Knit One, Girl Two
Small-batch independent yarn dyer Clara Ziegler is eager to brainstorm new color combinations--if only she could come up with ideas she likes as much as last time! When she sees Danielle Solomon's paintings of Florida wildlife by chance at a neighborhood gallery, she finds her source of inspiration. Outspoken, passionate, and complicated, Danielle herself soon proves even more captivating than her artwork...Fluffy Jewish f/f contemporary set in the author's childhood home of South Florida

Knit One, Girl Two Details

TitleKnit One, Girl Two
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 1st, 2017
Number of pages68 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Glbt, Fiction, Queer, Art

Knit One, Girl Two Review

  • Xan West
    May 6, 2017
    I heart this adorable f/f romance so much. It's sweet like my favorite rugelach, and the pace felt exactly right to me. I love how deeply Jewish it is, and all the details about art and yarn, and the kitty. The zaftig MC Danielle is exactly who I would fall for, too. And I really liked the way the characters are connected to community, liked the way they joke with each other, share a fandom. it just feels so...cozy. Exactly the comfort read I needed today. The first kiss moment was super swoony I heart this adorable f/f romance so much. It's sweet like my favorite rugelach, and the pace felt exactly right to me. I love how deeply Jewish it is, and all the details about art and yarn, and the kitty. The zaftig MC Danielle is exactly who I would fall for, too. And I really liked the way the characters are connected to community, liked the way they joke with each other, share a fandom. it just feels so...cozy. Exactly the comfort read I needed today. The first kiss moment was super swoony for me as a fat activist. Loved it. It feels whole as it is, but I would totally read a longer book about these two.
    more
  • Chasia Lloyd
    May 7, 2017
    ***e-ARC provided by the author***This was such an adorable novella! A perfectly safe, comforting feel-good f/f piece featuring two Jewish women. There is so much love for knitting, fandom, colors, cats with attitudes, and the occasional pun. It's nerdy, it's sweet, it's funny. I think I grinned almost the whole time watching Clara and Danielle bond with each other.Plus - have you seen the title? Have you seen the cover? Perfect!
    more
  • M. Hollis
    May 3, 2017
    I'm so grateful that I got the chance to read an early copy!!This is an adorable novelette about two Jewish girls bonding over fanfiction and fanart *swoons*. It's full of everything I love to read in F/F stories. I'm sure people are going to adore this one. Shira is a wonderful and clever writer and everything she writes includes female characters that are so relatable and funny. I could read about Clara and Danielle for a long time and I miss them already.
    more
  • Ceillie
    May 22, 2017
    This was short, sweet, artsy and adorable. My only complaint is that I don't get more of these characters!
  • RoAnna Sylver
    May 5, 2017
    "If I'm stuck on my planet," Danielle pointed out, "I'm gonna plant flowers there."* * *So good.So adorable. So honest and at times raw. So healing.This is a short-but-Very-sweet novelette about precious, creative, clever girls growing closer and bonding over art, yarn nerdery, and healing past traumas. So, like, everything I love in a book, even if I don't know the first thing about yarn or yarn accessories - but the writer clearly does/has done the research. And the romance is so good that eve "If I'm stuck on my planet," Danielle pointed out, "I'm gonna plant flowers there."* * *So good.So adorable. So honest and at times raw. So healing.This is a short-but-Very-sweet novelette about precious, creative, clever girls growing closer and bonding over art, yarn nerdery, and healing past traumas. So, like, everything I love in a book, even if I don't know the first thing about yarn or yarn accessories - but the writer clearly does/has done the research. And the romance is so good that even the yarn-uninitiated like me can get a lot of enjoyment out of it.The narration is light and quick, and the interactions are natural and endearing, with the whole thing paced so well that you could probably get through this in an hour or so even if it were longer. (I did in one sitting, wasn't able to stop.) Also, there is a tuxedo cat named after the Phantom of the Opera, so 5 stars are basically assured here. And the title is a pun. I had no chance.Highly recommended. So very much. If you want a little bit of warmth, catharsis, and a lot of warm fuzzies, please pick this up. It feels like a sweater right out of the dryer, knit with a lot of love.
