Elemental Mating (A.L.F.A., #1)
Their existence was a secret the government stumbled upon. In exchange for continued autonomy, the paranormals entered an alliance with the government. Now they are A.L.F.A.: Alpha League Federal Agency, sworn to protect and serve humanity.Brilliant scientist Melinda Caster has discovered a new strain of the Zika virus that stimulates synaptic growth in embryos, causing neuron development beyond normal human levels. Way beyond, like ESP-levels of cognitive abilities. When the lab is broken into, Melinda realizes that someone has been keeping tabs on her research and wants it for themselves. A happy accident destroys critical data before it can fall into the wrong hands, but unfortunately that makes Melinda and her perfect memory a target. A.L.F.A sends in jaguar-shifter Agent Parish Hamel to discover who is after the virus and why. The beautiful scientist acts like catnip to his senses and throws his mating instincts into overdrive. And then she disappears along with the only sample of the virus…. Now Parish must canvas the darkest areas of the supernatural underground to rescue Melinda, and what he discovers is beyond a paranormal’s worst nightmare.

Elemental Mating (A.L.F.A., #1) Details

TitleElemental Mating (A.L.F.A., #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherInterMix
Rating
GenreParanormal, Shapeshifters, Fantasy, Romance, Paranormal Romance, Did Not Finish

Elemental Mating (A.L.F.A., #1) Review

  • Marta Cox
    July 9, 2017
    My first book by this author whose name I've frequently seen pop up and I'm a little on the fence with this one I'm afraid. I really liked that Melinda is a bright scientist doing a job that's really important and not just an average girl on the street. It meant that she could talk about things to Parish that totally confused him which added greatly to the sense of fun. Melinda has discovered something that on paper shouldn't be that dangerous to mankind but this story went in a completely unexp My first book by this author whose name I've frequently seen pop up and I'm a little on the fence with this one I'm afraid. I really liked that Melinda is a bright scientist doing a job that's really important and not just an average girl on the street. It meant that she could talk about things to Parish that totally confused him which added greatly to the sense of fun. Melinda has discovered something that on paper shouldn't be that dangerous to mankind but this story went in a completely unexpected direction that for this reader just felt a little too far.This story right from the beginning is told in a way that it's obvious the author wanted her characters to be light and feel approachable although at times I struggled to reconcile the two sides of Melinda , dedicated scientist and horny woman! Parish shifts into a jaguar but the text kept referring to him as a transformer which with recent film offerings meant I had a difficult time not thinking about machines! There is instant chemistry between Melinda and Parish as she's his mate but no instant love as they connect a lot through dreams which meant the actual romance in the physical world didn't seem terribly rushed. I liked the ideas, the setting but I wanted to know more about the organisation Parish works for. Plus as the first in this series I'd hoped that other characters would be introduced so I'd at least have an idea what might happen next. My first book by this author and I think if she hadn't included demons that felt farcical I would have enjoyed it more.This voluntary take is of a copy I requested from Netgalley and my thoughts and comments are my honest and I believe fair opinion
    more
  • Cassandra
    July 18, 2017
    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book! I will be adding this to my collection in the future!The cover is awesome, and it is also my favorite kind of shifter cover because it shows both forms of beautiful beasts!This is the first book in a new series! It is for adults only due to the steamy content. For whatever reason My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book! I will be adding this to my collection in the future!The cover is awesome, and it is also my favorite kind of shifter cover because it shows both forms of beautiful beasts!This is the first book in a new series! It is for adults only due to the steamy content. For whatever reason that is beyond me, this is my first time reading Milly’s work yet I own 35 of her books on my kindle. I am going to have to get to work reading them because I know they will be good; it’s why I bought them all. At any rate, I collect her books!I couldn’t put the book down. It was exciting, and I didn’t know what was going to happen next. I was knocked for a loop several times because I didn’t see it coming. Melinda is interesting because she was held back by her family and their beliefs when she had to abide by their rules. She realized that she wasn’t really learning the facts from her family, and she became a student of facts, then a scientist and researcher. She had some bumps along the way which we will call her baggage. Hamel is the sexy agent under cover, and he has his work cut out of him with Melinda and her brain. Their adventure had me pulled into the story, and I loved every moment. I don’t want to give anything away, but if you love adventurous shifter books…you should read this!I highly recommend to any shifter fan who wants action and a HEA in the end!!
