows organically, and learning to live again after a tragedy, you should definitely read this book.
    more
  • AnnMarie
    July 16, 2017
    Her Cowboy's Promise is the debut novel and the first in the Fly Creek series by Jennifer Hoopes. Emily White moved to Fly Creek 3 years ago, pretty much to grieve for her fiance who died in a canoe accident. The small town seemed a perfect place to be able to isolate herself, not so many people to try to keep away from. She has an art supply shop, and also sells paintings, some on commission. Apart from dealing with customers she doesn't socialise, she doesn't let anybody in. Her grief is overw Her Cowboy's Promise is the debut novel and the first in the Fly Creek series by Jennifer Hoopes. Emily White moved to Fly Creek 3 years ago, pretty much to grieve for her fiance who died in a canoe accident. The small town seemed a perfect place to be able to isolate herself, not so many people to try to keep away from. She has an art supply shop, and also sells paintings, some on commission. Apart from dealing with customers she doesn't socialise, she doesn't let anybody in. Her grief is overwhelming.Adam Conley has gone to Fly Creek with the sole intention of fulfilling a promise he made to his cousin. A promise that involved Emily. The last place on Earth he wants to be is in a small town again, not after having escaped his miserable life in another small town when he was growing up. He didn't in his wildest imagination think that the moment they met each other there would be an instant rapport between them. But that's what happened.Emily was practically dumbstruck at her reaction the the sexy cowboy, and it started her thinking that maybe it wouldn't hurt to get to know Adam some more. With that in mind and despite trying to talk herself out of it, she went to the local bar, knowing he would be there, and they ended up having a slow dance together. Her mind was in a whirl at the fierce attraction she felt while dancing, yet at the same time feeling guilty because of her grief. Adam was equally stunned, he was only in town because of his promise, and that did not involve wanting to be intimate with Emily.And that's all I can say about the plot of the book because I don't want to give any spoilers. Suffice to say that the couple have many heartfelt moments wanting and needing each other, and yet fighting the attraction. Emily has to let go of her grief without guilt, and Adam has to get over his hatred of small towns, because if they are to have any future together he will have to live in Fly Creek. That's if they have any future once she finds out what really has brought him to town.I am in two minds about how I feel about this book. It's a sweet, emotion filled book, well written, and dealing with the reality of grief all the way through it. The amount of Emily's grief is realistic, maybe too realistic for my liking because at times I felt a little down reading it, and I hate to feel like that too much in a story. I know there were some light hearted moments, but at the heart of them you still know that there are bad times to come when Adam's secret is out. I think the author has done a great job with the characters, all of them, really capturing a small town mentality. I just like more light in my books than dark. I think if you like your books realistic and less let the good times roll, then this will be a perfect book for you. Will I read the next book in the series, you bet! I don't think the next one will involve a similar story line involving grief, and with such a great author, the series is hopefully going to just get better and better.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced readers' copy of this book.I give 3.5 stars for this book, which sadly only shows as 3 stars on the rating system.
    more
  • Char (1RadReader59)
    July 19, 2017
    This was an interesting story of a woman who has been mourning the tragic death of her fiancé Drew. Emily White was an art teacher in Pennsylvania and Drew was the P.E. teacher. They had gone out to the river on a boat to go fishing and it tipped over. Drew was pulled under never to be found. Three years have passed, Emily has moved to Colorado and opened a gallery art studio. Yet, she is not living. She is afraid of her own shadow. Forget her being around a body of water or even mentioning it. This was an interesting story of a woman who has been mourning the tragic death of her fiancé Drew. Emily White was an art teacher in Pennsylvania and Drew was the P.E. teacher. They had gone out to the river on a boat to go fishing and it tipped over. Drew was pulled under never to be found. Three years have passed, Emily has moved to Colorado and opened a gallery art studio. Yet, she is not living. She is afraid of her own shadow. Forget her being around a body of water or even mentioning it. Even if someone talks about she goes off because it has now become a trigger word, river or lake, each causing a breakdown. Then one day a cowboy with cotton candy blue eyes, dimples, and a voice that made her feel safe. The cowboy was really new to town only six weeks. Emily may not have interacted with the community, customers, or townsfolk as a whole but she belonged to them. She did keep her ear out when they would talk about things in her shop though so she knew stuff that was happening around town. Like who Adam Conley was. His hands made her shiver. The Friday after they met she had decided that Adam had awoken the sexy she devil inside her and she needed and wanted to feed her. So, she set out to seduce him. That night for the first time ever she showed up at the saloon. When she sees him, she finishes her liquid courage and then buys them both another drink and takes it to him. They dance a song and his hands on her hips are the sexiest thing ever to her. When it was over she asks if he wants to leave with her. He says, “Yes!” All she wanted was one night. No more. Adam had other plans. You see Adam had shown up in town in order to deliver a promise he made to Drew his cousin. But what he has to tell Emily can either destroy her or make her stronger. Especially, when he realizes her asking him out is a big thing. See how this wicked web gets more cross webbed as it goes on. Can they remain, even friends, after he reveals the truth? Only time will tell. I give this: 5 stars. Provided by netgalley.com. Follow us at www.1rad-readerreviews.com.
