The Student
Do bad people look like good people, like friends and brothers and boyfriends and students, until they have their hands around your throat?Gatton, Queensland. 1994. Nate is a student, dealing weed on the side. A girl called Maya Kibby is dead. No one knows who killed her. Nate needs to refresh his supply, but Jesse, his friend and dealer, is missing. Nate is high. He is alone. Being hunted for the suitcase he’s found and haunted by its contents. And as things turn from bad to worse, Nate uncovers far more than he bargained for.The Student is high-paced, hardboiled regional noir: fresh, gritty, unnerving, with a stark and lonely beauty.‘A terrific neo-noir from an exciting new voice in Australian crime fiction’ – Adrian McKinty'The Student takes the campus novel and mines within it a dark seam of violence, deception and suspense in prose that burns with a fierce propulsion' – David Whish-Wilson

The Student Details

TitleThe Student
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 16th, 2017
PublisherBonnier Publishing Australia
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Crime

The Student Review

  • Marianne
    June 22, 2017
    The Student is the second book by Australian musician and author, Iain Ryan. It’s 1994 and Nathan Byrnes is doing Business Studies at UoQ campus in Gatton, Queensland. He works at MacDonalds to help make ends meet. The profits from his thriving business selling marijuana to his fellow students go to an altogether more altruistic cause.But suddenly, things are coming apart: his supplies are running low and his dealer is nowhere to be found; a missing girl has turned up murdered; and two bikies wi The Student is the second book by Australian musician and author, Iain Ryan. It’s 1994 and Nathan Byrnes is doing Business Studies at UoQ campus in Gatton, Queensland. He works at MacDonalds to help make ends meet. The profits from his thriving business selling marijuana to his fellow students go to an altogether more altruistic cause.But suddenly, things are coming apart: his supplies are running low and his dealer is nowhere to be found; a missing girl has turned up murdered; and two bikies with a taste for brutality have given him an ultimatum that involves a horrendously large sum of money.Ryan easily evokes the Queensland Uni scene of the mid-nineties: the attitudes, the characters and the dialogue all have an authentic feel. His plot is entirely plausible and races through twists and turns to its inevitable conclusion. Given the subject matter, readers can expect copious use of profanities as well as explicit sex, graphic violence and indiscriminate drug and alcohol consumption. That said, this is a tale that will resonate with readers of a certain vintage (aged mid-forties), especially if they have been Uni students, more especially if they enjoyed a bit of weed. Raw, dark and compelling.With thanks to Echo Publishing for this copy to read and review
    more
  • The Grim Reader (Beavisthebookhead.com)
    June 20, 2017
    Something occurred to me whilst I was reading The Student by Iain Ryan. And that is, more people should be reading The Student by Iain Ryan. If you like your crime fiction dark and gritty, suffocating under the humidity of tropical Queensland, Ryan’s latest book is the one for you.Nate is a drug dealer, but when his supplies start to dwindle he seeks out his supplier, Jesse. Only problem is, Jesse has gone missing. When a couple of disgruntled bikies turn up looking for a considerable sum of mon Something occurred to me whilst I was reading The Student by Iain Ryan. And that is, more people should be reading The Student by Iain Ryan. If you like your crime fiction dark and gritty, suffocating under the humidity of tropical Queensland, Ryan’s latest book is the one for you.Nate is a drug dealer, but when his supplies start to dwindle he seeks out his supplier, Jesse. Only problem is, Jesse has gone missing. When a couple of disgruntled bikies turn up looking for a considerable sum of money, Nate needs to find Jesse and fast.There isn’t anything particularly groundbreaking with Ryan’s story, but what it is a fast paced noir thriller featuring an excellent cast of characters, a few dead bodies and some homemade porno tapes! Set in the mid 1990s, The Student drops numerous musical references, walkmans are cool, and so is this story. Nate is a little bit like Alice in Wonderland. He goes willingly down the rabbit hole and ends up in a world he probably knew existed but always wanted to keep at arm’s length. Initially, Nate seems like just another junkie dealer, but as things progress we become quickly invested in his future, however short it may seem. His family history really adds some depth to his character. He helps out his parents with some cash from his sales, and his internal thoughts lead you to believe that he isn’t such a bad kid, he just got in with the wrong crew.There are numerous twists and reveals in The Student. Everything plays out realistically, ends are tied up and the last few chapters in particular are excellent. I felt this story got better and better with each chapter. There is always something happening. The pacing is superb, the writing is good and although it feels more like a long novella, there is enough meat on the bones of the characters and depth in the story for you to feel satisfied at the books end.This book made me realise that I need to get back and read the rest of Iain Ryan’s books on my TBR.4/5 cones from the Grim Reader.
    more
  • Matxalen (matxi_books)
