Fitness Junkie
From the bestselling authors of The Knockoff, an outrageously funny novel about one woman's attempt--through clay diets, naked yoga, green juice, and cultish workout classes--to win back her career, save her best friend, and lose thirty pounds.When Janey Sweet, CEO of a couture wedding dress company, is photographed in the front row of a fashion show eating a bruffin--the delicious lovechild of a brioche and a muffin--her best friend and business partner, Beau, gives her an ultimatum: Lose thirty pounds or lose your job. Sure, Janey has gained some weight since her divorce, and no, her beautifully cut trousers don't fit like they used to, so Janey throws herself headlong into the world of the fitness revolution, signing up for a shockingly expensive workout pass, baring it all for Free the Nipple yoga, sweating through boot camp classes run by Sri Lankan militants and spinning to the screams of a Lycra-clad instructor with rage issues. At a juice shop she meets Jacob, a cute young guy who takes her dumpster-diving outside Whole Foods on their first date. At a shaman's tea ceremony she meets Hugh, a silver fox who holds her hand through an ayahuasca hallucination And at a secret exercise studio Janey meets Sara Strong, the wildly popular workout guru whose special dance routine has starlets and wealthy women flocking to her for results that seem too good to be true. As Janey eschews delicious carbs, pays thousands of dollars to charlatans, and is harassed by her very own fitness bracelet, she can't help but wonder: Did she really need to lose weight in the first place? A hilarious send-up of the health and wellness industry, Fitness Junkie is a glorious romp through the absurd landscape of our weight-obsessed culture.

Fitness Junkie Details

TitleFitness Junkie
Author
FormatHardcover
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherDoubleday
ISBN0385541805
ISBN-139780385541800
Number of pages304 pages
Rating
GenreFiction, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Humor

Fitness Junkie Review

  • Dianne
    June 17, 2017
    Welcome to one of the true horrors of our society…weight. Get ready to see our weight obsession through the eyes of humor, attitude and snark when Janey’s world crashed around her and she fell for the, “I’ll be happier, healthier, more successful and more likable if I am thinner,” garbage she was fed, along with a good dose of clay.Janey’s sometimes painful, sometimes comical journey to weight loss all began with an unspoken lie from her best friend. Get ready to laugh out loud, and witness the Welcome to one of the true horrors of our society…weight. Get ready to see our weight obsession through the eyes of humor, attitude and snark when Janey’s world crashed around her and she fell for the, “I’ll be happier, healthier, more successful and more likable if I am thinner,” garbage she was fed, along with a good dose of clay.Janey’s sometimes painful, sometimes comical journey to weight loss all began with an unspoken lie from her best friend. Get ready to laugh out loud, and witness the extremes our looks-conscious society will go to in search of shedding just one more pound. Sure, this is fiction, but I think Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza nailed more truths than meet the eye! FITNESS JUNKIE is a wonderful satire that showcases the absurdity of a society that would kill itself for a number on a scale or the size tag on a dress.I’m not sure Janey felt real to me, but she did feel like the tool used to make the weight loss industry look pretty outlandish. Sure her miracle diets, programs and exercises were over the top, but that is what amps up the humor. Sometimes a little overdone, but always entertaining, especially if one eats a bruffin while reading. Did Janey learn a lesson? What did she take away from the horrors she put her self through? Satire or not....this hits some pretty hot topics without apology!I received an ARC edition from Doubleday in exchange for my honest review.Publisher: Doubleday (July 11, 2017)Publication Date: July 11, 2017Genre: Women's FictionPrint Length: 304 pagesAvailable from: Amazon | Barnes & NobleFor Reviews & More: http://tometender.blogspot.com
    more
  • Sherwood Smith
    May 18, 2017
    When Janey Sweet, CEO of a couture wedding dress company that only makes clothes up to a size 6, is photographed in the front row of a fashion show eating a bruffin–a mix of brioche and muffin–her life-long best friend and business partner, Beau, gives her an ultimatum: Lose thirty pounds or lose your job. Janey is shocked. She knows she’s put on a few pounds since her divorce, but she’s not a model—she’s the business part of the company! When she tries to remonstrate, Beau, her best friend sinc When Janey Sweet, CEO of a couture wedding dress company that only makes clothes up to a size 6, is photographed in the front row of a fashion show eating a bruffin–a mix of brioche and muffin–her life-long best friend and business partner, Beau, gives her an ultimatum: Lose thirty pounds or lose your job. Janey is shocked. She knows she’s put on a few pounds since her divorce, but she’s not a model—she’s the business part of the company! When she tries to remonstrate, Beau, her best friend since they were eight years old, reminds her that he has 51% of the business, and there is an actual clause in her contract about her weight.So she goes to her college friend CJ, who is obsessed about her weight, and the two hurl themselves into the world of New York’s high end fitness revolution.What got me interested was the promise of hilarity, specifically a reference to nude yoga, but that scene is more cringe-worthy and thought-provoking than it is hilarious. That is not to say that the funny isn’t there, because it is. The authors do a nifty job of satirizing not only rich New York’s obsession with being thin, but the entrepreneurs who cater to them (and prey on them), sometimes at the cost of their own sanity.A sub-thread is Ivy, Janey’s cousin who is not rich, unlike Janey, and who lost her career as a ballet dancer to an accident, so is now a fitness instructor. Ivy, a genuinely nice girl with a hopeful and happy outlook on life, discovers that the more she abuses the people who come to her hip, expensive workouts, the more they return.There is a lot of colorful detail about the high fashion world of New York, and where it intersects with artisanal health-food obsessions as well as fitness, but even more important, this book is about humans relating to one another as well as to their own bodies. The backbone of the story is betrayal by the one closest to you. Janey has a great deal of reevaluating to do, and not just about her physical self. This journey, as well as the escalating story of the search for the Perfect Thin kept me turning the pages.The narrative is charming, funny, observant, and spiced with wish-fulfillment, making the book a terrific summer read.Copy provided by NetGalley
