The Prince and the Dressmaker
Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride―or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia―the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion!Sebastian’s secret weapon (and best friend) is the brilliant dressmaker Frances―one of only two people who know the truth: sometimes this boy wears dresses. But Frances dreams of greatness, and being someone’s secret weapon means being a secret. Forever. How long can Frances defer her dreams to protect a friend? Jen Wang weaves an exuberantly romantic tale of identity, young love, art, and family. A fairy tale for any age, The Prince and the Dressmaker will steal your heart.

The Prince and the Dressmaker Details

TitleThe Prince and the Dressmaker
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseFeb 13th, 2018
PublisherFirst Second
ISBN-139781626723634
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Young Adult, LGBT, Historical, Historical Fiction, Comics

The Prince and the Dressmaker Review

  • Emily May
    January 1, 1970
    This was absolutely adorable.I'm not exaggerating when I say books like this really do restore a little of my faith in humanity. It's a really cute story but, as a person who generally prefers "tense" and "gritty" over "cute" reads, it's not too saccharine as to be unbearable. This is a good graphic novel for readers who enjoy the occasional fun read like Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda or My Lady Jane.The illustrations are simple and cartoonish, but still good. It suits the tone of the story, This was absolutely adorable.I'm not exaggerating when I say books like this really do restore a little of my faith in humanity. It's a really cute story but, as a person who generally prefers "tense" and "gritty" over "cute" reads, it's not too saccharine as to be unbearable. This is a good graphic novel for readers who enjoy the occasional fun read like Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda or My Lady Jane.The illustrations are simple and cartoonish, but still good. It suits the tone of the story, to be honest. The Prince and the Dressmaker is about Frances, a Parisian dressmaker who suddenly receives an amazing opportunity to make dresses for royalty-- Prince Sebastian, to be precise! Together the pair dazzle around Paris at night, with Sebastian - or Lady Crystallia - wearing Frances's gorgeous creations. But by day he must go back to being the prince and Frances must keep his secret. Friendship grows between them, and then something else, but when Sebastian's secret threatens an amazing opportunity for Frances, things get complicated. Both characters are wonderful and lovable and, as readers shall soon see, they are surrounded by some pretty amazing secondary characters, too. The whole (view spoiler)[fashion show (hide spoiler)] near the end might just be one of the best things I've ever seen XDI can't stop smiling.Blog | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Youtube
    more
  • Lola
    January 1, 1970
    This is the graphic novel I had no idea I was waiting for these past twenty years of my life. I have always loved stories about princes and princesses and kings and queens and lavish dresses—no wonder I couldn’t put this down.I don’t want to speak too soon… Oh hell, I can already see this one winning Best Graphic Novel in December 2018 when the Goodreads Choice Awards makes its appearance once again. And if that doesn’t happen, I will consider protesting. Unless, of course, something better gets This is the graphic novel I had no idea I was waiting for these past twenty years of my life. I have always loved stories about princes and princesses and kings and queens and lavish dresses—no wonder I couldn’t put this down.I don’t want to speak too soon… Oh hell, I can already see this one winning Best Graphic Novel in December 2018 when the Goodreads Choice Awards makes its appearance once again. And if that doesn’t happen, I will consider protesting. Unless, of course, something better gets published—as if. Well look at that, mama bear has come out to protect her babies. Prince Sebastian has a scandalous secret: By day, he is the son of the King of Belgium who must act accordingly and, unfortunately, find a princess to marry in order to form a fortunate alliance. But by night, he becomes Lady Crystallia, a fashionable woman who creates trends and is the light of any event.All thanks to Frances, Sebastian’s new dressmaker who can transform a boring fabric into a magic dress. Frances knows the prince’s secret, but she is the only one, and that is how it shall remain, or else he might lose this side of him forever. After all, who wants a prince who wears dresses? (I do.)I wasn’t that fan of Jen Wang’s IN REAL LIFE, a graphic novel about gaming, but this is a completely different creature. Everything about it is perfect and that is not something I get to say very often. But it’s true, from my point of view. I loved the characters, the story, the themes, the drawings, and even the ending (regardless of the fact that it’s not one hundred perfect realistic). Now that I think about it, I’m not sure I even breathed as I read this. I was in a state of full absorption. Blog | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Bloglovin’
    more
  • Victoria Schwab
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely charming.
