A SEAL's Courage (Military Match #1)
A sizzling new series about three friends looking for love-and the sexy SEALs who are ready to fulfill their craziest fantasies.He's a man on a mission.Navy SEAL Trent Lawson isn't a man to back down from a challenge. Ever since he opened his eyes in that army hospital to learn the men from his unit were gone, Trent has been determined to live life in their honor. Even if that means facing his most terrifying mission yet . . . dating.She's done playing games.Lauren Hayes has standards. In fact, she's got an entire list of them. There's only ever been one man to come close to making the cut-Trent Lawson. Except her best friend's too-sexy-for-his-own-good brother is strictly off-limits. When Trent and Lauren find themselves matched up by a dating service, the chemistry between them is nothing short of explosive. They both know getting involved is a huge mistake, but life is too short to walk away from something this good.

A SEAL's Courage (Military Match #1) Details

TitleA SEAL's Courage (Military Match #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherForever Yours
ISBN1538728842
ISBN-139781538728840
Number of pages240 pages
Rating
GenreWar, Military, Romance, Contemporary, Contemporary Romance

A SEAL's Courage (Military Match #1) Review

  • Deborah Perry
    July 3, 2017
    A SEAL's Courage is such an amazing book to read!  I devoured it in one sitting! Food-no, Bathroom-no, Phone-off! I didn't move! It was that good! Trent Lawson is returning home from the military SEAL unit after suffering injuries while serving.  He also is carrying the weight of his friends who lost their lives on the same mission.  He's the only one who made it out alive.  He vows to honor them and do things that they are no longer here to do.  The very first thing? Find love.  They all wanted A SEAL's Courage is such an amazing book to read!  I devoured it in one sitting! Food-no, Bathroom-no, Phone-off! I didn't move! It was that good! Trent Lawson is returning home from the military SEAL unit after suffering injuries while serving.  He also is carrying the weight of his friends who lost their lives on the same mission.  He's the only one who made it out alive.  He vows to honor them and do things that they are no longer here to do.  The very first thing? Find love.  They all wanted it but it was elusive.  The thought scares him something awful, but he is bound to try.  He signs up for a dating site hoping to meet someone that lets him enjoy life again-if he makes a life match-even better.  Lauren Hays has been infatuated with her best friend's brother for what seems like forever.  Problem? She feels he's off limits and out of her league anyway.  She wants to meet that special someone, but Lauren has standards.  She won't just date anyone but she has to start somewhere.  Her friends have her join an online dating site matching military men.  They figures the men are used to rules and standards-what better place to look, right??  When Lauren arrives for her matched date, it turns out to be none other that the fabulously off-limits Trent!I loved this romance from the start!  Both Trent and Lauren seemed real and I could be friends with them! Yes both had quirks like we all do, but they were very likable and that endeared me to their story. Trent was transitioning back to civilian life and I liked how the author was sympathetic to that.  Some do it well, but others have a hard time letting go of their feelings.  Trent seen a lot, and he lost a lot.  That's hard for anyone to deal with.  J.M. Stewart did the research to tell Trent's tale well! I also loved how we get dual POV! I always want to know what each person is thinking, and seeing things from both Lauren and Trent's views made this story very well written!Trent and Lauren will steal your heart! Their story captivated me and I highly recommend you check it out! 5 Stars/4 FlamesThis book was gifted to me for an honest review.  The review and ratings are solely my opinions.
    more
  • books are love
    July 11, 2017
    Told by both Trent and Lauren’s Point of view so we get the full gamut of emotion and thoughts. Trent’s is my favorite because of his strength and struggle. Struggle to come back to civilian world and his desire to live. His desire to do all that those who didn’t come back with him can’t anymore. I found him to be strong but suffering. He went through so much before coming back that your heart goes out to him. His strength and courage to put himself out there and find someone if that is what is Told by both Trent and Lauren’s Point of view so we get the full gamut of emotion and thoughts. Trent’s is my favorite because of his strength and struggle. Struggle to come back to civilian world and his desire to live. His desire to do all that those who didn’t come back with him can’t anymore. I found him to be strong but suffering. He went through so much before coming back that your heart goes out to him. His strength and courage to put himself out there and find someone if that is what is meant to happen is so admirable. Him diving into the dating pool and feeling alive again is wonderful. he was sexy and understanding with a little bit of saucy to him. Lauren is sweet and wonderful. She has had a crush on her best friend’s brother forever so imagine her surprise when he is on the dating site she is on. wow. her going for it was fun to see. She was fun to watch in her interactions with Trent. Her being there for him was wonderful as well.What do we get from these two? A book that is sexy and saucy in the romance department. quirky likable characters that you root for and see the love and attraction between. And a very real story of what someone who is a survivor goes through when they come home and has so much to deal with and re-acclimate to. A wonderful sexy tale that keeps you in the moment and loving every second as two great characters fall in love.