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    February 9, 2017
    This novel is hysterical—but much more substantive than I had anticipated. The main character, Janey, is infinitely likeable (although initially a little too willing to believe the best in people, to her detriment). The story mocks the ridiculous lengths people will go to get or stay thin, but the entire book constantly reinforces the idea that it’s important to be healthy, not skinny. (After all, meth heads are skinny, not healthy.)Before you begin reading the book, there is a letter from the e This novel is hysterical—but much more substantive than I had anticipated. The main character, Janey, is infinitely likeable (although initially a little too willing to believe the best in people, to her detriment). The story mocks the ridiculous lengths people will go to get or stay thin, but the entire book constantly reinforces the idea that it’s important to be healthy, not skinny. (After all, meth heads are skinny, not healthy.)Before you begin reading the book, there is a letter from the editor that says that the writers, Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza, discovered that the ridiculous exercise classes and diets they write about are in fact real. The authors sometimes began to fabricate something outlandish—only to find that this exercise or food fad actually exists (which is often painfully hard to believe). The novel begins when Janey’s business partner and lifelong friend, Beau, tells her she needs to drop thirty pounds because she’s an embarrassment to their brand—supremely expensive wedding dresses for only the thinnest of women. One thing that’s wonderful is that Janey has never worried about her weight. She doesn’t necessarily pig out, but she eats waffles if she’s in the mood and doesn’t beat herself up over it (how refreshing!). Because Janey owns only 49 percent of the company, she doesn’t see what choice she has but to take the enforced sabbatical and drop the weight. And after all, maybe her tummy has gotten a little rounder than it once was and maybe her forty-year-old chin isn’t quite as tight as it had been. The foil to Janey is her girlfriend CJ, who IS obsessed about her weight, and therefore gung ho to try these various ridiculous activities along with her. CJ even obsesses about whether her young twin boys look too chubby for Facebook. (!) So together, they discover a world where women spend outrageous sums of money to be screamed at about how fat and worthless they are. They eat clay. The words “artisanal” “organic” and “journeys” are used frequently—about everything.This book actually did inspire me to get back into my fitness routine—one that costs almost nothing, like going on walks and eating more vegetables. Ivy, Janey, and a few others are likeable and the villains are perfect folks you love to hate. I highly recommend this fun book. It has hints of romance, but you know Janey will be fine on her own, with or without a man (also refreshing!)Thanks so much to Netgalley for the opportunity to review this book.For more of my reviews, please visit: http://theresaalan.net/blog/
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    June 24, 2017
    Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Women's Fiction/ Chick LitFitness Junkie is a hilarious and relatable story that is sure to make any reader smile in agreement with the heroine! I absolutely adored this novel and found it to be an extremely unique and truthful story. Readers, meet your new best friend - Janey - because she is going to be the type of character you won't soon forget!This book is a MUST READ for chick lit lovers and for those who enjoy books with biting satire. It is also the Release Date: July 11, 2017 Genre: Women's Fiction/ Chick LitFitness Junkie is a hilarious and relatable story that is sure to make any reader smile in agreement with the heroine! I absolutely adored this novel and found it to be an extremely unique and truthful story. Readers, meet your new best friend - Janey - because she is going to be the type of character you won't soon forget!This book is a MUST READ for chick lit lovers and for those who enjoy books with biting satire. It is also the perfect beach read. Just remember, once you dive into it, you won't be able to put it down until the end! ** Full review to come during release week **
    more
  • Reading in Black & White
    December 11, 2016
    Initial thoughts: Any woman of a certain age that has been through something and then went on a journey to "find" herself will be able to relate to this book. There are parts that are lighthearted and completely over the top in a funny way and others that hit on the serious measures some women will go to for their happiness. All of those things make this an almost perfect chick lit book. My only issue is that the ending seemed rushed and I wanted more details about the progression of the charact Initial thoughts: Any woman of a certain age that has been through something and then went on a journey to "find" herself will be able to relate to this book. There are parts that are lighthearted and completely over the top in a funny way and others that hit on the serious measures some women will go to for their happiness. All of those things make this an almost perfect chick lit book. My only issue is that the ending seemed rushed and I wanted more details about the progression of the characters. Overall, I predict this book will be a HUGE hit and a perfect companion for the beach next summer!!!
