The Coppersmith Farmhouse (Jamison Valley, #1)
One old farmhouse brought them together. It could also tear them apart.Gigi has just uprooted her whole world to start a new life. The unexpected gift of a farmhouse in small-town Montana is just what she and her daughter need to escape big-city loneliness. The last thing she needs is attitude from the town’s sheriff, the most perfectly attractive and ruggedly handsome man she’s ever laid eyes on—and a complete jerk.Jess knows all about women like Gigi. Beautiful. Sexy. Scheming. She’s stolen his sanctuary, the farmhouse that should have been his. But along with a face full of freckles, she’s got a sharp wit and a backbone of steel—something he doesn’t discover until after making a complete fool of himself. If he can earn back her trust and win her heart, he might just find the home he’s always needed.

The Coppersmith Farmhouse (Jamison Valley, #1) Details

TitleThe Coppersmith Farmhouse (Jamison Valley, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMar 9th, 2017
PublisherDevney Perry
Number of pages374 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Did Not Finish, Suspense

The Coppersmith Farmhouse (Jamison Valley, #1) Review

  • Aestas Book Blog
    March 9, 2017
    SQUEEE!!! I just read this book by a completely new-to-me author and IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! It was like pure old-school indie romance heaven! The hero is an ALPHA sheriff who is grouchy at times but also incredibly protective, possessive, and SWOOOOOONY! And the heroine is a SINGLE MOM of a gorgeous little daughter who move into his town to start their lives over. MY HEART WAS RACING for so much of the story!! I LOVED these characters. I CARED for them! The romance was HOT, the writing was STRONG, SQUEEE!!! I just read this book by a completely new-to-me author and IT WAS AMAZING!!!!! It was like pure old-school indie romance heaven! The hero is an ALPHA sheriff who is grouchy at times but also incredibly protective, possessive, and SWOOOOOONY! And the heroine is a SINGLE MOM of a gorgeous little daughter who move into his town to start their lives over. MY HEART WAS RACING for so much of the story!! I LOVED these characters. I CARED for them! The romance was HOT, the writing was STRONG, and there was even some intense suspense thrown in as well that kept me glued to the page. I went into this book blind, I'd never heard of this author before, but I LOVED THIS BOOK!! Oh, and the epilogue has ALL THE FEELS!!! ➜ http://amzn.to/2mN6SnZ______________________First standalone in series of standalones.
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    March 15, 2017
    Not often you see a cover of a romance novel without a half naked man or woman on it! This is a pretty cover. It's a great representation of the story. It has great composition. Interesting typography and makes great use of graphics.I enjoyed this one. It was a super sweet read that had a KA vibe to it. It was well-written and nicely paced. It had some hot sex scenes. It had a bit of mystery (to be honest, I knew who the baddie was from the MINUTE the person was introduced...but no matter.) Some Not often you see a cover of a romance novel without a half naked man or woman on it! This is a pretty cover. It's a great representation of the story. It has great composition. Interesting typography and makes great use of graphics.I enjoyed this one. It was a super sweet read that had a KA vibe to it. It was well-written and nicely paced. It had some hot sex scenes. It had a bit of mystery (to be honest, I knew who the baddie was from the MINUTE the person was introduced...but no matter.) Some interesting side characters (not crazy about that Felicity chick though and it looks like she may be paired with Silas.) It had an adorable kid and two (relatively) likable main characters. The hero was a huge ass at the beginning, but he redeemed himself fairly quickly. The heroine, on the other hand, annoyed me a bit for most of the book with her constant he is forcing me to do shit speel. The garage thing I understood. The football game tantrum...not so much. Those were just minor things in the grand scheme of things. Two thumbs up from yours truly.
    more
  • Jen
    March 18, 2017
    This book has reminded me of why I love to read! From 5%, I became hooked and my interest never stopped until the end! Some people may not like the amount of drama that went on; but I found it didn't bother me at all. It wasn't stupid, immature drama... it was stuff that would happen in the lives of a sheriff and a nurse!!!This book takes place in a small Montana town... Georgia is given a farmhouse to live in by a good friend who recently passed away. She decides to take her little daughter and This book has reminded me of why I love to read! From 5%, I became hooked and my interest never stopped until the end! Some people may not like the amount of drama that went on; but I found it didn't bother me at all. It wasn't stupid, immature drama... it was stuff that would happen in the lives of a sheriff and a nurse!!!This book takes place in a small Montana town... Georgia is given a farmhouse to live in by a good friend who recently passed away. She decides to take her little daughter and move to this cozy, quiet town!!! When she meets the cranky but hot sheriff of the town she dislikes him immediately-- even if sparks are flying... she is really trying to ignore them!!!!There isn't a dull moment in this story; but it is a heart warming one and it has sizzling sexy times too! I highly recommend this read and I guarantee I will be waiting on pins and needles until the next book comes out! This is a new author for me but she won me over with this brilliant read that kept me captivated!!!!!
