Prom Queen (Bad Boy Homecoming, #3)
A high school reunion is about to get down and dirty and a whole lot more complicated in this new erotic romance from NYT Bestselling Author Katee Robert.Jake Davis had it all in high school—a scholarship to his college of choice, a promising football career, and the gorgeous prom queen for a girlfriend. And then he lost it all when he was injured right after graduation. Ten years later, he’s mostly made his peace with that, and now runs a company that provides women with dates for special events. Imagine his surprise when he discovers that the ex who left him in the dust needs a fake boyfriend for their high school reunion…Jessica Jackson used to be the mean girl to end all mean girls. But life didn’t turn out like she’d thought it would, and now she’s twenty-eight, single, and works as an insurance agent to A-listers instead of being the A-lister like she’d always dreamed. She can’t go back to her home town and admit just how thoroughly she’s failed, so she lets her friends set her up with a fake date for the reunion.The second Jessica realizes that her fake date is Jake, she tries to call the whole thing off. The problem is the chemistry between them is even hotter now than it was when they were teenagers. Against her better judgment she lets herself get drawn into Jake’s arms again—and into his bed. But time doesn’t heal all wounds—sometimes, it actually makes them worse—and if Jessica and Jake can’t learn to forgive each other, their second chance might not last the weekend.

Prom Queen (Bad Boy Homecoming, #3) Details

TitleProm Queen (Bad Boy Homecoming, #3)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary

Prom Queen (Bad Boy Homecoming, #3) Review

  • Irene
    June 24, 2017
    4 starsWelcome to Bad Boy Homecoming! Five bestselling authors got together to see what happens when bad boy heroes (and even a bad girl or two!) roll back into a small town in Texas for their High School reunion. Sexy times, angst-filled memories, and second chances abound with this contemporary romance series.ONE REUNION... FIVE SECOND CHANCESProm Queen by Katee Robert was a very enjoyable second chance love story.It was one of those reads once you start reading you don't want to put down. I l 4 starsWelcome to Bad Boy Homecoming! Five bestselling authors got together to see what happens when bad boy heroes (and even a bad girl or two!) roll back into a small town in Texas for their High School reunion. Sexy times, angst-filled memories, and second chances abound with this contemporary romance series.ONE REUNION... FIVE SECOND CHANCESProm Queen by Katee Robert was a very enjoyable second chance love story.It was one of those reads once you start reading you don't want to put down. I loved getting to know Jake and Jessica and seeing how they've both changed over the last ten years.It warmed my heart watching them reconnect and talk through the past hurts and open themselves to love again.I'm a big fan of author Katee Robert and once again she's delivered a heartfelt and entertaining read in Prom Queen.*Purchase Links*Amazon http://amzn.to/2ngitYYiBooks http://apple.co/2ovAPGgBarnes & Noble http://bit.ly/2nJk8dhKobo http://bit.ly/2oe1kk8*Thank you to the publisher via Netgalley for the advance copy*
    more
  • Jessica Alcazar
    June 27, 2017
    I read this entire series while on vacation last week in Florida. It was the PERFECT pick for my vacation! The stories weren't overly short or long. They were just perfect! I don't have a favorite, so don't ask me LOL they were all really fantastic in their own right!If you're as old as I am, you may have experienced a few HS reunions yourself and maybe, like me, you may not have wanted to re-visit those days for whatever reason, but a whooooooooooole lot can change in a decade, both good and ba I read this entire series while on vacation last week in Florida. It was the PERFECT pick for my vacation! The stories weren't overly short or long. They were just perfect! I don't have a favorite, so don't ask me LOL they were all really fantastic in their own right!If you're as old as I am, you may have experienced a few HS reunions yourself and maybe, like me, you may not have wanted to re-visit those days for whatever reason, but a whooooooooooole lot can change in a decade, both good and bad, and in the end, you might just end up re-connecting with people you never thought in a million years you would :) IMO, that's what this series was all about. Each author took two people in the same world and brought them back together ....In Prom Queen by Katee Robert , Jake and Jessica get a second chance to get it right :) I have to say that bringing together the prom queen and quarterback, both with lives very much NOT what they thought they would be 10 years ago is genius. Both Jake and Jessica had very different paths mapped out for themselves 10 years ago ... but the Universe was having none of that ;) I thoroughly enjoyed seeing these two come back together. Their re-connection was full of heart and very sexy. This entire series has turned into a really great reading experience for me. Not a single story has missed its mark!Copy provided for blog tour review
    more
  • Alyssa
    June 25, 2017
    ***Review to come***Short, super hot, and very enjoyable. =)
  • Kahea
    June 19, 2017
    ***4 Stars*** This was supposed to be one of those “I’ll just take a tinsy peak at the beginning and then...” books, but I ended up devouring the entire thing in no time. True, this is a novella, but I got caught up in this character driven second chance at love romance and wanted more even when the words “The End” popped up on my ereader.I was totally Team Jessica from start to finish. She may have been THE mean girl in high school, but people change and she has. Life didn’t turn out the way s ***4 Stars*** This was supposed to be one of those “I’ll just take a tinsy peak at the beginning and then...” books, but I ended up devouring the entire thing in no time. True, this is a novella, but I got caught up in this character driven second chance at love romance and wanted more even when the words “The End” popped up on my ereader.I was totally Team Jessica from start to finish. She may have been THE mean girl in high school, but people change and she has. Life didn’t turn out the way she expected and she’s come to terms with most of it. I loved her honesty about herself and the insecurities that drove her to be that person in high school and how they are currently affecting her in a totally different way. It took a bit of time for me to warm up to Jake. I understood why he felt the way he did, and felt the need to do what he did, I did, but at the same time no real man would do that in my book. But does he redeem himself? He does and it teaches a valuable lesson about forgiveness and redemption. As this is a novella, things progress quickly between Jessica and Jake (confession and slight tangent: the name totally makes me think of Jake Ryan from Sixteen Candles and makes me happy sigh) but Ms. Robert manages to put a lot of heart into their reunion and gives you a well rounded look at who these two used to be together and who they could be if they can let the past go. ~ Copy provided by the publisher via NetGalley and voluntarily reviewed ~