    more
  • Under the Covers Book Blog
    July 18, 2017
    Just when I start to think it's too difficult to find a good shifter romance series that brings back those feelings I used to have when reading these years back, here comes Milly Taiden with the A.L.F.A. series.  And I'm so glad for that!  Light, fun and sexy shifters, yes please.ELEMENTAL MATING is a classic fated mates story with "some" military elements.  The hero, Hamel, is a jaguar shifter (OMG MY FAVE!) and part of the ALFA team.  Think CIA but for the paranormal.  His mission is to prote Just when I start to think it's too difficult to find a good shifter romance series that brings back those feelings I used to have when reading these years back, here comes Milly Taiden with the A.L.F.A. series.  And I'm so glad for that!  Light, fun and sexy shifters, yes please.ELEMENTAL MATING is a classic fated mates story with "some" military elements.  The hero, Hamel, is a jaguar shifter (OMG MY FAVE!) and part of the ALFA team.  Think CIA but for the paranormal.  His mission is to protect a known scientist working in Uganda that has found a new virus strain.  When he meets her for the first time, his jaguar recognizes her as his mate immediately.  But he still has a job to do to protect her and figure out who is after her, her research and why.The premise here really worked for me.  I am a big fan of jaguar shifters and the author used the animal side of the hero really well.  Cuddly and cute while also growly sexual.  This is definitely a more character than plot driven story and we don't get a whole lot of world building in it.  The main focus are the two main characters and luckily I was so on board with both of them.  The heroine is super smart, the virus issue was also interesting, and I can't wait to find out more about the ALFA team in general since we don't get much of it in this one.There is also a deviation from a straight up shifter world here including some magic and demons.  I'm not so sure this was done to my liking necessarily and this was where I lost some of my interest.  But it was still entertaining and I'm happy that this will be a more complete paranormal world.If you've read Vivian Arend's Tahkini and Granite Lakes series, then you'll definitely enjoy this one as well.  I can't wait to see the overall world building develop more in the next one.*ARC provided by publisherReviewed by Francesca❤ ♡ Don't want to miss any of our posts? Subscribe to our blog by email! ♡ ❤
    more
  • Holly
    March 31, 2017
    Elemental Mating by Milly Taiden is something I found while browsing NetGalley. It sounded really good, but it turned a little woo-woo for me around about chapter 15. Plus, the hero and heroine both made so many ridiculous choices based on the circumstances they were in. I can generally set aside all disbelief when reading a PNR, but I just couldn’t this time. DNF
    more
  • Ann Lorz
    July 17, 2017
    Reviewed for Romancing the Readers Blog:https://romancingthereaders.blogspot....From the moment I saw the cover of Elemental Mating I knew I wanted to read it. I've never before read Milly Taiden but that fact didn't deter me. In fact, it was a plus. I love trying new authors. Some I love, some I don't, and some, I find so-so. Elemental Mating turned out to be a so-so for me. After looking so forward to read it I was a bit disappointed in it. I think for me it was the writing. I'm not saying it Reviewed for Romancing the Readers Blog:https://romancingthereaders.blogspot....From the moment I saw the cover of Elemental Mating I knew I wanted to read it. I've never before read Milly Taiden but that fact didn't deter me. In fact, it was a plus. I love trying new authors. Some I love, some I don't, and some, I find so-so. Elemental Mating turned out to be a so-so for me. After looking so forward to read it I was a bit disappointed in it. I think for me it was the writing. I'm not saying it was bad, just not for me. I tried and tried to love it but I just couldn't. In the end I read it, but couldn't wait to finish. I did love the idea of the book and the characters, Melinda & Parish are both very likable. You wanted to know their story. I just had trouble getting through it. And as I said, the idea of the story is a good one, though the main characters actions weren't always what I thought as of smart. Don't get me wrong, if everything went perfect in a romance book it would be a very boring store, but who wants to wonder about the characters intelligence? I do feel that even though it wasn't my cup of tea that it's worth trying. Follow me on:https://www.facebook.com/RomancingThe...https://twitter.com/RomancingreaderARC received for a honest review
    more
  • Kate's Corner
    April 20, 2017
    On hold @ 29 % - I couldn't wait to read this book it sounded really good alas I don't know what I got. The heroine was awful IMO. The Hero was cool and the plot of the story didn't keep me hooked.
