Cougar Bait (Cougarville, #2)
Samantha Becker is a busy and talented trauma surgeon with no time for nonsense. Her sister may have a special Shifter Gene, but Sammie is fairly certain she doesn’t have it, and she’s happy with her life the way it is. She doesn’t need the complicated Shifter lifestyle, and she certainly doesn’t need Liam Keller: Alpha cougar, Mayor of Cougarville and undercover billionaire. She hates him, but Liam is unable to get the curvy surgeon out of his head. But the Shifter world isn’t ready to let Sammie go. She’s being stalked by someone who’s desperate for Shifter hormones, and Liam takes it upon himself to protect Sammie from harm. Things begin heating up between Sammie and Liam, but will they have to succumb to their inner animals in order to save Sammie’s life? Cougar Bait is fun, sexy and will take readers on an emotional thrill ride.

Cougar Bait (Cougarville, #2) Details

TitleCougar Bait (Cougarville, #2)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 6th, 2017
PublisherSwerve
Number of pages364 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Fantasy, Paranormal, Shapeshifters, Doctors

Cougar Bait (Cougarville, #2) Review

  • Jacqueline's Reads
    May 23, 2017
    4 Hunted StarsEvangeline Anderson is a new author I picked up because I found the premise of Buck Naked (the first book in the series) so interesting. I was excited to see another book in the series.Buck Naked – Sadie and Mathis (Buck Shifter)Cougar Bait – Samantha (Sadie’s Twin sister / Doctor) and Liam (Cougar Shifter)We saw a little of Samantha and Liam in the first book and I was a little nervous about Liam only because he wasn’t painted in the best light in the first book, billionaire or no 4 Hunted StarsEvangeline Anderson is a new author I picked up because I found the premise of Buck Naked (the first book in the series) so interesting. I was excited to see another book in the series.Buck Naked – Sadie and Mathis (Buck Shifter)Cougar Bait – Samantha (Sadie’s Twin sister / Doctor) and Liam (Cougar Shifter)We saw a little of Samantha and Liam in the first book and I was a little nervous about Liam only because he wasn’t painted in the best light in the first book, billionaire or not, he has a lot of redeeming to do. What I did enjoy from Cougar Bait was that the kink was turned up a notch and there was a lot of oh-cute moments. I really crave those in these erotic paranormal / shifter books.The author really delivers.Samantha is trauma surgeon and she won’t let you forget that. If you played a drinking game for every time it’s mentioned you would be in the hospital with alcohol poisoning. Her career is her life and she has no time for babies. She knows she has the shifter gene, but it hasn’t manifested yet.Samantha was probably the hardest to like in this book. At times I enjoyed her and at times she drove me nuts. I wanted to slap her and say really? For a doctor you are acting kind of silly, but it does add tension to the book. If it wasn’t for Liam to balance Samantha out I would have gone crazy (even more so than how Samantha was acting).Liam wants to create shifter babies so his legacy lives on. He is curious about Samantha and even though she isn’t going through the change yet, he wants to protect her. I adore Liam. He really redeems himself and I love it when a Hero chases after the Heroine. He does so many cute things, like upgrading her hotel room, carrying her around Las Vegas and taking her to expensive restaurants you can’t help but feel a little sweet for him. In this book there are things to learn and there will be a bad guy or bad species called Hyenas. Think of the Hyenas in the Lion King, just plan evil and mean and they want Samantha. Overall, I enjoy this series, I love the over the top storyline and alpha males. The writing can be a bit draggy at times. I feel like a simple conversation can turn into a full chapter in the book, but the quality of plot kind of gets you to forget that.An ARC was provided Buck Naked AMAZON | REVIEWCougar Bait AMAZON
    more
  • Cassandra
    June 4, 2017
    My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!This is the 2nd book in the series, and it is for adults only due to the violence and steamy content. In this book, there is the sensitive topics abduction and threat of rape. I mention it for those readers who may be affected by these topics. I also highly recommend reading the bo My Thoughts - 5 out of 5 Unicorns - I loved it!!! ***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!This is the 2nd book in the series, and it is for adults only due to the violence and steamy content. In this book, there is the sensitive topics abduction and threat of rape. I mention it for those readers who may be affected by these topics. I also highly recommend reading the books in order because it makes it so much more together!!This is Samantha’s story who is Sadie’s twin from book 1. When I read a new author, my love for them tends to grow as I read a series. Well I’ve fallen for Evangeline’s work completely in love with it now! She had me from the start with this book. There is tons of action, build-up, treachery, saving, and romance. There is also plenty of good news. Sammie is amazing and strong in character especially with all the battles she has in this book. I love her fighting spirit and that she doesn’t give up though she does get scared and occasionally stupid, but so does Keller. Keller has been hurt in the past, and you can tell in the story how much it still controls him. There are miscommunications galore, but thankfully they have friends and family to help them get their stuff together.I can’t wait to see what happens next in this series! I really hope all the characters continue to be a part of each other stories because I love them all!I highly recommend this unique shifter world to all fans of shifters especially if you love all kinds of shifters!
