Lies and Letters
After a season in London, Charlotte Lyons is still regrettably unattached. With her family’s finances in peril, she is sent away with her sister to a bleak coastal town where she is expected to pursue a wealthy earl. Beautiful and talented, how could she possibly fail? But when her heart is captured by someone entirely unexpected, Charlotte finds herself caught up in a web of lies and intrigue. Between hardship and sorrow, she finds more than she bargained for, forced to choose between the life she once wanted and a new love she never imagined.

Lies and Letters Details

TitleLies and Letters
Author
FormatPaperback
ReleaseJul 11th, 2017
PublisherSweetwater Books
ISBN1462119840
ISBN-139781462119844
Rating
GenreHistorical, Regency, Romance, Fiction, Clean Romance

Lies and Letters Review

  • Katie W
    July 24, 2017
    I'm going to get this out of the way right from the start--I did not like the characters at all....at first. The mother is like Cinderella's evil step-mother personified and her two daughters aren't any better. Charlotte is a spoiled rotten brat with no tact, and Clara is a sniveling wimp. Luckily, through a series of unfortunate events, two-thirds of these characters changed. The growth they experienced gives me hope for the worst of characters because I grew to absolutely adore them. I've been I'm going to get this out of the way right from the start--I did not like the characters at all....at first. The mother is like Cinderella's evil step-mother personified and her two daughters aren't any better. Charlotte is a spoiled rotten brat with no tact, and Clara is a sniveling wimp. Luckily, through a series of unfortunate events, two-thirds of these characters changed. The growth they experienced gives me hope for the worst of characters because I grew to absolutely adore them. I've been thinking a lot lately about the thought that you can make your choices, but you sure can't choose the consequences from those choices and that's exactly what happens with this story. Many events lead these girls to crossroads, where they had to choose how to act or react and each choice left them softer and better, especially as they had to deal with the aftermath, both good and bad. I loved their journey and the lessons that came from so many different sources. I especially love the idea that love really can conquer all.This is a great flip-side to a Regency point-of-view. The desperate attempts to fit in were definitely portrayed, as were many other feelings, including the intense efforts to find acceptance and love. Ms. Newbold does a great job bringing emotion and conflict to some pretty flawed characters, giving them life and transformation. I enjoyed my time spent in this story.Content: mild romance; mild violence.*I received a copy from the publisher, which did not affect my opinion. All thoughts are my own.*
    more
  • Aimee (Getting Your Read On)
    July 20, 2017
    I have to admit that in the beginning of this book I was a bit worried. I didn't like any of the characters- the horrible mother, the selfish, bullying older sister or the vapid younger sister. When a book starts off like this where I don't like or connect with any of the characters, I really do worry. It's hard to come back from that. BUT. Ashtyn Newbold did it. She created characters who struggle and are challenged but who redefine themselves and become something better. It was fantastically s I have to admit that in the beginning of this book I was a bit worried. I didn't like any of the characters- the horrible mother, the selfish, bullying older sister or the vapid younger sister. When a book starts off like this where I don't like or connect with any of the characters, I really do worry. It's hard to come back from that. BUT. Ashtyn Newbold did it. She created characters who struggle and are challenged but who redefine themselves and become something better. It was fantastically satisfying and I really enjoyed the journey.Charlotte is awful. Honestly awful. It's no wonder that I didn't like her for a good part of the book. She is selfish and treats others with absolutely no respect- especially those supposedly below her station. Charlotte's transformation is a bit slower coming but fortunately her sister is more adaptive and begins to grow a backbone rather quickly. Clara has a sweet disposition and is gentle. It was good to see her good qualities begin to shine when she was out from underneath Charlotte's tyranny. This is definitely a character driven book. The supporting characters were really good and provided a solid foundation of kindness that both Charlotte and Clara needed in order to see the world differently.It's fantastic when, as a reader, your perceptions are changed. I went from dislike to sympathy to like and rooting for the characters. My emotions were obviously involved and that is always what I'm looking for as a reader. Content: mild peril, a couple instances of kissing. Clean.- I received a copy of this book from the publisher. All opinions expressed here are my own.
