A Grave Calling (Bodies of Evidence, #1)
There had been no attempt to bury the dead girl, naked except for the white ribbon tied to her wristTwenty-five-year-old Julie Hall has a unique ability: when she takes up a dowsing rod, she finds not water but bodies. To Julie, it's a curse, not a gift, and one she rarely uses—she prefers her quiet life in a trailer, with her grandfather and her dog for company. But when FBI agent Garrett Pierce shows up at her door seeking help with a case, she has no choice but to assist with their search. Three girls are still missing. The killer is still out there. As bodies are discovered and more girls disappear, the case becomes almost more than Julie can bear. And when the killer turns his sights toward her, even her growing relationship with the protective Agent Garrett may not be enough to save her.

A Grave Calling (Bodies of Evidence, #1) Details

TitleA Grave Calling (Bodies of Evidence, #1)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 5th, 2017
PublisherCarina Press
Number of pages250 pages
Rating
GenreMystery, Fiction, Thriller, Mystery Thriller, Suspense

A Grave Calling (Bodies of Evidence, #1) Review

  • Linda Strong
    May 24, 2017
    Julie Hall has a blessing ...or a curse. With the help of dowsing rods, she can locate dead bodies. When FBI Agent Garrett Pierce shows up and wants her help to locate three missing young women. She really doesn't want to .. but she agrees to help in his search.As bodies are discovered and more girls disappear, it's almost more than Julie can mentally handle. Finding the bodies brings back bad memories of when she was a child. Her grandmother was physically abusive .... and she still has all the Julie Hall has a blessing ...or a curse. With the help of dowsing rods, she can locate dead bodies. When FBI Agent Garrett Pierce shows up and wants her help to locate three missing young women. She really doesn't want to .. but she agrees to help in his search.As bodies are discovered and more girls disappear, it's almost more than Julie can mentally handle. Finding the bodies brings back bad memories of when she was a child. Her grandmother was physically abusive .... and she still has all the scores to remind her.And then the killer turns his eyes toward Julie. Pierce becomes very protective and vows that nothing will happen to her ... but the killer has other ideas.Interesting book with an engaging story premise. Julie is a terrific character ... she's had to come to terms with her childhood. Called a witch when caught using the dowsing rods had her grandmother doing horrific things to Julie to drive the devil out. She's outgoing with no problem saying what's on her mind. She doesn't play head games and she's fiercely loyal to the one or two friends that she has. Her one love has 4 paws ... a Rottweiler name Wookie.Garrett Pierce has had his share of heartache. He lost his beloved wife and young son to a drunk driver a few years ago. He's a little gruff, a little arrogant but feels a strong attraction to Julie, even though he's 20+ years older.There are several secondary characters that lend a note of credibility to the story. Her ex-boyfriend, Dennie. Her best friend, Katie, who has a fling with Julie's ex. Julie's grandfather, who never stopped his wife from beating Julie. Jonas, a young man who works at the same gas station as Julie, who has a small crush on her. If you like a bit of spice, a bit of paranormal, then this book may be for you. Watch for the second book in this series ..... A GRAVE SEARCH.Many thanks to the author / Carina Press / Netgalley for the advanced uncorrected digital proof. Opinions expressed here are unbiased and entirely my own.
