Big Shot (Sexy Jerk World, #2)
To believe one person can change your destiny sounds absurd. But it happened to me… twice.Ten years ago I had no idea what I wanted out of life, until I met Hannah Michaels. She was a computer-engineering student ready to conquer the social media world, and I was smitten. Even though I knew she was taken, I had to have her.Being the big shot that I was, I didn’t let her status stand in my way. It wasn’t long before my hands were on her thighs and my name a whisper on her lips. This smart, sexy girl inspired me to greatness, helped me grow into the kind of man I never knew I wanted to be. The man I am today.Too bad I hadn’t grown fast enough to keep her.Moving on wasn’t easy, but I knew I had to let her go. Eventually, I found someone to share my days and nights with, and together we had a daughter. My life was nearly perfect until my world turned upside down.A single father has challenges, and one of those is learning how to calmly deal with your child coming home in tears. I had no idea the day I pounded on my daughter’s classmate’s door, Hannah would be the one standing on the other side.The wild, burning desire that roared through my veins was unwanted, and yet impossible to ignore. Letting her in meant so much more this time around. Guilt hit me like a hammer. I hated myself. I hated her. The problem was I really didn’t hate her—I wanted her more than ever. But this time around I can’t have her. This time it’s my status that stands in our way. And going up against myself just might be the hardest thing I’ve ever done.

Big Shot (Sexy Jerk World, #2) Details

TitleBig Shot (Sexy Jerk World, #2)
Author
ReleaseJul 27th, 2017
Number of pages446 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance

Big Shot (Sexy Jerk World, #2) Review

  • Natalie The Biblioholic
    July 26, 2017
    It's LIVE! http://bit.ly/2w3m29rEver since I read Sexy Jerk and found out about the threesome between Jace, Ethan and Fiona, I HAD to know more. Oh wait… did you miss that? The author gave us quite a dirty surprise. I had to know if there was any awkwardness between the friends once that detour ended. I had to know if the author would reveal how truly hot it was (she didn’t lol). And I had to know how Jace moved on. Big Shot gave me that.Jace is a single dad still in limbo after the loss of his It's LIVE! http://bit.ly/2w3m29rEver since I read Sexy Jerk and found out about the threesome between Jace, Ethan and Fiona, I HAD to know more. Oh wait… did you miss that? The author gave us quite a dirty surprise. I had to know if there was any awkwardness between the friends once that detour ended. I had to know if the author would reveal how truly hot it was (she didn’t lol). And I had to know how Jace moved on. Big Shot gave me that.Jace is a single dad still in limbo after the loss of his wife. I’m still not sure how she died, but I do know we never really meet her other than in flashbacks or memories. After his daughter’s first day of kindergarten, she comes home crying because a boy said something mean to her. Not willing to take it lying down, Jace decides to confront the boy’s parent about his bullying. When he rings their doorbell, not in a million years does he expect his first love, Hannah, to be the one to open the door.Hannah and Jace met at a frat party and had an instant connection. Unfortunately, they never exchanged contact info and couldn’t find each other. Weeks passed by and Hannah didn’t see him around campus and her small circle of friends didn’t know him. She then met Ethan and they started dating. One day she went to his house and… surprise surprise… Jace is not only Ethan’s best friend, but his roommate. Sparks started flying everywhere, but out of respect for Ethan, these two didn’t try anything. That didn’t stop them from catching feelings and pretty soon they were in love. They convinced Ethan to want a threesome so that they could be together in some way and hot times ensued. As luck would have it though, one of Jace’s secrets was revealed, Hannah felt betrayed and cut ties, and these love birds were over before they could begin.Fast forward 10 years and we’re back with Hannah being a divorced single mom. These two had babies… with other people!! I felt like it was so unfair :( Hannah ends up working at Jace’s company and the chemistry between these two could not be denied. However, Jace had so much guilt warping his feelings and couldn’t give himself to Hannah 100%, which quite frankly broke my heart. The author really put my emotions through the wringer on this one. This story spoke to how we can have many loves in life, which doesn’t diminish or cheapen any of them on their own. It takes us on a journey of grief, guilt, friendship, nostalgia, ecstasy, and in the end a love that never died despite time, distance or circumstance.“You’re not my before and you’re not after, Hannah, you’re my forever.”Release Date: July 27, 2017Genre: Contemporary Romance - Second ChancePOV: Dual - 1st personHeat: 4 out of 5Type: Standalone - Book 2 of the Sexy Jerk World series
    more
  • Nissa | Of Pens and Pages Book Blog
    July 27, 2017
    4 stars!Review at Of Pens and Pages.I'm a sucker for second chance romances and I can’t resist single dad heroes, so obviously I knew I’d read Big Shot! This book had hot and sizzling chemistry mixed with angst, ace banter in a sweet and hot second chance romance.I’ve always been curious about Nick and Ethan’s friend Jace Bennett, the widowed single father who owns a Fortune 500 company, when I read Sexy Jerk and thankfully we have his story now.After mourning for his wife for a few years and an 4 stars!Review at Of Pens and Pages.I'm a sucker for second chance romances and I can’t resist single dad heroes, so obviously I knew I’d read Big Shot! This book had hot and sizzling chemistry mixed with angst, ace banter in a sweet and hot second chance romance.I’ve always been curious about Nick and Ethan’s friend Jace Bennett, the widowed single father who owns a Fortune 500 company, when I read Sexy Jerk and thankfully we have his story now.After mourning for his wife for a few years and an encounter he’d rather not repeat, Jace is ready to move on with life. But when he considered that, he didn’t think moving forward meant facing a woman who was most definitely in his past.When his daughter Scarlett comes home from school crying, Jace goes papa bear and confronts the mother of the boy who made his daughter cry… only to come face to face with Hannah, the mother of said boy. Their reunion does not go well, and neither does the second meeting. Despite the initial animosity, the spark is still there but Jace is reluctant to go there again. He feels he is betraying the memory of his dead wife by going back to the woman he loved before her.But they can’t avoid each other; not when their children have become friends, and not when Hannah starts working for Jace’s company as his newest Tech Manager.I confess it took me a while to warm up to Hannah and Jace’s love story because there were gray areas in their past I wasn’t comfortable to read. I have to say though, some of the scenes between Hannah, Jace, and Ethan? Muy caliente.Despite my reservations, I really wanted to see how they would act towards each other now they’re adults and have gone through different experiences that led them to where they are now. I wanted Jace to have a happy ending, and when I found out about Hannah and her life before meeting Jace again, I wanted her to have a happy ending too!Jace’s loyalty to his wife was admirable, and I could understand why it was hard for him to move on. He grieved for a long time, but he didn’t let that get in the way of his responsibilities as a father to Scarlett. That’s what I loved the most about him. Yes, he’s very alpha, but his ability to give everything for those he loves won me over.Scarlett and Jonah, Jace’s and Hannah’s respective children, were absolute munchkins and it was so fun to read about them! Such pure children. I want to protect them from the world.I enjoyed reading Big Shot; the good, the bad, the ugly, and the beautiful.If you’ve read Sexy Jerk, then you’ll be pleased to see a few familiar faces along the way!Tropes: Second Chance, Forbidden Romance, Single Father, Single Mother, Office RomancePOV: First, Dual POVStandalone: YesWarnings: (view spoiler)[Cheating-ish (in the past, heroine was in a relationship with hero’s friend/roommate when they had a sexual encounter), Threesome (hide spoiler)]*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram
    more
  • Shayna
    June 27, 2017
    "...breathe, don't forget to breathe." Kim Karr packs one HELL of an emotional punch with the latest installment in her Sexy Jerk World series, BIG SHOT. Luckily, BIG SHOT can be read as a standalone, but I do HIGHLY recommend book one in the series, SEXY JERK. Hannah and Jace's story is a beautiful and highly emotional second-chance romance that will pull heavily on your heartstrings. It's hella' sexy, highly intoxicating, and insanely addicting. Kim Karr brought something new to the table her "...breathe, don't forget to breathe." Kim Karr packs one HELL of an emotional punch with the latest installment in her Sexy Jerk World series, BIG SHOT. Luckily, BIG SHOT can be read as a standalone, but I do HIGHLY recommend book one in the series, SEXY JERK. Hannah and Jace's story is a beautiful and highly emotional second-chance romance that will pull heavily on your heartstrings. It's hella' sexy, highly intoxicating, and insanely addicting. Kim Karr brought something new to the table here, and I absolutely LOVED this side of her writing. BIG SHOT was a clear WINNER for me, and it got me even more excited for what is to come in this sexy series!  "Sex wasn't love. And I had foolishly thought it was. Sex was sex, and that was all we had. Maybe it was all we ever had.That wasn't enough for me, not anymore. I didn't want to give Jace up-but then again, he'd never been mine to give up, had he?" I definitely shed a few tears while reading this story, and I absolutely found myself blushing after a few lines, but it was FEELING after FEELING after FEELING that drove me to shout from the rooftops how much I LOVED this book. Now, there may be some elements in the beginning of Jace and Hannah's story that might make some people uncomfortable. The advice I can give you with dealing with this, is to keep the big picture in mind. This is a second-chance romance between two people and there is absolutely NO cheating in this book. There is, in fact, one HELL of a happily ever after that will leave you with a HUGE grin on your face.We are guided between past and present in BIG SHOT, and I believe that Kim Karr did an excellent job with the flow of their story. It was an evenly paced, dual POV, exciting and emotional love story  that was incredibly easy to follow and so exciting to read. Like most of Kim Karr's characters, Jace and Hannah ran away with my heart. They easily stole it and I most definitely do not want it back. I'm so excited for fans of Kim Karr to DEVOUR this book whole, and I'm just as equally excited for some newbies to fall in love with her epic writing skills. I recommend this book whole-heartedly. I am absolutely intrigued by this world and I can't wait to see what's next.
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    May 18, 2017
    You might remember Jace from SEXY JERK. He's the widowed father of a little girl, who owns a Fortune 500 social media empire.His wife died three years ago - when his little Scarlett was only 2 years old. He's pretty 'happy' with his life as a single dad. He doesn't waste much time thinkin about dating anytime soon. But then he meets her ... again. Hannah. The mother of his daughter's new kindergarten frenemy Jonah. Hannah. The one that got away back in college - back before he met his wife.WHAT You might remember Jace from SEXY JERK. He's the widowed father of a little girl, who owns a Fortune 500 social media empire.His wife died three years ago - when his little Scarlett was only 2 years old. He's pretty 'happy' with his life as a single dad. He doesn't waste much time thinkin about dating anytime soon. But then he meets her ... again. Hannah. The mother of his daughter's new kindergarten frenemy Jonah. Hannah. The one that got away back in college - back before he met his wife.WHAT WILL HAPPEN WITH HANNAH & JACE?WILL THEY GO FROM FRIENDS TO LOVERS TO STRANGERS TO LOVERS TO HAPPILY EVER AFTER????READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT ☺══════════════════════════Such an adorable second-chance love story!!!!We have this really hot single dad Jace...He's been a widower for three years now.But ten years ago, when he was a lonely college student, who didn't know what to do with his life... he met Hannah. She was his best friend's girl.Lots of stuff happened back then to bring them together and tear them apart again ...And now here's their second chance at a happily ever after.But maybe too much time has passed - too many things have happened - in those ten years?Will Hannah and Jace be able to use that 2nd chance?We sure hope so.And we have an amazing time watching them fight through whatever they have to fight through to get to that Happy End!!!Amazing romance with a great cast - those little kids stole the show!!! I wanted even more of them!!! Scarlett is soo adorable and Jace is just as adorable with her.We have lots of funny and sexy moments but also lots of sad and moving moments.I really enjoyed reading this book.The only tiny little thing I didn't love were all those going-back-in-time chapters. I loved what I read in them, but they stopped my present-time reading flow. I wanted to know what is happening now with Jace and Hannah. I didn't care for the past. Even though once I was reading those chapters, it was all very interesting. But I would've preferred to stay in the present, with maybe a few paragraphs of remembering thoughts or something like that. BIG SHOT was an adorable & moving & sexy #SecondChanceLoveStory!!!! Run to your nearest amazon for your own Jace - this one is MINE!!!! ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡
    more
  • Kim
    April 30, 2017
    4.5 starsJace Bennett is struggling. He is trying to be a good single Dad after losing his wife three years ago. He owns a successful company, has good friends, and his daughter. He's turned off his emotions and sex drive. He's brooding, sad, lonely, and has a hot temper.When a boy picks on his daughter, he is prepared to deal with it right away. He never expected that the boy's mother would be someone from his past--his first love--the one who broke his heart.Hannah has had her own challenges i 4.5 starsJace Bennett is struggling. He is trying to be a good single Dad after losing his wife three years ago. He owns a successful company, has good friends, and his daughter. He's turned off his emotions and sex drive. He's brooding, sad, lonely, and has a hot temper.When a boy picks on his daughter, he is prepared to deal with it right away. He never expected that the boy's mother would be someone from his past--his first love--the one who broke his heart.Hannah has had her own challenges in the ten years since they were together. And their past relationship was anything but conventional. But it did change the course of both of their lives. She is smart, sassy, and devoted. Now they are both single parents and lonely. But they are also at odds over a situation, and still reeling from the past that was complicated and did not end well.But the present and their recent experiences and current circumstances bring a whole new set of challenges. There