    more
  • Eva
    July 13, 2017
    jennifer hoopes' debut novel, her cowboy's promise, runs deep with emotion and the aftermath of grief. adam conley only came to fly creek to fulfill his promise to his cousin. he needs to make sure emily white is done with grieving and back to living a full and happy life. but from the moment their eyes meet, adam realizes that this task will be more difficult than he expected.for one, emily's grief still consumes her. it's been three years and you can still feel the pain and loss that exudes fr jennifer hoopes' debut novel, her cowboy's promise, runs deep with emotion and the aftermath of grief. adam conley only came to fly creek to fulfill his promise to his cousin. he needs to make sure emily white is done with grieving and back to living a full and happy life. but from the moment their eyes meet, adam realizes that this task will be more difficult than he expected.for one, emily's grief still consumes her. it's been three years and you can still feel the pain and loss that exudes from the inner depths of her spirit. and secondly, when their eyes meet there's a spark. he's supposed to make sure emily has moved on, not fall in love with her. but from the moment their paths tangle it feels inevitable. and adam knows that he will only cause emily more pain when he reveals everything he has been charged with by his cousin, to her.when emily meets adam she's startled to realize that the protective shell she's kept around her is starting to feel too small. since losing dylan she's been afraid to let anyone close, because that kind of loss would be impossible to come back vfrom again. the thing with adam confuses her, but she can't stop herself from seeking him out. it's as if he has the perfect amount of pushiness combined with the best amount of breathing room needed to keep her skittish self on an even keel.there's a lot of emotion in this book, but it's centered on healing: life after loss; love after loss; finding yourself and the right place to call home. falling in love sets both adam and emily free. they can mourn and grieve; love and heal; live and forgive.**her cowboy's promise will publish on july 17, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgally/entangled publishing (bliss) in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Melena Torretta
    July 7, 2017
    This is a sweet story about grief, hope, and love.Adam is in the town of Fly Creek to make good on a promise he made to his cousin. Unbeknownst to Emily this is why Adam initially tries to get to know her better.Emily's sadness and heartache were so believably portrayed. Especially once you understand more details of what happened to her only a few years earlier. I did have a little bit of a hard time getting into the story initially, but I really enjoyed it! I appreciated, too, that the premise This is a sweet story about grief, hope, and love.Adam is in the town of Fly Creek to make good on a promise he made to his cousin. Unbeknownst to Emily this is why Adam initially tries to get to know her better.Emily's sadness and heartache were so believably portrayed. Especially once you understand more details of what happened to her only a few years earlier. I did have a little bit of a hard time getting into the story initially, but I really enjoyed it! I appreciated, too, that the premise is so different than any other book I've read recently.I am looking forward to seeing who the next book in the series will be about!Thank you to Netgalley and the publisher for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Jessica Figueroa
    July 18, 2017
    Even though I did enjoy this book, if I'm honest it did have its moments where it felt like it was dragging and I really have to push myself to read or get through some point of the book. Even with that said, I really did like the book the characters where book, the story line was interesting and when it came down to the story in general it was a pretty good book. Maybe it's me, maybe I just wasn't in the mood to read it. The book does have its generic story line that I usually find appealing th Even though I did enjoy this book, if I'm honest it did have its moments where it felt like it was dragging and I really have to push myself to read or get through some point of the book. Even with that said, I really did like the book the characters where book, the story line was interesting and when it came down to the story in general it was a pretty good book. Maybe it's me, maybe I just wasn't in the mood to read it. The book does have its generic story line that I usually find appealing there just wasn't enough in this book to really be different and stand out with its own set of drama. Overall I'd rate this book 3 of 5 stars.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 9, 2017
