Fix Me
Penelope Wryter's life has been a mess ever since her sister committed suicide a year ago. Now Pen's hooked on Fix, an illegal drug that makes her feel, think, and see differently. The hallucinations are intense, but there's one vision that keeps Pen coming back for more--Nate. He's the only person who cares about her. Too bad he's just a side effect of the drug. Pen knows she's going nowhere fast. She's desperate to change. But when she tries to say goodbye to Nate, he professes his love for her making her more confused than ever. Then, when a girl from school goes missing during a bad Fix trip, Pen realizes she may be in a lot more danger than she ever imagined. Unless Pen straightens up and faces reality quick, she might be the next missing girl on the list.

Fix Me Details

TitleFix Me
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 28th, 2017
PublisherFlux
ISBN-139781635830088
Rating
GenreFiction

Fix Me Review

  • Carrie
    January 1, 1970
    After Penelope Wryter's sister committed suicide a year ago her life has become a big mess. Hooked on the same illegal drug Fix that her sister had been on Pen knows she needs to find a way to stop using. But if Pen stops the drug that gives such realistic hallucinations she will lose Nate that she only sees when on Fix and Pen really cares about Nate even though she knows he just isn't real. As Pen tries to say goodbye to Nate and give up using Fix Nate tells her that he really cares and she ju After Penelope Wryter's sister committed suicide a year ago her life has become a big mess. Hooked on the same illegal drug Fix that her sister had been on Pen knows she needs to find a way to stop using. But if Pen stops the drug that gives such realistic hallucinations she will lose Nate that she only sees when on Fix and Pen really cares about Nate even though she knows he just isn't real. As Pen tries to say goodbye to Nate and give up using Fix Nate tells her that he really cares and she just can't let go yet making her even more confused than ever. But when a girl from school goes missing after a Fix trip Pen really starts to realize she may be in a danger and that there is more to Nate than just her imagination. Well, my review for Fix Me could really be an extremely short one and just state the obvious with this book that it just wasn't for me. As much as I wanted to get into a young adult mystery read this one was a bit iffy already with the drug use but I was hoping with the description that the author would be rather creative with this imaginary drug that people could see things using but that fell short right off the bat really. The book somewhat read more along the lines to me like a twisted drug PSA with the it's bad, but I need to, no it's bad back and forth which distracted me from enjoying any of the mystery/paranormal aspects that are included. The story itself was just an alright one under that annoyance really so I was also hoping for an amazing end to bring my rating up but again that hope just fell flat with what actually happens in the story. I found the ending really sort of a rush job but quite unrealistic to me too. So overall, as I said to begin this one just wasn't my cup of tea but maybe the younger crowd may enjoy it a bit more. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Dianne
    January 1, 1970
    Drugs, addiction and the ease that minors can obtain their next high, their next escape into oblivion. This is Penelope’s story of loss, emotional and physical dependence and her fear of recovery, another form of loss in itself. Her sister committed suicide, and we wonder why Penelope doesn’t take that as a wake-up call to sobriety, but we forget she is a teen, emotionally immature and worse, floundering in a dysfunctional one parent family.FIX ME by Lisa M. Cronkhite is dark, heavy with tension Drugs, addiction and the ease that minors can obtain their next high, their next escape into oblivion. This is Penelope’s story of loss, emotional and physical dependence and her fear of recovery, another form of loss in itself. Her sister committed suicide, and we wonder why Penelope doesn’t take that as a wake-up call to sobriety, but we forget she is a teen, emotionally immature and worse, floundering in a dysfunctional one parent family.FIX ME by Lisa M. Cronkhite is dark, heavy with tension and a stifling atmosphere as we witness one teenaged addict’s life through her twisted thoughts and skewed perceptions. Penelope’s perspective is often mired in the haze of a drug-induced fog. The illogical becomes logical, the unreal becomes believable and the thought of never having her next fix is terrifying. Will the ghosts that haunt Penelope cut her loose and allow her to get clean or is it too late for her, no matter who has her back?There is no great epiphany for Penelope, she knows throughout this tale she has a problem, she caves to her weakness and her craving as easily as a knife cuts butter. Dark and moving at a ponderous pace, this is a stark and raw tale of human weakness as mere children become willing lambs to slaughter in the hands of addictive drugs and the lies they tell themselves. While I felt Pen’s inner turmoil, it took little for her to repeat her mistakes over and over, at any cost. She never came across as one who could succeed in redeeming herself, making her less than an ideal role model for hope and the hard work she would face to stave off the instant gratification of drugs.I received an ARC edition from Flux.Publisher: Flux (November 28, 2017)Publication Date: November 28, 2017Genre: Drug Abuse | Dark FictionNumber of Pages: 256Available from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Attack Salmon
    January 1, 1970
    I got the ARC of this book from NetGalleyThis book has potential. The writing is pretty well done for a mystery book although I wish it delve deeper into Penelope's depression.(view spoiler)[I suspects this book is set in the future because Fix sure as hell didn't act like the drugs we currently know of. Or this book is actually paranormal because Nate is a ghost, but a rather powerful ghost I might add since he is able to send Candace and Kelly's ghost to warn PenelopeThe whole mystery is just I got the ARC of this book from NetGalleyThis book has potential. The writing is pretty well done for a mystery book although I wish it delve deeper into Penelope's depression.