    more
  • Isha Coleman
    July 4, 2017
    J.M. Stewart gives new meaning to the term power ballad. Lust and love have no boundaries. Characters are compelling, stories are powerful and emotions are put on full display. She's gives the vulnerable a voice in times when they need the courage to be strong. A Seal's Courage is stellar evidence of that. Trent left a hero but came back a broken man. Lauren is a woman with love to give, but no one to share it with. Still waters may run deep, but Lauren and Trent add in an inferno of heat. Sensu J.M. Stewart gives new meaning to the term power ballad. Lust and love have no boundaries. Characters are compelling, stories are powerful and emotions are put on full display. She's gives the vulnerable a voice in times when they need the courage to be strong. A Seal's Courage is stellar evidence of that. Trent left a hero but came back a broken man. Lauren is a woman with love to give, but no one to share it with. Still waters may run deep, but Lauren and Trent add in an inferno of heat. Sensuality does not overpower the message of hope and healing conveyed in this seduction serenade of love.
    more
  • Amazeballs Book Addicts
    July 10, 2017
    I have found a new author to LOVE!!! I have really been in a reading funk lately. I have tried many books just hoping they would catch me and pull me out of it and this one totally did it!!! I devoured this book. And I mean DEVOURED it. I fell in love immediately with Trent and Lauren. They are characters that I really related to. Now don't get me wrong, there were many times where I wanted to strangle Trent even though I totally understood why he did and felt the way he did. I can not wait for I have found a new author to LOVE!!! I have really been in a reading funk lately. I have tried many books just hoping they would catch me and pull me out of it and this one totally did it!!! I devoured this book. And I mean DEVOURED it. I fell in love immediately with Trent and Lauren. They are characters that I really related to. Now don't get me wrong, there were many times where I wanted to strangle Trent even though I totally understood why he did and felt the way he did. I can not wait for the next book!! I got to the end of this one and was just hoping the next one was already out for the plain and simple fact I just could not get enough and I am just really impatient. I have no doubt the rest of this series (each about different characters) will be just as good as this one. Hurry, hurry, hurry Ms. Stewart and write, write, write. In the mean time I will be going back and picking up more of her books. Thank you for writing a book that completely stole my heart and brought me out of the reading funk I was in!! Absolute MUST READ in my eyes!! Review by Tabitha
    more
  • Heather andrews
    June 2, 2017
    Well Trent tell us your thoughts, “yes and no.” He shrugged, but heat flared in his eyes. “Sometimes a good hard eff is exactly what you need. Wild and unrestrained.” Trent is one honest man, "he nipped at her bottom lip. “Ask me how many hard-ons I’ve had to try to ignore today. It’s why I went for a run this morning. A cold shower wasn’t cutting it.” I really liked this book, I fell in love with Trent.
    more
  • Bec - Book Magic: Under a spell with every page Reviews
    July 14, 2017
    All Lauren Hayes wants to do is lose her virginity. At her age, she should have lost it by now, but after years of being told sex is sacred, she's waiting for Mr. Right. However, the only man that matches up is her best friend's brother, Trent Lawson; a gorgeous man haunted by his time in the military. So, when the pair are matched up through a dating service, and then come up with a plan to spend a month together exploring their chemistry, neither expected to fall in love. Can Lauren help Trent All Lauren Hayes wants to do is lose her virginity. At her age, she should have lost it by now, but after years of being told sex is sacred, she's waiting for Mr. Right. However, the only man that matches up is her best friend's brother, Trent Lawson; a gorgeous man haunted by his time in the military. So, when the pair are matched up through a dating service, and then come up with a plan to spend a month together exploring their chemistry, neither expected to fall in love. Can Lauren help Trent heal from his past, or will Trent allow his past to continue holding him back from finding happiness?The pages of this hot and steamy read really flew by and this story started off Ms. Stewart's new Military Match series wonderfully. The way this story started had me amused because of the conversation going on between Lauren and her friends. They're determined for Lauren to finally lose her virginity, so why shouldn't they take matters into their own hands by doing what they do. Poor Lauren! However, she can't believe how hard it's going to be to get up close and personal with her date, considering the man she's been matched up with. The main characters back stories made for some intense dialogue, especially that of the hero, because of all that he's been through while he was in the military and losing friends that he believes he should have been able to save. However, the dialogue wasn't all intense. There were also some really good light-hearted moments and some dirty talk that had me loving how this couple's relationship progressed, as Lauren is the only one that's ever been completely capable of getting past the walls Trent put up when he returned home for good. As for the hero, I absolutely loved him. He's been through so much and is haunted by his past, so it's understandable why it's hard for him to get close with anyone. I also liked how he was hesitant to get involved with the heroine, as she means a lot to him and he doesn't want to lose her. Yet, what I liked most about the hero is how he treated the heroine when he learnt the truth about her lack of experience and didn't judge her. While Lauren, she's kind, caring and I enjoyed how Trent opens up to her about what happened that ended his career and has left him isolated from those that love him. I also liked the advice the secondary characters gave her, as it was sound advice that she definitely needed to act on. Yet, what I enjoyed most about the heroine is how she helped the hero heal from his past and in return he helped her too. Overall, Ms. Stewart has delivered a wonderful read in this book where the chemistry was off-the-charts, the romance scorching and the ending had me cheering for this couple's happy ever after, as Trent needs Lauren in his life if he's to ever fully heal from his past. I would recommend A Seal's Courage by JM Stewart, if you enjoy the sister's best friend trope or books by authors Christie Ridgway, Elle James, Cat Johnson or Sarah Robinson.
