Little Broken Things
“If you liked Big Little Lies, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart.” —Southern LivingAn engrossing and suspenseful novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Amy Hatvany about an affluent suburban family whose carefully constructed facade starts to come apart with the unexpected arrival of an endangered young girl.I have something for you. When Quinn Cruz receives that cryptic text message from her older sister Nora, she doesn’t think much of it. They haven’t seen each other in nearly a year and thanks to Nora’s fierce aloofness, their relationship consists mostly of infrequent phone calls and an occasional email or text. But when a haunted Nora shows up at the lake near Quinn's house just hours later, a chain reaction is set into motion that will change both of their lives forever. Nora’s “something” is more shocking than Quinn could have ever imagined: a little girl, cowering, wide-eyed, and tight-lipped. Nora hands her over to Quinn with instructions to keep her safe, and not to utter a word about the child to anyone, especially not their buttoned-up mother who seems determined to pretend everything is perfect. But before Quinn can ask even one of the million questions swirling around her head, Nora disappears, and Quinn finds herself the unlikely caretaker of a girl introduced simply as Lucy. While Quinn struggles to honor her sister’s desperate request and care for the lost, scared Lucy, she fears that Nora may have gotten involved in something way over her head—something that will threaten them all. But Quinn’s worries are nothing compared to the firestorm that Nora is facing. It’s a matter of life and death, of family and freedom, and ultimately, about the lengths a woman will go to protect the ones she loves.

Little Broken Things Details

TitleLittle Broken Things
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseNov 21st, 2017
PublisherAtria Books
ISBN-139781501133602
Rating
GenreFiction, Mystery, Thriller, Adult, Literary Fiction

Little Broken Things Review

  • Carol
    January 1, 1970
    "I have something for you."LITTLE BROKEN THINGS is a perfect title for this novel revolving around a family in need of repair....honesty and understanding.It begins with a desperate and mysterious request from one estranged sister to another to keep a haunted little one safe....and hidden....from both family and the worst kind of evil on the prowl.It's the story of one mother's powerful love and sacrifice for a daughter in distress, and another mother's mission to reunite with her own daughters. "I have something for you."LITTLE BROKEN THINGS is a perfect title for this novel revolving around a family in need of repair....honesty and understanding.It begins with a desperate and mysterious request from one estranged sister to another to keep a haunted little one safe....and hidden....from both family and the worst kind of evil on the prowl.It's the story of one mother's powerful love and sacrifice for a daughter in distress, and another mother's mission to reunite with her own daughters.This multi-charactered, multi-narrated suspenseful story is ultimately a tangled web of mystery and danger, and is filled with nasty secrets that keep the reader engaged and guessing in search of the truth.Many thanks to NetGalley and Atria Books for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Holly B
    January 1, 1970
    4.5 StarsI have a new favorite author to adore! I was immediately drawn into the story from the first pages. It is beautifully written and captivating, I was engaged by the mysterious texts from the start!I could imagine myself getting a text from my sister, "I have something for you" and immediate panic strikes! This is possibly not good! The story and characters are multi-layered and ultimately reveal their inner motivations that drive them to make decisions they will later question. I really 4.5 StarsI have a new favorite author to adore! I was immediately drawn into the story from the first pages. It is beautifully written and captivating, I was engaged by the mysterious texts from the start!I could imagine myself getting a text from my sister, "I have something for you" and immediate panic strikes! This is possibly not good! The story and characters are multi-layered and ultimately reveal their inner motivations that drive them to make decisions they will later question. I really enjoyed the different point of views as it gave me their perspective. The family is successful and lives in a small, quiet suburban neighborhood near a lake, but beyond the the outward appearance, secrets and past mistakes will threaten to change their lives forever. This story explores how one family members decision can snowball and entangle the entire family. Just how far would you go for a precious member of your family? Do you pull together or fall apart?I would highly recommend to fans of family based mysteries that reveal hidden secrets and motives that may have you asking yourself- What would I have done?Traveling sister read with Brenda, Diane, Susanne, Jan, and Lindsay. Another great sharing of our "thoughts". I respect everyone's opinion, although we didn't all agree.Thanks to Netgalley, Nicole Baart, and Atria for the ARCPublication expected on 11/21/2017
    more
  • Lindsay
    January 1, 1970
    3 stars. This was a story about a mother’s love and sacrifice for her child and a family coming together after years of separation. At times, the book had my heart pounding, my worry intensifying, my stomach churning and my hope growing. There were some wild twists and turns that caught me completely off guard. I liked the main characters Quinn and Everlee. The remaining characters I had more of a hard time connecting with. Some ended up growing on me, while others began to irritate me and a few 3 stars. This was a story about a mother’s love and sacrifice for her child and a family coming together after years of separation. At times, the book had my heart pounding, my worry intensifying, my stomach churning and my hope growing. There were some wild twists and turns that caught me completely off guard. I liked the main characters Quinn and Everlee. The remaining characters I had more of a hard time connecting with. Some ended up growing on me, while others began to irritate me and a few relationships felt awkward and forced. I also found some situations questionable from a realistic perspective, but I was still able to endure and enjoy the story unfolding. This book started off stronger than it ended. The beginning captured my attention and had me drawn into the storyline and characters. The last third of the book lost its spark for me as there was so much aimless going back and forth chasing after characters. Overall, I’m happy I read the book and enjoyed the story, but it wasn’t a standout novel for me. I loved reading this along with my Traveling Sisters – that experience never fails!A big thank you to NetGalley, Atria Books and Nicole Baart for providing an ARC in exchange for an honest review!Expected Date of Publication: November 21, 2017To find this review, along with the Traveling Sisters review, please visit Brenda and Norma’s fabulous blog at:https://twogirlslostinacouleereading....