    more
  • Lisa (Bookworm Lisa)
    July 20, 2017
    Charlotte and Clara were unfortunate to be raised by one of the most horrible mother's I have ever read about. I don't think that woman had an ounce of nurturing or cared for anyone other than herself. She used her daughters in her scheme of making her life better. Even going so far as to cause contention and favoritism between the two of them.As the book begins, Charlotte is following in the footsteps of her mother. She has been groomed to fulfill this role and doesn't know how wrong or horribl Charlotte and Clara were unfortunate to be raised by one of the most horrible mother's I have ever read about. I don't think that woman had an ounce of nurturing or cared for anyone other than herself. She used her daughters in her scheme of making her life better. Even going so far as to cause contention and favoritism between the two of them.As the book begins, Charlotte is following in the footsteps of her mother. She has been groomed to fulfill this role and doesn't know how wrong or horrible she is. She lies about her sister and puts her down at every opportunity. When their family honor is disgraced, the mother doesn't even care enough to go with her daughters into exile, she cares more for her own comfort. While at the time of reading the situation, I was mortified, I quickly realized what a blessing it was for the girls.The girls learned to respect each other and find common ground and compassion, it was amazing! I didn't like Charlotte felt beholden to continue in her flirtatious and unkind ways to secure a financial match. I loved watching her learn form a mother figure what love is. An amazing family took them under their wing and the girls softened and grew character.The love interests for the girls have their own secrets and burdens. It takes a lot for the characters to grow enough to appreciate what they have before them. I don't want to say much, because the growth and understanding is remarkable and makes this book a wonderful read.Source: I received a complimentary eBook copy from the publisher. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Kelly
    July 26, 2017
    This book reminded me a lot like Pride and Prejudice! It is done in Charlotte’s Point of View. The characters are believable and can be easily identified with. Well, Charlotte’s might not be so easily to get as she was definitely not affable! Charlotte and Clara were raised by their mother to be ruthless and go after men of wealth and title. Charlotte was more groomed to it as she is beautiful and can play the pianoforte like no other, she has a passion there and is good at it. Clara does not wa This book reminded me a lot like Pride and Prejudice! It is done in Charlotte’s Point of View. The characters are believable and can be easily identified with. Well, Charlotte’s might not be so easily to get as she was definitely not affable! Charlotte and Clara were raised by their mother to be ruthless and go after men of wealth and title. Charlotte was more groomed to it as she is beautiful and can play the pianoforte like no other, she has a passion there and is good at it. Clara does not want much to do with her mother’s ruthlessness and lack of real nurturing. Charlotte does everything she can so her mom will love her. She is cruel and I really did not like her one bit. I kept waiting to find something in her that would be redeeming and it finally came. But her road to happiness was a very hard one for her. Charlotte is lying to everyone about their circumstances about coming to live in the coastal town. Little by little, I see Charlotte come around to see what really matters in life and she starts to become kind and caring, but her mother’s expectations of her keeps her from doing what her heart says to do! James is a very selfless gentleman who is always helping others and doesn’t hold grudges. He is kind and caring. He is everything Charlotte is not and I wanted to slap Charlotte several times and tell her to see what she had under her nose! She was raised to find money and title as the means to happiness.Charlotte has a horrible accident that changes her life dramatically. She does care for James but would never admit to it! My heart still went out to Charlotte with her bad parents and what they taught her to believe. My heart went out to James too, because he had lost someone he loved to a man of wealth and title. I didn’t want his heart to be broken again.So, I drank up every word in this book to find happiness come to both James and Charlotte. They both needed it! By the end, I was sighing with content!If you like Pride and Prejudice, horrible accidents, Christmas parties, unrequited love, riches to rags, finding love when you don’t believe it exists, musical passions, charity, money hungry awful mother, gambling father, families that are nurturing and finding real happiness in life than this might be for you!
