Her Right Foot
"I want to hold this book in one hand and a torch in the other and stand on an island someplace so everyone can see." —Lemony SnicketIf you had to name a statue, any statue, odds are good you'd mention the Statue of Liberty. Have you seen her?She's in New York. She's holding a torch. And she's in mid-stride, moving forward. But why?In this fascinating, fun take on nonfiction, Dave Eggers and Shawn Harris investigate a seemingly small trait of America's most emblematic statue. What they find is about more than history, more than art. What they find in the Statue of Liberty's right foot is the powerful message of acceptance that is essential to an entire country's creation. A Junior Library Guild selection

Her Right Foot Details

TitleHer Right Foot
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 19th, 2017
PublisherChronicle Books
ISBN-139781452162812
Rating
GenreChildrens, Picture Books, Nonfiction, History, Middle Grade, Historical

Her Right Foot Review

  • Taryn
    January 1, 1970
    A charming picture book about one of the United States’ most recognizable landmarks. The Statue of Liberty has many symbolic features, but it’s her right foot that captures author Dave Egger's imagination. She's perpetually in motion! Where is she going? Where has she been?This book made my heart swell! The conversational style makes it fun to read aloud. The first half is filled with fun facts about the Statue of Liberty, many that were new to me. I loved the paper collage style on many of the A charming picture book about one of the United States’ most recognizable landmarks. The Statue of Liberty has many symbolic features, but it’s her right foot that captures author Dave Egger's imagination. She's perpetually in motion! Where is she going? Where has she been?This book made my heart swell! The conversational style makes it fun to read aloud. The first half is filled with fun facts about the Statue of Liberty, many that were new to me. I loved the paper collage style on many of the pages. It reminded me of how people from different backgrounds came together to create something new. You can see examples of the playful and colorful illustrations on illustrator Shawn Harris's web page. Liberty and freedom from oppression are not things you get or grant by standing around like some kind of statue. No! These are things that require action. Courage. An unwillingness to rest. Her Right Foot tells the story of the Statue of Liberty’s long journey from Paris, France to New York Harbor. She's a gift of friendship that came to represent hope and freedom for the millions of people seeking refuge and opportunity within America’s shores. The author theorizes on why Lady Liberty's work will never be done and why she'll never be content to stand still. It's a timely reminder that our freedoms and ideals must never be taken for granted. Like the famed statue, we must always remain vigilant and keep moving to protect the values we hold most dear. LINKS • The Statue of Liberty was built to welcome immigrants – that welcome must not end by Dave Eggers• A NEW COLOSSUS: The story behind the Statue of Liberty’s unexpected transformation into a beacon for refugees and immigrants___________I received this book for free from Netgalley and Chronicle Books. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review. It will be available on September 19, 2017!
    more
  • Donalyn
    January 1, 1970
    The illustrations are beautiful and engaging and the message of the book is important and well-communicated, but the voice was off to me. It doesn't read like a book for children and I found some of the humorous asides off-putting and strange.
  • Danielle
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. This book. One for laughs and facts and cries. One for inspiring readers to be on the move for making a welcoming place.
  • Sara Grochowski
    January 1, 1970
    In Her Right Foot, Eggers introduces readers to the engaging history of the Statue of Liberty, from her origins in France, her long journey to the United States, and eventual home on Ellis Island. Facts told in colloquial, declarative statements build to a thoughtful look at Lady Liberty's right foot, which rises as if in motion. Where is she going?, Eggers wonders. His theory that she, remembering her immigrant roots, yearns to meet those seeking asylum is moving and memorable. A must for reade In Her Right Foot, Eggers introduces readers to the engaging history of the Statue of Liberty, from her origins in France, her long journey to the United States, and eventual home on Ellis Island. Facts told in colloquial, declarative statements build to a thoughtful look at Lady Liberty's right foot, which rises as if in motion. Where is she going?, Eggers wonders. His theory that she, remembering her immigrant roots, yearns to meet those seeking asylum is moving and memorable. A must for readers of all ages, this story is a powerful reminder of the importance of history and empathy.
    more
  • Kazia
    January 1, 1970
    holy moly this book!!
  • Julie Guzzetta
    January 1, 1970
    So great! What a fun concept (definitely something I didn't know)! And the illustrations are perfect for the telling of the story. I loved this!