    more
  • Marta Cox
    May 29, 2017
    A return to those Palaeolithic shifters from Cougarville. Most definitely not the usual type of shifters as these are Huge ; definitely with a capital H! Plus their mates are anything but ordinary as they are rare women in the prime of life who because of a specific gene can rejuvenate back to their fertile twenties. We met Liam in the first book Buck Naked and he's an Alpha cougar who just happens to be the Mayor of Cougarville. I will be honest and say he came across as a total armpit and if t A return to those Palaeolithic shifters from Cougarville. Most definitely not the usual type of shifters as these are Huge ; definitely with a capital H! Plus their mates are anything but ordinary as they are rare women in the prime of life who because of a specific gene can rejuvenate back to their fertile twenties. We met Liam in the first book Buck Naked and he's an Alpha cougar who just happens to be the Mayor of Cougarville. I will be honest and say he came across as a total armpit and if the author wanted to redeem him she really had her work cut out and yet somehow she did it! Showing a different side to him completely surprised this reader. Liam is extremely intelligent , runs a very successful company and actually had a strong moral protective side to him . Which is why he ends up flying to Las Vegas to keep an eye on the woman who saved his life.Samantha is pleased that her sister has found a man to love her but there's no room in Samantha's life for romance and children as she's far too busy doing her job as a trauma surgeon . Invited to a conference Samantha believes Liam is still recuperating in hospital but she hasn't quite got her head around just how powerful an Alpha really is. Liam realises that Hyenas frequent Las Vegas and their reputation as far as latent female shifters go is anything but stellar . So of course he steamrollers his way into Samanthas life but he does it with charm and it's something that Samantha finds hard to resist . Samantha gets to see a completely different side of him, a side that's very interesting indeed.I didn't expect to like Liam and perhaps should have trusted the author more . I guess none of us are one dimensional and learning just why he acted so arrogant and almost brutish previously made him much more interesting . Samantha though is a completely different kettle of fish! Sensible, intelligent and usually so assured and yet here she blows hot and cold and wasn't as easy to like. In fact at times she seemed downright submissive when faced with Liam's charm offensive but then turns when really in danger into a woman who will do whatever it takes to save herself and I can't complain about that . No easy resolution though as this couple really did need to work on their communication but don't worry there is a happy ending .This is completely far fetched, totally unbelievable erotic fiction but this author has extremely interesting ideas. Ok yes lots of touching , licking etc but for this reader unfortunately there was an ick factor as there's a side effect of any possible female rejuvenation. Yet the fact that Liam got his redemption does mean I enjoyed it overall I just wanted a hell of a lot less 'nectar'. I'm guessing a foxy guy is up next so look forward to seeing what comes next particularly now that the Hyenas and their mysterious backer have been introduced . This voluntary review is of a copy I requested and that I've happily read. I believe my comments are honest and a fair expression of my opinion
    more
  • Mindy Lou's Book Reviews
    May 31, 2017
    I enjoyed book one in this series, but this second one just wasn't for me. We met Liam and Samantha in book one and this began right where it left off. There were two reasons this one didn't work for me. One, Samantha was very adamant about not wanting to become a shifter and had no desire for a man in her life, as well as a baby. The whole book Samantha pushed Liam away even after they were basically forced to Mate. I don't mind a little pushing away in books but this was too much for me. The s I enjoyed book one in this series, but this second one just wasn't for me. We met Liam and Samantha in book one and this began right where it left off. There were two reasons this one didn't work for me. One, Samantha was very adamant about not wanting to become a shifter and had no desire for a man in her life, as well as a baby. The whole book Samantha pushed Liam away even after they were basically forced to Mate. I don't mind a little pushing away in books but this was too much for me. The second reason is, I really didn't like the scene when Samantha was kidnapped. There was no rape but it still didn't sit well with me. I wouldn't consider this a safe read. The author came up with a unique version of shifters and I did enjoy the first book. It had a lighter tone to it, so I would recommend book one. There will be a third book and I'm hoping it will be more like the first. ARC provided by NetGalley.
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    June 3, 2017
    3.5 Stars'Cougar Bait' by Evangeline Anderson is book Two in the "Cougarville" series. This is the story of Samantha Becker and Liam Keller. I have read the previous book and Samantha and Liam do meet first there. Liam was being attacked by Samantha's future brother in law after Liam kidnapped Samantha and her sister. But Samantha is a Doctor who quick went to save him and that opened up a friendly communication between the two. After all Samantha did save his life and now Liam feels protective 3.5 Stars'Cougar Bait' by Evangeline Anderson is book Two in the "Cougarville" series. This is the story of Samantha Becker and Liam Keller. I have read the previous book and Samantha and Liam do meet first there. Liam was being attacked by Samantha's future brother in law after Liam kidnapped Samantha and her sister. But Samantha is a Doctor who quick went to save him and that opened up a friendly communication between the two. After all Samantha did save his life and now Liam feels protective over her...not to mention that his 'Cougar' feels something more for her. But when Samantha heads of Vegas for a Speaking Convention he knows she will be in serious trouble there. Even though Samantha doesn't believe it she had the special shiftier gene that all shiftiers would love to possess, and to pass on to their children. There is some dangerous shifters in Vegas so Liam follows Samantha there to keep her safe but can he? "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A2H...https://www.facebook.com/RomanceBookR...https://www.facebook.com/groups/17091...https://twitter.com/soapsrus68https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/1... http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ https://romancebookreviewforyou.wordp...http://booklikes.com/blog https://www.tumblr.com/blog/romancebo...https://plus.google.com/+SissyHickshttps://www.pinterest.com/u2soapsrus/
    more
  • Emily
    June 7, 2017
    Samantha Becker isn't convinced that she has the shifter genes that Liam Keller is insistent she does. Alpha cougar feels a loyalty to Samantha since she saved his life and when she announces she is leaving for Vegas for a convention, he follows her wanting to keep her safe. Once her body starts changing with the shifter gene, Liam knows Samantha will be in danger. Liam never believed he could fall for another woman after being burned before but he finds himself falling for Samantha. Problem is Samantha Becker isn't convinced that she has the shifter genes that Liam Keller is insistent she does. Alpha cougar feels a loyalty to Samantha since she saved his life and when she announces she is leaving for Vegas for a convention, he follows her wanting to keep her safe. Once her body starts changing with the shifter gene, Liam knows Samantha will be in danger. Liam never believed he could fall for another woman after being burned before but he finds himself falling for Samantha. Problem is Samantha is insistent that they would never work. Can he change Samantha's mind while protecting her.Second in the Cougarville series. I had been waiting for this book since Liam was introduced in the first book. Samantha struggles because she is much older than Liam but she cannot deny she likes him a lot. Another entertaining book for Evangeline Anderson. Paranormal lovers will be pleased
    more
  • Sissy's Romance Book Review
    June 3, 2017
    Book Review For: 'Cougar Bait' by Evangeline Anderson 3.5 Stars'Cougar Bait' by Evangeline Anderson is book Two in the "Cougarville" series. This is the story of Samantha Becker and Liam Keller. I have read the previous book and Samantha and Liam do meet first there. Liam was being attacked by Samantha's future brother in law after Liam kidnapped Samantha and her sister. But Samantha is a Doctor who quick went to save him and that opened up a friendly communication between the two. After all Sam Book Review For: 'Cougar Bait' by Evangeline Anderson 3.5 Stars'Cougar Bait' by Evangeline Anderson is book Two in the "Cougarville" series. This is the story of Samantha Becker and Liam Keller. I have read the previous book and Samantha and Liam do meet first there. Liam was being attacked by Samantha's future brother in law after Liam kidnapped Samantha and her sister. But Samantha is a Doctor who quick went to save him and that opened up a friendly communication between the two. After all Samantha did save his life and now Liam feels protective over her...not to mention that his 'Cougar' feels something more for her. But when Samantha heads of Vegas for a Speaking Convention he knows she will be in serious trouble there. Even though Samantha doesn't believe it she had the special shiftier gene that all shiftiers would love to possess, and to pass on to their children. There is some dangerous shifters in Vegas so Liam follows Samantha there to keep her safe but can he? "My honest review is for a special copy I voluntarily read."https://www.amazon.com/gp/profile/A2H... http://sissymaereads.blogspot.com/ https://romancebookreviewforyou.wordp... https://www.tumblr.com/blog/romancebo... 
