Infinity Son (Infinity Cycle, #1)
Balancing epic and intensely personal stakes, bestselling author Adam Silvera’s Infinity Son is a gritty, fast-paced adventure about two brothers caught up in a magical war generations in the making.Growing up in New York, brothers Emil and Brighton always idolized the Spell Walkers—a vigilante group sworn to rid the world of specters. While the Spell Walkers and other celestials are born with powers, specters take them, violently stealing the essence of endangered magical creatures.Brighton wishes he had a power so he could join the fray. Emil just wants the fighting to stop. The cycle of violence has taken a toll, making it harder for anyone with a power to live peacefully and openly. In this climate of fear, a gang of specters has been growing bolder by the day.Then, in a brawl after a protest, Emil manifests a power of his own—one that puts him right at the heart of the conflict and sets him up to be the heroic Spell Walker Brighton always wanted to be.Brotherhood, love, and loyalty will be put to the test, and no one will escape the fight unscathed.

Infinity Son (Infinity Cycle, #1) Details

TitleInfinity Son (Infinity Cycle, #1)
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 14th, 2020
PublisherSimon & Schuster Children's UK
ISBN-139781471187803
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult, LGBT

Infinity Son (Infinity Cycle, #1) Review

  • Adam Silvera
    January 1, 1970
    Hint: PHOENIXES.
  • Kai
    January 1, 1970
    A phoenix might live forever but my hopes just died with this book.You might be shaking your head, thinking One star, for real? Bit of a dramatic move. Well, that makes two of us. I didn’t have high expectations when I started this book – both What If It's Us and They Both Die at the End were disappointing – and I thought I’d rate this with two stars, maybe three. The first few chapters were rocky but then I started to enjoy myself. And around the 100-page mark, it all went downhill again. So mu A phoenix might live forever but my hopes just died with this book.You might be shaking your head, thinking One star, for real? Bit of a dramatic move. Well, that makes two of us. I didn’t have high expectations when I started this book – both What If It's Us and They Both Die at the End were disappointing – and I thought I’d rate this with two stars, maybe three. The first few chapters were rocky but then I started to enjoy myself. And around the 100-page mark, it all went downhill again. So much that I can’t justify giving more than one star. Never in my life did I think I’d rate a Silvera book so low.Let’s start with something positive. I’m glad that a fantasy book with a gay main character written by a gay Latinx author receives such a hype. That would not have been possible ten or even five years ago. In addition, Infinity Son has lots of queer characters and people of colour, so the representation is there. Infinity Son also touches on the subject of body image, which seems to be a very important topic for the author. Now I wish all of this had been received a good plot and characters too but that’s not the case.The world-building is non-existent. You are thrown into this world without any information and you have to make all the pieces fit somehow. Specters, Blood Casters, Spell Walkers, Celestials…I still have no idea what the latter is. There is no mention of the history of magical creatures such as phoenixes, how they came to be, what their relationship with humans is/was like.The biggest problem though is the pacing. Attention to detail is crucial when you build any fantasy world. I’m not a fan of Cassandra Clare’s but what can be said for her is that she took her time introducing the characters, the magical object, the legends and lore. And we do get a glimpse of that at the beginning of the book when we learn about all the different sorts of phoenixes that exist. But with Silvera it’s mostly dialogue and then we dive straight into the action. There is no room for the magical world to unfold, for us to wonder about certain characters as we slowly get to know them.That’s another major problem: Silvera hands you all the solutions to what could have been exciting mysteries on a silver platter approximately two pages after the mystery was created. When he doesn’t, the reveal or plot twist is easily predictable. And as I mentioned before, we don’t get to know the characters. There are loads of them. They’re from different backgrounds, different sides of the war, with different abilities and complicated relationships with one another. But then why do they so entirely interchangeable? The only person who has a distinct voice is Brighton, one of the two main characters. He may be annoying and self-centred and fame-hungry, but he totally has that down. It makes him unique, which is more than I can say for every other character. They don’t have depth, and as a result, I didn’t care whether they lived or died.Let’s also talk about clichés. And the fact that they’re really not that bad when they’re a) gay and b) executed well enough. The thing is though, being “the Chosen One” doesn’t all of a sudden seem less realistic because you start pointing out how much of a cliché it is. It just makes it ridiculous. Then we of course have the tortured main character torn