    more
  • Megan Barnes
    July 5, 2017
    Lauren Hayes is the definition of #lifegoals for most women. She’s in her mid-20s with an awesome job and the best friends a girl could ask for. There’s only one pesky little thing that keeps her from feeling like a normal adult woman…her virginity. Enter Trent Lawson, her best friend’s big brother, Lauren’s childhood crush and now her…friend?After a gruesome exit from the Navy SEALs, Trent Lawson is unprepared for the divorce papers he’s handed when he arrives home upon being discharged. Add to Lauren Hayes is the definition of #lifegoals for most women. She’s in her mid-20s with an awesome job and the best friends a girl could ask for. There’s only one pesky little thing that keeps her from feeling like a normal adult woman…her virginity. Enter Trent Lawson, her best friend’s big brother, Lauren’s childhood crush and now her…friend?After a gruesome exit from the Navy SEALs, Trent Lawson is unprepared for the divorce papers he’s handed when he arrives home upon being discharged. Add to that some severe PTSD and injuries sustained during his time in the military, Trent is a little hesitant to get involved with anyone. However, when his little sister’s best friend starts to become an integral part of his life, he might have some problems.This book combined two of the best tricks of the trade: best friend’s brother and men in uniform. However, unlike most books involving the best friend’s brother, Trent and Lauren’s relationship wasn’t really an issue for her friend.The storyline of the book remained focused almost solely on Lauren and Trent and their month-long relationship (a time limit agreed to by both parties). Throughout the novel, we really see an emotional development of both characters. Lauren (surprise surprise) learns a thing or two about intimacy, both physical and emotional, and Trent learns to lean on someone in his times of weakness regarding his PTSD. They balanced each other out and provided the other with support and acceptance.“You opened me. Made me live. Hell. You made me want to live. You made me feel human again.” ~ TrentSigh. It may have taken him awhile but Trent finally realized a good thing when he had it. The chemistry between Trent and Lauren was more of a slow burn than an all-out explosion. They were friends before they were lovers which was apparent through the decisions they made regarding their relationship.The one thing I do wish we, the readers, had gotten more of was the secondary characters. We get glimpses into their lives, such as Lauren’s brief interactions with her friends, but I feel like the author could have taken a break from just Trent/Lauren a little more to introduce us to other players in the book. Trent’s brother Will was a more dominant secondary character than some others and provided comic relief as well as some sound love advice at a key moment in the book.Overall, this was a nice, easy read, great for a rainy day when all you want to do is curl up with a book. It should be interesting to see how the series evolves in the books to come.
    more
  • Kim
    July 7, 2017
    3.5 starsThere was a lot to like in the description of this story- a sexy Navy SEAL, a friends to lovers romance and a best friend's brother situation all called to me to grab this book.Trent was injured in an attack that took the life of good men and his faithful companion/ service dog. Once he physically recovered, he still faced a long road to recovery when it comes to his emotional state but he is determined to start living his life to honor those who no longer have that option. When his fri 3.5 starsThere was a lot to like in the description of this story- a sexy Navy SEAL, a friends to lovers romance and a best friend's brother situation all called to me to grab this book.Trent was injured in an attack that took the life of good men and his faithful companion/ service dog. Once he physically recovered, he still faced a long road to recovery when it comes to his emotional state but he is determined to start living his life to honor those who no longer have that option. When his friend's wife convinces him to sign up for Military Match, he reluctantly agrees in the spirit of starting to live again.Lauren has lived her life taking the safe route and figuratively wrapping herself in a thick cotton blanket to avoid taking chances or being hurt. Trent has always held her attention from the moment she met him but he never seemed to take notice of her. Now 28 years old, Lauren is still a virgin and wants to finally rid herself of that pesky status so she let's her bestie convince her to sign up with Military Match. Mandy knows Lauren always drooled over her brother but never more so than when he was in uniform so she figures this is a perfect option to help her get over Trent and find a man who will rev her engine AND finally cash in that V card.Any guesses who Lauren is paired with for her first date? Both Trent and Lauren are surprised to say the least! Since Trent has returned home, Lauren is one of the few people he trusts and counts as a friend so despite his attraction to her he doesn't necessarily want to act on it for fear of losing the relationship they currently have. He knows he still has a lot of issues to work out and doesn't want to burden her with them. Once she explains her reason for joining the dating service, the thought of her being with anyone else once he gets over his initial shock is intolerable so they strike a compromise.  Most of the story from that point centers on Trent's education of Lauren so to speak as they slowly build up to the "big moment" but Lauren helps Trent focus on moving forward as well.This may sound a little harsh, but I am pretty much over the whole 28 year old virgin thing in books these days and had the blurb included that little tidbit I may have passed on reading this one. I loved Trent, but Lauren's innocence and overall tendency to get her feelings hurt over the littlest comment or perceived criticism didn't endear her to me and I have to admit to skimming through some parts of their moments together. That being said, I did complete the book rather than DNF'ing and it was still a good read for me. I am sure many of you will not share the same quirks that I do when it comes to certain parts of this story so don't hesitate to give it a try for yourself!
