Little One
Death is cold.Kelsea Stone can’t remember her childhood, and frankly, she doesn’t really care. She’s doing fine on her own in L.A. without any family to tie her down. But when she finds out her estranged birth parents have died and left her their house in Canaan Valley, West Virginia, she discovers more than just an inheritance waiting for her in the mountains. An angry presence lingers there, and it won’t rest until it has had its revenge.

Little One Details

TitleLittle One
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJul 18th, 2017
PublisherTimothy G. Huguenin
ISBN0997147431
ISBN-139780997147438
Number of pages237 pages
Rating
GenreHorror, Paranormal, Ghosts

Little One Review

  • Carol
    June 26, 2017
    BOO!I can't help it...I'm drawn to ghost stories...especially ones set in a remote area...with blizzard conditions...and a mystery to solve.I have never read a ghost story quite like this one though...with such an active little ghost...who seems almost alive...one with an agenda...one who seeks vengeance with a passion.LITTLE ONE begins on the creepy side with an angry soul sneaking about when Kelsea Stone arrives to clean out her estranged parents home in the mountains of West Virginia...and sh BOO!I can't help it...I'm drawn to ghost stories...especially ones set in a remote area...with blizzard conditions...and a mystery to solve.I have never read a ghost story quite like this one though...with such an active little ghost...who seems almost alive...one with an agenda...one who seeks vengeance with a passion.LITTLE ONE begins on the creepy side with an angry soul sneaking about when Kelsea Stone arrives to clean out her estranged parents home in the mountains of West Virginia...and she receives a lot more than she bargained for...including a hunky lawyer-type with "soft blue eyes, broad shoulders and jeans that stretch just enough in all the right places" who is more than willing to meet her every need.FOR ME, not a scary read, but there is a dark side to the story. Fairly predictable, sometimes even nonsensical, but an atmospheric mystery with a ghost, a twist and a place on my women's fiction shelf. 3+ Stars with a round up...bc I liked it...and for keeping me entertained.Many thanks to NetGalley, author Timothy G. Huguenin and Weapenry Co-op for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Drew (Drew’s Cup of Tea)
    July 1, 2017
    As someone who gets spooked from hearing bumps and creaks in the night, Little One started out exactly as I anticipated from a ghost story. Haunted houses, forgotten backstories, little girls who kill people… what more could you possibly want?The plot wasn't the most original - I've definitely heard the idea of a little girl haunting a house a few times before - but I didn't really care since this book had me hooked from beginning to end. I flew through the pages. And something about the charact As someone who gets spooked from hearing bumps and creaks in the night, Little One started out exactly as I anticipated from a ghost story. Haunted houses, forgotten backstories, little girls who kill people… what more could you possibly want?The plot wasn't the most original - I've definitely heard the idea of a little girl haunting a house a few times before - but I didn't really care since this book had me hooked from beginning to end. I flew through the pages. And something about the characters and setting in the snowy, cold woods, in a creaky old house where the electricity kept going out, was eerie and refreshing.Kelsea Stone never knew her birth parents since she was given up for adoption at a young age. Now an adult, she inherits her deceased parents' house in the back woods of West Virginia. What Kelsea doesn't understand are the rumors she keeps hearing in town about the house. And she can't help feeling that something - or someone - is inside the house.I did have a few problems with Little One, mainly that the dialogue wasn't always convincing. The story switched POVs quite a lot and even went into the mind of the ghost girl. And I'm sorry, but when a wrathful ghost says things like this, I find it more laughable than scary: “Good riddance! Her tallness, her womanliness, her pretty long blond hair and green eyes and fancy leather purse and long eyelashes and full lips—she makes me sick; doesn’t she make you sick? People like her, they always whine about life’s unfairness. Look at them! Death—that’s what’s unfair.” This really isn't a horror book, and I don't even think readers who barely read horror would get scared. There's only a few shiver-inducing moments, and even those were tame. What this is is an atmospheric paranormal mystery, and I must say the author did a fantastic job at describing the atmosphere - at really making me feel the cold inside the house and frightened along with Kelsea.Another problem I had was with the mini romance. When Kelsea arrived in West Virginia, she was greeted by her lawyer who helped her get settled in, and the minute Kelsea laid eyes on James she was awestruck by his good looks. It also just didn't seem very professional that the two entered into a relationship when he was her lawyer and she was his client. “He stuck out a hand, and she shook it. His grip was firm and cool. She was embarrassed to find herself caught in his soft blue eyes for a few seconds longer than was polite. She looked away and blushed.” I mean, this is a full grown woman and she's blushing just from shaking his hand? *shakes head*I really liked the twists at the end that caught me by surprise and how crazy things got after the final reveal. If not a bit cheesy at times, Little One was still a quick, creepy, and satisfying read. I would recommend it to people who are in the mood for some early shivery autumnal vibes.