    more
  • Emma
    June 27, 2017
    Jessica was the ultimate queen bitch in High School, over the last ten years she has had a lot of time to reconcile her behaviour and deal with the guilt and regret she carries with her. Life hasn't exactly turned out as she had planned when she left Catfish Creek in her dust. Having burned a lot of bridges in her need for escape, Jessica finds herself in the position of hiring a date for the 10 year reunion to avoid judgement from the people she tortured during her high school reign; as well as Jessica was the ultimate queen bitch in High School, over the last ten years she has had a lot of time to reconcile her behaviour and deal with the guilt and regret she carries with her. Life hasn't exactly turned out as she had planned when she left Catfish Creek in her dust. Having burned a lot of bridges in her need for escape, Jessica finds herself in the position of hiring a date for the 10 year reunion to avoid judgement from the people she tortured during her high school reign; as well as providing a barrier between herself and her first love, Jake.Jake carries a lot of bitterness toward Jessica from her callous departure when he needed her the most, following an injury that ended his hopes of a football career. Although Jake has become very successful in the time they have been apart by providing an elite dating service for women. None other than the dating service Jessica uses to hire her date for the reunion!!!Jake vets all the new applications so he is the first person to see Jessica's application and takes it upon himself to get a little payback on Jessica. Although Jake is ultimately a good guy and he is able to see the changes Jessica has worked hard to make in the period they have been apart. Jessica has worked hard on overcoming her emotional barriers that translate in the bitch persona she embraced in high school. It is obvious from the moment we meet Jessica's mother as to why Jessica needed to create the barriers in the first place. Constant criticism and disparaging remarks ensured Jessica had little control over her life growing up, resulting in a fragile self-confidence and the need to inflict the same pain she was in on others. While this only served to add to Jessica's negative view of herself it was the only way she had some control at the time. Jake was aware of the real Jessica beneath the defence mechanism all those years ago, but the woman Jessica has become takes Jake pleasantly by surprise, calling into question his actions with the fake date.It is obvious that neither Jessica or Jake have fully moved on from their relationship in High School and the chemistry is more than evident at their initial meeting. Sparks soon fly out of control but can Jessica and Jake reconcile their new lives with their rekindled feelings. I really liked how Jessica took ownership of her faults and worked hard to alter the negative tendencies into something positive she could be proud of. Rather than reverting to her learned behaviour in the face of criticism, Jessica continues to make progress in becoming the type of person she wants to be. Jake is utterly adorable and a good guy to his core even when he tries to be bad ;) I really like the interconnected characters within this mini-series, ensuring the need to want to dig deeper into all of their stories.I have to say I desperately wanted an epilogue for Jessica and Jake to be able to witness where the future would take them. I would also love for Jessica's friends, Brooklyn and Cora, to get their own stories because there are definitely hints within the narrative that they have their own stories to tell :)
    more
  • Paula Phillips
    May 31, 2017
    Jessica Jackson and Jake Davis were the IT couple of their high school. He was the football star and headed places with his possible sports career, and Jessica was the cheerleader and Miss Popular but also the mean girl. Their happiness was short-lived though as they broke up and went their separate ways. Now ten years later it's time for their high school reunion. Jessica isn't looking forward to going as she was the ultimate Mean Girl at their high school and wrecked havoc with everyone. Think Jessica Jackson and Jake Davis were the IT couple of their high school. He was the football star and headed places with his possible sports career, and Jessica was the cheerleader and Miss Popular but also the mean girl. Their happiness was short-lived though as they broke up and went their separate ways. Now ten years later it's time for their high school reunion. Jessica isn't looking forward to going as she was the ultimate Mean Girl at their high school and wrecked havoc with everyone. Think Blair from Gossip Girl meets Regina George from Mean Girls and you have Jessica Jackson. Her life though isn't filled with the glamor she had hoped for, and in fact, she is single too. Dreading going back to the reunion especially since she isn't the same girl she was then as she had a Saul/Paul moment. Jessica's friends tell her about this site where they can hire dates for things like reunions. Her friends sign her up, and unbeknownst to them, the site is owned by none other than her ex-boyfriend from High School - Jake Davis. Seeing this as a possible revenge ploy towards Jessica, Jake agrees to go as her date but imagine Jessica's surprise when she notices her date is Jake. As the book goes along, is this second chance at happiness for the pair? Also, we read as maybe coming home for Jessica was the best thing to happen for her to grow as a person and finally stand up to her family especially her mother. What will happen though when Jessica and Jake realize that letting go of the past and past mistakes isn't as easy as it sounds ? Will Jessica and Jake make it through this Reunion weekend together or will their second chance romance be over before it has even begun ?Find out in Book #3 of the Bad Boy Homecoming series "Prom Queen."