    more
  • Misty (Red's Romance Review's)
    June 22, 2017
    Ex-Navy SEAL Trent Lawson is returning home a broken man riddled with many regrets, but he has hope that he can turn those regrets and the losses of his brothers on the battlefield into something more than a hurtful memory. After suffering his injury he made up his mind that something positive had to come from his situation, he had to do all the things his fallen brothers wouldn't be able to do, and at the top of the list was find love. Even though it scared the hell out of him, he signed up wit Ex-Navy SEAL Trent Lawson is returning home a broken man riddled with many regrets, but he has hope that he can turn those regrets and the losses of his brothers on the battlefield into something more than a hurtful memory. After suffering his injury he made up his mind that something positive had to come from his situation, he had to do all the things his fallen brothers wouldn't be able to do, and at the top of the list was find love. Even though it scared the hell out of him, he signed up with a dating site in hopes of meeting someone that would help him start living a little again, and he wound up receiving so much more than that...a beautiful woman who completely changed his world!Lauren Hayes has had a thing for her best friends brother for as long as she can remember, problem is that for one he is off limits, and two, he is so far out of her league. She wants to meet a man that will knock her socks off, and of course meet her long list of standards, but so far Mr. Right hasn't come knocking. Her friends are convinced she is going about it all wrong, so they sign her up with a dating site and ensure her this is the way for her to meet her match, but the man who shows up to meet her is far beyond any expectations she had... and also happens to be the one man that has always been off limits! This was my first book by this author and I absolutely loved it, it was so refreshing to read something a little out of my norm, and dive into a read with no preconceived expectations. The heartwarming story line gave me a serious case of the feels and kept me captivated from start to finish! I enjoyed watching the relationship develop between Trent and Lauren, their chemistry was amazing and they were very likable and realistic characters. I also appreciated how the author put a lot of time and care into detailing Trent's transition back to civilian life after leaving the service, I felt as though she did her research and covered it as accurately as possible. I highly recommend you give this book a try, Trent is sure to steal your heart!I voluntarily read and reviewed an advanced copy of this title.
    more
  • Angela
    July 6, 2017
    A highly entertaining romance that will definitely steal your heart! A SEAL's Courage is the first book in the exciting new Military Match series, and it's off to an excellent start. With the great storyline, terrific characters that you can't help but love, steamy intimate scenes, humor, and surprise twists, this emotional roller-coaster of a story will capture you from beginning to end. This was a fantastic story, and I can't wait for the next one! Trent has had a difficult time since his medi A highly entertaining romance that will definitely steal your heart! A SEAL's Courage is the first book in the exciting new Military Match series, and it's off to an excellent start. With the great storyline, terrific characters that you can't help but love, steamy intimate scenes, humor, and surprise twists, this emotional roller-coaster of a story will capture you from beginning to end. This was a fantastic story, and I can't wait for the next one! Trent has had a difficult time since his medical discharge from the military. In addition to his physical wounds, he also has PTSD, horrific nightmares that cause him to get little sleep, and the only bright side to any of it has been Lauren's unexpected friendship. Just because he's recently noticed that she's all woman now, and he's definitely attracted to her, he's not willing to risk their friendship for a fling.Lauren had a major crush on her bf's brother when she was younger, but when he got married and went into the military, she finally got over him, or so she thought. When he returns a broken version of the man he was, she volunteers to help however she can, which led to their friendship. Even though she still lusts after him, she knows that he doesn't see her that way, so she settles for what he's willing to give her. When they're matched up by a dating service, both are shocked, and even though she's willing to give them a try, he refuses. Can she convince him that what's between them is worth seeing where it'll lead? Whenever he makes her an offer that she doesn't want to refuse, will they be able to remain friends? Or will she have her heart broken again by him? Will either of them get the HEA that they deserve? You're going to have to read this to find out! You won't be disappointed! I strongly recommend this book, and fantastic author! I have voluntarily reviewed this arc provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • Romantic Reads and Such
    July 7, 2017