    more
  • Kirsty White
    June 27, 2017
    This is a good little ghost story. At first I thought I was going to end up with some YA romance (despite picking up a horror title) but it ends up being quite the opposite. Kelsea arrives at her family home in the middle of nowhere just as the worst snow storm ever is about to hit. Turns out she can't remember her childhood as she's spent a life I care and has blocked out all past after believing her (now deceased) parents gave her away.The ghost in question is out for vengeance and at first (l This is a good little ghost story. At first I thought I was going to end up with some YA romance (despite picking up a horror title) but it ends up being quite the opposite. Kelsea arrives at her family home in the middle of nowhere just as the worst snow storm ever is about to hit. Turns out she can't remember her childhood as she's spent a life I care and has blocked out all past after believing her (now deceased) parents gave her away.The ghost in question is out for vengeance and at first (little spoiler) we think she's ready to haunt Kelsea but again it quickly comes apparent the ghost has someone else in mine. What's discovered quite early on is that the ghost in question is a 6 year old little girl but one with a fair bit of ghostly power. She can rip books, turn locks and much more. Kelsea is probably the only one in this book who is exactly as she seems.It's a short book which loses a bit of the story, I think maybe some of the sidebar stories of the supplementary characters could have been given more time. But it's a quick read, a good page turner and I'll probably track down more of the authors works because of it.Free arc from netgalley
    more
  • Kathrin
    June 19, 2017
    I received a free copy of the book via Netgalley. 'Little One' is the story of Kelsea who return to her distant hometown in West Virginia after her parents died. Although she has been given up for adoption at the age of 6 and never reconciled with her parents they leave her all her possessions. So, her plan is to return for a week, sort out what is needed to be looked after and then return to L.A. and sell the house. Little does she know what's waiting for her and how much her past will interfer I received a free copy of the book via Netgalley. 'Little One' is the story of Kelsea who return to her distant hometown in West Virginia after her parents died. Although she has been given up for adoption at the age of 6 and never reconciled with her parents they leave her all her possessions. So, her plan is to return for a week, sort out what is needed to be looked after and then return to L.A. and sell the house. Little does she know what's waiting for her and how much her past will interfere with her present. This book might have some flaws but I'm more than happy to ignore them for the creepy hours I spent reading it. I wasn't sure at first if the way of telling the story would work but I decided to love it after a couple of chapters. It's no spoiler to tell you that part of the story is told from the ghost's POV although you don't know the relationship between the protagonists. I wasn't sure if a book can be scary if you already know that there's a ghost... I was dead wrong on this. The author maybe did use a lot of cliché horror themes but they worked well on me. I actually put the book down one evening to not finish it when it's dark outside and I'm alone at home. The small-town atmosphere worked well and I started to care for Kelsea quickly. Now, as for its flaws. Honestly, it was a little easy to guess who is the bad guy. And for some parts of the story I wanted to kick Kealsea just a little because she acted like a dumb child. Asking myself a lot 'Why can't she see this?'. I was also a little disappointed with the ending. It was too easy and a little rushed if you asked me. Overall, I believe the story would have benefitted from a little more character building, a little less insta-love and just more pages to set the atmosphere later. However, it was a great read and I decided to give it the highest rating because I read a lot of bad horror books in the last years and I love the fact that there are still good ones out there.