    more
  • NMmomof4
    March 20, 2017
    3 StarsOverall Opinion: This was an ok read. I thought it felt slow at times, but I never skimmed. I also didn't necessarily like either mc, so that was a big issue for me! I do agree with a GR friend that it had the same feel as a KA book, but it just didn't quite get there for me in meeting its potential. The h's daughter was cute, and her relationship with the H was fun to read. I also didn't necessarily mind the side characters, so I might give their book a chance...maybe. I didn't hate it, 3 StarsOverall Opinion: This was an ok read. I thought it felt slow at times, but I never skimmed. I also didn't necessarily like either mc, so that was a big issue for me! I do agree with a GR friend that it had the same feel as a KA book, but it just didn't quite get there for me in meeting its potential. The h's daughter was cute, and her relationship with the H was fun to read. I also didn't necessarily mind the side characters, so I might give their book a chance...maybe. I didn't hate it, but I didn't love it either...just ok.Brief Summary of the Storyline: This is Gigi and Jess's story. Gigi moves to a new town with her young daughter for a fresh start in a farm house that was left to her after a close friend passed away. She meets Jess and he is instantly rude to her even though the sparks fly between them. After a few more not-so-great interactions, they decide to start over and go on a date. They start seeing each other and fall in love. Meanwhile, there is a bunch of open cases in town that are full of drugs, violence, and mystery that keep them on their toes...but they do get a HEA ending.POV: This alternated between Gigi (mostly) and Jess's POV.Overall Pace of Story: Ok. It felt a little slow at times, but I never skimmed.Instalove: No, they take a little while to develop stronger feelings.H rating: 3 stars. Jess. He was ok. He was a major jerk at first, and he came around eventually to show he was a pretty good guy -- but he would still have his moments of being a jerk.h rating: 2.5 stars. Gigi. She was ok, but her constant insecurities and pushing away got old quick.Sadness level: Low, no tissues neededPush/Pull: Yes (view spoiler)[The h pushes away at times because she is insecure from her last relationship. The H is the main pursuer of the relationship. (hide spoiler)]Heat level: Good. They have some good tension, chemistry, and scenes -- but not so much it takes away from the story.Descriptive sex: YesSafe sex: Yes (view spoiler)[Mentions of condoms being used until birth control talk. The H says he had never been without, but I do not remember any mention of the h's previous practices or their std statuses. (hide spoiler)]OW/OM drama: Mild (view spoiler)[There is an ex f-buddy of the H that shows up and causes some drama, but it's pretty mild. (hide spoiler)]Sex scene with OW or OM: NoCheating: NoSeparation: Yes (view spoiler)[They are separated shortly (days?), but there was no mention or suggestion of other partners during this time. (hide spoiler)]Possible Triggers: Yes (view spoiler)[The h has a child with an absentee father, violence/murder/assault, and drug use/dealing. (hide spoiler)]Closure: This had good closure with a cute jump ahead epilogue and a HEA ending.How I got it: It was part of my scribed subscription.Safety: This one should be Safe for most safety gang readers(view spoiler)[- Does Not have cheating- Does Not have a descriptive sex scene with OW/OM- Does have the h pushing the H away- Does have a short (days?) separation between the h and H- Does have abuse (not by mcs)- Does Not have OTT sad parts- Does have a HEA ending (hide spoiler)]
    more
  • Mo
    March 19, 2017
    3 to 3.5 stars.A nice read. Bit predictable. Hero was a bit of an ass in the beginning ... and stayed that way for quite a lot of the book. Just could not accept her opinions or reasonings. Realised who the "bad guy" was early enough ... a little bit obvious, I thought.Good for a debut novel. Will probably check out more if she continues the series.The kid was cute enough. Saw some reviews mentioned that she wrote a little like KA. Yes, I could see some similarities. That is probably why I one-c 3 to 3.5 stars.A nice read. Bit predictable. Hero was a bit of an ass in the beginning ... and stayed that way for quite a lot of the book. Just could not accept her opinions or reasonings. Realised who the "bad guy" was early enough ... a little bit obvious, I thought.Good for a debut novel. Will probably check out more if she continues the series.The kid was cute enough. Saw some reviews mentioned that she wrote a little like KA. Yes, I could see some similarities. That is probably why I one-clicked it in the first place. Small town, hunky sheriff who is a bit of a dickhead to start, girl is new to town. Bad guys around ... sound a bit familiar?Sweet enough read. You'll probably enjoy it if you give it a shot!
    more
  • ♡Tonya♡
    March 13, 2017
    I absolutely loved this book! It had romance and steam with a side of suspence to keep things interesting. I read it on one sitting! Jess and GiGi's were great characters-Jess was alpha to the max. He started out as a major jerk. He made assumptions about the heroine that simply were not true. It didn't take him long to figure out he was wrong and he immediately set out to make things right. His alpha tendencies were OTT but I personally like those caveman antics. He was a take charge kind of gu I absolutely loved this book! It had romance and steam with a side of suspence to keep things interesting. I read it on one sitting! Jess and GiGi's were great characters-Jess was alpha to the max. He started out as a major jerk. He made assumptions about the heroine that simply were not true. It didn't take him long to figure out he was wrong and he immediately set out to make things right. His alpha tendencies were OTT but I personally like those caveman antics. He was a take charge kind of guy and that often rubbed GiGi the wrong way. He was devoted to her from first sight and was so sweet and amazing with her daughter Rowan. GiGi was a great heroine as well, BUT her insecurities got tiresome. Did it take away from my enjoyment? NO. It just could have been toned down some in my opinion. I loved that she pushed right back at Jess when he was being a jerk and set him straight. Their dynamic worked.(view spoiler)[~OTT alpha sheriff who started as a jerk but turned into a fantastic hero~likable heroine ~no cheating whatsoever ~om drama - none - her daughter was from a hookup she had at a wedding. The father was horrible to her and wanted nothing to do with the child. He made no appearance in the book at all~ow drama - nothing that caused problems for the couple but there was one woman who was an ex hookup of the hero who made an appearance twice and he promptly put her in her place and let her know he was with Gigi. ~a couple fights scenes but no violence in sexual nature ~steamy sex scenes ~great secondary characters who I look forward to hearing more about. The next two books are second chance stories so I'm curious of they are going to be safe~Cute epilogue that was just user 2 years out. (hide spoiler)]**I'm very interested in book 2 but it is a second chance story. I am anxious to see if they were with others during their separation because they are married and the hero left the heroine after their wedding night (allegedly for her safety).Book 2 is about Nick (he has a 9 year separation and they are BOTH with others)Book 3 Silas (and Felicity- not a fan personally)Book 4 BeauBook 5- Maisy-hope her hero is amazing because I liked her!