    How these two thought this would work out boggles the mind.  Don’t get me wrong, I feel for them but it wasn’t the smartest decision ever made  :)Trent came back from war with scars inside and out.  He suffers from survivor’s guilt, a little PTSD, and a bum leg.  It’s his heart that gives him the most trouble.  His wife left him while he was away and added to the guilt he feels for letting his team down causing him to pretty much turn inwards.  He’s making the motions but he’s not really living How these two thought this would work out boggles the mind.  Don’t get me wrong, I feel for them but it wasn’t the smartest decision ever made  :)Trent came back from war with scars inside and out.  He suffers from survivor’s guilt, a little PTSD, and a bum leg.  It’s his heart that gives him the most trouble.  His wife left him while he was away and added to the guilt he feels for letting his team down causing him to pretty much turn inwards.  He’s making the motions but he’s not really living life.  The bright spot for him is his sister’s friend Lauren.  She’s the one that seems to understand what he needs during his recovery and he definitely doesn’t want to lose that.  He may be attracted to her but he doesn’t believe he’s in any shape to give away his heart again and she definitely doesn’t deserve anything less. Lauren has always had a crush on Trent but he doesn’t see her the same.  She’s been hiding her feelings for a long time but when they get set up by a dating agency it seems like maybe it’s a sign.  Only he’s not willing to risk their friendship (and the support she provides him).  But when their attraction starts getting the best of them they make an agreement for a month of sex … yeah, see what I mean?  They are both old enough to know that that can’t possibly go well. There’s a bit of back and forth at the beginning leading up to their agreement, which gives you a good feeling for where they are coming from.  And then they definitely bring all sorts of the sexy for their month together.  It’s the feels that happen afterward, though, that will definitely capture your heart and keep you coming back to see their HEA.  And have you looking forward to the next book.*** I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book. All opinions stated are solely my own and no one else’s. ***
    more
  • Eva
    July 6, 2017
    the first book in the military match series, a seal's courage, pairs up veteran trent lawson with 28-year -old virgin lauren hayes. i kind of wish that wasn't her biggest character trait, but unfortunately, it is. lauren has always had a thing for trent, he's her best friend's older brother. and when she signs up for this military focused dating service she is stunned to find herself paired up with the object of her fantasies.trent is equally stunned. he's always liked lauren. he knew about her the first book in the military match series, a seal's courage, pairs up veteran trent lawson with 28-year -old virgin lauren hayes. i kind of wish that wasn't her biggest character trait, but unfortunately, it is. lauren has always had a thing for trent, he's her best friend's older brother. and when she signs up for this military focused dating service she is stunned to find herself paired up with the object of her fantasies.trent is equally stunned. he's always liked lauren. he knew about her crush when they were younger. and now that he's back from the war she's the one person who calms all the anxiety and ptsd symptoms down. so he doesn't want to mess with their friendship. but being matched like that changes their view of one another. and so their friendship is irrevocably changed from that moment. even though both lauren and trent try to deny this.lauren has always wanted to pursue something with trent, and every time he rejects her a little piece of her dies. and eventually,he realizes he can't keep doing that to her. especially since he's denying himself too. he tries to put the brakes on their relationship, taking things slowly in deference to her virginity. except they burn too hot for each other.the truth is lauren is someone he wants to spend time with. so all he has to do is stop borrowing trouble. he's so convinced that he's failed the people closest to him—his brothers in arms, his k-9 partner, his ex-wife—that he's certain he'll fail lauren too. but he can't predict the future. he can't control how life turns out. this is no reason not to pursue a relationship.he's in a relationship with lauren from the start after all. their friendship is important. falling in love can only add another, deeper, dimension to it. they have the chance to be good together, and that is something worth pursuing.**a seal's courage will publish on july 11, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/grand central publishing (forever yours) in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Bookgasms Book Blog
    July 11, 2017
    Man, who doesn't love a "sister's best friend" romance? I know I do! And A SEAL's Courage was smart, sexy, thoughtful, fun and just damn good.Lauren Hayes is a girl who knows what she wants and isn't really that afraid to go out and get it. She's a business owner, has great friends, and just needs a little push in the love department. That's where the crazy dating service comes in to play...Trent Lawson is Lauren's date. Trent's a former Navy SEAL who has battle scars both on his skin and in his Man, who doesn't love a "sister's best friend" romance? I know I do! And A SEAL's Courage was smart, sexy, thoughtful, fun and just damn good.Lauren Hayes is a girl who knows what she wants and isn't really that afraid to go out and get it. She's a business owner, has great friends, and just needs a little push in the love department. That's where the crazy dating service comes in to play...Trent Lawson is Lauren's date. Trent's a former Navy SEAL who has battle scars both on his skin and in his heart. He's lost so much, but he's trying to live the life the guys from his unit no longer can. That even means dating-no matter how scary the thought. Lauren and Trent have known each other for years. Both have considered the other strictly off limits due to Lauren's friendship with Trent's sister. But can they really deny their feelings? And are they willing to take the risk?I adored Lauren from the start. I loved her honesty and zest for life; how she knew what she wanted and just needed a little help in accomplishing her goal. Trent grew on me too-but it took a while. I wanted to just give him a big hug and tell him he really wasn't living yet, that finding his happiness may cause some hurt and hard feelings. But as much as I like these two individually I absolutely loved them when they were together! *fans self* I cannot wait for Stephanie and Gabe's book next! ~ Missy, 4 stars