    Tough review to write. This is a fantastic story. It's well written with very well developed characters. The only thing that kept this from being a 5 star read for me was I thought it focused just a little too much on Emily's grief and guilt rather than the developing relationship between Emily and Adam. After three years it seems to be too all consuming. I have to say this story is a bit heavier than most of the Bliss titles I've read still it's a book worth reading and one I would recommend to Tough review to write. This is a fantastic story. It's well written with very well developed characters. The only thing that kept this from being a 5 star read for me was I thought it focused just a little too much on Emily's grief and guilt rather than the developing relationship between Emily and Adam. After three years it seems to be too all consuming. I have to say this story is a bit heavier than most of the Bliss titles I've read still it's a book worth reading and one I would recommend to everyone.
    more
  • Karen Roma
    July 14, 2017
    A beautifully written story of tragedy, hope and love, Her Cowboy’s Promise was my first introduction to Ms Hoopes, but definitely won’t be the last.Emily and Adam are engaging characters and Fly Creek setting is wonderful too! A powerful story of people not looking for their forever partner, but somehow discovering that the most unpredictable of circumstances can lead to a happiness you never expected you’d deserve.I look forward to the next exciting story in this brand new series.
    more
  • Kim Vanravenswaay
    July 1, 2017
    The focus was too much on Emily's grief and guilt. I thought it would have been better if it was explained in the first couple of chapters then move on to Adam's and Emily's relationship. It just brought the book down too much for me for practically the whole book. I would rather smile and laugh about something that happened in a book.
    more
  • Teresa
    June 23, 2017
    **I received a copy of Her Cowboy's Promise from Entangled Publishing and Net Galley in exchange for a voluntary and honest review**Her Cowboys Promise by Jennifer Hoopes is the first book by the author. I felt it was slow going for most of the book but the ending did bring the two main characters together.Emily White's late fiance Drew has died in a canoeing accident and she moved to Fly Creek, Montana opening a Art Gallery that sells supplies as well as her own paintings. But after three years **I received a copy of Her Cowboy's Promise from Entangled Publishing and Net Galley in exchange for a voluntary and honest review**Her Cowboys Promise by Jennifer Hoopes is the first book by the author. I felt it was slow going for most of the book but the ending did bring the two main characters together.Emily White's late fiance Drew has died in a canoeing accident and she moved to Fly Creek, Montana opening a Art Gallery that sells supplies as well as her own paintings. But after three years of being reclusive she finds that her memories are dimming and the nightmares are still there of the accident. When she meets Adam Conley, she doesn't know that he's carrying around a secret that about Emily's late fiance, that will either make or break the new couple. But can he keep his promise and help her move on without falling in love with Emily?Adam Conley grew up on a ranch but because of his father's money woes they were forced to leave and he vowed to never return to that kind of life. He knows that he's only at Sky Lake Dude Ranch for four months teaching kids how to rope and become a cowboy/girl for just the amount of time of their stay. But he feels like something is missing in his life perhaps he has found it in Fly Creek, Montana? When Shelby Marks who's part owner sends him to pick up a painting from Emily's shop, he feels the beginnings of an attraction to her and when she "forgets" to send payment for it, Adam volunteers to return back into town to deliver it. When they begin to date both Adam and Emily feel guilt but also wonder if they could see where this will go before he leaves in September. But he knows that once he tells Emily what really happened that day on the river, she may never speak to him again.I loved the way that the town folk became very protective of Emily and have given her the time to heal and recover from her grief and that they made sure that Adam wasn't going to hurt her. I'd give this book a solid 4.5 star rating and will be interested to see if Ms. Hoopes continues writing about the town and it's characters who live there. Maybe we can find out if Shelby or Piper will get their own story?