    more
  • Timitra
    May 12, 2017
    Prom Queen is a second chance story that is cute, sexy and a bit emotional. I enjoyed it especially the way Jake and Jesse reconnected and the glimpse of Drew and Leah, I'm definitely looking forward to reading their story.ARC won in a contest hosted by author
    more
  • Sarah Wayne
    May 23, 2017
    Prom Queen by Katee Robert was a good second chance novel and the first book I've read by this author. High school reunion books are fairly uncommon for me and I felt that even though the main characters chance encounter was unrealistic I still enjoyed the story all the same. I wish there had been a bit more character building in showing the reader how she's changed since high school instead of just telling us she's a better person but all in all, I enjoyed this read. I appreciate the opportunit Prom Queen by Katee Robert was a good second chance novel and the first book I've read by this author. High school reunion books are fairly uncommon for me and I felt that even though the main characters chance encounter was unrealistic I still enjoyed the story all the same. I wish there had been a bit more character building in showing the reader how she's changed since high school instead of just telling us she's a better person but all in all, I enjoyed this read. I appreciate the opportunity to read the book and Thank Netgalley and the publisher for the ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    June 23, 2017
    I was really excited to read the Bad Boy Homecoming series as it sounded like something totally different - 5 couples; 10 different people, all someone we might identify with back in high school. Katee Robert's Prom Queen was terrific. Jessica and Jake had passion, emotional intensity, banter and kept me hooked from the get go! When high school Mean Girl, Jessica Jackson decided to attend her 10 year high school reunion and go back to the town that she practically burned alive with her mean and I was really excited to read the Bad Boy Homecoming series as it sounded like something totally different - 5 couples; 10 different people, all someone we might identify with back in high school. Katee Robert's Prom Queen was terrific. Jessica and Jake had passion, emotional intensity, banter and kept me hooked from the get go! When high school Mean Girl, Jessica Jackson decided to attend her 10 year high school reunion and go back to the town that she practically burned alive with her mean and cruel behavior, she decides to hire an escort to hide that fact that she is single and not the successful Hollywood A-lister she always said she would be. But what happens when her escort, Jake Davis, is the one man she is trying to avoid - the ex boyfriend she abandoned and left in the dust on her sprint out of town years ago?I really enjoyed this story. I loved that Jessica wasn't afraid to humble herself and seek forgiveness for her crimes against her former classmates and that Jake, while being angry at first, saw that this "new" Jessica was a completely different person than who she used to be. This made for a great story! Bravo! 4 Stars! ~RatulaI would like to thank NetGalley and Barclay Publicity for an advanced copy of this book for an honest review. 
    more
  • Susan (susayq ~)
    June 26, 2017
    What a great way to spend the day as I relax on the river! The prom queen, Jessica, wasn't very nice in high school, but she and the quarterback had everything planned for their future until he got hurt and she left him and their small town behind. Jake never really got over Jessica and hoped to get a little revenge. But when he saw her and realized she wasn't the same girl that left him, he knew that he didn't want revenge, he wanted another chance with her. Will they be able to forgive each ot What a great way to spend the day as I relax on the river! The prom queen, Jessica, wasn't very nice in high school, but she and the quarterback had everything planned for their future until he got hurt and she left him and their small town behind. Jake never really got over Jessica and hoped to get a little revenge. But when he saw her and realized she wasn't the same girl that left him, he knew that he didn't want revenge, he wanted another chance with her. Will they be able to forgive each other and move on or has their time passed?Jessica and Jake were both harboring some guilt over their breakup ten years before and both never really got over the other. Jessica seemed to have changed a whole lot and it was nice to see what it was that had made Jessica be such a brat to others. Kind of gives you some perspective and maybe rethink some things about people you know ;)As always, Katee Robert writes an amazing story with relatable characters. I'm dying to read some of the other stories in this series, especially the one about Leah.*thanks to Barclay PR for sharing a copy of this with me*
    more
  • Books and Boys Book Blog
    June 17, 2017
    ***ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review***Prom Queen, book 3 of the Bad Boy Homecoming series by Katee Robert is a charming second chance romance with a touch of family drama and life of growing up. The chemistry between Jake and Jessica is combustible, magnetic and oh, so real! You feel the heat between them as soon as Jake says Jessica's name... its on!   The chemistry between Jake and Jessica  has been building since they were 10. Through high school as sweethearts and Prom ***ARC provided by Author in exchange for an honest review***Prom Queen, book 3 of the Bad Boy Homecoming series by Katee Robert is a charming second chance romance with a touch of family drama and life of growing up. The chemistry between Jake and Jessica is combustible, magnetic and oh, so real! You feel the heat between them as soon as Jake says Jessica's name... its on!   The chemistry between Jake and Jessica  has been building since they were 10. Through high school as sweethearts and Prom Queen & King.  But after graduation and an unfortunate accident, Jessica leaves Jake behind.   Years later it's high school reunion and Jessica is not where she wants to be in life, with the help of her friends they set her up with a hired date that will bring Jessica's world to a tilt and face her demons/regret/guilt head on. Having his world turned upside down after graduation, Jake finds himself owning his company that provides women with dates for social events.  But the day he sees Jessica's name on his desk searching for a date for their reunion a plan is formed. This story is a fast moving, easy to read, easy to follow enjoyable story that happens over three days, but it works since there is a lot of back history placed in the right spots. Ms. Robert has done an amazing job with details by making this story complete. This wonderful short story deserves 4 STARS.
    more
  • LeeAnne
    June 20, 2017
    Really enjoying this series so far.Jessica was the "Regina George" or her high school and when her friends find out about the upcoming high school reunion she has they demand she attend. Jessica knows showing up alone isn't an option, especially knowing she could run into the love of her life whose heart she broke, so her friends hook her up with an escort service. Jake Davis had his heart broken by Jessica back in high school and has loved her ever since. Now 10 years later he spends his days r Really enjoying this series so far.Jessica was the "Regina George" or her high school and when her friends find out about the upcoming high school reunion she has they demand she attend. Jessica knows showing up alone isn't an option, especially knowing she could run into the love of her life whose heart she broke, so her friends hook her up with an escort service. Jake Davis had his heart broken by Jessica back in high school and has loved her ever since. Now 10 years later he spends his days running his lucrative escort business and think he has his chance at revenge when Jessica's name pops up as needing a day to the reunion. When jake seems how different Jessica is since high school he quickly changes his mind and the old sparks between the two ignite...I like that you can read these in any order and I think that the love story behind this one has been my favorite so far! What I didnt love - While I think the idea of this series written by different authors is awesome I think that the small details are key and I was disappointed that one of the previous books mentioned the lack of name tags at the reunion while this book made a point of mentioning how silly it was to have name tags at a masquerade ball. Also, the entire first half of the book Jessica is dreading the reunion as she was such a "mean girl" in high school, then at the actual reunion there really wasn't much drama and it was almost anti-climatic on that front. Read and reviewed for Wicked Reads.