  • Marybeth
    January 1, 1970
    What a great book! Eggers introduces readers to the engaging history of the Statue of Liberty, including something that I had never heard before: the Statue of Liberty is in mid-stride!! I DID NOT KNOW THIS!!! What does this mean? It's significance? "The symbol of America is a symbol of welcome. It's a woman in a robe walking out to sea, to light the way for those coming to our shores." -Dave EggersImportant.
    more
  • Edie
    January 1, 1970
    An important book to have in every library, this book breathes new life into a statue that many of us may have taken for granted. Eggers conversational style reaches out to every reader, reminding them of what they might already know and then giving them new information (and apologizing that it takes him a while to get there). The illustrations are equally engaging, simple and active, bright colors, peopled in all aspects of the creation and admiration of the statue. But what is most important i An important book to have in every library, this book breathes new life into a statue that many of us may have taken for granted. Eggers conversational style reaches out to every reader, reminding them of what they might already know and then giving them new information (and apologizing that it takes him a while to get there). The illustrations are equally engaging, simple and active, bright colors, peopled in all aspects of the creation and admiration of the statue. But what is most important is that the statue's right foot is not planted on the ground but in a state of motion as is she, symbolically, still reaching out to those who are coming to our shores. An important message, gently but firmly told.
    more
  • Ryan
    January 1, 1970
    This was so much better than I anticipated. Yes the book is heavy on the history of Lady Liberty but it does so with cheek and sass. But the story changes halfway to focus specifically on her right foot, and how she is preparing to walk away. But where is she walking? To welcome new people to this land. The story focuses on her symbolism a friend to immigrants. As a lighthouse for those seeking a new future. A fantastic book that is the perfect lesson on who this country was and what our forefat This was so much better than I anticipated. Yes the book is heavy on the history of Lady Liberty but it does so with cheek and sass. But the story changes halfway to focus specifically on her right foot, and how she is preparing to walk away. But where is she walking? To welcome new people to this land. The story focuses on her symbolism a friend to immigrants. As a lighthouse for those seeking a new future. A fantastic book that is the perfect lesson on who this country was and what our forefathers believed.
    more
  • Amber Webb
    January 1, 1970
    Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers is a must read. The in depth information and attention to detail about the statue was amazing, but the most important part of the book comes in the last few pages when he explains and discusses the statue's for being in motion and the importance of that then and now. This book has such power and voice and will be important for children to hear.. I plan to use this as a #classroombookaday early in the year to help foster discussions about our current climate. Thank y Her Right Foot by Dave Eggers is a must read. The in depth information and attention to detail about the statue was amazing, but the most important part of the book comes in the last few pages when he explains and discusses the statue's for being in motion and the importance of that then and now. This book has such power and voice and will be important for children to hear.. I plan to use this as a #classroombookaday early in the year to help foster discussions about our current climate. Thank you Dave for this incredible book.
    more
  • Karen Arendt
    January 1, 1970
    At first I was unsure about the voice of the story. But after a few pages, I began to enjoy the tongue in cheek narration. The author offers many opportunties for discussion about immigration then and now, which is why I suggested this for middle grade readers.