is a lot of sexual tension and unresolved feelings of pain, anger, and guilt. And their lives seem to be linked in unavoidable ways. But Jace is torn between wheat he wants and his many layers of guilt. He is not sure what he really has to give and cannot wrap his head around his confused feelings in regards to Hannah and his late wife. He puts up walls. He is good at avoidance and fighting his feelings. Hannah has to think of her son, but also needs to protect her own heart. And she has her own guilt and triggers that make her wary. They transition between enemies to friends to lovers. Sex has never been their problem, but their emotions are unstable and volatile. Neither feel secure. Trust is hard. Guilt is even harder. And nothing will change until Jace can get his head straight about the past and the women in his life and fight for what he wants. She won't be the before and after woman. He has to decide if she can be the forever one and actually fight for her even if it means fighting with her to prove it. The kids were adorable and I loved all of the scenes they were in. I liked getting more with Ethan, Fiona, Nick, and Tess from Sexy Jerk. This is told in dual points of view in past and present since they had a lot of shared history. It had a lot of layers to the story and was emotional, sexy, angsty, sweet, and had some unique dynamics. I am interested in Nick's brother, Lucas' story next.I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review. Follow Me: Reviews by Tammy & Kim | Facebook | Twitter
    more
  • Jo - *✽*•.★Reading Is My Bliss★.•*✽*
    July 22, 2017
    Okay, so I didn’t go to University or College but I know that it can be a big life changing experience for most people. For some, it is the first time you are living away from home and a chance to make new friends. It also opens up a whole pile of new experiences, doing things you have never had the freedom to anymore.Hannah is a computer engineering student when her path first crosses with Jace, it is a fleeting moment at a frat party but she never seems to lose the memory of how it felt talkin Okay, so I didn’t go to University or College but I know that it can be a big life changing experience for most people. For some, it is the first time you are living away from home and a chance to make new friends. It also opens up a whole pile of new experiences, doing things you have never had the freedom to anymore.Hannah is a computer engineering student when her path first crosses with Jace, it is a fleeting moment at a frat party but she never seems to lose the memory of how it felt talking to him. Not long after that she meets and starts dating Ethan. Nothing too serious but they definitely enjoy lots of naked fun together. Hannah is therefore gob smacked to eventually discover that Jace is Ethan’s best friend and room mate. Now I’m guessing that every one of us has thought our boyfriends mate or brother was really hot right. Jace and Hannah definitely have some sort of freaky connection and when the idea of a threesome comes about there is no hesitation from either of them. This is something Ethan and Jace have done before. You can see where this could be headed right? *Note: the scenes between Ethan, Jace and Hannah were freaking hot!!!Anyhoo, let’s now jump ahead 10 years. Hannah is a single mother of a gorgeous wee boy called Jonah. Jace is a widow and a father to his daughter Scarlett. Hannah has recently moved to town to escape a really bad relationship and is moving on with a new job and new home, hoping to put down some roots and settle. However, it seems that fate is not done with Jace and Hannah. Not only are their children attending the same school together but it seems their career paths are about to intervene too. That is just the beginning for these two though, they are still massively attracted to each other and trying to fight it is becoming a challenge to both of them. Jace’s sense of loyalty to his late wife influences everything he does and Hannah can’t deal with feeling like she is the ‘other woman’ when she deserves to be the only one. This is something that only Jace can work through but if he really wants to be with Hannah he needs to get his head sorted before he can ever commit to anyone else.There are also so many gorgeous heartfelt moments with Jace and Hannah’s children and I found myself wiping away tears at times. If you have read Sexy Jerk then you will be happy to know that Ethan, Fiona, Nick and Tess feature a lot in this story.. Another fabulous read from Kim Karr.
    more
  • Qhuinn
    July 28, 2017
    I'll never understand why these female authors keep doing this shit. It's the same in literally every romance book. When a hero moves on from the heroine, he manages to find love and happiness, the sex is amazing and shit's all hunky-dory. But when it's the heroine's turn, she end up with an abusive shit that beats her and/or rapes her, and sex with other people always has to be abysmal just because they aren't the hero. I mean, is it so wrong to want the heroine to find happiness too? I've read I'll never understand why these female authors keep doing this shit. It's the same in literally every romance book. When a hero moves on from the heroine, he manages to find love and happiness, the sex is amazing and shit's all hunky-dory. But when it's the heroine's turn, she end up with an abusive shit that beats her and/or rapes her, and sex with other people always has to be abysmal just because they aren't the hero. I mean, is it so wrong to want the heroine to find happiness too? I've read very few books where the heroine is actually content and happy without the hero. Meanwhile, the hero is perfectly fine screwing his way through the hordes of women he pulls.Ps: The hero in this story lies to the heroine when he tells her that he hasn't been with another woman since his wife. He conveniently omits the fact that he was in a threesome for months with his best friend and his best friend's wife (Fiona). During which time he performs every possible sexual act, short of actually fucking Fiona, because I guess putting the p in the v is the ultimate line he and his bestie don't wanna cross.🙄
    more
  • DG Book Blog - DaisyGal
    July 21, 2017
    Kim Karr continues to remain at the top of my list of favorite authors! Her heroes and heroines are so incredibly real, and their passionate love affairs always keep me right on the edge, eagerly filled with anticipation. She also writes some of the absolute best Happily Ever After’s, which give me the warm fuzzies and leave me smiling. In her latest book in the Sexy Jerk World Series, Kim Karr has once again captured my heart. Big Shot is a beautifully executed second chance romance with its st Kim Karr continues to remain at the top of my list of favorite authors! Her heroes and heroines are so incredibly real, and their passionate love affairs always keep me right on the edge, eagerly filled with anticipation. She also writes some of the absolute best Happily Ever After’s, which give me the warm fuzzies and leave me smiling. In her latest book in the Sexy Jerk World Series, Kim Karr has once again captured my heart. Big Shot is a beautifully executed second chance romance with its story of loss, heartache, and hope, and is simply the perfect mix of sexy and sweet!I think I might have found a new book boyfriend in Jace Bennet! I tend to struggle with books dealing with lost loves due to death, as they always hit me a little too hard. So, my compassion for Jace was simply overflowing in this story. He worked so hard for his career and fought so hard to be strong and move on for his daughter. However, he kind of forgot about himself along the way. I adored his relationship with his daughter, and what a great father he was to her. Hannah was a fighter herself, and although her