    more
  • Shannon
    June 15, 2017
    This darkly funny novel is an entertaining roast of fitness culture. Janey Sweet's lifelong bestie/business partner lays it out for her: "You're out until you drop thirty." As in, pounds. Janey begins her quest to shed the weight and quickly learns the fitness industry is cutthroat and just plain shady. If you've ever rolled your eyes over the kale craze or wanted to throw your FitBit in the trash, you'll enjoy this book!I won this ARC in a giveaway from Goodreads and Doubleday books. Thanks to This darkly funny novel is an entertaining roast of fitness culture. Janey Sweet's lifelong bestie/business partner lays it out for her: "You're out until you drop thirty." As in, pounds. Janey begins her quest to shed the weight and quickly learns the fitness industry is cutthroat and just plain shady. If you've ever rolled your eyes over the kale craze or wanted to throw your FitBit in the trash, you'll enjoy this book!I won this ARC in a giveaway from Goodreads and Doubleday books. Thanks to both!
    more
  • Wendy
    February 28, 2017
    The Fitness Junkie does to the fitness industry what the author's previous book, The Knockoff, did for the fashion industry. With her snarky wit, the author pokes fun at fitness trends and those who are eager to jump on the bandwagon. The book takes a more serious turn as the story goes on, proving that moderation is always the best course of action. I enjoy this author's style of writing and while the book was mostly fun, there are lessons to be learned from the main character's experience. **F The Fitness Junkie does to the fitness industry what the author's previous book, The Knockoff, did for the fashion industry. With her snarky wit, the author pokes fun at fitness trends and those who are eager to jump on the bandwagon. The book takes a more serious turn as the story goes on, proving that moderation is always the best course of action. I enjoy this author's style of writing and while the book was mostly fun, there are lessons to be learned from the main character's experience. **Following the projected release date of July, I'll be featuring this book on my blog book club in August! Check it out and share your review: http://www.takinglongwayhome.comI was given a copy of the book for review from NetGalley.
    more
  • Rebecca
    June 23, 2017
    Janey Sweet is blindsided when her best friend and business partner tells her that per the terms of her contract with their high-end wedding dress company, Janey will be taking a leave of absence until she loses a significant amount of weight. Janey's never really thought much about her weight, but wanting to get back to work, she enlists the help of her diet and exercise best friend and her exercise-instructor cousin to help her navigate the enormous possibilities for fitness that exist in the Janey Sweet is blindsided when her best friend and business partner tells her that per the terms of her contract with their high-end wedding dress company, Janey will be taking a leave of absence until she loses a significant amount of weight. Janey's never really thought much about her weight, but wanting to get back to work, she enlists the help of her diet and exercise best friend and her exercise-instructor cousin to help her navigate the enormous possibilities for fitness that exist in the modern world. With plenty of time to spare and not much else to fill it, Janey throws herself into the experience, and is going to find out a lot about what it means to be healthy, both in body and in her life. This book resembles the type of juicy stories that give a glimpse into the lives of the elite, only this time, it's the lives of those who are obsessed with exercise, weight, and diet (and have the means to pursue the newest, most expensive trends) instead of high society or royalty. Fitness Junkie is a beach read with substance and humor that will keep readers engaged. An excellent second book by the duo.Advance e-galley provided by Netgalley and the publisher for an honest opinion.
    more
  • Diane Perry
    May 19, 2017
    I received this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was just what I needed. I snorted, laughed out loud, and had a great time reading this story. Janey is told by her business partner she needs to take some time off and lose weight after she is photographed eating a bruffin. She goes on a weight loss book camp and chaos ensues. This is a great bunch of characters, and just a fun escape from life. Janey is also very relatable. Sit back, turn off the world and enjoy the laug I received this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This book was just what I needed. I snorted, laughed out loud, and had a great time reading this story. Janey is told by her business partner she needs to take some time off and lose weight after she is photographed eating a bruffin. She goes on a weight loss book camp and chaos ensues. This is a great bunch of characters, and just a fun escape from life. Janey is also very relatable. Sit back, turn off the world and enjoy the laughter.
    more
  • MichellemyBelle
    June 13, 2017
    ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.Fitness Junkie a satirical, laugh out loud, tongue and cheek take on the obsessed health and fitness world. No matter what fitness level we are at, any one of us can see the sad humor of fad diets, outlandish workout routines, and caloric intake nazis. The writing style is smoothly paced for a quick read. The characters are over the top and we'll written. The ridiculousness of it all will appeal to readers who are in the mood for laughing at naked yo ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.Fitness Junkie a satirical, laugh out loud, tongue and cheek take on the obsessed health and fitness world. No matter what fitness level we are at, any one of us can see the sad humor of fad diets, outlandish workout routines, and caloric intake nazis. The writing style is smoothly paced for a quick read. The characters are over the top and we'll written. The ridiculousness of it all will appeal to readers who are in the mood for laughing at naked yoga, and find an obnoxious spin instructor endearing. In fact, most of the characters in one way or the other rubbed me a little the wrong way. Perhaps this was part of the satire. This is a 3 star read for me. The writing style was impressively engaging.
    more
  • MissBecka
    June 23, 2017
    ***********ARC FROM GIVEAWAY***********What a fun book! The characters were amusing and relatable. With a few fun twists that popped in near the end, the book stayed interesting throughout. Very enjoyable!
