Ella's Ice-Cream Summer (The Ice-Cream Cafe, #1)
Ella’s life just hit rock-bottom, but can a summer by the sea mend her broken heart? When life gives you lemons… make ice-cream! Life hasn’t always been easy for single mum Ella, but she has just hit an all-time low; she’s jobless, loveless, very nearly homeless and, to make matters worse, now the owner of a pocket-sized pooch with a better wardrobe than her. Packing her bags (and a bigger one for the dog), Ella sets off for the seaside town of Appledore in Devon to re-live the magical summers of her youth and claim her portion of the family ice-cream business: a clapped-out ice-cream van and a complicated mess of secrets. There she meets gorgeous and free-spirited solicitor, Ben, who sees things differently: with a little bit of TLC he has a plan to get the van – and Ella – back up and running in no time. Ella’s Ice-Cream Summer is a heart-warming and hilarious romance that will scoop you off your feet and prove it’s never too late for a fresh start. The ideal holiday read for fans of Lucy Diamond, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson. What people are saying about Sue Watson: ‘At one point I choked on my coffee I was laughing so much! ... with characters you really care about Sue Watson has written a book that will keep you captivated until the very last page.' The Book Review Café ‘Oh guys, this book wowed me totally! … It’s going to warm your heart, break your heart as well, and make you laugh. It’s a perfect mix of every feeling possible. It’s a compelling, captivating, optimistic read and I highly recommend it!’ On My Bookshelf ‘The story is just wonderful … It truly is heart-warming and hilarious, but also connected with serious issues …’ Liina Reads ‘This book is a delight, perfect for curling up with a glass of wine and a bar of chocolate or cupcake in hand. This was a fabulous, humorous, easy read which I devoured in two sittings.’ Shaz’s Book Blog ‘Sue Watson did it again! Every single word in her stories is sweetened with chocolate, vanilla and cupcakes and there is no way you'll feel down after reading them… Totally recommended!’ Chick Library Cat ‘Heartfelt and warm, and perfect for the holiday season. Highly recommended.’ Any Good Book ‘I never thought I'd laugh and cry as much as I did while reading this book. I wish I could give it 10 stars! I loved this story and hope others do too.’ The Final Chapter ‘I genuinely laughed out loud reading Bella's Christmas Bake Off. It was a lovely, relaxing read, and one that really cheered me up. It has the perfect recipe of laughter, happiness and a little romance thrown in… I absolutely loved this book, it is a fab Christmas read and I highly recommend it. I give Bella’s Christmas Bake Off 5 Stars.’ Tea Lady Mumbles ‘This does exactly what it says on the tin. It's funny and heartwarming, sad and heart-breaking, all at the same time.

Ella's Ice-Cream Summer (The Ice-Cream Cafe, #1) Details

TitleElla's Ice-Cream Summer (The Ice-Cream Cafe, #1)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 11th, 2017
PublisherBookouture
Number of pages334 pages
Rating
GenreContemporary, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit, Romance, Fiction

Ella's Ice-Cream Summer (The Ice-Cream Cafe, #1) Review

  • Dash fan
    May 30, 2017
    5☆+  Loved it!!  Simply Scrumptious!I want to start by saying WOW!!! What a book!Left me wanting more and ravenous for scrumptious Italian Ice cream! I don't think I have laughed so much about one Character.Ella's Mum had me in tears of laughter!Her innocence to technology... the sexting escapades, her Twitter chaos , not to mention her disastrous dating had me howling with laughter.The Nan is my FAVOURITE  character.Ok now for the story lol....Ella's Mum and Aunt had fallen out many years ago a 5☆+  Loved it!!  Simply Scrumptious!I want to start by saying WOW!!! What a book!Left me wanting more and ravenous for scrumptious Italian Ice cream! I don't think I have laughed so much about one Character.Ella's Mum had me in tears of laughter!Her innocence to technology... the sexting escapades, her Twitter chaos , not to mention her disastrous dating had me howling with laughter.The Nan is my FAVOURITE  character.Ok now for the story lol....Ella's Mum and Aunt had fallen out many years ago and the feud spiralled out of control. Sisters at war with each other is never going to end well.Unfortunately Ella was never privalaged to find out the reason why they hated each other so much.So when Ella's Aunt passes away, Ella is determined to go back to Appledore and pay her respects to her Aunt she so dearly adored. Much to her Mum's annoyance and disapproval.When she finally arrives in Appledore she finds out that she has been left Reginaldo the Ice Cream Van.He needs a fair amount of work but what a fun way to spend the summer!With Ella's life falling apart, she's lost her job, home & the kids are off travelling.What better way to have her own adventure.So she packs up leaving her Mum behind and sets off to Appledore. Her Mum reluctant to let her go agrees to stay while the house is sold. Under no circumstances would she ever step foot in Appledore ever again! This is where Ella's adventure begins & this is where my review stops!!I devoured this book. From the beginning I was hooked and laughing so hard it hurt.Believe me when I say if you decide to read this scrumptious book you are in for a treat.There is plenty of unexpected surprises, lots of secrets and a shocker of a twist!!A sexy new love interest for Ella who sparks up emotions Ella thought she would never feel again.Delightful characters, very real and relatable.I loved Ella she started off being a ground down Mum/Daughter who then transformed into this strong independent women who was determined to succeed.It was beautiful to watch her journey.Delilah the dog was the star of the book. Her exquisite outfits and her Selfies was brilliant. It was fun waiting to find out which was next!Gina for me was the most surprising character. At first I disliked her but she has a way of getting under your skin. I really warmed to her and she made my heart swell towards the end. Oh and I just wanted to mention the Slimming Club Girls. I loved them. Hehe I can hold my hands up and say I've been there and done that LOL ... you will have to read to find out! There is Plenty of Laugh out loud moments, but there is also sadness which bought tears to my eyes.Sue has succeeded in making Appledore come to life and the characters feel very real and for that I applaud her. This book is very special and although it's a fun feel good book it also has a few sensitive storylines. Which I believe adds real depth to the story. Although this is the perfect Summer Read, i can see people falling in love with Ella and her family and this is one that will be read over and over!!I really hope there will be more from Appledore as I think there is much, much more to uncover.Oh and before I forget.... what a scrumptious cover!!!! Perfectly sums up Ella and Reginaldo. A real eye catcher! Perfect read for lovers of Chick Lit, YA, Romance, Summer reads, ice cream lovers, Womens Literature and family feuds.Would I recommend this book...... without a doubt......YES!!!!I received this book from the Publisher in exchange for a honest and fair review via Netgalley.
    more
  • Sarah
    April 25, 2017
    This book had me just from the title. Who doesn’t love ice cream? I certainly do and was literally drooling at the most wonderful flavours that Ella was making.Not only does Ella find herself out of a job, her ex also wants the house sold so he can get his share from the sale. I found myself getting attached to Ella right from the start as I had every sympathy for her. A forty plus year old woman, who not only has that to contend with she also has to cope with her mother as well as her children This book had me just from the title. Who doesn’t love ice cream? I certainly do and was literally drooling at the most wonderful flavours that Ella was making.Not only does Ella find herself out of a job, her ex also wants the house sold so he can get his share from the sale. I found myself getting attached to Ella right from the start as I had every sympathy for her. A forty plus year old woman, who not only has that to contend with she also has to cope with her mother as well as her children swanning off abroad for the summer holidays making her feel very much a spare part.As soon as Ella finds herself in the wonderful idyllic Appledore, the story got even more better for me. The author manages to always take her readers off somewhere so picturesque that not only do we fall in love with the characters but the setting also.The story is just wonderful. The author takes the classic romance and chick lit genres and wraps them up together, turning it into a wonderfully modern and empowered read. She takes me through the nicest of emotions that I never want to reach the end of the book.Ella’s Ice Cream Summer is the sweetest of reads. It’s like that wonderful whippy ice cream you can get with lots of extra special toppings like chocolate, nuts and sprinkles. Great characterisation brings the whole story to life. Ella’s story absorbed me, heart and soul and I savoured every single word.My thanks to Netgalley and Bookouture for an advanced readers copy of this book. All opinions are my own and biased in anyway.