    more
  • Steph McVicker
    April 30, 2017
    3.5 creepy, serial killer stars for A GRAVE CALLING. Julie Hall has a seriously unique skill: she's able to find dead bodies with a divining rod. Weird, but it comes in handy when FBI agent Garrett Pierce has 3 dead girls and very few leads. Julie isn't thrilled with her skill, but she knows she wouldn't be able to live with herself if she didn't do everything she could to help. But her assistance quickly comes with press notoriety, a terrible thing when it's clear that a serial killer will do a 3.5 creepy, serial killer stars for A GRAVE CALLING. Julie Hall has a seriously unique skill: she's able to find dead bodies with a divining rod. Weird, but it comes in handy when FBI agent Garrett Pierce has 3 dead girls and very few leads. Julie isn't thrilled with her skill, but she knows she wouldn't be able to live with herself if she didn't do everything she could to help. But her assistance quickly comes with press notoriety, a terrible thing when it's clear that a serial killer will do anything to stop the FBI, and Julie, from the truth. A GRAVE CALLING is book 1 in the Bodies of Evidence series by Ms. Roberts, and even though it took a little time to get into, I wound up really enjoying the story. Julie was an unlikely heroine, a woman who had nothing going for her except her Gramps and her dog, a woman with a horrific past that threatens to pull her under over and over again. Garrett is almost twice her age, widowed and focused on finding this killer before another young woman dies. They make an unlikely team, and an unlikely couple once they fall into bed together. I'm not sure that they really had much chemistry, more like two people taking comfort in one another during a terrible patch. The best part was when the killer was revealed, I so didn't see it coming AT ALL. This was more of a cozy mystery with romantic elements, but it's a series that I wouldn't mind reading more of in the future. Bottom Line: No OM/OW or sharing; indeterminate condom use (not mentioned but sex scenes were pretty glossed over); no BDSM/kink; no sexual assault; violence/murder. - See more at: http://www.theromancereviews.com/view... - See more at: http://www.theromancereviews.com/view...
    more
  • Cathy Geha
    June 2, 2017
    A Grave Calling by Wendy RobertsBodies of Evidence #1Having used a few divination tools with mixed results I was eager to read this book of a woman who dowses for the dead. Watching my husband’s cousin look for water and being told how he does it using the same tools Julie used in this book made it come even more alive for me. I do like things that are not always scientific and don’t come with easy explanations ;) Julie Hall, born Delma Arsenault, is the once abused but very talented heroine of A Grave Calling by Wendy RobertsBodies of Evidence #1Having used a few divination tools with mixed results I was eager to read this book of a woman who dowses for the dead. Watching my husband’s cousin look for water and being told how he does it using the same tools Julie used in this book made it come even more alive for me. I do like things that are not always scientific and don’t come with easy explanations ;) Julie Hall, born Delma Arsenault, is the once abused but very talented heroine of this book. She has survived her childhood and is doing her best as an adult when along comes FBI Agent Garrett Pierce asking her to do something she has been raised to believe is evil – get her divining rods out and dowse for the bodies left behind by a serial killer. It is tasking for her but with the support of rather silent and quite a bit older Garrett she has success on more than one trip into the field. Before the end of the book she finds herself in the crosshairs of the killer. Since she is not one to follow the rules the FBI finds it a challenge at times to keep her safe. As the first book in the Bodies of Evidence series I found this interesting and intriguing. It drew me in and kept me turning the pages without taking a break. I liked both Julie and Garrett and felt they brought out the best in one another. I have a feeling that they will make a great team in future books of the series. I liked that the book ended with the case tied up in a bow but with a hint at the direction the series plans to take for book number two. I am looking forward to reading more of this series and other books by this author in the future. Thank you to NetGalley and Carina Press for the ARC – This is my honest review. 4.5 Stars
    more
  • Avid Reader
    May 31, 2017
    A Grave Calling (Bodies of Evidence #1) by Wendy Roberts5 starsM/F Mystery/ThrillerTriggers: Child abuse, Serial Killer, Kidnapping, MurderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.This was a great story. I love mystery books and even though I was able to figure out who the killer was, I didn't think that it took away from the story at all.This was a complex, well developed mystery story with a little romance thrown in.Garrett is trying to figure out who is killing women around A Grave Calling (Bodies of Evidence #1) by Wendy Roberts5 starsM/F Mystery/ThrillerTriggers: Child abuse, Serial Killer, Kidnapping, MurderI was given this book for an honest review by Wicked Reads.This was a great story. I love mystery books and even though I was able to figure out who the killer was, I didn't think that it took away from the story at all.This was a complex, well developed mystery story with a little romance thrown in.Garrett is trying to figure out who is killing women around the area. He enlists the help of Julie, who has a gift of finding dead people using dousing rods. Despite the fact that she hates to use her ability, he convinces her.What Julie is fighting is her memories. She was abused by her grandmother and those memories haunt her. She has fought hard to find a medium in her life - she has her dog, Wookie, her job and her grandfather. When Agent Pierce comes to her asking for her help, her life is thrown in to the media.I really enjoyed how Roberts was able to weave the story, both past and present - it came together in a very well rounded way and I can't wait to see what happens next in this series.