between fighting the good cause and not wanting to hurt and kill people. Which is a valid struggle but then make me feel it! (view spoiler)[The worst cliché of them all is the “You have superpowers and we don’t because you’re not actually our biological child and we adopted you as a little baby” scene. It was so unoriginal that I had to put the book down and get all that eye-rolling out of my system. (hide spoiler)]What I’ll never understand is why authors won’t just call magic & superpowers “magic” & “superpowers”. Instead, we get “gleamcraft”. This is not the first time Adam used weird synonyms in his books to reference concepts (or fandoms) that already exist in fiction. But just because Rainbow Rowell did it doesn’t mean we all have to. It didn’t work for her, and it sure didn’t work for Adam.If someone had given me this book ten years ago I would have eaten it up as twelve-year-olds tend to do. But this is Adam’s 5th book and I don’t understand how it turned out to be so amateurish. This was worse than everything he’s published before. Yes, I didn’t have high hopes for Infinity Son. I wanted to love it. But I’m disappointed to say that I was right.Find more of my books on Instagram
    more
  • Chaima ✨ شيماء
    January 1, 1970
    Adam Silvera + fantasy + gay is a combination that can defeat Thanos
  • Hamad
    January 1, 1970
    This Review ✍ Blog 📖 Twitter 🐦 Instagram 📷 “I didn’t grow up with powers, but I’ve been a brother for eighteen years. No fire burns brighter than that.” 🌟 I am going to be the villain in this story and say that maybe Adam should stick to writing contemporary novels and I am going to explain why. I initially gave the book 3 stars as I felt pressured to do so in support of Adam but that would not be honest. I think 2 stars is a rating I feel more comfortable with.🌟You see, there is an idea and it This Review ✍️ Blog 📖 Twitter 🐦 Instagram 📷 “I didn’t grow up with powers, but I’ve been a brother for eighteen years. No fire burns brighter than that.” 🌟 I am going to be the villain in this story and say that maybe Adam should stick to writing contemporary novels and I am going to explain why. I initially gave the book 3 stars as I felt pressured to do so in support of Adam but that would not be honest. I think 2 stars is a rating I feel more comfortable with.🌟You see, there is an idea and it sounds kind of good but the execution was not that brilliant. The world building was bad and I am not happy to say this. I think there was no world building to begin with. For the first half of the book, I felt like I was reading one of Adam's contemporaries. I did not feel that it was fantasy, it read more like a contemporary set in a fantasy world.🌟 There was a lot of mention of the Blackout which is supposed to be an important event that happened in the past. The elaboration of that event was so minimal that I thought I missed something and I went back and searched the world, and literally what it says about the blackout is (The worst attack New York has seen in my life time) and that's it, make what you can of that sentence but that does not make it sound like something terrible as it should be.🌟 I am embarrassed to say that I have already forgotten the names of the characters but that does not surprise me, they were kind of flat and I really did not care about them the way I usually do in Adam's novels. One of them was annoying and I knew where the story was going after a few pages when we learnt a few things about them.🌟 I also remembered readers reviews of Again but Better by Christine Riccio because many readers felt they were reading her story and it felt uncomfortable for them to pry on her life and at first I had the same thoughts about this book because I thought the MC was like Adam, both of them are from the Bronx for example.🌟 The plot was okay, I was not that surprised by the twists but I liked the idea of phoenixes and the re-incarnation aspect. There was another thing I was salty about which is the wands that I felt are supposed to give me the HP vibes but all they did was adding into the mess that is called world building.🌟 I was excited for this book and I saw readers saying that it gave them tears and heartache and I felt the same but for obviously different reasons (aka disappointment). And I think this book can use some of the phoenix abilities, for example burning and reliving in a different form!🌟 Summary: OMG, I am certainly upset by my experience reading this book and I won't be continuing the series unless a miracle happen. The idea is not bad but it was not well executed on paper! I guess I will be waiting for his contemporary and until then, peace ✌️.you can still get the book from here: Book Depository
    more
  • emi
    January 1, 1970
    I can't believe we are to be #blessed with an Adam Silvera fantasy book. We don't deserve this. I may or may not be stalking his social media everyday in hopes of just a sneak peak at this book. Love you Adam.
  • Farith
    January 1, 1970
    A FANTASY BOOK BY ADAM SILVERA??
  • ✨ jamieson ✨
    January 1, 1970
    INFINITY SON. 2020. ADAM SILVERA FANTASY. GAY FANTASY. YEE FUCKING HAW THIS IS NOT A DRILL
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    Adam Silvera writes fantasy!?!?...I'm bringing my tissues...Y'all know it's gonna hurt.