  • Elizabeth Neal
    July 18, 2017
    **3.5 Stars**Melinda, a scientist, has discovered something exceptional, something I can't even begin to describe. LOL But, suffice it to say, it could change everything, and some people will do anything to acquire it, including breaking into her lab, which means someone has been watching her and knows exactly what she's found. When vital data is accidentally lost, you'd think the threat to Melinda is over, however, this brilliant woman has a certain ability that makes her invaluable in recoveri **3.5 Stars**Melinda, a scientist, has discovered something exceptional, something I can't even begin to describe. LOL But, suffice it to say, it could change everything, and some people will do anything to acquire it, including breaking into her lab, which means someone has been watching her and knows exactly what she's found. When vital data is accidentally lost, you'd think the threat to Melinda is over, however, this brilliant woman has a certain ability that makes her invaluable in recovering said data...her infallible memory.Parish, an A.L.F.A. agent and jaguar shifter, is given the assignment of uncovering who's after the virus and why, and is doing so under the guise of being a doctor. His mission becomes personal though upon meeting Melinda. She's his mate and sends his jaguar into a frenzy, a yearning to make Melinda his, but he knows he needs to tread very carefully as Melinda has no clue paranormals exist. Parish will do everything withing his power, and then some, to ensure Melinda is safe. Unfortunately, that's hard to do when she disappears, along with the only known sample of the Zika virus.Parish is now tasked with prowling the underground that caters to supernaturals in order to find Melinda before it's too late. What he discovers though is a potential nightmare for all paranormals. Melinda hasn't had an easy life thanks to her childhood. They used their religious beliefs against her, and once Melinda turned eighteen, she left and hasn't had contact with them since. Unfortunately, that's not the only heartache she's experienced from those who are supposed to love and protect her. Melinda's previous employer was the CDC, but after being betrayed by a lover, she left and has since guarded her heart, not allowing anyone else in. But there's something about Parish that calls to her, tempting her to take just one more chance on love.How will Melinda react upon learning Parish is there under false pretenses? Will she accept his story that not only is he a jaguar shifter, but that she's his mate as well? Will Parish be able to convince Melinda that she never has to fear him betraying her in anyway? Can Parish find Melinda and protect her? Who is after the virus? What are their motives and how far will they go to accomplish them? Will Parish and Melinda prevail and live to have a HEA?One-click now and follow along as two people meet under false pretenses, but find a love so true it can overcome any obstacle. I'm looking forward to the next in the series.**I voluntarily read and reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book.**
    more
  • Novel Grounds
    June 17, 2017
    Amazon: http://amzn.to/2sKyeOu Add to Your Goodreads This was a super fun sexy shirfter read that was non stop from the very start. I love a Mates-at-first-sight type of book. I feel like they are full of need and I love the angst that seems to come with them. A brilliant, headstrong, and wonderfully sassy scientist, and the man sent to protect her under the guise of being from the CDC. From he very tart I loved the tension between these two. Hamel was smart, alpha, and still a bit goofy. I lo Amazon: http://amzn.to/2sKyeOu Add to Your Goodreads This was a super fun sexy shirfter read that was non stop from the very start. I love a Mates-at-first-sight type of book. I feel like they are full of need and I love the angst that seems to come with them. A brilliant, headstrong, and wonderfully sassy scientist, and the man sent to protect her under the guise of being from the CDC. From he very tart I loved the tension between these two. Hamel was smart, alpha, and still a bit goofy. I loved that he tripped over himself for Melinda but truly just wanted to protect her and to things the right way.Then there was Melinda. She WANTED this man like no other, but she has no idea he isn't who he says he is, or thats he is a shorter and her mate.ALL THE SECRETS. It was fun. Throw in a demon plot and a virus that could change the world as we know it and things for messy fast.In the end Melinda had her SMH moments, but I got the ending I was hoping for and the answers I wanted came out.Milly was a fun author. I loved how she gave us dual POV for some chapters and gave us the depth of insight into other secondary characters. She has a real talent for setting her plot up for success without being too transparent. I can't wait to read more from her. Synopsis: Their existence was a secret the government stumbled upon. In exchange for continued autonomy, the paranormals entered an alliance with the government. Now they are A.L.F.A.: Alpha League Federal Agency, sworn to protect and serve humanity.Brilliant scientist Melinda Caster has discovered a new strain of the Zika virus that stimulates synaptic growth in embryos, causing neuron development beyond normal human levels. Way beyond, like ESP-levels of cognitive abilities. When the lab is broken into, Melinda realizes that someone has been keeping tabs on her research and wants it for themselves. A happy accident destroys critical data before it can fall into the wrong hands, but unfortunately that makes Melinda and her perfect memory a target.A.L.F.A sends in jaguar-shifter Agent Parish Hamel to discover who is after the virus and why. The beautiful scientist acts like catnip to his senses and throws his mating instincts into overdrive. And then she disappears along with the only sample of the virus…. Now Parish must canvas the darkest areas of the supernatural underground to rescue Melinda, and what he discovers is beyond a paranormal’s worst nightmare. 
    more
  • Heather Ray
    July 8, 2017
    In my opinion, this is probably my favorite book by Ms. Taiden yet! A scientist, a jaguar shifter, and a virus someone or something is willing to kill for. To me that sums it up. There was so much action that I was on the edge of my seat reading this book. Yeah the sex scenes were hot, but the action and mystery are what made me fall in love with this book. Melinda is a scientist who had discovered a virus, one that causes her to need a bodyguard that she doesn't need to know is there as a bodyg In my opinion, this is probably my favorite book by Ms. Taiden yet! A scientist, a jaguar shifter, and a virus someone or something is willing to kill for. To me that sums it up. There was so much action that I was on the edge of my seat reading this book. Yeah the sex scenes were hot, but the action and mystery are what made me fall in love with this book. Melinda is a scientist who had discovered a virus, one that causes her to need a bodyguard that she doesn't need to know is there as a bodyguard. In walks Parish Hamel, jaguar shifter, A.L.P.A. agent, and pretend doctor. One sniff and, oh hell, he knows that she is his mate. This assignment just got a little more important to him. I loved the interaction between these two. The situations they get involved in and that Hamel needs to get out of.