    more
  • Katie
    May 24, 2017
    ARC received via NetGalleyThis was an okay read however I didn't particularly enjoy the story that much. I wasn't too keen on the types of shifters in this book. I have read a lot of shifters books and I know that each author will have their own version, but I have my own preference on how I like my shifters and the ones in this story didn't fit with that. This was the second book in this series. I didn't read the first book before starting this one. I was able to read this book just fine but it ARC received via NetGalleyThis was an okay read however I didn't particularly enjoy the story that much. I wasn't too keen on the types of shifters in this book. I have read a lot of shifters books and I know that each author will have their own version, but I have my own preference on how I like my shifters and the ones in this story didn't fit with that. This was the second book in this series. I didn't read the first book before starting this one. I was able to read this book just fine but it probably would have been better if I had read the first book first.There was nothing really wrong with this book. My rating of the story was just effected by the fact that the shifters didn't fit with how I like my shifters to be so my enjoyment of the book was lessened.
    more
  • Ann Lorz
    June 9, 2017
    Reviewed for Romancing the Readers Blog:http://romancingthereaders.blogspot.c...There are certain series that after you read the first book you can't wait for more. Cougarville is one of those series. I knew right away when I read Buck Naked (still love this title) that I would be invested in the series. The characters jumped off the pages for me. It was like I was there with them. Nothing better than feeling like you are part of the story. You meet both Liam Keller & Samantha Becker in Buck Reviewed for Romancing the Readers Blog:http://romancingthereaders.blogspot.c...There are certain series that after you read the first book you can't wait for more. Cougarville is one of those series. I knew right away when I read Buck Naked (still love this title) that I would be invested in the series. The characters jumped off the pages for me. It was like I was there with them. Nothing better than feeling like you are part of the story. You meet both Liam Keller & Samantha Becker in Buck Naked. Right away I thought these two were characters I wouldn't like. I can hear you guys now shouting out why? Let me explain. Keller came off like a real unfeeling dick. You couldn't at first see him as hero material. What you saw of him is what you got. There wasn't any real deep thoughts coming from him that explained why he was the way he was.Like I said, a dick!Not to worry, Samantha wasn't any betters. She was pretty self-adsorbed. And maybe a little cold thrown in there too. I knew their book was next and I was both worried and totally excited to read it. I love when a author flips the script on me and makes me fall for characters that I didn't like before. I will admit that I go into these books with the attitude of, give me your best shot! She did and I have to say it was wonderful! I totally loved the story. I learned so much more about Keller and Samantha! Both are such messed up people you can't help but feel bad for them. Most of the time they stand in their own way of happiness. Believe me when I say this, there are times when you want to crawl into the pages and slap them both upside the head!!!All of what I talked about above really made the story. Its more emotionally driven then Naked Buck, the characters need more attention. Not only do you get to see the growth of the characters, (Keller turns out to be a great hero) you also see the main story line thread advance. You will start to understand what it's all about. It's looking like it is going to be a wonderful series. Follow me on:https://www.facebook.com/RomancingThe...https://twitter.com/RomancingreaderARC Received for a honest review
    more
  • Laurie
    June 12, 2017
    I was hoping the Cougarville series would turn into one of those cute, quirky, paranormal series set in a funny little town. That hope crashed and burned with Cougar Bait.Any cuteness to be had was quickly quashed by the absolutely TSTL heroine, Samantha. She refused to believe that she had the shifter gene like her twin sister did. She then ran straight to where she was told would be a dangerous place for her if the gene did happen to activate. Ugh.The hero, Keller, was the villain in Buck Nake I was hoping the Cougarville series would turn into one of those cute, quirky, paranormal series set in a funny little town. That hope crashed and burned with Cougar Bait.Any cuteness to be had was quickly quashed by the absolutely TSTL heroine, Samantha. She refused to believe that she had the shifter gene like her twin sister did. She then ran straight to where she was told would be a dangerous place for her if the gene did happen to activate. Ugh.The hero, Keller, was the villain in Buck Naked (Cougarville #1) and recuperating after getting his ass kicked We are supposed to believe the guy who went to such lengths, like kidnapping, to make sure he could mate with Samantha’s twin and now suddenly is this wonderful guy who really wasn’t interested in that twin, he was trying to save her. We are also supposed to believe he’s now this super rich, super smart guy worthy of being with the brilliant surgeon. Yeah...no.And then there were the huge plot holes. Huge! For instance, Keller’s been laying in a hospital bed too beat up to move, yet when he discovers Samantha has taken off to Vegas, he shifts and is almost all better. Why didn’t he do that in the first place?Once things moved to Vegas, the plot got interesting, but Samantha’s refusal to see reason again had me rolling my eyes. I did finish Cougar Bait, but barely. I won’t be reading the next book in the Cougarville Series.Rating: 2 Eye Rolling StarsI voluntarily reviewed a complimentary copy of this book.
    more
  • Elaine
    June 6, 2017
    Looking for a laugh out loud, suspense filled paranormal romance? Look no further - this is  a great, well written read with plenty of drama, a variety of shifters and, of course, romance! After her sister went to stay in Cougarville, life changed for both sisters. For a start, her sister proved to have a very special shifter gene which had a dramatic effect on the alpha males in town and caused Samantha Becker to go visit- but you’ll have to read book one to find out more about that! One of the Looking for a laugh out loud, suspense filled paranormal romance? Look no further - this is  a great, well written read with plenty of drama, a variety of shifters and, of course, romance! After her sister went to stay in Cougarville, life changed for both sisters. For a start, her sister proved to have a very special shifter gene which had a dramatic effect on the alpha males in town and caused Samantha Becker to go visit- but you’ll have to read book one to find out more about that! One of the alpha males they met was the town’s Mayor, Liam Keller, who is a cougar shifter and a secret billionaire and he’s determined to protect Sammie, even if she doesn’t want protecting! Sammie is a trauma surgeon who doesn’t believe she has the special shifter gene like her sister, even though Liam insists she has. She’s also determined to attend and give a lecture at a special convention but Liam believes she’ll be in danger and takes his own steps to protect her, especially from the hyena shifters!This is an action packed page turner with lots of hilarious moments as well as some dramatic, dangerous encounters. I thoroughly enjoyed escaping into it and hope there will be more in the series in future. Cougarville has some great characters as residents - Palaeolithic shifters who are absolutely huge - and I suspect more of them will be meeting their mates in future! You’ll also learn more about the effects of the special gene . . . . what a great and very different idea! If you enjoy paranormal romantic suspense with some steamy moments you’ll probably, like me, thoroughly enjoy this series, too. I requested and was given a copy of this book via NetGalley and this is my honest opinion after choosing to read it.