  • Ron S
    February 14, 2017
    Chick-lit satire of the calorie and appearance obsessed lives of New Yorkers. If you've had enough of kale, increasingly bizarre dietary regimes, cultish workouts and would be grateful if the word gratitude was used less frequently, this book might be for you. A laugh out loud read for goop readers capable of chortling at their own expense, if any such persons exist.
    more
  • Amanda
    January 6, 2017
    I liked this book well enough, although at times I thought it pushed too far. The stakes didn't seem that high for the main character, but it was still entertaining to read about the crazy fitness trends and realize they're not that far off from some of the stuff that actually happens in the world of health and fitness.My full review can be accessed via my blog, Amanda Reads.
    more
  • Cindy
    June 22, 2017
    Review: There is nothing I like to read about more than fashion and  fitness, so when I saw this title by these two awesome authors it was not a question of should I read this book but how soon can I get my hands on it! I laughed more during this story than any other book so far this year, what a fun book but the message about women's bodies is a good one. I just do not know where to begin with this book , there is so much that I liked. The main character Janey Sweet and note the last name Swee Review: There is nothing I like to read about more than fashion and  fitness, so when I saw this title by these two awesome authors it was not a question of should I read this book but how soon can I get my hands on it! I laughed more during this story than any other book so far this year, what a fun book but the message about women's bodies is a good one. I just do not know where to begin with this book , there is so much that I liked. The main character Janey Sweet and note the last name Sweet, Janey is heir to a chocolate fortune, how perfect that her last name is Sweet! Janey is so smart and savvy but with a blind spot in regard to her best friend and business partner Beau, who I detested right away. I do think that Janey at the beginning of the book anyway is a bit of a people pleaser.  Janey is blindside by Beau, when he tells her over coffee, to take a leave of absence from their business because she is not thin enough to be associated with their B brand of couture wedding dresses. Beau actually sends Janey the latest in fitness bands, the nerve of this guy! From this point on the hilarious journey into the world of fitness begins. One of my favorite side characters is Ivy, Janey's  angry ex ballerina turned sought after spin instructor. Ivy, due to injury cannot continue as a ballerina and boy is she pissed!! The things that Ivy said in this book had me laughing. CJ , Janey's best friend from college, is ultra obsessed with fitness and  weight loss, joins Janey on this venture into the over the top fitness fads and diets such as drinking clay, you heard it clay!! Then their is Free The Nipple Yoga! This really is a tongue in cheek satire of the uber wealthy NYC socialites and the lengths that they will go to to stay fit and thin. The more Ivy screamed and yelled profanity to her clients during her famous spin class Ivy became the most sought after spin instructor. Janey finally develops some backbone where Beau is concerned and the conclusion to the book is hilarious.Final Thoughts:Is the book over the top and a bit unrealistic ? Sure, but is it a fun  and hilarious satire of the fitness industry and the socialite women of NYC that will do anything and follow ridiculous fitness trends and take abuse from fitness trainers and instructors to stay thin? You bet it is! I definitely had a great time reading this book and I hope that you will too.This review was originally posted on Cindy's Book Binge
    more
  • Melodie Langston
    June 13, 2017
    It would be easy to label Fitness Junkie by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza as a funny book that makes light of the lengths people will go to lose weight and get fit, including any number of ridiculous diets and fitness plans. While the book is quite funny in places and very entertaining, I saw it as a scathing tome about our culture’s belief that the thinner the better, and the duplicitous, “win at any cost” nature of business. On a more positive note, it is also the tale of one woman’s journey throug It would be easy to label Fitness Junkie by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza as a funny book that makes light of the lengths people will go to lose weight and get fit, including any number of ridiculous diets and fitness plans. While the book is quite funny in places and very entertaining, I saw it as a scathing tome about our culture’s belief that the thinner the better, and the duplicitous, “win at any cost” nature of business. On a more positive note, it is also the tale of one woman’s journey through the these two worlds and how she comes out the other side as a healthier and happier person.Janey Sweet is put on a three month hiatus by her business partner and longtime friend Beau Von B with strict orders to lose 30 pounds. I appreciated the fact that her weight was never specifically mentioned and I gathered that she really was never truly overweight, just not emaciated. Janey is supported in her endeavors by her friend CJ, her younger cousin Ivy, and a shaman named Stella that she meets along the way. Janey, sometimes with CJ, goes to increasingly ridiculous and difficult workouts. The reader has to suspend reality a bit as no one who hadn’t been working out regularly could possibly have completed most of these. CJ, who has long struggled with a bit of extra weight, is forever trying different, outlandish diets. Her efforts are both sad and funny at the same time. It took me awhile to get into this book but, once I did, I couldn’t put it down. I appreciated the deeper messages beyond the laughs, as well as the variety of characters found in the book. Many are nice, some are despicable and others just pathetic. I enjoyed this book and recommend it for readers looking for a book that’s a bit different. I was given a free copy of the book by NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for an honest review. I was not compensated nor was I required to write a positive review. The opinions stated are solely my own.