    more
  • Ayekah
    May 22, 2017
    Yow-za! Katee Roberts always writes a great story and this one was stellar. The best of second chance romance.Best friends since they were 10 Jessica and Jake were high school sweethearts and more. They'd tell you they've been in love since age 10. Jake is a football player and Jess is as she describes herself the class Queen Bitch. She was just flat out mean among other things she did to people just for spite. And don't you dare cross her. Jake was a little full of himself and at 18 they had th Yow-za! Katee Roberts always writes a great story and this one was stellar. The best of second chance romance.Best friends since they were 10 Jessica and Jake were high school sweethearts and more. They'd tell you they've been in love since age 10. Jake is a football player and Jess is as she describes herself the class Queen Bitch. She was just flat out mean among other things she did to people just for spite. And don't you dare cross her. Jake was a little full of himself and at 18 they had their life together planned out. Jake a football scholarship to UCLA and Jessica just to get out their small town of Catfish TX and a dream of becoming an interior designer.The story begins with Jessica now living in California with her two friends on the beach, Jess never got to realize her dreams and in fact hit rock bottom a couple years ago. Saved by her friends she's working and doing better and refuses to acknowledge the invitation to the 10 year class reunion, she doesn't want to face all those people she was so cruel too or Jake. She's never quite gotten over him.She walked out on him when he was laid up in his hospital bed after the accident that put the end to his career dreams. Her roommate Cora who is an attorney comes up with a brilliant idea, rent a date and before Jess can even utter "No" it's done. What the girls don't know is that Jake owns the company based in Dallas. When he gets her paperwork his wheels start turning and he's planning. Deciding he's going to be her date. Jessica has no clue who she's meeting only that they'll pick her up at the airport and they have her photo.When she hears his voice, she freezes. The story takes off from there, the two of them mending old hurts, layer upon layer of apologies and her witch on a broom Mother who's most of the reason Jessica was the way she was and despite therapy reverts back a little to her younger years listening to her mothers' bitter tongue and not a pleasant kind word passes this woman's lips toward her daughter.Jake and Jess enjoy their time together. When the big night arrives it does so with some expected nonsense and then Jessica is blindsided by what is now her brothers girlfriend. Her high school nemesis. She talked to him right before leaving for the reunion and knew he was hiding something, but this was the ultimate.... no wait, not the ultimate because she gets smacked down again when the girlfriend opens her mouth about something Jake should have told her and did, he planned on it. Wanting to do the right thing, she apologizes for what she did to Leah in highschool and then walks out. Jake is calling to her.... she just keeps walking. You have to read the book to get to see what happens, all the little nuances and who is who. They play a part in the storyline.This is book 3 in the upcoming Bad Boy Homecoming series, each written by a different author about a different couple and their issues.I love Katee Roberts, she did this book justice. The book kept my attention, steamy enough in the right parts and emotional enough in others. This is going to be a must read series.**arc from NetGalley and publisher in exchange for a fair review**
    more
  • Megan
    June 17, 2017
    I was interested in this whole continuity, even though I've only read 2 of the 5 authors before. Katee Robert is one, and while I really enjoyed this novella, I didn't love it. This is apparently book 3 of 5, but they're all supposed to be self-contained. I really loved the back story and the build up, but I felt it was all resolved a little too quickly, and I felt the strong need for an epilogue, which we didn't get. I'll give it 3 1/2 stars. Jessica Jackson is from a small town in Texas, and s I was interested in this whole continuity, even though I've only read 2 of the 5 authors before. Katee Robert is one, and while I really enjoyed this novella, I didn't love it. This is apparently book 3 of 5, but they're all supposed to be self-contained. I really loved the back story and the build up, but I felt it was all resolved a little too quickly, and I felt the strong need for an epilogue, which we didn't get. I'll give it 3 1/2 stars. Jessica Jackson is from a small town in Texas, and she was the queen bee bitch in high school. She was the Regina George of her senior class, and as a 28-year-old adult, on the cusp of her 10 year high school reunion, she knows it's time to face up to it. She has many apologies to make, especially to her life long friend, and high school first love, Jake Davis. She left him and split town for L.A. after graduation, and she hasn't been back. She has been in therapy and realizes what her issues are, and why she was so mean to everyone, but she knows it's time to pay the piper. She just knows she can't do it alone. So, her best friends/roommates convince her to hire a date for the weekend to attend the reunion with her. Best laid plans...Jake Davis had big college football dreams, that were all derailed after a car accident late senior year left him with a shoulder injury he couldn't come back from. It also left him without the love of his life, when Jessie dumped him and left town. He was so mad at her, and frustrated with his situation, that he never really dealt with all of it properly. He started his business, Diamond Dates, and has many guys working for him. When he sees Jessie's application come through, he knows he can't relegate this off to another employee. He decides to get a little payback, and to act as Jessie's date for the reunion to mess with her. But, he had no idea the impact she would still have on him, or how it would feel to be with her again. Jessie and Jake had A LOT of issues to work through. What she did to him was terrible, and she doesn't know if she can trust him when he says he forgives her. She's constantly waiting for the other shoe to drop. Meanwhile, she has to deal with her mega Mommy issues blasting out since she's back home. Her mom is a piece of work, and it was hard to watch how she acts toward Jessica. It's easy to see how those issues turned into her taking out all her anger on other kids at school, though it doesn't excuse it. Jessie was a bully, and she never had to deal with any repercussions of that. Jake and Jessica's chemistry was strong from the start, and you could see how much they were still drawn to each other. But, secrets and old grudges make it hard to let the past rest. I really liked how they dealt with their issues, but by the end, it all felt a little rushed to me. Also, as a lover of epilogues, I really would have enjoyed one here. Hopefully once I've read the entire series, I'll feel a bit better about it, but I really think it would have enhanced the story. Overall, I did like this story, and I'm glad I read it. I'm looking forward to the rest of the series. ARC provided by Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Megan from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Monique Daoust