    more
  • Renita D'Silva
    April 24, 2017
    Wow! Every single one of this author's stories is a masterpiece! Especially this one! I SO loved this book from start to finish. I did not want it to end. I fell in love with the characters and was rooting for them - they became my friends for a time and will stay with me for a very long time. This author does not just create stories, she creates legacies that endure long after the last page. Packed with humour and wisdom, a poignant, laugh out loud tale of finding yourself and embracing life to Wow! Every single one of this author's stories is a masterpiece! Especially this one! I SO loved this book from start to finish. I did not want it to end. I fell in love with the characters and was rooting for them - they became my friends for a time and will stay with me for a very long time. This author does not just create stories, she creates legacies that endure long after the last page. Packed with humour and wisdom, a poignant, laugh out loud tale of finding yourself and embracing life to the full. LOVED it. A must read for everyone.
    more
  • Amy
    May 16, 2017
    All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comOh my gosh you guys this book had me literally laughing out loud during the first chapter! Before long I had tears streaming down my face, it was THAT funny. Let me give you just a few examples of what had me giggling uncontrollably. Ella’s mom, Roberta is inappropriately hilarious, she thinks sexting is regular old texting and there was something about a sexting a vicar, then there’s her best friend Sue who mixes up words all the time, she sa All of my reviews can be found on www.novelgossip.comOh my gosh you guys this book had me literally laughing out loud during the first chapter! Before long I had tears streaming down my face, it was THAT funny. Let me give you just a few examples of what had me giggling uncontrollably. Ella’s mom, Roberta is inappropriately hilarious, she thinks sexting is regular old texting and there was something about a sexting a vicar, then there’s her best friend Sue who mixes up words all the time, she said erotic in place of erratic, and THEN she gets saddled with her son’s girlfriends dog, Delilah, who is the definition of high maintenance and has more outfits than Kim Kardashian. Even the chapter titles were hilarious, one of my favorites was entitled, Strawberry Shakes and Sex on the Stairs. Are you convinced yet?!Besides being wickedly funny, there was warmth and sweetness as well. Ella meets Ben when she heads to Appledore and I loved how their relationship was relatively easy and drama free yet far from perfect, it was realistic. Ben was a lovable goof, very clumsy but that made him so endearing to me. Things for Ella weren’t quite so drama free in terms of her working life, but I also appreciated that a fabulous opportunity at a new life wasn’t just handed to her, she had to struggle to get where she wanted to be. I just have a feeling that Sue is the type of person who would be fun to have a drink with, anyone who writes such warm, funny and charming books must be a blast to hang out with! She even included a scrumptious looking recipe for ice cream in the end that I’m absolutely dying to try. If you’re looking for a sweet escape this summer, look no further. This book was heartwarming, hip, colorful, sassy and sweet and even had a bit of family drama and secrets, what more could you want?!
    more
  • Jessica
    April 22, 2017
    I was so excited to finally get this on my kindle after seeing the beautiful seaside cover.  The colours are so eye catching and matches the story so well.Delving into Ella's Ice Cream Summer is a pure delight. Ella is a fantastic character, She has so much time and patience for everyone. Shes just had everything go wrong for her and she is given this amazing opportunity to take on her aunts ice cream van which opens a new chapter in her life.  When she moves to Appledore she has so many things I was so excited to finally get this on my kindle after seeing the beautiful seaside cover.  The colours are so eye catching and matches the story so well.Delving into Ella's Ice Cream Summer is a pure delight. Ella is a fantastic character, She has so much time and patience for everyone. Shes just had everything go wrong for her and she is given this amazing opportunity to take on her aunts ice cream van which opens a new chapter in her life.  When she moves to Appledore she has so many things that dont go the way she wants like problems getting the van opening and her mum that doesnt want to come and live with her but everything seems to work out well for her.  She builds a beautiful romance with the local lawyer Ben who gives her the most amazing support and is there for her every step of the way.Throughout the book theres this mystery of why her mum and her aunt and cousin fell out and havent spoke in years.  As a reader I loved this, I didnt know what it could be, I loved that the mystery of this went on right until the very end.I would highly recommend this book to anyone! I read this whole book with a smile on my face and devoured every single page.  It was deliciously good!  Im delighted that there is a second book on its way extremely soon and I for one will be first in the queue for it.  Sue Watson your an amazing writer!
    more
  • Elle ✦ Pretty Little Books ✦
    May 20, 2017
    Release Date: May 11, 2017 Genre: Chick LitIt's books like this that make me remember why chick lit reads have always been my favorite. Instead of throwing in unrealistic relationships filled with angst, worry, and all sorts of trouble, we get a sweet and charming read that is perfect for every woman. Ella's Ice-Cream summer is filled with lovable characters. There are also long standing family secrets that must be uncovered. This little bit of added drama really brings the book alive and I l Release Date: May 11, 2017 Genre: Chick LitIt's books like this that make me remember why chick lit reads have always been my favorite. Instead of throwing in unrealistic relationships filled with angst, worry, and all sorts of trouble, we get a sweet and charming read that is perfect for every woman. Ella's Ice-Cream summer is filled with lovable characters. There are also long standing family secrets that must be uncovered. This little bit of added drama really brings the book alive and I loved going on the journey with Ella as she discovered who she is and what life is all about. Now, looking at the title one would thing that this book is filled with delicious ice cream. And guess what? It is. I can almost taste the creaminess as Ella concocts a new recipe and can nearly smell the aromas as she mixes a new tub. Mmm. Be warned, during and after reading this novel you are going to crave some ice cream yourself. Perhaps you may even want to whip up some of your own? I know I would love to try it after reading this one!With that, this is a lovely and charming story that is sure to suck many readers in - and not simply because of the ice cream-. Readers will love following Ella as she navigates her (nearly) mid life and find out why it is so worth living. Family values, friendships, secrets, and love are at the cornerstone of the story as well. So if all of this sounds appealing to you, I highly recommend grabbing your copy. It's not only the perfect spring/summer read, but also the perfect book to keep in your beach bag if you are going on a holiday yourself. Rating: 4.5 stars
    more
  • Dee
    April 26, 2017
    All my reviews can be found at www.noveldeelights.comThis is not normally the kind of read I go for. The cover is what drew my attention first, with its beautiful colours and that summery beach feel. And really, who can deny the lure of ice-cream? It promised to be a feel-good story with chuckles a plenty and after a particularly crappy week, I desperately needed something maybe a little light-hearted. Since I'd never read anything by this author before, I was pleasantly surprised and not at all All my reviews can be found at www.noveldeelights.comThis is not normally the kind of read I go for. The cover is what drew my attention first, with its beautiful colours and that summery beach feel. And really, who can deny the lure of ice-cream? It promised to be a feel-good story with chuckles a plenty and after a particularly crappy week, I desperately needed something maybe a little light-hearted. Since I'd never read anything by this author before, I was pleasantly surprised and not at all disappointed.Ella's in a bit of a slump. Her life didn't exactly pan out the way she thought it would have. She's a divorced mother of two sullen teenagers and if that wasn't bad enough, her mother moved in for what was to be a temporary solution, but is making no moves to leave. Then Ella's aunt passes away and leaves Ella a portion of her ice-cream business in Appledore, a place Ella has very fond memories of. You'll have to discover yourself what happens next.Yes, there are some chuckle moments. There are even some laugh-out-loud moments. Ella's mother, Roberta, for instance, is an absolute hoot! But at the base of the story is a family secret that's quite heartbreaking which will reveal itself as Ella tries to get her life back on track.Of course there's also a dash of romance which is also not something I normally go for. Not a romantic bone in my body, me. I'll take a grisly murder scene over a smooching session any time. However, I found myself being completely swept away by the blossoming relationship in Ella's life.This book came at the perfect time for me. It made me a little emotional, it made me smile, it made me laugh and if offered me the escape I needed. I'm looking forward to the second book in this series!Many thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for my advanced copy, which I chose to review.
