The Color of Magic (Discworld, #1; Rincewind #1)
Terry Pratchett's profoundly irreverent, bestselling novels have garnered him a revered position in the halls of parody next to the likes of Mark Twain, Kurt Vonnegut, Douglas Adams, and Carl Hiaasen.The Color of Magic is Terry Pratchett's maiden voyage through the now-legendary land of Discworld. This is where it all begins -- with the tourist Twoflower and his wizard guide, Rincewind.On a world supported on the back of a giant turtle (sex unknown), a gleeful, explosive, wickedly eccentric expedition sets out. There's an avaricious but inept wizard, a naive tourist whose luggage moves on hundreds of dear little legs, dragons who only exist if you believe in them, and of course THE EDGE of the planet...

The Color of Magic (Discworld, #1; Rincewind #1) Details

TitleThe Color of Magic (Discworld, #1; Rincewind #1)
Author
FormatHardcover
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseSep 13th, 2005
PublisherHarper
ISBN0060855924
ISBN-139780060855925
Number of pages228 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Fiction, Humor

The Color of Magic (Discworld, #1; Rincewind #1) Review

  • Mark Lawrence
    September 23, 2011
    I haven't reviewed this because I read it so long ago that all I can remember is I loved it.I'll take our very old and battered copy (bought in 1987) to the hospice this weekend when I go with Celyn and see if I can't refresh my memory.RIP, Sir Terry.'DON'T THINK OF IT AS DYING,' said Death, 'JUST THINK OF IT AS LEAVING EARLY TO AVOID THE RUSH.'So - to the review!I've just read this in slightly over 24 hours ... which is extraordinary for me. I normally take a month to read a book. It is, to be I haven't reviewed this because I read it so long ago that all I can remember is I loved it.I'll take our very old and battered copy (bought in 1987) to the hospice this weekend when I go with Celyn and see if I can't refresh my memory.RIP, Sir Terry.'DON'T THINK OF IT AS DYING,' said Death, 'JUST THINK OF IT AS LEAVING EARLY TO AVOID THE RUSH.'So - to the review!I've just read this in slightly over 24 hours ... which is extraordinary for me. I normally take a month to read a book. It is, to be fair, both a very readable and a very short book (65,000 words - a short fantasy these days is ~100,000 words).I was surprised to find how much of this I remembered, especially as I last read it 28 years ago!It's a very funny book with some GREAT one-liners. I particularly liked one that said about men falling foul of the thieves' guild (I paraphrase) '... men who wouldn't be going home again ... unless they happened to live near the river and their corpses floated by on the way to the sea."And this from the character Twoflower was poignant:"When I think that I might die without seeing a hundredth of all there is to see it makes me feel," he paused, then added, "well, humble, I suppose. And very angry, of course." Anyway - incompetent and cowardly failed wizard Rincewind falls in with Twoflower, the naive tourist with an impossibly optimistic attitude, oodles of gold, and an indestructible, vicious and implacable treasure chest on legs to defend him.Hilarity ensues as Twoflower tries to see everything, Rincewind tries not to die, and the gods play games with them. We get a great tour of the Discworld, its geography, magics, and inhabitants, all of which are so fantastically imaginative and amusing that even geography becomes a joy.This isn't Terry Pratchett's best book but it's full of all the great stuff that gathers together into its peak a few books into the series. It's certainly an excellent book though. Pratchett has an incredibly rare talent for compressing humour into one-liners that are witty, incisive, and yet never feel mean - it's not jokes that you feel are directed _at_ anyone, just mined from the stuff of life.I had a great time revisiting this book and if you've not tried it - now's the time!.
    more
  • David
    October 21, 2012
    Reading The Color of Magic is akin to eating an entire bowl of ice cream just a little too fast...sure, it may cause your head to hurt at times, but the sweet rewards make it all worth it!Filled with ambitious wizards and ruthless assassins, the city of Ankh-Morpork has survived many dangers in the past, but now it faces an even more destructive force...TOURISM!!! When a rich but bored outsider named Twoflower decides to explore the city in search for adventure, it soon becomes an adventure for Reading The Color of Magic is akin to eating an entire bowl of ice cream just a little too fast...sure, it may cause your head to hurt at times, but the sweet rewards make it all worth it!Filled with ambitious wizards and ruthless assassins, the city of Ankh-Morpork has survived many dangers in the past, but now it faces an even more destructive force...TOURISM!!! When a rich but bored outsider named Twoflower decides to explore the city in search for adventure, it soon becomes an adventure for everyone around him, too! Twoflower's well-meaning but careless ways earn him the attention of pirates, dragonriders, and various supernatural entities, all looking to rid Twoflower of his treasure...not to mention his life! Soon failed wizard Rincewind reluctantly becomes Twoflower's guide, and as Twoflower explores more and more of Discworld looking for the adventure of a lifetime, Rincewind tries desperately to make sure his lifetime lasts for more than five minutes!This was me for about 80% of this book...Annnnnd here I am for the other 20%....What I loved most about this book was definitely the humor. Some authors can only come up with a great laugh-out-loud moment once or twice in a book, but Pratchett is able to pull one off in just about every page! There are oodles of witty dialogue all throughout the novel, as well as some great slapstick moments. In addition, Pratchett gives us some excellent satire, too. I got a big kick out of how familiar some of Twoflower's ideas were, like when he convinces a bar owner to "place a bet" on whether or not the bar will be damaged...Twoflower calls this process "inn-sewer-ants"! By having the other characters mock the "outrageous" concepts Twoflower introduces them to, it did a magnificent job painting an amusing picture of some of the absurdities of everyday life. "The Color of Magic" isn't just a humorous book, it actually manages to pull off several different kinds of humor!Also, I was amazed with the extent of Pratchett's imagination! While some elements of this book are your standard fantasy archetypes, Pratchett really ups the ante by giving us some brilliantly creative concepts as well. With translucent dragons, trolls made out of water, a sentient piece of luggage that manages to display so much personality without ever saying a word, and an upside-down swordfight that has to be seen, errr, read to be believed, Pratchett never runs out of new ideas to entertain his audience with.Alas, while I enjoyed this book very much, I did have a couple of issues with it. For one thing, I felt like Pratchett tried to cram way too much into a book that's barely over 200 pages. So many characters and creatures come and go, it quickly becomes difficult to keep track of what's going on! I have some friends who didn't enjoy the "Game of Thrones" book as they found it confusing, but at least George R.R. Martin takes a good amount of time to establish all the characters, whereas this book can sometimes feel like trying to watch a NASCAR race where all the cars are speeding in a different direction! Also, some of Pratchett's ideas were a little too "out-there" for me...I knew this was going to be a problem right away, when Pratchett begins the book by revealing that Discworld is a planet that is carried on the backs of four elephants who are all standing on the shell of a giant turtle that is floating through space..."This is an awful lot to throw at me on page one, Mr. Pratchett!"Also, while "The Color of Magic" works beautifully as a comedy, I'm afraid the actual story doesn't quite hit the mark. The book is divided into four parts, and each part feels like a separate book. Almost anyone introduced in one section is absent in the other three, so we're left wondering what happened to many different characters. While the events of Rincewind's and Twoflower's journey are fun to watch, there's very little true progression or closure. This storytelling technique was especially baffling in the fourth segment, where Pratchett keeps referring to an adventure that we never got to see, as it occurred inbetween the third and fourth sections. This disjointed method of storytelling prevented the book from becoming anything more than just a comedy of errors, as amusing as those errors may have been.So, while I felt this book would have been better if it were a bit longer and some of the concepts had been more fleshed out, I still had a lot of fun reading this hysterically funny adventure. I've been told that the first couple of books in the Discworld series pale in comparison to the later ones. Considering how entertaining "The Color of Magic" was, if this truly is one of the weaker entries, I can't wait to read more of the Discworld series!