  • Cody Roecker
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE 7/20:Dreams have come true. I have finished this brutal book, and am so incredibly in love with each and every character.Update: 7/13/19Hell. Fucking. Yes. I. Need. This. Now. Update: 12/2/18Honestly it doesnt matter what this is, I'm sure to love it, and its sure to burn me to ashes so...I'm ready for.itupdate 5/26/17: I have a theory that probably isn't true but would be cool. what if this is the Scorpius Hawthorne series that are mentioned in his other books? I would die, tbh. I am ass UPDATE 7/20:Dreams have come true. I have finished this brutal book, and am so incredibly in love with each and every character.Update: 7/13/19Hell. Fucking. Yes. I. Need. This. Now. Update: 12/2/18Honestly it doesnt matter what this is, I'm sure to love it, and its sure to burn me to ashes so...I'm ready for.itupdate 5/26/17: I have a theory that probably isn't true but would be cool. what if this is the Scorpius Hawthorne series that are mentioned in his other books? I would die, tbh. I am assuming we are going to be getting some sort of gay fantasy with epic magic systems and political intrigue; and that it will be one of the most amazing things ever because duh, it's Adam.
    more
  • Xandra (StarrySkyBooks)
    January 1, 1970
    UPDATE #2: It happened. I received the notice this morning! I got an eARC! 😭 //UPDATE: ADAM JUST RELEASED THE TITLE - It’s called “Infinity Son” !!!! - AND ITS GOING TO BE A SERIES?? I AM NOT OKAYSOMEONE HOLD ME ✨(PS I also made a blog post!) ✨//Fantasy AND Adam Silvera? Count me 110% in.
    more
  • N (they/them)
    January 1, 1970
    01/23/18Does this book have a release date? No Does this book have a cover? NoDoes this book have a title? NoAm I going to add to my anticipated releases shelf? Of course I am, it's by Adam Silvera...
  • Elise (TheBookishActress)
    January 1, 1970
    thanks for my life Adam
  • Cassandra {semi-hiatus}
    January 1, 1970
    I love how we’re all at the point where we can say that we will read a book without a synopsis or title just because the master of all sass Adam Silvera wrote it. What a time to be alive. :)
  • Sol ~ TheBookishKing
    January 1, 1970
    This book had so many elements that would have made me It's Bitch. ~ queer Latino main characters~ a beautiful cover~ magic and magical birds~ Latinx families and upbringingbut this felt like I was reading a little kids third-grade free time essay ,,, it's messy, the writing isn't good at all, the storyline is so jumbled it just doesn't make sense, and on top of that this magic system isn't explained at ALL and it just throws you in expecting you to just know what all these terms mean. After mak This book had so many elements that would have made me It's Bitch. ~ queer Latino main characters~ a beautiful cover~ magic and magical birds~ Latinx families and upbringingbut this felt like I was reading a little kids third-grade free time essay ,,, it's messy, the writing isn't good at all, the storyline is so jumbled it just doesn't make sense, and on top of that this magic system isn't explained at ALL and it just throws you in expecting you to just know what all these terms mean. After making it 30% in, I still for the life of me could not be able to explain to you in full what a Celestial is, does, or how they get their powers. I wouldn't be able to explain to you where these Phoenixes' come from or their importance cause all of their info is just dumped into two little paragraphs for you to HEAVILY decipher in order to remember all these birds.I'm so heavily disappointed but oh well, July just hated me. Oh, I did DNF this but like, there's no possible way this could have got better so I wasn't going to torture myself. BR w/ my homie, Kels
    more
  • Claire ✨
    January 1, 1970
    An amateurish first draft of a book, INFINITY SON drags itself through juvenile writing and lifeless characters in a poorly-built world.Yikes. I had never read an Adam Silvera book before INFINITY SON... and safe to say I'll probably not read anything else by him again.His contemporaries, the premises of which don't interest me, are praised to the moon and back, so naturally when I heard he was writing a fantasy I was immediately piqued. INFINITY SON is about a teen in modern New York thrust int An amateurish first draft of a book, INFINITY SON drags itself through juvenile writing and lifeless characters in a poorly-built world.Yikes. I had never read an Adam Silvera book before INFINITY SON... and safe to say I'll probably not read anything else by him again.His contemporaries, the premises of which don't interest me, are praised to the moon and back, so naturally when I heard he was writing a fantasy I was immediately piqued. INFINITY SON is about a teen in modern New York thrust into a magical war when powers of his surface, the likes of which no one has ever seen.Then it takes the awesome premise and kicks it to the kerb, spits on its mother, and leaves it to die in the cold.How can I describe how shallow this novel felt? How lifeless? Even though it's set in contemporary New York, there's no attempt to slowly draw you into the magical elements of this alternate world. So many terms are dropped around so fast that you aren't given any breathing room to digest the information. I still can't tell my Spell Walkers and Halo Knights and Blood Casters and reincarnations and phoenix breeds from one and the other. It expects you to know everything as it blazes along, no thought to the poor reader who has no idea what's going on. I suspect Silvera is so used to writing contemporary that actually having to weave fantasy elements into the real world escaped him, but it's no excuse for such awful world-building.INFINITY SON also swaps guns for wands with... absurd results. "Wand violence" is a thing mentioned. Need I say more?Likewise, character introductions are not given the time they deserve, and as such the myriad of superheroes meld together to form a faceless, forgettable cast. I can't stress enough that the characters are poorly written. There! Are! So! Many! And half of them are unnecessary, including the POVs. Let's run them down:• Emil, the protagonist. Awkward teen who doesn't want the powers foisted onto him. Didn't particular care for him.