    more
  • Richie Partington
    January 1, 1970
    Richie’s Picks: HER RIGHT FOOT by Dave Eggers and Shawn Harris, Chronicle, September 2017, 104p., ISBN: 978-1-4521-6281-2“Do to others as you want them to do to you. This is the meaning of the law of Moses and the teaching of the prophets.”-- Matthew 7:12“I got stopped by the immigration manHe says he doesn’t know if he canLet me in”-- Graham Nash, “Immigration Man” (1972)“Here is a rendering of Bartholdi and his team--he had a team; he did not work alone; he did not like working alone--construc Richie’s Picks: HER RIGHT FOOT by Dave Eggers and Shawn Harris, Chronicle, September 2017, 104p., ISBN: 978-1-4521-6281-2“Do to others as you want them to do to you. This is the meaning of the law of Moses and the teaching of the prophets.”-- Matthew 7:12“I got stopped by the immigration manHe says he doesn’t know if he canLet me in”-- Graham Nash, “Immigration Man” (1972)“Here is a rendering of Bartholdi and his team--he had a team; he did not work alone; he did not like working alone--constructing the statue’s hand.Notice that the hand is bigger than these men. Thus they made the statue in many parts.These parts were assembled in New York City.No, wait. First they were assembled in Paris. Did you know this? Ask your friends and even your teachers if they knew that before the Statue of Liberty was assembled in New York, she was first constructed in Paris. Your friends and teachers will be astounded. They will be impressed. They might think you are fibbing.But you are not fibbing. This really happened. The Statue of Liberty stood there, high above Paris, for almost a year, in 1884.After they assembled the statue in Paris, they took it apart. ‘But we just put it together!’ the workers said.‘That is absurd,’ they said.They said all this in French, the language of the French, a people who appreciate the absurd.”HER RIGHT FOOT is a fascinating, moving, often-comical, and thought-provoking illustrated history of the Statue of LibertyOne fact I learned is that Lady Liberty, who is made of copper, like pennies and like the water pipes in most homes, did not oxidize (turn greenish-blue) until around 1920. This means that the Statue of Liberty was actually brown, not greenish-blue, when my Sicilian grandparents crossed the ocean and arrived in New York at the end of the nineteenth century.“Liberty and freedom from oppression are not things you get or grant by standing around like some kind of statue. No! These are things that require action. Courage. An unwillingness to rest.”The book is titled HER RIGHT FOOT because, after presenting this engaging history lesson, the author focuses on the fact that the Statue was created with Lady Liberty in mid-stride. He theorizes that this was done purposefully to depict the need for constant forward movement to remain the shining beacon of hope for the tired, the poor, the huddled masses, that we believe we are. Shawn Harris’s construction paper and India ink illustrations feature a lively multicultural cast. There is plenty of humor in the illustrations, too, such as a spread in which the Frenchman who conceived of the statue explains his vision to Bartholdi. He’s got a menu under one arm and raises a banana in his other hand (while, between the two men, a dog is intent on stealing the unguarded croissant on the table).Given the philosophical depth and the witty presentation, HER RIGHT FOOT is perfect for middle grade children.As one who has beloved young friends who are “Dreamers,” and others who are Muslim, I am constantly rattled by the stark contrast between what I learned in elementary and middle school about the American ideals of inclusiveness, and the nativist, white supremacist sentiment that now emanates from the White House and echoes across our land. HER RIGHT FOOT is a great reminder of why the US acquired the reputation of the modern world’s promised land, and why we should be courageous and unyielding so as to make those ideals reality.Richie Partington, MLISRichie's Picks http://richiespicks.pbworks.comhttps://www.facebook.com/richiespicks/[email protected]
    more
  • Virginia McGee Butler
    January 1, 1970
    Shoe size 879? Really? Dave Eggers, writer, and Shawn Harris, illustrator, set an amusing tone to the facts they weave into their words and pictures in Her Right Foot. The book scheduled by Chronicle Books for spring 2018 moved up in the schedule to September 19, 2017 because of the timeliness of this look at the Statue of Liberty, particularly her right foot. The book, which I read in an advance reading copy from Net Galley, takes turns being inspirational, informational, and humorous. In addit Shoe size 879? Really? Dave Eggers, writer, and Shawn Harris, illustrator, set an amusing tone to the facts they weave into their words and pictures in Her Right Foot. The book scheduled by Chronicle Books for spring 2018 moved up in the schedule to September 19, 2017 because of the timeliness of this look at the Statue of Liberty, particularly her right foot. The book, which I read in an advance reading copy from Net Galley, takes turns being inspirational, informational, and humorous. In addition to her shoe size, an example of the humor that laces the book together shows up in the drawing of the men who first assembled the statue in France. They sprawl out on the spikes of her crown as they ponder the absurdity of taking it apart again. Eggers and Harris give scientific information on the process of oxidation in words and pictures as the statue changes from its original brown to the blue-green patina of today. In a historical tidbit, they tell that Thomas Edison suggested a giant record player inside the statue so it could speak. That was too strange to pursue. Inspiration comes in pictures and text as they show the welcome given to visitors and immigrants to the United States as the statue waits in the harbor. Even more striking were her broken chains symbolizing freedom from bondage. Now you may be asking why the emphasis on the right foot. Since I learned a lesson the hard way long ago about giving away the spoiler, I’ll let you find that out for yourself. Eggers and Harris have taken an unusual look at the statue and turned out a book that will make you rush right out and buy one to read to a child. If you don’t have a child in your life, go ahead. You have my permission to buy it for yourself. You won’t be sorry.