    more
  • Amy White Gilman
    July 12, 2017
    This more 3.5 stars and I am rounding up. This book is definitely a quick sweet read. It is about a wounded ex Navy Seal finding the courage to open his heart and love again. I liked that Lauren was the woman who accepted him scars and all. Trent is so scared to love again because his ex wife couldn't deal with the man he had become. Tragedy changes a person. I could only imagine that a tragedy in a war zone can leave lasting changes. It would be hard for somebody to become the person they were This more 3.5 stars and I am rounding up. This book is definitely a quick sweet read. It is about a wounded ex Navy Seal finding the courage to open his heart and love again. I liked that Lauren was the woman who accepted him scars and all. Trent is so scared to love again because his ex wife couldn't deal with the man he had become. Tragedy changes a person. I could only imagine that a tragedy in a war zone can leave lasting changes. It would be hard for somebody to become the person they were before. Lauren knew Trent before he left for war. He is her best friend's brother. She also knows the man he is now. The man he is now requires just a little extra patience. It is easy to get lost to in the memories. I liked that Lauren is the person to understand because the one thing she wants in life is the man she loves. Lauren is tired of being lonely. Deep down she doesn't want to settle. Her and Travis strike a deal, one month of seeing each and then they call it quits. I think I don't have to tell you what happens from here because if you have read a romance then you already know. I did like their connection to each other. Since, they already had all this back history this was one time when I was glad things sped right along. I found it refreshing that there was none of that we have to hide because the sibling won't understand crap. This was just a quick simple romance about two people find the love and acceptance they deserve. Sometimes risking your heart takes more courage than facing down an enemy.
    more
  • Donna
    July 11, 2017
    A SEAL's Courage should be renamed A SEAL's Courage and the courage of the women who love them. We expect SEAL’s to be strong and former SEAL Trent Lawson is fighting hard to recover from his time in the Navy. Nineteen months out and he is still suffering from PTSD, night terrors, the loss of his friend and his K9 partner and dealing with the scars on his body. He hasn’t been with a woman since his wife sent him a “Dear John” 2 years ago. He is working and his family is encouraging him to rejoin A SEAL's Courage should be renamed A SEAL's Courage and the courage of the women who love them. We expect SEAL’s to be strong and former SEAL Trent Lawson is fighting hard to recover from his time in the Navy. Nineteen months out and he is still suffering from PTSD, night terrors, the loss of his friend and his K9 partner and dealing with the scars on his body. He hasn’t been with a woman since his wife sent him a “Dear John” 2 years ago. He is working and his family is encouraging him to rejoin life. Get out. Date. Get laid. But the one woman who interests him is off limits because she is his baby sisters best friend.Baker Lauren Hayes is a 28 year old virgin. Her mother was a serial dater and didn’t know who Lauren’s father was. Lauren is determined not to be like her mother. When her mother died Lauren was taken in by a religious woman who taught her that sex was for the marriage bed. So here she is a 28 year old virgin. Her friends set her up with a dating service Military Match and it sets her up with her best friends brother Trent Lawson, the guy she has lusted after since she was a kid. I enjoyed watching Lauren stretch her wings and stand up for herself and what she wanted. She has been helping Trent recover and deserves a shot at happiness. This is a strong, well-written story filled with laughter and sorrow and true joy.
    more
  • Lynn Brooks
    July 10, 2017
    This adorable couple will melt your heart! She's sassy but sweet, he's gruff but endearing. Watching them heal each other from the scars of their individual pasts and move forward together was so rewarding! The characters are fun, the story line is a bit unorthodox but totally works for them. Can't wait to read more in this brand new series!Lauren Hayes is tired of waiting around for Mr. Right ... and since he's obviously not going to show up, she's decided to start thinking more along the lines This adorable couple will melt your heart! She's sassy but sweet, he's gruff but endearing. Watching them heal each other from the scars of their individual pasts and move forward together was so rewarding! The characters are fun, the story line is a bit unorthodox but totally works for them. Can't wait to read more in this brand new series!Lauren Hayes is tired of waiting around for Mr. Right ... and since he's obviously not going to show up, she's decided to start thinking more along the lines of Mr. Right Now! Her best friend talks her into trying out a new dating service ... and low and behold she gets matched up with the guy she's been crushing on for like forever .. her BFF's big brother!Former Navy SEAL Trent Lawson has had a hard time adjusting to life and loss since he's been back home, so the fact that he let a friend twist his arm into trying out this dating site is surprising. Who knew he'd be matched up with the one woman he most definitely wanted ... but couldn't have? When they decide to secretly get it all out of their system and then go back to being friends, will it all blow up in their faces?