• Brighton, Emil's twin brother and deuteragonist. He runs a vlog that stalks the magical people of this world. Worst character in the entire novel, and I'll explain why below.• Ma, Emil and Brighton's mother and just there for some reason? Her only purpose is to whine at Emil and Brighton for going out and doing things.• Prudencia, Emil and Brighton's best friend... who ties with Ma in uselessness.• Maribelle, the leader of the Good Guys and the third POV. She's obsessed with revenge and... that's it. That's her only personality trait.• Iris, Maribelle's sister (maybe? I literally can't tell). Iris resents Maribelle for some reason and again, that's her only personality trait.• Atlas, Maribelle's boyfriend. That's all.• Wesley, speedster... who was just there.• Eva, a healer who is also just there. Gets diversity points being Iris' girlfriend.• Ness, the fourth POV, a shapeshifter that works for the Bad Guys. When he's captured by the Good Guys, Emil instantly trusts him for some reason?• Dione, big, buff bad lady who does stuff.• Stanton, who... er... who is this guy again?• June, a mute baddie who possesses people? Walks through walls? I don't know. Everyone in the novel is obsessed with her.• Orton, a drug dealer.• Luna, the Biggest Bad, who has zero personality besides "always two steps ahead".• Senator Iron, generic corrupt politician.• Councilwoman Sunstar, the only rival to Senator Iron who appears for one scene and one scene only.Then there's a bunch of dead people who are name-dropped all the time: Bautista, Keon, Leon(??), Sera...I'll be the first to say that all of these characters had roles in some way or another (except you, Ma), but they could have been easily cut or condensed into other characters so that the cast that I am being forced to care about isn't so egregiously large.That's INFINITY SON's biggest problem. Because the characters are given no development time aside from shallow "here's my tragic past" moments, I don't care about a single one of them. I don't care when one is betrayed. I don't shed a tear when one dies. I don't fear for their lives when they're hurt, and I don't swoon when they're romancing their love interests. In fact, the only thing INFINITY SON does right by its characters is diversity, having a cast from all backgrounds, but Gay isn't a personality trait. If I don't care about the characters, I don't care what they're fighting for, and ultimately I don't care about the book.Brighton, in particular, is The Worst, even though the book tries to force empathy for him several times. In the beginning, he's reckless to the point of endangering his friends and family all for the sake of getting those sweet, sweet views, and entirely lacks common sense (because you know, I want to film this war between magical people who will not hesitate to kill me, and who cares if I'm a burden to the Good Guys who are forced to protect me, right? ).He's horrible, but not in a way that's unlikeable, because even the unlikeable protagonist has some trait of theirs that makes me want to root for them. Brighton has absolutely nothing going for him and, worse, he doesn't learn squat by the end of the book. He's still shallow. He still lacks common sense. He's still reckless. He's still madly obsessed with YouTube and views. I rolled my eyes multiple times at his utter foolishness.Where do I also begin with the awful writing? The hollow attempts to be hip and cool as it drops cringe references to modern culture left and right? It will date the book in a matter of months. The amount of enthusiastic Internet references, like to Instagram and viral videos and YouTube and Tumblr and even freakin' Lyft... there's a way it can be done so that it doesn't seem like that the only thing that matters in the world, but here, it entirely overshadows the fantasy aspects. Heck, there's more focus on Brighton's vlog's view count than there is the freakin' magical creatures! You know, the phoenix on the cover? The thing that defines this book as fantasy???Aside from that, the writing itself is so juvenile and not what I'd expect from an established author. The metaphor usage is so jarring; it could be an intense scene with the weirdest comparisons that immediately break immersion.She lands and kicks me in the ribs so hard, like I owe her money or something.You're telling me Emil's getting his ass kicked, and he has the time and mental space to compare it to "owing her money"? And then to weaken the whole metaphor anyway by adding in "or something"? Hwat???What also annoyed me to heck and back is the constant summarising of EVERYTHING. Take this one scene that has Emil and co. fighting a bunch of bad guys. As his cohorts are knocked aside, Emil must take charge. Instead of:In no time, the fire is spreading. I brave through the gray and gold flames. Iris