    more
  • Diana
    June 21, 2017
    This book has a strong mystery and plenty of twists and turns, but the real reason to read it is for the voice. Julie Hall has a strong, distinct, honest voice, and her first-person account of using her dowsing rods in an FBI investigation pulled me right in and kept me reading. I'm really looking forward to the next book in the series.
    more
  • Susan
    May 30, 2017
    A Grave Calling is a promising start to a new series by Wendy Roberts. Julie Hall has a unique talent that the FBI thinks might help them find missing girls. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and was pulled into the story from page one. Interesting characters that you"ll want to know more about with a new spin on paranormal. The mystery kept me guessing and I was totally surprised by the ending. I'm looking forward to more in this series. *ARC provided by NetGalley for an honest review.
    more
  • Amanda
    June 9, 2017
    I really enjoyed this book. I love books with characters who have special abilities. The main characters are flawed but try to overcome. The storyline was very interesting. I did not see the ending coming.
  • Wendy Roberts
    May 25, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed writing Julie's story! At the present time, I'm working on the sequel to A Grave Calling. The second book, A Grave Search, will be released in January.If you've taken the time to read one of my stories I am eternally grateful for your support.Wendy xo
    more
  • Michelle Austin
    June 1, 2017
    http://i869.photobucket.com/albums/ab...A Grave Calling was a great 5 star read.Julie Hall has a gift that she isn’t really excited about, people call her a “Water Witch”. She lives near her grandfather with her dog, Wookie. When an FBI agent shows up on her doorstep asking for help in finding some missing girls she agrees to help him. She rides to the scene with agent Garrett in hopes that she will find something. Her dousing rods were never wrong and when she fails at one site she is surprised http://i869.photobucket.com/albums/ab...A Grave Calling was a great 5 star read.Julie Hall has a gift that she isn’t really excited about, people call her a “Water Witch”. She lives near her grandfather with her dog, Wookie. When an FBI agent shows up on her doorstep asking for help in finding some missing girls she agrees to help him. She rides to the scene with agent Garrett in hopes that she will find something. Her dousing rods were never wrong and when she fails at one site she is surprised when the rods start vibrating while driving past a creek. The discovery was heartbreaking.We also get to meet Katie, Julie’s friend from high school. While out with Katie, Julie gets a feeling someone is watching her. When agent Garrett shows up again, Katie is not thrilled but agrees to help him again. Finding the bodies is very hard on Julie, she is having nightmares that are bringing back not so good memories of her past. It was heartbreaking.Katie has a shocking discovery that brings her world crashing down on her and when there is concern that the killer may be coming for Katie, the detective is determined to protect her. Will they find the killer before it’s too late? I guess betrayal comes from friends and not enemies. This was a thrilling read, there is so much going on. I really liked the secondary characters, they all added a great element to the story. There are some secrets and huge twists revealed. This is my first read from Wendy Roberts and I really enjoyed it. I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. Thank you Wendy Roberts for a great thrilling read.I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader Copy of this book. Reviewed by MAustin from Alpha Book Club
    more
  • Nancy
    May 21, 2017
    My thanks to Netgalley and the Publisher for an opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.I enjoy Wendy Roberts and though I have wished that her standalone books had continued as series, I am glad to see that Julie Hall and Bodies of Evidence will.Twenty five year old Julie Hall refers to herself as a corpse magnet ever since, as a young twelve year old child with dowsing rods, she found a body instead of water. Having changed her name from Delma Arsenault to Julie Hall, she now leads a My thanks to Netgalley and the Publisher for an opportunity to read an advanced copy of this book.I enjoy Wendy Roberts and though I have wished that her standalone books had continued as series, I am glad to see that Julie Hall and Bodies of Evidence will.Twenty five year old Julie Hall refers