(view spoiler)[I suspects this book is set in the future because Fix sure as hell didn't act like the drugs we currently know of. Or this book is actually paranormal because Nate is a ghost, but a rather powerful ghost I might add since he is able to send Candace and Kelly's ghost to warn PenelopeThe whole mystery is just ludicrous. We know Fix can cause hallucinations. Hallucinations means that it isn't real and only a fickle of Penelope's imagination. Yet apparently Nate who only appear to Penelope when she take Fix hence we can conclude that Nate is a part of Penelope's hallucinations. But Nate, who I emphasis that its a hallucination is able to communicate with Penelope and tell her who the killer is and how strange that she believe him, a ghost and lemme emphasize again, a part of her hallucination. Why would Penelope believe a hallucination? that's strange and doesn't make any senseInstead of using the traditional way of solving a murder mystery, the author uses Fix drug to do it, so convenient that the drug cause Nate the ghost to appear to give hints on who is the killer. And we don't know much about this Fix drug. It would at least make the story more belivable if the readers have a basic idea of how Fix works. Weirdly, dipping Fix into a cough syrup would disrupt the Fix cycle. I find this really hard to believe if u gonna call Fix a drug. We know the effects of a drug and I don't think there is any drug out there would cause a Fix cycle like Fix does. Fix isn't a drug, its more like a magic pill or something. Calling it a drug but it doesn't act like a drug just feels contradictory and ruin the story(hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Lisa Cronkhite
    January 1, 1970
    FIX ME is my 5th novel. It was a long road to publication with this one. Lots of rejections, but also lots of praise—enough to keep me going and pushing it out there. It’s been a dream to connect with Flux Books. My editor made me love my book more! When I think of FIX ME, I think purple and poetic. When I first started writing, it began with poetry and everything grew from there. I sincerely hope you enjoy it!Preview pages coming soon! Thank you so much for your interest.Lisa
    more
  • Sian
    January 1, 1970
    I really enjoyed reading Fix Me I feel it was well written... it tells the story of Penelope who has become addicted to a drug called fix, after her sister has committed suicide. we as a audience find how Penelope comes to terms with her relationship with nate, the boy who she sees when she takes fix. Also, how she battles to overcome her addiction and eventually attend rehab and gets off of fix I recommend Fix Me to everyone it will open your eyes up to coming to terns with things
    more
  • katwiththehat
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me to read and review this highly thought-provoking book by Lisa Cronkhite. "Fix Me" is written from the perspective of Penelope, a teenage girl who's become addicted to Fix 84, a drug that was formally FDA approved and is now considered illegal and highly dangerous. Pen is the perfect unreliable narrator since she's high for most of the book, and you really can't tell what's real and what's not real. It's a thrilling and fascinating look at Thank you to NetGalley and the publisher for allowing me to read and review this highly thought-provoking book by Lisa Cronkhite. "Fix Me" is written from the perspective of Penelope, a teenage girl who's become addicted to Fix 84, a drug that was formally FDA approved and is now considered illegal and highly dangerous. Pen is the perfect unreliable narrator since she's high for most of the book, and you really can't tell what's real and what's not real. It's a thrilling and fascinating look at her world spiraling out of control as she sees visions that are at times comforting and at others, terrifying. Lisa Cronkhite has succeeded in writing a truly fascinating tale.I enjoyed reading the book. It was very entertaining, and I definitely wanted to find out what happened next all the way to the end of the book. I guess one thing that made the book a little less enjoyable for me, though, was that I didn't really find any character that I truly liked. There also wasn't really the sense of satisfaction in reading that comes with the majority of characters getting an ending they "deserve" based on their actions. (view spoiler)[...Clay tried to force himself on Pen. No consequence. Nate tries to save sister from bullies. Dies. Rose, who is the most disgusting and hateable character, always trying to bully people into doing more drugs, altered Pen's and Walker's drugs to give them a bad trip for a laugh, and who chased Penelope and caused Nate's death? No consequences. I mean, obviously what Janelle did was crazily messed up and wrong, but I was sitting there in that scene actually HOPING she would kill Rose. Because even though I was squicked out by her as the killer, I was totally sympathetic to her as the unheard bullying victim, and again, found Rose disgusting, especially when she got off scot-free yet again. (hide spoiler)]In terms of diversity, most characters are portrayed as white, except when Pen goes to find a drug dealer, and then we see poc portrayed, plus there's Rose, a poc, but again she's arguably the heaviest drug user in the book. That was the other thing that impacted my rating. No mention of LGBT characters. Characters with disabilities/serious medical issues like drug addiction and depression were featured heavily, which was great to see. 3/5 stars.Please excuse typos. Entered on screen reader.
    more
  • Karen Barber
    January 1, 1970
    Pen is, to put it bluntly, a mess. Since her sister committed suicide a year ago, Pen has done everything she can to avoid dealing with her feelings about it. She and her friend Rose have spent the last year experimenting with Fix, a once legal anti-depressant that has become the go-to drug since it produces intense hallucinations.When we first meet Pen she is high. She spends most of her time high, getting into more dangerous situations. While she recognises that she is playing a dangerous game Pen is, to put it bluntly, a mess. Since her sister committed suicide a year ago, Pen has done everything she can to avoid dealing with her feelings about it. She and her friend Rose have spent the last year experimenting with Fix, a once legal anti-depressant that has become the go-to drug since it produces intense hallucinations.When we first meet Pen she is high. She spends most of her time high, getting into more dangerous situations. While she recognises that she is playing a dangerous game, Pen is addicted to Nate - the 'imaginary' guy she sees during her highs.Initially this seemed like an odd read. Pen is not a likeable character, but as we start to get hints of odd things happening around her she becomes a little more intriguing. At one point I wondered if she was doing something while under the influence, but her unreliability keeps us uncertain.As one girl after another disappears it becomes clear that something very dangerous is going on. We question everyone, and there were moments when it seemed that Pen's life was in danger for reasons other than the drug-taking.I did feel that there were elements of the ending that were less satisfactory, but it was definitely an engaging story that will get under your skin.Thanks to publishers and NetGalley for allowing me to read this in advance of publication in exchange for my review.