is running behind me, and Atlas flies above."Atlas, get Brighton and Prudencia out of here!" I shout.The higher I get up the steps, the more my rib cage aches.It goes:In no time, the fire is spreading. I brave through the gray and gold flames. Iris is running behind me, and Altas flies above. I shout for Atlas to get Brighton and Prudencia out of here. I can't believe I'm out here giving instructions, but time is wasting. The higher I get up the steps, the more my rib cage aches.As a composition technique, summarising should be used for scenes that need to be mentioned but are not important overall in the narrative arc, and I'd say that Emil taking charge for the first time since becoming a Good Guy is extremely important to his development.Here's another scene, where someone is spilling Tragic Backstory to Emil.I tell him I'm sorry for his loss, even though it's too many years too late.Why not just have him say, "I'm sorry for your loss"? Especially when the other character ends up replying in dialogue anyway?This sort of writing is all over the book, and it's no wonder that the characters feel like hollow, lifeless plot devices when they're not afforded opportunities to become characters. This type of writing also kills the pacing, as it speeds through moments that shape a character in the reader's eyes.Let's not forget the tendency to create suspense... only for it to be solved two pages later with summary. Sigh.There's no distinguishing trait between the voices in this book aside from the slang dropped in every other paragraph.The Blood Casters have got me straight scared with how still they are.Compare this writing to Angie Thomas. Thomas absolutely nails a voice who uses slang all the time, but here I just want to shrivel with every 'straight up [blank]', '[blank] as hell', 'legit', 'go off' and 'no lie'. There's just something here that makes it cringe rather than tied to any of the POV's voices.Also:[…] so I got to be quick with fire if he comes for me.No, this wasn't dialogue. Yes, this happens a handful of times. I suspect this was intentional but only comes across, like the plethora of slang, as irritating.Finally I want to talk about the use of the Chosen One trope. Listen, I love this trope to heck and back, but in this instance it was twisted into silliness. If you're going to lampshade about how Emil is the Chosen One personified "just like in those comics" you have to at least subvert the trope and my expectations somehow, otherwise it comes off as campy. Of course, Emil and co. getting powers when they most needed it was just so convenient for the plot.No, unfortunately, INFINITY SON is beleaguered with terrible writing, terrible world-building, and terrible characters. Like I said in my summary, this reads like a first draft that needs a huge structural edit. Not something I'll be able to buy in a few months.If you want a book about phoenixes with great world-building? See CROWN OF FEATHERS instead. WILL I READ ON? You know, despite everything, I didn't actually hate INFINITY SON. It's more disappointed anger than frustrated anger that I wanted to channel into this 1.4k review. It had it's so-bad-it's-good moments, you know? I guess if anyone's willing to give me a copy of the sequel to review I'd read it.But otherwise, heck no.(But I bet this'll still hit the NYT.)eArc received from Simon and Schuster UK Children's in exchange for an honest review. This book releases 14th January 2020.LAST REVIEW
    more
  • Sabrina
    January 1, 1970
    I can't fucking believe that I got a ARC of this book.This had a unique concept (that I think wasn't executed as well as it could have been), multiple pov, a okay writing and LGBT representation.-----ARC received from publishers via Edelweiss in exchange for an honest reviewOfficial release date: 14th January 2020.
    more
  • Clephiro (The Book Coven)
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. Well, that will be my last Adam Silvera novel. I hope he finds his audience, but it is not me. The whole narration style is written as if by a 15-year-old boy, 5 years in the past. So the whole book is stuffed with what feels antiquated slang. Coupled with the super casual narration that uses absurd comparisons, and I just couldn't. The writing style will work for someone, that someone is not me.The plot is a mash-up of x-men and Harry Potter with much better diversity. Unfortunately, I thi Wow. Well, that will be my last Adam Silvera novel. I hope he finds his audience, but it is not me. The whole narration style is written as if by a 15-year-old boy, 5 years in the past. So the whole book is stuffed with what feels antiquated slang. Coupled with the super casual narration that uses absurd comparisons, and I just couldn't. The writing style will work for someone, that someone is not me.The plot is a mash-up of x-men and Harry Potter with much better diversity. Unfortunately, I think the author crammed about 5 seasons worth of material in this book. I found the pace to be quite fast, with no real narrative structure. Once the action started on page 50 or so, it was full speed ahead until the end of the book. Every second sentence had some absurd revelation that was used as a cheap trick to keep the reader hooked. I would certainly have appreciated more time for a breather because people changed their minds and motives so quickly I might as well have been watching a game of pong.
    more
  • Lauren Lanzilotta
    January 1, 1970
    Looks like our Lord and Saviour has chosen January 2020 to officially save YA fantasy.