    more
  • Aoife
    May 23, 2017
    This review can also be found on my blogClara didn’t know what to say, but she also knew not every silence had to be filled. Sometimes the white spots, those left undyed and natural, were integral to the beauty of a colorway.Somehow the best way to describe this book is, by what it’s not. Because it’s sweet and quirky but not in the way of some books where everything and everybody is just sweet and quirky but has no depth beyond that. It’s also not one of those novellas where I felt that it woul This review can also be found on my blogClara didn’t know what to say, but she also knew not every silence had to be filled. Sometimes the white spots, those left undyed and natural, were integral to the beauty of a colorway.Somehow the best way to describe this book is, by what it’s not. Because it’s sweet and quirky but not in the way of some books where everything and everybody is just sweet and quirky but has no depth beyond that. It’s also not one of those novellas where I felt that it would have needed more pages. Don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t have minded spending more time with Clara and Danielle, but their story didn’t need more space. Since it was only about the development of their relationship there were no sideplots that felt rushed. It was also not one of these books that promise knitting on the cover but then desperately also try to appeal to a non-knitting audience by only occasionally mentioning the most basic knitting terms. (Yes I’m side-eying some knitting-mysteries here…) Now I’m not saying that non-knitters won’t enjoy the story. It’s not just about knitting, but knitting is an important part of the story and if you’ve only ever seen yarn in the form of the socks you got from grandma for Christmas, a few things might confuse you a bit.Overall a very charming read and I want to check out some of the author’s longer works.
    more
  • Raven
    May 25, 2017
    Super cute!! Not a heavy read by any means, and their relationship was just so realistic! As a bi girl myself, so many elements reminded me of my own experiences. I loved seeing their relationship develop and all the little jokes they shared :)
  • Andy
    May 25, 2017
    I totally read this while knitting a sock during a break at work. 😊 It's a sweet and funny romance (there are puns!), nicely balanced with emotional depth. In fact I would love to see this expanded to explore the family dynamics a bit more. I thought it ended a bit abruptly, but otherwise it's lovely, especially for knitters (she name-checks Franklin Habit!)
    more
  • Heather Henkel
    May 26, 2017
    Great storyI enjoyed this story and loved the knitting and yarn theme in the book. I felt it could have used perhaps another chapter at the end.
  • Clara
    May 22, 2017
    This is a quick, adorable comfort-read which gave me inspiration for my knitting and made me want to pick up watercolour painting again. And sewing with fabric that has sheep on it. and maybe hand-dyeing yarn.I read this on the plane on my way from Marseille back home to Scotland and it was the perfect read to make that Southern warmth last a little bit longer! Both protagonists are really sweet, but have depth and issues and things that they work through over the course of the story. I was real This is a quick, adorable comfort-read which gave me inspiration for my knitting and made me want to pick up watercolour painting again. And sewing with fabric that has sheep on it. and maybe hand-dyeing yarn.I read this on the plane on my way from Marseille back home to Scotland and it was the perfect read to make that Southern warmth last a little bit longer! Both protagonists are really sweet, but have depth and issues and things that they work through over the course of the story. I was really happy that the only point where miscommunication happens is because the characters are respecting each others' boundaries. As someone for whom mutual respect is paramount even in my fictional ships, I really appreciated this. Clara and Danielle are adorable and always careful to be respectful without ever being a frustration for the reader.I also really liked how true-to-life this is - the scene at the LGBTQIA+ knitting club really connected with me and reminded me of scenes from my own life. The enthusiasm about crafts and art and fandom and getting started on new projects really made me smile in recognition as I read through the story. I also really wanted to go to my local yarn shop, squish all the merino and indulge in a few skeins of hand-dyed sock yarn!My one reproach for this was that it was a little short - I would have absolutely loved to linger in Clara & Danielle's warm and cosy world for a little bit longer, and seen a little bit more of their inner workings and how their feelings towards each other might grow. But it only means I'll be looking forward to more from Shira in the future!
    more
  • marisa.