    more
  • Karen Whittard
    April 22, 2017
    What a wonderful book this is. Such a little treasure. I absolutely loved the front of the cover, the name of the book and the bio on the back and it was just as wonderful inside. The characters are brilliant, the descriptions of the seaside town made me long to be on holiday by the sea. It was so funny I laughed out loud at so many points and got funny looks from my husband and people in the bus. But I just couldn't help it. There's romance, food, family, funny moments, sun, sea and sand and it What a wonderful book this is. Such a little treasure. I absolutely loved the front of the cover, the name of the book and the bio on the back and it was just as wonderful inside. The characters are brilliant, the descriptions of the seaside town made me long to be on holiday by the sea. It was so funny I laughed out loud at so many points and got funny looks from my husband and people in the bus. But I just couldn't help it. There's romance, food, family, funny moments, sun, sea and sand and it really is a little treasure of a book. I highly recommend it to everyone. A massive thank you to Netgalley, publishers and author for the opportunity to read this book for an honest review. If you love romance/chicklit/funny books about the seaside/food/family/friends/love then this book really is for you. I can't recommend it enough. Wonderful.
    more
  • Agi
    May 23, 2017
    I've read all of Sue Watson's latest releases and loved them all to the moon and back - they are all so realistic, with the right dose of the finest humour and wonderful heroines, heroes to swoon about and usually full of incredibly delicious sounding recipes. Ms Watson's newest release, "Ella's Ice - Cream Summer", has been promising all of the above mentioned and as soon as I spotted the book on NetGalley, I pressed the right button and literally saw it whizzing to my kindle. I love the cover I've read all of Sue Watson's latest releases and loved them all to the moon and back - they are all so realistic, with the right dose of the finest humour and wonderful heroines, heroes to swoon about and usually full of incredibly delicious sounding recipes. Ms Watson's newest release, "Ella's Ice - Cream Summer", has been promising all of the above mentioned and as soon as I spotted the book on NetGalley, I pressed the right button and literally saw it whizzing to my kindle. I love the cover of this novel, guys, I just love it - I personally am not the greatest fan of ice - creams, but seeing this cover motivated me to make my own unicorn ice - cream. My daughter was on cloud nine.But. Back to the book. Theoretically, it has it all what made me fell in love with Sue Watson's novels: there is a mature heroine who has experienced something and more in her life and who's about to start a new chapter in her life. She's lost her job, her two children are off on their own adventures somewhere in the world, she's been dumped with a lovely dog that she has to dress every day and who has more dresses and jewellery than Ella herself, her mother is right now living with her and has turned out to be a social media expert and she's about to lose her house. But nothing is lost yet, as with the death of her beloved aunt she's to receive something in her will - maybe it's the ice - cream cafe?This time however I didn't enjoy this story as much as I was expecting to. I had a feeling the plot is very chaotic, it's not neat, the things were suddenly happening but there was no connection between them, it was as if they didn't belong to the story and more than often I found myself feeling very confused, not knowing what to do with a particular situation, how to handle it, wondering what does it have to do with the story. The beginning of the book was good - quick and straight to the point, and I adored it. But then Ella went to Devon and the story went downhill for me. Firstly, it slowed down very much. Secondly, there was almost nothing happening. Then the never - ending remarks of Ella's mother, mentioning that something happened in the past but she's not going to tell what it was started to make me feel annoyed and losing hope that we will get an answer any time soon, so I've stopped waiting for this. It was actually the only twist in this story, having it explained, and as I haven't been waiting for it to happen, it took me by surprise exactly at the same moment as Ella. Having known what happened in the past explained a lot and you could start to understand why there was such a feud in the family and where all the wrong feelings were coming from. There were also many time spent on thinking about things instead of doing them. The characters are, as always, really well developed. What I liked in Ella so much was the fact that she has finally decided to put herself first, after years of being your typical mum and daughter (OK, maybe not first. She did take Delilah after all :) ), took a chance when it was given to her and followed the motto of "no risk, no fun". And she had her fun, as well as problems, but she dealt with them all in a great way. Also, the background characters were all lovely.I loved the descriptions of ice - creams, of course, and I do believe Sue Watson that researching this book was the best thing that could ever happen to an author :) Reading about them made my mouth watering, and I am the one who's not so into ice - cream at all, so just imagine those delicious descriptions and different flavours. Also, there are some great moments in this story, of course, some funny moments and some heart - breaking ones as well. Ella's mother, with the exception of being so annoying with mentioning the secret and then stubbornly refusing to tell her daughter what the secret is (you know, it was like with children starting to say something and then deciding that they're not going to tell you what it was they meant), was a real star of this story, with her no - nonsense life approach and being so fit around social medias.Altogether, even if I didn't enjoy it as much as I hoped - but still liked it, guys, so please don't take me wrong! - "Ella's Ice - Cream Summer" was an emotional rollercoaster ride and a great start to the series - I'll be for sure reading the next book! There is something to make you laugh and something to make you cry, the perfect mix of feelings and emotions, with an extra bonus of Sue Watson's wonderful writing style. Copy provided by the publisher in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Scrill
    May 8, 2017
    Received an ARC from Bookouture via Netgalley for a fair review. "Was there still time to do something more with my life and get that Facebook fantasy? Should I Just play it safe and not risk losing what little I had, or should I throw caution to the wind and embrace what apparently the universe had given me? Perhaps this was my adventure after all?" Ella’s Ice Cream Summer was a light story about a pseudo-empty-nester turning over a new leaf in her life. Ella lost her job, her kids are off havi Received an ARC from Bookouture via Netgalley for a fair review. "Was there still time to do something more with my life and get that Facebook fantasy? Should I Just play it safe and not risk losing what little I had, or should I throw caution to the wind and embrace what apparently the universe had given me? Perhaps this was my adventure after all?" Ella’s Ice Cream Summer was a light story about a pseudo-empty-nester turning over a new leaf in her life. Ella lost her job, her kids are off having adventures in Nepal and Thailand for the summer, and her mother has taken on internet dating all other sorts of social media. The death of her aunt leaves Ella with a portion of the family ice cream business which Ella decides to try out for the summer. The simplicity of the story was also what brought my opinion down. The beginning had enough going on to get me intrigued, but once Ella was working the ice cream stand I was hardly hooked and had to push through the story. The only element that really kept me going was the curiosity of what had caused the family feud. The actually facts behind the feud was definitely not expected but definitely gave reason as to why there was such a problem. The entire time, we are put off thinking it might be something completely trivial that had three women to have a complete fall out.The curiosity wasn’t enough. The romantic relationship that Ella developed with Ben is not very developed either as their interactions are short. More time was spent theoretically thinking about what Ella was doing with the future of the business/staying in Devon and how she shouldn’t get attached to Ben than actual time spent with him.The best part of the book was sadly the descriptions of the ice cream treats. And though it’s called Ice Cream Summer, it’s probably more like gelato. But I honestly don’t have enough knowledge between the differences of the two to definitely say either way. I just love ice cream/gelato. What I had hoped would be a kick start to my summer beach reads ended up only inspiring me to make my own gelato, which it turns out is harder than this book makes it out to be, there are quite a few steps! I did find it cute to find an easy recipe after the epilogue for a batch of vanilla ice cream.
    more
  • Kimberly
    May 21, 2017
    Everything Ella holds dear to her heart, seems to be constantly changing. The business she works at is closing, her kids are now grown and starting to travel the world, her ex is buying the house out from under her and even her mother is the one with the more active social life. After spending years putting everyone else's needs and desires above her own, Ella is about to discover herself in a quaint little seaside town from her past. One day she receives news that her estranged aunt Sophie has Everything Ella holds dear to her heart, seems to be constantly changing. The business she works at is closing, her kids are now grown and starting to travel the world, her ex is buying the house out from under her and even her mother is the one with the more active social life. After spending years putting everyone else's needs and desires above her own, Ella is about to discover herself in a quaint little seaside town from her past. One day she receives news that her estranged aunt Sophie has passed away. Ella has fond memories about working at Sophie's Italian ice cream shop, but when she arrives she quickly realizes that her memories no longer exist. Bequeathed a run down ice cream truck and with no other prospects, Ella decides to try her hand at selling everyone's favorite cold treat. Along the way she will gain more confidence, have a summer fling, and uncover some well hidden secrets about why her family has been in a long time feud. This was a charming new chick lit that will be a perfect quick read while vacationing. It involves a touch of romance, self discovery, mystery, a well dressed one eyed Pomeranian and lots of comedy. Sophie's mom is an absolute hoot and a force to be reckoned with. Her antics had me laughing out loud on numerous occasions. Ella made a wonderful main character. It was easy to cheer her on as the story progressed and to watch her slowly find herself. Her circumstances are very relatable for women who are divorced, single moms, or those going through a bit of empty nest. Yes, it involved a little romance, but it wasn't the main focus of the story. It helped Ella on her path to self discovery and I was happy with how that relationship played out in the end! I read a lot of mysteries, so I had a pretty good assumption about what happened to cause such a drift in the family. However, I didn't quite know the exact details. It's a big part of the story and I was still incredibly intrigued to watch it unfold. The author did a great job about slowly giving the reader details all the way until the reveal at the end of the book. There was definitely a couple twists that surprised me!! Overall, this was a fun, quick read. It will definitely have you craving ice cream or the ability to test out a brioche sandwich. The cast of characters come together to make a great story. I'm definitely curious to check out the sequel. I'd love to watch these storylines progress and there were a few new characters that I'm already interested to meet. I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for a honest review.