    more
  • Brad
    July 9, 2009
    Before picking it up, I'd heard that The Colour of Magic was funny. Now that can mean just about anything because, let's face it, comedy is the most subjective of arts. Funny is a deeply personal thing. The "funny peculiar" and the "funny ha-ha" might not be the same from person to person or even to the same person depending on their mood or their place in life. So knowing something is funny ahead of reading it really doesn't tell me much. I'd read Terry Pratchett's & Neil Gaiman's Good Omen Before picking it up, I'd heard that The Colour of Magic was funny. Now that can mean just about anything because, let's face it, comedy is the most subjective of arts. Funny is a deeply personal thing. The "funny peculiar" and the "funny ha-ha" might not be the same from person to person or even to the same person depending on their mood or their place in life. So knowing something is funny ahead of reading it really doesn't tell me much. I'd read Terry Pratchett's & Neil Gaiman's Good Omens quite a while ago, so I expected at least a hint of satire and politically conscious wit, but I had no idea which of the authors to blame for the smart laughs in Good Omens, and my recollections really shed no illumination on what was to come. So I read The Colour of Magic with as open a mind as I could and hoped for some laughs. I didn't laugh much and that surprised me. I smiled an awful lot, though. But I didn't laugh. No out loud snickers; no full-out belly laughs; no snorts; no giggles. But I did smile. Pratchett's kooky tale (really four tales to make one) of Rincewind, the one-great-spell, wizarding failure, Twoflower, the in-sewer-ants adjuster/tourist, and his Luggage was smart more often than it was stupid, consciously political, satirically silly, more than willing to take the piss out of Fantasy as a genre, but mostly it was exceedingly absurd. And all of this was what made The Colour of Magic good to very good. Even so, its audience is necessarily limited. I know why I liked The Colour of Magic, and while I imagine there are other reasons to like the story, I think it is probably a fairly inaccessible tale unless you are a reader who falls into a niche of accessibility. This is not a book that can be widely read or widely liked. So why did I like it? I liked it because I fall into a niche wherein I was able to access memories of drunken, drug-addled, teenage D&D marathons (which were extremely rare since we preferred our gaming sober), where we gave up being serious and descended into near madness. Those nights are reflected in everything that happens in The Colour of Magic. Obligatory bar fights of fantastic impossibility, Monty Hall swords and treasures, idiotic last second rescues, gods dicing, heroes thinking with the dirk in their pants, dimensional slips and deus ex machinas at every turn make The Colour of Magic a collage of gaming stupidity, and it was nice to take a nostalgic trip back to my adolescence. In fact, Pratchett captures exactly the sort of gaming experience that led our halfling priest of Xyice, God of Mischief, to wish for a foot long penis then fall unconscious from blood loss when he achieved his first erection. So I liked this book...a lot, actually.But it wasn't the best story I've ever read, and I can't imagine I could sit down and read the entire Discworld cycle without a break. It's fun. It's light. Pratchett writes better than I expected, but I bet there are many folks out there who hate this book. You have my sympathy. So yes...I was disappointed that I didn't laugh more; I was disappointed that the story wasn't more subtle; I hated the turtle carrying the disc; I wanted The Colour of Magic to be more biting than silly, more critical than absurd, more intelligent than clever. But it was a fun ride that entertained me while I did the dishes, and I couldn't help liking Rincewind, so I will probably go on, and I will likely become a fan of Pratchett's Discworld books...in spite of themselves.
    more
  • Lindsey Rey
    December 22, 2015
    I will officially be reading the entire Discworld series!
  • Lyn
    September 28, 2014
    And so it begins … for me at least. Sir Terry Pratchett’s wildly imaginative Discworld series begins with the 1983 publication of The Color of Magic.I have been reading science fiction and fantasy for a long time and somehow I have managed to not read any of his works. A friend suggested I try one, I’d like it and so I read the fourth in the series, Mort and I thought so much that I decided I would climb the hill and enjoy every step.Begin with a heaping portion of British humor (humour), mix in And so it begins … for me at least. Sir Terry Pratchett’s wildly imaginative Discworld series begins with the 1983 publication of The Color of Magic.I have been reading science fiction and fantasy for a long time and somehow I have managed to not read any of his works. A friend suggested I try one, I’d like it and so I read the fourth in the series, Mort and I thought so much that I decided I would climb the hill and enjoy every step.Begin with a heaping portion of British humor (humour), mix in a share of Douglas Adams, sprinkle liberally with Monty Python, throw in a fantastic amount of fantasy from the Piers Anthony brand of fiction and top with a wink and a nod and you have Terry Pratchett Discworld embarkation. The Potent Voyager has set sail and much mirth and irreverence is certainly to follow.
    more
  • Markus
    May 6, 2014
    This must be the exception that proves the rule. For years I’ve been adamantly advocating reading series in publication order, whether a coherent story or a set of standalones. In Discworld, that simply doesn’t seem to be the best solution. Everyone seems to suggest that a new reader should not start with the first book, so this must be partially my fault for doing it anyway.The Colour of Magic is at best a mediocre introduction to what is supposedly the best humourous fantasy series ever writte This must be the exception that proves the rule. For years I’ve been adamantly advocating reading series in publication order, whether a coherent story or a set of standalones. In Discworld, that simply doesn’t seem to be the best solution. Everyone seems to suggest that a new reader should not start with the first book, so this must be partially my fault for doing it anyway.The Colour of Magic is at best a mediocre introduction to what is supposedly the best humourous fantasy series ever written, by the legendary Terry Pratchett. Granted, the wild descriptions of the cosmology and topography of the Disc are indeed interesting, the writing is good and there are a few funny lines. However, I expected a lot more going on. While the total lack of a coherent plot is understandable in a series based on humour, the lack of humour is really not.That does not mean I didn’t enjoy the book. This rating may be a bit harsh, but it does seem to mean that I found the book to be “okay”. I am not discouraged from reading more books in the series, and I both hope and choose to believe that they are of a much higher quality than this first one. For the style is there. It’s only the substance that’s missing.That said, the race between two and three stars was pretty much a tie. Being a generally evil person, I opted for the lower option.I often see Pratchett compared to Douglas Adams, and just as often hailed as “the Douglas Adams of fantasy”. And so far, he unfortunately does not come close. You may be a legend, Sir Terry, but it takes a lot more to be a Douglas Adams.
