Because I Was A Girl
Whether they're young or old, household names or behind-the-scenes players, so many women have incredible stories to tell. And now is their chance.Edited by bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz, Because I Was a Girl is a collection of anecdotes from girls and women, ages 10 to 80, about the barriers they've faced—and the dreams they've made come true. Featuring a who's who of successful women in the arts, finance, politics, and more, this book is a must-have gift for girls and young women everywhere. It's perfect for fans of Rad American Women A-Z and includes more than thirty stories by Victoria Aveyard, Libba Bray, Margaret Stohl, Stacey Snider (co-chairman of 20th Century Fox), Quvenzhane Wallis, and many more.

Because I Was A Girl Details

TitleBecause I Was A Girl
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseOct 3rd, 2017
PublisherHenry Holt and Co. (BYR)
ISBN-139781250154460
Rating
GenreNonfiction, Autobiography, Memoir, Anthologies, Feminism

Because I Was A Girl Review

  • Melissa Flanagin
    January 1, 1970
    So many wonderful ladies in our world. great role models for on kiddos today
  • Mallory
    January 1, 1970
    This book popped up as a popular one being checked out at our local library. So I hopped in the virtual queue and waited. It wasn't until I had 3 days left on my 21 day loan that I started reading. I finished it 48 hours later. I was surprised by how many moments echoed my own experience. Walk in the room with a man colleague and who is addressed first? Who is praised for being loud, authoritative, and assertive? Who is told to get more sleep if they forget (or refuse) to put cover up under thei This book popped up as a popular one being checked out at our local library. So I hopped in the virtual queue and waited. It wasn't until I had 3 days left on my 21 day loan that I started reading. I finished it 48 hours later. I was surprised by how many moments echoed my own experience. Walk in the room with a man colleague and who is addressed first? Who is praised for being loud, authoritative, and assertive? Who is told to get more sleep if they forget (or refuse) to put cover up under their eyes? How if you like makeup you can't be brainy? It wasn't until I read Libba Bray's narrative that I shook with rage at the generational and societal inequality of women. And this from a woman who had all the other advantages: two college educated parents, never told I couldn't do it, never experienced sexism until working in college. For this I am glad that those were not the only stories told in this collection. This should find a home in every classroom to give girls a voice, to show them they are not alone, and to give them hope in paper form- may it take root in their souls.
    more
  • Ashley Elliott
    January 1, 1970
    I loved this book! True stories of women throughout history and in present day. They are inspirational and I highly suggest you google some of them to get more of their accomplishments. I love knowing that sometimes they faced obstacles and overcame and sometimes they moved on because life isn’t perfect and we aren’t all meant to win at everything. I loved all the different personalities in the stories. It was a good book to end the week on!
    more
  • Danielle Benich
    January 1, 1970
    So inspiring! We have come so far... I just hope we aren't going backwards now.
  • Elaine Leow
    January 1, 1970
    Because I was a girl, I’m willing to prove that females are equal to males,
  • PWRL
    January 1, 1970
    A
  • Brittany
    January 1, 1970
    Can't wait to read this! And not just because my face is on the cover ;)
Write a review