Last Breath (Good Daughter #0.5)
The fantastic prequel to The Good Daughter, the stunning new standalone from the No. 1 bestselling author of the Will Trent and Grant County series.Protecting someone always comes at a cost.At the age of thirteen, Charlie Quinn’s childhood came to an abrupt and devastating end. Two men, with a grudge against her lawyer father, broke into her home – and after that shocking night, Charlie's world was never the same.Now a lawyer herself, Charlie has made it her mission to defend those with no one else to turn to. So when Flora Faulkner, a motherless teen, begs for help, Charlie is reminded of her own past, and is powerless to say no.But honour-student Flora is in far deeper trouble than Charlie could ever have anticipated. Soon she must ask herself: How far should she go to protect her client? And can she truly believe everything she is being told?

Last Breath (Good Daughter #0.5) Details

TitleLast Breath (Good Daughter #0.5)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherWitness Impulse
Number of pages48 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Novella, Suspense, Thriller, Fiction

Last Breath (Good Daughter #0.5) Review

  • Brenda
    May 31, 2017
    Lawyer Charlie Quinn was feeling decidedly unwell when fifteen year old Girl Scout Flora Faulkner offered to help – but once she had recovered and Flora was asking for her help in her capacity as a lawyer, Charlie couldn’t refuse. Her vow since she was thirteen was to always help people in need, and Flora most definitely was one of those…As Charlie met with the various people in Flora’s life, she was horrified at what was in front of her. But on the other hand, what was the truth? Was Flora in m Lawyer Charlie Quinn was feeling decidedly unwell when fifteen year old Girl Scout Flora Faulkner offered to help – but once she had recovered and Flora was asking for her help in her capacity as a lawyer, Charlie couldn’t refuse. Her vow since she was thirteen was to always help people in need, and Flora most definitely was one of those…As Charlie met with the various people in Flora’s life, she was horrified at what was in front of her. But on the other hand, what was the truth? Was Flora in much deeper than she was letting on? How was she to defend this child who wanted to be an adult?Last Breath is the prequel to Karin Slaughter’s standalone thriller The Good Daughter, and is short, sharp and gritty. Set in the bad parts of town, where drugs and money rule and only people who are smart enough come out on top, Last Breath was a little disappointing, but still worth the read. Recommended.
    more
  • Marianne
    June 8, 2017
    Last Breath is a prequel to The Good Daughter, a stand-alone (?) novel by American author, Karin Slaughter. Lawyer Charlotte Quinn wasn't planning to do any more pro bono work: she already has a client who owes her two grand. But Florabama Faulkner's appeal for help strikes a chord with Charlie. This girl lost her mother at a young age too, and she has hopes of doing what would make her mother proud: going to college. But her guardians are her grandparents, a couple who seem intent on working th Last Breath is a prequel to The Good Daughter, a stand-alone (?) novel by American author, Karin Slaughter. Lawyer Charlotte Quinn wasn't planning to do any more pro bono work: she already has a client who owes her two grand. But Florabama Faulkner's appeal for help strikes a chord with Charlie. This girl lost her mother at a young age too, and she has hopes of doing what would make her mother proud: going to college. But her guardians are her grandparents, a couple who seem intent on working their way through Flora's trust fund until there's nothing left. Flora wants Charlie to help her achieve legal emancipation. Charlie duly checks what she needs to, and finds that not everything is quite as it has been presented, and no one involved is quite who or what they at first seem. This prequel, set thirteen years before The Good Daughter, gives the reader some insight into the main character, Charlie Quinn. It also introduces secondary characters: Charlie’s husband, prosecution lawyer Ben Bernard (sigh), her dad, notorious defense attourney Rusty Quinn, his secretary Lenore, Pikeville cops and the DA. Fast paced with plenty of twists, this is an excellent teaser that will have readers impatient for The Good Daughter.
    more
  • Louisa
    June 2, 2017
    Such a great story! So twisty and amazing, and I enjoyed it so much! Can't wait for The Good Daughter!
  • Suzanne
    June 30, 2017
    This novella provides a welcome opportunity to meet Charlie Quinn, the protagonist of the Good Daughter, at least a decade before the events of that book. And a solid 15 years after the transformational, deadly events that framed her life as a young teen. She is a young attorney, early in her career and marriage, believing herself already to be a solid judge of character, or duplicitous character in particular. She's about to learn that life holds many surprises for her, even when she thought sh This novella provides a welcome opportunity to meet Charlie Quinn, the protagonist of the Good Daughter, at least a decade before the events of that book. And a solid 15 years after the transformational, deadly events that framed her life as a young teen. She is a young attorney, early in her career and marriage, believing herself already to be a solid judge of character, or duplicitous character in particular. She's about to learn that life holds many surprises for her, even when she thought she'd prepared herself for all the foolishness folks could exhibit. There's always one new wrinkle in a tale that she didn't see coming. Nor does the reader, in this well-paced story about a 15 year old Girl Scout in need of an attorney. As usual, Karin Slaughter enthralls with details, characters and action that move seamlessly together and block out everything else. I received my copy from the publisher through edelweiss.