    more
  • Norma
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 stars rounded up!LITTLE BROKEN THINGS by NICOLE BAART was an engaging, suspenseful, and a slower paced mystery novel which had an intriguing storyline revolving around family secrets and the sacrifices and bond between mothers and daughters.  Little Broken Things I thought was the perfect title for this novel which is filled with familial broken relationships and the sacrifices of a mother’s love for her family.  With a little honesty, hope, and understanding maybe all the little broken thin 3.5 stars rounded up!LITTLE BROKEN THINGS by NICOLE BAART was an engaging, suspenseful, and a slower paced mystery novel which had an intriguing storyline revolving around family secrets and the sacrifices and bond between mothers and daughters.  Little Broken Things I thought was the perfect title for this novel which is filled with familial broken relationships and the sacrifices of a mother’s love for her family.  With a little honesty, hope, and understanding maybe all the little broken things can be repaired with truth and love.NICOLE BAART delivers a beautifully written multi-layered story here which is told in multiple points of view which started off quite strong for me but lost me a little in the middle and then picked up again in the end.  The story starts off tense with a sense of impending danger from a cryptic text message that Quinn receives from her sister Nora, “I have something for you.”  Unfortunately, that sense of danger and tense feeling didn’t follow through the whole story for me but Lucy captured my heart and I was totally invested in the safety and fate of the little girl.  Even though some of this story was a little slow moving for me in the end this book touched my heart.  Would recommend to readers who appreciate a safe, steady-paced, and suspenseful family drama mystery story with hidden secrets that are revealed with no shocking moments.Publication date: November 21, 2017Thank you so much to NetGalley, Atria Books and Nicole Baart for providing me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!Traveling Sisters Reviews can be found on our sister blog:http://www.twogirlslostinacouleereadi...
    more
  • Diane S ☔
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 I am not going to rehash the plot, and I really wish I could have liked this more. It was very slow moving and very predictable. The last third of the book held the most interesting for me, but I also found it unbelievable. Nora and Tiffany, their story just didn't hold together. Nora and Quinn's mother was a piece of work, lived in her own la la Land. Everlee though, the little girl I adored. Another sisters read that had us a opposite ends of the spectrum. Also my review doesn't reflect th 2.5 I am not going to rehash the plot, and I really wish I could have liked this more. It was very slow moving and very predictable. The last third of the book held the most interesting for me, but I also found it unbelievable. Nora and Tiffany, their story just didn't hold together. Nora and Quinn's mother was a piece of work, lived in her own la la Land. Everlee though, the little girl I adored. Another sisters read that had us a opposite ends of the spectrum. Also my review doesn't reflect the writing, which was fine, it reflects my feelings toward the plot. Many have rated this very highly, I just couldn't.ARC from Edelweiss.