    more
  • Elke
    March 18, 2017
    It is always satisfying to discover a book by a yet unknown author, take the risk of reading it and find out that it was worth it. 'Little One' is a cleverly plotted ghost story with a twist, and though the storyline was predictable at times, it was mainly the writing that made reading this book a pleasure.At the beginning, I was afraid it would turn into some kind of cozy romance ghost story, but fortunately it soon became much darker and things turned out to be very different from what they se It is always satisfying to discover a book by a yet unknown author, take the risk of reading it and find out that it was worth it. 'Little One' is a cleverly plotted ghost story with a twist, and though the storyline was predictable at times, it was mainly the writing that made reading this book a pleasure.At the beginning, I was afraid it would turn into some kind of cozy romance ghost story, but fortunately it soon became much darker and things turned out to be very different from what they seemed...As I mentioned before, the story was predictable at times, and I often wondered how the female main character could not notice what I already knew to come. But then again, it's always easier to see the whole picture from the outside rather than being right in the middle of it.Still, on several occasions I wanted to smack her on the head for acting so naive. How could she just go to sleep and rely on her - only barely known - friend to 'take care of things' with a dead body lying in her backyard? It just seemed plain stupid. Then going into town next morning without immediately rushing over to the police station, but instead doing nothing about it - again? That was a complete no-go. However, it explained her repeatedly unsuspecting behavior - but then again, the story would have been much shorter if she acted more clever, I guess.Still, despite these flaws I was totally immersed this book, due to the author's very fine writing skills which created a perfect reading flow. Also, I did like the mostly sad but also scary ghost part of the story, and how the reader was mislead in the beginning, only to be rewarded with a very fascinating turn of events. If you like ghost stories, you may want to add this one to the list.(Thanks to Netgalley, the author, and the publisher for an advanced copy of the book, all opinions are my own)
    more
  • Giulia
    April 10, 2017
    While the story started off well and while I was pulled into the story line at the beginning that did not hold true for the entire length of this book..By the middle of this book I had lost a lot of my interest and the story starting to fall flat to me. Then, some really strange reactions by a few of the characters put me off for awhile and the last one third of the book was a bit of a chore to finish.. I would recommend this book to younger readers.. maybe 16 to 20 years olds.. Thank you go Net While the story started off well and while I was pulled into the story line at the beginning that did not hold true for the entire length of this book..By the middle of this book I had lost a lot of my interest and the story starting to fall flat to me. Then, some really strange reactions by a few of the characters put me off for awhile and the last one third of the book was a bit of a chore to finish.. I would recommend this book to younger readers.. maybe 16 to 20 years olds.. Thank you go Net galley and the publisher for a chance to read and give an honest review of this book.
    more
  • Angel Hatfield
    July 18, 2017
    Kelsea was on her way to Davis, West Virginia to meet with a lawyer named James. Kelsea’s home was in LA her home was anonymity. Kelsea remembers none of her first six years of life which had been here in Davis, West Virginia. It.was all blackness even bouncing around foster homes was hazy as soon as Kelsea was old enough she moved away from West Virginia running from her past. Kelsea was now thirty one and back in west Virginia. James met her at the Charleston airport as he said he would drive Kelsea was on her way to Davis, West Virginia to meet with a lawyer named James. Kelsea’s home was in LA her home was anonymity. Kelsea remembers none of her first six years of life which had been here in Davis, West Virginia. It.was all blackness even bouncing around foster homes was hazy as soon as Kelsea was old enough she moved away from West Virginia running from her past. Kelsea was now thirty one and back in west Virginia. James met her at the Charleston airport as he said he would drive the couple hours to get to Chelsea’s biological home. Chelsea never knew why her parents had put her up for adoption at six years old. It was basically a nice home so why did her parents give Chelsea up for adoption if not financial reasons? There was a ghost- a child- who watched the truck pull away from the house. The child was thinking how funny it was the habits you kept after you died. Reading had become easy for after the child was separated from the human body and frail human brain. Losing your shell allowed awareness to expand in ways you’ll never know until it happens to you. Kelsea tells James that she plans on returning to LA in a week and that she will probably put the house up for sale. Kelsea wasn’t sure if she wanted to go through the stuff in the house or hire someone to go through it. James offered to let Kelsea borrow one of his truck to get around. Kelsea asked James if he had known her parents he had said yes they were good to him , he thought of them like family. Kelsea went out to the truck to get her phone charger even if there was no single and suitcase and somehow the door was now locked. She broke a window to get back in. Kelsea wrote for Ensemble Weekly- an entertainment magazine back in LA. I just couldn’t really get into this story. I read this for awhile but it just didn’t keep my attention but I am sure others will enjoy this book but others will enjoy this.