    more
  • Sharon
    June 19, 2017
    The short prequel to the upcoming standalone, The Good Daughter (my review here)2008. Charlie Quinn is a defense lawyer. A troubled teenager comes to her for help - she is afraid that her Grandparents are squandering her trust fund, and wants to be emancipated. Charlie feels for the girl, and agrees to help - but is she being led astray?I really liked Charlie in the full novel, so I was happy to see her in this preview. The story is good, or as good as it can be in a short novella.
    more
  • Michelle Cole
    May 20, 2017
    Fantastic writing, as always, from Karin slaughter! I was expecting it to be good, a little taste of what's to come in the new book, to be gently eased into the story, which, of course, will lead to the main story.. But boy was I wrong! There was so much happening, even for a novella, and I liked how not all was what it first seemed, the twists? Brilliant! I'm so looking forward to the new book and reading more about the main character Charlie. If I wasn't already eagerly awaiting The Good Daugh Fantastic writing, as always, from Karin slaughter! I was expecting it to be good, a little taste of what's to come in the new book, to be gently eased into the story, which, of course, will lead to the main story.. But boy was I wrong! There was so much happening, even for a novella, and I liked how not all was what it first seemed, the twists? Brilliant! I'm so looking forward to the new book and reading more about the main character Charlie. If I wasn't already eagerly awaiting The Good Daughter, I certainly would be now after one hell of a kick start of a prequel..
    more
  • Agnieszka Frankowska
    May 21, 2017
    I don't normally read short stories. In fact, I hate most of them. Except the ones written by Karin Slaughter, that is... How does that work? I have no idea. I only know I adore Karin Slaughter's stories, no matter the length. "Last Breath" is no exception. I absolutely loved this novella and I cannot wait for "The Good Daughter"!
    more
  • Susanne Gulde
    June 9, 2017
    I received a digital review copy from the publisher through Edelweiss. Thank you!This novella is a prequel to the forthcoming book "The Good Daughter" and is a good tease for that book. As always for Karin Slaughter, excellent writing with a good plot and interesting characters.A surprise ending for me, but believable and keeping with the story.
    more
  • Marc Ely-harris
    June 9, 2017
    When Karin does a Novella, it's always fantastic and 'Last Breath' was no exception! A fantastic prequel to 'The Good Daughter' and a great introduction to Charlie. Leaves you wanting more... 5 weeks to wait now!!
  • Leah
    June 29, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book and can't waith for the Good Daughter to come out in a few weeks. I've already pre-ordered it!
  • Linda
    June 21, 2017
    A good short prequel to Good Daughter. Lots of twists and turns.
  • Reina Gardiner
    June 16, 2017
    Now looking forward to reading The Good Daughter and discovering about Charlie Quinn
  • Natalie Elcocks
    May 27, 2017
    5 star rating as always Quick little story ,fast paced and written well to keep you engaged, great new characters ,bring on the next book.
  • Barbara Brassey
    May 26, 2017
    Loved this short prequel to Karin Slaughters next novel. Couldn't put it down!!
  • Brenda Freeman
    June 12, 2017
    Karin Slaughter continues to amaze me. Looking forward to reading the Good Daughter.
  • Mrs Maryann Elliston
    June 5, 2017
    Great storyAnother great Karen Slaughter story. I am so looking forward to reading the next book, The Goog Daughter and I'm sure it'll be as good
  • julie bruce
    May 22, 2017
    Excellent!Excellent as always. I love the intricacies and flow of her writing. I've never been disappointed with a Karin Slaughter book.
  • Debbie
    May 21, 2017
    Once again another great book by one of my favourite writers. This was well written, such a great story and so looking forward to another book in this series???
  • Julie Lacey
    May 21, 2017
    Loved this novella!Great introduction to Charlie and I can't wait for the Good Daughter to come out later in the year.
  • Dee Williams
    June 14, 2017
    Loved this prequel to The Good Daughter. Great story & some interesting characters. Karin never lets you down with any of her books.
  • Pam
    June 18, 2017
    Looking forward to The Good Daughter when it's released in July ... this prequel was really good
  • Cheryl
    June 8, 2017
    Loved this prequel to The Good Daughter! I really enjoyed the prequel and the book The Good Daughter. Bravo on both!!
  • Louise
    July 1, 2017
    I really enjoyed this prequel to Karin Slaughter's new book. I look forward to reading more about Charlie when The Good Daughter is released.
Write a review