    more
  • Mandy
    March 14, 2017
    I LOVED this book! Gigi is a single mom who works hard as a nurse and raising her four year old daughter. Three years ago, she befriended Ben, an elderly patient who was all alone and he became like family to her and her daughter. After he passed away, she finds out he left her his farmhouse in Montana. She decides to move with her daughter to the farmhouse and start a new life. She loves the farmhouse and the small town but has one problem, Jess, the sheriff who isn't very nice to her. Jess was I LOVED this book! Gigi is a single mom who works hard as a nurse and raising her four year old daughter. Three years ago, she befriended Ben, an elderly patient who was all alone and he became like family to her and her daughter. After he passed away, she finds out he left her his farmhouse in Montana. She decides to move with her daughter to the farmhouse and start a new life. She loves the farmhouse and the small town but has one problem, Jess, the sheriff who isn't very nice to her. Jess was upset when he found out a woman would be getting Ben's farmhouse figuring it was someone who took advantage of the elderly man so when he first meets Gigi, he isn't very welcoming. Gigi is the most beautiful woman he's ever seen and he can't help being attracted to her but he's upset with her for taking advantage of his old friend. He doesn't realize at first that Gigi was a caretaker and friend to Ben, not someone who was after his money. It doesn't take long for Jess to see the kind of woman Gigi really is and to want to get more friendly with her. Besides the sweet and sexy romance, there's also suspense and a little action. Jess is investigating a drug ring that has taken over his small town. With few clues, a beaten John Doe showing up in the hospital and a murder, Jess has his hands full. I loved the chemistry between Gigi and Jess. I love stories like this where the hero is a huge jerk at first and has to make it up to the heroine. Gigi isn't the type to forgive easily so Jess really had to work for it. Jess isn't perfect, he's very alpha - demanding and bossy - but he's also sweet and loving when he needs to be. The interactions between Jess and Gigi's daughter Rowan were my favorite. There were also some really good steamy scenes. I loved everything about this book - the romance, steam, suspense, action and drama. This is a great start to a new series and I can't wait to read the next book in this series. I highly recommend this book! It's a top pick of 2017 for me and a book I look forward to re-reading soon!
    more
  • Carvanz
    March 19, 2017
    First, let me say that this book was an accident. I didn’t intend to purchase it but while checking it out I inadvertently one clicked. That has NEVER happened to me before. Best. Mistake. Ever! What an awesome read! If you’ve heard that this book has a Kristen Ashley feel to it that would be true. But in my opinion, it was so much better! Yep, you read that right. It was so fast paced and never once did it get bogged down. Rich with characters that you can actually imagine having met and the wo First, let me say that this book was an accident. I didn’t intend to purchase it but while checking it out I inadvertently one clicked. That has NEVER happened to me before. Best. Mistake. Ever! What an awesome read! If you’ve heard that this book has a Kristen Ashley feel to it that would be true. But in my opinion, it was so much better! Yep, you read that right. It was so fast paced and never once did it get bogged down. Rich with characters that you can actually imagine having met and the wonderful feel of a small town atmosphere; it was simply delightful. (I always wanted to put “simply delightful” in a review.)Gigi and her daughter are starting over and they use the gift of a farmhouse in Montana to do that. Jess, the county sheriff, is rude and a downright grade A a-hole from the moment they meet. There’s a reason she considers him Jess the Jackass. If the name fits… Jess may be a jackass, but he isn’t stupid and once the misunderstandings in his mind are cleared up he decides he’s going to make Gigi forgive him for his previous bad behaviors. She’s not completely on board with this idea. It doesn’t matter because Jess is determined that he will be claiming her as his own. What follows is a fun, steamy read with plenty of suspense and mystery as well as a high cuteness factor due to Rowen, Gigi’s four your old daughter, and lots of alpha goodness. I don’t think I closed my kindle one time while reading this. If I had any complaint it was that the heroine has a bit of an inferiority complex and struggles to accept that the hero’s feelings are true. I rarely, if ever, one click to purchase the next book in a series when the author is new to me. I didn’t even hesitate. And this time it was on purpose.
    more
  • Denna✌
    March 14, 2017
    Pretty awesome read! OTT alpha hero, sweet single mom h, steamy sex scenes and completely safe! This book had me hooked from the start and also had me very interested in the upcoming books in this series! Great start to the series and can wait for more!
    more
  • Corina
    March 23, 2017
    This book was fantastic!!!!It was captivating from the very first page. The quality of writing was superb and the plot intriguing and thrilling. It had the perfect mix of intense chemistry, sexy alpha, a little kid, and let’s not forget a good amount of suspense and intrigue. I still can’t believe that this was a debut novel – BRAVO Devney Perry – this book won’t be the last one I’ll be reading from you.I think I should mention that even so I LOVE reading about macho alpha’s that are domineering This book was fantastic!!!!It was captivating from the very first page. The quality of writing was superb and the plot intriguing and thrilling. It had the perfect mix of intense chemistry, sexy alpha, a little kid, and let’s not forget a good amount of suspense and intrigue. I still can’t believe that this was a debut novel – BRAVO Devney Perry – this book won’t be the last one I’ll be reading from you.I think I should mention that even so I LOVE reading about macho alpha’s that are domineering, overwhelmingly sexy and commanding/controlling – I might not be ok with it in REAL LIFE!! That said, I have NOTHING against reading about it, I even go looking for books like that. So, not everything I love reading about I necessarily would want in my life. IT’S FICTION!!! GOTCHA?Back to The Coppersmith Farmhouse!New in town, Gigi couldn’t help herself and got right away in an argument with the sexy town sheriff, Jesse. Both rub each other the wrong way until she found out that he was the guy that took care of the Coppersmith farmhouse that was bequeathed to her. Suddenly their bickering took a new meaning.Not long after Jesse finally understood what the former owner of the Coppersmith farmhouse saw in Gigi and her young daughter. Gigi was down to earth, strong and resilient, and had a kind heart. She was dealt a bad hand which she turned into the best thing that could have happened to her. Being able to relocate with her daughter to the farmhouse gave her a new beginning that she couldn’t turn down.The little town of Prescott was filled with wonderful characters, including quite a few hunky alpha males, more about that later on.Her attraction to Jesse might have been inconvenient for her but not so much for Jesse, as soon as he realized what he had in front of him, he wised up and used it to his advantage. In other words he steamrolled poor Gigi with his masculine charms and sex appeal.He made some mistakes which he fortunately learned from, but like all males, it took him awhile to see the wisdom in it. Jesse