    more
  • Becca
    July 25, 2017
    First let's start with the cover. I wouldn't be able to to leave a book store without this beautiful book. I am a book cover lover. I often walk out of book stores with books just because the covers are so beautiful.Now, I saw this meme on Facebook the other day and I thought it explained my thoughts about this book pretty well.ME: I like reading because it relaxingME: *screams at book*ME: *throws book against the wall*ME: *cries over characters for days on end*ME: *curses the author's name to t First let's start with the cover. I wouldn't be able to to leave a book store without this beautiful book. I am a book cover lover. I often walk out of book stores with books just because the covers are so beautiful.Now, I saw this meme on Facebook the other day and I thought it explained my thoughts about this book pretty well.ME: I like reading because it relaxingME: *screams at book*ME: *throws book against the wall*ME: *cries over characters for days on end*ME: *curses the author's name to the winds*ME: so relaxingI loved this book so much, but there were a LOT of those feelings going on while reading. I LOVE it when an author brings out so many emotions in me. Charlotte & Clara are banished to a little town called Caster, England after their father disgraced the family. Charlotte is sent to secure a marriage with an Earl. It was all she was raised to do. Marry a man for fortune and station. Caster became so much more than that to Charlotte and Clara. They met Mrs. Abbot and her girls, and found out what it was like to live in a home with love in it. This story captured me from the very first page. I read it in a day. Seriously, I couldn't put it down.Newbold's writing is amazing. She brings the world alive. My heart ached. My heart blossomed. My heart screamed. Seriously all the feels in this book. The love story in this book is so wonderful and frustrating at the same time. Just fabulous.source: I was given this book as part of the tour. I was not compensated in any way for this review. These are my own PERSONAL thoughts on the book.
    more
  • Amanda Bayly
    July 18, 2017
    I could not put this book down for a moment. Charlotte is a completely unsympathetic main character that you get to watch grow and change. There is a haunting sadness and aching pain on every page that makes you grow to love her.
  • Heidi
    July 24, 2017
    Charlotte Lyons has been raised by her mother to think that her whole life revolves around winning a husband. As a result, she has followed in her mother's footsteps and become cold, competitive, and selfish. But underneath it all, Charlotte wants more than anything for her mother to love her. So when the family finances take a dive and her mother tells her that it's up to her to repair the damage by finding a wealthy husband, Charlotte takes it seriously. The problem is that she can't do it in Charlotte Lyons has been raised by her mother to think that her whole life revolves around winning a husband. As a result, she has followed in her mother's footsteps and become cold, competitive, and selfish. But underneath it all, Charlotte wants more than anything for her mother to love her. So when the family finances take a dive and her mother tells her that it's up to her to repair the damage by finding a wealthy husband, Charlotte takes it seriously. The problem is that she can't do it in London as she and her sister have been sent to a small northern fishing village to live. The fact is that Charlotte is not at all likable for the first part of the book, she's selfish and proud. But as she and her sister slowly start to settle into the small cottage they live in and learn to start taking care of themselves, Charlotte starts to see things that she'd never noticed before. Above all else, she's away from her mother's corrupting influence and her heart slowly starts to come to life. But even as Charlotte's heart is opening up to her previously annoying little sister and relationships with others around her, her old habits and desires refuse to die. Even after her heart finds someone to love, Charlotte can't quite bring herself to let go of her deep-seeded desire to please her mother and it may lead her to give up everything of real value in her life. I enjoyed reading this one, especially once Charlotte meets James, who doesn't buy her fake efforts to charm and manipulate. Clara, Charlotte's sister, is a great character from the beginning as she has more sense and openness than does her sister. If you enjoy great regency romance with some rather unusual, interesting twists, I can recommend this one.