    more
  • Stacey
    May 12, 2017
    Wow, I absolutely LOVED this book! I was gripped to this story from the start and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole story and was sad when it ended so cannot wait for The Ice-Cream Cafe part 2! The cover is absolutely beautiful and so so summery. I love the bunting along the top, the colours, the beach in the background - it all just looks so pretty and inviting!The story follows Ella on her journey to finding a life for herself after having some setbacks recently. Her children have left home to go Wow, I absolutely LOVED this book! I was gripped to this story from the start and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole story and was sad when it ended so cannot wait for The Ice-Cream Cafe part 2! The cover is absolutely beautiful and so so summery. I love the bunting along the top, the colours, the beach in the background - it all just looks so pretty and inviting!The story follows Ella on her journey to finding a life for herself after having some setbacks recently. Her children have left home to go on their own travels and she has issues with her house so decides to spend a summer in the cute little town of Appledore in Devon. I mean, Appledore really does sound like the cutest and loveliest little town and this book has made me want to visit it! However, when she moves to Appledore for the summer, she soon finds that not everything as it seems (which is the part where I literally cannot put this book down!).If you love Summery books, you would love this. Sue includes the right amount of humour and romance to make it the perfect Chick Lit book. There was a little bit of mystery surrounding Ella's family, and if I'm honest, I kind of had an idea as to what it was about half way through the book - to which I was proven right by the end. But I still absolutely loved this book and it is definitely one of my favourites!I would definitely 100% recommend this book to everyone, the descriptions of the ice-creams and location is beautiful and it made my mouth water for some of the ice-creams that were described! If I could give this book more than 5 stars then I would. Brilliant!
    more
  • Gaele
    May 19, 2017
    Ella is a now-single mum with a horrid ex (Dick – in name and behavior) two children off to start their own lives in far away places, her Mum in need of watching and now, a lack of income. When her aunt passed after several years of a family fracture, Ella is bequeathed the ice-cream truck from the family business in Devon, and without a job or income, she heads off to explore possibilities. Arriving in Devon, she’s saddened by the shambles that the family’s ice-cream parlor is in: having spent Ella is a now-single mum with a horrid ex (Dick – in name and behavior) two children off to start their own lives in far away places, her Mum in need of watching and now, a lack of income. When her aunt passed after several years of a family fracture, Ella is bequeathed the ice-cream truck from the family business in Devon, and without a job or income, she heads off to explore possibilities. Arriving in Devon, she’s saddened by the shambles that the family’s ice-cream parlor is in: having spent many summer vacations with her aunt and cousin Gina, she has nothing but wonderful memories of her time there. But with her always-into-something mother who is flat-out refusing to explain why she and her sister stopped speaking, let alone her animosity for Gina, Ella has plenty to sort out and little time or money to do either. Fortunately some assistance arrives in the form of the local solicitor’s son, who is willing to help her work through the paperwork to set up the business and is always available for a romp – at least until September when he’s very clearly stated he’ll be off to Hawaii to dive there. Oh – and did I mention that in amongst all of her own struggles, she is also the dog-siter for a little dog with a wardrobe and jewelry that would rival the M & S Showroom? Oh yes – there is that. And the cousin, recently returned, drinking, avoiding any subject that she doesn’t want to tackle, and generally telling Ella everything she wants to hear – but the important bits. Full of ice-cream ideas that will make your mouth water, an elderly adventuress in her mother, the leave em after loving them lawyer Ben and the troubled and often flighty Gina, a flighty dog with jammies, evening wear and more, not to mention the secondary characters that appear in small scenes: the stoy is lush and layered with atmosphere and descriptions that are hard to ignore. Then we have Ella and her own personal growth: her ability to put herself in the picture (if not actually first) after years of bending to everyone else’s whims and will, and a bag full of papers, letters and family secrets that was hidden in Reynaldo the ice-cream truck. A story that, while it reveals the secrets slowly is so engaging and engrossing that you want to know more – and certainly want to park on the shore across from Reynaldo awaiting the next creation. I can’t wait to see what happens next. I received an eArc copy of the title from the publisher via NetGalley for purpose of honest review. I was not compensated for this review: all conclusions are my own responsibility. Review first appeared at I am, Indeed
    more
  • MetLineReader
    June 1, 2017
    A lovely tale of Ella and her aunt's ice-cream business. Despite appearing sugary sweet on the outside, this is a tale with greater depth with family secrets a plenty. Several complex characters add colour to the story , interspersed with great ideas for ice-cream flavours.Although I was pretty certain how this story would turn out, i did enjoy the telling. It evokes memories of summer by the sea.An enjoyable story 4*
    more
  • Alison
    May 26, 2017
    Maybe three and a half stars.Ella is that cliche of a 44 year old Englishwoman: her husband ran off with his boss and now lives a life of luxury in Marbella; she has a dead end job in a failing fashion shop; her mother lives with her; and her kids are growing up and spreading their wings. When her aunt Sophia dies she leaves Ella a 'part of the family business' in Appledore, Devon. Ella has many happy memories of her aunt Sophia and her glamorous older cousin Gina and the Italian ice cream busin Maybe three and a half stars.Ella is that cliche of a 44 year old Englishwoman: her husband ran off with his boss and now lives a life of luxury in Marbella; she has a dead end job in a failing fashion shop; her mother lives with her; and her kids are growing up and spreading their wings. When her aunt Sophia dies she leaves Ella a 'part of the family business' in Appledore, Devon. Ella has many happy memories of her aunt Sophia and her glamorous older cousin Gina and the Italian ice cream business they ran. Of course when Ella goes to the funeral it transpires that what she has inherited is an old ice cream van which they lovingly called Reginaldo.When her dastardly husband (because let's face it he can't just have divorced her can he) sends a solicitor's letter informing Ella that since both children are over 18 he is selling the family house for his half of the proceed and her boss tells her that the shop is closing, Ella decides the only thing for it is to move down to Devon for the summer to try to make some money. Oh and her 'darling don has foisted his girlfriend's Pomeranian dog onto her for the summer while they volunteer in Nepal.Ella's mother had a bitter feud with her sister and hasn't spoken to her or Gina for decades, she won't even explain why, every time Ella mentions them her mother pretends to have forgotten. Her mother is also paranoid about Ella going to Devon and worries she will never come back, even though Sophia is dead and Gina is a wealthy actress in LA. Frankly I thought it was blindingly obvious from the very start WHY Ella's mother was behaving so oddly and found Ella's ignorance rather galling. In fact, I liked this book EXCEPT for Ella who frankly had the emotional backbone of a 12 year old she allows her mother, her children, her ex and her cousin to walk all over her and pouts like a child.Of course, the solicitor who tells Ella's about her inheritance is her age, gorgeous, a surfer as often as he can be and they are instantly smitten. Similarly, after not having made ice cream for 30 years Ella is immediately brilliant and able to concoct fabulous new recipes at the drop of a hat. Despite being desperately hard up for cash she can somehow afford to pay for her children to go to Nepal and Thailand for the summer, do up the ice cream van and buy all the ingredients for the ice cream. Also, she spends all day int the van selling ice cream, makes ice cream all night and has time to spend with Ben the dishy lawyer/ surfer (who lives with his dad).At first Ella is enjoying a little 'me time', away from her family and failures, but soon her mother descends on her, her cousin Gina flies in from LA and her former boss who has a risible inability to use the correct word, threatens to come to stay for a few weeks. So there are family secrets to unravel, a business to create and a new life to build. Ella does it all with remarkable ease, Ben gets her all the required permits, no pesky health inspectors checking that she doesn't give people salmonella, no checking on the use of a private dwelling for business usage etc.This all just felt like Sue Watson was trying a bit too hard. We didn't need the dog dressed up in silly costumes, the boss' malapropisms, her mother's obsession with reality tv etc.However, yeah, I know, I've just complained A LOT, this was a simple, fun holiday read, especially if you like more slapstick humour and you don't want to think too hard, which after all is what holidays are all about. And the ice cream flavours sound amazing.I received a free copy of this book from the publisher via NetGalley in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Ana