    more
  • Jamie
    August 1, 2008
    I'm pretty sure people have told me about Pratchett and his Diskworld series before, usually working in the phrase "He's the Douglas Adams of fantasy" into the description. But the problem was that I always felt that I had had enough of Adams after the third Hithiker's Guide to the Galaxy book, and whenever I scanned Pratchett's section in the bookstore I was immediately put off by not knowing where to start reading among the approximately five hundred thousand Diskworld books. I'm glad I finall I'm pretty sure people have told me about Pratchett and his Diskworld series before, usually working in the phrase "He's the Douglas Adams of fantasy" into the description. But the problem was that I always felt that I had had enough of Adams after the third Hithiker's Guide to the Galaxy book, and whenever I scanned Pratchett's section in the bookstore I was immediately put off by not knowing where to start reading among the approximately five hundred thousand Diskworld books. I'm glad I finally took the time to find out that these two books, The Colour of Magic and The Light Fantastic, jointly comprise the first tale in the series, and that they were definitely worth reading.The Diskworld books are essentially satire of the high fantasy genre, or at least that's the foundation upon which everything else is built. This pair of books follows the misadventures of Rincewind, a utterly inept and thoroughly cowardly wizard, and Twoflowers, a clueless traveler who happens to be in possession of both endless optimism and a magical suitcase that's always wandering off and messily devouring people who get in its way. Things go from bad to worse for the two as divine powers both deliver them into and yank them out of all kinds of fantastic perils.As someone who grew up reading plenty of this kind of thing and playing a lot of Dungeons& Dragons, I'm familiar enough with the genre and trappings that Pratchett lampoons. Yes, there's the Conan parody, there's the Dragonriders of Pern tribute, there's the in-joke about Leiber's Fafhrd and Gray Mouser. But that's easy. The thing that made me almost immediately fall in love with these books is the author's dry wit and his ability to derive humor not only from the absurdity of the story (and believe me, it gets plenty absurd) but also from just good old fashioned turns of phrase, wry commentary, and jokes. The guy just has an amazing ability to stuff five or six jokes into a single sentence, most of them making masterful use of that trusty standby of British humor, irony. It's really smart and really funny, and the fact that it builds on the inherent silliness of the high fantasy genre is just icing.I should also note how imaginative Pratchett is, which is a useful quality given his subject matter. He bounces his heroes from one (generally horrible and dangerous) situation to another at a frantic pace, and his ability to come up with new material and new situations amazes me. And while many of them are obvious parodies of fantasy staples, just as many seem to be wholly new creations. As one small (and obligatory) example, the Diskworld itself is a flat coin of a world that rides atop four enormous elephants, who themselves ride on the back of a colossal turtle with two continent-sized flippers that it uses to swim slowly through the cold reaches of space.But at the same time, if I have one complaint about these first two books, it's that they're almost maniacal in their plotting. While it's nice to see Pratchett's considerable imagination and humor on display as we go from situation to situation, the first book reads like an extended doodle with little plot and a whole "gods playing games with mortals" subtext that's entirely dropped in the next book. There's also one Conan the Barbarian parody that's abruptly dropped in favor of another Conan the Barbarian parody who Pratchett apparently liked better. It's not until the latter part of the second book does an overall plot come into play, but honestly I was enjoying myself so much I really didn't mind. Expect to see lots more Discworld books reviewed here in the future.
    more
  • Helen 2.0
    May 22, 2016
    Terry Pratchett is a genius, as usual. This man can do no wrong. He reminds me a lot of Douglas Adams, my favorite in the realm of satire. Look at this similarity:"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move." - Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe"Disc philosophers agree that the First Men, shortly after their creation, understandably lost their temper." - Terry Pratchett, The Color of MagicThe Co Terry Pratchett is a genius, as usual. This man can do no wrong. He reminds me a lot of Douglas Adams, my favorite in the realm of satire. Look at this similarity:"In the beginning the Universe was created. This has made a lot of people very angry and been widely regarded as a bad move." - Douglas Adams, The Restaurant at the End of the Universe"Disc philosophers agree that the First Men, shortly after their creation, understandably lost their temper." - Terry Pratchett, The Color of MagicThe Color of Magic tells the story of Rincewind, a cowardly fake wizard who happens to carry the most powerful spell in the Discworld in his mind. Rincewind is tasked with protecting Twoflower, a naive but totally loaded insurance agent out on a tour of the world, who has more luck in one day than anyone should rightfully have their whole lives. Joining the travelers is a multi-legged, man-eating, overprotective chest of luggage. The gods then play dice with their lives - literally. Chaos and hilarity ensue.My favorite character, indisputably the biggest BADASS of the book, was the Luggage. It follows Rincewind across the Disc and protects him from any threat. It also has the uncanny ability to convey emotions (mostly menace) without possessing any facial features. I'm eternally jealous of Twoflower for owning walking luggage - I have to drag my possessions everywhere.I love Terry Pratchett's ability to make fun of corruption, greed, cowardice, and other evils so common in the world without coming off as bitter or even very critical. He creates characters with many faults but makes them lovable anyway; Rincewind being the big example in this book.Besides that, Pratchett is insanely skilled at writing simple but funny prose. Some examples: "The door flew open, badly damaging the assassin who was standing beside it.""He drew his sword and, with a smooth overarm throw, completely failed to hit the troll.""Bel-Shamharoth screamed, a sound that started in the far ultrasonic and finished somewhere in Rincewind's bowels."I'm attempting a full Discworld series read-through, one book per month. Check back in just over two years to see if I'm done yet xD
    more
  • J.G. Keely
    October 28, 2007