    more
  • Meagan Myhren-bennett
    July 17, 2017
    Lies and LettersBy Ashtyn NewboldCharlotte Lyons absolutely knows she is superior to every unattached young lady who is seeking a husband (and every attached one, for that matter). And her younger sister Clara, don't make her laugh. But for some reason Charlotte has yet to be presented with an offer of marriage but she and her mother are certain that it will happen any day.But when a sudden reversal of not only fortune but reputation threatens Charlotte's chances both she and Clara are sent to t Lies and LettersBy Ashtyn NewboldCharlotte Lyons absolutely knows she is superior to every unattached young lady who is seeking a husband (and every attached one, for that matter). And her younger sister Clara, don't make her laugh. But for some reason Charlotte has yet to be presented with an offer of marriage but she and her mother are certain that it will happen any day.But when a sudden reversal of not only fortune but reputation threatens Charlotte's chances both she and Clara are sent to the desolate and unrefined northern coast in hopes of securing an unsuspecting and wealthy Earl. With nothing to recommend them Charlotte and Clara find themselves having to live a life far different than the one to which they've been accustomed to. And to make matters worse their only hope of ever meeting the Earl seems to depend upon the good favor of some lowly fishing merchant - a James Wortham, who even smells of fish.Determined to hide the truth of their circumstances Charlotte soon finds herself caught in a web of lies of her own making. And when Charlotte loses even more than she thought possible will she begin to see herself for what she truly is? Or will the lessons of her mother keep her from seeing beneath the surface?I totally loved Ashtyn's previous book Mischief and Manors and if it is possible to fathom I think this book Lies and Letters just might be better. I know, totally shocking considering how thoroughly delightful the previous work was, right. But the depth of character of Charlotte, Clara, and James just makes this book something special. And in the words of Miss Bingley (Pride and Prejudice) "And their mother!" She is certainly no nominee for mother of the year.Get ready for a delightful afternoon (and evening) of reading with a favorite cup of tea and perhaps a shortbread cookie or two. And see what unfolds as the lies grow, tangle and then come undone. Can her heart be broken before she makes the mistake of a lifetime? Or will everyone have to pay for the lies she's told herself?I was provided a review copy of this book by the publisher with no expectations of a positive review. All expressed opinions are my own.
    more
  • Cathy
    July 20, 2017
    I really LOVE Ashtyn Newbold's books! I love the way she writes, her characters, the growth of her characters, and the plots. I think she's really a master at the Regency Romance genre.Charlotte's character really annoyed me at the beginning of the book. She was not a nice person, to anyone, even her family. Something I realized as I read the book was that she had learned her behavior from her own mother and that her mother, even though idolized by Charlotte, was not nice either. I did like her I really LOVE Ashtyn Newbold's books! I love the way she writes, her characters, the growth of her characters, and the plots. I think she's really a master at the Regency Romance genre.Charlotte's character really annoyed me at the beginning of the book. She was not a nice person, to anyone, even her family. Something I realized as I read the book was that she had learned her behavior from her own mother and that her mother, even though idolized by Charlotte, was not nice either. I did like her sister, Clara, she was kind, accomplished and not out to just get money from the first wealthy man that was available for marriage. I did like that Charlotte was able to grow and change during the book. She went from a selfish, proud, unkind young woman to a woman that cared for others, and was kind and humble. That's probably my very favorite thing about this book. I liked the whole regency plot of this one. But I really liked that it had a bit of a twist. Since Charlotte and Clara were sent away, the normal regency rules didn't really apply. That gives this book a different feel than most regency novels and I really liked it. I liked the way they were able to interract with both men and women in different ways while they were in Craster. I liked the people they met in Craster. James was probably my favorite. I loved the way he watched out for Charlotte and Clara, even though they didn't think he was. I liked the way he felt terrible for what happened to Charlotte, even though it was her own fault really. The plot is great, I laughed aloud at so many parts. The whole thing was great and the ending really was just amazing! Such a great book!
    more
  • Heather Chapman
    June 13, 2017
    What a refreshing plot! The main character is barely likeable at the beginning, and yet, I was still drawn in and wanted to root for her. As Charlotte faces hardship after hardship, her character begins to grow. Growing pains are just that... painful, but they make Charlotte stronger and better because of it. A believable and natural developing romance, this story left me with a smile. Happiness comes to those who deserve it. This new author has a fresh take at regency writing, and I can't wait What a refreshing plot! The main character is barely likeable at the beginning, and yet, I was still drawn in and wanted to root for her. As Charlotte faces hardship after hardship, her character begins to grow. Growing pains are just that... painful, but they make Charlotte stronger and better because of it. A believable and natural developing romance, this story left me with a smile. Happiness comes to those who deserve it. This new author has a fresh take at regency writing, and I can't wait for more!