and Gigi were a perfectly suited couple. Their attraction was tangible, genuine and smoldering. His feelings towards Gigi’s daughter was real, and sincere. He was a very straight forward kind of person. Frank and direct, and he wanted to take care of them almost immediately.That was pretty much the recurring thread throughout the entire book. Both, Gigi and Jesse, had personalities that needed to took care of their loved ones. They were very open about their affections and truly generous with their feelings.For Jesse it was all about HIS GIRLS. He decided early on that they would be part of his life. With Jesse, Gigi didn’t have to worry about what he thought, he was pretty open and direct about it – almost blunt at times.The suspense was well thought through and brilliantly executed. I did not see certain aspects coming and the author kept me guessing until the very last minute.I truly ENJOYED this book. And I can’t WAIT to read more by this author. She has already introduced quite a few very interesting characters that I’m already REALLY intrigued about. HUNKY alpha males – enough said.:D (oh and one bitchy sister – made me CURIOUS!!!)4.5 stars for an amazing debut novelFor more of my reviews:My Blog: Happily Ever AfterFacebook Blog PageTwitterSubscribe to Blog
    more
  • Anne OK
    March 16, 2017
    Lots of hype on social media regarding this new debut by Devney Perry. There has also been mention that Perry’s writing voice is comparable to Kristen Ashley’s. In general, maybe so, but on the whole, not in my opinion. I found it a bit softer with less of the grab factor. (Note: I run hot or cold on Ashley's books, so this was not a significant point in my decision to read this one.) If you’re a big fan of small town sexy romances that includes an alpha know-it-all hero and a woman who has expe Lots of hype on social media regarding this new debut by Devney Perry. There has also been mention that Perry’s writing voice is comparable to Kristen Ashley’s. In general, maybe so, but on the whole, not in my opinion. I found it a bit softer with less of the grab factor. (Note: I run hot or cold on Ashley's books, so this was not a significant point in my decision to read this one.) If you’re a big fan of small town sexy romances that includes an alpha know-it-all hero and a woman who has experienced abuse at the hands of someone who was supposed to love her (single mom and town’s sheriff), along with a little mystery and a whole lot of sweetness, you’ll probably enjoy a look/see.A good proofreader might be of some help, too.
    more
  • Ann Lou
    March 16, 2017
    4 Rowen adorable stars!Georgia is a single Mom who moved to Montana and start a new life with her daughter Rowen (beautiful name).  She works at the local hospital as a nurse and lives in a farmhouse given by a dear friend.  Jess Cleary is the sheriff in Prescott, Montana.  He used to take care of the farmhouse and treated the former owner like family.  He made assumptions about Georgia tricking an old man out of his possessions.  He was a jackass to her.  "Are you about done drooling over me so 4 Rowen adorable stars!Georgia is a single Mom who moved to Montana and start a new life with her daughter Rowen (beautiful name).  She works at the local hospital as a nurse and lives in a farmhouse given by a dear friend.  Jess Cleary is the sheriff in Prescott, Montana.  He used to take care of the farmhouse and treated the former owner like family.  He made assumptions about Georgia tricking an old man out of his possessions.  He was a jackass to her.  "Are you about done drooling over me so you can finish patching him up?".  This was during their first meeting.  Yup, an a**hole.Georgia was completely attracted to him but he was on her sh*t list.  His actions had left a mark and she would not be fooled again by a handsome face.  Been there. Done that.But of course they got together and it was a good ride.  There was also suspense along the way and drama of course.  What bothered me is these lines" It doesn't make sense, Jess. Why you'd be with me.  I'm just me.  And you're you.  You're perfect.  So handsome it takes my breath away.  And I'm just plain old me."   " Why me? Why'd you pick me as your girl? I mean I'm just me and you're... well.. you. Perfect."I understand Georgia has insecurities because of her douchebag ex.  I have nothing against her.  She's strong and a good Mom.  This mentality is what I don't like and don't get.  She said this three or four times maybe in the book.  Thank the stars Jess was unwavering with his love and proved to her again and again she is what he wants. I also love the other characters as well.  I hope Maisy will get her own book and Beau too :)  But my favorite character in this book is Rowen.  She stole my heart.  So adorable.  Hope I will get to read more of her in the next book. 
    more
  • Bev
    March 22, 2017
    3.75 starsA sweet, small town romance with a twist of suspense thrown in. I struggled to get into the book the first quarter, but once it got going I enjoyed the read. I'll definitely be reading the next books, I need to know what crawled up Felicity's backside.
    more
  • Kaitlyn
    January 8, 2017
    Gigi is a smart, funny, spirited woman who guards her heart for her and her young daughter Roe’s sake. She’s been burned in the past and isn’t eager to repeat the experience. But when she moves to a small town and meets the local sheriff, there is an immediate spark between them. Jess is confident, caring, and unbelievably sexy. He knows what he wants, and what he wants is Gigi. Gigi is the first woman Jess has ever wanted to get serious about, and he understands that being with Gigi also means Gigi is a smart, funny, spirited woman who guards her heart for her and her young daughter Roe’s sake. She’s been burned in the past and isn’t eager to repeat the experience. But when she moves to a small town and meets the local sheriff, there is an immediate spark between them. Jess is confident, caring, and unbelievably sexy. He knows what he wants, and what he wants is Gigi. Gigi is the first woman Jess has ever wanted to get serious about, and he understands that being with Gigi also means having a relationship with Roe. And the sweet way Jess is with Roe melted my heart right along with Gigi’s.But Gigi has to get past her fear of getting hurt again and of placing her trust in the wrong man before she’ll give her heart and her love to Jess.I loved this story for many reasons. First, the characters were well developed, and I felt like I could relate to them many times throughout the story. Gigi is someone I’d definitely want as my best friend if I ever met her in real life. There were many great peripheral characters as well who each added something to the story. Another thing I liked was that the development of Jess and Gigi’s relationship was believable while still making me feel warm and fuzzy. They had great chemistry right from the beginning. Their bantering was cute and many times hilarious. The fact that they had a few disagreements only made the relationship feel more real to me. Another aspect of the story I liked was that though the romance took center stage, there was also a gripping secondary plot that centered around one of the sheriff department’s investigations. This added an element of suspense to the story and brought some outside drama into Jess and Gigi’s relationship. I also loved that this book was long enough for me to really feel connected to the characters and the story without ever feeling like it was dragging.I absolutely loved this book. I read it in one evening and stayed up late just to finish it. It’s a wonderful love story that will make you and your heart smile.