    more
  • ⚜Trea⚜
    June 5, 2017
    FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!While I really loved the first book in this series, I didn't find this one as enjoyable as that previous story. Don't get me wrong, this was an entertaining and engaging story, but it lacked something when compared to that other story.This FTC DISCLAIMER: I RECEIVED AN E-ARC FROM THE PUBLISHER THROUGH NET GALLEY. I VOLUNTARILY OFFER MY HONEST REVIEW OF THE BOOK, THOUGH IT IS NOT EXPECTED OF ME! RECEIPT OF THIS BOOK IN THIS MANNER DOES NOT AFFECT MY OPINION OF THE BOOK OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW!While I really loved the first book in this series, I didn't find this one as enjoyable as that previous story. Don't get me wrong, this was an entertaining and engaging story, but it lacked something when compared to that other story.This story picks up where the first one leaves off, so you definitely can't read this as a standalone romance. It does have a few triggers for folks, but they weren't handled in a realistic or careful manner. To me, some of the situations Samantha found herself in were too fantastic to be believable!Another problem I had with the book was with Samantha herself. She would push Liam away at every opportunity, and yet had no problem using him when she needed to. I also didn't like how she simply would not compromise with Liam at all! She came off like a total bitch!I did like Liam and how he tried to care for Samantha, despite her prickly nature. The high handed nature he had in the previous book was less evident here, but did come out when necessary. He did do a few things that came off as rather stupid to me, but he's male so that comes with the territory sometimes!The book was a bit action filled and definitely kept my attention. The lead in for the third novel was surprising, and I'm definitely interested in continuing with the series to find out more of what happens in this town!
    more
  • Questian
    June 2, 2017
    ~ARC from the publisher via NetGalley.~ The 2nd book of Cougarville series.The story focus on Samantha, Sadie's twin. She is a very renowned surgeon in her field but also, relationship wary. She is paired with Liam Keller. The Mayor of Cougarville, and the very same shifter that almost died during the fight on the last part of book one. The dynamics of the characters are really interesting from the thoughts of Liam to the reluctance of Samantha having babies. It was what the whole book was about ~ARC from the publisher via NetGalley.~ The 2nd book of Cougarville series.The story focus on Samantha, Sadie's twin. She is a very renowned surgeon in her field but also, relationship wary. She is paired with Liam Keller. The Mayor of Cougarville, and the very same shifter that almost died during the fight on the last part of book one. The dynamics of the characters are really interesting from the thoughts of Liam to the reluctance of Samantha having babies. It was what the whole book was about. However, at some point, I felt the pain of Keller. It is not easy to be at the receiving end of a rejection. It made me want to scream at Sammie the way she accused Keller.Keller on the other hand was something I was not expecting. The way he took care of Sammie even though she rejected him, made me love him. It is not easy to be in his place. And I really adore how Ms. Anderson revealed Liam's true personality. Even I was amazed. I love this because since the start of the series I have always thought that Liam is one of those Alpha men that is all brawn and guts, but I was proved wrong. I was actually happy when he admitted his feeling towards Sammie to Mathis. I was speechless. It was a one sided love for a while but up to the end, Sammie finally succumb to her true feeling.It is not easy being in her shoes. But with the right person to support you nothing is impossible.I rate this 4.5 for the way the continuation was carried over. Also on how Liam's character was revealed. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
    more
  • Avid Reader
    May 31, 2017
    Cougar Bait (Cougarville #2) by Evangeline Anderson4.5 starsM/F Shifter RomanceTriggers: Kidnapping and attempted murderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Samantha is an amazing trauma surgeon. She saves the life of Cougarville Mayor Liam Keller even after he attempted to kill her sister’s mate, Mathis. She loves her sister and they have always had a beautiful bond that allows them to feel when the other is in danger or something is wrong. While in Cougarville, she sees t Cougar Bait (Cougarville #2) by Evangeline Anderson4.5 starsM/F Shifter RomanceTriggers: Kidnapping and attempted murderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.Samantha is an amazing trauma surgeon. She saves the life of Cougarville Mayor Liam Keller even after he attempted to kill her sister’s mate, Mathis. She loves her sister and they have always had a beautiful bond that allows them to feel when the other is in danger or something is wrong. While in Cougarville, she sees things that she would have thought to be impossible. Her sister is now a large herbivore shifter and can’t wait to have more children with her new mate Mathis. Samantha’s world is kind of spinning, but she pulls herself together, checks on Liam, whom she had performed surgery on the previous night and then decides that she’s going to attend a conference in Las Vegas.Liam Keller is closed off to love. He is a successful businessman and the mayor of Cougarville, but he will never love again. He tried that once and it was disastrous. So, now, he is simply looking for someone to provide him with an heir and he will be happy. When he meets Samantha, he realizes how special she is. But, because she’s not rejuvenating, he thinks that his chances with her are slim. He needs a “juvie” in order to produce an heir.Despite her insistence that Liam not follow her to Las Vegas, that she is not in danger, Liam knows that Vegas is very dangerous for Samantha. What ensues is both chilling and heroic. Samantha is attacked and Liam is there to save her. Against both of their instincts, both Samantha and Liam begin to develop feelings for each other. Fears and past experiences get in the way, but in the end, both Samantha and Liam have to decide whether or not they will let their fears win or if love can truly heal all wounds.I can’t wait to see what happens next!
    more
  • Theresa
    June 7, 2017
    Absolutely lovin this series. Think about it, wouldn't you love for your body to start reversing the aging process? Waking up and your stomach is toner or your legs are? Course I'm not too sure about the fever part. And poor Sammie she gets whammed with everything at once thanks to an evil scientist who's out to market it to humans. Book has everything you want in it, an extremely hot cougar alpha (oh yeah, these shifters are more like prehistoric animals then normal ones) who has been burnt onc Absolutely lovin this series. Think about it, wouldn't you love for your body to start reversing the aging process? Waking up and your stomach is toner or your legs are? Course I'm not too sure about the fever part. And poor Sammie she gets whammed with everything at once thanks to an evil scientist who's out to market it to humans. Book has everything you want in it, an extremely hot cougar alpha (oh yeah, these shifters are more like prehistoric animals then normal ones) who has been burnt once before, an intelligent trauma doctor who isn't goin for this shifter thing, the evil scientist (of course) and some really hot love scenes that you don't want to miss! Book is fast paced and pulls you in from the start, you won't want to put it down. Highly recommend to lovers of shifter stories. Warning - yes it's a stand alone but you WANT to read the first book first otherwise you loose some of the background info. I voluntarily read a copy of this book and my comments here are my honest opinion.