    more
  • Chelan Hollingsworth
    July 12, 2017
    I absolutely LOVED this book! Ashtyn Newbold did it again and created a story that totally captured my attention and I couldn't put it down. The main character, Charlotte, was so thoroughly obnoxious at first but you can't help but keep reading to find out what happens in the end. Watching Charlotte grow and learn from the trials that she experienced throughout the book was such an interesting storyline and I truly loved every minute! Ashtyn has solidified her spot as one of my favorite authors I absolutely LOVED this book! Ashtyn Newbold did it again and created a story that totally captured my attention and I couldn't put it down. The main character, Charlotte, was so thoroughly obnoxious at first but you can't help but keep reading to find out what happens in the end. Watching Charlotte grow and learn from the trials that she experienced throughout the book was such an interesting storyline and I truly loved every minute! Ashtyn has solidified her spot as one of my favorite authors with this latest book! Can't wait to see what she comes up with next! I received this book free from the author and this did not affect my opinion in any way.
    more
  • Whitney
    July 4, 2017
    Ah man...I LOVED this book. I could not set it down! Such an interesting perspective, with thick characters and a unique and beautiful setting. A beautiful story of change, betrayal, love, trust, and compassion.
  • Melissa Atwood
    June 23, 2017
    I could not put this book down! I even stayed up in the middle of the night after being up with a teething baby, instead of going back to bed like I desperately needed to. It was that good. I loved the characters, their interactions, their development, and how they worked with the misfortunes they had to become better people than they had been. I have read all three of this author's novels, and have since re-read them with my 14 year old daughter, and she has loved them every bit as much. Highly I could not put this book down! I even stayed up in the middle of the night after being up with a teething baby, instead of going back to bed like I desperately needed to. It was that good. I loved the characters, their interactions, their development, and how they worked with the misfortunes they had to become better people than they had been. I have read all three of this author's novels, and have since re-read them with my 14 year old daughter, and she has loved them every bit as much. Highly recommended!
    more
  • Sydney
    July 26, 2017
    Ashtyn Newbold has written a fresh, new clean regency romance that readers will thoroughly enjoy. At least by the end of the novel. In the beginning readers may think that the characters are dreadful; Charlotte is whiny, annoying, and selfish, while Clara is wimpy and let’s herself get pushed around. But through a series of misfortunes, the girls are thrown into a new circumstance where they must learn to take care of and fend for themselves. This leads them to character building situations wher Ashtyn Newbold has written a fresh, new clean regency romance that readers will thoroughly enjoy. At least by the end of the novel. In the beginning readers may think that the characters are dreadful; Charlotte is whiny, annoying, and selfish, while Clara is wimpy and let’s herself get pushed around. But through a series of misfortunes, the girls are thrown into a new circumstance where they must learn to take care of and fend for themselves. This leads them to character building situations where they learn and grow, becoming kind, considerate, self-assured and must learn to be happy with their current state of affairs, becoming characters readers will come to love. Newbold’s well-written story is delightful and original, weaving twists and turns that will delight readers by the book’s end. Readers will not want to put down or miss out on this fabulous story!Genre: historical, regency, romance, clean romancePublisher: Sweetwater Books, a division of Cedar FortPublication date: July 11, 2017Number of pages: 247A review copy of this novel was provided by Cedar Fort. A review was not required and all views and opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Rachel
    July 20, 2017
    4 1/2 starsReviewed for www.compassbookratings.comOverall Review: Lies and Letters is the newest selection from Cedar Fort Publishing's 'Pure Romance' series. Author Ashtyn Newbold pens this beautiful, wistful, and deeply engaging Regency-period novel. The story is filled with vivid descriptions, touching scenes, and phenomenal character development. Main character Charlotte is shockingly unbearable in the beginning, and readers might question how such a horrible protagonist can star in a romanc 4 1/2 starsReviewed for www.compassbookratings.comOverall Review: Lies and Letters is the newest selection from Cedar Fort Publishing's 'Pure Romance' series. Author Ashtyn Newbold pens this beautiful, wistful, and deeply engaging Regency-period novel. The story is filled with vivid descriptions, touching scenes, and phenomenal character development. Main character Charlotte is shockingly unbearable in the beginning, and readers might question how such a horrible protagonist can star in a romance! Rest assured, Charlotte changes and her heartache and growth are both endearing and realistic. The provided discussion questions would make Lies and Letters a solid book club read. With not one, but two romances, this is a story that can't be missed. Lies and Letters is a great character-driven story and Ashtyn Newbold proves she is an author to keep an eye on.For full content analysis, go to www.compassbookratings.com
    more
  • Cara
    July 12, 2017
    I love reading books written from this time period. But they all are pretty similar. Lies and Letters takes a look at the society in a whole new way. I loved watching the characters grow and change as they faced their challenges. They are engaging and you can't help but want to read the book to see where they are going to end up. From the first page to the last, this book is well written with a well thought out story line. I will definitely read this book more than once.