    more
  • Megan
    May 17, 2017
    I really like Milly Taiden's Paranormal Dating Agency series, so I was looking forward to this new series. However, it didn't grab me nearly as well as PDA did. Melinda Caster is a scientist working in Uganda on a previously undiscovered virus. It doesn't kill people, instead it seems to give extra cognitive abilities. She's been researching the effects, and trying to come up with some hard facts. That's what she respects, hard facts. She doesn't believe what she can't see. A lot of that is link I really like Milly Taiden's Paranormal Dating Agency series, so I was looking forward to this new series. However, it didn't grab me nearly as well as PDA did. Melinda Caster is a scientist working in Uganda on a previously undiscovered virus. It doesn't kill people, instead it seems to give extra cognitive abilities. She's been researching the effects, and trying to come up with some hard facts. That's what she respects, hard facts. She doesn't believe what she can't see. A lot of that is linked to her childhood, and her zealot parents always using their religion as a weapon against her. She left at 18 and never looked back. She doesn't have a good track record with men either. She worked for the CDC until she was betrayed by a former lover who took credit for her work. She'll never make that mistake again. Parish Hamel is an agent for the A.L.F.A. squad, a federal agency co-op between the American government and shifters. He's a jaguar shifter, and he's been sent to Uganda to watch over Melinda, and find out the details about this virus. He's undercover as a doctor. He knows as soon as he sees Mel that she's his mate. But, she's a scientist and has no idea shifters even exist. How can he explain it all to her where she won't think he's insane?Hamel and Mel had good chemistry, but I had a bit of a hard time caring about them as a couple. Mostly, I think, because I just wasn't that into Melinda as a character. For an apparently brilliant scientist, she had quite a few TSTL (Too Stupid to Live) moments. She wasn't irredeemable by any means, I just wasn't a huge fan. Meanwhile, Hamel had multiple opportunities to tell Mel the truth about who he was, what he was, and why he was there, but didn't take them. Technically, he was undercover, so he wasn't supposed to tell her, but as his mate, he could have made an exception. That all could've been only slightly problematic, but then, the story took a whole other turn I didn't see coming, and it just didn't work for me. It caught me a little off guard, and I wasn't a big fan of that part of the story line. I can't say anything more about that without spoilers, so I'll leave it there. The main characters definitely had some insta-lust, and due to the mating situation, insta-love as well, especially on Hamel's side. I have no problem with that at all, in fact I love it. I actually expect it at this point in a shifter romance. I liked the banter between them, and their interactions were mostly fun and sexy, especially in their dreams! Due to the setting, we didn't get to meet any of Hamel's agency cohorts, and we only met his boss via phone calls. So, there wasn't much ability to set up the next book in the series with side characters we'd like to see more of. Overall, this book was just ok for me. It won't stop me from reading the author in the future, but I'm not sure if I'd read more from this series. ARC provided by Publisher in exchange for an honest review. Reviewed by Megan from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Barb Lie
    July 18, 2017
    Elemental Mating by Milly Taiden is the first book in her new A.L.F.A. series. Melinda Caster, our heroine, is a scientist who is working in Uganda. She has discovered a virus and a possible antidote. Parish Hamel, our hero, arrives on the scene a short time after Melinda discovers how the effect of this serum acts on mice. It turns out Hamel is a government agent for A.L.F.A (Alpha League Federal Agency), and he is a Jaguar shifter. Hamel has been assigned to protect Melinda, though she does no Elemental Mating by Milly Taiden is the first book in her new A.L.F.A. series. Melinda Caster, our heroine, is a scientist who is working in Uganda. She has discovered a virus and a possible antidote. Parish Hamel, our hero, arrives on the scene a short time after Melinda discovers how the effect of this serum acts on mice. It turns out Hamel is a government agent for A.L.F.A (Alpha League Federal Agency), and he is a Jaguar shifter. Hamel has been assigned to protect Melinda, though she does not know this, and is told he is another scientist interested in her findings. It seems this virus does not kill, but instead increases their ability beyond that of normal humans. Someone has been tracking Melinda, and looking for the virus; as both her house and workplace were destroyed. A few times, Melinda finds herself saved by a lone Jaguar, which shocks her, but she begins to look at the Jaguar as her savior. Of course, it will be much later when she finds out that Hamel is the Jaguar. Hamel recognizes early on that Melinda is his mate.This was a very promising story, with some excitement, demons, and a couple that had a lot of sexual chemistry together. However, despite the intended humor, I thought when they both ended up in the Demon realm, the humor was totally off the wall for me. That being said, Elemental Mating had an interesting and exciting theme, and a sexy couple. If you enjoy a shifter story line, with this type of humor, then you should give Elemental Mating a try.BarbThe Reading Cafe
    more
  • Florence
    July 18, 2017
    This eas a great starter for a new series... This book had me hooked from the beginning. .. Melinda and Parrish could not be anymore different but for Parrish the call to his mate is very strong and the fact that she is in danger will push him to do anything including give up his own life.. This new series is exciting and suspenseful and of course this authors books are always HOT.... Can't wait for the next book...