    more
  • Ruthie Taylor
    June 5, 2017
    ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is the second in the series, and follows on directly from the last book. It concentrates on Sadie's twin, Samantha, who had come to Cougarville worried about her sister. We are taught to loathe Liam Keller in the first book, so he has to work very hard to convince us that he is a good guy, and possibly even harder with Samantha, even if she is deeply attracted to him. The storyline is really engaging, and whilst it ~~I received a free copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads ~~This is the second in the series, and follows on directly from the last book. It concentrates on Sadie's twin, Samantha, who had come to Cougarville worried about her sister. We are taught to loathe Liam Keller in the first book, so he has to work very hard to convince us that he is a good guy, and possibly even harder with Samantha, even if she is deeply attracted to him. The storyline is really engaging, and whilst it conforms with other shifter 'rules' it has some good twists that add to the plot. It was fun to see Fiona again, and the relationships between Mathis, the twins and Keller have all to be resolved by the end of the book. I love the hint at what might happen next - both in terms of Cougarville, but also with the mayhem that may have been set off by the researcher. Looking forward to the next installment, thank you Ms Anderson.
    more
  • Aimee
    June 13, 2017
    This second entry into the Cougarville series was actually better, IMO, than the first book. The chemistry with Samantha and Liam was so hot, it about jumped off the pages and lit my hair on fire. The creepy villain was the stuff of nightmares....and the trek through the Everglades was the stuff my nightmares are made of...I hate snakes!I had a few moments of anticipating worse than what happened in a few of the OMG moments. For action, romance and steam, you can't go wrong with Evangeline Ander This second entry into the Cougarville series was actually better, IMO, than the first book. The chemistry with Samantha and Liam was so hot, it about jumped off the pages and lit my hair on fire. The creepy villain was the stuff of nightmares....and the trek through the Everglades was the stuff my nightmares are made of...I hate snakes!I had a few moments of anticipating worse than what happened in a few of the OMG moments. For action, romance and steam, you can't go wrong with Evangeline Anderson. For this release, she kicked it up a notch and I'm excited to see where this series goes. For someone who typically doesn't really understand the whole appeal of shifters, I have to say she's made me see this sub-genre in an entirely different way. I voluntarily agreed to read a copy of this story and give an honest and unbiased review with no conflict of interest, coercion or other undue influence.
    more
  • Katherine Yearwood
    June 6, 2017
    Cougar Bait is book #2 in Evangeline Anderson Cougarville series. What can I say…I thought this book was pretty fun. The book was aptly named. A younger man falling for an older woman. The Older woman trying not to fall in love with the younger man. But when that man is a hot shifter. What can a woman do…? but sit back and enjoy the ride. Unfortunately, I never read the first book in this series. I just might have too, this one certainly kept my attention. I liked how sweet and crafty Liam was t Cougar Bait is book #2 in Evangeline Anderson Cougarville series. What can I say…I thought this book was pretty fun. The book was aptly named. A younger man falling for an older woman. The Older woman trying not to fall in love with the younger man. But when that man is a hot shifter. What can a woman do…? but sit back and enjoy the ride. Unfortunately, I never read the first book in this series. I just might have too, this one certainly kept my attention. I liked how sweet and crafty Liam was to make Samantha fall for him. Even though I found Samantha annoying at times. Nonetheless, Evangeline Anderson has done what she set out to do. Writing characters that some readers could relate too.
    more
  • Erica Chilson
    May 26, 2017
    I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 4 stars Cougar Bait is the second installment in the Cougarville series, and I'd suggest against reading it as a standalone. Cougar Bait starts off immediately where Buck Naked ended, this time Sadie's sister, Samantha, is our narrator. Samantha saves Keller's life after his fight with Mathis. Mathis and Sadie go off into the sunset (woods) and Samantha spends nearly 24-hours operating on and attending to Keller's life-threateni I received a copy of this title to read and review for Wicked Reads 4 stars Cougar Bait is the second installment in the Cougarville series, and I'd suggest against reading it as a standalone. Cougar Bait starts off immediately where Buck Naked ended, this time Sadie's sister, Samantha, is our narrator. Samantha saves Keller's life after his fight with Mathis. Mathis and Sadie go off into the sunset (woods) and Samantha spends nearly 24-hours operating on and attending to Keller's life-threatening injuries. After the reasons why the fight occurred, Samantha hightails it to Vegas for the conference she's missing, because her job was done and their problems aren't her problems. Keller feels responsible for Samantha's life, a life for a life, after she saved his. Stubborn and independent, Samantha doesn't heed Keller's words of advice and caution. The heat and intensity between Keller and Samantha were off the charts. Some of the scenes were a first for me, and each scene was unique (no repeats). Cougar Bait is a sexy, erotic novel. I did have a bit of a problem with Samantha's personality. Not the stubbornness and independence. But how a world-renowned surgeon was such an idiot, with no common sense, or the ability to deduce anything about a given situation. Around the 80% mark, I was so frustrated with her characterization, I almost threw in the towel. I say this every time... all that schooling, all that life experience, while it may not mature the emotions, it however won't allow the doctor to act too stupid to life- repeatedly. I found it hard to swallow how for the sake of conflict, miscommunication abound, Samantha began to act like a tween girl without a functioning brain in her head. I adore the series, calling it a guilty pleasure, and I look forward to more to come.
    more
  • Anino
    June 7, 2017
    ARC received in exchange for an honest reviewIMO, this was a simple case of Urban Fantasy done right... As a persnickety lover of Urban Fantasy, I must say that I am definitely hooked on this series... I say that because, it was deliciously chock full of mystery, suspense, romance, and paranormal goodness... Overall, I loved this book, because it had more story, than Pornalicious sex... (Although, there was plenty of Pornalicious scenes that were set amongst the pages..., so go figure)...Ms. Eva ARC received in exchange for an honest reviewIMO, this was a simple case of Urban Fantasy done right... As a persnickety lover of Urban Fantasy, I must say that I am definitely hooked on this series... I say that because, it was deliciously chock full of mystery, suspense, romance, and paranormal goodness... Overall, I loved this book, because it had more story, than Pornalicious sex... (Although, there was plenty of Pornalicious scenes that were set amongst the pages..., so go figure)...Ms. Evangeline is definitely onto something good...Giving this one: 4.stars
    more
  • Lory
    May 17, 2017
    Wow I absolutely enjoyed this book. It's was just as good as the first book in the series. It definitely take you on a emotional rollercoaster I'm just glad in the end everyone got the HEA they deserve. Totally looking forward to reading the next book in the series. I voluntarily read and review this ARC I haven't been compensated in any way.