    June 11, 2017
    3*A cute (well not really that cute) story that read like a episodic autobiography.The writing fel real, raw and it really was fast paced. I liked and enjoyed it more than I thought I would. The thing that got me confused was those "two" points of view we could find in each chapter. I didn't know if they were different people, past and present or what... but at the end everything it got cleared out.This was not what I was expecting. I expected some mystery to it but we got to follow a drug deale 3*A cute (well not really that cute) story that read like a episodic autobiography.The writing fel real, raw and it really was fast paced. I liked and enjoyed it more than I thought I would. The thing that got me confused was those "two" points of view we could find in each chapter. I didn't know if they were different people, past and present or what... but at the end everything it got cleared out.This was not what I was expecting. I expected some mystery to it but we got to follow a drug dealer in fact. Not an easy life, but I guess you know from the beginning what you signed up for right? I would categorize this as a novella or short story where we follow a 'not so bad' drug dealer who needs to make things right. There are some bumps along the way where we get to see the darker side of this world. A categorized this as a short story because it could have been more. I would ask more of a novel.I didn't feel an attachment to any of the characters displayed here but that might be because I really didn't know about most of this stuff. You know about what you see on TV but everything described here felt completely real and non fictional, for some reason.The fact is that I got an image of this Australian town that I didn't like. I know we were centered in a drug user crowd but everyone here seemed to be an user, which doesn't sound realistic at all.I got a copy of this one in netgalley but my opinions are my own.
    more
  • Anne Foster
    June 23, 2017
    I really thought I liked noir. But this novel is noir in its deepest, darkest element. College student, Nate spends the first 30% of the book searching for his friend and supplier, Jesse who has suddenly disappeared. Looking everywhere he can think of, he spends most of the time getting stoned and drunk, going to class only when he thinks someone there might know of Jesse's whereabouts. Once he finds answers, he realizes they are not the ones he wanted and we get a look at some explicit porn, vi I really thought I liked noir. But this novel is noir in its deepest, darkest element. College student, Nate spends the first 30% of the book searching for his friend and supplier, Jesse who has suddenly disappeared. Looking everywhere he can think of, he spends most of the time getting stoned and drunk, going to class only when he thinks someone there might know of Jesse's whereabouts. Once he finds answers, he realizes they are not the ones he wanted and we get a look at some explicit porn, violence, and more drug-dealing, wasted good/bad guys. Certainly the author is talented as the prose is stark and haunting; maybe just not a good fit for me as it was so depressing and I was glad I didn't know these people in college. If you love noir, this is the novel for you but be prepared for some realistically dark and somber scenes. The cover says it all!
    more
  • Brittany Strickland
    June 7, 2017
    The ugly, secret truths about life are often the hardest to accept. Nate learns that lesson throughout his story, uncovering traits about his friends and family that he would never have guessed were real. The death of a local girl rips off the blinders covering tough elements of his world, reopening old wounds, shaking his perception of people in his life. Nate finds himself in the middle of a mess to which he fears he will not see a pleasant end. Pain, fear, and loss lead to understanding and a The ugly, secret truths about life are often the hardest to accept. Nate learns that lesson throughout his story, uncovering traits about his friends and family that he would never have guessed were real. The death of a local girl rips off the blinders covering tough elements of his world, reopening old wounds, shaking his perception of people in his life. Nate finds himself in the middle of a mess to which he fears he will not see a pleasant end. Pain, fear, and loss lead to understanding and acceptance in this fast-paced story of a young man trying to better his life and move away from the past. Well written, raw and genuine.
    more
  • Matthew Hickey
    June 27, 2017
    This is the second Australian crime novel I've read this year. The first was "The Dry". This book is everything "The Dry" is not. If this book doesn't garner the kind of attention that book did, there's no justice in the world. Fantastic stuff - and the fact that it's set in my part of the world and written by a local is the icing on the cake. I look forward to reading Iain Ryan's next novel in due course.
    more
  • Kristine
    June 28, 2017
    The Student by Iain Ryan is a free NetGalley ebook that I read in late June.Rather a lot like a murder-mystery, extra emo episode of EastEnders. Nate leads with first-person narration, annotated to-do lists, and flashbacks in italics, while musing over the death of his classmate, Maya Libby, in a very sequential, stream of conscious way, compared to the average person.
    more
  • Carol - Reading Writing and Riesling
    June 27, 2017
    31/2stars More soon
  • Iain Ryan
    March 29, 2017
Write a review