    more
  • Tena Barnes
    July 21, 2017
    Milly Taiden did not disappoint in this storyThis story had shifters,witch doctor, demons and scientist. Throw all that together in one book and you have an awesome story. Can the scientist believe what they don't have facts on. Read this book to found out what all these characters together can make happen.
    more
  • Francesca the Fierce (Under the Covers Book Blog)
    July 17, 2017
    3.5 stars
  • The Romance Book Disciple (Samantha)
    July 16, 2017
    Strange and quirky but I kind of dug it!
  • Nina
    July 19, 2017
    I never really connected with the characters. The heroine came off as a man hater most of the time and the hero seemed weak/ a push over. The plot was good, the details were awesome.
  • Julianne
    April 8, 2017
    Elemental Mating is the first installment of An A.L.F.A. series by Milly Taiden. Melinda Caster is a scientist who has discovered a new strain of the Zika virus that enhances the development of a normal human being. However, when her lab is broken into, she realizes that someone has been secretly keeping tabs on her work. Thankfully they didn’t get any information when she destroys the crucial data, but with her photographic memory, she now has a target on her head. A.L.F.A sends out Agent Par Elemental Mating is the first installment of An A.L.F.A. series by Milly Taiden. Melinda Caster is a scientist who has discovered a new strain of the Zika virus that enhances the development of a normal human being. However, when her lab is broken into, she realizes that someone has been secretly keeping tabs on her work. Thankfully they didn’t get any information when she destroys the crucial data, but with her photographic memory, she now has a target on her head. A.L.F.A sends out Agent Parish Hamel a jaguar-shifter to protect Melinda while finding out the basic information of what and why someone wants this virus. But when this Parish meets Melinda, his animal can’t help, especially when she suddenly disappears. Now he’s racing against the clock to find his mate and claim her before anything else happens. 

But what happens when his worst nightmare becomes reality? Whoo. Elemental Mating is exactly the kind of shifter book I want to read. There’s an amazing amount of action, sexual tension and who doesn’t like a good chase? There is some serious cat and mouse going on between Parish and Melinda. In addition, I love that Melinda is a sassy lady because her remarks had me giggling throughout the story. This couple was the purrfect combination when it comes down to chemistry.I highly recommend for those who enjoy shifter novels.
Review on Behalf of Once Upon An Alpha**ARC for Honest Review**
    more
  • Heather andrews
    April 1, 2017
    Melinda is one snarky lady, “do not call me ‘darling,’‘sweetheart,’ or ‘honey’ or I will turn you into a eunuch before you can even think to cover your balls.” It's like Hamel always knows what to say, “first off, I’m not most men. Secondly, I’m here to protect you. No place better than your bed to do that.” He slid his finger along her smooth cheek and jaw. “Thirdly, I really like you, Melinda.” His finger pushed her chin up so he could see her eyes. “I really, really like you, Melinda.” I real Melinda is one snarky lady, “do not call me ‘darling,’‘sweetheart,’ or ‘honey’ or I will turn you into a eunuch before you can even think to cover your balls.” It's like Hamel always knows what to say, “first off, I’m not most men. Secondly, I’m here to protect you. No place better than your bed to do that.” He slid his finger along her smooth cheek and jaw. “Thirdly, I really like you, Melinda.” His finger pushed her chin up so he could see her eyes. “I really, really like you, Melinda.” I really liked this book, Melinda was feisty, and Hamel was protective.
    more
  • Nikki
    May 13, 2017
    Wow, just wow!! This new series is going to be freaking amazing if the first book is any sort of indication. Melinda works in Uganda as a scientist identifying new diseases and looking for cures. She is currently working with an unknown virus that seems to significantly increase brain mass and its capabilities. Hamel is a jaguar shifter and has been sent to Uganda to protect Melinda based on rumors of some dangerous parties wanting their hands on the serum she is working with. Who it is that wan Wow, just wow!! This new series is going to be freaking amazing if the first book is any sort of indication. Melinda works in Uganda as a scientist identifying new diseases and looking for cures. She is currently working with an unknown virus that seems to significantly increase brain mass and its capabilities. Hamel is a jaguar shifter and has been sent to Uganda to protect Melinda based on rumors of some dangerous parties wanting their hands on the serum she is working with. Who it is that wants it, why they want it and what do they think it will do for them is all unknown, all Hamel knows is that he has found his mate. Ecstatic to have finally found his mate, the timing is terrible, Hamel is undercover to protect Melinda and can't reveal anything to her until the threat has been neutralized. Melinda's character was great, she's a clumsy scientist and I found that to be a lovely bit of irony. She does things a normal person would never even think to do, like get so excited to get a picture of a jaguar, she walks out into the woods by her house saying her kitty, kitty lol. Definitely needs a keeper and Hamel is just the sexy jaguar to do it. Hamel literally lays his life on the line for Melinda more then once to keep her safe, I think that is the ultimate act of love. I can't wait to read the next books in the series!!!!!!