    more
  • Tracey's Blog
    June 6, 2017
    Omg what an amazing follow-up from book one. Great action and a storyline that will keep your attention. Great spicy romance between the main character. I can't wait to read the next book
  • Robin
    June 6, 2017
    Cougar Bait (Cougarville book2)This is the second book in the Cougarville series by Evangeline Anderson. Although it could be a stand alone it is really meant to be read in order as much of the setting, character introductions and mystery of Cougarville is set up in book 1, "Buck Naked". These shifters have a whole different set of rules, they stem from prehistoric versions of their animal selves (Liam is a prehistoric Cougar), plus the mating, passing on of shifter genes and how the gene is exp Cougar Bait (Cougarville book2)This is the second book in the Cougarville series by Evangeline Anderson. Although it could be a stand alone it is really meant to be read in order as much of the setting, character introductions and mystery of Cougarville is set up in book 1, "Buck Naked". These shifters have a whole different set of rules, they stem from prehistoric versions of their animal selves (Liam is a prehistoric Cougar), plus the mating, passing on of shifter genes and how the gene is expressed in the females is different, original and intriguing.I enjoyed this book even more as the story took us to places outside of Cougarville and introduces the readers to a whole world of shifters (good and evil) outside of the town and reveals exciting underlying plots that will play out in future books.This is Samantha and Liam's story. Samantha's twin sister Sadie has moved to Cougarville and discovers she has a dormant "shifter gene" which becomes activated shortly after her move. The exciting thing about this gene being activated is the female becomes "rejeuvinated", literally becoming 20 years younger (not a bad side effect). Sadie now mated with Mathis, is a shifter like him and already pregnant. Samantha as her twin possess this shifter gene but it doesnt activate when she visits her sister in Cougarville.In the first book Sammie, a top trauma surgeon, saves Liam's life after he gets injured in a dangerous fight in shifter form. Up till this point Sammie is not impressed with the over confident pompous Liam who appears to only want to find a "jeuvie" to mate so he can pass on his shifter gene.Sammie makes sure Liam is stable and informs him she must get back to her life as a surgeon and quickly get to Vegas to catch up with a conference she was to speak at.Liam is reluctant to let her go, especially to Las Vegas where it turns out for a female shifter is very dangerous without protection. There is a whole underworld of other shifters, evil hyenas, an underground market of abduction where they are selling shifters, and/or doing illegal scientific testing on them.Liam turns out to be so much better than when we first meet him. Yes he is an overconfident alpha, but turns out he's also incredibly intelligent, educated, and very rich from his many ventures ( as well as being the mayor of Cougarville and owner of the local bar). He's also a very hunky hot protective male that refuses to allow Samantha to be exposed to such a dangerous situation. She has activated his protective instincts as well as some other feelings.Sammie is a great female character, she is smart, accomplished and well recognized in her field. She has no need for a serious relationship, no desire to settle down and have kids, and thinks Liam is off his rocker with all this talk of danger, latent shifter genes, kidnapping etc. Liam and Sammie are both very drawn to each other, Liam seeing his future mate, Sammie seeing him in a very different light as she learns more about him. She is quite surprised to find Liam in Las Vegas ghosting her every move to make sure she is protected. Of course he is also determined to charm the lovely doctor. The building sexual tension is off the charts.Danger, evil shifters, suspense, add to the excitement of the story as an evil plot reveals itself and tries to get Sammie as their first test subject. A wild ride and highly original storyline ensues. With all the excitement the relationship between Sammie and Liam take some interesting and surprising (and some hot) twists and turns.A great read, five ***** on the hotness scale with the interesting erotic scenes this author is so talented at. The story also sets up circumstances that set some of the plot for the next book (s). Love this book and the series, can't wait for book 3, and am going to somehow get the author to reveal how that shifter gene works and how to get is as rejuvenating by 20 years is very very tempting.
    more
  • *flora*
    May 27, 2017
    You can read my full review on my WordPress Blog Flora's Musings...So, what did I like about it?Evangeline Anderson is a new to me author and I found her writing style very easy to read; I love the fact that Ms Anderson has created her paranormal world within our own modern one, the pace of this story felt right and I loved the balance of romantic/sex scenes and the tension of the violent/fight scenes.This book is told from Samantha and Liam’s point of view and I never felt confused as to who’s You can read my full review on my WordPress Blog Flora's Musings...So, what did I like about it?Evangeline Anderson is a new to me author and I found her writing style very easy to read; I love the fact that Ms Anderson has created her paranormal world within our own modern one, the pace of this story felt right and I loved the balance of romantic/sex scenes and the tension of the violent/fight scenes.This book is told from Samantha and Liam’s point of view and I never felt confused as to who’s POV we were experiencing. Both our main characters are strong, independent and very intelligent people which I love but they are both complex and have their own issues to work through which makes the relationship element in this tale feel very real. There were lots of good sexual scenes in this book that not only satisfied my love of sexual tension and anticipation but my enjoyment of well written explicit scenes too. ;-)I loved how frustrated I got with both Liam and Samantha throughout their romantic journey (as the reader we got to see what was in their hearts and minds, their issues and worries long before they admitted everything to each other) and I enjoyed the emotional scenes that brought a lump to my throat and tears to my eyes. Although I had worked out who the villain was in this tale pretty early on, it didn’t diminish my enjoyment of the story; I still found myself gripped and engaged in the thriller element.So, ummm, was there anything I disliked about it?The only reason that this book didn’t get a five star rating from me was due to the fact that Ms Anderson created a world where the female shifters go through a Rejuvenation process and are consumed by a Breeding Fever, meaning that they desperately need an alpha, any alpha male, to impregnate them – their bodies over-rule their minds! So, basically similar to when my dog, Bess, is on heat. This is a fundamental part of the paranormal world Ms Anderson has created and a big part of this story (and I’m assuming future books too) but it makes me more than uncomfortable, it leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I am a modern woman; I am glad that our society has moved on from women just being baby machines – our bodies our choice - and I don’t think that including this sort of uncontrolled behaviour in novels, especially ones that are in the romance genre, are sending the right message by honouring this type of animalistic instinct. Poor Emmeline Pankhurst and her daughters Christabel and Sylvia would turn in their graves!So, basically what I’m saying is... I really did enjoy this book; it was good. It ticked many of my boxes; our heroine was an independent and intelligent woman, our hero was an alpha male with a big heart and the plot itself had a mystery/thriller element, action in the form of great fight scenes, passionate sex scenes and oodles of romance of course.I'd recommend the book to older readers (if it was a film it would be rated 15 or 18 due to the sex and violence) who are fans of paranormal romances with a bit of darkness and erotica where the romantic couple’s journey to a happy ever after ending is fraught with obstacles, danger and personal growth. It’s sort of similar to Stephanie Rowe’s Order of the Blade series but less is made of our romantic couple having a specific soul-mate that they have an unwavering desire/need to join with.I was lucky enough to be given a digital version of this book for free from the publisher (St Martin’s Press) after making a request via Netgally.com in exchange for an honest review before the expected publication date of 6th June 2017.