story was quite different than Jace’s, she had overcome so much in her own life as well. She was a great mother, and I admired her strength and determination in protecting Jonah and getting her life on track with the career she loved. I especially liked that although both and Jace and Hannah had faced so much in their lives, they were still really down to earth and fun. They just fit together perfectly as friends, parents, colleagues, and lovers. Believe it or not, I’m not a huge fan of second chance romances. They always seem the same to me, but Jace and Hannah’s story was not cliché at all. I loved their encounter of seeing each other again after so many years. They were so feisty, and I appreciated how they stood up for their children. Even better was how strong their bond of friendship stood after so many years. So much had changed, yet they still had so much in common – including their attraction to each other. The chemistry between them was super charged, and my goodness, their passion was intense! The story was told from both Jace and Hannah’s point of views in the present and with some incredibly steamy flashbacks to their time in college together. It was all executed beautifully as their story played out, and I yearned for them to find their way to be together! I loved Jace’s friendship with Ethan and Nick and the brotherly banter between them. Along with their wives, they were a family, and Jace had such tremendous support for finding happiness with someone again. I have to add a little side note here that I’m not 100% on Ethan right now. I will be honest in saying that I haven’t yet read Sexy Jerk(Sexy Jerk World, #1), so I could be missing something. He just doesn’t seem quite on the up and up to me. Perhaps his story will be next???Every time I read a book of Kim Karr’s I just know I will fall in love, and Jace’s story completely melted my heart! I also have to make mention of the cover with Mitch Wick, who also had me fawning. I highly recommend Big Shot, and I look forward to more books in this series! *** 5 Stars for Me! ****** ARC kindly provided by the author in exchange of an honest review ***Read more reviews on the blog: http://dgbookblog.com
    more
  • Laura
    July 24, 2017
    ***ARC Provided by the Author and The Next Step PR***I am not sure what I was expecting from this book, but I am positive I got so much more than I ever thought possible. There are books that an author writes that are their best. Jace and Hannah's story is, hands down, the best thing I have read by Kim Karr. Her other books are great, and i have enjoyed them all, but this is her best.There was just something about this story, about Jace, Hannah, Scarlett and Jonah (and I am never going to be abl ***ARC Provided by the Author and The Next Step PR***I am not sure what I was expecting from this book, but I am positive I got so much more than I ever thought possible. There are books that an author writes that are their best. Jace and Hannah's story is, hands down, the best thing I have read by Kim Karr. Her other books are great, and i have enjoyed them all, but this is her best.There was just something about this story, about Jace, Hannah, Scarlett and Jonah (and I am never going to be able to put it into words) that strikes that perfect emotional balance of the push of the new love, that isn't totally new, and the pull of the past, of what is comfortable and the struggle we all have in deciding how to honor the things in the past while moving forward and taking the things that are before us in our future.That is a big part of what Jace struggles with. To go back to your first love, after losing a wife you genuinely loved, is it a betrayal? Does it cheapen the first love, the relationship with his late wife, or does it do neither of those things, because you can't redo the past. The fact that this is his challenge, that this is what he deals with, is in the blurb...but how he deals with it, and how emotionally it is written, well, that is something you have to read the book to experience.You feel for Jace, you know how badly he wants to move on past his wife's death and how much he struggles with the idea that he wants to move on with his first love, Hannah. There are some beautiful scenes, including one with his closest friend, that really let you in to Jace, and to how he feels, and his struggle. The depth of the friendship that is revealed is amazing, and it is the moment where you really start to believe, as a reader, that Jace is going to start to understand that just because something is in the past doesn't mean it can't be in the future. When Jace realizes that the past is in the past, and that everything that has happened to us previously leads us to where we are now, and that none of that cheapens the other things that have happened, it's beautiful, it made me teary, and as the blurb says, it had to happen for him and Hannah to have a chance.The writing in this book is absolutely flawless. The balance of the past and the present, the flashbacks that let you get to know Jace and Hannah, and the present that allows you get to know the people they were, and the people they are now...and to see that they really are different. Both have had experiences that have challenged them, and have changed them. There is, literally, nothing I would change about this book.
    more
  • Rosa Sharon (iScream Books Blog)
    July 18, 2017
    "We do what we do. We get what we get." Having already met this Big Shot briefly in Sexy Jerk , I was real excited to spend more time with him and learn his story. And I must say, I really enjoyed the way it was told in alternating past/present using both POV's. The author put me inside the heads of both characters and it was an experience that was both exhausting and rewarding. As always I was so invested I wore myself out wishing, waiting and worrying.This second chance romance was an emot "We do what we do. We get what we get." Having already met this Big Shot briefly in Sexy Jerk , I was real excited to spend more time with him and learn his story. And I must say, I really enjoyed the way it was told in alternating past/present using both POV's. The author put me inside the heads of both characters and it was an experience that was both exhausting and rewarding. As always I was so invested I wore myself out wishing, waiting and worrying.This second chance romance was an emotional journey that really touched me. The couple fell in love during college. They were so young, with their whole lives ahead of them. What happened to separate them was unfortunate and my heart hurt for them. I thought they gave up too easy. But they were young with lots of growing up to do. I guess those hard lessons had to be learned over time. And learn they did. The hard way. Somehow, years later, they ran into each other again. Was it fate? The chemistry is still there, like it never left. Maybe it didn't, maybe it's still there...waiting. Is now their time? Can they get it right the second time around? Did they learn enough to make better choices? Or are they too damaged to overcome their past? Is their love stronger than the guilt that stands between them? My mind's a mess, but in a good way. All my free advice and cheering from the sidelines was a workout. I had my heart set on things working out a certain way and had to strain mentally to help the characters out. Am I the only reader that does that? No, I didn't think so. It's an interactive process where we hope the author is on the same page and will make our wishes come true. But don't expect me to let the cat out of the bag. She didn't even tell you his name in the synopsis, so I won't either. I'll just let you meet the Big Shot and fall in love with him like I did. I wouldn't want to deprive you of the experience. I'm ready for more already. The line forms here...