    more
  • Ashley
    January 1, 1970
    I'd probably give this book 1.5 stars. Penelope is not an interesting character has no redeeming qualities. It's the same way with her friends. Most of this book revolves around the drug "Fix" which was supposed to be a mood-stabilizer, but causes hallucinations so it was taken off the market. Penelope and her friends take Fix to get high and have fun. Most of the book is actually just a bunch of teenagers getting high. While Pen is high, she sees Nate. Nate is supposedly a figment of her imagin I'd probably give this book 1.5 stars. Penelope is not an interesting character has no redeeming qualities. It's the same way with her friends. Most of this book revolves around the drug "Fix" which was supposed to be a mood-stabilizer, but causes hallucinations so it was taken off the market. Penelope and her friends take Fix to get high and have fun. Most of the book is actually just a bunch of teenagers getting high. While Pen is high, she sees Nate. Nate is supposedly a figment of her imagination that she's also in love with. Really. Along with the drug use, there are two other revolving storylines. One is that Penelope wants to know why her sister killed herself, and the other is that other teenage girls have gone missing. So, the big ending comes and all the questions are answered in a weird way. There's a character that didn't show up until halfway through the book who is supposed to be the villain, the realization that Nate *was* real (he's a spirit now and that's how he communicates with Pen), and all of Pen's terrible friends aren't that terrible at all. I'm sure, maybe, these plotlines mixed together will make sense to others. To me it lacked creativity and was too simple. Thanks to NetGalley and Flux for the ARC
    more
  • Karoline Tyne
    January 1, 1970
    Check out my review on my blog! https://karolinesbookreviews.wordpres...A big thank you to NetGalley and Flux for providing me this ARC to review!Just as Penelope was addicted to Fix, I was addicted to this novel. I loved it. I haven’t read many books that touch on addiction so this was a nice change for me.In my opinion, the plot had great pacing. I was never bored and always wanting to find out what happened next. It was really interesting to read about how Pen perceived her highs – they were Check out my review on my blog! https://karolinesbookreviews.wordpres...A big thank you to NetGalley and Flux for providing me this ARC to review!Just as Penelope was addicted to Fix, I was addicted to this novel. I loved it. I haven’t read many books that touch on addiction so this was a nice change for me.In my opinion, the plot had great pacing. I was never bored and always wanting to find out what happened next. It was really interesting to read about how Pen perceived her highs – they were incorporated into the story well and didn’t overtake the plot. The mystery aspect of the novel was captivating and I was totally shocked when the big reveal came at the end. I honestly did not see that one coming and I was completely blindsided by who the killer was.I really liked Pen – I felt sorry for her and wanted to help her overcome her addiction. Every time she said that she was going to quit Fix I desperately hoped that she would follow through. But overcoming addiction is never that simple, is it? In that aspect, the book felt very realistic. Nate irritated me, mostly because I viewed him as an obstacle that stood in the path of Pen and Walker’s relationship. I will say that I really liked the mystery surrounding him, Pen, and her sister Tabatha. I really loved Walker. He cared for Pen so much, he just didn’t know how to express it in a way that would breakthrough to her. Rose and her attitude made me so angry; I wanted Pen to stand up to her and confront her controlling ways.One thing I will say is that I wish that the ending had a bit more detail. It didn’t necessarily feel rushed but it also didn’t quite feel finished. I wanted a little bit more information in regards to the disappearances.I would recommend this book to those who enjoy mysteries and a narrator who struggles with addiction.
    more
  • Emily Williams
    January 1, 1970
    The blurb of this novel really intrigued me. The book had great premise as it delved into Penelope's life after she becomes hooked on Fix. I loved how the book is narrated by Penelope, leaving you to wonder how accurate her account. As she is on Fix for the majority of the book, you so wonder how true her perceptions of the world really are. I found the book completely fascinating. Sometimes confusing as her world is blurred with reality, but fascinating non the less. Pen needs to come off Fix t The blurb of this novel really intrigued me. The book had great premise as it delved into Penelope's life after she becomes hooked on Fix. I loved how the book is narrated by Penelope, leaving you to wonder how accurate her account. As she is on Fix for the majority of the book, you so wonder how true her perceptions of the world really are. I found the book completely fascinating. Sometimes confusing as her world is blurred with reality, but fascinating non the less. Pen needs to come off Fix to truly understand what is happening around her, but as with any drug, that is not as easy as it sounds.I did find it a little hard to warm to the characters and didn't find Pen particularly likeable. I was concerned about her, and the situation she'd got herself in, but she didn't really do anything to merit these feelings of concern. However, as Pen is overcoming some very difficult times in her life, such as her sisters suicide, I had to factor these into my opinion of her actions. The book made drug additions very unappealing, which I think was the authors intention, so therefore as a YA book it hit the mark. I certainly wouldn't try drugs after reading this as it's very graphic and off putting.There were some issues with continuity as the book progressed, probably down to Penelope's state of mind, but I found these made the story stop and start and I kept looking back to check I'd read it correctly. It truly shows how disturbing on your health drug taking is.This was a thought provoking read and I'll look out for this author again.