    This series is much beloved of my friends, both here on Goodreads and out in the wilds of meatspace--he's even been referred to as Fantasy's answer to one of my favorite authors: the superlatively funny and insightful Douglas Adams. As such, I was excited to start the series at the beginning, hoping the wit and wisdom would overcome the warts of this early outing. Unfortunately,the jokes drew more groans than guffaws, reminding me of Mark Twain's comments on the book of friend and fellow America This series is much beloved of my friends, both here on Goodreads and out in the wilds of meatspace--he's even been referred to as Fantasy's answer to one of my favorite authors: the superlatively funny and insightful Douglas Adams. As such, I was excited to start the series at the beginning, hoping the wit and wisdom would overcome the warts of this early outing. Unfortunately,the jokes drew more groans than guffaws, reminding me of Mark Twain's comments on the book of friend and fellow American treasure Ambrose Bierce: "There is humor in 'Dod Grile', but for every laugh that is in his book there are five blushes, ten shudders and a vomit. The laugh is too expensive." Pratchett has none of the wry, oddball musings of Adams, and seems to me to be less the Fantasy version of that author and more the British version of endlessly 'punny' writer Piers Anthony (though thankfully without the unsettling implications of pedophilia). After finding this one unpalatable, a friend suggested I try one of his later books, so I started Moving Pictures, but while it was more competently crafted, I found it no more amusing. I guess you can't trust your friends.I've since been told to try another of his books--most often Night Watch and Small Gods are mentioned, but I find it impossible to work up any enthusiasm for another outing with Pratchett--perhaps one day, I'll get there.My Fantasy Book Suggestions
    more
  • TL
    April 20, 2015
    A charming and sometimes tedious novel, Rincewind grew on me quickly and I enjoyed watching him get into and out of scrapes along the way. Death's and Fate's frustration with him was hilarious. I kept imagining them as toddlers stomping their feet :-D.Two Flower I was so so on... sometimes he charmed me and others... eh. His optimism seemed misplaced sometimes, but he had good intentions.A nice start to the series, plenty of action and some humor :) The scenes with Krull and near the edge of the A charming and sometimes tedious novel, Rincewind grew on me quickly and I enjoyed watching him get into and out of scrapes along the way. Death's and Fate's frustration with him was hilarious. I kept imagining them as toddlers stomping their feet :-D.Two Flower I was so so on... sometimes he charmed me and others... eh. His optimism seemed misplaced sometimes, but he had good intentions.A nice start to the series, plenty of action and some humor :) The scenes with Krull and near the edge of the world were one of my many favorites... I sympathize with Rincewind and the vertigo sensation of looking over the edge *shudders* I'd rather stay on land thanks.It seemed alot to cram into one novel, at times my eyes glazed over and I had to re-read a couple passages. Don't get me wrong, it was all interesting but it could've been spread out more.An enjoyable ride nonetheless, this world is one I wouldn't mind living in and/or visit from time to time. Hats off to you once again Mr. Pratchett for bringing this to us :)Read David's excellent review , he captures it wonderfully.
    more
  • Frogy (Ivana)
    December 17, 2014
    Zasto sam ovoliko dugo cekala da zakoracim u Disksvet?! I ako bi neko od starosedelaca mogao da mi kaze kako da nabavim Prtljag od kruskovog drveta mudrosti, cini mi se da je pametno imati jedan ;)
  • Maria Clara
    October 22, 2016
    Tengo que decir que me ha sorprendido agradablemente; pues no esperaba que fuera a gustarme ni que disfrutara tanto con las locas aventuras de Rincewind.
  • Amanda
    August 3, 2008
    Meh. It just didn't do it for me. Unfortunately, this book has been recommended to me so many times by well-meaning friends who know my love of absurd British humor that it couldn't possibly live up to the hype. It suffers from The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy syndrome. For years, everyone I knew--friends, family, students, co-workers--would ask me if I had read Hitchhiker's and their mouths would drop when I admitted no, I hadn't . . . yet. Their response was always the same, "Oh, but you h Meh. It just didn't do it for me. Unfortunately, this book has been recommended to me so many times by well-meaning friends who know my love of absurd British humor that it couldn't possibly live up to the hype. It suffers from The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy syndrome. For years, everyone I knew--friends, family, students, co-workers--would ask me if I had read Hitchhiker's and their mouths would drop when I admitted no, I hadn't . . . yet. Their response was always the same, "Oh, but you have to! It's like it was written for YOU!" By the time I got around to reading it, there's no way it could have lived up to the expectations that had been percolating for years. Ditto for The Color of Magic. I'll admit, Pratchett has a way with words and there was the occasional turn of phrase in response to which I made that air-escaping-from-the-nose sound that's not full bodied enough to be considered a snort of laughter. There was the infrequent half-smile. A few head nods in appreciation of a clever conceit. But, alas, there were no tear-inducing uncontrollable fits of laughter, which is what I expected. Will I read more Pratchett? Yes, because I have at least three more books by him lying about. I just hope they're better than this.Cross posted at This Insignificant Cinder
    more
  • Anne
    September 10, 2009
    It had some funny moments, but I really struggled to get through it. In all fairness to the people who suggested I read the Discworld series, this is not one of the ones they said I should start with. I think I mostly had a hard time slogging through all of the world-building and made up words. Fantasy has never been my thing, because I'm not someone who enjoys reading descriptions of the characters surroundings. I'm not giving up on the series, though. I think I'll just go back through my book It had some funny moments, but I really struggled to get through it. In all fairness to the people who suggested I read the Discworld series, this is not one of the ones they said I should start with. I think I mostly had a hard time slogging through all of the world-building and made up words. Fantasy has never been my thing, because I'm not someone who enjoys reading descriptions of the characters surroundings. I'm not giving up on the series, though. I think I'll just go back through my book recommendations and find the ones I was told to start with.
    more
  • Antonio
    August 15, 2013
    suspira....Mientras mas alto pongo mis expectativas, mis caídas son peores, y al parecer con esta caeré, caeré y seguiré cayendo. Amo la magia, los dragones, y reconozco la creatividad y humor de Pratchett; entonces ¿Qué paso? una lógica tan profunda como Alicia en el pais de las maravillas, unos saltos de trama que me desenfocaban, y el final.... (view spoiler)[Toda la Creación estaba esperando que Rincewind cayera. Y lo hizo. No parecía tener otra alternativa. (hide spoiler)]ese final... pens suspira....Mientras mas alto pongo mis expectativas, mis caídas son peores, y al parecer con esta caeré, caeré y seguiré cayendo. Amo la magia, los dragones, y reconozco la creatividad y humor de Pratchett; entonces ¿Qué paso? una lógica tan profunda como Alicia en el pais de las maravillas, unos saltos de trama que me desenfocaban, y el final.... (view spoiler)[Toda la Creación estaba esperando que Rincewind cayera. Y lo hizo. No parecía tener otra alternativa. (hide spoiler)]ese final... pensé que a mi libro le faltaban paginas. No entiendo, se que el mundodisco tiene muchos fans, que es una de las sagas fantásticas mas amadas, ¿entonces...? esta historia tal vez no sea para mi...Haré algo que nunca he hecho en mis reseñas, pido a todos los fans de Pratchett que andan por esta red que me expliquen que pudo haber pasado, ¿Debí empezar por otro libro? ¿En las continuaciones se atan todos los cabos sueltos que se dejaron? ¿La escritura de Pratchett mejora?
