Slouch Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic, #1)
Let's get one thing straight - Ivy Wilde is not a heroine. In fact, she's probably the last witch in the world who you'd call if you needed a magical helping hand, regardless of her actual abilities. If it were down to Ivy, she'd spend all day every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart's content.However, when a bureaucratic disaster ends up with Ivy as the victim of a case of mistaken identity, she's yanked very unwillingly into Arcane Branch, the investigative department of the Hermetic Order of the Golden Dawn. Her problems are quadrupled when a valuable object is stolen right from under the Order's noses. It doesn't exactly help that she's been magically bound to Adeptus Exemptus Raphael Winter. He might have piercing sapphire eyes and a body which a cover model would be proud of but, as far as Ivy's concerned, he's a walking advertisement for the joyless perils of too much witch-work. And if he makes her go to the gym again, she's definitely going to turn him into a frog.

Slouch Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic, #1) Details

TitleSlouch Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 8th, 2017
ISBN154558544X
ISBN-139781545585443
Rating
GenreFantasy, Urban Fantasy, Paranormal, Magic, Romance, Paranormal Romance, Witches

Slouch Witch (The Lazy Girl's Guide to Magic, #1) Review

  • Whitney (Shooting Stars Reviews)
    June 2, 2017
    Reviewed by Whitney@Shooting Stars ReviewsSlouch Witch begins when Ivy ends up being bound to an Order witch because there was a huge misunderstanding with her friend Eve. Now, she must be around this guy constantly or her skin feels like its burning alive. Things get worse when someone tries to kill them, something goes missing, and someone else ends up dead. As Ivy tries to manage everything that's going on, her new partner and her seem to be building a relationship that neither one really kno Reviewed by Whitney@Shooting Stars ReviewsSlouch Witch begins when Ivy ends up being bound to an Order witch because there was a huge misunderstanding with her friend Eve. Now, she must be around this guy constantly or her skin feels like its burning alive. Things get worse when someone tries to kill them, something goes missing, and someone else ends up dead. As Ivy tries to manage everything that's going on, her new partner and her seem to be building a relationship that neither one really knows how to deal with. On top of that, she knows her friend Eve will be so angry when she finds out the mix up. And then the ending was utterly crazy! I can't believe it ended like that. While it may not be a cliffhanger exactly, it was in my book, and it was nuts. I can't wait for the next one. This one was a great start to this series. It opened up the world of the Order and witches, and we got to meet the awesome Ivy and her new partner. I seriously adored them together, and I loved Ivy as well. I'm super excited for more in this series now.
    more
  • Airwreckah
    June 8, 2017
    Why did i read it the first day it was out? Now i have to wait.. blurgh
  • Vannessa
    June 1, 2017
    Although I was sent this ARC by the author, this review is all mine! I really loved this book. Ivy was a brilliant character, funny, reckless, lazy, yet determined and relentless too. She is a witch who does not belong to the Order of witches - the big council type organisation who trains and allocates witches to different branches of magic according to their skills. She doesn't want to be part of the Order after her previous history with them and is quite happy living her life, doing what she w Although I was sent this ARC by the author, this review is all mine! I really loved this book. Ivy was a brilliant character, funny, reckless, lazy, yet determined and relentless too. She is a witch who does not belong to the Order of witches - the big council type organisation who trains and allocates witches to different branches of magic according to their skills. She doesn't want to be part of the Order after her previous history with them and is quite happy living her life, doing what she wants when she wants. Unfortunately that all changes one day, whilst Ivy is doing a good deed. The Order appears at her neighbour Eve's door when Ivy is feeding her neighbour's cat and the Order members presume that she is Eve. They end up binding Ivy to another witch, a very powerful, yet grumpy witch and Ivy has no choice but to go along with him until the bond is broken. Winter is a member of the Arcane Branch which deals with solving crimes, usually magically related ones and soon enough Ivy finds herself tracking down a missing artefact from the Order's library. What entails is a long investigation with many twists and turns and with Winter using his powerful magic skills and Ivy using her gut instincts. They made a great partnership and Winter eventually reveals that he is not what he first appears at all. Ivy was a really funny character and was very lovable. Winter was quite standoffish at first, but I loved how he mellowed a little bit and became more "human". We definitely got to see the better side of him later on in the book once he was used to Ivy a bit more. I loved Brutus, Ivy's cat and his demands, but his best part was without a doubt the end! So looking forward to reading the next one. I do wonder if Ivy will go back to the Order, now she has had a taste of the nicer side of the organisation. I would love to see her team up with Winter again and maybe Eve as a trio in the Arcane Branch and she definitely needs to get her own back on Tarquin at some point. Thank you to Helen for giving me this book in return for this review!