to herself as a corpse magnet ever since, as a young twelve year old child with dowsing rods, she found a body instead of water. Having changed her name from Delma Arsenault to Julie Hall, she now leads a quiet life as a gas station attendant. That is until FBI Agent Garrett Pierce appears in her life and knows about her past, a past that can now help him find three missing girls.She does not like taking money for her talent since that feels like a bad karma thing to do, but will take enough to help pay for a birthday present for her beloved grandfather. She had been dropped at her grandparents’ farm when she was six and hoped that her mother would come back for her. When that did not happen, the unimaginable abuse from a brutal grandmother ensued. She had always wondered why her grandfather never intervened, but that was a long time ago. Her grandmother was now gone and her grandfather and dog are all that she has left. Then she begins to find the bodies and her life will never be the same. This is creating yet another downward spiral for her, the alcoholism is bad enough, and the quicksand – her name for PTSD, is unrelenting. Yet, she does not want to give up on the missing girls. As one by one, she finds them along with white ribbons, she is in deeper then she wishes. So deep that the truth of “betrayal comes from friends and not enemies” hits her so hard that this is a spiral that she may never recover from.
    more
  • Patty Wilderman
    June 14, 2017
    I just have to say Oh My God! This book was off the chains good. Wendy Roberts did not disappoint with this new book. I have read another series by Ms. Roberts and it was a great series. When I saw she had this up for preorder I quickly ordered it. I admit, at first I thought this was a continuation of the other series, but nope this is a new series. I am so glad I ordered it.In this book Julie is a gas station attendant with a checkered past filled with fear and abuse. She meets Garrett and FBI I just have to say Oh My God! This book was off the chains good. Wendy Roberts did not disappoint with this new book. I have read another series by Ms. Roberts and it was a great series. When I saw she had this up for preorder I quickly ordered it. I admit, at first I thought this was a continuation of the other series, but nope this is a new series. I am so glad I ordered it.In this book Julie is a gas station attendant with a checkered past filled with fear and abuse. She meets Garrett and FBI agent, who comes to her for her help. You see Julie has a very unique ability. She can use dowsing rods to find the dead. There is a serial killer on the loose and Garrett is always a few steps behind him. He is hoping with Julie finding the bodies fast, that he will be able to get evidence to point him to the killer before he kills again. Can Garrett find the killer in time before he kills the next girl who has been abducted? Will Julie become his next victim?I have to say that I am no disappointed in this book. It exceeded my expectations of Wendy. She is an excellent writer. Her story has a great plot, full of surprising twists. I could not put the book down. I was on the edge of my seat. There were moments when I was like “OH MY GOD NO WAY!” I even cried during some scenes. Julie is such a strong woman who has endured a lot of horrible abuse and still pushed on to live her life. She does has some weak moments, drawing into herself. Garrett also has suffered a horrible tragedy and I think that is what draws Julie and him together. I thought that the story was very interesting. I really hope that this is the start of a great new series. #fangirling
    more
  • Penny Noble
    May 28, 2017
    I am a big fan of Ms. Roberts’ Ghost Dusters series, and I was very excited when I came across this new series. Eagerly, I jumped on the chance to read A Grave Calling via Netgalley. At first, I have to admit I was a little taken aback. This book was a little darker than the other series I had read. Of course, all of this was my expectations going into the book; it was a new series and I shouldn’t have expected it to be just like the other one. After adjusting my outlook with this series, I sett I am a big fan of Ms. Roberts’ Ghost Dusters series, and I was very excited when I came across this new series. Eagerly, I jumped on the chance to read A Grave Calling via Netgalley. At first, I have to admit I was a little taken aback. This book was a little darker than the other series I had read. Of course, all of this was my expectations going into the book; it was a new series and I shouldn’t have expected it to