    more
  • Regina
    May 19, 2017
    Janey Sweet's bitchy business partner and childhood friend, Beau, has given Janey an ultimatum - lose 30 lbs (that she doesn't need to lose) or risk her position as CEO of their wedding dress design business. Through an old contract and a majority stake in the company, Beau is able to enact this clause...and hilarity ensues. Having worked in a fashion-adjacent position in NYC for several years, I loved Sykes' and Piazza's other novel, The Knockoff. It bordered on satire but not - the scenarios w Janey Sweet's bitchy business partner and childhood friend, Beau, has given Janey an ultimatum - lose 30 lbs (that she doesn't need to lose) or risk her position as CEO of their wedding dress design business. Through an old contract and a majority stake in the company, Beau is able to enact this clause...and hilarity ensues. Having worked in a fashion-adjacent position in NYC for several years, I loved Sykes' and Piazza's other novel, The Knockoff. It bordered on satire but not - the scenarios were were ridiculous, but true. So reads much of Fitness Junkie, a look into the various fitness classes in New York and the women who frequent them. Any New Yorker can identify the thinly (no pun intended) veiled references - SoarBarre is obviously Soul Cycle and SweatGood (I'm cracking up) is clearly ClassPass, a service which allowed our heroine to try all sorts of fitness trends to lose weight. A lovable cast of characters follows Janey on her journey, including two love interests. I would have liked a few more pages dedicated to the romantic relationships, but this book really is not about that. There is definitely a positive body image, girl power vibe as Janey discovers that who she is, at any size, is more than enough. The plotline kept me engaged and I caught myself laughing on the subway several times; this is a fantastic light-hearted read and these ladies are quickly becoming one of my favorite writing duos.Thank you Netgalley for this fantastic preview!
    more
  • Sharon May
    June 25, 2017
    Thanks to NetGalley, Doubleday, and the authors for the opportunity to read this fun book!In a nutshell, this is a book that pokes serious fun at the weight-loss industry and our society for being so focused on being skinny. The letter in the front of my ARC says that the authors found that when they were coming up with ludicrous weight-loss diets and workouts that they were all out there in the world - and there are some crazy ones!Janey is the CEO of B - a bridal design group that sells uber-e Thanks to NetGalley, Doubleday, and the authors for the opportunity to read this fun book!In a nutshell, this is a book that pokes serious fun at the weight-loss industry and our society for being so focused on being skinny. The letter in the front of my ARC says that the authors found that when they were coming up with ludicrous weight-loss diets and workouts that they were all out there in the world - and there are some crazy ones!Janey is the CEO of B - a bridal design group that sells uber-expensive gowns only to a size 4. When the designer, Beau, who is Janey's best friend since grade school, shows a picture to Janey of her eating a bruffin at a fashion show, he tells her that she must lose 30 pounds before she can come back to work. While Janey might have put on a few pounds since going through a divorce, she appears to have a healthy attitude about weight. Until the ultimatum. Suddenly she finds herself in the crazy world of rich people trying to lose weight however they can. Janey's good friend, CJ, who is always trying the latest crazy diet trend, jumps in to help out.While this book is hilarious, it does point fingers at society and its body-shaming attitude that skinny is the ultimate price, even if it's not healthy. On a good note, it may make you want to eat healthier and go for a walk!Lots of fun - highly recommended!