    more
  • maggieandteddy
    March 20, 2017
    I could't miss out reading this book. Starting over. Montana. Ruggedly Hunky sheriff. Hunky sheriff with an ATTITUDE. This author is new to me. I kept hearing great things about this book in a really short amount of time. I also snooped in my friend Chele's book shelf. She's a western/Montana expert. Yep. My friend Chele and lots of others gave this book high marks. Curious me. Thanks SO much Chele :)This is 1st person POV, Gigi & Jess. Gigi & her 4 year old daughter Rowen move from Spok I could't miss out reading this book. Starting over. Montana. Ruggedly Hunky sheriff. Hunky sheriff with an ATTITUDE. This author is new to me. I kept hearing great things about this book in a really short amount of time. I also snooped in my friend Chele's book shelf. She's a western/Montana expert. Yep. My friend Chele and lots of others gave this book high marks. Curious me. Thanks SO much Chele :)This is 1st person POV, Gigi & Jess. Gigi & her 4 year old daughter Rowen move from Spokane to Prescott, Montana (s/w corner of the state). Gigi inherited a house from Ben Coppersmith, an elderly man that she cared for in Spokane. Gigi is a nurse and soon takes job in the town's community hospital. Jess is the town's sheriff. He and Gigi do not hit it off very well when they "meet cute' at the hospital's ER. They clash like nobody's business. I thought that this would be really milked out. I did crack up at the "running" ticket that Jess gave Gigi. A lot of the book is Jess & Gigi yanking each other's chain. Gigi is more serious and it makes her an easier target for Jess. Gigi had a very bad experience with Rowen's dad. He was a one night stand. After Gigi had Rowen, they never saw him again. It make her skittish with men. Especially men that she's attracted to. In the first couple of chapters, there's a flash back or two telling how Gigi met Ben Coppersmith. In present day, it's revealed that Ben also played a big role in Jess' young life. Like a father figure or an uncle. Gigi and Jess start to get along when Jess realizes that Gigi isn't the grasping gold digger that he first thought she was. Jess has a talk with himself about not being such an asshole. Gigi hadn't been on a date since she had Rowen. Gigi starts off a little stiff, but soon feels more comfortable around Jess. I really LOVED how this author spent a lot of time on their relationship. They didn't just dance around each other & then confess their hearts at the very end. Jess had not had a relationship in a very long time if ever. He was more of a lone wolf. Jess was very sweet to Gigi & it was funny when he wanted his way. He would sweet talk her (and more). Then Gigi would let him have his way. She was like putty & she knew it! I like that persuasion technique! So did Gigi. Gigi had concerns: Was she good enough for Jess? Was Jess' job too risky? Prescott is a small town, but Jess was trying to solve some serious cases. The last 1/3 or so of the book involved Jess trying to find who was behind the recent drug dealing in the area. I didn't think that it fit with the rest of the story. It went from gritty to fairly violent at the end. The rest of the story was a push/pull of Jess & Gigi's romance. I loved Rowen, she's very cute and very realistic, but some things seemed a little too advanced for a 4 year old. I liked Maisy- Gigi's bff , but her story was left hanging a little. There is an HEA. and a great epilogue. The next books are different H/hs4.25 stars. I recommend this one!
    more
  • Viollar Nasaba
    March 17, 2017
    OLD KRISTEN ASHLEY, IS THAT YOU?NO..ITS DEVNEY PERRY.''WHO IS DEVNEY PERRY?'', YOU ASK..I DON'T KNOW...but i love her.. Because this book..the feels and the chemistry and the mystery came together in a pretty red bow and IT WORKED..The author made old fashioned writing like this, seem so easy..when it really wasn't.BUT, WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE..The Heroine's insecurity...I mean yea, a little bit of doubting yourself here and there is normal but she kept on thinking she is not pretty enough for the H OLD KRISTEN ASHLEY, IS THAT YOU?NO..ITS DEVNEY PERRY.''WHO IS DEVNEY PERRY?'', YOU ASK..I DON'T KNOW...but i love her.. Because this book..the feels and the chemistry and the mystery came together in a pretty red bow and IT WORKED..The author made old fashioned writing like this, seem so easy..when it really wasn't.BUT, WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE..The Heroine's insecurity...I mean yea, a little bit of doubting yourself here and there is normal but she kept on thinking she is not pretty enough for the H, or good enough in bed, or strong enough..it just drove me crazy.. When your man tells you that you are it for him..believe it..don't keep on making him say it all the time.. Jeez, always needing to be re-assured...Ok, Enough Rant-ation.. (wendy fan)Loved it.. am on the lookout for more of Ms Devney Perry..