    more
  • Brenda
    January 1, 1970
    3.5 StarsTraveling Sisters NetGalley Group Review by Brenda with Norma, Lindsay, Holly, Susanne, Jan and HollyI read Little Broken Things along with six of my Traveling Sisters and it left us in different coulees once again. We were mostly split into two different ones, some sisters were lost in the lush coulee and enjoying this one and others were lost in the dry coulee and finding themselves bored and napping leaving them uninterested in this one.Little Broken Things starts off suspenseful and 3.5 StarsTraveling Sisters NetGalley Group Review by Brenda with Norma, Lindsay, Holly, Susanne, Jan and HollyI read Little Broken Things along with six of my Traveling Sisters and it left us in different coulees once again. We were mostly split into two different ones, some sisters were lost in the lush coulee and enjoying this one and others were lost in the dry coulee and finding themselves bored and napping leaving them uninterested in this one.Little Broken Things starts off suspenseful and caught the attention of some sisters and then slows down quite a bit in the middle leaving us a bit disappointed and then picks up near the end and wrapped up quite nicely for the sisters in the lush coulee. We would have liked it to have been a bit better paced.Nicole Baart delivers a quieter suspenseful mystery novel with some family drama that is free from using any shock value to surprise her readers, making this one a nice safe read. There is a little dark to the story to add to the dynamics of the family, however, there are no surprises here. The sisters in the dry coulee found that to be predictable and were bored with the storyline. The story is a refreshing yet a little dark that explores the complicated relationships between flawed women and what ties a family together. The story revolves around a little girl Lucy who captured our hearts and we enjoyed the relationships she had with the women in this story. Norma and I recommend this one to readers who are looking for a safer, suspenseful story with some family drama with no real surprises to shock you. Publication date: November 21, 2017Thank you so much to NetGalley, Atria Books and Nicole Baart for providing me an ARC in exchange for an honest review!Traveling Sisters Reviews can be found on our sister blog:http://www.twogirlslostinacouleereadi...
    more
  • Susanne Strong
    January 1, 1970
    2.25 Stars* (rounded down)Quinn gets summoned by her sister Nora via text: “I have something for you.” Never in Quinn’s wildest dreams does she imagine that the summons involves a little girl. Or that Nora needs Quinn to hide her and keep her safe – without any explanation. It is clear that something sinister is going on, yet Quinn has no idea what. And then Nora takes off leaving her with a little girl she calls “Lucy.” Hiding “Lucy” however, proves quite difficult. Nora is clearly in danger. T 2.25 Stars* (rounded down)Quinn gets summoned by her sister Nora via text: “I have something for you.” Never in Quinn’s wildest dreams does she imagine that the summons involves a little girl. Or that Nora needs Quinn to hide her and keep her safe – without any explanation. It is clear that something sinister is going on, yet Quinn has no idea what. And then Nora takes off leaving her with a little girl she calls “Lucy.” Hiding “Lucy” however, proves quite difficult. Nora is clearly in danger. The only person she can turn to is her employee and friend Ethan. Soon things go from bad to worse and everything Nora holds dear is threatened. For me, unfortunately, this novel was a quite a let-down and was extremely predictable. The pacing was very slow and the writing just never came together. This was a Traveling Sister Read and it included: Brenda, Norma, Diane, Holly, Jan and Lindsay.Copy furnished by NetGalley.Published on Goodreads on 10.28.17.
    more
  • JanB
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars, definitely not a 3, but since half stars aren't possible, I'll round upThe premise is intriguing: Quinn's estranged sister, Nora, drops off a little girl named Lucy, who bears an uncanny family resemblance, and tells Quinn to keep the little girl's presence a secret. Nora then disappears without explanation. Secrets tend to be revealed sooner or later, and this one is no exception. Just how does one hide a little girl? There are mysteries to be solved: who are her parents? Why is she 2.5 stars, definitely not a 3, but since half stars aren't possible, I'll round upThe premise is intriguing: Quinn's estranged sister, Nora, drops off a little girl named Lucy, who bears an uncanny family resemblance, and tells Quinn to keep the little girl's presence a secret. Nora then disappears without explanation. Secrets tend to be revealed sooner or later, and this one is no exception. Just how does one hide a little girl? There are mysteries to be solved: who are her parents? Why is she being hidden and why must it be kept a secret? Where has Nora been all these years? The story is gradually revealed through each character's point of view in alternating chapters. More secrets are revealed, secrets that have caused damage in the family.It's a great set-up that failed to completely deliver. The pacing was uneven and often failed to keep my attention. I found some character arcs predictable and I simply didn't buy into some of their actions. Donovan was a caricature of a "bad guy", and Nora's actions and dedication to Tiffany all the years she was gone simply made no sense to me. Not only did they make no sense, they obviously traumatized Lucy, which made Nora a very unsympathetic character.The so-called twist at the end was anti-climactic. It was so obvious from the very beginning and my only emotion was puzzlement that it was such a surprise to the characters.However, although this ended up being a just OK read for me, all wasn't lost. My favorite character ended up being Liz. I think the author did an excellent job with her character development. I liked how not every story thread was tied up in a neat bow at the end, and the novel ended on a hopeful note, even if some of the scenes leading up to it were implausible. In an attempt to draw on the popularity of Big Little Lies, the blurb compares this book to Liane Moriarty's best seller. The only similarity I found was one: there are secrets. I wish publisher's would stop comparing books, as it does both the author and the reader a disservice. I read this with the Traveling Sisters, Brenda, Norma, Diane, Holly, Susanne and Lindsay, and, as always, it was enjoyable to talk about the book and our differing opinions.* many thanks to Netgalley and Atria books for a copy of the book for review