be just like the other one. After adjusting my outlook with this series, I settled in to read. I was startled to realize just how good this book was. Julie was an extremely flawed character with a dark past she’s been trying to outrun with alcohol. Her friend, boyfriend, and grandpa are the center of her world, but they aren’t exactly what she needs (can’t say too much!). As side characters, I really liked the way they all played a part in furthering the plot. I do have to admit I didn’t see any chemistry between her and her love interest (hmm, didn’t I just say she had a boyfriend?!?) and felt more like they were helping each other survive a cruel world. Not a bad thing, in my humble opinion. This book was well-written, extremely engrossing (I actually didn’t go to bed until I finished it), and had a great plot. I didn’t see a couple of things coming and I was stunned. This is a great start to a series I can’t wait to read more of! Highly recommend! Thanks to NetGalley and Carina Press for the e-book which I voluntarily reviewed. This exact review will be posted on both Amazon and Goodreads.
    more
  • Jessica (a GREAT read)
    April 14, 2017
    I received this eARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest and voluntary review. I was in no way compensated for this review.Wendy Roberts was one of my first paranormal mystery writers, her series Ghostdusters Mysteries was an instant favorite, so I was excited to try out her newest series beginning with A Grave Calling. And much like her previous series, we once again find a heroine who has a unique ability. But this time, instead of talking to ghosts, Julie finds dead bod I received this eARC from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest and voluntary review. I was in no way compensated for this review.Wendy Roberts was one of my first paranormal mystery writers, her series Ghostdusters Mysteries was an instant favorite, so I was excited to try out her newest series beginning with A Grave Calling. And much like her previous series, we once again find a heroine who has a unique ability. But this time, instead of talking to ghosts, Julie finds dead bodies with her dowsing rods.Julie was quite the unique character. I’ve read many different kinds of books over the years, but I can’t remember ever reading about a character who seems so broken. Julie has had a rough life, but she makes do. She lives in her own little trailer on her grandfather’s property and has a lovable pooch and a steady boyfriend. Things are going good, until the day Agent Garrett Pierce knocks on her door asking for her help in finding a missing body. He’s heard that Julie has special abilities with her dowsing rods and would like her to assist with an ongoing case involving missing girls turning up dead and then not being able to find the bodies right away.One missing girl turns into two, then three, and then we begin to realize how dangerous this situation is! The added element of danger really added some spice to this one. It’s not your typical cozy mystery, which I always found odd calling a murder mystery cozy! Whether it involves a hardcore detective or just your average Jane, ignoring her superpower of course, murder never seems like a “cozy” kind of mystery. Lol.I enjoyed the added balance we got with Julie’s normal life and the mystery case, she becomes deeply entangled into the case as Garrett is constantly bringing her back in to find yet another body. Julie tries to cling to her life, but soon all those things are taken away from her the more she’s involved with her case. She loses her job, she’s betrayed by the remaining people she loves and soon she even must leave behind her grandfather and dog for a while to be in protective custody.You would think with all that going on there wouldn’t be time for romance, but there is! Even with the description I almost didn’t expect Julie and Garrett to start a relationship after some time. Largely due to the age difference. Yeah, I know, it’s weird to be weirded out by that. But let me explain, the vast majority of books I’ve read usually have the “relationship” characters at or around the same age. If there’s an age difference I really don’t think it’s ever topped 10 years. Garrett and Julie are 20 years apart at least. And I don’t know it just felt weird, my brain was thinking that when Garrett was a legal adult of 21, Julie was just being born! And add to the fact that Julie never knew who her father was, my brain went down that road and thought he could be your dad!! Spoiler, he’s not. But yeah, while I did like the relationship in some