    May 23, 2017
    this is a perfect summer read.clara is an independent yarn dyer who happens upon danielle's artwork one day in a local gallery. when danielle accepts her offer of using the paintings as inspiration for her upcoming sock club, the two start getting closer and learning more about each other.i'm not a fan of geek culture and tumblr in-references, and it could have used a little polishing, but you know what? this made me feel all giddy and happy which is all i want from a book like this. the world c this is a perfect summer read.clara is an independent yarn dyer who happens upon danielle's artwork one day in a local gallery. when danielle accepts her offer of using the paintings as inspiration for her upcoming sock club, the two start getting closer and learning more about each other.i'm not a fan of geek culture and tumblr in-references, and it could have used a little polishing, but you know what? this made me feel all giddy and happy which is all i want from a book like this. the world can always use more fluffy f/f fiction.
    more
  • lielabell
    May 23, 2017
    I really loved the concept of this book. I loved the two romantic leads. I loved all the cultural tie ins and that they both are fangirls who read fanfic and produce fan related works. That was awesome. But... well. The writing was just not up to snuff. Transitions were clunky and the whole thing felt a bit amateurish. Which is a shame, because otherwise this book had all the elements I wanted in a f/f romance.
    more
  • R Raifsnider
    May 22, 2017
    This was so adorable, I loved it so much! It was fluffy and a very fast read, which I really appreciated after reading a pretty long book. I thought the pacing was good, sometimes short stories feel a little rushed, but this one did not. I really liked Clara and Danielle, they were super cute and geeky about art and knitting and their shared fandom. I would definitely read another book with them if the author ever wrote it.
    more
  • Emmalynn Spark
    May 22, 2017
    Really sweet short lesiban romance novel. Clara is a knitter who hand dyes wool and wants to base her next wools on the work of a local artist. A local artist who is very nice to look at. The characters are cute and the whole thing feels really sweet and soft. I liked the little fandom elements in the plot. A really lovely story.
    more
  • Elizabeth Barone
    May 26, 2017
    So very adorable This was the first Shira Glassman piece I've ever read but it sure won't be the last. Glassman's characters are vivid and real; they're like good friends painted onto the page. I loved the banter and dialogue. Several parts had me laughing out loud. This was a nice light read about wlw just living their lives. LOVED.
    more
  • Stacy
    May 25, 2017
    Adorable story. Indie yarn dyer + f/f romance = Happy Stacy. There's even the "I don't have the patience to knit" that every knitter hears from non-knitters, and the perfect explanation for why that makes no sense.If you're a yarny person and/or a lover of sweet f/f stories, pick up this little gem.
    more
  • Anna Brook
    May 22, 2017
    I will write a longer review when I have time, but I wanted to put out there how much I loved this book. Fun and fluffy wlw with heart, and quotable lines galore. Another great read from Shira Glassman!
  • Anna
    May 27, 2017
    This adorable little story was exactly what I was looking for tonight. Shira handles aspects of sexuality, identity, and family thoughtfully and gently while giving her protagonists a sweet, satisfying romance.
  • Laura
    May 22, 2017
    This was adorable and beautiful and so much of it spoke to me, and now I want to see whether I can find such a sock club here as well
  • Victoria
    May 24, 2017
    Exactly what you needEvery once in a while you need a fluffy beautiful story about two cute Jewish artists and this one delivers. I just loved it.
  • Amanda
    May 22, 2017
    Sweet, quick read that was much needed this week.
  • Felicia
    May 25, 2017
    I absolutely loved it! It was so cute and upbeat. The lines were snappy and fun. My crops are watered, my skin is clear, and I need more wlw books in my life like this.
  • Phoebe (phoebzreadz)
    May 23, 2017
    Wow, this novella made for the most delightful Wednesday morning! I'm in love.Plus, it's #ownvoices!!
Write a review