    more
  • Marsha Spohn
    June 7, 2017
    Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfCougar Bait is an intense, compelling Shifter Romance with fast action, mysteries to unravel, loathsome villains and two people who could not be more opposite from the other in their outlook on life. I’ll be completely straightforward on this – I loved the story yet Samantha frustrated me to no end in this story. I understand why she had to be written that way, and it does add much to the tension of the story – but my word is she a frustrating woman. She is a surgeon Reviewed at Keeper BookshelfCougar Bait is an intense, compelling Shifter Romance with fast action, mysteries to unravel, loathsome villains and two people who could not be more opposite from the other in their outlook on life. I’ll be completely straightforward on this – I loved the story yet Samantha frustrated me to no end in this story. I understand why she had to be written that way, and it does add much to the tension of the story – but my word is she a frustrating woman. She is a surgeon not a baby making machine. She doesn’t have the Shifter Gene, even though her twin sister Sadie does. She’s a doctor with a well planned out life whose career is everything. She is not, will not be a newly manifested rejuvenated shifter. And nothing you can say will convince her otherwise because…wait for it.. she’s a surgeon and she knows absolutely freaking everything. Oh my word. By the ending of this story it was my opinion that Liam Keller deserves a medal for loving this woman.Speaking of Liam Keller, we first met him in Buck Naked, the first story in the Cougarville series. And he didn’t come off in the best light that’s for certain. I felt at the time that he wasn’t the true bad guy he was portrayed as so I was very glad to discover that I was right about that small fact. He had reasons for acting as he did around Sadie and we get to understand them so much better now. He”s attracted to Samantha, the woman who put him back together after his fight with Mathis. She saved his life and he now feels he owes her a life-debt. Because of his past he isn’t willing to admit to her of any deeper feelings, but he knows that she is his mate. Her life is in danger if she travels to Las Vegas unprotected. She may not believe she has the Shifter Gene, but he suspects she does and Vegas is the absolute last place she should be when it manifests.There is intense danger in Samantha’s future. There is also a love worth it’s weight in gold if she would simply trust Liam. The shifter lore is slightly different in the Cougarville series, but still vastly interesting. I enjoyed Cougar Bait, it continues the story and series quite well. And please don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed Samantha, she is simply a strong willed woman with a very wide stubborn streak. We get caught up a bit with Mathis and Sadie again as well as Fiona – and a touch of the next book in this series is hinted at as well. All around an excellent read and one I’d highly recommend to any Paranormal Romance or Shifter Romance reader.*I received an e-ARC of this novel from the publisher via NetGalley. That does not change what I think of this story. It is my choice to leave a review giving my personal opinion about this book.*
    more
  • WTF Are You Reading?
    May 24, 2017
    My ThoughtsSamantha Becker may be all aces when it comes to saving lives. But this talented trauma surgeon can't seem to make heads or tails of her magnetic attraction to the enigmatic and handsome were-cougar, Liam Keller.For his part, Liam Keller would like nothing more to make the sexy surgeon his. But she is more than determined that saving lives have a far more important place in her future; than settling down to create them ever could.So, for now at least. Liam must content himself less wi My ThoughtsSamantha Becker may be all aces when it comes to saving lives. But this talented trauma surgeon can't seem to make heads or tails of her magnetic attraction to the enigmatic and handsome were-cougar, Liam Keller.For his part, Liam Keller would like nothing more to make the sexy surgeon his. But she is more than determined that saving lives have a far more important place in her future; than settling down to create them ever could.So, for now at least. Liam must content himself less with his desire to claim his dream doctor. Concentrating instead on keeping his promise to "guard her with his life". As part of the "life debt" that he incurred when she saved his.What neither of the two could possibly know is just how soon he would have to pay that debt.A debt that could cost the billionaire shifter both his life and his heart.Authoress, Evangeline Anderson, really steps up her storytelling in a big way. In this, her second offering of the Cougarville series. Having gotten over the obstacles of having to in essence, craft what amounts to two worlds in her first book. Due to having to design both a past and a present for characters in Buck Naked (Cougarville #1). Ms. Anderson is now free to concentrate fully on crafting a truly unique paranormal romance...story wise.Though the first and second titles in this series are companions to each other. They are in no way birds of a feather.The action and the drama here are much more intense. With the male/female leads working in a far more alpha to alpha way.Everything about this book is a test of wills. With the control over whether their was progression on any front landing squaring in Samantha's "uber controlling" court.It seems that the only thing that Samantha doesn't control in this book is the seemingly endless stream of impossible and life threatening near misses that plague her to no end in this read.It is in fact, this relentless succession of "last minute saves" which both serve to add dramatic tension, and drive readers to distraction.Not to worry though...The push and pull that drives this book's plot is well worth any smattering of a bother that the "will they or won't they" that the plot may cause.This book is a wonderful break from what has become the norm of shifter mythos . In every sense of the term. A true storytelling and romantic dream...just waiting to be unearthed. Reviewer's Note: Cougar Bait is the second book in a closely related companion series. Characters and plots introduced in book #1, are expanded upon in this second tale. As such, it is highly recommended that this book be read in its intended series order.
    more
  • Jeannie Zelos
    June 9, 2017
    Cougar Bait, Evangeline AndersonReview from Jeannie Zelos book reviewsGenre:  Romance, Sci-fi and FantasyI was intrigued by this, hadn't read book one but each seem to be stand alone reads within the same world. I didn't really enjoy it though, found the premise a bit odd, the rejuvenation gene stuff was...strange. Its not unknown, a kind of variant on how in some readers shifters and vampires etc. when turned revert to their prime age, usually mid twenties/thirties but this was just a female on Cougar Bait, Evangeline AndersonReview from Jeannie Zelos book reviewsGenre:  Romance, Sci-fi and FantasyI was intrigued by this, hadn't read book one but each seem to be stand alone reads within the same world. I didn't really enjoy it though, found the premise a bit odd, the rejuvenation gene stuff was...strange. Its not unknown, a kind of variant on how in some readers shifters and vampires etc. when turned revert to their prime age, usually mid twenties/thirties but this was just a female only thing and felt a little weird to me.I hadn't read the first book but I don't think that mattered. I found it strange that Keller kidnapped Sammie and her sister mainly for her sister, to get her to be his mate, bear his children (book one). Now in a matter of days ( I think - could be weeks, but I'm going by the battle between him and the deer shifter) he's transferred that feeling to Sammie...nothing like making a lady feel second choice. It wouldn't endear me to him. Sammie's having none of it, she's had a world change in her views and accepts that things she thought weren't real are, but Keller. Nope, he's deluded, he's too young, he wanted her sister first and she's not interested. I'd feel like that too. However he's not deterred especially when she puts herself in the cross-hairs of some evil shifters. There's a lot of sex here and I'm always OK with that in a book if it fits the story. For me it doesn't in this one, its just there to spice things up, add some heat and just felt wrong, not integral to the novel but an addition. I just can't see Sammie doing such an about change in view, and the further into the story I got the more detached I felt. The events at the end were just the final; straw for me, so unreal, even for the supernatural where usual timelines don't apply. It's one I thought would be great for me but which I just couldn't get along with. It's very similar though to many of the current best sellers in the way the story plays out, so for many readers it will be perfect. Sadly I don't like most of those and didn't enjoy this one ;-(  Stars: Two, not one for me. ARC supplied for review purposes by Netgalley and Publishers