    June 21, 2017
    PROM QUEEN is a triumph, and Katee Robert again demonstrates what an amazing writer she is with this unforgettable story. Katee Robert and mean girls? I was sold even without having read the blurb in its entirety. Few authors write larger than life characters better than Ms. Robert, and the least I can say is that she did not disappoint. Jessica Jackson was the meanest of the mean girls in high school, she always thought she was better than everyone else, but the years she spent later on in LA t PROM QUEEN is a triumph, and Katee Robert again demonstrates what an amazing writer she is with this unforgettable story. Katee Robert and mean girls? I was sold even without having read the blurb in its entirety. Few authors write larger than life characters better than Ms. Robert, and the least I can say is that she did not disappoint. Jessica Jackson was the meanest of the mean girls in high school, she always thought she was better than everyone else, but the years she spent later on in LA took her down several notches. It’s now her high school ten-year reunion, and she doesn’t want to go, she doesn’t want to face all the people she realised she hurt all those years ago. Karma has a way of getting back to you, doesn’t it? Her friends Brooklyn and Cora convince Jessica to go, but she doesn’t even have a date, so they procured her one from the Diamond Dates website. What they don’t know is the owner of the company is Jake Davis, whom Jessica loved and dumped when his football career came to an abrupt end. Jake, having access to the data, finagled himself as Jessica’s date. While he doesn’t want to humiliate her, a little revenge won’t hurt.Prom Queen was not at all what I expected, and it is fantastic. Katee Robert’s skills at character building and development border on genius, and never has it been more obvious than here. Jake and Jessica are exceptionally well fleshed out, there is so much more than I anticipated behind the surface. Watching Jake and Jessica, individually and together, is positively riveting, how their present evolves, how their past defines them, and even though they want to, they have no idea how they could possibly recapture the love that was once theirs.Prom Queen is a powerful, emotional, intense, gripping, and mesmerizing story that put me through the wringer, and I wouldn’t change a word of this amazing story. The sex scenes are also desperately erotic. PROM QUEEN is a magnificent story, which demonstrates Katee Robert’s staggering storytelling skills, as well as her astonishing writing, which might be her best to date. PROM QUEEN is a triumph, and Katee Robert again demonstrates what an amazing writer she is with this unforgettable story.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced reader copy of this book. See my review on: https://straightshootinbookreviews.co...
    more
  • Kim
    June 20, 2017
    Prom Queen is all about second chances. Jessica Jackson, once the prom queen and class mean-girl at Catfish Creek High, reluctantly agrees to attend her 10 year class reunion to make amends to all those she wronged before leaving town after graduation. That includes Jake, the longtime boyfriend she left behind when his promising future was sidelined.Naturally things don't go well or as expected. Mostly because of the inspired, slightly devious way Jessica and Jake are reunited. (Insert author's Prom Queen is all about second chances. Jessica Jackson, once the prom queen and class mean-girl at Catfish Creek High, reluctantly agrees to attend her 10 year class reunion to make amends to all those she wronged before leaving town after graduation. That includes Jake, the longtime boyfriend she left behind when his promising future was sidelined.Naturally things don't go well or as expected. Mostly because of the inspired, slightly devious way Jessica and Jake are reunited. (Insert author's satisfied smirk here.) All goes downhill from there, but it's worth suffering the hateful behavior of her former classmates and family to witness she and Jake get their HEA. There aren't many flashbacks of Jessica in mean-girl action, so it's hard to imagine her in that role. The author usually pens strong, confident heroines. Having one so unsure of herself is a bit unnerving, and I'm still not quite sure how I feel about that. Jake himself isn't the arrogant hero Robert is known for, so he and Jessica are pretty evenly matched.I love the premise of this connected series. It's unique, intriguing, and leaves room for all manner of twists and turns. Prom Queen is an enjoyable read, even if it does bring back high school memories best forgotten. It has appearances by at least three main characters from two of the other books, which makes me anxious to discover their stories. I've pre-ordered and am waiting for release day. I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.3.75 stars
    more
  • Carla
    June 27, 2017
    I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book, given by Netgalley.http://thesecretworldofbooklovers.blo...Second book I read on this series and they keep getting better!This is Jake and Jessica's story and like the last book they had something happen in the past that destroyed their relationship, but the Reunion has put them back in the same path and there's no way they can avoid each other now.Jake's motives weren't pure at first, he acted as if he wanted revenge, but after he sees I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book, given by Netgalley.http://thesecretworldofbooklovers.blo...Second book I read on this series and they keep getting better!This is Jake and Jessica's story and like the last book they had something happen in the past that destroyed their relationship, but the Reunion has put them back in the same path and there's no way they can avoid each other now.Jake's motives weren't pure at first, he acted as if he wanted revenge, but after he sees her everything changes, he realizes that she is not the same girl he once knew, and he also knows there is no way he can stay away from her.Jessica appeared to be a mean girl back in the day, and we definitely don't like her type, but as the story develops we understand that maybe she was acting out because she was hurting. She is a different person now and she is scared to death of facing all the people she wronged, although the one thing that scares her the most might be unavoidable for her.Getting in touch with old feelings is a hard thing to do, and it's worse if those feelings were never quite gone to begin with. We get to see these two characters get reacquainted and find out that true love withstands time and there are a few things it can't forgive.The reunion will reveal all of their secrets, and once their facades are dropped they will have to make the choice of running or going all in.Amazing!