    more
  • Laura
    June 6, 2017
    Helen Harper's first novel in the Lazy Girls Guide to Magic series introduces a magical but realistic take on Oxford, complete with a bureaucratic "Order" of witches (a term used for both males and females here) with several branches including their own investigative team. The couch-loving, lift-taking, taxi-driving life of witch Ivy Wilde gets interesting when she's mistakenly bound to one of the higher-up, pretentious workaholic 'detectives' aptly named Winter in Arcane Branch, instead of her Helen Harper's first novel in the Lazy Girls Guide to Magic series introduces a magical but realistic take on Oxford, complete with a bureaucratic "Order" of witches (a term used for both males and females here) with several branches including their own investigative team. The couch-loving, lift-taking, taxi-driving life of witch Ivy Wilde gets interesting when she's mistakenly bound to one of the higher-up, pretentious workaholic 'detectives' aptly named Winter in Arcane Branch, instead of her ambitious neighbor, and then thrown into an intriguing, layered mystery within the Order she hoped to always avoid. The interaction between these two characters of opposing personalities was thoroughly entertaining as they learn to understand each other and collaborate. The plot kept me invested and guessing, eager for the unraveling of the culprits and the resolution of Ivy's dilemma. Harper always uses very clear, direct language that makes it a clean (some but very inexplicit romance), satisfying read, like finishing a fresh cup of tea or plonking on the couch after a long day. Ivy, Winter, and the other characters are all quirky yet realistic in a way that made me feel like they really do exist somewhere and wish that I could meet them. And the too-accurate cats were just icing on the hilarity in this book--I laughed aloud! I'm thoroughly looking forward to book 2 in this urban fantasy series.
    more
  • TSN
    June 10, 2017
    4.5 starsIvy Wilde is the last witch in the world who you'd call if you needed a magical helping hand, regardless of her actual abilities. If it were down to Ivy, she'd spend all day, every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart's content.I have a soft spot for Helen Harper's books, and with a synopsis like above, I pretty much was in love before even reading it. Luckily Slouch Witch did not disappoint - Yay!It was brilliant and kin 4.5 starsIvy Wilde is the last witch in the world who you'd call if you needed a magical helping hand, regardless of her actual abilities. If it were down to Ivy, she'd spend all day, every day on her sofa where she could watch TV, munch junk food and talk to her feline familiar to her heart's content.I have a soft spot for Helen Harper's books, and with a synopsis like above, I pretty much was in love before even reading it. Luckily Slouch Witch did not disappoint - Yay!It was brilliant and kind of ridiculous, but funny, and all in a good way.And... It have the shortest sex scene ever: (view spoiler)["***" :) (hide spoiler)]I can't wait to read the next one!
    more
  • Books In Brogan
    June 10, 2017
    I just finished reading this amazing book by Helen Harper she has a fun and breezy writing style that kept the pages quickly turning well into the night! I need more… I can’t wait to read the next one in the series.  This review was originally posted on Books In Brogan
    more
  • Tamara Tabor
    June 8, 2017
    Really funny, really good. just overall amazing. the writing was great, few editing errors (I cant actually remember any off the top of my head but i always leave room for error). Hilarious characters and the oh my gosh the tension is amazing. i just finished this book and i already want the next one... as well as wanting to reread it! it was really good and definitely worth reading numerous times!
    more
  • Mindy
    June 7, 2017
    I absolutely love and adore this book. Helen has once again brought forth a story (series starter) that not only has originality and adventure but it kept me interested from start to finish. Ivy and Rafe (Winter) are amazing characters. I laughed so many times throughout this story I was afraid I would get a stomach ache. Besides Rafe and Ivy I really love Brutus. I think it would be awesome to have a talking cat. His little speech at the end is amazing, funny and strangely true. Well done, Hele I absolutely love and adore this book. Helen has once again brought forth a story (series starter) that not only has originality and adventure but it kept me interested from start to finish. Ivy and Rafe (Winter) are amazing characters. I laughed so many times throughout this story I was afraid I would get a stomach ache. Besides Rafe and Ivy I really love Brutus. I think it would be awesome to have a talking cat. His little speech at the end is amazing, funny and strangely true. Well done, Helen. Looking forward to reading the next book, Star Witch!