  • Zoë
    January 1, 1970
    Loved, loved, loved! The art style was colorful and cute and atmospheric, which is exactly what I enjoy in a graphic novel. It takes place in late 19th century France, which gives the story a slightly fairytale vibe. The characters were lovable and helped each other become the best versions of themselves. And, of course, my favorite aspect was how respectfully gender identity is discussed. I could go on and on about what I loved, but I think you get the point.One issue I had was that the main ch Loved, loved, loved! The art style was colorful and cute and atmospheric, which is exactly what I enjoy in a graphic novel. It takes place in late 19th century France, which gives the story a slightly fairytale vibe. The characters were lovable and helped each other become the best versions of themselves. And, of course, my favorite aspect was how respectfully gender identity is discussed. I could go on and on about what I loved, but I think you get the point.One issue I had was that the main character was forced into coming out during a public event, but I loved the happily ever after both protagonists were ultimately given!
    more
  • Mackenzi
    January 1, 1970
    This book is the anachronistic 19th century French fairytale meets Project Runway but with cross dressing and deconstruction of gender norms of my dreams.
  • Claudia Ramírez
    January 1, 1970
    THIS WAS SO PRECIOUS. All of the stars for it!!!
  • destiny ♡⚔♡ [howling libraries]
    January 1, 1970
    I was so excited to read this graphic novel, and it did not disappoint in the slightest. This is honestly my favorite graphic novel I have read all year—probably in the last two years, even—and I know it is one I would reread again and again in the future. The artwork is beautiful, the story is so sweet, and I just loved every single bit of it from start to finish. I know a lot of reviewers have said they're hesitant to call this a queer story, because Sebastian never specifically calls himself I was so excited to read this graphic novel, and it did not disappoint in the slightest. This is honestly my favorite graphic novel I have read all year—probably in the last two years, even—and I know it is one I would reread again and again in the future. The artwork is beautiful, the story is so sweet, and I just loved every single bit of it from start to finish. I know a lot of reviewers have said they're hesitant to call this a queer story, because Sebastian never specifically calls himself trans, nonbinary, gender-fluid, etc. I understand the hesitation with how open-ended it feels, but at one point in the story, Sebastian specifically says that some days, he feels like a prince, and some days, he feels like a princess. When I showed this panel to a loved one of mine who is nonbinary, he immediately said that it resonated very strongly with him, and frankly, that's good enough for me to recommend this as a must-read, beautiful queer story. ♥ I know not every experience is the same, but I would just like to ask my fellow cisgender reviewers to take cautions before implying that this story "isn't queer enough".That tangent aside, seriously, this book is gorgeous, Jen Wang is ridiculously talented, and I truly hope there is more on the way in the veins of The Prince and the Dressmaker, because this warmed my heart and gave me all of the fuzzy feelings. Even if you don't like graphic novels typically (but especially if you do!), I strongly recommend picking up a copy of this one and giving it a try, if for nothing other than how much Sebastian and Frances will snuggle their way into your heart.TRIGGER WARNINGS: Please be aware that there is a scene of forced outing in this book, which is challenged and not presented as a healthy situation for Sebastian to be in, but I know could still be very hurtful to many individuals on the trans spectrum if they were unaware of it in advance. Please practice self-care and know that you are beautiful, loved, and valid. ♥
    more
  • Whitney Atkinson
    January 1, 1970
    This was running at a four stars for me the entire book because it was precious and supportive and the art was great.... but then the climax hit and I immediately bumped it up a star. This book was SO great and was the perfect balance of simplistic while also hitting such important topics like being gender fluid and acceptance thereof. I devoured this in less than an hour and cannot wait to buy a copy for my shelf, since this was a library copy! Definitely highly recommend for any reader of any This was running at a four stars for me the entire book because it was precious and supportive and the art was great.... but then the climax hit and I immediately bumped it up a star. This book was SO great and was the perfect balance of simplistic while also hitting such important topics like being gender fluid and acceptance thereof. I devoured this in less than an hour and cannot wait to buy a copy for my shelf, since this was a library copy! Definitely highly recommend for any reader of any age. I wish this book was a series and I could get a million volumes of Sebastian and Frances's adventures.
    more
  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)
    January 1, 1970
    I smile every time I think about this. SO GOOD!