    more
  • Beth Dean
    June 1, 2017
    What is it with books about uber-rich women that I find so fascinating?Fitness Junkie is one of the more interesting ones I’ve come across. Janey is a 40-year-old divorcee , who is a CEO of B, a wedding dress design company she runs with her best friend, Beau.He is the creative designer. She is the level-headed CEO. One day at brunch, Beau tells Janey she’s embarrassing. She’s too fat and needs to take three months off to lose 30 pounds. After all, her fatness is not a good representation of the What is it with books about uber-rich women that I find so fascinating?Fitness Junkie is one of the more interesting ones I’ve come across. Janey is a 40-year-old divorcee , who is a CEO of B, a wedding dress design company she runs with her best friend, Beau.He is the creative designer. She is the level-headed CEO. One day at brunch, Beau tells Janey she’s embarrassing. She’s too fat and needs to take three months off to lose 30 pounds. After all, her fatness is not a good representation of the company.Sarcasm intended.This is the point that could lose the reader. Although Janey consults with lawyers in the book, this could not be legally feasible in real life. Even if it was legal, would a powerful CEO really roll over, take an unwanted sabbatical, and be happy chasing exercise trends, even with knowledge of a coup in the works? Would a successful CEO have no other business aspirations or machinations? Absolutely not. The book forces the reader to suspend disbelief for the fun of going on these absurd diet and exercise excursions. Okay, then. Turn off the logical part of the brain and enjoy the ride. When you do away with common sense and the disgustingly sexist construct, the story is actually interesting. Like an anthropologist studying the habits of another culture, one which most people will never inhabit. During her leave, Janey figures out that(view spoiler)[ (of course) her BFF business partner Beau is up to no good. But instead of snapping back, she continues to diet herself to the point of hospitalization. Why?> (hide spoiler)]This sounds like a scathing review, but it really isn't. This book is a lot of fun. Most of the fun in the winking tongue-in-cheek absurdity. The book knows how ridiculous it is. It's in on the joke. And at the same time, Janey is likeable. She'd be a fun friend.Plot holes aside, Fitness Junkie actually is escapist fun. Grab the binoculars and explore this other culture in its natural habitat. I mean, it includes topless yoga. How can you pass that up?Many thanks to NetGalley for providing me an advance copy of Fitness Junkie in exchange for an honest review.Watch the video review of Fitness Junkie here.Read Remark Reviews | YouTube | Twitter | Pinterest
    more
  • Dominic Carlin
    June 19, 2017
    Full disclosure: I skipped 100 pages of meandering plot, but it still counts. The only positive I could find about this book was that I didn't pay for it, instead nabbing it off the advance copy bookcase at the bookshop my friend lived at. The blurb promised outrageously funny and hinted at a mystery, but only delivered hashtags, health and wellness jargon and an outrageous number of references to "bruffins" which makes one wonder if the authors have some kind of financial interest to declare. I Full disclosure: I skipped 100 pages of meandering plot, but it still counts. The only positive I could find about this book was that I didn't pay for it, instead nabbing it off the advance copy bookcase at the bookshop my friend lived at. The blurb promised outrageously funny and hinted at a mystery, but only delivered hashtags, health and wellness jargon and an outrageous number of references to "bruffins" which makes one wonder if the authors have some kind of financial interest to declare. In an effort to be subversive satire of the community, the book tried to hard, ultimately leading to more head shakes than belly laughs. While the blurb hinted at an underlying mystery - the only reason I really considered reading it - the two person perspective stifled any tension or wonder, leading to the inevitable reveal that anyone who's ever taken a passable interest in model culture could have guessed. Give it a miss, it's not really worth your time.
    more
  • Adriana
    May 27, 2017
    I love it when a story is this fun and still manages to have a deep, meaningful message.The story of 40-year-old Janey's descent into the mad world of fitness obsessions and wellness fads is a fun look at what some women are willing to go thru to look skinny. Following along on Janey's self-discovery is a big part of why I liked the book so much. She starts out being hurt by someone she loves and ends up coming into her own self and realizing that it's all about accepting you for you. An extra l I love it when a story is this fun and still manages to have a deep, meaningful message.The story of 40-year-old Janey's descent into the mad world of fitness obsessions and wellness fads is a fun look at what some women are willing to go thru to look skinny. Following along on Janey's self-discovery is a big part of why I liked the book so much. She starts out being hurt by someone she loves and ends up coming into her own self and realizing that it's all about accepting you for you. An extra level of interesting that the story contains is that along with Janey's weight loss adventures, you get a little mystery and behind the scenes scheming.The plot is fun and the message is positive. I totally recommend it. Mandatory note: I got my copy thru GoodReads' First Reads.
    more
  • Taylor
    June 21, 2017
    I was fairly confident that I wasn't going to enjoy this read, given how much I hated Sykes' previous novel "The Knockoff" (couldn't even finish it, I thought it was so terrible). But this is the PERFECT summer beach read! While the ending does fall victim to Sykes' tendency to oversimplify and rush her storylines, the bulk of the book is very enjoyable and a wild ride. I've already passed my ARC on to another friends for her upcoming vacation, and anticipate it making the rounds to the rest of I was fairly confident that I wasn't going to enjoy this read, given how much I hated Sykes' previous novel "The Knockoff" (couldn't even finish it, I thought it was so terrible). But this is the PERFECT summer beach read! While the ending does fall victim to Sykes' tendency to oversimplify and rush her storylines, the bulk of the book is very enjoyable and a wild ride. I've already passed my ARC on to another friends for her upcoming vacation, and anticipate it making the rounds to the rest of my group. Buy this book, throw it in your beach bag, and don't worry too much when it comes home filled with sand and with some margarita stains.Disclaimer: I received a complimentary ARC from the publisher in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Mary
    June 13, 2017
    I have been a long-time subscriber to multiple women's magazines. This doesn't mean that I've tried some of the nutty suggestions between the pages, but I'm definitely aware of them and how quickly science changes, as they discover more information. This book made me laugh quite a bit, as it plays on the over-the-top competitiveness there can be to look your "best" and be your healthiest. Now, here in The South, we don't get nearly as wild with our fitness or jump on the latest craze (um...don't I have been a long-time subscriber to multiple women's magazines. This doesn't mean that I've tried some of the nutty suggestions between the pages, but I'm definitely aware of them and how quickly science changes, as they discover more information. This book made me laugh quite a bit, as it plays on the over-the-top competitiveness there can be to look your "best" and be your healthiest. Now, here in The South, we don't get nearly as wild with our fitness or jump on the latest craze (um...don't put wasps' nests up your hoo-ha, ladies. And, yes, that was the most recent craze. Google it.), but those in LA and NYC seem to be happy to play guinea pig for the rest of us -- as explored in this book.Not too over-the-top, just enough humor (poking gentle fun at the fitness industry rather than being mean about it), with a solid plot revolving around a character I could get behind. A great summer read.