    more
  • Amber
    April 14, 2017
    What a marvelously breathtaking story that will sweep you off your feet and carry you into a stunningly ingenious world created to enthrall and entertain every part of your heart and mind. I truly hated to see this journey end because I feel in love so hard with these beautiful and amazing characters. They made me feel and savor them every second that I was a part of their world. Nothing could have dragged me away from the wonder and brilliance of this incredible adventure! What do you get when What a marvelously breathtaking story that will sweep you off your feet and carry you into a stunningly ingenious world created to enthrall and entertain every part of your heart and mind. I truly hated to see this journey end because I feel in love so hard with these beautiful and amazing characters. They made me feel and savor them every second that I was a part of their world. Nothing could have dragged me away from the wonder and brilliance of this incredible adventure! What do you get when you mix a fun and exciting plot, spirited, larger than life characters, and extraordinary writing talent? You get the perfect story ever! I wasn’t sure about this book when I first started it, but I quickly fell in love with everything about it. I understand why this author stretches her writing talent, and I am so thankful that she ventures into new, unexplored areas of writing. She truly blew this story out of the water! I have found myself throughout the past couple of years enjoying each book that I have read by Milly Taiden. She had such a fascinating writing style, and I find myself getting lost in her witty and remarkable characters every time. She never fails to pull at my heart and open up a spectacular world to my imagination and appreciation. I hope to be able to read more from her again and for a long time to come.
    more
  • 2OCC Reviews
    June 28, 2017
    I love Milly Taiden books! She does something special with shifters and is able to captivate her readers from the start. I was excited to see she was going to have a new series and once I started I knew it would quickly because one of my favorites. Hamel was awesome! Watching him from right the mating Instincts was funny but at the same time, he's protective nature was amazing to see. I loved his personality. Melinda was headstrong, and very smart. I'm not sure this author knows how to write a w I love Milly Taiden books! She does something special with shifters and is able to captivate her readers from the start. I was excited to see she was going to have a new series and once I started I knew it would quickly because one of my favorites. Hamel was awesome! Watching him from right the mating Instincts was funny but at the same time, he's protective nature was amazing to see. I loved his personality. Melinda was headstrong, and very smart. I'm not sure this author knows how to write a week heroine. It's a very good thing in my book. You could see her live for her job, and I love that. The plot was interesting. I will say that some of it confused me with the whole viruses and it trying to understand the different things, but the author did a good job at outing in layman terms. It was fascinating to see not only working inside the lab, finding out the results, but I love the mice!!! Once you read the book, you will understand why. Towards the end, we get a whole new setting that blew me away. I would love to see more about it! Overall Milly has done it again. She makes not only the settings seem so erotic, but each character has they one unique characteristics. I can't see where the author is going to take the rest of this series and the other characters. I wish we had gotten a chance to really meet them, so that we could anticipate their books, but I'm still excited! 4 stars #2OCCJD
    more
  • Annie K
    July 21, 2017
    Loved itGreat story. Fun, funny fast paced and a little steamy. Melinda is a mouthy research scientists working in a lab in Uganda. She discovers a virus that seemed to cause changes in the brains of baby animals, giving them some amazing abilities. Parish is a jaguar shifter with the ALFA. He is sent to Uganda as an under cover body guard for Mel. His job just got harder, Mel is his mate.Demon's want the virus.. A witch doctor who's getting to old for this crap. A alpha hero who is a bit of a d Loved itGreat story. Fun, funny fast paced and a little steamy. Melinda is a mouthy research scientists working in a lab in Uganda. She discovers a virus that seemed to cause changes in the brains of baby animals, giving them some amazing abilities. Parish is a jaguar shifter with the ALFA. He is sent to Uganda as an under cover body guard for Mel. His job just got harder, Mel is his mate.Demon's want the virus.. A witch doctor who's getting to old for this crap. A alpha hero who is a bit of a dork, and a nerdy heroine with a big heart, no filters are all that stand in the way of a mutant deal army.Loved Mel and Parish.