    more
  • Kayla
    July 10, 2017
    A clean regency romance book! I definitely had a love/hate relationship with the main character but that's why I really enjoyed this book as it's not what you would usually suspect of the main character. I enjoyed the plot and the development of Charlotte. I would have loved to see more interaction between Charlotte and James but that's just my own preference. I will definitely read more books by this author!
    more
  • Andrea
    July 26, 2017
    Ashtyn Newbold has another great book available in Lies & Letters. I was intrigued by the description, and the cover caught my eye. Then, I cracked the book open, and I have to admit that I was immediately put off by the main character, Charlotte. That worried me because I prefer stories with a likeable main character. Someone who isn't perfect, but has good qualities that you want to root for. Charlotte was . . . horrible. I mean, really, really, horrible. I was worried about liking the boo Ashtyn Newbold has another great book available in Lies & Letters. I was intrigued by the description, and the cover caught my eye. Then, I cracked the book open, and I have to admit that I was immediately put off by the main character, Charlotte. That worried me because I prefer stories with a likeable main character. Someone who isn't perfect, but has good qualities that you want to root for. Charlotte was . . . horrible. I mean, really, really, horrible. I was worried about liking the book because of her, but thankfully the story is about Charlotte's transformation. Her mother was a piece of work, but Charlotte was able to learn from her mistakes and grow a lot throughout the story.There is an accident at one point in the story that felt a little abrupt. Yes, accidents typically happen quickly, but I would have loved some more detail after it happened. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the story. Lies & Letters is a very good, clean, story with a sweet romance. I would recommend it, and can see myself reading it again.
    more
  • Jenny
    June 26, 2017
    This book was hard for me to get into. Even though I liked several of the main characters, I never really liked Charlotte.
  • Sami
    July 12, 2017
    3.5
  • Rachel
    July 1, 2017
    I thoroughly enjoyed lies and letters. I found that the unique perspective of a villain turned hero kept me engaged. You weren't necessarily on the edge due to communication problems (as is common in romance novels and it seriously gives me anxiety), but rather wondering how Charlotte will survive the north and poverty, change her selfish way of thinking, and obviously find love:) One thing I think I would've liked to see would have been if James and Charlotte's friendship had been further devel I thoroughly enjoyed lies and letters. I found that the unique perspective of a villain turned hero kept me engaged. You weren't necessarily on the edge due to communication problems (as is common in romance novels and it seriously gives me anxiety), but rather wondering how Charlotte will survive the north and poverty, change her selfish way of thinking, and obviously find love:) One thing I think I would've liked to see would have been if James and Charlotte's friendship had been further developed/if they had more encounters. But I love how CLEAN it is. Ashtyn killed it there and I felt the ending was perfect with out any loose ends or wonderings of but what if... Now I just need to read her other book to find out how Charlotte was back in the day 😏
    more
  • Tressa (Wishful Endings)
    July 28, 2017
    LIES AND LETTERS is a heartfelt story about loss and love and the power of friendship. Readers of the genre are sure to cheer on these characters, shed tears for their heartbreak, and enjoy the sweet romance. An overall enjoyable read.This story started off a little rough. I rather despised the main character the first third of the book. However, I knew that things would have to change and they did. There is quite a bit of character development in this story, that was much needed. I adored the w LIES AND LETTERS is a heartfelt story about loss and love and the power of friendship. Readers of the genre are sure to cheer on these characters, shed tears for their heartbreak, and enjoy the sweet romance. An overall enjoyable read.This story started off a little rough. I rather despised the main character the first third of the book. However, I knew that things would have to change and they did. There is quite a bit