    more
  • Teresa
    July 26, 2017
    The creep factor in this book was over the top for me. I was on vacation with my Daughter and Grand Kids when I started reading this book. I was setting outside on the front porch of the cabin surrounded by a mountain in a very dark area while reading this. All at once I felt the need to go in the house and not read anymore. I also turned the TV on for the night in the room I was sleeping in, and I had only read half the book. The book is about Kelsea Hendricks Stone. She was given up for adopti The creep factor in this book was over the top for me. I was on vacation with my Daughter and Grand Kids when I started reading this book. I was setting outside on the front porch of the cabin surrounded by a mountain in a very dark area while reading this. All at once I felt the need to go in the house and not read anymore. I also turned the TV on for the night in the room I was sleeping in, and I had only read half the book. The book is about Kelsea Hendricks Stone. She was given up for adoption as a young child. She doesn't remember her life before being adopted. Her birth parents have passed away and left her their house and possessions. Kelsea heads to a remote town in West Virginia to clean out the house and get it ready to sell. What Kelsea doesn't know is there is a spirit living in the house and she is not a happy one. Kayla, the spirit, is looking to revenge her death and really doesn't care who she takes out if they get in her way. She died at age 6 and has had 25 years to plan her revenge. Now that the adults are gone it is time to get her revenge on the person responsible for her death. I received this book from the Author or Publisher via Netgalley.com to read and review.
    more
  • Irene
    May 5, 2017
    I picked this book out of the horror section, but it's more a mystery/ghost story. Kelsea Stone arrives to take possession of a house left to her by her birth parents after their death. She has not seen them in years and barely remembers them at all. She has few memories of her early childhood and none that start before she was given up for adoption. She doesn't even remember that as a small child she once lived in this very home.She intends to clear it out and sell it off, or perhaps rent it ou I picked this book out of the horror section, but it's more a mystery/ghost story. Kelsea Stone arrives to take possession of a house left to her by her birth parents after their death. She has not seen them in years and barely remembers them at all. She has few memories of her early childhood and none that start before she was given up for adoption. She doesn't even remember that as a small child she once lived in this very home.She intends to clear it out and sell it off, or perhaps rent it out as a vacation property. However that proves difficult with the rumors surrounding the home. The story line was fairly predictable but I enjoyed the spooky atmosphere, as I am a sucker for howling winds, heavy snowfall, and buried secrets. I received an advance copy for review.
    more
  • Laura Newsholme
    July 20, 2017
    Suffice to say, I didn't like this one very much. It tells the story of Kelsea and her return to her childhood home after the death of her estranged parents to inherit their creepy house. I read a lot of novels and stories that require the suspension of disbelief and that's fine, so long as the internal logic of the world created makes sense. In too many instances in this book, that was not the case and consequently, the narrative just fails. As a ghost story, it does not scare and the character Suffice to say, I didn't like this one very much. It tells the story of Kelsea and her return to her childhood home after the death of her estranged parents to inherit their creepy house. I read a lot of novels and stories that require the suspension of disbelief and that's fine, so long as the internal logic of the world created makes sense. In too many instances in this book, that was not the case and consequently, the narrative just fails. As a ghost story, it does not scare and the characters are completely flat and have ridiculous decision-making inflicted upon them. The prose is ok and the book does move at a good pace, but it just wasn't an enjoyable ride for me I'm afraid.I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review.