  • Korrina (OwlCrate)
    January 1, 1970
    This was exceptional! So heartwarming, and the characters were so lovable. This is definitely a story I’ll read again and again, and recommend to friends.
  • David Schaafsma
    January 1, 1970
    Original 4/1/18 review, slightly updated 9/21/18): Okay, even though it is only the beginning of March 1, I'm calling it: This is one of the top ten graphic novels for kids--probably tweens is right, given my tween household--any kids, of 2018. I have now seen teen reading it, too. Now, don't get too excited, Alan Moore fans; this is for younger readers, but for this audience it is great work. I've read Koko Be Good by Wang and thought it was good, okay, but this is really a huge leap forward fo Original 4/1/18 review, slightly updated 9/21/18): Okay, even though it is only the beginning of March 1, I'm calling it: This is one of the top ten graphic novels for kids--probably tweens is right, given my tween household--any kids, of 2018. I have now seen teen reading it, too. Now, don't get too excited, Alan Moore fans; this is for younger readers, but for this audience it is great work. I've read Koko Be Good by Wang and thought it was good, okay, but this is really a huge leap forward for Wang, in my opinion. As of 11/18/18 this book is one of the ten final nominees for the Goodreads award, one of 2-3 faves for sure. In my top ten day for the year!The Prince and the Dressmaker is a kind of revival of a long used concept, the idea of (sort of) swapping identities and/or class positions. It has the feel of fantasy and adventure about it, of aspirations, of dreams. It's the story of a "lowly" dressmaker who is hired to secretly design dresses for . . . (oh, it can't be a spoiler for long, and it's the catch of the book, initially, so get over it) the prince. She doesn't want to be poor, she wants to design for the rich and famous; he doesn't want to be chosen to marry the pretty princess, he wants to wear lovely designer dresses (though it is more complicated than just that, actually)!Sound already cliched, in this time of the explosion of glbtq books? Well, there are earnest glbtq books that are necessary for serious contemplation of a myriad of issues about identity and coming out. This isn't one of those, really, because it just introduces issues of gender identity to a younger audience. And it's really really fun and refreshing and funny and sweet and at times silly, and totally confirming of everyone involved! So this is a kind of fantasy story, where more things work out happily than generally works out in real life, but who cares? Sometimes books can just be feel-good, can't they? Everything doesn't have to go all Ethan Frome on us all the time, does it?! The pattern for role-swapping in lit maybe started much earlier than Shakespearean comedies such as Twelfth Night, but the obvious reference here in this book is to Mark Twain's The Prince and the Pauper, that I seem to recall reading with my sister when I was ten. Or maybe it was some Disney version, that we read and/or saw. It's a story of class envy, and satire (mainly of the upper class), but is also an exciting adventure that spawned hundreds of spinoffs. Dressmaker is a bit like that, a sort of shift into a bit of an upper-class life for our dressmaker.And here's another link for you, of which I was reminded: The deep friendship of Audrey Hepburn and designer Hubert de Givenchy (he said it was "like a marriage"), which itself inspired several books. A picture book I read and liked depicts a friendship between a man with taste and style, a fashion designer, and a girl just too lovely not to dress in the latest fashion, a match made in heaven:https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...#(Givenchy went on to design the black dress Hepburn wore in Breakfast at Tiffany's. To die for, yes!).If you think this is a sweet but a little tired as an idea, that you have already read this book somewhere, and know what it is all about, I urge you to think again and read this book. If you think you are so smart as to predict everything that will happen in it--you sophisticate, you!--I will tell you that the book has at least three surprises I did not anticipate in the end. I forced it immediately into the hands of the Next Person in the house, insisting she read it, and now: Here, read it, now, you, and get happy!