    more
  • Joann
    June 11, 2017
    Nice start to the series! This one was a little beyond just the paranormal shifter aspect, as it had a little bit of demon fun thrown in, as well. While some parts were a little "scattered"- it was an overall enjoyable read. I enjoyed the dynamic and chemistry between Parish and Melinda, as well as Melinda's fascination with her "kitty".I'm already a fan of Molly Taiden's, so I was familiar with her writing style already, and had been looking forward to this series. I think, after reading the te Nice start to the series! This one was a little beyond just the paranormal shifter aspect, as it had a little bit of demon fun thrown in, as well. While some parts were a little "scattered"- it was an overall enjoyable read. I enjoyed the dynamic and chemistry between Parish and Melinda, as well as Melinda's fascination with her "kitty".I'm already a fan of Molly Taiden's, so I was familiar with her writing style already, and had been looking forward to this series. I think, after reading the teaser at the end of Elemental Mating, that I may even enjoy book 2 even more!! Can't wait to see what she has in store for us next, as I'm always up for more shifter fun and love!!4 stars!!
    more
  • Donna
    July 21, 2017
    Elemental Mating is the first in a new series by Milly Taiden. I love that this book takes place in Uganda. I absolutely adore the fact that our heroine, Melinda, is a gifted scientist. I liked the mix of science and paranormal. I enjoyed the story. I just wish I could have felt the attraction between jaguar-shifter Agent Parish Hamel and Melinda more. It felt a little forced to me which is not usually an issue in this authors work. That being said; bring on the next installment.
    more
  • Book Binge
    July 31, 2017
    I found Elemental Mating while browsing NetGalley and was intrigued by the premise. Alpha shifter vs nerdy scientist? GIMME! Unfortunately, it wasn’t as successful as I’d hoped it would be.Melinda Castor is a research scientist who discovered a new strand of virus that seems to give those infected supernatural powers (ESP, telekinesis, etc). Parish Hamel is an A.L.F.A. (Alpha League Federal Agency) agent and a jaguar shifter. He’s assigned to watch Melinda and keep her – and her research on the I found Elemental Mating while browsing NetGalley and was intrigued by the premise. Alpha shifter vs nerdy scientist? GIMME! Unfortunately, it wasn’t as successful as I’d hoped it would be.Melinda Castor is a research scientist who discovered a new strand of virus that seems to give those infected supernatural powers (ESP, telekinesis, etc). Parish Hamel is an A.L.F.A. (Alpha League Federal Agency) agent and a jaguar shifter. He’s assigned to watch Melinda and keep her – and her research on the virus – safe. When Melinda is attacked and her lab broken into, both Hamel and Melinda race to find out who is after her information..and more importantly, what they want to do with it.Since Hamel is essentially a Black Ops solider for the US government, I expected a certain level of competence from him. Sadly, he seemed like a bumbling amateur. He didn’t guard Melinda when he should have, ignored critical evidence in favor of flirting with her and, in general, put them both in danger when he could have avoided it. Melinda wasn’t much better. She constantly put herself in danger without considering the consequences. From following a wild jungle cat into the woods after dark to trusting the suspicious janitor with vital information, she didn’t often employ common sense.Around Chapter 15 or so, a demon possession happens and Melinda is whisked off to Hell. Aside from some subtle hints here and there, it really came out of left field (both the demon possession and the trip to hell).As much as I wanted to like this, I just couldn’t read any farther once a woman in Hell introduced herself as “The Head Harem Ho.”This may be a case of the book just not being to my taste. I may have been looking for something a little more serious. Elemental Mating was just too campy.DNF
    more
  • Linda Levy
    May 30, 2017
    I am pushing this to 3 stars due to the author.I love Ms Taidens’ Paranormal Dating Agency series for its quirky humour, feisty heroines and hot alpha men, so I was looking forward to this new series thinking it would be on the same lines. I know one shouldn’t expect similar but that is Ms Taidens type of writing style.However, it didn't grab my attention after the first third and I found it very easy to put down and go do something else.An interesting tale but it didn't grab me and rush me alon I am pushing this to 3 stars due to the author.I love Ms Taidens’ Paranormal Dating Agency series for its quirky humour, feisty heroines and hot alpha men, so I was looking forward to this new series thinking it would be on the same lines. I know one shouldn’t expect similar but that is Ms Taidens type of writing style.However, it didn't grab my attention after the first third and I found it very easy to put down and go do something else.An interesting tale but it didn't grab me and rush me along on the ride like usual.Hamel and Melinda had good chemistry right from the first contact, being a shifter romance I expected this on Hamels side, we definitely had some insta-lust from the start but Mel’s attitude further into the story because of a past hurt was over the top.Mel being a scientist, does not believe in anything she cannot prove so when this story goes way into woo woo land I found it funny she coped better than one would have expected.Hamel is undercover to protect Mel from unknown threats, to find Mel is his mate is wrong timing but I did love him trying to pretend to be a smart scientist, totally out of his comfort zone.Once the story took a whole other turn into the demon realm it just didn't work for me. I found it hard to follow myself as to what was real and what was dream.This is where I really lost interest and had to force myself to finish the book.I must admit that once in the demon realm it lost what little enjoyment I had found up till then.We didn't meet any of Hamel's A.L.F.A. agency cohorts, and we only met his boss via phone calls. So, there wasn't anyone introduced to set us up for the next book in the series.If I didn't know better, I would not believe this author had written this. Just too stupid for me towards the end. It won't stop me from reading this author in the future, but I'm not sure if I'd read more from this series. This is my honest review of this book.