    more
  • Ashleigh Mordew
    June 13, 2017
    This novel was so hot! I mean the Scenes in the book couldn’t get any hotter between lauren and Trent it was addicting to read.A seals courage is such an amazing book to read, I read it in one sitting and couldn’t put it down. I found it Trent’s story very emotional as his past happens in real life. When lauren Hayes and Trent Lawson get matched through a dating service, the chemistry between them is nothing short of explosive. They both know that anything between them that should happen, will b This novel was so hot! I mean the Scenes in the book couldn’t get any hotter between lauren and Trent it was addicting to read.A seals courage is such an amazing book to read, I read it in one sitting and couldn’t put it down. I found it Trent’s story very emotional as his past happens in real life. When lauren Hayes and Trent Lawson get matched through a dating service, the chemistry between them is nothing short of explosive. They both know that anything between them that should happen, will be a mistake, but life is to short for to them to walk away from something so good.I really liked the characters in a Seal’s courage, Trent and lauren made me fall in love with the story and even laugh and cry a little (shh don’t tell anyone).A seal’s courage is written from Lauren and Trents POV, switching back and forth. You get to see lauren’s point of view on how she feels but also what Trent goes through.Overall I loved this book, i loved the characters and the way it was written. I’ve also found another author to enjoy and can’t wait for the next book to come to come out.
    more
  • Bette Hansen
    July 8, 2017
    I really loved this story. I worried that it was going to be another story of a vet with PTSD issues. Not that I don't have compassion and respect for those individuals, I've just simply read too many of them recently. Luckily Ms. Stewart made this story so much more. Yes, Trent had issues but he didn't let them rule his life. After what he went through and the friends he lost he wanted to honor them by living his life to the fullest. Getting into the dating scene is hard though so he tries an o I really loved this story. I worried that it was going to be another story of a vet with PTSD issues. Not that I don't have compassion and respect for those individuals, I've just simply read too many of them recently. Luckily Ms. Stewart made this story so much more. Yes, Trent had issues but he didn't let them rule his life. After what he went through and the friends he lost he wanted to honor them by living his life to the fullest. Getting into the dating scene is hard though so he tries an online service to help him. He can't believe it when he is set up with his sisters lifelong best friend Lauren Hayes. The chemistry and attraction are there but she is off limits unless he wants his sister to cut off some vital parts of his anatomy. But there is that whole chemistry and attraction thing again..... so they both decide to have a month long fling. After that they walk away. Yeah, right!A well done story and a book I think everyone will enjoy. I highly recommend it.
    more
  • Rosemary K
    July 14, 2017
    Trent Lawson came back home a haunted man. He blames himself for the loss of his men to a Taliban bomb. His PTSD is ever present and his dreams make his life hell. He misses female companionship so he joins Military Match. As if preordained by Fate, he's set up with Lauren Hayes, his sister's best friend. He desires this woman, but he won't act on it. He will only hurt her. I sympathized with Trent's emotional problems. He's a good man damaged by war. I wanted to see him take a chance and move f Trent Lawson came back home a haunted man. He blames himself for the loss of his men to a Taliban bomb. His PTSD is ever present and his dreams make his life hell. He misses female companionship so he joins Military Match. As if preordained by Fate, he's set up with Lauren Hayes, his sister's best friend. He desires this woman, but he won't act on it. He will only hurt her. I sympathized with Trent's emotional problems. He's a good man damaged by war. I wanted to see him take a chance and move forward with his life. Lauren cares and opens her heart to him. Will he be brave enough to take the chance? Their romance is both tender and passionate. Seeing them together is amazing. JM Stewart has written amazing character. They are easy to care about. The bond they share is strong and compelling. I was pulled into their story. It touched me. I can't wait for the next book in the Military Match series.I received a copy of this book which I voluntarily read and reviewed. My comments are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Julie
    July 8, 2017
    Lauren has had a crush on her best friend's brother for a long time now, and since his return from the army he hasn't been the same but Lauren still goes to see him and try's to find the "old" Trent.Trent has found it hard now he is home, he suffers from PTSD, the stress and nightmares has been devastating. Lauren brightens his day, but she's strictly of limits, sister's BFF and all, he's also much to old for her.Until they find themselves on a date after being matched up on a dating service.The Lauren has had a crush on her best friend's brother for a long time now, and since his return from the army he hasn't been the same but Lauren still goes to see him and try's to find the "old" Trent.Trent has found it hard now he is home, he suffers from PTSD, the stress and nightmares has been devastating. Lauren brightens his day, but she's strictly of limits, sister's BFF and all, he's also much to old for her.Until they find themselves on a date after being matched up on a dating service.They hit off of course and when they begin to become more intimate the chemistry between is fantastic, but they agree they should only have this amazing fun for a short time.Trent and Lauren were great characters, Trent was very caring and Lauren a wonderfully, understanding young woman and I liked how the story went from each their POV in the plot.I really liked this book, the story development and writing was well done. It was very entertaining. I highly recommend it!