    May 13, 2017
    Originally posted on This Chick Reads4.5/5Ella's Ice Cream-Summer is a delicious book and brilliant start to a new series by Sue Watson. While in many ways it's everything I expected from Sue, she still manages to surprise me. When I say this I firstly mean the amazing, fresh and effortless humor. Simply said, Sue KNOWS how to make you laugh. It's like it's in her DNA and is one of the main reasons why I'm such a huge fan of her writing.If you've read Sue Watson's book before you'd also know she Originally posted on This Chick Reads4.5/5Ella's Ice Cream-Summer is a delicious book and brilliant start to a new series by Sue Watson. While in many ways it's everything I expected from Sue, she still manages to surprise me. When I say this I firstly mean the amazing, fresh and effortless humor. Simply said, Sue KNOWS how to make you laugh. It's like it's in her DNA and is one of the main reasons why I'm such a huge fan of her writing.If you've read Sue Watson's book before you'd also know she does love writing about food and baking. So, it was no surprise she decided to write a whole series dedicated to an Ice Cream Cafe. And while there's so many amazing descriptions of ice cream flavours that will make your mouth water, this book is more than that.The story follows Ella who's recently been laid off, her two kids are already grown up and leaving the nest to explore these exotic places and learn about the world by themselves. Even though her mum came to stay with them for short time, she seems well settled with Ella and there's no indication she's planning on leaving. Ella feels tired, alone but still she's doing her best to keep a smile on her face and please everyone. She's a born pleaser, always putting herself and her needs last. One day she finds out her aunt, Sophia, the owner of a cafe left her an ice cream van and that's when Ella's world changes in many ways.The thing is, aunt Sophia and her mum fell apart long time ago and seems her mum never really missed her sister. She does remember a time when she enjoyed visiting Appledore and her aunt, especially cause she loved her cousin, Gina. But then Gina left to marry some hot shot and even though they tried to keep in touch, the letters came less and less often...till they finally stopped. it's funny how a family can fall apart. And sometimes for no reason. But is there a reason why her mum and Sophia decided to stop being in each others' lives?As you see, there's a bit of a mystery element and some family drama/secrets that will be revealed to Ella when she leaves for Appledore and starts a new life there. While I could predict where the story is going, I really didn't mind as I so enjoyed Ella's voice and humor. Her down to earth character and positive outlook on life is what made this book so enjoyable for me.While there's also dashy Ben and a bit of a romance, I didn't feel like that is the most important part of Ella's story. I do wish though I saw more of it, but who knows. We might see more in the next installments.The best thing about this book is that strong feel good factor that oozes through the pages. I swear, I had a big smile on my face all while reading it and there were some absolutely hilarious situations and laugh out moments. Classic Sue Watson if you ask me. Don't you just love picking up a book knowing you're gonna adore it? That's how I always feel when I pick up Sue Watson's book. Ella's Ice-Cream Summer is a warm and delicious read perfect for a sunny day at the beach! If you're looking for an uber entertaining read you'll devour in a day, this is the book for you. It might make you crave ice-cream though, so just consider yourselves warned. I'm already excited about #2. Woop, bring it on!!
    more
  • Kaisha (The Writing Garnet)
    May 13, 2017
    All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comAs soon as I find out that Sue Watson is due to release a brand new book, I begin to feel the excitement (quite similar to Christmas Day as a child) start stirring, deep within in. Now, of course, if I have to wait a few weeks for a Sue Watson book and I know that it's on its way, well, I do become rather impatient. Reading a Sue Watson book is quite similar to the feeling of getting into a freshly made bed; the calmnes All reviews can be found on my blog at https://thewritinggarnet.wordpress.comAs soon as I find out that Sue Watson is due to release a brand new book, I begin to feel the excitement (quite similar to Christmas Day as a child) start stirring, deep within in. Now, of course, if I have to wait a few weeks for a Sue Watson book and I know that it's on its way, well, I do become rather impatient. Reading a Sue Watson book is quite similar to the feeling of getting into a freshly made bed; the calmness, comfort and soothing touch, feeling all of your worries disappear from your mind for the duration of the book (or, as soon as you snuggle into your brand new duvet). Bliss, right?Almost every single time that I finish one of her novels, I always wonder how on Earth she will top that particular book with her next one. But you know what? She does! Sue ALWAYS manages to up the ante on her own storylines. Take Ella's Ice-Cream Summer for example; a deliciously enticing front cover don't you think? A cover that is bound to bring back childhood memories of visits to the beach, 99's and the good ol' marmite opinion flavour; Neapolitan. I'm sure you're probably nodding your head in agreement right now, because it IS true. Now, the thing about Ella and her Ice-Cream Summer, well, the storyline goes wayyyyy beyond the calm childhood memories and it delves a lot further than I could have anticipated. I too, thought that this book was going to be a tutti-frutti style storyline; colourful, sweet and completely one of a kind, based on the cover. But, this storyline isn't just tutti-frutti. No. There were moments where the storyline had the depth of chocolate chip cookie dough ice-cream, the intensity of Karamel Sutra ice-cream, the vulnerability of raspberry ripple ice-cream and the uniqueness of a tiramisu ice-cream, topped with coffee sauce and a sprinkle of chopped nuts.In a nutshell, Sue Watson's novel contains everything you could ever dream of. Ella is stuck in a rut; her children are growing up and becoming less dependent, her living situation isn't the most reliable, and a four-legged friend struggles to decide on a tutu or pjs for a lounge day. If Ella wanted a bit of excitement in her life, excitement is what she shall get (and no, I don't mean that she bought an ice-cream with two flakes instead of one. Although....). Every family comes with their own collection of skeletons in closets, however, Ella had absolutely no idea about the amount of skeletons there were in her own family's collection.Road trip to Devon anyone?Ella's Ice-cream Summer tickled my taste buds from start to finish. I had only reached 5% completion on the Kindle when I had to put the book down to attractively snort in hysterics at the words in front of me. 5% was all it took to make that happen, imagine what the rest of the book must have been like! Oh, wait, I don't need to imagine as I have read it, nerney ner ner! How mature of me...I absolutely ADORED this book. The characters were incredibly written, full of surprises and incredibly memorable (Ben.cough.Ben), the overall theme of the novel uncovered itself really nicely throughout without rushing to a conclusion, and the hilarity really did continue until the very end of the book. Sublime.When it comes to a Sue Watson novel, I usually feel sad that the story is coming to an end and I would have to wait a while for my fix; that was not the case this time (there's another book in the series, but shhhhh). Don't get me wrong, I felt like I was leaving my long-lost friends behind as they were amazing to get to know; their journey really was such an enticing read. I am really looking forward to the next book in the series, without a doubt.Sue Watson has written yet another hilarious, heart-warming and utterly inviting read, full to the brim of surprises, delightful treats and one of a kind characters. Whilst I adore everything that this author writes, Ella's Ice-cream Summer has got to be my most favourite book of Sue Watson's, ever. I really have no idea how she does it, but she does. Every.Single.Time.I cannot recommend this book enough! You will be a tool not to go and buy a copy of it; surrender yourself to Sue Watson's beautiful and comforting words, with this addictive and memorable storyline. Absolutely divine (as always)!Thanks Bookouture!