    more
  • Beth
    July 15, 2017
    Her Cowboy's Promise, by Jennifer Hoopes is an emotional contemporary romance, and the first book in the Fly Creek series.Three years ago, Emily White moved to the small town of Fly Creek, Wyoming, after the tragic death of her fiance. She steadily kept to herself, while focusing on her paintings and art gallery shop, until she meets Adam Conley.Adam arrives in town and works as a hired ranch hand only to fulfill his promise to his cousin. However, Adam doesn't yet reveal the terms of the promis Her Cowboy's Promise, by Jennifer Hoopes is an emotional contemporary romance, and the first book in the Fly Creek series.Three years ago, Emily White moved to the small town of Fly Creek, Wyoming, after the tragic death of her fiance. She steadily kept to herself, while focusing on her paintings and art gallery shop, until she meets Adam Conley.Adam arrives in town and works as a hired ranch hand only to fulfill his promise to his cousin. However, Adam doesn't yet reveal the terms of the promise, nor immediately disclose the life-altering secrets that he's hiding. As the story unfolds, Emily and Adam's attraction and friendship continues to build, despite their past continuing to interfere with their future together. Both characters are extremely emotional and intensely dramatic.Her Cowboy's Promise is geared towards those who enjoy reading contemporary romances, particularly stories involving emotional issues.Note: I received this book from NetGalley, which is a program designed for bloggers to write book reviews in exchange for books, yet the opinions expressed in this review are my own.
    more
  • Jennifer Hoopes
    June 18, 2017
  • Marsha Spohn
    July 30, 2017
    Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfIt would be so easy to read the cover description for Her Cowboy’s Promise and think “light hearted romance”. It is, yet it is so very much more than that. This is an emotional story for both Emily and Adam. It’s learning to deal with grief and the guilt of being the one still living in a couple separated by death. It’s learning to live and trust again, putting yourself “out there” to see what happens next. It’s not easy to start over again, but Emily is trying in th Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfIt would be so easy to read the cover description for Her Cowboy’s Promise and think “light hearted romance”. It is, yet it is so very much more than that. This is an emotional story for both Emily and Adam. It’s learning to deal with grief and the guilt of being the one still living in a couple separated by death. It’s learning to live and trust again, putting yourself “out there” to see what happens next. It’s not easy to start over again, but Emily is trying in this small town that rallies around her at every turn. She’s building a new life, and if the sadness and grief from her previous life still steps in, well at least she’s doing better. Soon she’ll have the chance to grab a new future, one with every promise still to be given… if she’s brave enough to take that chance once more.Adam hadn’t intended to stay in this small town a moment longer than necessary. he had a promise to keep, and he’d do that but no more. This town brought back too many memories – and the one woman who could change his mind.Her Cowboy’s Promise is an emotional romance. One that will hit some people hard. There is an intense focus on Emily’s grief. That will affect some readers who don’t want that deep of a reality in a romance, in my opinion. Everyone grieves in their own way and in their own time, for Emily this was her way. Eventually she comes back to the reality standing right in front of her, but it’s not an easy journey for her. There are intense moments, yet also lighthearted ones. As Emily and Adam begin to see beyond grief and the past their path to their own happiness lies open and waiting for them. The question becomes, will they reach for it.I enjoyed this story, it’s emotional, and real. It also has me curious as to what the author would bring us next. And that I’ll be watching for.*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story. It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*
    more
  • Fran Zoch
    July 20, 2017
    Emily is drawn into herself , she works and that's it, that is all she has done since Drew passed away, everyone in Fly Creek knows something is wrong but keep it to themselves, then Adam shows up and she feels a spark , Adam promised Drew he would look after her to make sure she lives again and that takes Adam from New York back to Fly Creek.He does not know what to do about his feelings and neither does she so this puts them both on a path that they both need to be on to make them happy.
    more
  • SyLvIa
    July 28, 2017
    [did not finish] read the first 4 chapters and really dont feel like continuing anymore. was a little bored out, didnt connect with the book nor the writing style i think.
Write a review