    more
  • Beneath The Covers Blog
    July 26, 2017
    4.5 Breathe worthy starsJace and Hannah's past was messy at best, When Hannah starts to date his best friend Ethan can she forget about her feelings for Jace.Jace was not going to get in the way of his best friend and Hannah, but when an opportunity presents its self for them to be together and Ethan to be okay with it, how can he pass it up.When both go their separate ways heartbroken, what will happen ten years later when they see each other again? We first met Jace in Sexy Jerk and what a sad 4.5 Breathe worthy starsJace and Hannah's past was messy at best, When Hannah starts to date his best friend Ethan can she forget about her feelings for Jace.Jace was not going to get in the way of his best friend and Hannah, but when an opportunity presents its self for them to be together and Ethan to be okay with it, how can he pass it up.When both go their separate ways heartbroken, what will happen ten years later when they see each other again? We first met Jace in Sexy Jerk and what a sad character he was. I am glad he got his own story and I got to get inside his head.As much as my heart broke for Jace, my heart broke for Hannah as well. She was a strong female character in my eyes. The chemistry between the two was good, and I definitely didn't want to put the book down because I wanted to know so badly what was going to happen between the two of them. *an arc was provided in exchange for an honest review*~Alison
    more
  • mells_view
    July 28, 2017
    4 you're just a big shot stars!Awe I really liked this one.If you're looking for a second chance romance with two single parents falling in love, then this is the one. It's told from two POV's, and jumps from the past to the present, but Kim Karr did a really good job keeping things on track and not confusing at all.The relationship between Jace & Hannah is clearly rocky at first, and honestly I didn't like their past relationship much and you'll have to read and see why. I do however like h 4 you're just a big shot stars!Awe I really liked this one.If you're looking for a second chance romance with two single parents falling in love, then this is the one. It's told from two POV's, and jumps from the past to the present, but Kim Karr did a really good job keeping things on track and not confusing at all.The relationship between Jace & Hannah is clearly rocky at first, and honestly I didn't like their past relationship much and you'll have to read and see why. I do however like how their present goes, even though it also is rocky. Their children's little frenemyship is the absolute cutest. Agh!Read this! It's sweet, it's hot, it's emotional, it will make you grit your teeth! All the feelings :)
    more
  • Kim Karr
    July 9, 2017
    Big Shot is book 2 in the Sexy Jerk World. Sexy Jerk does not have to be read first, as Big Shot is a complete standalone. The story of Jace and Hannah is a second chance romance filled with a lot of emotion. Their story does vacillate between the past and the present for the first quarter of the book in order to give you the background you need to understand their love.Please note: their relationship started in an unusual way and I hope you will keep an open mind. Also, there is no cheating in Big Shot is book 2 in the Sexy Jerk World. Sexy Jerk does not have to be read first, as Big Shot is a complete standalone. The story of Jace and Hannah is a second chance romance filled with a lot of emotion. Their story does vacillate between the past and the present for the first quarter of the book in order to give you the background you need to understand their love.Please note: their relationship started in an unusual way and I hope you will keep an open mind. Also, there is no cheating in this book. :)Jace and Hannah stole my heart, and I hope they will steal your heart as well. <3PS - this is not as fun of a read as Sexy Jerk was, as it is not a romantic comedy. Instead, this book is filled with emotion, heart, and love. PSS - The final book in the Sexy Jerk world will combine both the element of romantic comedy and emotion. Look for Hot Stuff in October and get to know Lucas (also a complete standalone)
    more
  • Peggy Lee (Reading Keeps Me Sane Book Blog)
    July 21, 2017
    Big Shot is a heartwarming second-chance tearjerker romance. It's the second book in the Sexy Jerk World series but can be read as a standalone. This story is an emotional battle until the end.Jace is the owner of Flirt Enterprises, a social media dating site. He's also a single father to a beautiful, vivacious daughter. However he's lonely. Jace lost his wife three year ago, leaving him feeling empty. When Jace's daughter is bullied on her first day of school he decides to go straight to the so Big Shot is a heartwarming second-chance tearjerker romance. It's the second book in the Sexy Jerk World series but can be read as a standalone. This story is an emotional battle until the end.Jace is the owner of Flirt Enterprises, a social media dating site. He's also a single father to a beautiful, vivacious daughter. However he's lonely. Jace lost his wife three year ago, leaving him feeling empty. When Jace's daughter is bullied on her first day of school he decides to go straight to the source and speak with the bully's parent. As it turns out the bully's parent is none other than Hannah Michaels. Jace hasn't seen Hannah in ten years, since the day she left him and never returned. She had broke him until he met his now deceased wife who had put him back together. Ten years ago Jace and Hannah weren't able to move forward with their relationship because Hannah was dating Ethan and they didn't want to betray their friendship. Ten years later although their chemistry is undeniable, Jace is unable to have a relationship with Hannah because of he feels he's betraying his deceased wife. Hannah wants more from Jace, she deserves more and if Jace can't give it to her she's ready to move on. Jace's grief broke my heart. His struggle, pain and heartache leads to a heartfelt grand gesture that left me crying happy tears. Ten years changes people and for Jace and Hannah it changed everything except their connection. I loved this story! 5 Stars
    more
  • Cocktails and Books
    July 23, 2017
    I was in the mood for a good second-chance romance.  BIG SHOT definitely looked like it was going to check all my boxes, so I jumped into Hannah and Jace's story.  Told in alternating POVs, both past and present, we get the full history of Hannah and Jace.  How they became friends, what made Hannah turn her back on Jace and how they come full circle ten years later.Jace was the perfect broody, angsty hero.  He was such a tortured soul and despite how he may act I wanted him to get his happily ev I was in the mood for a good second-chance romance.  BIG SHOT definitely looked like it was going to check all my boxes, so I jumped into Hannah and Jace's story.  Told in alternating POVs, both past and present, we get the full history of Hannah and Jace.  How they became friends, what made Hannah turn her back on Jace and how they come full circle ten years later.Jace was the perfect broody, angsty hero.  He was such a tortured soul and despite how he may act I wanted him to get his happily ever after while at the same time realizing it's OK to find love again.  He had such a big heart, which was evident in his interaction with his daughter and Hannah's son.  It may have taken him a while, but he figured out what was important.Hannah was interesting.  She had a hard time letting go of the things she had one in the past, especially when it came to Jace.  She knew how she felt about him but those things were all tied up with Ethan and how she grew up.  All that made it hard for her to deal with Ethan now.  I could understand why she was torn, but at the same time frustrated that she painted those with money with such a broad brush.While I enjoyed this book, I was looking for more between Hannah and Jace.  Their past played such a large part in their future, but it felt like what happened between the two of them and Ethan was truly dealt with.  Add in Ethan's guilt over his feelings for Hannah versus his wife and I expected a little bit more angst and emotional drama.