    more
  • Shelly Roke
    July 29, 2017
    Fantastic startMelanie has discovered a strain of the zika virus that give offspring of affected people, and animals, powers. Powers like telekinesis, clairvoyance, and others. Somehow, someone bad found out - and they want it. Badly. A paranormal security guard, Parrish is called in and Melanie turns out to be his mate. Only a couple problems: people don't know about paranormals {except a few in the gov'T of course), and demons are the ones who want the virus. Who neither Melanie or Parrish bel Fantastic startMelanie has discovered a strain of the zika virus that give offspring of affected people, and animals, powers. Powers like telekinesis, clairvoyance, and others. Somehow, someone bad found out - and they want it. Badly. A paranormal security guard, Parrish is called in and Melanie turns out to be his mate. Only a couple problems: people don't know about paranormals {except a few in the gov'T of course), and demons are the ones who want the virus. Who neither Melanie or Parrish believe in - at first. Great story.
    more
  • Eskimo Princess Jenkins
    April 10, 2017
    That was different. What a ride!I enjoyed but didn't love. This is one of those books that I was fully engrossed while reading, but when I put it down- I didn't think on it. Great story thoughThis book had: demons, witch doctors, a sexy shifter, a scientist, and crazy dreams.Full of suspense for sure. You never knew what the hell what about to happen!!!*I received my copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Selina Durio
    July 24, 2017
    I see potential This is the first installment in this series and I see potential. The story of Hamel and Melinda, while well developed, was a little confusing. We learned about a Melinda's past and how she came to be in Uganda, but we never get the full strength yet behind A.L.F.A.
    more
  • Keoki Ki`Ili
    July 20, 2017
    Threatened Possession What a great start to a new series and the witch doctor was a syper addition. Two scientific types, one human and one shifter embark on a journey where they have to believe without seeing first. This is a whirlwind story and keeps you going right to the end.
    more
  • Sonia
    July 28, 2017
    I usually love books by this author but this has me on the fence. Starts out really good then second half deals with demons and other realms.Sexy shifter sent in to protect female who has no idea about shifters and things that go bump in the night. Funny moments hot sexy moments and a few twist.
    more
  • Diane Werning
    August 3, 2017
    Elemental MatingWhat a book,Mel and Hamel were two totally opposite people but that could only bring them closer or could it.Demons and other realms were hard for Mel to grasp.The story is really good and I can't wait to read the next book.
  • Lisa books
    July 28, 2017
    Start of a new series with shifters protecting human and first up jaguar Hamel is sent to Africa to protect scientists Melinda his mate. A fun and exciting book with lots of twist and turns. And a demon trying to take over the human realm using a virus
    more
  • Brenda Coates
    July 20, 2017
    Demons?Ms Taiden had me at the word go. Hamel and Melinda were a hoot. And the demon dream world, pig latin, oh hilarious! The heat factor was up there to. I am ready for the next book. I volunteered to read and review an advance reader copy.
  • Tracie Runge
    July 13, 2017
    Fabulous start to a series, Elemental Mating is the book 1 in the A.L.F.A. series. Parish Hamel is a member of the Alpha League Federal Agency. A jaguar shifter Hamel is tasked with protecting the brilliant scientist Melinda Caster. The chemistry is hot the mating call hotter but will the danger cost them everything. I look forward to reading more of this series
    more
  • Denise Boyd
    July 28, 2017
    Great start to new seriesI really enjoyed this story. I laughed out loud and and became quite attached to the main couple. There are some unexpected plot twists and I can't wait to see what come next.
  • G
    July 22, 2017
    Molly at her bestIf you love smart, sexy women and hunky men you] will want to read this great book from Milly Taiden. Her A.L.F.A novels are quickly becoming my favorites 9until her next series 😁.
  • Popcorn
    July 29, 2017
    That took forever!I can't tell you how many pages I jumped over. I felt like I was in a never ending loophole! Sorry! The concept of the story line great. I will read other books by this author.
  • Melvena Asa
    July 19, 2017
    Yes Yes Yes More PleaseElemental Mating first in the new series. LOVED IT SO MUCH. It was so good it was hard to put down. I cannot wait for more of these guys and to learn more about them.
  • Ruth Hambley
    July 18, 2017
    AmazingI really enjoyed this one. It has an interesting mix of paranormal and shape shifter dynamic. I can't wait to read the next in this series
  • Linda
    July 20, 2017
    Good It was a really good idea for the book I just felt it needed to be a little more mature. The Demon king was a putz, Willson had the mentality of a 4 year old.
Write a review