    more
  • Angie - Angie's Dreamy Reads
    March 21, 2017
    4.5 Amazing stars. Loved this book!
  • Dates With K
    March 10, 2017
    *****5++ ‘Home is Where the Heart Is’ STARS***** Like a beautiful breath of fresh air, Devney Perry’s debut showcases exactly why I started devouring indie titles in search of the elusive ‘something more’.  That something that makes your breath hitch and your heart beat a little faster.  That invests you in the journey and makes you race to the next page at the same time you’re doing everything you can to prolong the exquisite feeling of book nirvana by slowing down. I found it here…It. Is. Bli *****5++ ‘Home is Where the Heart Is’ STARS***** Like a beautiful breath of fresh air, Devney Perry’s debut showcases exactly why I started devouring indie titles in search of the elusive ‘something more’.  That something that makes your breath hitch and your heart beat a little faster.  That invests you in the journey and makes you race to the next page at the same time you’re doing everything you can to prolong the exquisite feeling of book nirvana by slowing down. I found it here…It. Is. Bliss.  Strong, well developed characters – primary and secondary, developed and believable storylines, exceptional pacing, special attention to detail (or lack thereof when needed), steaming hot attraction and most importantly, I fell in love.  With a town, a couple, an adorable kid, a farmhouse and the possibilities laid out for the continuing series that I will absolutely continue reading.“I would never get the chance to tell Ben how much his farmhouse changed my life.”Used to the rush of big city life and in need of a change an unexpected favor is called in, one Gigi can’t say no to. This is where we start the journey of Gigi and Roe’s new life.  Reminiscent of the perfect small town you want to roadtrip and get lost in, complete with a sexy, grumpy, alpha, protective Sheriff and a charismatic selection of town folk sure to charm you, Prescott, Montana, pop. 823, is a brand new start for Georgia ‘Gigi’ and her little girl Rowan ‘Roe’ Ellars.  It might take some getting used to, but they’re already dazzled by their new home – The Coppersmith Farmhouse.  However, what she’s not so dazzled by – the Sheriff…or so she likes to tell herself.“Seated on my stool, I had to tip my head way back to examine his face.  I blinked a few times because this man was so ruggedly handsome I had to be imagining him.”Jess Cleary isn’t too charmed with the newcomer to his small town.  This Sheriff is highly suspicious of her motivations for moving and starting over in ‘small-town, USA’ and in particular the farmhouse that’s sat empty for almost two decades.  It certainly doesn’t help that the minute they lay eyes on each other the chemistry arcs between the new enemies.  Before long misconceptions come crashing down around Jess and he realizes he’s made some bad judgment calls and need to make amends – only his way.  And just maybe along the way Georgia and Rowan will become his too.“What I hadn’t known was that sitting on a stool in the ER, cleaning Milo’s hand, she was the most beautiful woman I’d ever lay eyes on.”I had no idea what to expect when I opened this book.  But what I found was so amazing.  While the primary storyline starts out with Gigi and Roe’s journey to and their new life, several secondary storylines work their way into the narrative with ease.  A lot of characters are introduced and some background paced out here and there.  I never felt confused or lost in the story and was always able to place the characters – which is an excellent feat when starting a series with this many new faces.  A little suspense is added in and there are definitely moments that shine light on the real issues couples and women in general face.  Gigi’s been hurt badly before and has her guard up with Jess and she’s not sure she wants to let it down, to chance being hurt.  Jess is all alpha growly protective man and treats Gigi and Roe like the treasures they are.  He has his struggles – his temper and alpha ‘decision making’ skills – however, I loved that he was able to take responsibility for his problems and work with Gigi and Roe to ‘do better’.  That’s not to say he’s a pushover at all, just a good man who wants to make his girls happy.  Roe is voiced so well; I loved her.  She’s no perfect princess either (but so close!).  She’s endearing in her adoration of Jess but we also get to see a little temper from her as well.  The nicknames they all have for each other are utterly sweet and made me smile.  I really enjoyed the epilogue, that extra peek into the happily ever after with just a little breadcrumb trail leading to other characters and hopefully more stories.  This book really does have all the feels.  Part learning to move on, enemies to lovers, a little suspense, a lot of love and healing, some sass sprinkled in and a book boyfriend to fight over.  There are so many more stories here that I want to see and I can’t possibly pick, so I’ll wait not so patiently to see where we’re taken next, knowing that I love these characters and don’t think you could make a bad choice in giving any of them their HEA.“Because those powerful words were like a balm to my heart, healing what had been broken in the past.  I desperately wanted them to be real.”Home is where the heart is and if you ask Jess Cleary he’ll tell you his heart lies in the Coppersmith Farmhouse, his home for many reasons, but mostly because of the other two hearts that reside there too.  I was completely captivated, heart palpitating and in love with this fabulous start to a new series…and I hope you will be too because I highly recommend you 1-click right now and fall in love yourself.“I had never been in love with a man.  Maybe if I’d had more experience I would have realized it sooner.  It felt strange that we hadn’t said the words to each other yet, but looking back, it had been there for a while.  With every touch, every kiss, it was simply unspoken.  Unspoken, but never missing.”K’s Category: 1st date, first novel read by author to date.Characters: M/FOM/OW: NoSex: Yes, descriptiveHEA: YStandalone: Yes, standalone interconnecting series.
    more
  • Dorsey aka ❤️ Wrath Lover and KA Addict ❤️
    March 21, 2017
    4.5 Alpha Loving Stars!! I'm blown away by this new authors debut book!! It had everything I love to read about, it's reminiscent of a KA or CP Smith book, but, don't get me wrong Devney Perry definitely has her own style and voice which is fabulous. I'm so excited to have another author to follow and look forward to!!Georgia "Gigi" is a nurse and single mother to adorable four year of Rowen "Roe" who inherits a farmhouse in Montana from Ben, a former patient and sudo grandparent to Roe. After 4.5 Alpha Loving Stars!! I'm blown away by this new authors debut book!! It had everything I love to read about, it's reminiscent of a KA or CP Smith book, but, don't get me wrong Devney Perry definitely has her own style and voice which is fabulous. I'm so excited to have another author to follow and look forward to!!Georgia "Gigi" is a nurse and single mother to adorable four year of Rowen "Roe" who inherits a farmhouse in Montana from Ben, a former patient and sudo grandparent to Roe. After losing her mother and then Ben she decides to start over and moves from Seattle to the farmhouse for a quieter, slower paced lifestyle. Jess is the cranky but admittedly hot town sheriff, their first meeting didn't go so well and, I must say he was a complete asswipe to her, but....there was no denying the sparks of attraction for either one of them which they both attempt to ignore. Obviously, Jess doesn't ignore the sparks for too long, all he has to do is convince Gigi not to ignore them...and to do that he steamrolls himself into Gigi and little Roe's life like a wrecking ball!!There is a problem within the town and as Sheriff, Jess is after those threats, soon those threats escalate and puts Gigi in danger....which only helps solidify his place in her life. There was never a dull moment. The storyline was fast-paced, very sexy, heartwarming, and at times frustrating due to Gigi's self image insecurities which Jess also tackles with his wrecking ball ways.I'm definitely looking forward to the next books in the series!!!!