    more
  • Kimberly
    July 1, 2017
    Review featured at www.books-n-kisses.comHere is what I think. You either love this story or think it is ok. No in between. At least I do not think there would be any who hate it. And my other thought is there are no longer any true ghost stories. I really hoped this story would prove me wrong and be a true ghost story but it wasn’t. I mean seriously, I don’t think the ghost has done more than look at people for of the book. What is scary about that? However in the beginning the story seemed to Review featured at www.books-n-kisses.comHere is what I think. You either love this story or think it is ok. No in between. At least I do not think there would be any who hate it. And my other thought is there are no longer any true ghost stories. I really hoped this story would prove me wrong and be a true ghost story but it wasn’t. I mean seriously, I don’t think the ghost has done more than look at people for ¾ of the book. What is scary about that? However in the beginning the story seemed to catch my attention it just never stayed caught. The good thing is it is a short book (200+ pages) and a quick read. Disclaimer:I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • ☘Tara Sheehan☘
    March 16, 2017
    Huguenin has this great writing style which immerses you in his world so well everything else around just kind of disappears as you become part of the story. Time itself seems to stop as all you care about is where this story takes you and sticking with it til the end.Wonderfully the story is so fast paced you don’t have time to consider what chapter you’re on or how far you’ve read. There’s plenty of eerie surprises, mysterious circumstances and interesting characters to keep hold of your atten Huguenin has this great writing style which immerses you in his world so well everything else around just kind of disappears as you become part of the story. Time itself seems to stop as all you care about is where this story takes you and sticking with it til the end.Wonderfully the story is so fast paced you don’t have time to consider what chapter you’re on or how far you’ve read. There’s plenty of eerie surprises, mysterious circumstances and interesting characters to keep hold of your attention so your mind will be held from wandering.I found it easy to read thanks to his crisp writing that is detailed with vivid imagery so you can actually picture the house and settings in West Virginia. You can almost see Kelsea Stone in front of you, feel as if you could interact with her, know what’s on her mind, what she’s feeling as if she’s a real person thanks to great character development and the realism embedded within the pages. What makes Huguenin really intriguing is the way he made inanimate objects such as the house and even the nature around it feel like another main character with its own presence and personality.Death may be cold but Huguenin will keep you warm with suspense and curiosity.
    more
  • Glen Huguenin
    July 25, 2017
    Filled with eccentric characters and a unique plot it will keep you interested and surprised at where it takes you! It is hard to believe this is only Huguenin's second novel!
  • Debbie
    July 14, 2017
    *3.5 starsOverall I enjoyed reading this, the ending was a bit of an anti-climax to me. But I really enjoyed the way to the ending. I love the suspense which was build up and the POV you get from the spirit at the end of some chapters, I really enjoyed that. I personally think this has also some mystery vibes to it and I love reading a good mystery/thriller. And I am drawn to ghost stories, I love being scared, that is when a horror novel has done a great job in my opinion. And this novel did sc *3.5 starsOverall I enjoyed reading this, the ending was a bit of an anti-climax to me. But I really enjoyed the way to the ending. I love the suspense which was build up and the POV you get from the spirit at the end of some chapters, I really enjoyed that. I personally think this has also some mystery vibes to it and I love reading a good mystery/thriller. And I am drawn to ghost stories, I love being scared, that is when a horror novel has done a great job in my opinion. And this novel did scare me, so I would recommend it.