    more
  • Phrynne
    April 7, 2012
    I first read this book many years ago and I remember I fell in love with the Disc World as soon as I read the first few pages. I loved the idea of the turtle swimming through space and the elephants and the rim fall and the eighth colour in the spectrum called octarine. Twoflower and Rincewind were the first of many of Pratchett's characters I would meet who are so helpless and yet who blunder successfully through mishap after mishap. And as for the Luggage! That has to be one of the best invent I first read this book many years ago and I remember I fell in love with the Disc World as soon as I read the first few pages. I loved the idea of the turtle swimming through space and the elephants and the rim fall and the eighth colour in the spectrum called octarine. Twoflower and Rincewind were the first of many of Pratchett's characters I would meet who are so helpless and yet who blunder successfully through mishap after mishap. And as for the Luggage! That has to be one of the best inventions ever. I have just reread this book in honour of Terry Pratchett after his recent death. However I find - just like last time - I am not going to be able to stop at one. I am back in the Disc World and loving it:)
    more
  • Becky
    February 6, 2011
    I dunno if this is going to be a proper 'review' (heh, as though any of the things that I write in this space are...), it'll likely just be a bunch of randomness and ranting. So, like my usual offerings.I read Amanda's review (This'un.) and I'm all like "Yep." This is one of those books/series that people love and it makes me want to love it and then I set crazy goals for myself, like reading them... all... in a year... just maybe not this one... and then when the first one ends up NOT being the I dunno if this is going to be a proper 'review' (heh, as though any of the things that I write in this space are...), it'll likely just be a bunch of randomness and ranting. So, like my usual offerings.I read Amanda's review (This'un.) and I'm all like "Yep." This is one of those books/series that people love and it makes me want to love it and then I set crazy goals for myself, like reading them... all... in a year... just maybe not this one... and then when the first one ends up NOT being the fucking greatest thing since ever, I feel disappointed. It's unfair. (To me, I mean. I don't care if it's fair to the book if others have set my expectations too high and then it didn't live up to them. It's a book. It doesn't have feelings or a brain and thus cannot understand why it should feel sorry for me.)But, to be fair to the expectation raisers, I'd also read Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett, and I really enjoyed it, so that also tended to set the bar higher and make my fall just that much further. Sadface.Anyway. So, in a discussion with a friend, she mentioned that "The Colour of Magic is basically a collection of in-jokes about other books." Which goes a long way toward explaining why it didn't work for me. 1) Because, of the authors mentioned whose work is being joked upon or referenced or whatever, I've read very little to none at all, and therefore would be quite the opposite of the intended audience, if, as I would presume, the audience is intended to get the jokes and/or references. 2) I just really dislike this kind of homework prerequisite reading thing. Zelazny did the same thing with A Night In The Lonesome October, and even though I had read much more of the referenced and hinted at works he incorporated into his story, and so should have been more "in the know" and thus able to enjoy it more, I didn't. I don't read that way. I am not analyzing every line looking for something else - I'm looking for the author to tell me a story. And this kind of storytelling is both lazy and too much work at the same time, if you ask me. Don't get me wrong, I like easter eggs in books. I do. I like little references that people in the know will get and have a little something added... it's nice. I like it. But, in my opinion, it should just be that - a little something nice added. People who don't get the reference should not even notice it, because the story is standing on its own legs and is complete without it. If the story doesn't make sense ON ITS OWN, and if I need to have read an entire genre or two's worth of books just to follow the events in your story - I'm not going to enjoy it. I don't read to interpret A to be a reference to X from book Q and need to know X from Q's history to understand what A is doing in your book. I just want a good fucking story. Tell me one, and get on with it. But about the book itself, I dunno what to say. It didn't feel like a novel, which was how I approached it, it felt like a set of stories just sharing some characters and a general world setting. I think trying to read it as a novel, looking for the overarching story from page 1 to page 200-whatever, set me up for failure as well. If I had read this as each chapter being a vignette story, that would probably have been better. Likewise, it just seemed to forget some of the conflicts that were raised. In the beginning of the book, the Patriarch (or whatever he's called) threatens Rincewind with death if anything untoward should happen to Twoflower the tourist... but that passes like a leaf in the wind and nothing ever comes of it and is never mentioned again. In fact, every danger is just gone as soon as its gone. There's no follow-up, there's no consequences... heck, most of the time there's no rational, logical reason that anything happens (or doesn't happen) in the first place. And that is one of my least favorite things. I hate when there are no rules and anything and everything and the kitchen sink are just possible because why not? It's WHIMSICAL! -_- Grrrrr. So annoying. It was like 200 pages of deus ex machina. I didn't care about any of the characters I think I was meant to care about. I liked Death, and the Luggage. I was rooting for them both to take their due from Rincewind. Maybe next book. By all accounts, the Discworld books get better, and I'll probably go along and hope for that, but my patience has thinned quite a lot. I'll give this series another chance, but if it continues on this way - with the references and the deus ex machina in place of proper storytelling, and the unfunny (because man, I didn't even crack a smile!), I'm writing it off. Life is too short.2 Stars for POTENTIAL, and I'm being generous here.
    more
  • Jon
    July 30, 2008
    4 stars
  • Evelyn (devours and digests words)
    May 2, 2015
    Magic never dies. It merely fades away. I first visited the world of Discworld at the age of twelve when I was still wolfing down picture books and fingering through easy-peasy written books. Then one day, I saw a friend prancing around with this book to classes. I have a sharp eye on colourful book covers and this one's won me over. I demanded asked to borrow this and right on the spot, he let me.Back home I immediately flipped to page one. Upon the first few paragraphs however, my brain went d Magic never dies. It merely fades away. I first visited the world of Discworld at the age of twelve when I was still wolfing down picture books and fingering through easy-peasy written books. Then one day, I saw a friend prancing around with this book to classes. I have a sharp eye on colourful book covers and this one's won me over. I demanded asked to borrow this and right on the spot, he let me.Back home I immediately flipped to page one. Upon the first few paragraphs however, my brain went dead.Has someone ever tell you a joke that is supposed to be funny but you just don't get the meaning? That was how it was like with this book. I didn't get the humour and the worldbuilding was much too intricate for me to swallow.So in the end, I gave up after 15+ pages in. The next few days after my defeat, the book was returned back to its owner. I did not look back after that. Six years later, I revisited Discworld, and I can safely say that I absolutely love the adventures this time. The worldbuilding took a while to piece itself together but when it did, the final image is fantastic and utterly magical. Imagine a whole world being carried on the backs of four elephants standing on the shell of a large, gigantic turtle (sex undertermined) as it moves slowly throughout space.Bizzare, isn't it?That is what I would describe the whole story. Bizzare, and completely out-of-the-blue. Rincewind who's an incompetent, dull-witted wizard found himself acting as a tour guide for the naive, gullible, and painfully optimistic Twoflower who had just arrived in Ankh-Morpork hoping for an unforgettable adventure. Armed with a hundred-legged Luggage that can snap and bite, a bag full of gold and a picture box (camera), he is the very image of a tourist except with the label 'KIDNAP ME AND TAKE ALL MY GOLD' slapped on his forehead. When Twoflower got kidnapped for his money, Rincewind was forced to rescue the fellow. Tourists, Rincewind decided, meant Idiot.The Colour of Magic is a series of adventures and unfortunate events between a cynic wizard and a happy-go-lucky tourist.I don't think I've ever laughed this hard after Good Omens, another fun satirical book. The story is always delivered in full humour, always even when things turn a wee bit grim. This time though, the witty remarks are not lost on me. Much like the title promised, the book is full of colour and magic (don't expect too much from Rincewind though. He may be a wizard but he only knew one spell). It never failed to keep me on my toes with its fantasy elements that keep pouring in. There are dryads, elves, dragons you must imagine to conjour to life, a walking Luggage, an imp who paint pictures, a talking sword, hydrophobic wizards, gods, goddesses, and DEATH Himself. Adventures after  adventures! If you want a fun read then this book is something to be reckoned with.'It was octarine, the colour of magic. It was alive and glowing and vibrant and it was the undisputed pigment of the imagination, because wherever it appeared it was a sign that mere matter was a servant of the powers of the magical mind. It was enchantment itself.But Rincewind always thought it looked a sort of greenish-purple.'