    more
  • Louise-Ellen Denham
    January 1, 1970
    Fix Me by Lisa M CronkhiteTitle: Fix MeAuthor: Lisa M CronkhiteFirst Published: Sept 17Publisher: FluxPages: 256Price on Amazon: Paperback £9.27 ISBN: 1635830087Can it be love if he's only real in my drug fuelled state? Pen is addicted to the illegal drug called Fix. Fix changes your perception of everything and causes extremely vivid hallucinations. When Pen take Fix she sees a guy called Nate, the problem is Pen thinks she is in love with Nate but can it be love if he's only a figment of her d Fix Me by Lisa M CronkhiteTitle: Fix MeAuthor: Lisa M CronkhiteFirst Published: Sept 17Publisher: FluxPages: 256Price on Amazon: Paperback £9.27 ISBN: 1635830087Can it be love if he's only real in my drug fuelled state? Pen is addicted to the illegal drug called Fix. Fix changes your perception of everything and causes extremely vivid hallucinations. When Pen take Fix she sees a guy called Nate, the problem is Pen thinks she is in love with Nate but can it be love if he's only a figment of her drug fuelled imagination? Pen wants to stop taking Fix but when she tried Nate tells her he loves her too. When a girl who also takes Fix goes missing can Pen stop taking Fix before she's the next girl who goes missing?I got this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. I didn't finish this book as it didn't grab me and make me want to read on. The book didn't hook me in and make me feel like I needed to read on know what happened next. Because of this I wouldn't read it again or recommend to anyone, therefore, I am going to give this book a single star rating. Reviews for this book can be found on:Amazon under Lu's ReviewsGoodreads,Net Galley,My Blogs at www.lu-ellensreadingandreviewingblog....www.lusreviewsblog.wordpress.comLinks to this review can be found on:Twitter: @lusreviewsFacebook: @lusreviews Instagram: lusreviewsTumblr: lusreviewsblogFlikr: Lu's Reviews
    more
  • Katie Kaleski
    January 1, 1970
    When I saw the cover reveal for this book on YA Interrobang not too long ago, I knew I had to add it to my TBR. It doesn't come out until Nov. but hopefully the time will go by quick so I can dive on in.
  • Amanda
    January 1, 1970
    I received a copy of this book to read and review from NetgalleyThe description of this book is the initial reason I picked it up. I can relate to wanting to escape from the pain of grief all too well and found myself drawn to read this novel. Fix Me makes for an interesting story about a circle of addicts and a bit of a murder mystery. Lisa Cronkhite does a good job capturing the mind of an addict in the crux of their addiction. She also does a great job capturing and conveying the emotions of I received a copy of this book to read and review from NetgalleyThe description of this book is the initial reason I picked it up. I can relate to wanting to escape from the pain of grief all too well and found myself drawn to read this novel. Fix Me makes for an interesting story about a circle of addicts and a bit of a murder mystery. Lisa Cronkhite does a good job capturing the mind of an addict in the crux of their addiction. She also does a great job capturing and conveying the emotions of the characters. The writing really made the story great. Right away the book exposes you to the ugly side of addiction. The sickly parlor, jittery nerves and bones protruding from two addicts who can't seem to kick the habit. They're addicted to "Fix" a drug that sounds similar to acid with its hallucinogenic properties. It enhances the five senses and causes the main character to see people who aren't really there. The relationship between addicts are often complicated and I think that this was portrayed very well. Rose, for example, was clearly lonely and wanted to have friends, but it was clear that her addiction took priority over anything else. I found Fix Me to be a relatively realistic portrayal of addiction, even though "fix" is a made-up drug. I found the climax to kind of come out of left field and the ending was a bit to "happily ever after "for me. But the harsh reality of addiction is that getting clean is much harder for most, although some get so do get sober abruptly like this novel portrayed. I would definitely read another book by Lisa Cronkhite as she brought these characters and this story to life for me.
    more
  • Ayla
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way influenced my opinion of this book. I also apologise if this review is all over the place! I tried to put my thoughts into words as best as I could.The author contacted me through Twitter to tell me about her book. It's not really the kind of book I usually read, but since I want to read more different books, I thought I'd give it a shot. Fix Me is alright. It really makes you I received an ARC of this book from the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This has in no way influenced my opinion of this book. I also apologise if this review is all over the place! I tried to put my thoughts into words as best as I could.The author contacted me through Twitter to tell me about her book. It's not really the kind of book I usually read, but since I want to read more different books, I thought I'd give it a shot. Fix Me is alright. It really makes you think about drugs and the consequences and while reading some parts of the book, I actually thought it would be really helpful and educational in a drugs prevention program kind of thing. It was written well, but also a bit inconsistent. Sometimes it was really good and other times it felt a little off. It wasn't bad per se, but some scenes could've used a bit more dialogue instead of 'He told me this than that, etc...' if that makes sense. I also wasn't quite sure of the time period of story. In the beginning, there's a scene that makes you think it's winter, since 'it's cold and icy'. Later on, there's talk of Autumn leaves and colours... Obviously this wouldn't be a problem if there were time jumps, but there aren't. Another thing that I really liked, but kinda disappointed me later on, was the fact that this book takes place in 2017. Like, it's actually mentioned and that was pretty cool! But then our main character used Internet