    more
  • Kelly Smale
    March 14, 2017
    Kelsea Stone was taken into care at a young age and has recently learnt that her biological parents have died and have left her their house in West Virginia. She plans on doing the house up and either renting it out or selling it on then returning back to LA. But, the house holds secrets and a ghost of a six year old girl.James Pendleton is the lawyer who has grown up in Davis and looking after the Henderick's Place until Kelsea returns.This is a very fast paced story full of secrets and spooky Kelsea Stone was taken into care at a young age and has recently learnt that her biological parents have died and have left her their house in West Virginia. She plans on doing the house up and either renting it out or selling it on then returning back to LA. But, the house holds secrets and a ghost of a six year old girl.James Pendleton is the lawyer who has grown up in Davis and looking after the Henderick's Place until Kelsea returns.This is a very fast paced story full of secrets and spooky goings on, which had me gripped from the first page. I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it was very easy to read and I found it hard to put down. I won't give anymore details as that would spoil it for others.Would definitely recommend and will be looking into previous and future novels for sure.Thank you to Netgalley for this ARC in return of a honest review
    more
  • Judy
    March 12, 2017
    I was so immersed in this story that I started it last night and finished this morning. The story begins in LA with Kelsea getting on a plane for West Virginia where her birth parents have both died and she needs to decide what to do with the house. Kelsea was raised in foster care after age six and never knew why her parents gave her away; she is resentful. She doesn't remember much of her early life. Eerie things start happening and the story takes a dark turn in West Virginia which provided l I was so immersed in this story that I started it last night and finished this morning. The story begins in LA with Kelsea getting on a plane for West Virginia where her birth parents have both died and she needs to decide what to do with the house. Kelsea was raised in foster care after age six and never knew why her parents gave her away; she is resentful. She doesn't remember much of her early life. Eerie things start happening and the story takes a dark turn in West Virginia which provided lots of suspense and kept me turning the pages.I gave the book 4 stars rounding up from 3 1/2 because I liked the story and the writing style. I will look forward to more from this author.I received an ARC of this book from the author Timothy G. Huguenin through NetGalley for an honest review and I do recommend this book.
    more
  • Elaine
    April 9, 2017
    Kelsea Stone can’t remember her childhood, and frankly, she doesn’t really care. She’s doing fine on her own in L.A. without any family to tie her down. But when she finds out her estranged birth parents have died and left her their house in Canaan Valley, West Virginia, she discovers more than just an inheritance waiting for her in the mountains. An angry presence lingers there, and it won’t rest until it has had its revenge.This book started off very promising. There was a mystery around Kelse Kelsea Stone can’t remember her childhood, and frankly, she doesn’t really care. She’s doing fine on her own in L.A. without any family to tie her down. But when she finds out her estranged birth parents have died and left her their house in Canaan Valley, West Virginia, she discovers more than just an inheritance waiting for her in the mountains. An angry presence lingers there, and it won’t rest until it has had its revenge.This book started off very promising. There was a mystery around Kelsea Stone's childhood - why had she been adopted at the age of 6, why had her parents never been in contact, what had happened to them? The suspense really built up and I was intrigued to find out more. The suspense was heightened by the surrounding environment - a small hamlet in the middle of nowhere with heavy snowstorms isolating Kelsea. However, around half way into the book it turned into a ghost story which was just too far-fetched for me. The ghosts were armed and capable of harming the main characters. I enjoyed it up until this point but the second half of the book was a bit disappointing. Readers who are more into ghosts or the supernatural will enjoy it more than I did.I received an advance copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. These are my own opinions.
    more
  • Cameron
    March 27, 2017
    Note: I got a copy from Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewHonestly, this book gave me shivers when I was reading it. I figured out that I had to read it during the day because when I tried to go to sleep I heard sounds in the night and got super freaked out. It was a really interesting book and the ending was really happy for a mystery/thriller. I definitely enjoyed it and it's characters.
    more
  • Ionia
    April 22, 2017
    I didn't think this was a bad book, but perhaps it was a little more on the younger reader side than I would have imagined from reading the description. Some of the actions of the characters seemed a bit silly to me and at times the story felt a little clunky, like it was afraid to move forward. The plot is interesting and I was looking forward to solving the mystery at the heart of the book, but then I would fall into a spot where the story seemed to bog down and wonder if I really had the desi I didn't think this was a bad book, but perhaps it was a little more on the younger reader side than I would have imagined from reading the description. Some of the actions of the characters seemed a bit silly to me and at times the story felt a little clunky, like it was afraid to move forward. The plot is interesting and I was looking forward to solving the mystery at the heart of the book, but then I would fall into a spot where the story seemed to bog down and wonder if I really had the desire to finish it or not. Eventually, I did make it all the way to the end, but it was not without a struggle to keep paying attention. My honest opinion is that this is a talented author that has a great imagination, but could have benefited from giving this book further consideration and the use of good beta readers before releasing it. If you cut out the portions of this that slow the story down, it would have been great. The setting was interesting and the descriptions were good. This review is based on a complementary copy from the publisher, provided through Netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Jackie
    April 1, 2017
    Kelsea has no idea about her childhood, but it doesn't really make a difference to her. She inherits a house from her parents and realizes that there is a lot more happening. A fast paced, interesting book. Appreciated receiving an ARC. Should definitely be read by everyone
    more
  • Vicki
    March 26, 2017
    This is my favorite kind of ghost story. Read into all hours of the night. A folklore element added an eerie charm to the story and the writing was fresh. I loved this book and it deserves to be right beside the great modern ghost stories of today.