    more
  • Forrest
    January 30, 2013
    I read this book way back in high school, when I lived in England. Having forgotten everything except for the fact that there was a trunk that liked to eat people, I bought the book (again) to see how it stood up these many years later. As I've read I've received goodreads messages and been spoken to by several people who have warned me that Pratchett was just warming up with this one, that he hadn't reached his highest form yet. I still have to read more of his work (I'm planning on Mort and Gu I read this book way back in high school, when I lived in England. Having forgotten everything except for the fact that there was a trunk that liked to eat people, I bought the book (again) to see how it stood up these many years later. As I've read I've received goodreads messages and been spoken to by several people who have warned me that Pratchett was just warming up with this one, that he hadn't reached his highest form yet. I still have to read more of his work (I'm planning on Mort and Guards! Guards!), so I have no benchmark to measure against other than what I thought in high school versus what I think now. And while the book is funny, it's not as hilarious as I remember it. I've probably become a little jaded since those days, which is more a reflection of me and my experiences than it is of Pratchett and his writing. That's not to say that the book was bad, it wasn't. In fact, it's got some moments of pure brilliance and was, in some ways, much more well-written than I had expected. The exchange between the Arch Astronomer of Krull and Goldeneyes Dactylos smacks strongly of the sort of humor one would expect in a Jeeves and Wooster story. And that is the highest compliment I think I can give to a piece of humorous writing. The section on the Wyrmberg sniffed in Michael Moorcock's direction. And at least a couple of the characters were spoofs of two of my favorites: Fafhrd and Grey Mouser.I must admit that I also liked Rincewind, the bungling wizard. Some have labelled him a coward. I'd call him . . . normal. Someone like you or me: allergic to pain, justifiably afraid of being dropped from great heights, fearful of fear itself, and yet he commits himself to get done what needs to get done when it really matters . . . most of the time. Unlike, say, Gandalf, Rincewind is full of foible and, as a result, a really loveable character. At least he was for me. I feel for the guy. Sometimes what I'm feeling is embarrassment, but I feel for him.Poor Rincewind. I do hope to see him again.Twoflower, the other main character, I liked at the beginning, but by the end of the book he seems to have become rather withdrawn and almost a touch (just a touch) sullen. I couldn't figure out why he changed so much through the book, so I'm left to speculate.Maybe he became jaded after high school, just like me.
    more
  • Alex Ristea
    January 6, 2013
    Zany, wild, preposterous, and oh so fun—I understand the Discworld hype and see why it's such a fan favourite.But underneath all the light humour is clever trope subversion and a sense that Pratchett knows exactly what he's doing, more so than just a few laughs.This first installment isn't an immediate favourite, but it's a promising start to a series I'm looking forward to reading. I know there are a ton of Discworld reading guides out there, but I'm a stickler for published order and I'm going Zany, wild, preposterous, and oh so fun—I understand the Discworld hype and see why it's such a fan favourite.But underneath all the light humour is clever trope subversion and a sense that Pratchett knows exactly what he's doing, more so than just a few laughs.This first installment isn't an immediate favourite, but it's a promising start to a series I'm looking forward to reading. I know there are a ton of Discworld reading guides out there, but I'm a stickler for published order and I'm going with that.
    more
  • Mike (the Paladin)
    December 3, 2009
    Ahh, the story of Twoflower and the "failed" wizard Rincewind. Although calling Rincewind a "failed" wizard is possibly not really fair to him as he's only a "failed" wizard because having sneaked a look at a forbidden spell book one the 8 Great Spells has taken up the room in his brain that would be needed for other spells and he can't get it out, at least not without casting it, and since neither he nor the other wizards know what it will do...destroy the world, the universe, the multiverse... Ahh, the story of Twoflower and the "failed" wizard Rincewind. Although calling Rincewind a "failed" wizard is possibly not really fair to him as he's only a "failed" wizard because having sneaked a look at a forbidden spell book one the 8 Great Spells has taken up the room in his brain that would be needed for other spells and he can't get it out, at least not without casting it, and since neither he nor the other wizards know what it will do...destroy the world, the universe, the multiverse...or possibly something less drastic, it doesn't seem like the best option.Anyway Rincewind becomes the guide (at a wage so high as to be mythical) to the Disc World's first tourist (and possibly last as he seems bent on getting himself and Rincewind killed).Pratchett has a wonderful turn of phrase and an oddly quirky mind that is endlessly inventive.I want to comment on something else here also. It seems that most who write Synopses (I always feel that should be "synopsi")anyway, they seem to think that a great thing to say about a book is that it is "irreverent"it is I believe said about almost all Pratchett's work in almost every synopsis. Okay, I'm a Christian and while Sir Terry is apparently more on the atheistic side of things I detect no rancor in his work. Yes he skewers the idiosyncrasies of religions in general and some things in specific but I don't ever get a since of "hate" or even condescension. I have enjoyed several of his works and while I would almost undoubtedly disagree with him on these things, I don't think I would dislike him and I don't think he "dislikes" people simply on the grounds that they are religious.Judge for yourself.