    more
  • Pop Bop
    January 1, 1970
    Playful and UpbeatThis book is the kind of project that could easily have drifted into the precious or heavy-handed. The effusive blurbs certainly made me a bit wary. Well, not to worry.Eggers takes an interesting approach. The book starts off playful and lighthearted. We have a bit of fun with the general, you know, Frenchness of the statue. There are a few little jokes that remind us that the statue was after all basically a cool present. We follow its design, construction and transport to the Playful and UpbeatThis book is the kind of project that could easily have drifted into the precious or heavy-handed. The effusive blurbs certainly made me a bit wary. Well, not to worry.Eggers takes an interesting approach. The book starts off playful and lighthearted. We have a bit of fun with the general, you know, Frenchness of the statue. There are a few little jokes that remind us that the statue was after all basically a cool present. We follow its design, construction and transport to the U.S., with neat factoids scattered through the brief, snappy captions to the spare but colorful and expressive drawings.As the book progresses, though, we gently and obliquely touch on the grander importance of Lady Liberty and what she represents. This is a timely reminder of what it means to have been, and to still be, and to continue to be, a nation of immigrants, but without any explicit soapboxing. The statue is a modern wonder of the world and is the most American of symbols. This book gently and open-heartedly reminds us of that, and reminds us of what it all means, while still being very kid friendly. A nice find.(Please note that I received a free advance will-self-destruct-in-x-days Adobe Digital copy of this book without a review requirement, or any influence regarding review content should I choose to post a review. Apart from that I have no connection at all to either the author or the publisher of this book.)
    more
  • Valerie
    January 1, 1970
    As a middle school English teacher I always found value in using picture books in the classroom. Middle school students aren’t too old to be read to, and mine always enjoyed gathering around as I read and shared the stories and illustrations in many picture books.Both the subject matter and the fact that Her Right Foot was written by acclaimed author Dave Eggers drew me to this book. The story shares lots of facts about one of our most famous American icons that inform readers who know little of As a middle school English teacher I always found value in using picture books in the classroom. Middle school students aren’t too old to be read to, and mine always enjoyed gathering around as I read and shared the stories and illustrations in many picture books.Both the subject matter and the fact that Her Right Foot was written by acclaimed author Dave Eggers drew me to this book. The story shares lots of facts about one of our most famous American icons that inform readers who know little of the statue’s history and provides others with lesser-known details. I found the tone and illustrations quirky - in a way that I know middle school students love. The eventual focus on the right foot of the title is something I never noticed or thought about. The symbolism there is the focus of the final pages of this book. I wanted a stronger closing for this book, though; I turned the last page expecting to read more.It’s hard to ignore the current political maelstrom concerning immigration while reading this book. It reminds an older reader of, or shares with a young reader, the hope and welcome that the Statue of Liberty extends to immigrants arriving on our eastern shores. This timeliness makes Her Right Foot an excellent book to share with readers of all ages.Thanks to Netgalley for providing this ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Alicia
    January 1, 1970
    While I don't like the way it's written: "did you know?" "why don't you ask your parents?" "that's a fact!" I absolutely love the subject matter. I DID NOT KNOW THIS. I love books that teach me something and yes, hundreds of images of the Statue of Liberty and I did not know her right foot is in motion. I also didn't know that Eiffel designed the interior. I also learned that she turned blueish/green around about 1920 from oxidization. As with what Eggers was attempting and explains, it's about While I don't like the way it's written: "did you know?" "why don't you ask your parents?" "that's a fact!" I absolutely love the subject matter. I DID NOT KNOW THIS. I love books that teach me something and yes, hundreds of images of the Statue of Liberty and I did not know her right foot is in motion. I also didn't know that Eiffel designed the interior. I also learned that she turned blueish/green around about 1920 from oxidization. As with what Eggers was attempting and explains, it's about reminding ourselves that we're all immigrants and to appreciate our national icon is in perpetual motion to greet the tired, the weary in the waters off of New York. The inclusion of the finer details (what's written on the tablet, why her crown has seven spikes, Lazarus' poem) that make this special. I can give or take the actual artwork.