    more
  • Libby
    March 11, 2017
    I bought this on impulse after seeing it pop up with great reviews in my news feed. I thought it sounded great. However, I'm going to be the odd man out here because I didn't end up liking it that much. I read to about 50% and then ended up skimming mostly. I just couldn't connect. Jess was not charming or likable. I thought he was a bit of a bully and didn't pay attention to what Gigi was feeling. I get that he is supposed to be an Alpha, I usually like Alphas. If a man was terrible to me for a I bought this on impulse after seeing it pop up with great reviews in my news feed. I thought it sounded great. However, I'm going to be the odd man out here because I didn't end up liking it that much. I read to about 50% and then ended up skimming mostly. I just couldn't connect. Jess was not charming or likable. I thought he was a bit of a bully and didn't pay attention to what Gigi was feeling. I get that he is supposed to be an Alpha, I usually like Alphas. If a man was terrible to me for awhile, (view spoiler)[including using his position as sheriff to intimate and humilate me with a tongue lashing and a fake citation (hide spoiler)], then suddenly decided he changed his mind and wanted to be with me it would take a heck of a lot of groveling and behavior changes to get me on board. Not just him declaring I was his girl and laying one on me in his truck. A hot body doesn't override bad behavior. Gigi was a pushover. She didn't stand her ground. She said she doesn't introduce men to her kid but then she's letting Jess do it right away. Plus when she lets him meet her daughter she says she doesn't trust him or like his behavior. But he's still meeting her kid! I guess I just felt no connection to or between the characters. I think for me the time jumps in their relationship were kind of where part of that issue came from. There wasn't a lot of relationship development between the characters (that we got to see) once he decided they were dating. Instead it was "over the next two weeks we got to know each other better" kind of thing. For instance, he bossed his way into coming over and met her daughter. Then just a few pages later weeks had passed and the kiddo was running to him for comfort. I felt like I had missed something.I wish I had liked it more but it needed a bit more for me. I think the writing itself was good, which got it to 3 stars for me, and I would probably try another from this author in the future but this particular story didn't connect with me.
    more
  • Erin
    March 20, 2017
    Good debut. There were things I didn't necessarily "love" hence the four star instead of five read; however, this author is talented. I can't wait to see what she has in store for this small town!
  • Marieke
    March 12, 2017
    Every now and then I love to read a story about an Alpha guy and the woman he falls for. I have my favorite authors for these stories, but I’m always looking for new ones. Lately, new Alpha stories are a hit or miss for me; it’s a fine line between Alpha and Asshole, and a lot lean more towards the latter. Not cool at all… Devney Perry’s debut book The Coppersmith Farmhouse however is a big hit for me; I love the characters, the small town of Prescott. But most of all, I adore her writing. “Thou Every now and then I love to read a story about an Alpha guy and the woman he falls for. I have my favorite authors for these stories, but I’m always looking for new ones. Lately, new Alpha stories are a hit or miss for me; it’s a fine line between Alpha and Asshole, and a lot lean more towards the latter. Not cool at all… Devney Perry’s debut book The Coppersmith Farmhouse however is a big hit for me; I love the characters, the small town of Prescott. But most of all, I adore her writing. “Though it was terrifying to be in a whole new place, it felt amazing to be starting over. Starting an adventure. Replacing the loneliness I had felt in Spokane with excitement. Leaving all of the bad memories from the past behind.” Gigi is on her way to Prescott, to start a new life for herself and her 4-year-old daughter Roe. Leaving her old town behind is the best thing; after the deaths of her mother and her friend Ben she has nobody left, and she can’t refuse the house Ben left her in his will. Since Gigi’s fling with Roe’s father ended in a complete disaster, she isn’t looking for a man, she’s content with her life and her daughter is her everything. Meeting sheriff Jess confuses her. Yes, the man is handsome, but oh so rude. When his behavior does a 180, she doesn’t know what to think of it. “Why did he have to be so perfect? Couldn’t he have gotten uglier these last few days? But I wasn’t going to let him fluster me. He was just a hot guy and I needed to keep my cool and get him the hell out of here. Because even though he was hot, he was a complete jerk.” Jess is born and raised in Prescott, Montana. When his father walked out on his family, Jess became responsible for his sweet but fragile mother and his younger sister Felicity. Luckily, one of the townsmen – Ben – took him under his wings, to teach him the things a man should know growing up. Nowadays Jess is the Prescott sheriff, he likes his job, his town and his life in general. He isn’t seeing anybody, but since he’s an attractive man he has no problem finding a willing partner when he wants to. Jess thinks he knows all about Gigi, but when he sees her in person he realizes his assumptions are wrong. “Not that I was complaining about the kiss. I’d be okay with one of those every day for the rest of my life. Damn. Why had I let him kiss me? I shouldn’t have let him win the argument. I should have pushed away. I was effing confused.” To say the first few meetings between Gigi and Jess are not pleasant is a bit of an understatement. Jess assumes Gigi is a ‘gold-digger’ who swindled Ben out of his house, and Gigi is sure Jess is nothing but rude douchebag. It doesn’t take long before Jess realizes his mistake, but a first impression is what sticks… But there is an attraction between them, and Gigi isn’t the person to hold a mean grudge. Slowly they get to know each other, and Jess and Gigi just match. Because of Gigi’s daughter Roe they don’t rush things, but it’s clear they will be together.I love the story of Jess and Gigi! However, it’s not all sunshine and rainbows. Jess never had a serious relationship in his life and clearly needs to learn how to communicate. Especially with the woman he wants to build a life with. Gigi forgives Jess for his ‘missteps’, but not after explaining loud and clear what he did wrong. She’s no doormat at all, but she chooses her battles. Not everything is worth fighting over. Besides Jess and Gigi’s building relationship there’s a suspense plotline throughout the story. It adds to the story, and doesn’t take away from the main storyline. “He kissed me. A kiss so long and deep, I forgot all about the bad stuff in life and just remembered the good. Because we had a lot. And we were going to live it good together.” I adore this book, plain and simple. I give The Coppersmith Farmhouse 5 stars. I can’t wait for the future books by this author.The Coppersmith Farmhouse is reviewed for Books and Tequila:www.booksandtequila.comwww.mariekesbooks.com
    more
  • Melanie A.