    more
  • Theresa Alan
    January 1, 1970
    LITTLE BROKEN THINGS is a novel about family secrets. The mystery begins when Nora, who is estranged from her sister, Quinn, drops off a little girl, only saying that Quinn can’t tell anyone that the girl is in her care, including her husband. Nora disappears just as quickly as she briefly came back into Quinn’s life, not explaining what her sister should do with this little girl and why all the secrecy.The writing is beautiful. Told from multiple points of view—Quinn, Nora, their mother, Liz, a LITTLE BROKEN THINGS is a novel about family secrets. The mystery begins when Nora, who is estranged from her sister, Quinn, drops off a little girl, only saying that Quinn can’t tell anyone that the girl is in her care, including her husband. Nora disappears just as quickly as she briefly came back into Quinn’s life, not explaining what her sister should do with this little girl and why all the secrecy.The writing is beautiful. Told from multiple points of view—Quinn, Nora, their mother, Liz, and Nora’s friend, Tiffany. The mystery unfolds nicely and the pacing is well done. I can’t say more than that without giving away too much. RELEASES: November, 21, 2017.Thanks to NetGalley and Atria Books for the opportunity to review this book and for introducing me to a new-to-me author. For more of my reviews, please visit: http://www.theresaalan.net/blog
    more
  • Heather Gudenkauf
    January 1, 1970
    Beautifully layered...gives readers everything they could possible want in a novel - vivid, engaging characters, a town filled with dark secrets, a mind-twisting mystery and the ferocious power of a mother's love. Original and gripping, Little Broken Things is a stunner that will linger with you long after the final page is turned."
    more
  • Lori
    January 1, 1970
    Heartbreaking what the world can place on the shoulders of children. I appreciate the circumstances that lead Baart to write this... however, I felt a bit more disconnected that I would’ve liked and the ending fell a bit flat. All-in-all, just ok for me... 3.5 stars.
    more
  • Marisa
    January 1, 1970
    Wow I need to take a moment to formulate the words in regard to this heartbreaking beautiful novel. LITTLE BROKEN THINGS is a thriller based around a shattered family that is filled with secrets. At the heart of the family is estranged sisters and a little girl who is with one sister and left in the care of another. Who is Lucy? Is that her real name? And what is she being hidden from?I loved this story. It was layered and intense. Every page held a different mystery and the unraveling makes my Wow I need to take a moment to formulate the words in regard to this heartbreaking beautiful novel. LITTLE BROKEN THINGS is a thriller based around a shattered family that is filled with secrets. At the heart of the family is estranged sisters and a little girl who is with one sister and left in the care of another. Who is Lucy? Is that her real name? And what is she being hidden from?I loved this story. It was layered and intense. Every page held a different mystery and the unraveling makes my heart break. I loved all the characters and Ms Baart's strong use of imagery through her setting and beautiful language allowed me to picture everything. For the first time in a long time I didn't figure out the twist. Even the title has me guessing. Who is broken? Or is it what was broken? And what fractures can be healed?Outstanding. I loved this novel and can't wait for it to be released on 11/21/17 so I can share it with others I've read 2 of Nicole Baart's stand alones and her trilogy. This novel is different than anything else she has ever written. A masterpiece and a novel that will stay with me for a long time
    more
  • Susan Peterson
    January 1, 1970
    I'm so full of emotions right now, having just finished reading Little Broken Things by Nicole Lynn Baart...my feelings are a jumble, just like they were for the characters who live in this book. Such a mixture of joy and sadness, hope and doubt. This book is mesmerizing and suspenseful; my heart was in my throat while reading, compelling me to keep turning pages. At the heart of this story is a family; a family which has been torn apart and scattered for a myriad of reasons; when a forlorn litt I'm so full of emotions right now, having just finished reading Little Broken Things by Nicole Lynn Baart...my feelings are a jumble, just like they were for the characters who live in this book. Such a mixture of joy and sadness, hope and doubt. This book is mesmerizing and suspenseful; my heart was in my throat while reading, compelling me to keep turning pages. At the heart of this story is a family; a family which has been torn apart and scattered for a myriad of reasons; when a forlorn little girl comes into their lives, surrounded by mystery, they know they must keep her safe and help her heal. But by protecting her, will their family grow further apart, or will they, despite the pain of the past, become whole again? The characters in this book are as broken and as beautiful as a piece of sea glass; their relationships with each other, the love and sometimes the frustration that they feel for each other are poignant and real. This beautiful book reminds us that there is beauty to be found even in things that were broken; that our lives are filled with dark and light, love and loss, faith and despair. These characters and the journey they take will live on in my heart always.