    more
  • Angela
    June 6, 2017
    Cougar Bait is the second book in the Cougarville series, and things are definitely heating up. Liam and Samantha met in book #1 of the series, but it wasn't a good start at all. After saving his life, she's determined to get back to her's by attending the medical conference in Las Vegas. Liam repeatedly warned her of the dangers there from the hyena shifters, but since she refuses to believe that she has the shifter gene since she hasn't started the rejuvenation process, she ignores the warning Cougar Bait is the second book in the Cougarville series, and things are definitely heating up. Liam and Samantha met in book #1 of the series, but it wasn't a good start at all. After saving his life, she's determined to get back to her's by attending the medical conference in Las Vegas. Liam repeatedly warned her of the dangers there from the hyena shifters, but since she refuses to believe that she has the shifter gene since she hasn't started the rejuvenation process, she ignores the warnings and goes anyway. Liam is determined to keep the sexy doctor safe, even if she refuses to acknowledge the danger she's in, and doesn't want him to be the one doing the protecting. He tells himself that he owes her after saving his life, and he's just doing the same for her. However, the more time they spend together, the stronger the chemistry is between them, even though they both deny it. After she's attacked, he heals her, when they both feel that there is more than just attraction between them. I was truly shocked after reading this book. I started out really liking Samantha, and not liking Liam at all due to their actions in the last book. However, that quickly changed during this story. Liam showed that he wasn't the heartless jerk that he portrayed before, and the reasons why he did what he had changed my perspective of him completely. Samantha turned out to be the opposite of my first impression of her. I get that she's independent, loves her career, and worked hard to get where she was, which is great, but I hated the way that she made herself and her goals seem more important than anything or anyone else, like she was better than everyone. There were many things that she said/did/thought that made it difficult for me to connect with or even like her.Overall, this was a fantastic shifter romance, with a touch of suspense, that everyone can enjoy. It's not necessary to read the first book in the series, but I highly suggest that you do. It will help you to understand more about this book and the characters, especially their behavior and thoughts, as well as get to read another outstanding story. I strongly recommend this book, series, and great author. I have voluntarily reviewed this arc provided by the publisher via NetGalley.
    more
  • A Hopeless Romantic's Booklandia
    May 19, 2017
    Ever since I became a blogger it's rare that I read a book once it hits my kindle, but you can believe that once Cougar Bait showed up, I immediately dove in! I completely fell in love with Buck Naked and I have been so excited and impatiently waiting for the this book. Granted, I didn't have to wait a long time for it, but it was still worth the wait. Cougar Bait was just fantastic and I loved it! I have a little bit of a like/hate relationship with Samantha. I love her passion and her strength Ever since I became a blogger it's rare that I read a book once it hits my kindle, but you can believe that once Cougar Bait showed up, I immediately dove in! I completely fell in love with Buck Naked and I have been so excited and impatiently waiting for the this book. Granted, I didn't have to wait a long time for it, but it was still worth the wait. Cougar Bait was just fantastic and I loved it! I have a little bit of a like/hate relationship with Samantha. I love her passion and her strength and independence, but oh, her stubbornness, rejection and refusal when it came to Liam, got my goat. There was times when I really didn't like her and at least once where I didn't think she deserved Liam, but I was just so on his side that I hated to see him hurting. But once Samantha realized that she did love Liam and accepted everything, I stopped being angry with her. I don't think I can say that I love Samantha, but I truly do like her and how much of a harda*s she is, so take it from me and give her a chance! I think it's pretty obvious that I love Liam! Yeah, he wasn't my most favorite person in Buck Naked, but I was still excited when I found out about Cougar Bait being his book. And I was right to be excited about him because he is a wonderful hero. Liam is so protective and sweet, but what got me the most was the heartache he's suffered and the way he feels about Samantha. I just wholeheartedly loved Liam - he totally stole my heart! Cougar Bait wasn't quite as sexy as Buck Naked, I don't think, but there's still plenty of steam and it brought out so many of my emotions. It frustrated me, got my blood pumping and my heart racing. It broke my heart, brought tears to my eyes, and it put a smile on my face. It kept me on the edge of my seat and at times, I just could not pull myself away even when I needed to. Cougar Bait was beyond excellent and I cannot, cannot wait for the next book! Cougar Bait can be read as a standalone, but you should definitely check out the first book, Buck Naked, because it's absolutely worth it. It's told from Liam and Samantha's POV, and they do get their happy ending.~ Sonja, 5 Stars
    more
  • Racy
    June 1, 2017
    I had read book one so I got to know most of the characters from there. To be honest I was not certain how I would feel about this book. I did not like Liam Keller at all in the last book. It takes true talent for an author to take a character that probably a lot of people hate and win her readers over. Well Evangeline did just that. I was probably about 8% in the book and I was starting to warm up to Liam. Liam had this wall built up due to past hurt and some pretty bad and sad things that happ I had read book one so I got to know most of the characters from there. To be honest I was not certain how I would feel about this book. I did not like Liam Keller at all in the last book. It takes true talent for an author to take a character that probably a lot of people hate and win her readers over. Well Evangeline did just that. I was probably about 8% in the book and I was starting to warm up to Liam. Liam had this wall built up due to past hurt and some pretty bad and sad things that happen in his past he did not want to allow himself to love again. He did how ever want a shifter baby to carry on his legacy. Well until he met Samantha. He feel hard for Samantha. Little by little she was tearing down the walls brick by brick. Samantha was so hard headed. She did not want love and she did not want a child. She was focus on one thing in her life and that is her career. I guess I can understand that to a certain degree but it truly seems like a sad and lonely life to me. I found some funny parts in this book. Like the hospital and the unreliable nurse. Oh, that was truly funny. Oh, sorry you will have to read the book to find out more. Samantha feels strongly she does not have the shifter gene but Liam is worried about it becoming active. Samantha is headed to a very dangerous place and has a crazy stalker after her. I truly was creeped out by this guy when reading the book. Samantha is so strong headed that she feels she can protect herself, but what if that is not true?I loved reading about Samantha and Liam’s time in Vegas. Yeah things got pretty steamy and we get to see a side of Liam we did not know was there. He is not only protective but caring, loving, passionate, and can swoon a girl off her feet. I loved the connection that Sammantha has with her sister. It is the twin connection we alway hear about. I also love how Mathis wanted to make sure everyone knew that Samantha was his family and under his protection. There was some bad blood between Liam and Mathis. Can they put a side their disagreements and come together and keep Samantha safe? This was truly a great story and glad I got to read the book.
    more
Write a review