    more
  • Pammycats
    June 6, 2017
    Fitness JunkieBy: Lucy Sykes and Jo PiazzaI received an e-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.As soon as I started the very first chapter of this book, I knew I was in for a treat. The writing here is smart and fast. I loved it and know you will too.Janey is the financial genius behind a high-end bridal boutique. Her best friend Beau is the creative core of their empire. When Janey gains weight after a messy breakup, Beau insists (legally - through her contract) that she take tim Fitness JunkieBy: Lucy Sykes and Jo PiazzaI received an e-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review.As soon as I started the very first chapter of this book, I knew I was in for a treat. The writing here is smart and fast. I loved it and know you will too.Janey is the financial genius behind a high-end bridal boutique. Her best friend Beau is the creative core of their empire. When Janey gains weight after a messy breakup, Beau insists (legally - through her contract) that she take time off to get back into a more fashionable weight range. J (Janey) takes us through several diets and exercise programs. They are all so funny and just made for quick reading that I couldn't wait to get back to each day. There is also some diabolical scheming and betrayal behind the scenes that added some much needed depth to the plot. My only quibble about this book is it's basic premise. First, she is the only woman on the planet completely unconcerned with her own body weight. Seriously, J has gained so much weight that she has had to change out her wardrobe more than once? I live in Houston and that would cause most women here to re-evaluate their lifestyle. I recognize that the book is trying to get us all to love ourselves as we are but J's unconcern is just not realistic. The final premise of the book, "be healthy but don't worry about being skinny" is a great motto. However, I want to see the character progress to this idea not be the most body confident woman on the planet from the first page.Overall, I completely loved reading this book. The writing is sharp and witty. I just adore these two authors and the way their minds work.
    more
  • Tara
    June 13, 2017
    3.5 stars, but I’d rather round up than down in the case of this book. Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza have created a funny, quick paced read with Fitness Junkie. Janey Sweet is the CEO of a successful, elite, couture bridal gown company. In the blink of an eye her best friend and partner destroys her self-image by telling Janey she is overweight. What ensues is Janey’s quest to become “better” through an often hilarious, sometimes frightening weight loss journey. Although at times it felt a bit contri 3.5 stars, but I’d rather round up than down in the case of this book. Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza have created a funny, quick paced read with Fitness Junkie. Janey Sweet is the CEO of a successful, elite, couture bridal gown company. In the blink of an eye her best friend and partner destroys her self-image by telling Janey she is overweight. What ensues is Janey’s quest to become “better” through an often hilarious, sometimes frightening weight loss journey. Although at times it felt a bit contrived and far reaching, the story did cause me pause at how much truth there was in its pages. The characters were very well written and easily imagined, and the authors’ addressed our society’s current body shaming trend (although don’t trends tend to go away?) with humor and a satisfying conclusion to Janey’s pursuit.*I received a copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Eva
    June 21, 2017
    After Janey Sweet, CEO of an upscale wedding dress line. is threatened with losing her job, she embarks on a quest to lose the excess weight. We are shocked at the unconventional methods her contemporaries have used to shed the pounds--some who are clearly already underweight. The more astonishing methods appear to have serious converts due to their success--from eating clay to taking boot camps classes by 'drill sargent' type instructors.Only after being at the same fitness resort where the nea After Janey Sweet, CEO of an upscale wedding dress line. is threatened with losing her job, she embarks on a quest to lose the excess weight. We are shocked at the unconventional methods her contemporaries have used to shed the pounds--some who are clearly already underweight. The more astonishing methods appear to have serious converts due to their success--from eating clay to taking boot camps classes by 'drill sargent' type instructors.Only after being at the same fitness resort where the near death of one of the participants take place does Janey realize the importance of abandoning her weight loss quest.In the context of today's thin obsessed society, the reader will no doubt connect with Janey Sweet's journey. Fitness Junkie" by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza is an entertaining read. Thankyou GoodReads for the book.
    more
  • Shannon
    June 26, 2017
    This is an almost satirical look at the lengths women go to lose weight & be "healthy." However, there is more to Janey's story than whether or not she loses weight. The fact that she even thinks she needs to lose weight is annoying, but when she gets started, her skepticism of all of the expensive, trendy workouts is refreshing. I laughed out loud at many of the very timely pop culture references & faux inspirational quotes (Don't let anyone treat you like the yellow Starburst. You are This is an almost satirical look at the lengths women go to lose weight & be "healthy." However, there is more to Janey's story than whether or not she loses weight. The fact that she even thinks she needs to lose weight is annoying, but when she gets started, her skepticism of all of the expensive, trendy workouts is refreshing. I laughed out loud at many of the very timely pop culture references & faux inspirational quotes (Don't let anyone treat you like the yellow Starburst. You are the pink Starburst.). So, just sit back, relax, & enjoy the crazy! *I read a NetGalley of this book.