  • Jaye Berry
    January 1, 1970
    *Record scratch, freeze frame* So you're probably wondering how I got in this situation.A couple days ago:Friend: Hey I got an arc of Infinity Son do you want to borrow?Me, knowing damn well I don't like Adam Silvera's writing: Sure!And another 1 star book is born.***In other news: for as much as I've heard Adam Silvera talk about this book and how excited he was to write it, I really thought this would be a high fantasy but no. This is an urban fantasy with a magic system that never really make *Record scratch, freeze frame* So you're probably wondering how I got in this situation.A couple days ago:Friend: Hey I got an arc of Infinity Son do you want to borrow?Me, knowing damn well I don't like Adam Silvera's writing: Sure!And another 1 star book is born.***In other news: for as much as I've heard Adam Silvera talk about this book and how excited he was to write it, I really thought this would be a high fantasy but no. This is an urban fantasy with a magic system that never really makes any sense. Everything has tons of confusing and interchangeable names for things that aren't even explained either. Things are just dropped and we're just supposed to go, ah yes wands, specters, celestials, spell walkers, enforcers, cool cool.This is a me thing but I hate books that never shut up about social media and this book really wouldn't stop. One of the MCs, Brighton, is a youtuber and besides being an annoying and awful person, that is his main personality trait. "Oh danger?? Better get my camera and check youtube! Oh my god 100k followers? I'm a hero!" Dude shut up I don't give a single shit about your follower count, think of something else for one second.Emil is super whiny and annoying and he is also a little bit too self-inserty seeming to me. I don't know the author obviously but what I know of him and from the other books he's written? Yeah... interesting how they all seem to be the same kind of MC from him. Write what you know huh?If the characters and the world-building weren't bad enough, this plot is yikes. While it had a lot of action, it was all so uninteresting and there kept being random twists that would come out of nowhere to be shocking but were just annoying. Plus out of nowhere there was random POV switches of people we didn't even know and that got me laughing. Everyone was super dramatic and cheesy too.This book is literally a weird mashup fanfiction of Harry Potter and X-men. He also tries to shove a bunch of real world topics and commentary in here that was just so cringy it actually hurt. Wand violence y'all. Think before you reload your wand.The writing was just... stop. The narration was SO bad. It was all such weird and cringe dialogue with strange slang like an adult trying to talk like a "cool" teenage while also probably being like how the author talks now. It's like writing a book and they don't just talk in awkward hipster meme language, they also think it. I had to stop a lot to screech, really.To add to literally everything else, this book ends on a huge cliffhanger literally mid scene. Just... no. I'm happy that Adam Silvera has finally gotten to write the book of his dreams and I know this will have an audience who loves his style of writing, bizarreness, and attempts at humor but that isn't me. Best of luck, I want to pretend I never read this now.
    more
  • Tucker
    January 1, 1970
    well, Dhonielle Clayton told me that i "have to get myself a copy" so...i will...THROUGH ANY MEANS NECESSARY
  • megs_bookrack
    January 1, 1970
    ...optimistically places on '2020-bookshelf'...It's Pride Month and I believe in MAGIC 🌈🦄
  • turniip
    January 1, 1970
    I apologize for the gif use but... I really needed it today. Lindsay's my entire mood on this book.I didn't like What if it's Us but I'd never read any Adam Silvera before that, and we all know I'm really a fantasy slut, so while I went in with very low expectations, there was a chance that I'd vibe more with this book. But it did not happen, and I'm left very confused about what I just read.Look, I appreciate the author's note he wrote so much. I look for representation in what I'm reading too, I apologize for the gif use but... I really needed it today. Lindsay's my entire mood on this book.I didn't like What if it's Us but I'd never read any Adam Silvera before that, and we all know I'm really a fantasy slut, so while I went in with very low expectations, there was a chance that I'd vibe more with this book. But it did not happen, and I'm left very confused about what I just read.Look, I appreciate the author's note he wrote so much. I look for representation in what I'm reading too, and I'm happy that younger generations are getting to see themselves in stories. I respect that and will not belittle that this book contains a gay protagonist, multiple queer ships, reference of a genderqueer person (I can't really call them a character because they're... not), and normalization of diversity, if at times a bit repetitive. But for my subjective eyes, this book was bad. The writing is so lacking in description that I'm almost thankful it's an urban fantasy because otherwise I'd have no idea where we were. The fight scenes are so cut and dry and over in two paragraphs that it felt like they were there out of necessity but lacking any passion. The dialogue serves to give every plot twist, giving no characters the chance to realize things for themselves, and was so melodramatic at times that I rolled my eyes.Emil and Brighton were, for me, completely unlikable. They're both prioritizing all the wrong things