    more
  • Dawn
    May 14, 2017
    I was offered an ecopy of this book in exchange for an honest review by Kim at Bookouture as part of the blog tour for Ella's Ice Cream Summer. This is something I'm more than happy to do. Sue Watson is one of my most favourite authors, her books are go to books when I want a pick-me-up, much cheaper than a prescription and better than any tonic you can buy across the counter. They are books that will have you drooling in one way or another - either from the more than lovely lead men or the very I was offered an ecopy of this book in exchange for an honest review by Kim at Bookouture as part of the blog tour for Ella's Ice Cream Summer. This is something I'm more than happy to do. Sue Watson is one of my most favourite authors, her books are go to books when I want a pick-me-up, much cheaper than a prescription and better than any tonic you can buy across the counter. They are books that will have you drooling in one way or another - either from the more than lovely lead men or the very delicious cake they usually feature. I guessed this one would be different, the clue is in the title 'Ice-Cream' would I still get my fix? Absolutely, definitely, without a shadow of a doubt YES!!!Ella's Ice Cream dream had me smiling and grinning like an idiot from the very first page. In the first few chapters we meet Ella and her family and friends - an eclectic bunch of characters that I could relate to straight away. Each and every person, just slightly more bonkers than the next. My favourite being her mother, Roberta who is loud, opinionated and on a different page in life to everyone else, leaving total chaos in her wake as she plays up to her Italian heritage and gets the wrong end of pretty much every situation.The story begins with Ella losing her job, her children have finished university and are off to spread their wings leaving Ella feeling like a redundant mum home alone with no purpose or direction - she only has her slightly bonkers mother to care for. To add to that she finds out that her ex husband wants to sell the family home in order to keep wife number two in the manner she has become accustomed to.News that her mothers sister, her aunt Sophia has died brings back memories of happy, sunny, summers spent in Appledore in Devon. Of time spent helping out at her aunts Italian, ice-cream parlour and enjoying endless days of sunshine playing alongside her older cousin Gina - a girl that Ella has always looked up to and aspired to be like.Roberta, Ella's mother refuses to attend the funeral and begs Ella not to go either. The two sisters had fallen out many years before and Ella's mum obviously holds a deep seated grudge as she refuses to reveal why - something that Ella finds difficult to reconcile and can't understand why she refuses to share the reasons behind the fall-out. Ella goes alone and after the funeral Ella attends her aunts will reading and finds herself the proud owner of Reginaldo, an old ice cream van owned by her aunt, this evokes many happy memories of summers spent on the beach, something Ella is eager to recreate.Sue Watson takes us down the motorway to Devon with Delilah - Delilah being Josh her sons girlfriends dog, a dog with a better wardrobe than you or me I hasten to add. Ella decides that she'd quite like to take some time out and the opportunity to re-live one last summer of her childhood is too hard to resist. She's also secretly hoping she can find out what is behind the family feud.Ella's Ice Cream summer was a delicious read, a journey with mouth watering descriptions as I followed Ella to Devon and totally bought into Ella's dream. It's a story with more than a little romance, a story steeped in mystery and secrets that were revealed slowly throughout the book.. There's more than one love interest and Roberta and Delilah are for me the stars of the show. Sue's ability to create multi-faceted characters is second to none - polishing them just a little more with each chapter until they shine and can stand alone - I totally loved this book. The descriptions of the various ice-creams and sorbets had me drooling, oh how I wish my 'fat club' was based in Appledore.Another thumbs up for me - Sue has done it again and got the recipe just perfect! A totally uplifting read, with all the glitz and glamour of the Italian Riviera. Sue is an author I'll never tire of reading, each and every book delivers what it says on the tin - escapism, laced with pure indulgence - in this case ice-cream - mmmmmmm!!
    more
  • Best Crime Books & More
    May 11, 2017
    I have been a huge Sue Watson fan for a long time now and once I had finished reading this book I actually pondered over exactly what it is about her books that make them so special. It comes down to the fundamentals, which for me is the characters. Yes she has amazing ability as a storyteller and creates wonderful tales that will keep you entertained, but what does she do differently that others maybe don't? Characters....that's what! All of Sue's books have a wonderful laugh out loud quality t I have been a huge Sue Watson fan for a long time now and once I had finished reading this book I actually pondered over exactly what it is about her books that make them so special. It comes down to the fundamentals, which for me is the characters. Yes she has amazing ability as a storyteller and creates wonderful tales that will keep you entertained, but what does she do differently that others maybe don't? Characters....that's what! All of Sue's books have a wonderful laugh out loud quality to them but most of this is instilled in each character and none more so than this latest book Ella's Ice Cream. Ella is feeling like her life has stalled. She has two children ready to fly the nest on gap years and a seventy something Mother who seems more at ease with technology than she could ever be. Then there is the smarmy ex-husband Dick who is currently shacked up in Spain with his boss. When Ella discovers that her aunt has left her a share of her Ice Cream business down in Appledore she is taken aback. Appledore is a place that holds fond memories for her as a child, however a family rift stops her from delving too far into the past. Ella takes the bull by the horns and makes her way to Appledore against her Mothers wishes. As much as I adored Ella, the star of the show for me was her mother Roberta! I literally fell in love with the Mother who is obsessed with Mob Wives and sexting! With Italian roots, some of the scenes that I read involving Roberta had me laughing out loud. I could literally picture some of the scenes unravelling in front of my very eyes and I felt like I was sitting on the beach at Appledore observing this crazily lovable family. The fact that there is another book coming made me jump for joy and I cannot wait to get started on it. This book is an absolute corker and a joy to read from start to finish. Sue Watson has produced a wonderful book that I think everybody would enjoy. I cannot recommend this author highly enough and think that more people need to discover the pure joy of her books. An outstanding book that is an absolute must for your Summer Holidays!
    more
  • Steffi
    May 25, 2017
    The cover of "Ella's Ice-Cream Summer is" screaming summer read. I love the pastel colours and the old ice-cream yan on the cover.I started well into the book and I was immediately caught into it with its brilliant humour. There were so many funny scenes which kept me well entertained throughout the book. Especially Ella's mother was absolutely hilarious.Ella was a sweet woman who I really liked. I loved the passion she put into the ice-cream business. God, what would I do to taste those amazing The cover of "Ella's Ice-Cream Summer is" screaming summer read. I love the pastel colours and the old ice-cream yan on the cover.I started well into the book and I was immediately caught into it with its brilliant humour. There were so many funny scenes which kept me well entertained throughout the book. Especially Ella's mother was absolutely hilarious.Ella was a sweet woman who I really liked. I loved the passion she put into the ice-cream business. God, what would I do to taste those amazing ice-cream flavours which were described in the book.The love story didn't really work for me. I don't think Ella and Ben fit together and I didn't see what drew them to each other.The writing style is fast-paced and enjoyable which makes this book a perfect summer read.
    more
  • Alison
    May 16, 2017
    If the cover of this book doesn’t call out to you then frankly there is something wrong! As soon as I saw it and the title it was a foregone conclusion, it had to be read. It was a gloomy, rainy day when I settled down to enjoy ‘Ella’s Ice–Cream Summer’ and it couldn’t have come at a better time.Full of humour, told in such a way that you become involved in the overall hubbub of the family.Ella feels life is passing her by, the sprogs are vacating the nest, the ex-Dick (lol) is busy with his new If the cover of this book doesn’t call out to you then frankly there is something wrong! As soon as I saw it and the title it was a foregone conclusion, it had to be read. It was a gloomy, rainy day when I settled down to enjoy ‘Ella’s Ice–Cream Summer’ and it couldn’t have come at a better time.Full of humour, told in such a way that you become involved in the overall hubbub of the family.Ella feels life is passing her by, the sprogs are vacating the nest, the ex-Dick (lol) is busy with his new woman, her eccentric mother is busy sexting the vicar, her friend is incapable of stringing a sentence together without mixing her words erratic/erotic you get my drift.So when good old Aunt Sophia leaves Ella an Ice-Cream van (Reginaldo) as her inheritance the option to change direction kinda appeals. So against mother’s wishes due to a bit of a family rift involving aunt, cousin,mother off she goes to adventures and pastures new. The extreme characters all gel into a splendid mix of hilarity and you can’t help but like them all. The Ice-Cream is to die for, the setting of Appledore in Devon is the dream summer location evoking pleasant childhood memories.Superb story involving family, mid-life, mystery, it’s up-lifting with a feel-good factor an absolute joy to read. I’m already looking forward to the next book.Many thanks to Bookouture/Netgalley for my copy which I read and reviewed voluntarily.
    more
  • Sammm
    April 19, 2017
    A digitized ARC of this book was provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.