aspect I was still always reminded—by the characters themselves—that there was a huge age difference between them and yeah, it weirded me out just a bit. But now that I’ve read a 20 year age difference romance maybe I will be able to get used to it for future reads. (And on a side note, yeah I get that the vampires are some centuries years older than the other human, that’s a whole other issue up for debate at another time!)The ending is what totally blew me away! I was convinced I had this mystery down pat! I knew who did it! I didn’t know why exactly, but that usually comes along after the bad guy is caught! And let me tell you, things get really, really intense in these last few chapters (as I can’t give page numbers or even an accurate guess as to how much “towards the end”). But I was wrong you guys!! So wrong! Did not see this bad guy reveal coming at all!! I both love and hate when that happens. Because while shocking, I felt like this came out of left field. And the reasoning? (Note here, things will start to be worded oddly as I avoid identifying the serial killer’s sex.) Why did the killer do all the things that were done? We don’t know. A serial killer is a serial killer.I didn’t like that. There was methodology to the things that were done. The killer left little “parting gifts” with the bodies. Why? Why only young teenage girls? They weren’t being molested or anything like that, so that’s not a factor. It just didn’t make sense to me. And later on, looking at other past victims who are in no way, shape, or form teenage girls just made me all the more confused! I feel like that if there’s going to be a methodological serial killer, there has to be a reason for why the killing is being done in the way it’s done, the victims that are chosen…why why why?! You can see how this is driving me a little nuts, right? I don’t like that we didn’t get any of those answers when all was said and done. It almost defeats the purpose if we don’t know what was driving the serial killer in their killing ways, what’s the point of the mystery at the end of the day?And let me tell you, writing in such vague terms and sentences was hard! I had to go back and re-read this last part and revise what I had written! LOL!Overall, this wasn’t a bad read. It was very mysterious and creepy in some ways as we watch the killer set Julie in their sights. It was freaky!! My heart was racing through several moments towards the end. But then the reveal? And its aftermath? Kind of disappointing without any explanation whatsoever. If you enjoy a good mystery with an added touch of paranormal in way of psychic powers, then I would still highly recommend this one. Just don’t expect answers in regard to the serial killer’s motives.Overall Rating 4/5 starsA Grave Calling releases June 5, 2017
    more
  • Lisa Morin
    April 2, 2017
    I was extremely impressed with this book. I have never come across a cozy mystery that involves dowsing rods. I was really curious about this so I was excited to give this book a try.Julie Hall is an intense character that has truly overcome evil in her life. Raised by a grandmother who hated her and a grandfather who was caught in the middle, Julie could not wait to leave her home.After the death of her grandmother, Julie returns home to her grandfather, living her life quietly in a tiny traile I was extremely impressed with this book. I have never come across a cozy mystery that involves dowsing rods. I was really curious about this so I was excited to give this book a try.Julie Hall is an intense character that has truly overcome evil in her life. Raised by a grandmother who hated her and a grandfather who was caught in the middle, Julie could not wait to leave her home.After the death of her grandmother, Julie returns home to her grandfather, living her life quietly in a tiny trailer.When FBI agent Garrett Pierce asks Julie to help in a missing persons case, Julie feels torn, she wants to help but she doesn't want to become the reason for small town gossip.Julie needs to make some decisions and only the right one will help save her life.I was so intrigued with this story that I could not put it down. I read it all the way through and was totally impressed with the style of writing and the entire story itself.I voluntarily read an ARC of this book provided by the publisher and NetGalley.
    more
  • Pandora
    June 14, 2017
    Incredibly intriguing mysteryI have read Wendy Roberts before and loved her works, but this book was extremely hard to put down. No way will you guess the ending. Can't wait for the next book in this series.