    more
  • Sarah
    June 25, 2017
    I was given a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. This is a cute second chance romance. When the prom queen accidentally hires her prom king to be her date for their high school reunion, the two former lovers spend the reunion weekend working through the feelings they still have for each other. The result is a novella full of angst and heat.I really enjoyed Jake. Dumped brutally by his high school love, he has enough of a sense of humour to thoroughly enjoy Jessica’s reaction I was given a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads. This is a cute second chance romance. When the prom queen accidentally hires her prom king to be her date for their high school reunion, the two former lovers spend the reunion weekend working through the feelings they still have for each other. The result is a novella full of angst and heat.I really enjoyed Jake. Dumped brutally by his high school love, he has enough of a sense of humour to thoroughly enjoy Jessica’s reaction when she realises she has hired him as her escort. But he is also sensitive enough to spare her public humiliation and humble enough to refrain from rubbing her nose in his wealth and success. He is a good guy, a charming and attractive guy but he’s maybe a little bland and a little too...nice.I found Jessica more difficult to engage with. A reformed mean girl, she admits at one point that she made Regina George look nice in high school. She spends the book telling us that she’s a new, nicer person but as soon as she’s back with her schoolmates she whips out nasty barbed comments. Insights into her homelife make her somewhat sympathetic but I struggled to relate to her or even like her at times. The heat between Jessica and Jake is great and I liked the way they dealt with their past baggage without too much angst. But somehow, I think I was supposed to enjoy this more than I did. It might be the novella format that doesn’t allow for detailed character development or it might just be that Jessie and Jake’s relationship still feels kinda high school when they are both supposed to be grown adults. For me, the ending was too easy and the whole story wrapped up just a little bit too neatly
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    June 17, 2017
    Back in the day Jessica Jackson wasn't the best person, she was going places and those around her were not going to hold her back. She burnt a lot of bridges back then, made a lot of enemies, and looking back at it all now she is not proud of her actions. With her impending reunion she knows the right thing to do is return home and make her appearance, being the Prom Queen and all, but she is certain that no one will be happy to see her there. Her life didn't turn out as planned, and she hasn't Back in the day Jessica Jackson wasn't the best person, she was going places and those around her were not going to hold her back. She burnt a lot of bridges back then, made a lot of enemies, and looking back at it all now she is not proud of her actions. With her impending reunion she knows the right thing to do is return home and make her appearance, being the Prom Queen and all, but she is certain that no one will be happy to see her there. Her life didn't turn out as planned, and she hasn't really accomplished all the things she set out to do, she doesn't even have a date that she can bring home to show off, so her friends suggest she hire one. So, she reluctantly takes their advice, thinking a date can take some of the heat off her, but when her date shows up at the airport to pick her up she gets the surprise of her life... it's her ex-boyfriend... the one she left behind!Ten years ago Jake Davis watched the love of his life walk away and never look back, all the promises she made going along with her, as well as the future they planned. She wanted to make a name for herself on the big screen, and so sticking around town wasn't going to help her do that so she just walked away. He has since then moved on, going into business for himself, a business that helps women out with dates for special occasions, and when an application from his latest client lands on his desk he gets the surprise of his life... it's his ex-girlfriend in need of a date for their reunion. No way is he passing this one off to his employees, he's going to handle this one himself.I really enjoyed this book, the story line captured my attention right away, and held on tight the whole way through. Jake stole my heart, I am a sucker for alpha male characters who are protective and willing to do what it takes to win the girl...and he totally won this girl! It was a great second chance romance story that warmed my heart and gave me the feels, I highly recommend this one!!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Riki
    June 25, 2017
    I loved this book! In high school, Jessica was the girl that everyone wishes they could be, yet hates at the same time. She was the Queen Bee and generally pretty bitchy to just about everyone she knew, so the idea of going home for her ten year high school reunion doesn't thrill her. Except for the idea that she'll see her old boyfriend, Jake. When he shows up to the airport as her hired "date," Jessica is floored, and the sparks fly.I loved how emotional this book was, and how the author showe I loved this book! In high school, Jessica was the girl that everyone wishes they could be, yet hates at the same time. She was the Queen Bee and generally pretty bitchy to just about everyone she knew, so the idea of going home for her ten year high school reunion doesn't thrill her. Except for the idea that she'll see her old boyfriend, Jake. When he shows up to the airport as her hired "date," Jessica is floored, and the sparks fly.I loved how emotional this book was, and how the author showed how Jessica had matured and grown into a woman who no longer needs to step on others to get ahead, but instead has found her own voice and a place in the world where she might be able to let love in. Her past has always haunted her, and the way she left things with Jake left him brokenhearted, and I love,love, loved their second chance at a happy ever after.Jake is determined to win Jessica over, despite his initial inclination to make her pay for the way she left things, and the swoony things he does to make her realize she is the one left me breathless.Yes, this book is emotional, but it's also sexy as can be, and the chemistry between Jessica and Jake is evident from every little moment that passes between them. Every look, every touch, and yes- every time they are intimate. This was the first book in the Bad Boy Homecoming series that I read, and I"m excited to keep going and meet the others in the town of Catfish Creek! 
    more
  • Ruthie Taylor
    June 28, 2017
    ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is one of a series of books with the same theme, but by different authors. I read them out of order, but it definitely didn't matter, as nothing important is revealed about any other story-line. There is quite a shift in this book as the lead, Jessica was the school mean girl, and she knows that going back will be a challenge, and yet her friends persuade her that she needs to put some of that time behind her. When ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is one of a series of books with the same theme, but by different authors. I read them out of order, but it definitely didn't matter, as nothing important is revealed about any other story-line. There is quite a shift in this book as the lead, Jessica was the school mean girl, and she knows that going back will be a challenge, and yet her friends persuade her that she needs to put some of that time behind her. When we se her at her parents' house, it is not difficult to understand just how and why she became such a student. Luckily Jake has the patience and desire to know the real Jessie, and watching it all come together is very enjoyable. There are some fun moments, and some pretty sad ones, but Ms Robert is adept at ensuring we are cheering for the pair, and giving us the result we need! Engaging story; I have enjoyed all I have read so far of this series.