    more
  • Jason Eldridge
    June 11, 2017
    Excellent readNormally it takes quite a lot to make me arrange my weekend around a book, within half an hour of picking it up I was already deciding what I could put off until the next day. Read over one weekend this book managed to go with the cliché odd-couple pairing and made it work. Plot was excellent and until the very end I was still guessing. Some excellent characterization (et tu?) and a promising new series.
    more
  • Sabrina Angelo
    June 12, 2017
    Such a great and fantastic read. I have never been so fond or related more to a main character before. Ivy and Winter had good chemistry and moved the plot along. My absolute favorite part was the ending epilogue from Winters point of view.My only complaint is that the book went by too quickly. I could have read 300 more pages if The Slouch Witch.I can't wait for the second book!!
    more
  • Noodle TheNaughtyNightOwl
    June 12, 2017
    6/10I gave him a tiny nod. Work smarter, not harder. He’d learn.This has potential and I will be reading on. An easy, funny read. Although it took a little longer than expected to fall for Winter, and for the relationship between Ivy & him, I'm keen to pick up the next book. Helen Harper always makes for a good read.
    more
  • Kristy Hilton
    June 9, 2017
    Another great series!I'm happy to say that I really liked this starting book in this new series. I wasn't able to get into the author's dragon series and I've lost interest in the Bo series, sadly. However, I enjoyed this one, and I only have to wait about a month for the next one!
    more
  • Louise Bowling
    June 8, 2017
    YayWhat a fantastic start to Helen Harpers new series. This book is brilliant. Lots of laugh out loud moments I loved the characters they are brilliant. Unique and fun love this new magical world. Taxi driving curvy awesomeness witch. Yay Helen you did it again thank you!!! Can't wait for the next book x
    more
  • Nicki K.
    June 8, 2017
    5 Stars I have yet to read a Helen Harper book I dislike, and this is definitely one of her best. Ivy is an incredible character, one I could easily connect with. As amazing as the concept was, the writing and plot were even more so. I found the ending to be well-done, and will be counting down the days for book two.
    more
  • C.J.
    June 8, 2017
    Fantastic read! A funny, snarky and talented heroine, plus a brooding, handsome hero makes for good reading. There was plenty of mystery, tension and humour to keep me riveted from the first page. Although it didn't end on a conventional cliffhanger, the ending does leave you on a precipice of sorts - one that I can't wait to go over. So excited for the next book. Highly recommend.
    more
  • Jennifer
    June 11, 2017
    4.5 stars Great story made me laugh and related to the main character I think with the next book I would want to see more world building it was pretty good but I want to know more its just really interesting, magic almost seems mundane to have in a way or like obsolete from what I saw. Like just another job out there if you have it. Will definitely look for the next book though!
    more
  • Desirea Herrera
    June 11, 2017
    Quite GoodI've read a mos of the books by Helen Harper. She never disappoints me. The characters are never shallow nor one dimensional. They remind me of real people that I've either met or know.
  • Mary
    June 9, 2017
    Loved it!Helen has done it again. I couldn't put it down until I finished it and now can't wait for the next one. If you like a lot of magic and some humor thrown in you will love this book. I highly recommend it
  • °мαggιє°
    June 12, 2017
    3.5
  • Tania
    June 11, 2017
    Bloody amazing. Eagerly awaiting book 2 T_T
  • Maggie
    June 9, 2017
    Loved this book! Ivy is my favorite type of character: smart, funny, independent, & relatable. I can't wait for the sequel.... More Ivy\Rafe and Brutus\Princess please!
  • Chris Cox
    June 10, 2017
    A good fun read.
  • Michelle Connor
    June 8, 2017
    I loved this book. The main character was a hoot and can't wait for the next book in the series to get a little more of her and winters.
  • Srishti
    June 9, 2017
    I absolutely adored this book! I loved the chemistry between Ivy and Rage. It was perfect mixture of romance, mystery and humor. I cannot wait for the next book for more.
  • Jay Eats Books
    June 8, 2017
    So fun!This is a promising start to a promising series. I love the concept of "lazy genius"! I see good things in this series' future.
  • Jordan Smith
    June 9, 2017
    HilariousAnd relatable. I'm asking everyone I know to read it so I can share the funny. Imaginative story, awesome author, I can't wait to read the next one.
  • S A Leith
    June 8, 2017
    I'd give it 10 stars if I could. I love this author's style.
Write a review