of character development in this story, that was much needed. I adored the way these sisters learned to lean on and love each other. I also loved who Charlotte becomes.The story had a good balance between the sisters' relationship, Charlotte's development, tragedy, and romance. There was quite a bit of chemistry between Charlotte and her love interest. I loved their banter as well. The ending was also especially sweet.My only real issues with the story was that the last fourth felt drawn out and overly dramatized. Charlotte was in denial for far too long and the back and forth between her and a certain gentleman was tiring.In the end, was it what I wished for? I enjoyed this sweet romance and definitely fell in love with these characters, regardless of a few misgivings.Content: CleanSource: I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, which did not require a review nor affect it in any way.
    more
  • Mindy
    July 28, 2017
    This book was a surprise. I was very concerned at first, my first reactions to Charlotte where of a spoiled, mean, heartless girl, but I was curious as to how the author was going to make me like her. Ashtyn pulled it off, and she did it very well. I loved this book. The setting and characters especially were outstanding. Even the horrible mother. Very well written. I absolutely loved how Charlotte was able to learn to love and to see how she hurt people and to learn from it. I loved her improve This book was a surprise. I was very concerned at first, my first reactions to Charlotte where of a spoiled, mean, heartless girl, but I was curious as to how the author was going to make me like her. Ashtyn pulled it off, and she did it very well. I loved this book. The setting and characters especially were outstanding. Even the horrible mother. Very well written. I absolutely loved how Charlotte was able to learn to love and to see how she hurt people and to learn from it. I loved her improved relationship with Clara. I enjoyed watching her learn to laugh and to learn to let others in. James was a joy. He was outstanding. I loved his character and his kindness. I laughed, I cried (especially during a certain scene I can't talk about, it will give too much away), I thoroughly enjoyed this book. This is the first book I have read of Ashtyn's, and I will quickly be changing that. Very, very well done. 5 out of 5 stars. I can't wait to get my hands on more from this author. Received a paperback copy from the publisher, all views and opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • Tarah
    August 1, 2017
    Oh my heavens! I just barely realized that the Charlotte in this book is the same Charlotte in Mischief and Manors (love that title by the way...super clever). Ha, I really didn't make that connection, even after I went back and reread the first book. Well, not that it's part of a series, but that just goes to show that you don't have to read them in any order to enjoy them! :)So, like everyone else, Charlotte was not my favorite character to start with. And normally for me that would have stopp Oh my heavens! I just barely realized that the Charlotte in this book is the same Charlotte in Mischief and Manors (love that title by the way...super clever). Ha, I really didn't make that connection, even after I went back and reread the first book. Well, not that it's part of a series, but that just goes to show that you don't have to read them in any order to enjoy them! :)So, like everyone else, Charlotte was not my favorite character to start with. And normally for me that would have stopped me reading before she changed. I like to like my main characters. However, with the positive reviews from people I trust I kept reading, and it kept getting better and better.James is awesome. Even though we didn't get to see a lot of his and Charlotte's relationship develop I didn't really feel gypped or at a loss. It was well written and it totally worked for this story. My favorite character though is Mrs. Abbot. I really enjoyed her warmth and acceptance. She is the type of person I hope to be one day. Maybe because everyone else in the story was rather extreme in their personalities, I felt that Mrs. Abbot was rather relaxing and peaceful.I wasn't sure how the ending was going work out, but I was totally satisfied with the way Newbold puts everything together at the end. I can't wait to read what she comes out with next.*I received a copy from the letter in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review