  • Nikki
    March 28, 2017
    Came across this gem on NetGalley and I was intrigued by the description. This book is honestly not getting the attention it deserves. This is one of those books that will make you stay awake until the wee hours of the morning trying to devour every last page just to find out what's going to happen. The story follows Kelsea Stone who travels from LA to her birthplace in West Virginia after learning of her biological parents death. She has inherited their home and must confront her past in order Came across this gem on NetGalley and I was intrigued by the description. This book is honestly not getting the attention it deserves. This is one of those books that will make you stay awake until the wee hours of the morning trying to devour every last page just to find out what's going to happen. The story follows Kelsea Stone who travels from LA to her birthplace in West Virginia after learning of her biological parents death. She has inherited their home and must confront her past in order to clean out the house and sell it. Upon her arrival in West Virginia, she is picked up by James Pendleton, the lawyer that's handling the family's affairs. While not your typical lawyer - "looks more like a lumberjack than a lawyer", Kelsea quickly begins relying on him to show her around and get settled. She learns that he had been close to her estranged parents and begins to ask questions about her past. Upon arrival to the home, she believes she sees movement in the upstairs window. This turns out to be just one of the many creepy things that she is presented with.I enjoyed the author's style of alternating between narrator's throughout the book. Some chapters are narrated by Kelsea, other's by James, some by an unknown spirit, and various other characters come into play as the plot progresses (trying not to give out any spoilers!!)While the overall narration of this book is simple and I, at times, began wondering if it was a YA novel, as I got deeper into the plot, I became more and more absorbed. Towards the middle of the book, with some of the plot twists, it became apparent that this was no YA novel, and I'm guilty of staying up until 2am just to finish this book in order to find out what was going to happen. A quick, easy read with a good plot, I recommend this be added to everyone's summer reading list, you will not be disappointed. I truly appreciate NetGalley for matching me to this book and introducing me to an author that I probably would not have normally read. Now I look forward to Mr. Huguenin's next book and will be searching for his past novels. I'm truly a fan!Disclaimer: I received this book from NetGalley in return for my honest and unbiased opinion.
    more
  • Tonya
    April 4, 2017
    I love the idea of this book, but I didn't like how it all played out. It seemed to take forever to figure out anything that was going on or at least why the ghost was still hanging around. I didn't really connect with any of the characters either. James' character changed too suddenly. One minute he was the nice, helpful lawyer and then he was just completely crazy and shady with no explanation (at first). And Kelsea's lack of compassion and sense of morality was just insane. Another thing that I love the idea of this book, but I didn't like how it all played out. It seemed to take forever to figure out anything that was going on or at least why the ghost was still hanging around. I didn't really connect with any of the characters either. James' character changed too suddenly. One minute he was the nice, helpful lawyer and then he was just completely crazy and shady with no explanation (at first). And Kelsea's lack of compassion and sense of morality was just insane. Another thing that bothered me was the fact that everyone came back as a ghost/spirit. I was okay with Kayla and even their parents, but Russ and Marco too? I thought that was just a bit much. I really wanted to love this book, the synopsis was so intriguing but it just didn't hit the mark with me.Disclaimer: I received a free e-copy of this book in exchange for my honest review, however this in no way influenced my opinions.
    more
  • Timothy Huguenin
    March 16, 2017
Write a review