    March 12, 2017
    So, all the elements of a great story were here: good writing, interesting plot and characters, and a beautiful setting. They just didn't come together in a way that made me love it. I think my main problem was Jess and Gigi's relationship. The thing with alphas is that they have to either be paired with a woman who stands up to them (which creates the banter that we love), or they can't be so disrespectful that the heroine gets trampled (which creates friction that doesn't stem from quasi-abuse So, all the elements of a great story were here: good writing, interesting plot and characters, and a beautiful setting. They just didn't come together in a way that made me love it. I think my main problem was Jess and Gigi's relationship. The thing with alphas is that they have to either be paired with a woman who stands up to them (which creates the banter that we love), or they can't be so disrespectful that the heroine gets trampled (which creates friction that doesn't stem from quasi-abuse). And in this one, Gigi acquiesced over and over, no matter what Jess said or did (only once did Jess admit he was wrong; usually he spent his time convincing Gigi how his actions and words were perfectly logical) and that turned me off a bit. Plus, Jess was borderline disrespectful to her so many times in the first 2/3 of the story, saying things like, "I was an asshole this week. Now fucking get over it." I would have enjoyed the book a lot more if Jess had been less over-the-top and Gigi had had some more backbone.
    more
  • Garden Of REden
    March 12, 2017
    REVIEWED BY JENN4.5 STARSI had absolutely no idea what to expect going in to this book. I'm always leery when trying out a new-to-me author, and as it turns out, this is Perry's debut novel. Well, what a debut it turned out to be. I don't like to compare authors, but if you were looking to find out the style of story, it is reminiscent of Kristen Ashley. You have your strong, take-no-crap female, your alpha male sheriff, a gorgeous location, and a cast of side characters that become just as inte REVIEWED BY JENN4.5 STARSI had absolutely no idea what to expect going in to this book. I'm always leery when trying out a new-to-me author, and as it turns out, this is Perry's debut novel. Well, what a debut it turned out to be. I don't like to compare authors, but if you were looking to find out the style of story, it is reminiscent of Kristen Ashley. You have your strong, take-no-crap female, your alpha male sheriff, a gorgeous location, and a cast of side characters that become just as integral to the story as the hero and heroine.Georgia moves to Montana with her daughter Rowen, to live in a farmhouse she inherited. While Gigi loves the town and the friends she's made in it, she's not crazy about Prescott's sheriff, regardless of how hot he is. Gigi, as she goes by, and Jess are like oil and water when they first meet. He refuses to like the girl who is living in "his" house, and she can't get over his a-hole ways. I was practically rubbing my hands together in glee, waiting to watch this play out. Perry did not disappoint. Gigi put up a good fight, but Jess's seriously hot, seriously alpha, refuse to take no for an answer ways were just too much for Gigi to ward off. Gigi's self-confidence had taken a hit in the past, so it was difficult for her to accept Jess's feelings for her. It was not easy to watch her struggle with it. There were times I just wanted to shake her and show her what was right in front of her face. Jess, thankfully, knew exactly what he wanted, and he was going after it. He was all man, but there was a lot of sweet under there as well. "I don't think dinner is such a good idea," I said from the top of the step..."You're going....even if it means I have to pick you up and carry you to the truck.""You wouldn't dare," I hissed."Try me."My hands fisted on my hips. "I'm not going.""Georgia, give me a chance to show you that I'm not the a**hole I've been this week. Please?" See! Total alpha, but total sweetheart. Jess manages to balance both sides with ease. I really enjoyed his character, as well as Gigi's. She was a single mom, doing it all on her own, and not really looking to be taken care of. I loved how easy they fell into a relationship, but worked hard to maintain it. It wasn't an overnight love story, but it wasn't a slow burn either. It was just right. The town of Prescott, Montana is an intriguing place. This book was not just a love story, but one full of suspense and mystery as well! I loved all the secondary characters, and would be thrilled to get stories for all of them. The book wasn't perfect. There were some content errors, but to be honest, I was so taken by the writing, and the story, I overlooked them my first time through the book. That being said, I would HIGHLY recommend this book to fans of small town, big personality love stories! I'll definitely be revisiting this one.
    more
  • Loz
    March 19, 2017
    this was an addictive debut novel, maybe a little predictable but it kept my attention throughout. if you enjoy fast paced books with a cute kid in the mix or a small town feel, you should give it a try. the relationship does move at warp speed, usually not my thing but i was in the mood for a read like this so it suited at the time. i did take an issue with the hero jess a bit though. he is written as an alpha etc but comes off rude and dismissive for a good 60% of the book. not cool because it this was an addictive debut novel, maybe a little predictable but it kept my attention throughout. if you enjoy fast paced books with a cute kid in the mix or a small town feel, you should give it a try. the relationship does move at warp speed, usually not my thing but i was in the mood for a read like this so it suited at the time. i did take an issue with the hero jess a bit though. he is written as an alpha etc but comes off rude and dismissive for a good 60% of the book. not cool because it did no justice to our heroine who cames off a little like a doormat because of it. gigi telling him to stop doing that did not fix the issue as she just keeps giving into him all the time anyway. some might call it dick whipped. anyways from reading this book i can tell the author is a fan of KA so her writing has many similarities at play. the authors voice is similar, readers will either like that or take issue. cheesy overuse of the pet name honey being one of the issues for me. i liked the small town feel and enjoyed all of our side characters. the mystery plot at play was needed and even though a tad predictable, i flew through the book. seeds have been planted and stories teased for future couples, always a plus. regardless of the things i didnt like i did like the book and read it straight through, couldnt put it down. will definitely be reading more of the series. i look forward to more silas, he's intriguing.
    more
  • Christen
    March 12, 2017
    WOW!!! One of the best debut books I have ever read!!!!! This new author had me reading until 3:00 this morning. I couldn't put it down! I have marked my calendar for the other two books planned in this series and plan to one click them as soon as I can!!!! I highly recommend this wonderful story!!Loved, loved, loved it!!
    more
  • Shari Kay
    March 14, 2017
    Wait and see how series pans out safety-wise
  • Terri
    March 12, 2017
    Sweet story! I love a small town romance with a mystery.
  • Janja
    March 17, 2017
    For the author's debut ,this story is incerdibly well written. Mix of friendship,love and criminal story is really interwined with each other to keeps you reading. I just couldn't put it down.Super well done and I can't wait for the next one!
  • Margie
    March 14, 2017
    Not for me. The hero is exactly like how KA writes hers.... and I don't like the possessive type who thinks he owns the person he's dating.
Write a review