  • Donna
    May 27, 2017
    WOW! This book kept me riveted. I could not put it down. This story takes you on twists and turns you don’t see coming. Fans of the Harper Connelly stories by Charlaine Harris will love this story. This is the first I’ve read by this author but I assure you it won’t be the last.
    more
  • Sharon
    June 5, 2017
    Page turnerWow non stop hooks. A very surprising ending. Wow i never guessed who done it. Lol. There were a few sex scenes I could have lived without. It was an exciting book.I am looking forward to more adventures.I love wendy's books.
  • Ikat
    June 7, 2017
    Great new bookSo happy to see a new book from Wendy Roberts. I really like this new character and hope to see her again!
  • Pat
    June 6, 2017
    What a great story.
  • Harlequin Books
    June 18, 2017
    Miniseries: Bodies of Evidence
  • Book Him Danno
    May 13, 2017
    Wendy Roberts is able to take two very unlikely people and bring them together to comfort one another while trying to solve the mystery.The best part of this story was I had no Idea who the killer was until the person was revealed. The mystery has elements of romance but it wasn't believable enough to keep me needing to read the next in the series.Thank you to Netgalley for an advance copy of this book for my honest thoughts.
    more
  • Andreia Nuno
    June 28, 2017
    This review was originally published on NetGalley.A brilliant novel! Thrilling, a bit creepy and very intriguing novel: a promising start for a new series!Julie Hall has had a tough life: abused by her grandmother in her childhood and cursed with the ability to find dead bodies with her dousing rods, she just wants to blend in and have a normal life with her grandfather and her dog Wookie. At the same time, a serial killer is on the loose, leaving the bodies of young women behind with very littl This review was originally published on NetGalley.A brilliant novel! Thrilling, a bit creepy and very intriguing novel: a promising start for a new series!Julie Hall has had a tough life: abused by her grandmother in her childhood and cursed with the ability to find dead bodies with her dousing rods, she just wants to blend in and have a normal life with her grandfather and her dog Wookie. At the same time, a serial killer is on the loose, leaving the bodies of young women behind with very little evidence. When an FBI agent called Garrett Pierce comes knocking asking for her help, Julie has to use the ability that she was raised to believe to be evil in order to prevent other killings. As the killer gets wind of Julie, Garrett vows to protect her… but will it be enough?Grave Calling is highly engaging and addictive. The story-line is very well-developed and constructed, full of twists and turns and a perfect ending with a very unlikely killer. I really enjoyed how the author jumped from the past to the present, it was done beautifully and it was very easy to follow the story without losing myself or the details.Julie is a great main character and a very unlikely heroine all things considered. The abuse she suffered in her childhood is heart-breaking and the fact that she still struggles with it gives her depth as a character, it makes her more real. Her past has a direct influence in the story, not only because it shapes her, but also because it emphases her struggles to deal with the killings and the bodies she finds. It was a bit agonising to read to be honest. Even so, she has no problems in speaking her mind and definitely not afraid to take on a serial killer. Garrett is a great male protagonist and he has his share of suffering and of bad memories which makes the partnership with Julie a great one, they understand and comfort each other. I really enjoyed reading about their developing relationship and their chemistry. Despite the age difference, they are great together. The secondary characters complement the story very nicely, especially Julie’s friend Katie.This was my first read of Wendy Roberts and I highly recommend Grave Calling for the fans of cosy mysteries with a bit of spice and a lot of twists and surprises. A great thrilling read!