    more
  • Jessica
    June 10, 2017
    Some parts hilarious, some what the hell! Fast paced read. I liked it because it can be relatable. Janey and Beau have been friends since middle school. They grew up together and did everything together. They grew up and built a business together. Janey the CEO and Beau the fashion designer for B wedding dresses. Suddenly Beau wants Janey to leave 3 months because of how FAT she is! Really?! 30 pounds in 3 months or no more job is his deal. So she does it. Mainly in the point of view of Janey bu Some parts hilarious, some what the hell! Fast paced read. I liked it because it can be relatable. Janey and Beau have been friends since middle school. They grew up together and did everything together. They grew up and built a business together. Janey the CEO and Beau the fashion designer for B wedding dresses. Suddenly Beau wants Janey to leave 3 months because of how FAT she is! Really?! 30 pounds in 3 months or no more job is his deal. So she does it. Mainly in the point of view of Janey but each chapter can change different perspectives without notice. Some to her cousin Ivy. Which I feel is great because there are 3 different people who become the bad guys; kind of. I thought it was great! Kind of cultish which I am into cult-like novels. Weird workouts and extreme diets like eating clay and you know the weird humors and language. But there is a moral: be you and don't care what people think of you. Never follow dad diets because they are scams. Be bold and be you and eat what you want.
    more
  • Gretchen
    June 21, 2017
    Actual rating is closer to 3.5 stars, but I'll round up.As someone who's gotten way too swept up in the fitness trend over the last few years, I really enjoyed this. The author hit the nail on the head with describing today's fitness culture and it's ugly obsessive tendencies. This book would be a great catalyst for discussion about body image and how far people go to get the "perfect" figure. Janey was a great protagonist and was absolutely hilarious. Some of the other characters blended togeth Actual rating is closer to 3.5 stars, but I'll round up.As someone who's gotten way too swept up in the fitness trend over the last few years, I really enjoyed this. The author hit the nail on the head with describing today's fitness culture and it's ugly obsessive tendencies. This book would be a great catalyst for discussion about body image and how far people go to get the "perfect" figure. Janey was a great protagonist and was absolutely hilarious. Some of the other characters blended together for me and became hard to keep track of. My other issue was that the timeline seemed a little off in spots because the pacing was uneven. I also was not a fan of how some chapters were randomly about Ivy. It disrupted the flow a bit. Overall, I really enjoyed it, though. I received an ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Shar
    June 18, 2017
    Absolutely hilarious book to read, but also a scary commentary on lifestyle trends that our society will try and accept to be the most in-shape or skinny person. I found Janey to be a great and very relatable main character as she thrown into a journey to eventually find her true self after being consumed by a job that she is on a break from. Not only is the fitness crazed lifestyle a fun plot line, there is also a bit of a mystery subplot that keeps everything moving and a fun read. Great summe Absolutely hilarious book to read, but also a scary commentary on lifestyle trends that our society will try and accept to be the most in-shape or skinny person. I found Janey to be a great and very relatable main character as she thrown into a journey to eventually find her true self after being consumed by a job that she is on a break from. Not only is the fitness crazed lifestyle a fun plot line, there is also a bit of a mystery subplot that keeps everything moving and a fun read. Great summertime reading for sure!
    more
  • Kate Maxwell
    June 3, 2017
    Lucy and Jo do it again! Taking a section of society and putting a magnifying glass over it - one that shows all of the dirty, bizarre rituals surrounding that sector. This sector is Fitness. After Janey Sweet's best friend, Beau, who is co-owner of B - Wedding Dresses, puts her on sabbatical for 3 months until she loses 30 pounds, she becomes Alice in this warped world of fantastical classes and uncommon practices. It's definitely a strange trip down the rabbit-hole of fitness. From H2Broc to d Lucy and Jo do it again! Taking a section of society and putting a magnifying glass over it - one that shows all of the dirty, bizarre rituals surrounding that sector. This sector is Fitness. After Janey Sweet's best friend, Beau, who is co-owner of B - Wedding Dresses, puts her on sabbatical for 3 months until she loses 30 pounds, she becomes Alice in this warped world of fantastical classes and uncommon practices. It's definitely a strange trip down the rabbit-hole of fitness. From H2Broc to doctored tea before the exclusive Workout, you are constantly shocked and left flabbergasted at the antics and exercises that Janey takes herself through in order to meet the magical number set by Beau.The characters in this story are a mixed group of personas. You get a real sense of Janey Sweet's character, who evolves throughout the story. Beau is shallow and flamboyant. Stella, the shaman, helps to bring things back down to earth. CJ, Janey's best gal pal, takes Janey to a variety of unusual workout classes. Ivy, Janey's cousin, is a ballerina turned spin instructor. Each character has his or her own personality and are great accomplices for Janey and her journey along this mockery of the fitness world.It's nice to know that the end isn't too far-fetched and provides a positive spin on the whole-fad diet and fitness craze. This book was provided by the publisher for an honest review.
    more
Write a review