Explorer on a computer and well... Who still used that in 2017 when there's Chrome and Safari?I totally didn't connect with the characters in this book. I don't really know why that is. Maybe it's because they are so unlike me? Although that wouldn't make a lot of sense, since I can sort of relate to assassin's? Hehe, I swear I'm not an assassin! Penelope/Pen really irritated me sometimes. She was in a constant cycle of "I'm going to quit taking fix." and "Let's take another pill." And I get that I mean, she's addicted and it makes perfect sense, but I felt like she didn't even really try. Her friend offers/forces her to swallow a pill and Pen would be like "Suuuure!" Also, in the end she has a depression, and I really would've liked so see more of that and dive deeper into it. I think I would've liked a little more drugs drama and a little more rehab stuff, but that's just personal taste. As for the other characters, they're not very memorable and/or special to me, which is unfortunate! I think the characters could've had a little more dept to them.Let's talk about Fix for a minute. The pills/drugs that are so important in this book. I like the backstory and how Pen researched it. (view spoiler)[Like how it was originally some sort of anti-depressant but it had too many side-effects and it has been a dangerous drug ever since (hide spoiler)]. That way, it became more than just some weird, dangerous drug. Another thing I found really interesting, were these "Fix Circles" (view spoiler)[It was literally a circle of people swallowing a pill and holding hands. It kinda felt like a ghost summoning/ouija thing and it was sort of brilliantly messed up. (hide spoiler)]The mystery didn't really come into play until about half way through the book, and thank goodness it did, because that's when things got interesting! I'm going to talk about it in this spoiler tag because it's slightly spoilery! I won't reveal big stuff, but it's easier to talk about it this way. (view spoiler)[The effects of Fix got out of hand and it was pretty scary. Plus, people were disappearing and found murdered! In the end, the murders were all about bullying. About a girl being bullied. I love how it was al little foreshadowed yet such a plot twist! I had to say I don't really like how the bullying was handled, though. As if it justifies the murders? This person actually needed some serious help coping with her emotions... I was actually a little let down by this revelation. As for the mystery surrounding Pen's "imaginary friend", he wasn't so imaginary after all? It gave the book a paranormal feel and it felt very out of place to me. (hide spoiler)]Overal, Fix Me wasn't the best book, but it definitely wasn't the worst either. I liked reading something so different for a change, but I doubt I'll be picking it up again. If you're into mysteries, this book is definitely one for your TBR!
    more
  • Katherine (KWBookReviews.com)
    January 1, 1970
    I received an ARC of the book from Flux via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. Make sure to read more reviews at Katherine's Book Reviews.Fix Me by Lisa M. Cronkhite is a young adult novel that centers around the powerful drug called Fix. A young girl named Penelope Wryter AKA Pen finds herself becoming dependant on Fix after her sister commits suicide. Not only does the drug make her feel good, it also makes her have very life-like hallucinations that seem to control her. Pen constantl I received an ARC of the book from Flux via Netgalley in exchange for my honest review. Make sure to read more reviews at Katherine's Book Reviews.Fix Me by Lisa M. Cronkhite is a young adult novel that centers around the powerful drug called Fix. A young girl named Penelope Wryter AKA Pen finds herself becoming dependant on Fix after her sister commits suicide. Not only does the drug make her feel good, it also makes her have very life-like hallucinations that seem to control her. Pen constantly sees Nate, a boy who truly cares about her and even falls in love with her- of course, only until the drug wears off. Pen understands the consequences of Fix but also knows she can’t go off it. It makes her feel alive. However, when a girl from her class goes missing after a bad Fix trip, she realizes she must wake up. To truly feel alive, she must begin to solve not only the mysterious disappearance, but the problems in her own life as well.Fix Me is exhilarating from start to finish. I really like that this novel is overall focused on addiction- rarely do I read a young adult novel that handles teen addiction in an honorable way. Pen is an unreliable narrator due to her fascination with Fix which again, I thought was really well done. I enjoyed reading what Pen had to say and then taking the time to think about if what she said was truly real or not. The plot overall is very interesting and original and I think this book has a lot of promise.I do like this book but I think there is lots of room for improvement. Cronkhite writes well but there are a few errors that are hard to overlook, such as continuity issues. While reading, I found myself becoming confused very quickly because at certain points I felt like I was missing parts of the story. Maybe it is supposed to feel that way due to the drug addiction but I thought it just did not fit well with this story. Along with that, most of the time the pacing feels right but there are sports that it is just completely off. I think the mysterious tone shown throughout the novel does have something to do with this. It works most of the time, but sometimes there are “big reveals” that did not shock or surprise me at all. I also did not like most of the characters. I found it hard to relate to most of them, and although I like Pen the best, I do wish there was more depth to her. Before reading this book, I was hoping it would be less predictable and a little more focused on the depression leading up to the addiction. Although I did enjoy this book start to finish and I think most people will too. I suggest this book to any teens or adults who are struggling or know someone who is struggling with addiction. This book teaches you that it is okay to acknowledge your inner demons and ask for help when you need it.