    more
  • Soraia
    July 1, 2017
    Ok, I didn't know you Wendy Roberts, but you got me. This was good! When I read the blurb I couldn't help but think of the Harper Connelly series, by Charlaine Harris. I loved that series and she just quit writing it. I hate when authors do that, no ending, no explanation, nothing. Just stopped. It is similar is a way, both main characters are gifted/cursed with the ability of finding dead bodies, but that's it. The abilities are quite different and the vibe of this is more thriller than urban f Ok, I didn't know you Wendy Roberts, but you got me. This was good! When I read the blurb I couldn't help but think of the Harper Connelly series, by Charlaine Harris. I loved that series and she just quit writing it. I hate when authors do that, no ending, no explanation, nothing. Just stopped. It is similar is a way, both main characters are gifted/cursed with the ability of finding dead bodies, but that's it. The abilities are quite different and the vibe of this is more thriller than urban fantasy.Julie is a very interesting character, there's a lot of depth to her, a complex horrible past, she's constantly fighting demons and, although she'd argue otherwise, she's tough. At certain points she's a bit too stupid to live, specially (view spoiler)[when she walks off alone towards a dead body when she assumes her FBI sitter is just strolling around, couldn't she AT LEAST take the damn shotgun with her? It wouldn't have helped, I know, but it would have told me she was aware of how stupidly dangerous what she was doing was (hide spoiler)].I also liked Garrett, he's a good character but even if he weren't I would have liked him if only because he's not a asshole with his pain, you know? People like to write characters that lash out all the time as though having a painful past justifies everything and it was good to see a character who's decent through his pain. I admit I thought I had it all figured out, I even thought at some point "why do they make these things so predictable?", maybe because I was so sure of my assumption that I was blindsided by the turn of events, the evidence was all there, sure, but it didn't even occur to me! So yeay! Thriller mystery accomplished. I'm looking forward to the next one in the series.
    more
  • Cindy ~ SnS Reviews
    May 11, 2017
    Quirky suspense with dark elements. It's always a treat to find a new author that writes a unique story. Julie Hall had a childhood filled with abuse from her grandmother, made worse by the gift she had for finding dead bodies with a pair of dowsing rods. Only returning to the home she grew up in after her grandmother dies, she's content with just working at a gas station and looking after her Grandfather. She's helped law enforcement in the past to find missing people but is surprised when the Quirky suspense with dark elements. It's always a treat to find a new author that writes a unique story. Julie Hall had a childhood filled with abuse from her grandmother, made worse by the gift she had for finding dead bodies with a pair of dowsing rods. Only returning to the home she grew up in after her grandmother dies, she's content with just working at a gas station and looking after her Grandfather. She's helped law enforcement in the past to find missing people but is surprised when the FBI knocks on her door needing help to locate the body of a woman killed by a suspected serial killer. She is just one of 3 recently taken and they need Julie's help in hopes that finding the bodies they will find clues and evidence against the killer. Julie had more than her share of bad things happen to her in life and even let them for a while put her on a self medicating path. Her gift was something I've never seen used before and held me captivated until the shocking ending. Looking for a dark, edgy suspense different from the rest – give A Grave Calling a try..
    more
  • Maureen ~Bitch Can Write A Book
    May 6, 2017
    Holy Schmoly...This book was absolutely fantastic. Dark, creepy, unique and oh so disturbing. I love a character that is damaged and man oh man she is a hot mess. From her unique name to her eerie ability she has led a tough life. But she is resilient and I so enjoyed her. This book has a cast of interesting characters with a mystery that left me scratching my head and my mouth gaping open. I couldn't put this book down, I read in a couple of hours. And Garrett is my hero. He is quite the Specia Holy Schmoly...This book was absolutely fantastic. Dark, creepy, unique and oh so disturbing. I love a character that is damaged and man oh man she is a hot mess. From her unique name to her eerie ability she has led a tough life. But she is resilient and I so enjoyed her. This book has a cast of interesting characters with a mystery that left me scratching my head and my mouth gaping open. I couldn't put this book down, I read in a couple of hours. And Garrett is my hero. He is quite the Special Agent with his own baggage. I loved him from the beginning. You MUST check out this book, you will be rocked as I was with this authors writing talent. Can't wait for more!!!!!
    more
Write a review