    more
  • Sarah Andersen
    January 1, 1970
    The art in this! Just stunning! The colors, composition, the flowing linework...Meanwhile the story is modern while retaining the old-school sweetness and charm of a fairy tale (with a happy ending). Just incredible overall. Worthy of study by all illustrators and writers.
    more
  • JV ❄️☃️❄️
    January 1, 1970
    Absolutely delightful and charming in all the right and bright places! Finally, an unconventional fairy tale waiting to be told for a new generation! This might sound Cinderella-ish, but everything starts with a royal invitation for the Prince's 16th birthday celebration sans the trope-tastic fairy godmother: As everyone in town clamors for that alluring gown to wear for the ball, only one dress stood out amidst the kaleidoscope of colors inside the kingdom's hall. Certainly, it caught the atten Absolutely delightful and charming in all the right and bright places! Finally, an unconventional fairy tale waiting to be told for a new generation! This might sound Cinderella-ish, but everything starts with a royal invitation for the Prince's 16th birthday celebration sans the trope-tastic fairy godmother: As everyone in town clamors for that alluring gown to wear for the ball, only one dress stood out amidst the kaleidoscope of colors inside the kingdom's hall. Certainly, it caught the attention of a mysterious stranger and offered something more than Frances, a lowly seamstress, could ever hope for — an opportunity to express herself and weave the finest dresses while, at the same time, helping this stranger craft and wear this Parisian avant-garde designs. However, something's not quite right: With Prince Sebastian's identity exposed, Frances and the Prince both enter a pact that paves a way for a special friendship to develop. And hell! What more can I say? He's/she's/they're pretty damn gorgeous, even prettier than my pink soul (Swarovski sold separately) — which reminds me, I need to borrow Sailor Moon's transformation for a while. *cries* There are also brilliantly hilarious moments!Later on, things get quite messy and complicated as the Prince's secret is revealed to the unsuspecting public.If you're looking for a particular label where the Prince might fall in the LGBTQ+ spectrum, you're out of luck. No labels here as far as I can tell, but the messages in this graphic novel are truly inspiring. And what message might that be, you might ask? Welp, I encourage you to read The Prince and the Dressmaker.
    more
  • emma
    January 1, 1970
    WHAAAAAAT.Never in a million years did I expect that from this book.Literally awesome. Beautiful art. Just fantastic stuff. Read it read it read it.That's all I have to say.Bottom line: WHY HAVEN'T YOU READ THIS YET WHEN I JUST VERY POLITELY DEMANDED YOU DO SO.
    more
  • Karima chermiti
    January 1, 1970
    well, that was super cute and adorable. My first graphic novel for 2018 and it felt like a breeze of fresh air, I loved it Full review postedWell, The Prince and the Dressmaker turned out to be the most delightful surprise of 2018 and for many reasons:1/ To say that graphic novels aren’t my cup of tea is an understatement. I don’t like them very much and I feel like I can’t get a lot out of them. it’s not like I’m judging them without trying, it’s actually quite the opposite, I tried many times well, that was super cute and adorable. My first graphic novel for 2018 and it felt like a breeze of fresh air, I loved it Full review postedWell, The Prince and the Dressmaker turned out to be the most delightful surprise of 2018 and for many reasons:1/ To say that graphic novels aren’t my cup of tea is an understatement. I don’t like them very much and I feel like I can’t get a lot out of them. it’s not like I’m judging them without trying, it’s actually quite the opposite, I tried many times to read graphic novels and every time I can’t get through it, I just stop and feel totally disappointed and then I get scared of ever trying again but the prince and the dressmaker completely changed my mind. I’m so excited that I think I may try again with other graphic novels so probably I can use some recommendations Guys2/ I enjoyed the illustrations so much, they were beautiful and so endearing and they reminded me of some the cartoons I used to watch when I was a kid and that was a very nice feeling. Everything that reminds me of my childhood is something to love and cherish.3/ The story was actually engaging with really important messages about acceptance and how it’s liberating to be yourself and to find someone who sees the real you and doesn’t judge for it.4/ the characters are amazing and they never felt flat, not for a second. The fact that I loved them, cared about them and rooted for them is a proof that this graphic novel was a win for me. I’m always scared that I will get distracted by the illustrations that I won’t connect to the characters but it was not the case here because I enjoyed those pictures but what I enjoyed more is the different characters this novel introduced to me from the loyal Emile, to the lovely, talented and ambitious Frances to the price who wanted more than arranged marriage out of this life.Adorable, Beautiful with an important message to communicate, The Prince and the Dressmaker is definitely worthy of recommendations.