    more
  • Barbara
    January 1, 1970
    Colorful illustrations created with India ink and construction paper accompany text that is funny in some places but moving and informative at others. Not only do the book's creators offer a brief history of one of the icons of the United States--the Statue of Liberty--but they also remind readers of what she stands for. They contend that very little attention is given to her right foot, which upon further examination, is not planted firmly on the ground but is raised as though she is moving, he Colorful illustrations created with India ink and construction paper accompany text that is funny in some places but moving and informative at others. Not only do the book's creators offer a brief history of one of the icons of the United States--the Statue of Liberty--but they also remind readers of what she stands for. They contend that very little attention is given to her right foot, which upon further examination, is not planted firmly on the ground but is raised as though she is moving, heading toward those men, women, and children who are seeking her embrace. As the book points out, even this statue is not from the United States, a gift from France.
    more
  • Lynn
    January 1, 1970
    This couldn't have published at a better time! Funny, informative, and conversational but above all an inspiring reminder of what Lady Liberty really stands for. I loved this from beginning to end! I freely admit that I didn't remember that the statue has her right foot raised and is "moving on." Terrific illustrations and although Eggers takes his time with the background, every page is a fun lead-in to the important main point.What a great book to use with upper elementary and middle school st This couldn't have published at a better time! Funny, informative, and conversational but above all an inspiring reminder of what Lady Liberty really stands for. I loved this from beginning to end! I freely admit that I didn't remember that the statue has her right foot raised and is "moving on." Terrific illustrations and although Eggers takes his time with the background, every page is a fun lead-in to the important main point.What a great book to use with upper elementary and middle school students in those US history studies of immigration!
    more
  • Claudia
    January 1, 1970
    An accessible book about the Statue of Liberty with lots of interesting facts, including her color....she was brown until the beginning of the 20th century, when the patina turned her verdi-gris.But. Did you ever notice her stance...her left foot? She is on the move. She is in mid-stride. What rich conversations you could have in the classroom with this fact. Where has she been? Where is she going? Why? What's her destination? What will she do next? Love the possibilities.
    more
  • Linda V
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you Net Galley for the ARC to review.Take a look at the Statue of Liberty's right foot - she is going somewhere! After learning the history and facts about this famous landmark, Dave Eggers sparks interest in the possibilities of where that might be and what it means. Although I had been to the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island, there were many new things for me to learn. I loved the bright colorful illustrations. Although it reads young, it can be a fun book for any age.
    more
  • Emily
    January 1, 1970
    "Liberty and freedom from oppression are not things you get or grant by standing around like some kind of statue. No! These are things that require action. Courage. An unwillingness to rest. ...In welcoming the poor, the tired, the struggling to breathe free. She is not content to wait. She must meet them in the sea."Beautiful. Powerful. Moving. Loved this one.
    more
  • Nikki
    January 1, 1970
    This is a spectacular book that would work very well as a read aloud for 2nd-6th graders and would spark a lot of valuable conversation. Informational without being text heavy, and humorous without being too silly.
  • Bill
    January 1, 1970
    Great point to bring up; many good historical tidbits for child readers. Nice illustration style. Unfortunately--annoying, almost condescending, text.My book has Shawn Harris clearly listed as illustrator. Not sure why Goodreads thinks otherwise.
  • Christi
    January 1, 1970
    "Liberty and freedom from oppression are not things you get or grant by standing around like some kind of statue. No! These are things that require action. Courage. An unwillingness to rest."
  • Lindsey
    January 1, 1970
    We learned some things and were entertained!
  • Jeimy
    January 1, 1970
    This is definitely THE book to read to young visitors who become enthralled with Lady Liberty.
  • Quintina
    January 1, 1970
    A fascinating history of the Statue of Liberty with facts that are not commonly known. Young readers will be enthralled by the history of this iconic statue.
  • Aliza Werner
    January 1, 1970
    This book is perfect. The voice. The content. The illustrations. The topical nature of the story. I. Abbot wait to read this to my students.
  • Mary
    January 1, 1970
    Even better than This Bridge Will Not be Gray
  • Sarah
    January 1, 1970
    A little longer than the traditional picture book but I definitely want to read this aloud and discuss with students.
Write a review