  • Shell Baker
    May 14, 2017
    Ella’s Ice Cream Summer is a brilliant start of a new series called the Ice Cream Cafe. Where we meet single mom Ella who is jobless, loveless and nearly homeless. With her children going away she Packs her bags she sets off to Appledore in Devon against her mom’s wishes, to re-live her youth and to claim her portion of the family business. Which Ella’s Aunt has left her. While there she meets hottie Ben who has a plan to get the van up and running. The Author takes on a delightful adventure wit Ella’s Ice Cream Summer is a brilliant start of a new series called the Ice Cream Cafe. Where we meet single mom Ella who is jobless, loveless and nearly homeless. With her children going away she Packs her bags she sets off to Appledore in Devon against her mom’s wishes, to re-live her youth and to claim her portion of the family business. Which Ella’s Aunt has left her. While there she meets hottie Ben who has a plan to get the van up and running. The Author takes on a delightful adventure with Ella who I could relate to being a single mom myself. Ella is a lovely likable person who you just can't help but like. Sue Watson has created another laugh out loud page turner that I devoured in one day. And with her tasteful descriptions this story actually took me back to my childhood reminding me of Thomas the ice cream man LOL This is a perfect summer's day read which is filled with happy and emotional times and family secrets oh and of course a summer romance, which I highly recommend giving it 4 stars. I cannot wait to read the next book in the series
    more
  • Kim
    May 11, 2017
    You are guaranteed to be laughing out loud very quickly when you start reading a Sue Watson book. I love that the characters are 'real' people. Ella has been left behind in the digi age by her own mum and it's so amusing hearing about her mums foray into twitter and internet dating!Ella's family is holding secrets. Her mum stopped talking to her own sister when Ella was quite young. She still spent many summers in Appledore- which is an area I loved. We wonder what was behind the split.When her You are guaranteed to be laughing out loud very quickly when you start reading a Sue Watson book. I love that the characters are 'real' people. Ella has been left behind in the digi age by her own mum and it's so amusing hearing about her mums foray into twitter and internet dating!Ella's family is holding secrets. Her mum stopped talking to her own sister when Ella was quite young. She still spent many summers in Appledore- which is an area I loved. We wonder what was behind the split.When her aunt dies she finds out that she has been left the family ice cream van and not a share in the cafe as she hoped. She decides that as her homelife is disintegrating around her and her teenagers are travelling over the summer- that she will take the ice cream van out to earn a living.Her solicitor sounds dreamy- a surfer who spends the summer in the family office to earn enough money to spend time surfing in exotic destinations. I'm so pleased to see that there will be a follow on book which says it features new characters- hoping to get a little update on Ella aswell. Sue's books are the perfect summer read- guaranteed to lift your spirits and cheer the day up.
    more
  • Rachel Gilbey
    April 30, 2017
    4.5 StarsBeware! While reading this book you will get major cravings for ice-cream of all sorts of flavours and depending on which page you are reading, you may end up snorting that ice-cream through your nose, as you are laughing at the fabulousness of the story! This book is vintage Sue Watson, its fab, fun, food related, has characters that are relatable too, pretty setting of Appledore, Devon and has a great summer feel to the story. Within the first few pages I was laughing, just at Ella's 4.5 StarsBeware! While reading this book you will get major cravings for ice-cream of all sorts of flavours and depending on which page you are reading, you may end up snorting that ice-cream through your nose, as you are laughing at the fabulousness of the story! This book is vintage Sue Watson, its fab, fun, food related, has characters that are relatable too, pretty setting of Appledore, Devon and has a great summer feel to the story. Within the first few pages I was laughing, just at Ella's mums' various internet antics, including mistaking Dame Jude Dench for Donald Trump on twitter, and believing that sexting and texting are the same thing, and that is just the tip of the iceberg! There is a bit of a mystery element to the story, as Ella's family has a rift and even with her Aunt Sofia's death, her mum is still unable to let go of the past, and is adamant that Ella shouldn't go to Appledore for the funeral, or to even contemplate taking on any part of Sofia;s ice-cream empire. Unfortunately I had an inkling very early on, refined it slightly as the story progressed and was correct, although I didn't predict all the specifics. I did though thoroughly enjoy the story surrounding the family rift, and seeing Roberta, Ella's mum, and Gina, Ella's cousin exchange insults was hilarious. Ella has two grown up children who are off on their own summer adventures, and Ella decides she will spend her summer with Reginaldo, the ice-cream truck she inherits, along the beaches of Appledore. She also meets Ben who is the best lawyer I've read about for years, I loved this guy! I loved the setting of Appledore, and all of the various ideas Ella has for the ice-cream truck. I found myself becoming very hungry while reading, and despite having an ice-cream to hand, by the time I remembered to eat it as I was so engrossed in the writing it had melted!The interactions of the characters were really enjoyable to read, and I just wished I could swap places with Ella and have a summer in Appledore for myself. Thank you so much to Netgalley and Bookouture for this copy which I have reviewed honestly and voluntarily.
    more
  • Fiona Wilson
    May 1, 2017
    I love books like this - easy to read, a good sturdy storyline and likeable characters, a bit of romance but with a wee twist thrown in for good measure. Having read quite a few of the author's previous books I knew what to expect from her. The stories she produces are great for reading during a relaxing holiday, or at the weekend when you have a few spare hours. Ella is a lovely character who deserves happiness. She is left a rather unusual bequest when her aunt passes away, but is absolutely t I love books like this - easy to read, a good sturdy storyline and likeable characters, a bit of romance but with a wee twist thrown in for good measure. Having read quite a few of the author's previous books I knew what to expect from her. The stories she produces are great for reading during a relaxing holiday, or at the weekend when you have a few spare hours. Ella is a lovely character who deserves happiness. She is left a rather unusual bequest when her aunt passes away, but is absolutely thrilled with it regardless. Memories of long lost weekends at the beach come flooding back and Ella finds herself desperate to try and recapture some of her youth. Chasing her dreams she finds herself living a life she didn't think she could, with new friends and old. Along the way she discovers a lot about herself, and her past, and unearths a long hidden secret.I loved the character of Roberta with her constant misuse of common phrases. She is what everyone wishes their grandmother could be like I reckon. There were a few moments I wish had been resolved better, but for the story to be what it is I totally understand why the author wrote it the way she did.A great summer read for lovers of simple stories with a twist. Huge thanks to Bookouture and Netgalley for providing a copy.
    more
  • michelle Simons
    May 4, 2017
    I loved this book. An absolute must to read whilst lounging on the beach, eating your own bodyweight in ice cream (or is that just me)?A story of re-discovery, love and acceptance which will melt your heart.