    more
  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    July 22, 2017
    :)) <3    
  • Ana Rita
    July 25, 2017
    Oh my freaking God I was on cloud nine once this book was available to read. I was super happy for having another chance to read a new book from this amazing author.It's already known that Kim Karr has a simple, intense, hot and breathtaking writting that can make you cry or blush in a sec. She has a way with words that can melt your heart or panties. Lol. Big Shot is the second book from the Sexy Jerk World Series and Dayum, what a book. Before I tell you a little bit more about this book I nee Oh my freaking God I was on cloud nine once this book was available to read. I was super happy for having another chance to read a new book from this amazing author.It's already known that Kim Karr has a simple, intense, hot and breathtaking writting that can make you cry or blush in a sec. She has a way with words that can melt your heart or panties. Lol. Big Shot is the second book from the Sexy Jerk World Series and Dayum, what a book. Before I tell you a little bit more about this book I need to tell you something. You need to read Sexy Jerk first because, despite all books are standalones you will know a little bit more about the characters. This book explores Jace and Hannah's story. This story starts 10 years ago when Jace and Hannah saw each other for the first time at a party. They were both students but despite Hannah already knew what she wanted for her future Jace didn't. He only knew one thing, that he wanted Hannah no matter what. Until one day he lost her. Because of her he had become what he is today, a successful business man. Time had passed and he become a single dad and loose all contact with her. Until the day his daughter arrived home crying. And my lips are glued. Like I though it would, this books rocks. I loved every single page, every up and down. I'm speechless by the intensity of it and I was delighted at the same time. The plot it superb, full of struggles, with some pain, but with so much love that it felt like I was wrapped up in a velvet blanket.The way the story progressed, the way the characters interacted with each other left me angry, sad but so happy at the same time. I love the fact that the book could tell us their pasts but also their present and that's amazing. It was so good to get a hold with other characters and I can't wait for more news from them.And now what Kim Karr? What story ate you writing for us? Wherever that is, I'm eagerly waiting for it. I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Rachel
    July 26, 2017
    4.5 starsJace Bennett juggles work and single parenting his daughter since the death of his wife three years before. He leans on his college friends for a lot, and his daughter is the center of his world. When a classmate picks on his daughter, he decides the best course of action is to confront the parent and get things under control before they spiral. But he didn’t expect the boy’s mother to be Hannah, the woman he loved before his wife. Hannah and Jace’s past means that conversations between 4.5 starsJace Bennett juggles work and single parenting his daughter since the death of his wife three years before. He leans on his college friends for a lot, and his daughter is the center of his world. When a classmate picks on his daughter, he decides the best course of action is to confront the parent and get things under control before they spiral. But he didn’t expect the boy’s mother to be Hannah, the woman he loved before his wife. Hannah and Jace’s past means that conversations between them are charged with the pain from the past, but they are also charged with a spark in the present. Because those feelings they felt in college still burn brightly. These two understand each other, even as they are able to hide from others. But things won’t be simple this time around, just as they weren’t simple in the past.This book is filled with the tension of friends who became enemies but can’t deny the chemistry and connection between them. The flashback scenes had me heartbroken for both of them, but understanding of both at the same time. I hated the way they parted, and the pain they both experienced in the meantime. But I loved watching them find each other again, and build something bigger than they had before.I loved the kids in this one. Both children are precocious and their wit adds character to scenes that benefit from their young perspectives. Some of the things they say cut through the tension between the adults better than a day’s worth of conversation would have. It was also great to see Ethan and Fiona, and Nick and Tessa again. These three men have a great relationship and seeing them through Jace’s eyes was a great change. I was gifted a copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Anne Milne
    July 25, 2017
    It's been awhile since I've read a Kim Karr book and I've no idea why silly me. I love reading second chance love stories and Kim gives us a great one featuring Jace and Hannah. We get the story from both perspectives and I'm the past. I liked the slow drip feed of their past history it helps us get a better understanding of what happened Bad what a complicated tortured history it was. They started in an unusual way and meet again years later in challenging circumstances. The connection they fel It's been awhile since I've read a Kim Karr book and I've no idea why silly me. I love reading second chance love stories and Kim gives us a great one featuring Jace and Hannah. We get the story from both perspectives and I'm the past. I liked the slow drip feed of their past history it helps us get a better understanding of what happened Bad what a complicated tortured history it was. They started in an unusual way and meet again years later in challenging circumstances. The connection they felt all those years ago is still there but Jace can't move on as he feels like he's cheating. Hannah wants the past to be forgotten so they can move on but she feels like the other woman. I admired Hannah do much for realising her own worth and forging her own path in life. Jace took awhile to grow on me, he acts like a jerk at times which made me want to shake him but he has jus reasons.A beautiful story about second chances, letting go of the past and fighting for the one person you want in your life. reviewed by Sweet Spot Sisterhood
    more
  • Kindle Crack Book Reviews Cheri
    July 20, 2017
    Review to follow!UPDATED: This second chance romance was everything! I binge read this book in almost one sitting. Big Shot is the second book in the Sexy Jerk World series and can be read as a standalone. Jace and Heather shared an unconventional and complicated relationship ten years before they cross paths again. A lot has happened since they parted ways. They both share emotional baggage that they have to work through in order to move on with their lives. I loved the way that Kim was able to Review to follow!UPDATED: This second chance romance was everything! I binge read this book in almost one sitting. Big Shot is the second book in the Sexy Jerk World series and can be read as a standalone. Jace and Heather shared an unconventional and complicated relationship ten years before they cross paths again. A lot has happened since they parted ways. They both share emotional baggage that they have to work through in order to move on with their lives. I loved the way that Kim was able to seamlessly go from present to past, allowing a solid glimpse into the mindset of the characters. Big Shot packed an emotional punch that had me shedding tears. This hot and heartfelt page turner needs to be one-clicked.This review appears on www.kindlecrack.net, www.facebook.com/kindlecrack, Goodreads, Amazon, Pinterest, Google+ and Twitter. A review copy of this book was kindly provided by the author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Karmen
    July 26, 2017
    Do I dare to say it? That Big Shot might be my favorite read from Ms. Karr? She did give us River Wilde, but there was something about Jace Bennett. The single father and his sassy daughter, Scarlet, are a hilarious pair. I couldn't get enough of their sweet bond and his willingness to do anything to protect her. So when Jace's past walks back into his life, it causes a tailspin. Full review on blog/release day!
    more
  • Sandy S
    July 27, 2017