    more
  • Avid Reader
    June 23, 2017
    Prom Queen (Bad Boy Homecoming #3) by Katee Robert4 starsM/F RomanceI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Jessica and Jake were the couple to be in high school. However, when Jake is injured and Jessica takes a look at where her life is going - she bolts, leaving Jake heart broken and angry.Skip ahead to their 10 year reunion. Jessica has a decent job but is not where she thought she'd be. Despite having AMAZING friends, she is hesitant to attend the reunion because of how h Prom Queen (Bad Boy Homecoming #3) by Katee Robert4 starsM/F RomanceI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Jessica and Jake were the couple to be in high school. However, when Jake is injured and Jessica takes a look at where her life is going - she bolts, leaving Jake heart broken and angry.Skip ahead to their 10 year reunion. Jessica has a decent job but is not where she thought she'd be. Despite having AMAZING friends, she is hesitant to attend the reunion because of how horrible she was in high school. She was the queen bee and made everyone else feel little. Jake went on with his life, but he never really forgave Jessica for breaking his heart. They had plans and when he was injured, those plans halted. When he has a chance for a little revenge, he takes it. His new business venture is one where people can hire escorts for weddings, reunions, etc. Any place where people need a date. When Jake and Jessica come back to their high school reunion, Jessica is plopped right back in to her horrible family life. Jessica has a mom who constantly belittles her and a father who is a serial cheater and doesn't really bother to be engaged in their family. Jake knows that it was bad in high school, but I don't think that he really understood how bad her home life was.Jake and Jessica need to decide if forgiveness is deserved. Hurt feelings come to light, new hurts create angst and you can really see how Jake and Jessica work through their past and leap towards their future.
    more
  • Sandi Ramirez
    June 29, 2017
    Really good read. Love this SeriesEveryone remembers that girl in high school ...the one who thought she was better than all. The cheerleader, prom queen, homecoming queen,...mean girl. Fast forward ten years to the reunion is she still that way? Or has she had a change of heart? Maybe you wondered why she acted like that.Jessica and Jake..,,the golden couple star football player and homecoming queen...dated throughout high school...expected to marry but they didn't. Come find out why and if the Really good read. Love this SeriesEveryone remembers that girl in high school ...the one who thought she was better than all. The cheerleader, prom queen, homecoming queen,...mean girl. Fast forward ten years to the reunion is she still that way? Or has she had a change of heart? Maybe you wondered why she acted like that.Jessica and Jake..,,the golden couple star football player and homecoming queen...dated throughout high school...expected to marry but they didn't. Come find out why and if their second chance is actually that. I really enjoyed this look back into high school life. Memories it stirred up that were long buried. I highly suggest reading them in the order Carrie Ann Ryan gave us Dropout, Honor, Trouble, Rock Star and ending with Prom Queen.Then of course start over again.
    more
  • Brandy Thornton
    June 16, 2017
    I love second chance romances. And I love them more when the couple never got over the other. That's what Jessica and Jake's story is. It's also about forgiveness and setting things right. And it is also in Jessica's case a chance to finally stand up to and connect with her mother. I have no idea what it's like to be the mean girl in high school. But I do know what it's like to be on the receiving end. And I give Jess credit for wanting to go back and right some wrongs. Even if it meant still be I love second chance romances. And I love them more when the couple never got over the other. That's what Jessica and Jake's story is. It's also about forgiveness and setting things right. And it is also in Jessica's case a chance to finally stand up to and connect with her mother. I have no idea what it's like to be the mean girl in high school. But I do know what it's like to be on the receiving end. And I give Jess credit for wanting to go back and right some wrongs. Even if it meant still being a bitch to a few people who I thought deserved it. And I seriously need to find Jakes company. I wouldn't mind watching a hot guy clean my house in a speedo lol. I really loved how this story played out and came together. I know it's a part of a series with other authors but can be read as a standalone. But I do believe I will be reading all five books in this series. So what to see how the reunion plays out as a whole.Arc provided by publisher in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • JG ~ Jezabell Girl & Friends
    June 4, 2017
    This was a nice, short story based on a second-chance romance. The characters were endearing and despite their previous breakup, were able to reconnect quickly on a physical level after being reunited, in an unusual way, for a school reunion. There were elements of drama in the story as the characters initially fought their rekindled feelings but overall the story was just too short and too simple to get my teeth into in order to fully enjoy it. The concept was good but it just left me wanting m This was a nice, short story based on a second-chance romance. The characters were endearing and despite their previous breakup, were able to reconnect quickly on a physical level after being reunited, in an unusual way, for a school reunion. There were elements of drama in the story as the characters initially fought their rekindled feelings but overall the story was just too short and too simple to get my teeth into in order to fully enjoy it. The concept was good but it just left me wanting more from start to finish. This ebook was kindly provided by the author, publisher and Netgalley prior to release date in return for an honest and unbiased review. We are proud to provide honest and unbiased reviews written from the heart. Email: [email protected]: http://jezabellgirlandfriends.com Facebook: http://facebook.com/jezabellgirlandfr... Twitter: http://twitter.com/Jezabell_girl Tumblr: https://www.tumblr.com/blog/jezabellg... Google+: http://google.com/+JezabellGirl Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/JezabellGirl Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/jezabell_girl
    more
  • Julie
    May 25, 2017
    A great second chance story that's sweet, very hot plus tugs at your heart strings.Jesse needs a date for her high school reunion, she's not looking forward to it, she used to be the mean the girl but she lets her friend set her up with a fake date.Jake had a promising future a head of him until he injured his leg in college, he lost a career and his girl. Now he owns a company that provides women with dates for special occasions and events. Jessie used to be his girl, little does she know that A great second chance story that's sweet, very hot plus tugs at your heart strings.Jesse needs a date for her high school reunion, she's not looking forward to it, she used to be the mean the girl but she lets her friend set her up with a fake date.Jake had a promising future a head of him until he injured his leg in college, he lost a career and his girl. Now he owns a company that provides women with dates for special occasions and events. Jessie used to be his girl, little does she know that he will be her date once.The sparks fly when Jesse realizes who's waiting for her, and Jake takes great pleasure out of Jessie's discomfort, great bantering matches going on between them. This was only a short story but still a great one, I highly recommend it!