    more
  • Ahmad Sharabiani
    May 26, 2016
    The Color of Magic (Discworld #1), Terry Pratchettعنوان: مجموعه جهان صفحه کتاب 01 - رنگ جادو؛ تری پرتچت (پراچت)؛ مترجم: آرزو احمی؛ تهران، ویدا، چاپ اول و دوم 1391؛ در 287 ص؛ چاپ سوم 1392؛ شابک: 9789646807853؛ موضوع: داستانهای نویسندگان انگلیسی قرن 20 مدیسک ورلد یک مجموعه کتاب فانتزی ست که تری پراچت، نویسنده ی انگلیسی، آنها را نوشته است. داستانهای این مجموعه در جهانی به نام دیسکورلد میگذرند که صفحه ای مسطح است و بر شانه های چهار فیل عظیم الجثه قرار دارد. فیلها نیز به نوبهه ی خود بر پشت یک لاکپشت The Color of Magic (Discworld #1), Terry Pratchettعنوان: مجموعه جهان صفحه کتاب 01 - رنگ جادو؛ تری پرتچت (پراچت)؛ مترجم: آرزو احمی؛ تهران، ویدا، چاپ اول و دوم 1391؛ در 287 ص؛ چاپ سوم 1392؛ شابک: 9789646807853؛ موضوع: داستانهای نویسندگان انگلیسی قرن 20 مدیسک ورلد یک مجموعه کتاب فانتزی ست که تری پراچت، نویسنده ی انگلیسی، آنها را نوشته است. داستان‌های این مجموعه در جهانی به نام دیسک‌ورلد می‌گذرند که صفحه‌ ای مسطح است و بر شانه‌ های چهار فیل عظیم‌ الجثه قرار دارد. فیل‌ها نیز به نوبهه ی خود بر پشت یک لاک‌پشت غول‌ آسا با نام آتوئین بزرگ قرار دارند. در این مجموعه بارها از موضوعات کتاب‌های نویسندگانی چون جی. آر. آر. تالکین، رابرت هاوارد، اچ.پی.لاوکرافت و ویلیام شکسپیر بصورت طنز استفاده شده‌ است. از مجموعهٔ دیسک‌ورلد بیشتر از هشتاد میلیون نسخه در سی و هفت زبان به فروش رفته‌ است. این مجموعه در برگیرنده ی بیش از چهل رمان، یازده داستان کوتاه، چهار کتاب علمی؛ و چندین کتاب مرجع و مکمل نیز هست. از این مجموعه چندین رمان تصویری، بازی کامپیوتری، نمایش تئاتر، مجموعه ی تلویزیونی نیز اقتباس شده‌ است. ا. شربیانی
    more
  • Gary
    April 24, 2014
    This was a fun, quick read. I enjoyed it and plan to read my way through disc world. This somewhat cartoonish seeming universe is populated by colorful and unlikely characters. The author created an original and interesting mythology and multiverse. Hidden within the tongue and cheek humor and somewhat silly action is an intelligence and insightful view of not just those make believe world, but ours as well. Many references are to actual occult concepts and the magic, while loose, humorous and e This was a fun, quick read. I enjoyed it and plan to read my way through disc world. This somewhat cartoonish seeming universe is populated by colorful and unlikely characters. The author created an original and interesting mythology and multiverse. Hidden within the tongue and cheek humor and somewhat silly action is an intelligence and insightful view of not just those make believe world, but ours as well. Many references are to actual occult concepts and the magic, while loose, humorous and entertaining, also has real world conceptual connections that make for interesting, between the lines, reading.Much of this story is chasing and running, which does get tiresome at times, but the book finds its salvation in its creativity and individualism.
    more
  • Petertpc
    October 19, 2011
    This was the perfect pick me up after the depressing, depressing, depressing downer if The Road by Cormac McCarthy. I laughed out loud reading this and that is not something I do very often. Rincewind is a new favorite character and Terry Pratchett is a new favorite author. I'm not sure I would have loved this as much I I hadn't been in the perfect mood for it. But, I was in the perfect mood and I did love it.
    more
  • Mangrii
    May 17, 2015
    Por fin me he puesto con el reto que tenía entre manos, comenzar desde el inicio la saga Mundodisco del fallecido Terry Pratchett; aunque ya había leído algún volumen suelto (porque en esta saga poco importa el orden en realidad), en esta ocasión quiero seguir el orden de publicación.En este primer volumen nos narran a través de cuatro capítulos la historia de Dosflores, un singular turista de una lejano Imperio que desea conocer a los famosos héroes de Mundodisco, vivir emocionantes aventuras y Por fin me he puesto con el reto que tenía entre manos, comenzar desde el inicio la saga Mundodisco del fallecido Terry Pratchett; aunque ya había leído algún volumen suelto (porque en esta saga poco importa el orden en realidad), en esta ocasión quiero seguir el orden de publicación.En este primer volumen nos narran a través de cuatro capítulos la historia de Dosflores, un singular turista de una lejano Imperio que desea conocer a los famosos héroes de Mundodisco, vivir emocionantes aventuras y realizar recuerdos o cuadros de la ciudad más grande y corrupta, Ankh-Mopork. Gracias a ello iremos conociendo todo un elenco de simpáticos personajes como son el fracasado mago que solo sabe un hechizo Rincewind, la graciosa Muerte, el guerrero bárbaro Hrun y algunos de los dioses de Mundodisco más poderosos como son Dama y Sino.Cada capítulo es totalmente diferente, aunque tienen como hilo conductor las peripecias de Dosflores y Rincewind; aventuras en las que Pratchett va haciendo pequeños homenajes a obras clásicas de la fantasía como Dragonlance o Conan. Es estilo de Pratchett es espectacular, sobre todo por la forma directa que tiene y como te hace prestar atención a lo claramente importante de lo que está narrando. Eso sí, es un estilo un tanto loco de contar historias, aderezado con bastante humor inglés y donde cada párrafo o descripción desborda imaginación con escenas la mar de divertidas, descabelladas y completamente absurdas en algunas ocasiones.Lo que encontré negativo en esta novela es que al principio estamos totalmente perdidos, no entendemos la mitad de lo que nos está contando, o al menos así fue en mi caso. Luego comienzas a comprender como van las cosas en Mundodisco, el disco con una cúpula azul apoyado sobre 4 gigantescos elefantes y a su vez sobre la Gran Tortuga A´Tuin; donde la magia, el color y los números tienen mucha importancia; un mundo habitado por héroes, dioses, dragones imaginarios, trolls y un sinfín de criaturas.Sin duda quiero continuar con la saga, aunque son 40 volúmenes y creo que me llevará la vida, de pronto creo que enseguida caerá el segundo, ya que quiero saber cómo continúan las andanzas de Rincewind y compañía.
    more
  • Vladimir
    November 4, 2016
    Simpatična knjižica ali ništa wow! Možda sam imao prevelika očekivanja zbog hajpa koji se diže za ovim serijalom.Jedini lik koji me je zaista oduševio je Smrt.Nadam se da će ostali nastavci ipak biti bolji.