    4 starsABOUT THE BOOK: RELEASE DATE July 27, 2017To believe one person can change your destiny sounds absurd. But it happened to me… twice.Ten years ago I had no idea what I wanted out of life, until I met Hannah Michaels. She was a computer-engineering student ready to conquer the social media world, and I was smitten. Even though I knew she was taken, I had to have her.Being the big shot that I was, I didn’t let her status stand in my way. It wasn’t long before my hands were on her thighs and 4 starsABOUT THE BOOK: RELEASE DATE July 27, 2017To believe one person can change your destiny sounds absurd. But it happened to me… twice.Ten years ago I had no idea what I wanted out of life, until I met Hannah Michaels. She was a computer-engineering student ready to conquer the social media world, and I was smitten. Even though I knew she was taken, I had to have her.Being the big shot that I was, I didn’t let her status stand in my way. It wasn’t long before my hands were on her thighs and my name a whisper on her lips. This smart, sexy girl inspired me to greatness, helped me grow into the kind of man I never knew I wanted to be. The man I am today.Too bad I hadn’t grown fast enough to keep her.Moving on wasn’t easy, but I knew I had to let her go. Eventually, I found someone to share my days and nights with, and together we had a daughter. My life was nearly perfect until my world turned upside down.A single father has challenges, and one of those is learning how to calmly deal with your child coming home in tears. I had no idea the day I pounded on my daughter’s classmate’s door, Hannah would be the one standing on the other side.The wild, burning desire that roared through my veins was unwanted, and yet impossible to ignore. Letting her in meant so much more this time around. Guilt hit me like a hammer. I hated myself. I hated her. The problem was I really didn’t hate her—I wanted her more than ever. But this time around I can’t have her. This time it’s my status that stands in our way. And going up against myself just might be the hardest thing I’ve ever done.••••REVIEW: BIG SHOT is the second installment in Kim Karr’s contemporary, adult SEXY JERK WORLD erotic, romance series focusing on a tight knit group of friends. This is successful IT developer and single father Jace Bennett, and computer engineer Hannah Michaels’ second chance story line. BIG SHOT can be read as a stand alone without any difficulty. Any important information from the previous story line is revealed where necessary. Jace was first introduced in book one SEXY JERK.NOTE: BIG SHOT contains mature scenes of M/F/M sexual interactions.Told from dual first person points of view (Hannah and Jace) with present day and memories from the past BIG SHOT focuses on regrets and second chances between successful businessman Jace Bennett-a widower and single father of his five year old daughter Scarlett, and the woman he has always loved Hannah Michaels, divorced mother of a five year old boy named Jonah, and a woman struggling with memories from the past. Jace and Hannah’s reunion, of sorts, is brought about by the school yard bullying of their primary school children, as well as the new hiring of a computer programmer for Jace’s Fortune 500 Company-Flirt Enterprises. Ten years earlier Hannah was very much a part of Jace Bennett, and his best friend Ethan Miller’s life-a life that centered on friendship, sex and an unconventional relationship between a girl, the men in her life, and the secret and lies that destroyed her trust in the man that she loved. Fast forward to present day wherein Hannah comes face to face with the man she has never forgotten but a man so lost in a world of grief and guilt that he is willing to throw away a second chance at love. What ensues is the back and forth, rebuilding but struggling relationship between Hannah and Jace, and the potential fall out when Jace is unwilling to admit that Hannah is the woman he has always loved. Feeling sorry for himself Jace is unable to look beyond the past or the guilt that encompasses his life.The relationship between Hannah and Jace is one of second chances; a rekindling romance that reveals the backstory about three friends who found love, laughter, and heartbreak when the truth about Jace’s past is finally revealed. It is here that the build up to destruction of their relationship becomes lost in a less than powerful reasoning-in fact, Hannah’s need to push Jace and Ethan out of her life was more of a ‘hurt feelings’ and ‘immature emotional response’ than a true betrayal or set of lies. Their rekindling romance continues to suffer as Jace and Hannah’s back and forth emotional battle lends too much fodder to an already tepid but sexually charged reunion. The $ex scenes are intimate, passionate and intense.We are reintroduced to Nick and Tess, Ethan and Fiona (Sexy Jerk), Nick’s brother Lucas Carrington, as well as a IT app developer Amanda Woodward, Hannah’s immediate boss at Flirt Enterprises Perry Reeves, Jace’s nanny Mrs. Sherman, as well as Hannah’s son Jonah, and Jace’s daughter Scarlett. Lucas’s story line is next in HOT STUFF.BIG SHOT is a little darker than book one SEXY JERK. There are emotional highs and lows, heartbreak and pain, guilt, perceived betrayal, and a happily ever after. The premise is tragic but encouraging; the characters are broken but inspiring; the romance is fated and tense. BIG SHOT is a dramatic look at two people whose lives went in opposite directions when a lack of communication and perceived betrayal tore them apart.Copy supplied for review.www.thereadingcafe.com
    more
  • Three Chicks
    July 20, 2017
    Review by Lisa KaneJace Bennett is a widowed single dad raising his five-year-old daughter while trying to balance out a highly successful career as a dating app developer. His business, Flirt Enterprises, is a Fortune 500 company he built from the ground up. His wife died three years ago and he’s been a virtual monk since. Scarlett, his daughter is starting kindergarten.It was more that I hadn’t been interested in having intercourse with anyone since my wife died nearly three years ago.Her firs Review by Lisa KaneJace Bennett is a widowed single dad raising his five-year-old daughter while trying to balance out a highly successful career as a dating app developer. His business, Flirt Enterprises, is a Fortune 500 company he built from the ground up. His wife died three years ago and he’s been a virtual monk since. Scarlett, his daughter is starting kindergarten.It was more that I hadn’t been interested in having intercourse with anyone since my wife died nearly three years ago.Her first day doesn’t go as well as Jace would have liked-seems one of the boys in her class, Jonah teased and upset her. Jace decides to confront the child’s parents. Turns out, he is the one who is confronted-by a ghost from his past. Jonah’s mom is Hannah Crestfall, the woman who years ago, who meant the world to him. He, Hannah and his best friend Ethan had a strange, twisted relationship. Seeing her again knocks him on his ass.This was Hannah.H. Crestfall was Hannah Michaels.The first girl I ever loved…and the one who broke me even more than I already had been before I met her.Drama went down, Jace and Hannah ended things. Jace moved on, met Tricia, married and had a little girl. Together, they planted roots, fixed up a house they bought and began their lives together.I imagined it was how she felt ab out me when we first met. A little broken, but with some tender-loving care she knew she could put it back together, just as she had me.Things weren’t quite so picturesque for Hannah. But she’s a bit of a tech genius. Fate is playing a real joke on these two as Hannah is now Jace’s employee. Throw raging hormones, guilt and regret in the mix and things are going to get more than a little complicated.Jace cannot deny his attraction towards Hannah. But his actions…this guy drove me nuts! Hannah is upfront and honest and doesn’t pull any punches. Jace is a mass of contradictions, mostly due to his marriage and feelings of guilt. If I was Hannah I may have used one of the dating apps they work on to get myself a different guy!“Because feelings aren’t the issue. Trust is. And I don’t trust you.”I flipped through the pages of Big Shot but as the end there were still questions I had about why Jace took the path he followed and the actions he did that changed the course of both his and Hannah’s life. But let’s face it, he was married to a woman he loved. Sometimes as a reader we want the main characters’ pasts to be erased and only filled with the other but that isn’t real life. Each met other people; each had children with that other person. Those years existed and shaped them into the people they are now.“You’re not my before and you’re not my after, Hannah, you’re my forever.”
    more
  • Tamara
    July 26, 2017
    Kim Karr packs a one hell of a punch with this emotional second chance romance. College friends, Jace and Hannah had a short lived but intense affair, and lost contact for over ten years - only to reconnect in the most unexpected of circumstances.Told in dual POV, with an alternating timeline enhanced their story, and I found myself captivated. Often in books that switch times I find myself wishing that the author would stop switching right when we get to the good part, however this didn’t happe Kim Karr packs a one hell of a punch with this emotional second chance romance. College friends, Jace and Hannah had a short lived but intense affair, and lost contact for over ten years - only to reconnect in the most unexpected of circumstances.Told in dual POV, with an alternating timeline enhanced their story, and I found myself captivated. Often in books that switch times I find myself wishing that the author would stop switching right when we get to the good part, however this didn’t happen in Big Shot. I found myself equally interested in both timelines and couldn’t decide which one I was more interested in.I’m a sucker for books that have little kids in them, and boy did Big Shot deliver with not only one, but two adorable little kids! Both Scarlett and Jonah stole the show for me!While Jace and Hannah may have fallen into second place behind the kids, it doesn’t mean that I wasn’t fully invested in their story – because I was. These two stole my heart, both in the past and present. At times I didn’t know if my heart could take anymore, it seemed like they had so much stacked against them, and the hits just kept on coming.I really enjoyed getting to know Jace better, and can not wait to see what Kim delivers next in this world.