    more
  • Amber
    June 26, 2017
    Jessie has her 10 year high school reunion coming up. She's not married, or dating anyone and she was a bully in high school. So to at least give her a leg up, her friend hires a date for her to bring and pretend he's her boyfriend. Imagine her surprise when her high school ex is her hired date.Jake sees Jessie's application for a date and decides he needs to get reacquainted with his ex. Plus find out why she's applying for a date rather than bringing a boyfriend or husband to their reunion. Ad Jessie has her 10 year high school reunion coming up. She's not married, or dating anyone and she was a bully in high school. So to at least give her a leg up, her friend hires a date for her to bring and pretend he's her boyfriend. Imagine her surprise when her high school ex is her hired date.Jake sees Jessie's application for a date and decides he needs to get reacquainted with his ex. Plus find out why she's applying for a date rather than bringing a boyfriend or husband to their reunion. Add in Jessie's helicopter mom constantly critiquing her and Jessie seeing all these people whose lives she made hell. And then her ex is her date. A good story about a second chance romance.
    more
  • nick
    June 7, 2017
    3.5/5I can always expect Katee Robert to deliver sexy, and fun romances with her stories. I was particularly intrigued by Prom Queen because it not only featured a second-chance romance, but it told the story of a former mean girl. That’s not the kind of heroine that you normally see in romance novels, so I was looking forward to seeing how Katee Robert would work with that. I thought she did a really nice job, and I had fun reading Prom Queen.Even though Jessica was a mean girl in high school, 3.5/5I can always expect Katee Robert to deliver sexy, and fun romances with her stories. I was particularly intrigued by Prom Queen because it not only featured a second-chance romance, but it told the story of a former mean girl. That’s not the kind of heroine that you normally see in romance novels, so I was looking forward to seeing how Katee Robert would work with that. I thought she did a really nice job, and I had fun reading Prom Queen.Even though Jessica was a mean girl in high school, often tormenting her classmates, she’s reformed now. You can tell that the guilt of her past actions was slowly eating away at her, and she regrets her behavior. Throughout most of Prom Queen, she was very vulnerable, and still struggling with her guilt, but by the end she grows to accept her most and to move on from it. I do wish we had had more flashback scenes showing Jessica in her mean-girl days, because we’re only told about how she was a mean girl. I think it would have made her growth more believable had we seen those flashback scenes. Although I wasn’t fully convinced of Jessica’s character, I was full-on swooning over her love interest, Jake. What a great guy. He goes in to the reunion fully expecting to exact his revenge, but he’s just not the revenge type of guy. Despite how deeply Jessica hurt him by leaving, he was a complete sweetheart to her. He totally had his alpha side to him too, but not in an overbearing way. He was protective, sexy, and a truly amazing love interest.The second chance romance was also one of my favorite parts of the story. Katee Robert knows how to pen a good, achy romance that makes you feel all the feels and she did exactly that with Prom Queen. There’s a lot of hurt between Jessica and Jake, and though they dive into their sexual chemistry fairly quickly, they don’t fully become emotionally attached until they’ve had a conversation about their hurt feelings. I really did love the two of them together, especially with how accepting and forgiving Jake was towards Jessica. He could have easily tormented her further, but he’s just not that kind of guy. I thought Jake and Jessica were very much of a complementary couple, in that they fit well together, and helped each other be better versions of their selves. As always, Katee writes seriously steamy sexy times scenes that had me fanning myself!All in all, Prom Queen was a really good book that I found myself devouring. If you haven’t read any of Katee’s books, then you need to change that ASAP, especially if you enjoy sultry romances and couples that work well together. Katee Robert is a queen of romance!
    more
  • Lisa
    June 9, 2017
    3.5 starsThat was fun! And I didn't expect this to be emotional too, I shed quite a few tears. Anyway, I love Jessica from the start; wouldn't have pegged her for a Mean Girl, tbh. We didn't really get a flashback on her supposed meanness in high school, except for a quickfire exchange on reunion night where we got a glimpse of the girl she used to be. Overall, it's a short and sweet second chance romance, and I'm really intrigued about the thing going on between Drew and Leah so I guess I'll be 3.5 starsThat was fun! And I didn't expect this to be emotional too, I shed quite a few tears. Anyway, I love Jessica from the start; wouldn't have pegged her for a Mean Girl, tbh. We didn't really get a flashback on her supposed meanness in high school, except for a quickfire exchange on reunion night where we got a glimpse of the girl she used to be. Overall, it's a short and sweet second chance romance, and I'm really intrigued about the thing going on between Drew and Leah so I guess I'll be watching out for that one next.E-ARC is received thanks to the publisher via Netgalley.
    more
  • Kim C.
    May 25, 2017
    Quick second-chance love novella. While the story was short, I felt a lot of history and backstory was effortlessly packed in giving the reader a well rounded view of their past and present relationship. I loved the way they remembered and knew each other's quirks, likes, and dislikes. 10 years didn't dim their attraction at all. Looking forward to the others in this series!**ARC generously provided by Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.**
    more
Write a review