    more
  • Mel
    January 1, 1970
    There's a lot to unpack with this book, it's one that covers some pretty difficult issues such as grief, addiction and mental illness. Pen is a difficult character to evaluate because she's dealing with the aftermath of her sister's suicide, her father's subsequent death, and her mother mentally checking out. The abandonment leads Pen to become addicted to a mind altering drug known as Fix. What makes Pen a challenge to understand is that she's an incredibly unreliable narrator, and it's hard to There's a lot to unpack with this book, it's one that covers some pretty difficult issues such as grief, addiction and mental illness. Pen is a difficult character to evaluate because she's dealing with the aftermath of her sister's suicide, her father's subsequent death, and her mother mentally checking out. The abandonment leads Pen to become addicted to a mind altering drug known as Fix. What makes Pen a challenge to understand is that she's an incredibly unreliable narrator, and it's hard to distinguish her actual personality from that of an addict. It's entirely possible that we don't get to see Pen's actual personality, but the one we do get is a very passive and meek one. Pen would go along with anyone and everything, which nearly leads to her own demise.The only interesting supporting character in a cast that is largely forgettable is Nate. Nate is the figure who comes to Pen as a drug induced hallucination. Nate kind of acts as Pen's guardian angel though not an incredibly good one as he doesn't interact with Pen very much over the course of the book. That said, I was still incredibly curious about him and his relationship with Pen because at the beginning of the book there was a suggestion of romantic feelings between the two, but then towards the end, everything changes course. Pen, herself, could hardly decide if she was in love with him or not, which is why I was taken aback when Nate's true connection to Pen is revealed. I actually wish the author did go there with Nate and Pen because there is certainly a foundation for it and it would have been much more interesting than the dry and forced relationship Pen has with her ex-boyfriend, Walker. My biggest issue with this book is the lack of transitions especially toward the end. The biggest moments in the novel would just happen without any lead-up to it. That said, I did enjoy the mystery aspect of it though it could've been juiced up a bit more like most of the novel is just Pen and her friends getting high. Though when we get to the climax and the killer is revealed, I really didn't expect it to be that character. The killer's motives also took me by surprise. Overall, this was an interesting book, but it missed the mark in almost every way that counts. 2.5 starsARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Schizanthus
    January 1, 1970
    If I had ever wanted to consider taking drugs this book would stop me from trying them. While the images of purple skies and the thought of being able to manipulate what you see and hear during hallucinations sounds intoxicating and inviting, I'd much rather use my imagination to do the same thing minus the side effects. I found it so hard wanting to continue reading when there wasn't a single character I liked or cared about. Pen, our protagonist, is one of the most self centred characters I've If I had ever wanted to consider taking drugs this book would stop me from trying them. While the images of purple skies and the thought of being able to manipulate what you see and hear during hallucinations sounds intoxicating and inviting, I'd much rather use my imagination to do the same thing minus the side effects. I found it so hard wanting to continue reading when there wasn't a single character I liked or cared about. Pen, our protagonist, is one of the most self centred characters I've ever come across. Her self esteem is in the toilet (unlike her vomit which invariably ends up wherever she is at the time) and while she gets used by almost every other person in the book it was hard to feel sorry for her as she was in turn using everyone else as well.Overall I was disappointed by this book. What started out promising turned into a series of descriptions of people getting high and the last quarter of the book felt rushed. I rarely ever work out who the murderer is in books until the big reveal, yet I figured out not only who they were but their motive early on. Hint: it's the only person in the book with a motive.The lack of attention to detail really annoyed me, with contradictions consistently made with what we'd already been told, sometimes even as recently as the page before. Also, why is Pen continually surprised that she is hallucinating the day after she takes Fix when it's already been established early in the book that Fix's side effects can last for a significant period of time after you stop taking it?What I wanted to eat while reading this book:* Absolutely nothing! Between the frequent descriptions of Pen wanting to vomit and what her vomit looked like there was no way I was going to eat while reading this book. I guess those descriptions do make a valid point about drug addiction though ... no matter how disgusting the side effects, if you're hooked on a drug they pale in comparison to the need to get high.I was so excited about this book after reading the blurb and the first couple of chapters but if I'd borrowed it from the library I doubt I would have made it past chapter 4. However, as I'd received a free copy from NetGalley (thank you to NetGalley and Flux) in exchange for an honest review, I felt I needed to persevere.
    more
  • Destinee
    January 1, 1970
    When I first came across this book, I have to admit I judged it by both its beautiful cover and its enticing summary. It immediately caught my attention because they overall storyline seemed to fall closely to the storylines of books such as "dreamology" and "Made You Up" and maybe my mistake here was that I over anticipated with this book would be like. In this novel, our main character, Penelope faces a very difficult decision. A decision to either quit the use of a recent drug called fix or c When I first came across this book, I have to admit I judged it by both its beautiful cover and its enticing summary. It immediately caught my attention because they overall storyline seemed to fall closely to the storylines of books such as "dreamology" and "Made You Up" and maybe my mistake here was that I over anticipated with this book would be like. In this novel, our main character, Penelope faces a very difficult decision. A decision to either quit the use of a recent drug called fix or continue to use the drug so that she can see a boy who seems to only appear when she is high as a result of the drug. Of course, there were things that I enjoyed about the novel, for instance, the plot and the representation of how the drug affected not only her mind but her body. Only, I didn't really like the characters all too much. In the beginning, I felt that her friends were not what I would consider being friends. Her best friend encourages her to drugs and her ex-boyfriend seems to attack her verbally about her drug use rather than to be affectionate in terms of helping her steer away from the use. Even at times where he does seem to be wanting to comfort her, his attempts are initially fogged with jealousy and a longing to have her back. Overall, I found that this book had an interesting plot but the characters were just not of my liking. Of course, there was growth later on in the novel but I feel that if I have read an entire story, I should at least like a few characters from the very beginning. I was given the opportunity to read this novel by Netgalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Melanie Farmer
    January 1, 1970