at the wrong moments, and if I had to hear more about Emil's instagram or Brighton's youtube, I was going to screech, even with Brighton's "so selfless" motive. Dude wants attention and I'm Tired. They were simultaneously obsessed with social media (Brighton even insists on taking credit for the idea to memorialize someone on instagram, which just sealed in how annoying he was to me) while shitting on it: “...others get out their phones to record. Maybe if I was their favorite show that was about to get canceled they would care more, but instead I’m about to become a headline they’ll glimpse before moving on” ch. 7(this is from an arc and subject to change). This line in particular annoyed me because it happens early in the book and then they continue to constantly use and misuse social media to try to benefit their cause (which I really just could have done without because it felt lame and the implications at the end make it seem like it's a slippery slope from craving internet attention to Bad Things).The plot and the villain were very underdeveloped, in my opinion. The villain is present a lot but no real development happens, just repetition of goals and some twists of "oh wow look who talks to me!!" There was no real reason to care about stopping the villain other than "more of what's been happening will continue and maybe worse but no specifics!" - there were personal incentives on the "good" side because of past actions but we had no real reason to care about these characters aside from their standing and these backstories, so it became and endless cycle of me trying to care and being unable to actually feel like there were high stakes.The magic system didn't work for me at all - there's nothing else to say there. It felt corny and like an x-men ripoff (kinda the entire book, really, good mutants v bad mutants and all) and I, again, couldn't bring myself to care.I can't recommend this book to anyone but people who enjoy the author's other works, because then maybe his plot choices and writing style here will work for you, but it was a huge miss for me and my friends.1/5
    more
  • Ellie (faerieontheshelf)
    January 1, 1970
    I’ve not read a Silvera book before but I’ve heard loads of great things, which was why I was incredibly intrigued about INFINITY SON. But sadly for now it’s a DNF and I’ll be passing my proof copy onto someone who will hopefully love it a lot more.Everything just seemed to be going wrong for me: I didn’t sync with the writing style; I wasn’t in the mood; the worldbuilding was clunky and ill-explained and I was confused from the start; it wasn’t original enough to keep my attention and felt very I’ve not read a Silvera book before but I’ve heard loads of great things, which was why I was incredibly intrigued about INFINITY SON. But sadly for now it’s a DNF and I’ll be passing my proof copy onto someone who will hopefully love it a lot more.Everything just seemed to be going wrong for me: I didn’t sync with the writing style; I wasn’t in the mood; the worldbuilding was clunky and ill-explained and I was confused from the start; it wasn’t original enough to keep my attention and felt very similar to other urban fantasies but just not as good. That said, I have no doubt that this book will really mean something to lgbtq+ teens when it comes out in January 2020. It’s wonderful to have a queer male hero in a YA novel. Frankly, I do hope to give INFINITY SON another chance sometime. Maybe when it’s released and I’ve heard good things from friends I’ll try it again.*
    more
  • Magdalena Deniz
    January 1, 1970
    Okay, so this is Bad. (I have a lot to say, both about the book and its author and the fandom circulating around both, but I will start with the book.)There is absolutely no world-building. The reader is violently catapulted into this fantasy/magical version of modern NYC. There are people called celestials (they have powers) and also there are specters (they also have powers, but they got them the Bad Way by drinking magical creature blood) and there are Spell Walkers (who do god knows what. Se Okay, so this is Bad. (I have a lot to say, both about the book and its author and the fandom circulating around both, but I will start with the book.)There is absolutely no world-building. The reader is violently catapulted into this fantasy/magical version of modern NYC. There are people called celestials (they have powers) and also there are specters (they also have powers, but they got them the Bad Way by drinking magical creature blood) and there are Spell Walkers (who do god knows what. Seriously, they go after specters and celestials, but no reason is given. like what the fuck is their purpose?). Adam Silvera has an entire fantasy world up in his head, with absolutely no way to communicate it. And, frankly, that's very disappointing. This is his fifth book. He should know how to clear things up for the reader. And also, he states in his author's note that he has wanted to write this book for 10 years. That is more than enough time to put together a brief explanation as to what the fuck the point is of all these people with powers.Now let's get to the characters, Emil and Brighton. It's like Adam Silvera split up his personality, and projected them completely onto them. He tends to do this in all of his books (especially in What If It's Us...), but here, it's just downright cringey. Neither of the main characters is likable. All they do is whine about unimportant shit, and they're so self-absorbed, I want to hit them. I got to page 100 and realized I could not connect even the tiniest bit with