    more
  • Sue
    January 1, 1970
    I predict that this book will be one of THE books to read this winter. Thanks to the author for giving me a chance to read an early copy to read and enjoy early. I have read other books by Nicole Baart but in Little Broken Things, she is absolutely at the top of her game - it's a wonderful story about family and love and the secrets that we keep to protect our family, even when those secrets cause more harm than intended.This novel is told by three women Quinn, who lives near her mother with her I predict that this book will be one of THE books to read this winter. Thanks to the author for giving me a chance to read an early copy to read and enjoy early. I have read other books by Nicole Baart but in Little Broken Things, she is absolutely at the top of her game - it's a wonderful story about family and love and the secrets that we keep to protect our family, even when those secrets cause more harm than intended.This novel is told by three women Quinn, who lives near her mother with her artist-husband Walker, Nora, the oldest daughter and the wild child who ran away right after high school and the mom Liz, who has spent her entire life trying to be the perfect wife and perfect mother and made herself into a person that her daughters are unable to trust or connect with. Add to these three women, a small girl, Lucy, who Nora leaves with Quinn for protection but protection from what or who? Quinn doesn't know and her mother isn't supposed to find out about. Overall this is the story of love in families and how far family members will go to protect those that they love. It's suspenseful and kept me turning the pages long into the night to fund out the true story behind Lucy and her involvement with other family members.This is a must read book for readers who enjoy well written family drama and suspense. I highly, highly recommend it!
    more
  • Sonja Yoerg
    January 1, 1970
    Estranged families make for rich stories; no matter how much we might yearn to be free of our relatives, an undeniable attachment remains. Little Broken Things is a tension-filled story in which family secrets, mistrust, and allegiances threatening to swallow up the loyalty and love that has somehow survived. Baart is a thoughtful, sensitive writer who creates a realistic and complex dilemma surrounding a child in jeopardy. At several points in the novel, it would've been easy to veer into melod Estranged families make for rich stories; no matter how much we might yearn to be free of our relatives, an undeniable attachment remains. Little Broken Things is a tension-filled story in which family secrets, mistrust, and allegiances threatening to swallow up the loyalty and love that has somehow survived. Baart is a thoughtful, sensitive writer who creates a realistic and complex dilemma surrounding a child in jeopardy. At several points in the novel, it would've been easy to veer into melodrama or reach for a trite resolution, but Baart is too seasoned and too honest for that. Instead, she delivers an intriguing mystery wrapped up inside a family's journey through loss, forgiveness and hope. We are all of us little broken things and rely on stories such as this one to show us something about how to mend ourselves.