    Firstly I should say that this novel is very different to novels I would usually pick up and read - I was very fortunate to be contacted by Lisa M. Cronkhite who asked me to take a look, and i'm really pleased I did!This novel focuses on Penelope, a young girl who is grieving over the death of her sister whilst struggling with her addiction to the latest 'fashionable' drug, Fix.  As a YA genre novel, this book focuses on two incredibly important topics: drug addiction and mental health.  These a Firstly I should say that this novel is very different to novels I would usually pick up and read - I was very fortunate to be contacted by Lisa M. Cronkhite who asked me to take a look, and i'm really pleased I did!This novel focuses on Penelope, a young girl who is grieving over the death of her sister whilst struggling with her addiction to the latest 'fashionable' drug, Fix.  As a YA genre novel, this book focuses on two incredibly important topics: drug addiction and mental health.  These are important subjects for everyone in my opinion, but getting young adults to read about them and their effects on people is so very important.In the novel Fix is the most popular illegal drug in the U.S. and it was previously used to treat clinical depression until its effects were known.  We soon learn that Tabitha, Penelope's sister, was clinically depressed before she committed suicide and had been treated with Fix.We follow Penelope through her highs and her comedowns, as she battles to work out what is real and what is not - she knows she only see's Nate when she's under the influence of Fix, but he seems so real.  With girls going missing, Penelope has to work out what's real and what's not before it's too late.I definitely enjoyed this novel.  Like I said, it was different to what I usually pick up but sometimes that's a good thing.  The drug abuse and mental health issues are so relevant at the moment, and both are topics that needs to be highlighted.  There is always help out  there if you are just willing to accept it.Thanks to Netgalley and North Star Editions for an advance reading copy in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Melissa Scott
    January 1, 1970
    Fix Me*Thank you to Netgalley for an honest review**This book was painful to read. Not in a “the writing is terrible way”, but in an “I want to wrench these children out of the story and help them”! Living in a community, like so many others, it is difficult to read a novel about drug addiction. Penelope craves the highly addictive drug called “Fix”. Since her sister Tabitha committed suicide it is one way that she can “cope”. Get away from the pain. Her mother, in her own pain and self-destruct Fix Me*Thank you to Netgalley for an honest review**This book was painful to read. Not in a “the writing is terrible way”, but in an “I want to wrench these children out of the story and help them”! Living in a community, like so many others, it is difficult to read a novel about drug addiction. Penelope craves the highly addictive drug called “Fix”. Since her sister Tabitha committed suicide it is one way that she can “cope”. Get away from the pain. Her mother, in her own pain and self-destruction does not help. When she takes the drug, she witnesses hallucinations that may help find answers to her sisters’ death. Not only is she grieving for her sister and facing drug addiction, but schoolmates are missing, girls are being murdered and life seems to become darker. Even though I kept saying “I’m not going to finish reading this”, I found I couldn’t put it down. I will read more by this author.This book is for mature teens and up.
    more
  • Clarissa Lee
    January 1, 1970
    For a Full Review Click Here! Cronkhite has succeeded in creating a tale which constantly leaves you second guessing and wanting more. Utilising strong themes of drugs, peer pressure, suicide and death, the gradual deterioration and confusion Penelope faces as she takes more and more Fix, is extremely effective, causing the reader to follow along on the Fix experience. However, I found after 70% of the book, the big reveal and resolve were lacking. I would have liked a few more tie-in's and hin For a Full Review Click Here! Cronkhite has succeeded in creating a tale which constantly leaves you second guessing and wanting more. Utilising strong themes of drugs, peer pressure, suicide and death, the gradual deterioration and confusion Penelope faces as she takes more and more Fix, is extremely effective, causing the reader to follow along on the Fix experience. However, I found after 70% of the book, the big reveal and resolve were lacking. I would have liked a few more tie-in's and hints (for example, when speaking to Nate's Dad), to just add that extra depth and harmony in the book.
    more
  • Chelsea Usher
    January 1, 1970
    Going into this book, I only had the synopsis as a guide for what I was getting into and it sounded promising. I appreciate what this book was, but the writing isn't my style. It had a good mystery, but the writing was too jumbled. Perhaps the writing was jumbled to mirror a teenager's brain on Fix? The ending felt forced, and the Tabatha sub plot seemed weirdly unconnected in the scheme of things. That said, I think younger kids (teenagers) might like it.
    more
  • McKayla Debonis
    January 1, 1970
    *the author exchanged a copy of the novel for an honest review. These are indeed my own opinions*One of the best storylines that I've read this year! I knew the moment I saw the cover & the title that this would be my kind of book! I loved everything about it! Ugh! I don't wanna say anymore because I'll be posting a longer review on my blog which is Mckayladebonis.com & my bookstagram is md.bibliophile_
    more
  • Hannah
    January 1, 1970
    (I received a free advance copy from Net Gallery in exchange for an honest review.)Probably more of a 3.5 -- it was kind of meandering at parts, but overall I found the book really interesting and the twists and turns were pretty neat to see play out. I felt the author did a really great job portraying the protagonist's confusion thanks to her difficulty distinguishing between reality and hallucinations. Definitely worth checking out when it comes out in November!
    more
  • KAE BLACKBEAK
    January 1, 1970
    I swear I tried.But I wasn't able to lose myself in this book (and by extension I wasn't able to fully like Fix Me). *Thanks to Netgalley/Flux for this arc in return for a honest review.*
  • Emily Shaw
    January 1, 1970
    *ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, thanks again*Honestly, drug addiction books have been really addictive for me lately, so I was excited to pick this one up. This novel focuses on a drug called Fix, which these high school teens use for hallucinations and to change their visions. When one of the main character's friends starts acting sketchy, and people start to go missing, she can't help but be suspicious.Torn between drug addiction, the loss of her sister, and a murd *ARC provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review, thanks again*Honestly, drug addiction books have been really addictive for me lately, so I was excited to pick this one up. This novel focuses on a drug called Fix, which these high school teens use for hallucinations and to change their visions. When one of the main character's friends starts acting sketchy, and people start to go missing, she can't help but be suspicious.Torn between drug addiction, the loss of her sister, and a murder case, the book is definitely interesting and a fun read. However, in the end, things are summed up too easily, and the ending feels very rushed. I would've preferred some elaboration and clearer details.
    more
  • Alaina Maxam
    January 1, 1970
    THIS BOOK HAS A VERY POWERFUL STORYLINE. IT DEALS WITH GROWING UP, BULLYING,AND DRUGS. I REALLY ENJOYED READING THIS BOOK.