  • Vagner Stefanello
    May 25, 2016
    Review in Portuguese from Desbravando Livros:Depois de ter lido Guardas! Guardas! e Pequenos Deuses no ano passado, livros #8 e #13 de Discworld, finalmente resolvi ler A Cor da Magia, o famoso livro #1 da série. Pra quem ainda não sabe, Discworld é uma saga com mais de 40 livros, sendo que eles são divididos entre vários "ciclos" diferentes, portanto a ordem de leitura é totalmente misturada, dando ao leitor a opção de escolher o núcleo que mais o agrada e começar por ali a sua interminável ave Review in Portuguese from Desbravando Livros:Depois de ter lido Guardas! Guardas! e Pequenos Deuses no ano passado, livros #8 e #13 de Discworld, finalmente resolvi ler A Cor da Magia, o famoso livro #1 da série. Pra quem ainda não sabe, Discworld é uma saga com mais de 40 livros, sendo que eles são divididos entre vários "ciclos" diferentes, portanto a ordem de leitura é totalmente misturada, dando ao leitor a opção de escolher o núcleo que mais o agrada e começar por ali a sua interminável aventura pelo Disco. Tudo está normal na cidade de Ankh-Morpork até a chegada de um estranho turista do Império. É a partir desse momento que todos os fatos começam a se desenrolar e temos uma quantidade infinita de coisas acontecendo ao mesmo tempo. Pessoas querendo se aproveitar do estrangeiro, teorias conspiratórias tomando forma e assassinos sendo contratados. E nesse baile todo nos deparamos com a figura do mago (?) Rincewind, que fora expulso da Universidade Invisível sem nunca ter conseguido realizar um mísero feitiço, mas que ainda assim teve um deles "aprisionado" na sua mente após tentar roubar um livro sagrado. Que feitiço seria esse? Ninguém tem a menor ideia. Acompanhado da destemida Bagagem, uma mala com vida própria, o turista DuasFlor parece ser um personagem bem ingênuo, como todo viajante de 1ª vez também parece, mas aos poucos vamos percebendo que ele não é tão bobo assim e acaba se tornando uma grata surpresa nesse livro inicial de Discworld, livrando-se de confusões, vendo o mundo como uma grande aventura e trazendo discussões bem pertinentes a respeito das relações entre povos e culturas bem diferentes. O trio formado pelo "guia" Rincewind, DuasFlor e a Bagagem (sim, ela é definitivamente uma grande personagem dessa história) é o dono das atenções nesse primeiro volume. Fique de olho neles enquanto viajam pela cidade de Ankh-Morpork, por Wyrmberg e pelo perigoso Reino do Krull. "- NÃO VAI DOER - garantiu Morte. Se palavras tivessem peso, uma única frase de Morte seria capaz de ancorar um navio."Morte é um personagem à parte e falarei mais sobre Ele numa resenha futura do 4º livro da série. Também percebemos que os deuses têm um papel importante em Discworld, fazendo um jogo de marionetes com os personagens que acompanhamos e muitas vezes brincando com o Destino (duplo sentido pra quem já leu) ao mexerem as peças do tabuleiro conforme as suas vontades. Narrado em 3ª pessoa, A Cor da Magia é a obra de Disworld que mais nos insere no mundo em si, trazendo detalhes valiosos no que se refere ao worldbuilding, principalmente se comparar a Pequenos Deuses e Guardas! Guardas!, que são bem focados em regiões específicas do Disco. Confesso até que em algumas horas eu me sentia rapidamente perdido com tanta informação "nova" sendo jogada, mas a escrita leve do Terry Pratchett logo resolve tudo e é hora de seguir o baile. "Era muito bom sair falando em coerência, na harmonia dos números e na lógica que governava o universo, mas a questão pura e simples era que o Discworld atravessava o espaço na casca de uma tartaruga gigante e que os deuses tinham o hábito de aparecer na casa dos ateus quebrando as janelas."Se você está à procura de um livro com worldbuilding muito bem estruturado, brigas de taverna, cidades sendo incendiadas, criaturas extremamente poderosas e que habitam covis sombrios, dragões em seu habitat natural (e fora dele também), além de uma viagem até a famosa Borda do Mundo, onde é possível ter vislumbres da Grande A'Tuin, a tartaruga que move o Disco pelo espaço enquanto carrega quatro elefantes gigantes no seu caso, então A Cor da Magia é um bom começo. Discworld é muito mais que diversão garantida, é uma mistura de tudo que a fantasia tem a oferecer e tudo que a zuera pode alcançar. Terry Pratchett era mestre demais em fazer isso! haha
    more
  • Alexa
    July 4, 2016
    This started so well.So, so well. *Insert disappointed sigh*I'm probably living under a rock but I didn't actually know that Discworld books (or at least this book) were a satire of Fantasy. To fully enjoy this you need to have at least some knowledge of the things he's making fun of: the hero, the stupid overblown plots, the ex-machina situations... It makes it even better if you have read the book he's referencing (*cough* The Dragonriders of Pern*cough*) and hated the very same things he's po This started so well.So, so well. *Insert disappointed sigh*I'm probably living under a rock but I didn't actually know that Discworld books (or at least this book) were a satire of Fantasy. To fully enjoy this you need to have at least some knowledge of the things he's making fun of: the hero, the stupid overblown plots, the ex-machina situations... It makes it even better if you have read the book he's referencing (*cough* The Dragonriders of Pern*cough*) and hated the very same things he's pointing out. However, even the best joke gets annoying after it has been told a thousand times and after 5 novels I was more than ready to kill the mage myself and groaned every time the damn luggage appeared. I might try the rest later on, since people insist they get even better (and the fanart is AWESOME!) But for now it's going to the bottom of the list! ---Image CreditsThe colour of Magic by MarcSimonetti on Deviantart
    more
  • Emma
    April 9, 2012
    Originally rated 5 stars when I joined Goodreads although I actually read it about twenty years ago and rated it from memory.So...20-ish years on I got nostalgic about Terry Pratchett and decided to re-read them. And here I am, already losing steam.It was fantastic to visit Rincewind, Twoflower, the sapient pearwood Luggage, Ankh Morpork and of course DEATH. I chuckled and laughed in many places. And yet, either it wasn't as good as I remembered OR- I've changed!Will I re read any of the others? Originally rated 5 stars when I joined Goodreads although I actually read it about twenty years ago and rated it from memory.So...20-ish years on I got nostalgic about Terry Pratchett and decided to re-read them. And here I am, already losing steam.It was fantastic to visit Rincewind, Twoflower, the sapient pearwood Luggage, Ankh Morpork and of course DEATH. I chuckled and laughed in many places. And yet, either it wasn't as good as I remembered OR- I've changed!Will I re read any of the others? Yes, but maybe only my favourites..
    more
Write a review