either, which is just bad character writing, plain and simple. If by page 100 in a 300-page book, the reader still feels like the main character is a complete and total stranger, you're doing it wrong.Now to the really important thing: This book shouldn't be successful. From what I read in the manuscript, it was rushed, poorly executed, and there was a complete and total lack of communication through the narration of the author's ideas to the readers. But knowing what happened with What if it's Us, this book is going to be a hit, and here's why: Because it features a gay poc romance.I believe in representation. I believe it is important to shine a light on lgbtq+ relationships and ESPECIALLY lgbtq people of color, and their stories. I believe full-heartedly that there should be more books about heroes who aren't cis, straight, and white. But I also believe in good writing. And I think that lgbtq characters of color deserve to be in well written, well-developed books. Not this. Not anything like this.To me, I feel like this book will become popular not because other lgbtq teens of color read and enjoy it (although if they do, it is fine, this review is just my opinion), but because 13-year-old cis straight girls who fetishize gay romance will read this just so they can add Emil to their "my gay sons" list. It's gross, and it's weird and it's disgusting, but it's the truth. Adam Silvera's books feed this particular audience; I have too many memories of bookcon when What if it's Us was coming out, all of them filled with me cringing at cis, straight preteen girls squealing over the fact that they had the chance to win an ARC of a gay romance book. I did not see ONE lgbtq person of color reacting to the book in that way. It was loved only because it featured a mlm relationship-- one that was, by the way, extremely unhealthy, with both characters being obsessive and weirdly possessive with one another, and their arguments being so nasty, I consider it to be verbal abuse. They feed off of it, and it's despicable.I read the Infinity Son manuscript and only made it through 150 pages. That's halfway through the book. I did not like this book. Simply put: Adam Silvera should be better at writing by now. Yet this book reads as if it's the very first words he's ever written down on a page. There is no development of characters. There is no world-building. There is no clear, concise explanation as to what the fuck everything is in this new, magical world. There is only confusion, and random, dramatic cliches hrown in just for shock value, or for an easy explanation that doesn't require much thought. Things happen out of nowhere. Nothing makes sense. Nothing in this book has a purpose. This book has no direction. It's predictable and just plain wrong, and I really hope other people see that, too. But no one will say this for fear of looking mean. I think there are other lgbtq+ authors who are also people of color who have books and stories to tell, but they don't have the following or the means to share their books to the public in such a widespread way that Adam silvera does. This in itself is an injustice; we should not continue highlighting the same voice when he continues to fail and fail again, we should be branching out and discovering new talent that can actually shed a positive, beautiful light on necessary stories, like what Infinity Son should have been.
    more
  • *mk*
    January 1, 1970
    DNF at 30% This book just isn’t for me, for several reasons. One, I’ve only ever really liked different perspectives in one book: Six of Crows. I’ve tolerated it in some other books, where it made sense. There were already four perspectives 30% of the way through and I honestly couldn’t keep track. This wasn’t helped by the jumbled world building. Now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a fantasy book that is set in the modern day. I also prefer a slower beginning, especially DNF at 30% This book just isn’t for me, for several reasons. One, I’ve only ever really liked different perspectives in one book: Six of Crows. I’ve tolerated it in some other books, where it made sense. There were already four perspectives 30% of the way through and I honestly couldn’t keep track. This wasn’t helped by the jumbled world building. Now that I think about it, I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a fantasy book that is set in the modern day. I also prefer a slower beginning, especially when it comes to magic. I don’t like just being thrown in. Again, I think these things will work for other readers but it is just distracting for me and I couldn’t finish this book. One star for a cool book cover and phoenixes, the other star because I think this book is going to take a strong stance on social issues that we see today (that’s the direction it seemed to be going before I put it down) but If I wasn’t invested at that point, I wasn’t going to be.
    more
  • Brianna
    January 1, 1970
    I never knew how much I needed Adam to write a fantasy book until now
  • Lunabookaddict
    January 1, 1970
    wow I'm so disappointed actually
  • Aentee
    January 1, 1970
    I need this. I want my heart ripped out Silvera-style, but with magic, please and thank you.I love the spin that Adam Silvera has in the alternate universes of his books so far - so to say I am excited for his fantasy debut is a huge understatement.
  • AJ
    January 1, 1970
    gays and fantasy? sign me the f u c k up
  • ricardo
    January 1, 1970
    WE STILL HAVEN'T GOTTEN THE SECOND BOOK OF 2017 AND HE'S ALREADY WRITING ANOTHER BOOK?!? oh lawd.
Write a review