    more
  • Nicole
    January 1, 1970
    "If you liked BIG LITTLE LIES, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart.”Southern Living“The mesmerizing story line is rife with mystery… an accomplished exploration of the fragile bonds of a family as they attempt to overcome obstacles they never saw coming.”Publishers Weekly“Part psychological thriller, part women’s fiction, Baart’s latest novel is wholly compelling… The intricacies of family relationships, love and friendship are all skillfully explored, layered in all the rig "If you liked BIG LITTLE LIES, you’ll want to crack open this new novel by Nicole Baart.”Southern Living“The mesmerizing story line is rife with mystery… an accomplished exploration of the fragile bonds of a family as they attempt to overcome obstacles they never saw coming.”Publishers Weekly“Part psychological thriller, part women’s fiction, Baart’s latest novel is wholly compelling… The intricacies of family relationships, love and friendship are all skillfully explored, layered in all the right places and captivating in its entirety.”Romantic Times 4 1/2 Stars, Top Pick!“Baarts novel of familial ties, betrayals, and long overdue confrontations ventures into the territory of Paula Hawkins, Mary Kubica, and Kimberly Belle. Full of twists and turns, this is a great addition to the recent surge in suspenseful domestic fiction.” Booklist
    more
  • Christa Allan
    January 1, 1970
    This.book.I've been a Nicole Baart fan for years, and she has upped her game in LITTLE BROKEN THINGS. Her best. She grips the reader page by page, always turning up the tension, raising the stakes for every character. The family dynamics of mothers and daughters, that push and pull of affection, the weight of relationships, are relatable. Marriages that appear strong and ripe with affection can be damaged in ways no one would suspect. And the secrets we keep in trying to protect those we love of This.book.I've been a Nicole Baart fan for years, and she has upped her game in LITTLE BROKEN THINGS. Her best. She grips the reader page by page, always turning up the tension, raising the stakes for every character. The family dynamics of mothers and daughters, that push and pull of affection, the weight of relationships, are relatable. Marriages that appear strong and ripe with affection can be damaged in ways no one would suspect. And the secrets we keep in trying to protect those we love often lead to greater harm.Then there's Lucy, the child Baart depicts so clearly, who is trying to survive in a world she understands far too well. But, like many of us when faced with the unbearable, instead of reaching out, she folds into herself.This book and its characters will stay in your heart long after you close the cover. The writing is compelling, powerful and poignant. Don't miss this novel. It will break your heart and put it back together with tenderness.
    more
  • Jamie
    January 1, 1970
    It’s 4:30 AM and I need to be up in an hour for work, yet I had to finish this. That’s how great this was. More to come when I’m a functioning human again!
  • Lolly K Dandeneau
    January 1, 1970
    via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/'She knew their lives were far from perfect, that things shimmered just beneath the surface of their shiny facade.'Just who are ‘the little broken things’? Is it the scared little girl, ‘the something’ her sister Nora seems to be lending her? Just whose child is she and what sort of mess is her older sister Nora wrapped up in? How is Quin supposed to keep a little girl secret, especially from their uptight mother? Lucy is a mystery, and Nora is via my blog: https://bookstalkerblog.wordpress.com/'She knew their lives were far from perfect, that things shimmered just beneath the surface of their shiny facade.'Just who are ‘the little broken things’? Is it the scared little girl, ‘the something’ her sister Nora seems to be lending her? Just whose child is she and what sort of mess is her older sister Nora wrapped up in? How is Quin supposed to keep a little girl secret, especially from their uptight mother? Lucy is a mystery, and Nora is gone leaving nothing to fill the holes of the child’s mysterious existence. How dare she do this, but is it so surprising? Quin always comes when she beckons, almost like a slave. How does Nora seem to always call the shots? Though the two have a strained relationship, Quin knows she must help her sister, whatever it is she is involved in is bigger than their damaged bond.The things that make families drift apart are sometimes small, insidious things that eat away at them over time. Secrets we keep from ourselves and each other, though, have a way of coming out. This is the case with the characters in this novel. The matriarch watches over her daughters, but is also removed. Maybe once she was bold, but marriage to Jack Sr. turned her into the model wife, never saying no, keeping the kingdom running smoothly and comfortable for it’s master. Her girls are stronger, bolder- as she once had been too. Liz is order, and her children are chaos. Her Nora, the one to always ask “why”, Liz ‘ the secret keeper’, the one who doesn’t need her, and Jack Jr ‘JJ’ the same as his father, in control. Now with Jack Sr gone, she is free to watch over the lake and spy on her daughter- making hiding a child that much more impossible. Liz doesn’t approve of her daughter’s husband, she knows it won’t last, and watching them from Jack’s telescope, now hers, only proves she is right. Misunderstandings and the distance between mother and daughter paint a picture of a family that desperately needs one another, but are in their own way. Watching the struggle Liz has in showing her love is painful, how do people get to that point? Why do her children leave? She must prove how good home is! Why can’t she accept Walker, Quin’s husband?Quin soon knows who Lucy really is, or does she? She is furious with Nora, because Lucy’s existence will ‘change everything.’ The reader begins to understand why Nora isdesperate to hide the child, it’s disturbing and at times confusing. We meet Tiffany through Nora’s chapters. Tiffany is a key player in the novel, and one has to wonder why Jack Sr hated her, judged the young girl so harshly. JJ isn’t close to his sisters, and he sort of floats on the edges of the story. You think you know where you’re going, but it flips on you.I slowly began to figure things out before the end, which wasn’t quite the explosive ending I expected yet it works for this novel. The beauty of the novel for me wasn’t so much the danger, but the damage we do with our expectations. The blindness we suffer when our own emotions are at the forefront, the pain it causes those we want to protect. Families are a strange experiment, and seem composed of everything that tests who we are. They are all little broken things, in their own strange way. But the question is, can they be patched up? Can a mysterious child be a bridge, or will she be the final blow that fractures the family beyond repair.I enjoyed some of the characters and others didn’t seem fully formed. I do think it will be a popular read though. I think it’s hard to accept Quin sort of going along, I imagine most of us would be demanding answers before taking any child in, but maybe that is to express just how much Quin follows her big sister’s lead, even against her will. JJ never felt real to me, he just wasn’t in the novel enough for my liking. I felt frustrated and I am not sure how I feel about Tiffany and everything that happens, the ending left me with a few questions but I leave it to other readers.Publication Date: November 21, 2017Atria Books
    more
  • Caryn
    January 1, 1970
    This is a story of family secrets and how they can destroy or rebuild a family. And while there is a mystery behind this family, Nicole does a great job of not even letting the reader know too much too soon. Even after 100 pages, I still wasn’t sure who everyone was or how they fit into the puzzle.After several years of lost communication, we meet Quinn and Nora, two sisters. Nora desperately needs a favor from Quinn, a place to keep a young girl safe. When she drops her off and Quinn doesn’t ha This is a story of family secrets and how they can destroy or rebuild a family. And while there is a mystery behind this family, Nicole does a great job of not even letting the reader know too much too soon. Even after 100 pages, I still wasn’t sure who everyone was or how they fit into the puzzle.After several years of lost communication, we meet Quinn and Nora, two sisters. Nora desperately needs a favor from Quinn, a place to keep a young girl safe. When she drops her off and Quinn doesn’t have time to ask questions, the mystery begins. Who is this girl? And why does Nora have to keep her safe?As the story moves on, we get bits and pieces of back story told from the girl’s’ mother, Liz. I love how Nicole introduced us to characters who weren’t part of the story by having other characters reminisce. The story moved quickly and I got halfway through on my first night picking it up, eager to make sense of what was going on. I had figured out the truth before all was revealed, but it didn’t keep me from enjoying how it would all play out.My thanks to the author and publisher for a copy in exchange for an honest review. This one releases 11/21/17.
    more
  • Christie Sitterly
    January 1, 1970
    This book is a MUST READ for those who enjoy a good mystery with family drama! Nicole Baart has a true winner with this novel! The characters have many layers that are uncovered the more one reads. There is Quinn, a daughter, wife, and sister, who is questioning her marriage. Nora is the other sister who is wrapped up in protecting her best friend's daughter from the friend's sleazy husband. Nora drops the daughter into Quinn's lap and disappears. Then there is Liz, Nora and Quinn's mother. At f This book is a MUST READ for those who enjoy a good mystery with family drama! Nicole Baart has a true winner with this novel! The characters have many layers that are uncovered the more one reads. There is Quinn, a daughter, wife, and sister, who is questioning her marriage. Nora is the other sister who is wrapped up in protecting her best friend's daughter from the friend's sleazy husband. Nora drops the daughter into Quinn's lap and disappears. Then there is Liz, Nora and Quinn's mother. At first glance, she appears to be meddlesome and a busybody, but readers will grow to love her as the layers of her personality are peeled away. I felt like I knew these characters. They were realistic and well-developed. The story unfolds perfectly. It is fast-paced, and I could not put this book down! Just when you think you know the answers to the family's drama, you realize there is more involved than what meets the eye. I highly recommend this book!
    more
  • Judy Collins
    January 1, 1970
    Review to follow.