    more
  • BookSnuggle
    July 11, 2017
    A SEAL's Courage (Military Match) by JM StewartThis is Navy SEAL Trent Lawson and Lauren Hayes' story.Trent was medically discharged after his injury in his last deployment. He still is suffering from PTSD. Lauren is Trent's sister's best friend so they have known each other a long time. She has had a crush on Trent but he sees her as a little sister. Lauren has been a big help to Trent this past year. Trent and Lauren end up on a blind date. The chemistry between them is red hot. How will they A SEAL's Courage (Military Match) by JM StewartThis is Navy SEAL Trent Lawson and Lauren Hayes' story.Trent was medically discharged after his injury in his last deployment. He still is suffering from PTSD. Lauren is Trent's sister's best friend so they have known each other a long time. She has had a crush on Trent but he sees her as a little sister. Lauren has been a big help to Trent this past year. Trent and Lauren end up on a blind date. The chemistry between them is red hot. How will they handle this attraction? I absolutely loved, loved, loved this story! This was an amazing, emotional, sensual, and heartwarming romance. The author did a excellent job of where I could feel the emotions of Trent and Lauren. I can't express enough how the emotions of the characters jumped right off the page. With so many books to pick from this is one you must read! FYI, contains mature content.  I voluntarily reviewed an Advance Reader Copy of this book.
    more
  • Courtney Hagel-Swinson
    July 12, 2017
    The beginning of this book kind of annoyed me. I think it was because Trent's warring emotions and Lauren's woe is me attitude went on too long for me. I never really connected to the characters and I didn't feel they connected until their sexual relationship started. That was the redeeming part of this book. Once they got together, Lauren and Trent steamed up the pages. I liked the slow nature of their intimacy and the buildup. But then the fallout at the end was so quick and didn't make me fee The beginning of this book kind of annoyed me. I think it was because Trent's warring emotions and Lauren's woe is me attitude went on too long for me. I never really connected to the characters and I didn't feel they connected until their sexual relationship started. That was the redeeming part of this book. Once they got together, Lauren and Trent steamed up the pages. I liked the slow nature of their intimacy and the buildup. But then the fallout at the end was so quick and didn't make me feel any angst. I guess I just wanted more feeling from the book. If you're looking for a quick, steamy read with an easy HEA you'll really enjoy this.ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Samantha
    July 8, 2017
    A SEAL's Courage is a little different than what I'm used to. Trent is a man that Lauren has wanted. he's her best friend's older brother and having a crush on him, but he's always been older and then went off to the military and got married. He's home now and divorced still trying to recover. Lauren has had a certain view of life. Now at 28 she realizes that those views don't really work anymore. She's going to try a service recommended by her friend, Military Match. Their time together will be A SEAL's Courage is a little different than what I'm used to. Trent is a man that Lauren has wanted. he's her best friend's older brother and having a crush on him, but he's always been older and then went off to the military and got married. He's home now and divorced still trying to recover. Lauren has had a certain view of life. Now at 28 she realizes that those views don't really work anymore. She's going to try a service recommended by her friend, Military Match. Their time together will be limited but they will burn it off the pages. I really liked this one and can't wait for more of the series.
    more
  • Book Loving Fairy-Blog
    July 13, 2017
    Star Rating: 3.5 starsI do love a good romance book..Add in Military and I'm sold.Except I wasn't fully sold on this one, the writing was good as well as the story but the POV irked me to no end!I prefer first person or dual but this one didnt seem to fall into either of those category, sadly. Although I did enjoy the book I just couldn't go higher on my rating because of the POV problems.
    more
  • Lisa
    July 12, 2017
    I am such a sucker for a friends to lovers story. Add in a sexy SEAL and a woman who knows what she wants and you have me hooked. That is exactly what Stewart has done with A SEAL's Courage. It is the perfect mix of everything I love in a story like this.
    more
  • Catherine Wright (Cat's Guilty Pleasure)
    June 26, 2017
    A Seal's Courage was my first book by this author and I really enjoyed it. The whole book was heartwarming and kept me intrigued the whole time I was reading. I loved the characters, they were so likable and felt real. The way the author wrote you could just imagine yourself in the story and feel the same things they were feeling. The chemistry between Trent and Lauren was great, watching the relationship develop was an amazing experience. i would highly recommend this one.
    more
  • Jennifer Schultheis
    July 3, 2017
    Review at http://wp.me/p2F7IH-gFC
  • Meaghan
    July 17, 2017
    Both Trent and Lauren were reduced to stereotypes - he was the battle-scarred warrior and she was the virgin. The book was a quick read, and moderately enjoyable, but rather predictable.
Write a review