    more
  • Patricia Bejarano
    January 1, 1970
    ESTA NOVELA GRÁFICA ES LO MÁS BONITO QUE HE LEÍDO EN MI VIDA, SIN EXAGERAR. La historia tiene un guión increíble, los dibujos son preciosos y la historia es MUY NECESARIA y a la vez, muy bonita. Muchas veces lo que no me acaba de convencer de este tipo de novelas es que no suelo llegar a entender del todo las motivaciones y las personalidades de los personajes, porque siento que es difícil hacerlo... pero es que Jen Wang en este libro lo consigue con creces. Llegamos a conocer a los dos personaj ESTA NOVELA GRÁFICA ES LO MÁS BONITO QUE HE LEÍDO EN MI VIDA, SIN EXAGERAR. La historia tiene un guión increíble, los dibujos son preciosos y la historia es MUY NECESARIA y a la vez, muy bonita. Muchas veces lo que no me acaba de convencer de este tipo de novelas es que no suelo llegar a entender del todo las motivaciones y las personalidades de los personajes, porque siento que es difícil hacerlo... pero es que Jen Wang en este libro lo consigue con creces. Llegamos a conocer a los dos personajes principales muy bien, y eso ha hecho que los ame con toda mi alma, de verdad.Frances es una modista que consigue trabajar para el príncipe Sebastian, que le encanta vestirse por las noches con vestidos y convertirse en lady Cristalia. Este secreto unirá muchísimo a ambos protagonistas, que forjarán una gran amistad. Otra cosa que me ha encantado es que representa maravillosamente el tema de género fluido, y jamás había leído una historia donde saliera este tipo de representación tan necesaria para muchas personas, así que ¡chapó! para la autora por hacerlo tan bien y con tanto tacto. Eso sí, preparad pañuelos porque yo he llorado varias veces durante la historia... Si tenéis ganas de leer un cómic impactante, que toque temas importantes y a la vez sea precioso visualmente, esta es vuestra lectura. No os vais a arrepentir.
    more
  • Joce (squibblesreads)
    January 1, 1970
    This was amazing! Beautiful graphic novel with whimsical, royal setting. The art style reflected this in its use of gold, olive, and muted jewel tones.Topics include gender identity and self expression with relation to gender identity, family pressure. I loved how Frances, the dressmaker, was so skillful and talented with fashion design and was quietly confident. She wouldn’t take no for an answer and valued her self worth. I also loved the use of bright bold colors when showing her designs in c This was amazing! Beautiful graphic novel with whimsical, royal setting. The art style reflected this in its use of gold, olive, and muted jewel tones.Topics include gender identity and self expression with relation to gender identity, family pressure. I loved how Frances, the dressmaker, was so skillful and talented with fashion design and was quietly confident. She wouldn’t take no for an answer and valued her self worth. I also loved the use of bright bold colors when showing her designs in contrast to the muted jewel tones and gold of the setting.Sebastian was a wonderful character who was also quietly strong and the way he was portrayed reflected his challenges well and didn’t downplay them.Overall, definitely a graphic novel I’ll remember. I loved it!