  • Ayah Assem
    January 1, 1970
    This going to be a very challenging book to review. Here is why......Fix me is narrated by Penelope, who is always high on an illegal drug that was once used to treat depression patients. She sees Hallucinations, and to be more specific, she sees Nate. An imaginary guy that she likes, but if she wants to get clean and stop this addiction, she should stop seeing him.I believe that Lisa did a magnificent job in portraying how a high person see things. It is hard to distinct what is real, and what This going to be a very challenging book to review. Here is why......Fix me is narrated by Penelope, who is always high on an illegal drug that was once used to treat depression patients. She sees Hallucinations, and to be more specific, she sees Nate. An imaginary guy that she likes, but if she wants to get clean and stop this addiction, she should stop seeing him.I believe that Lisa did a magnificent job in portraying how a high person see things. It is hard to distinct what is real, and what is not, especially when they are horrific events. The Mystery goes beyond just her and Nate. When a girl from the "getting high party" goes missing, Pen realizes how soon she needs to stop getting high. But how could she, when the only way she could get answers is from " her seeing things"Honestly, Fix me has an interesting storyline, well written characters, and a great potential.But, here is why I had a couple of issues.1) The only POC mentioned the book were either drug dealers, or always pushing Pen to take the drug. The latter was okay since almost everyone was high, but why should drug sealers always be POC?2) The depression theme.As a pharmacist and a person who has depression, here is a few things that didn't sit right with me.Yes,I know that the author has bipolar, so knows what she is talking about. Perhaps if Pen had bipolar, I would have given the book a higher rating, but she didn't*. Quick edit,  Pen being bipolar still wouldn't fit the story. What I meant and wrongfully explained is that the SE of the drug she is taking makes it look like she has a bipolar disorder, and not depression. Again, I am only talking about the SE.  Bi-polar is defined as manic-depressive mental illness. Here is the thing, it switches between 2 different poles, so although they might seem very similar to schizophrenics and depressive patients, they aren't exactly one in the same.The drug mentioned in the book is fictional because there isn't a drug in the market that does that.-Well, maybe she did that because this is a Fantasy novel. Fair enough.Fix me is an antidepressant. Pen is supposedly suffering from depression. She takes the antidepressant, and starts seeing things. Things that don't exit. Everyone who takes the drug sees things that don't exist, which means, most of them probably don't have depression. Here is a very, very,very simplified scientific reason to why I am saying that.Let us consider love to be the perfect amount of Neurotransmitters you should have. When you are depressed, Dopamine levels are very low. So, hypothetically, antidepressants raise the very low level, counteracting the reason of depression.Now, you have normal level of dopamine; you take antidepressants, so your dopamine now reached a very high level. Similar to what Schizophrenic patients have, so you start seeing illusions.P.S: This is super simplified; it is actually way more complex than what I am saying.Spoiler Alert ( Not really, but I have warned you)When she stops taking the drug, she is finally diagnosed with depression. Not even a month has passed since stopping the drug, and the Drs say that she has depression.Another mini science lesson:If there is too much of a thing that you have in your healthy body, receptors will be down regulated. Meaning, less transporters for the Dopamine to make you so happy. While taking the drug, the body does that to try to reduce the problem. You stopped the medicine, so now you have less dopamine, so receptors should be up-regulated to make up for the less dopamine. But that takes time, which means, the person abusing anti-depressants would experience some Depression symptoms upon attempting to stope them. That sone of the reason why it is hard to stop. So why on earth would a Dr. diagnose her with depression, when she might be feeling all time low because of her drug abuse.Yes, she can take things to lessen the extent of the damage, but why say that she has depression when the correct methods of Diagnosis haven't been done yet?There you, my 1st ranty review. I believe that Lisa's writing has potential,but I hope in the future that more research is done and a few science- related sensitivity readers are hired to review the story before it's published.I received an e-ARC in exchange with an honest review
    more
  • Kris
    January 1, 1970
    This book kept my entire attention, from beginning to end. It was unlike anything I have ever read before, which is really hard to find.  I love how descriptive the book is without being overly descriptive. I also loved that the chapters were concise, and there wasn’t much extra to the book.From what I’ve always heard, people do drugs to escape from something, which Pen is definitely doing, but she is also running to something (Nate). I found that very interesting. Personally I love reading book This book kept my entire attention, from beginning to end. It was unlike anything I have ever read before, which is really hard to find.  I love how descriptive the book is without being overly descriptive. I also loved that the chapters were concise, and there wasn’t much extra to the book.From what I’ve always heard, people do drugs to escape from something, which Pen is definitely doing, but she is also running to something (Nate). I found that very interesting. Personally I love reading books where I feel like I am jumping into the character’s life. I love when there is a back story and let me tell you this back story really was awesome.I thought the author did a wonderful job of writing about the tough topic of addiction with knowledge and sensitivity. Overtime I felt like I was going to predict a twist or turn, I was very wrong! I was so caught of guard by the way the story ended (in the best possible way) it cemented the fact that this book was definitely my type.
    more
Write a review