  • Rebecca
    May 13, 2017
    If, like me, you are desperate for a bit of sun, sea and sand but will not be heading off to sunnier climes this year, fear not, for Sue Watson can deliver all of that and more right to your very fingertips (or Kindle screens) depending on which you prefer. Behind the delightfully joyful cover of Ella's Ice Cream Summer, awaits a deliciously addictive world of possibility, sparkling romance, sugar-sweet treats and the chance for Ella to release herself of the things that weigh her down. Is it ti If, like me, you are desperate for a bit of sun, sea and sand but will not be heading off to sunnier climes this year, fear not, for Sue Watson can deliver all of that and more right to your very fingertips (or Kindle screens) depending on which you prefer. Behind the delightfully joyful cover of Ella's Ice Cream Summer, awaits a deliciously addictive world of possibility, sparkling romance, sugar-sweet treats and the chance for Ella to release herself of the things that weigh her down. Is it time for her take a chance on something wholly exciting and entirely brand-new? Something that could turn her life around completely? Only a summer in Appledore, a seaside town situated in Devon which she adored as a young girl, will give Ella the opportunity to find out, and she's about to do exactly that...Wow. Sue Watson is such an incredibly talented writer, and that fact only seems to grow in its accuracy and truth with every new book of Watson's that is released. It is so easy, so perfectly effortless, for me to find myself lost deep in the depths of Sue's novels, and Ella's Ice Cream Summer was no different. In just a few pages, Sue manages to open up her characters to the reader in the most genuine, lovely and inviting of ways. The people we meet are never perfect. In fact, they're far from it, but I find that I love them all the more for their faults and mistakes and the very things that make them the characters that they are. In Ella's Ice Cream Summer, readers are introduced to Ella, single mother and recently jobless. With the threat of losing her home constantly hovering over her and her family due to her evil ex-husband, it becomes clear to Ella that something needs to be done, and sharpish. When news of her aunt Sophia's death arrives, and she is summoned to Appledore for the funeral and the reading of the will, Ella finds herself wondering if perhaps this will solve all of her problems. After all, she adored her aunt Sophia, as well as her older cousin Gina who she'd always been in awe of. She'd spent many a summer with them in her aunt's popular and thriving ice cream shop and the memories of those times had always remained with her. And so, with her mother grumbling behind her, Ella sets off for a summer of surprises and secrets beside the sea.Once I got started, I couldn't bear to put this delicious tale down. I wanted to spend every second wrapped up within the gorgeous world Sue Watson had created. I wanted to spend my days in the fabulous Reginaldo beside Ella as she served up her wonderfully concocted ice cream recipes that had me drooling repeatedly. With the sun shining brightly, and adorable Delilah yapping away, the scene couldn't have been more perfectly set in my opinion. And of course, the lovely Ben deserves a mention, because he was such an intriguing man, and I loved the bond that blossomed between he and Ella. It warmed me inside out and I couldn't help feeling that it was definitely about time Ella focused on herself for a little while, seeing as she spent most of her time worrying about everyone else and their problems. When she first arrived in Appledore, it was as if I could physically feel the emotional weight lifting from off her shoulders and I, too, seemed to breathe a sigh of relief. This was Ella's time, no one else's. Just hers. And I couldn't have been happier for her.But of course, life is never so simple, and despite having always been aware of the secrets that ripple between certain members of her family, she's never been quite sure of what it was that split apart her mother and aunt Sophia. Although, now in Appledore, she's beginning to discover more than she originally bargained for, and it is enough to bring her wonderful new surroundings and hopes as well as plans crumbling down to the ground. This was a beautifully weaved story of history, family and love, one that had me hooked from first page to last. I was completely immersed and found myself wishing to be in Devon, beside the sea with one of Ella's mouth-watering ice creams grasped tightly in my hand. I really cannot think of anything more perfect right now.All in all, Ella's Ice Cream Summer was an absolutely gorgeous story, whisking me away to Devon each time I picked up where I'd last left off. Yet another page-turner from one of my favourite authors who never fails to relax and entice me when it comes to her wonderful novels. This was pure, intoxicating escapism with plenty of reasons to stick with the characters who continue to make you smile, laugh and perhaps even cry. Just PERFECT.With thanks to the publisher for my review copy of this book.
    more
  • AnnMarie
    May 30, 2017
    Ella's Ice-Cream Summer is the first book in The Ice-Cream Café series by Sue Watson.Ella is divorced with two teenage children and a mother who lives with her. The children respectively are about to embark on a gap year in Thailand, and a summer in Nepal, leaving Ella with her first taste of empty nest syndrome. Before they leave Ella has to attend her favourite aunt's funeral back home in Devon. A family falling out means that she hasn't been able to have contact with her aunt since she was 12 Ella's Ice-Cream Summer is the first book in The Ice-Cream Café series by Sue Watson.Ella is divorced with two teenage children and a mother who lives with her. The children respectively are about to embark on a gap year in Thailand, and a summer in Nepal, leaving Ella with her first taste of empty nest syndrome. Before they leave Ella has to attend her favourite aunt's funeral back home in Devon. A family falling out means that she hasn't been able to have contact with her aunt since she was 12, but she has many fond memories of the years before that, especially of her aunt's ice cream cafe. Her aunt and mother are from Italy, and along with Italian tempers, they also brought with them delightful Italian ice cream recipes. Flavours that had customers queuing for ages to buy in the cafe and at the ice cream van that they used to park on the beach. Such happy memories for Ella. The funeral was a quiet affair, and her aunt's will was a bit of a surprise for her. Ella was now the proud owner of a very run down ice cream truck. The cafe, which was now just a run down diner, had been left to Ella's cousin, a movie star, Gina. Ella was surprised she was given the truck, and even more surprised when the gorgeous solicitor Ben told her he thought she could spend the summer in Devon selling ice cream again. She didn't have any intention of doing that, not then anyway!As it turns out, Ella's boss has become bankrupt and so Ella loses her job. Her ex husband decides to put the house on the market now the children are grown up, and Ella realises that at least for the summer she can have a bit or respite, and maybe earn a bit of money. She decides to go to Devon, and sell ice cream just as Ben suggested. Maybe while she is there she can get hold of Gina and see if she is going to keep the cafe, maybe persuade her to partner with herself and get the cafe back to the way it used to be? In the mean time she needs to get the truck up to scratch and just enjoy a summer without children or responsibilities. Her mother won't be happy, but for once, Ella wants to put herself first. She doesn't know why there was such a terrible family falling out, but she always loved her aunt Sophia, and cousin Gina, and she wouldn't let her mother stop her from going back to Devon for the summer.What follows is the delightfully funny, sometimes serious, but always interesting story of Ella's summer. Secrets unfold, romance is on the cards, and always there are the delicious sounding ice cream flavours that Ella comes up with. It's a very sweet story, almost like a coming of age story, but for a woman in her 40s. Ella really comes into her own in this story. I enjoyed it very much, and despite a tear or two in places, the story had me smiling, and yes laughing a lot. I am not a big fan of contemporary fiction, but find myself wanting to read the next book in this series, so that's got to be a good indication of how much I enjoyed this book.I voluntarily reviewed an advanced readers' copy of this book.
    more
  • Suze
    May 11, 2017
    Ella is a single mother. She has two children and they're about to go away for the summer, spreading their wings. When Ella loses her job and her ex husband wants to have his share of their house, so she has to sell, Ella doesn't know what to do. She's responsible for her children and her mother, who's living with them, and all of a sudden they won't have a roof over their heads any longer. Help comes when Ella's aunt Sophia leaves her an old ice cream van. Ella loves to make ice cream and even Ella is a single mother. She has two children and they're about to go away for the summer, spreading their wings. When Ella loses her job and her ex husband wants to have his share of their house, so she has to sell, Ella doesn't know what to do. She's responsible for her children and her mother, who's living with them, and all of a sudden they won't have a roof over their heads any longer. Help comes when Ella's aunt Sophia leaves her an old ice cream van. Ella loves to make ice cream and even though it's a big risk she decides to relocate to Appledore, where she spent many magical summers as a child, and have her own adventure.Ella's mother doesn't like that Ella is going to stay in Appledore, but Ella is determined to revive the family's ice cream business. She doesn't go there on her own, she's adopted a very cute pooch that will keep her company. Ella could use a friend and she finds one quickly. Ben, the lawyer who handles her inheritance is happy to help and spend time with her. Suddenly Ella feels free instead of lonely. Will she be able to make a success of her ice cream van and what will happen after the summer, can she find a way to keep everyone happy, herself included?Ella's Ice Cream Summer is a delicious story. Ella is a sweetheart, she has a loving and caring personality and she makes sure everyone around her is safe and secure. She also comes up with the most creative and wonderful ice cream flavors and due to Sue Watson's vivid descriptions I could almost taste her gorgeous creations. Ella is a strong woman and she never gives up, I admired how hard she works and the reward is that she finds herself while doing what she loves and slowly becomes more confident. The ice cream making clearly suits her and I enjoyed reading about all the ways she flourished.Sue Watson doesn't only write about tasty recipes, she combines amazing food with intriguing family secrets and I couldn't wait to find out the truth. There's something Ella's family doesn't want her to know and discovering what that was kept me on the edge of my seat. I enjoy reading about complicated family histories and I really liked this one. Sue Watson skillfully balances this serious topic with the lightheartedness of summer at the beach. She's emphatic, has a great worldview and she's terrific at putting things in perspective.Sue Watson writes about fascinating new beginnings in a fantastic heartwarming way. She has a lovely sense of humor and always makes me smile. Ella's Ice Cream Summer has a beautiful setting and Sue Watson makes it come to life incredibly well. It's clear she's passionate about the subject she's chosen for her book and that made it extra special for me. Another fabulous element is Ella's new dog, she's adorable and I liked her a lot. Ella's Ice Cream Summer is the perfect summer read. It's a fun mouthwatering story that radiates joy and happiness and is a fantastic ray of sunshine.
    more
Write a review