    more
  • Isa Cantos (Crónicas de una Merodeadora)
    January 1, 1970
    ¡ESTE LIBRO ES PRECIOSO! Empecé a leerlo pensando que iba a ser una novela gráfica más, pero me encontré con una historia increíble sobre un príncipe de Bélgica al que, por las noches, le gusta vestirse de mujer y, eventualmente, encuentra a una chica que le diseña vestidos maravillosos y lo acepta tal cual es sin juzgarlo. De verdad, The Prince and the Dressmaker es una historia tan linda y natural que no hay lugar a confusiones, enredos mentales o cualquier tipo de juicio negativo. Jen Wang no ¡ESTE LIBRO ES PRECIOSO! Empecé a leerlo pensando que iba a ser una novela gráfica más, pero me encontré con una historia increíble sobre un príncipe de Bélgica al que, por las noches, le gusta vestirse de mujer y, eventualmente, encuentra a una chica que le diseña vestidos maravillosos y lo acepta tal cual es sin juzgarlo. De verdad, The Prince and the Dressmaker es una historia tan linda y natural que no hay lugar a confusiones, enredos mentales o cualquier tipo de juicio negativo. Jen Wang nos presenta la historia de estos dos personajes de una manera que es imposible no amarlos desde la página uno, es imposible no querer que puedan ser ellos mismos sin miedo a lo que puedan pensar. Y es que, claro, desde la perspectiva de la realeza...¿quién iba a querer a un príncipe que se viste de chica por las noches? Las ilustraciones de esta novela son increíbles, Jen Wang es tan detallista que, a pesar de que el estilo es bastante caricaturesco, todo se ve súper real. Las locaciones se ven increíbles y, básicamente, quiero vivir en ese palacio. Lo último que diré es... OMG A LO DEL REY SOBRE EL FINAL. Ya :).
    more
  • •Paperback Princess•
    January 1, 1970
    I read this book in under three hours and I’m literally drained. This book, omg. Where do I begin? Because I don’t personally go through what Sebastian went through, I can’t comment on the accuracy of the representation, but holy damn, was it amazing. And I ship them so much, my heart is exploding with love and acceptance. I WOULD 10/10 RECOMMEND!!!
    more
  • Hamad
    January 1, 1970
    This review and other reviews can be found here:Thebookprescription🌟 I did not know that this existed until a GR friend recommended it, and that was one hell of a recommendation. I did not even read the synopsis and I actually recommend doing so: it is better to go into this not knowing anything!🌟 This was a very fast read ~1 hour~ and that is why everyone should try it, I know some readers will not agree to the idea of the story but the message it holds is important; I do believe this books dea This review and other reviews can be found here:Thebookprescription🌟 I did not know that this existed until a GR friend recommended it, and that was one hell of a recommendation. I did not even read the synopsis and I actually recommend doing so: it is better to go into this not knowing anything!🌟 This was a very fast read ~1 hour~ and that is why everyone should try it, I know some readers will not agree to the idea of the story but the message it holds is important; I do believe this books deals with acceptance, either to one’s self or to the others!🌟 The Pictures were clear, sharp and “clean” and I really like the effort put in all those pages, the twists were funny and cute and it was surprisingly enjoyable.
    more
  • Krista Regester
    January 1, 1970
    The Art! The Story! The Art! Everything about this was great and amazing. I read this is one sitting and refused to put it down.