    more
  • Amy
    July 20, 2017
    “It felt so good. It had been way too long. Still, I wanted more. I wanted her deeper. I wanted her faster. I wanted it all.”“Guilt. It was heavy. A burden that felt so thick.”Big Shot is the second book in the Sexy Jerk World Series and follows the story of Hannah and Jace. Hannah and Jace’s story is told from dual points of view and is told in both the past and present tense. Hannah and Jace have always had a complicated relationship. To some it might seem unconventional, or even a bit taboo. “It felt so good. It had been way too long. Still, I wanted more. I wanted her deeper. I wanted her faster. I wanted it all.”“Guilt. It was heavy. A burden that felt so thick.”Big Shot is the second book in the Sexy Jerk World Series and follows the story of Hannah and Jace. Hannah and Jace’s story is told from dual points of view and is told in both the past and present tense. Hannah and Jace have always had a complicated relationship. To some it might seem unconventional, or even a bit taboo. They were in college and so very, very young. And while their circumstances were not perfect, they made the most that they could out their situation at that time…. Fast-forward 10 years later. Life is not at all what either Hannah or Jace thought it would be. They haven’t seen each other for ten long years and now fate has decided to bring these two lovers back. The road to happily ever after is not an easy one for Jace and Hannah. They still have a lot of growing to do, a complex history to overcome and their own personal ghosts of the past….Overall, I enjoyed Big Shot. I thought this story was well written and it totally kept me captivated. I will say that Big Shot definitely has a different feel than Sexy Jerk had. Big Shot is 100% sexy and it did have its share of humorous moments, but Big Shot deals with deeper emotions and more complex feelings. Jace and Hannah’s story was so unexpected and stole my heart. I hope that you can keep an open mind and give their story a chance.*I was provided an ARC copy of this book, in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Nerdy Dirty & Flirty
    July 23, 2017
    This book had a very interesting and not often seen beginning for our main characters. The layout of the story gives you the opportunity to see both that beginning and their present lives. In an effort to avoid any spoilers, I won't tell any of that past, but it was definitely a first for me. In the present, our main characters are brought together through their children, and it isn't a very good reintroduction. It starts off with a fight between the children. Then it progresses into play dates. This book had a very interesting and not often seen beginning for our main characters. The layout of the story gives you the opportunity to see both that beginning and their present lives. In an effort to avoid any spoilers, I won't tell any of that past, but it was definitely a first for me. In the present, our main characters are brought together through their children, and it isn't a very good reintroduction. It starts off with a fight between the children. Then it progresses into play dates. The parents though, have to deal with complicated feelings stemming from their past and impacting their future. Through it all the storyline and character's emotions had me really enjoying the book.This author regularly gives me books I can get lost in. She gives me characters that I want to see find their happily ever after. And she constantly has me coming back for more. This book is no exception.
    more
  • Nancy Metsch
    July 24, 2017
    ** Spoiler free review** And trust it is going to be hard..lol Hot shot is just an amazing emotional roller coaster. I loved it from page one. Jace Bennett is swoon worthy, like you want to climb him swoon worthy. BUT at the same time he is a contradiction. He's as broody as he is handsome. He has a lot of barriers that very few are able to break down. In fact there are only 3 people that can honestly say know Jace and that would be Ethan and Nick, he's 2 best friends. Enter Hannah, she's very ** Spoiler free review** And trust it is going to be hard..lol Hot shot is just an amazing emotional roller coaster. I loved it from page one. Jace Bennett is swoon worthy, like you want to climb him swoon worthy. BUT at the same time he is a contradiction. He's as broody as he is handsome. He has a lot of barriers that very few are able to break down. In fact there are only 3 people that can honestly say know Jace and that would be Ethan and Nick, he's 2 best friends. Enter Hannah, she's very beautiful young woman that Jace meets at a party back in collage. Unfortunately that meeting was short and fast. Hannah never even got his name. But there was something about Jace that Hannah really liked. I loved this book, there is so much i could say BUT I would give it away and whats the fun in that
    more
  • Christiann Igou
    July 24, 2017
    4.5/5 stars - Jace's much anticipated book and boy was it worth the wait! Loved every minute!
  • Sophie
    July 28, 2017
    4.5 beautiful, broken stars. Full review to come.
  • Emma
    July 27, 2017
    We met Jace in Sexy Jerk in unusual circumstances *cough* the lonely widower who became a plaything for Fiona to spice up her marriage. Best friends with Fiona's husband Ethan and our very own Sexy Jerk, Nick, since college. Ethan and Jace especially share a very colorful history in the form of Hannah ;)Jace has been dogged by tragedy through his life, from the death of his parents at the age of ten to the loss of his wife before the age of 30 leaving him a single parent to a sassy 6-year-old. O We met Jace in Sexy Jerk in unusual circumstances *cough* the lonely widower who became a plaything for Fiona to spice up her marriage. Best friends with Fiona's husband Ethan and our very own Sexy Jerk, Nick, since college. Ethan and Jace especially share a very colorful history in the form of Hannah ;)Jace has been dogged by tragedy through his life, from the death of his parents at the age of ten to the loss of his wife before the age of 30 leaving him a single parent to a sassy 6-year-old. On top of all of this is his constant regret over the implosion of his first love, Hannah, and the emotional aftermath that plagues him to this day.Big Shot is definitely not your average romance; the narrative alternates between point of view and past and present providing in depth understanding to the emotions and actions of the characters in the nuffed up circumstances they found themselves in. Big Shot shows that when a connection is as strong as the one between Hannah and Jace fate has a curious way of stepping in to providing a helping hand even if it does take the scenic route in order to get there.Hannah and Jace met at a college party where the sparks instantly flew between them, unfortunately, circumstances left them without further contact until Hannah accepts a date from Ethan. Although Jace and Hannah are unable to deny the spark between them, bro code ensures Jace doesn't cross any lines with Hannah that is until they all embark on a kinky interlude pushing the boundaries of their relationships and entering love triangle territory. It is obvious to everyone, including Ethan, that Hannah and Jace have deep feelings for each other, although Jace stubbornly refuses to man-up and admit the truth to himself and Ethan. Creating a tightrope they all have trouble balancing on. Inevitably, there is a crash but not necessarily in the way, you would expect. Hannah has her own issues stemming from her upbringing.The first meeting between Jace and Hannah altered he course of Jace's life, providing him with direction for the first time in his life and ultimately leading him to the lucrative career he has paved for himself. The re-introduction of Hannah into his life throws Jace for a loop, invading both his personal and professional life. I absolutely adored Hannah and her capacity to compassion, lack of judgment and complete understanding. She was selfless but not a doormat, she was able to maintain her self-esteem in less than favorable circumstances. My heart hurt for Hannah at times, although each experience she endured has shaped the wonderful person she has become.Jace on the other hand still has a lot of self-reflection to do through the course of Big Shot, learning to accept his actions and forgive himself for his mistakes. Only that way can he truly move forward and welcome the new phase of his life without recrimination or regret ♥ Hannah and Jace were meant to be ♥
    more
Write a review