  • Cam (abookeater)
    January 1, 1970
    A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest reviewThe Prince and the Dressmaker is perfect for fans of the manga Princess Jellyfish and eccentric anime such as Ouran HIghschool Host Club.It tells the story of a young prince Sebastian who loves to dress up as a woman known simply as Lady Cristallia. After seeing a young designer's talent, he hires her as his personal seamstress, all while knowing he may be shunned by her and proper society. Together they form an intimate friend A copy was provided by the publisher in exchange for an honest reviewThe Prince and the Dressmaker is perfect for fans of the manga Princess Jellyfish and eccentric anime such as Ouran HIghschool Host Club.It tells the story of a young prince Sebastian who loves to dress up as a woman known simply as Lady Cristallia. After seeing a young designer's talent, he hires her as his personal seamstress, all while knowing he may be shunned by her and proper society. Together they form an intimate friendship built on trust and acceptance; a message greatly needed in times like ours.I had been told this would be a cute read but I was not prepared by the loveliness of the art and the characters. This graphic novel is full of life and flair and it is perfect for kids and adults alike. The art stye is definitely one of my new favorites what with the fluid lines and the beautiful color schemes. The dresses themselves where wonderful and I loved seeing young Frances, quiet and a bit reserved, bloom when it came to designing one of a kind dresses.The ending was the best part in my opinion it was both hopeful and triumphant and it made me smile so much. I'm looking forward to more of this author's work!I feel like stories like these, that break gender norms and show us a different side of both our lives and history can help future generations accept themselves more easily. Clothes has no gender and in this novel, we get to see that very clearly. What matters is knowing who you are and doing what makes you the happiest.
    more
  • Tatiana
    January 1, 1970
    So wonderfully sweet and kind.
  • Mary ~Ravager of Tomes~
    January 1, 1970
    Oh this was absolutely precious! Great art style as well! 👏🏼
  • Erin(mortaldivergence)
    January 1, 1970
    This was so cute! And I loved the art! And the ending was so sweet and heartwarming!
  • Emir Ibañez
    January 1, 1970
    Ay pero qué bonito ♥♥♥
  • Banny Carstairs
    January 1, 1970
    Yes, the King did THAT! I
  • ❛kayla❜
    January 1, 1970
    UGH THIS BOOK IS ADORABLE AND HEARTWARMING 💕 the graphics were gorgeous, the storyline was cute, and the characters are amazing. i forgot just how much i love graphic novels
  • Serethiel ☽ ✨
    January 1, 1970
    When I first reviewed this, I wrote that I had no plans for a public review, and friends were welcome to PM me for my full thoughts....Well, I've changed my mind (although friends are still welcome to PM me ;) ).First off, here's a little background (spoiler alert, I'm a conservative Christian):I picked up this book because of the synopsis. Because, upon first glance, it looked like a kid's book (?!?!). And, being a reader who might someday marry a fellow reader and possibly find herself the pro When I first reviewed this, I wrote that I had no plans for a public review, and friends were welcome to PM me for my full thoughts....Well, I've changed my mind (although friends are still welcome to PM me ;) ).First off, here's a little background (spoiler alert, I'm a conservative Christian):I picked up this book because of the synopsis. Because, upon first glance, it looked like a kid's book (?!?!). And, being a reader who might someday marry a fellow reader and possibly find herself the proud mother of several book-loving offspring, I wanted to get a feel for the politics are being slipped into MG/children's books, today (even though motherhood is a loooong ways away).Surprisingly, The Prince & the Dressmaker was fairly clean. There was some immodest fashion, drinking, a touch of romance -- and nothing I took as really supportive of homosexuality. But there was the issue of transgenderism. (Is "transgenderism" even a word? Idk. But you get what I mean.)I do not support those who are transgender. This does not mean that I hate them -- this means that I do not approve of what they're doing.The Prince & the Dressmaker follows a Parisian summer in the lives of Sebastian (a prince) and Frances (a dressmaker). Frances just wants to become a fashion designer, but Sebastian just wants to be a princess... or a guy who wears dresses. Thus, Frances becomes his private seamstress, and Sebastian dances nights away as the mysterious Lady Crystallia.This is a story of acceptance, of dreams, and of young love. But this is not a story about helping those in need (and by "helping," I mean love, compassion, understanding, and study).This isn't a Christian book. It's a political agenda. It's a book that says, "Boys, it's okay to dress up like a girl if you want to!"I don't agree with that.I don't want to bog down any brave souls who've managed to make it this far through my review, so I'll leave you with a few verses:But for Adam no suitable helper was found. So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, He took one of the man's ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and He brought her to the man. That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh. ~Genesis 2:20b-22, 24 (NIV)We know that the law is good if one uses it properly. We also know that the law is made not for the righteous but for lawbreakers and rebels, the ungodly and sinful, the unholy and irreligious, for those who kill their fathers or mothers, for murderers, for the sexually immoral, for those practicing homosexuality, for slave traders and liars and perjurers -- and for whatever else is contrary to the sound doctrine that conforms to the gospel concerning the glory of the blessed God, which he entrusted to me. ~1 Timothy 1:8-11 (NIV)A woman must not wear men's clothing, nor a man wear women's clothing, for the Lord your God detests anyone who does this. ~Deuteronomy 22:5 (NIV) SOME NOTES • For those who are like me and prefer to skim, a quick recap: I do not support the practices of homosexuality or being transgender.• I do not hate homosexuals or transgender people -- I simply do not approve of their practices.• A little digging revealed that The Prince & the Dressmaker by Jen Wang is not MG, but YA; however, it is still marketed as "a fairytale for any age."• I do not recommend this book. I strongly believe that it fits a political agenda, and while that may appeal to some, such is not the case for me.• I've done my best with this review. It's probably choppy, wordy, and incomprehensible... but hopefully I'll refine it over time, as I often do.• I'd really appreciate it if we didn't murder each other in the comments. I don't want to fight -- just like every other Goodreads user, I'm here to express my personal opinion. :)
    more
  • Xan West
    January 1, 1970
    A copy was provided by the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis is not solely a fluffy feel-good cute story, as many reviews describe it. There are lovely and sweet moments in it, but it also has other things going on that may be difficult and painful for trans and/or non-binary readers.I enjoyed many things about this YA graphic novel. The art was spectacular, really drew me in. The pacing of the story was lovely, just a bit meditative but still compelling. I really A copy was provided by the publisher through Netgalley in exchange for an honest reviewThis is not solely a fluffy feel-good cute story, as many reviews describe it. There are lovely and sweet moments in it, but it also has other things going on that may be difficult and painful for trans and/or non-binary readers.I enjoyed many things about this YA graphic novel. The art was spectacular, really drew me in. The pacing of the story was lovely, just a bit meditative but still compelling. I really fell for both of the MCs and wanted them to find ways to be happy and successful. I was especially rooting for the dressmaker's success. I loved all the details about the clothes, and the way the dressmaker thought about clothes, her vision for fashion, how much she cared about it. I liked watching her bloom as she had more freedom to do what she wanted to do, and felt for her when she was struggling with the realities of being secretive. I loved watching the prince try on the clothes that felt right, those drawings were so evocative and grabbed my heart. The prince is genderfluid, I think? It's not completely clear. I'm going to use they/them pronouns to refer to the prince because I'm pretty sure they are non-binary, and the story doesn't happen in a setting where they would have access to neutral pronouns. There are some really lovely moments where the prince feels seen and supported in their gender, gets excited about presenting feminine, gets celebrated in a gender that they thought they would never be celebrated in. I really appreciated these moments. They were lovely and touching and hit me in the feels. Unfortunately, for much of the story, the prince is closeted and feels like their non-binary gender is ruining their life and that they can never really be themself and be a monarch. I found the misery and self loathing painful to read, as a non-binary reader. And then the prince gets deliberately outed as someone who wears dresses, with a series of very classic transmisogynistic tropes. I found this sequence in the story very difficult to read. I am very tired of trans and/or non-binary characters in YA getting outed. Given the context of the story and it's arc, the happy ending provided felt too easy and pat, and like it was geared much younger than the rest of the story. It basically seemed to present the idea that public performance of acceptance of gender difference would eradicate all transmisogyny and the prince would be free to be themself. The romance that is included in the happy ending felt unearned, and like it was there to give a reason for the intimacy of the relationship between the prince and their dressmaker, and that made me sad. Supporting someone's gender expression is intimate, and supporting someone to achieve her dream is intimate. This intimacy doesn't need to be romantic, and it felt off to me to frame it as romance. Trigger warnings: (view spoiler)[ transmisogyny, trans hatred, self loathing around gender, transfeminine character is outed by their clothes being removed, kidnapping, parental rejection for being non-binary (hide spoiler)]
    more
Write a review