  • Diane Perry
    January 1, 1970
    I received this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This is the most incredibly written and frustrating story. The frustration comes from wanting to know more. The author managed to weave a story around a seriously broken family, a secret little girl, and a very dangerous man. I spent most of the time either holding my breath or fussing in frustration at Nora. Nora drops off this little girl to her sister Quinn with very little explanation. At first, I didn't trust Nora. As the stor I received this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. This is the most incredibly written and frustrating story. The frustration comes from wanting to know more. The author managed to weave a story around a seriously broken family, a secret little girl, and a very dangerous man. I spent most of the time either holding my breath or fussing in frustration at Nora. Nora drops off this little girl to her sister Quinn with very little explanation. At first, I didn't trust Nora. As the story played I admired what she did and why she did it. Great thriller and absolutely Unputdownable!!!
    more
  • Bookworm LLC
    January 1, 1970
    WOW! Little Broken Things is a great suspense story that will reel you in and not let you go. There is so much happening in this book. Things you will never believe would happen. There is love, hate, fear, patience and at times rage. The story goes back and forth from one character in one chapter to another character to the next chapter. I read other reviews on this book before I read it and decided I needed to read it because the other reviews were all about how great this book is. And I have t WOW! Little Broken Things is a great suspense story that will reel you in and not let you go. There is so much happening in this book. Things you will never believe would happen. There is love, hate, fear, patience and at times rage. The story goes back and forth from one character in one chapter to another character to the next chapter. I read other reviews on this book before I read it and decided I needed to read it because the other reviews were all about how great this book is. And I have to say they were completely correct. It's one of those stories where you will love a character then think nope......she/he is a jerk.......only to feel differently again by the end. This is a MUST read!
    more
  • Marti
    January 1, 1970
    Wow. double Wow. It was about 80% into the book on my kindle before I even knew what was really going on. I loved that because it kept you interested. Highly recommend this to anyone.
  • Christine Moore
    January 1, 1970
    This book kept me up late into the night needing to finish. At the heart of the book is a broken family. It is told by 3 different women, Quinn the little sister who is married to Walker, Nora the wild middle child who ran away from home right after graduation, and Liz their mom. Nora who is estranged from her family, sends Quinn a text that she is bringing her something to keep safe. When Nora arrives, it is Lucy a quiet little girl, Quinn has to keep safe. Nora won't tell Quinn a thing about L This book kept me up late into the night needing to finish. At the heart of the book is a broken family. It is told by 3 different women, Quinn the little sister who is married to Walker, Nora the wild middle child who ran away from home right after graduation, and Liz their mom. Nora who is estranged from her family, sends Quinn a text that she is bringing her something to keep safe. When Nora arrives, it is Lucy a quiet little girl, Quinn has to keep safe. Nora won't tell Quinn a thing about Lucy, who she is or who she needs to keep her safe from. Add in Tiffany, Nora's best friend, and Tiffany's very scary boyfriend, it is a story that you need to keep reading to figure out all the secrets in this family. Can the women come together and protect Lucy who is counting on all 3 of them? It is a story of family, of love of family, and the things one will do to protect their family. Thank you very much to Nicole Baart, NetGalley, and Atria Books for providing me an ARC in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Laura
    January 1, 1970
    Nicole Baart is the contemporary author that has changed my mind when it comes to contemporary fiction. I have long been a fan of historical fiction, science fiction, fantasy and even horror, but contemporary fiction has always perplexed me. I frequently find myself giving up on books in this category, either loosing interest or being disgusted by modern day soap opera style tension found frequently in the genre. Little Broken Things completely shattered my ideas about the contemporary genre. Pa Nicole Baart is the contemporary author that has changed my mind when it comes to contemporary fiction. I have long been a fan of historical fiction, science fiction, fantasy and even horror, but contemporary fiction has always perplexed me. I frequently find myself giving up on books in this category, either loosing interest or being disgusted by modern day soap opera style tension found frequently in the genre. Little Broken Things completely shattered my ideas about the contemporary genre. Part mystery, party family drama, a dash of romance and a subtle but knowing nod to foster/adoptive mothers, this book manages to pull it off seamlessly. Each character has a shallow surface and a fragile depth to them that bleeds through in every chapter. The voice of each woman is clear and defined, and I found myself able to relate to and connect with each one on some, if not multiple levels. The small doses of romance were refreshing, and I heartily will endorse any author who can write a young married couple who are both insecure in their relationship and yet still completely in love with one another. It is an uncommon approach to a romantic relationship in print and it comes off as 100 percent authentic.As a foster and adoptive mom this story was so striking and real to me. The character of Everlee resonated with me as the mom of two older children adopted through the state, who have difficult histories. So many interactions between the little girl and the adults in her life felt like a re-telling of my own experiences with my children. Nicole's writing style is all at once easy to read, yet possesses expertly used vocabulary, wit and honesty. It felt, at times, as though I was both reading a thrilling story, and my own thoughts all on the same page. I heartily recommend this book to anyone, especially mothers, sisters, wives & aunts, and I am determined to read all of Nicole's other works as well!
    more
  • Michelle
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to NetGalley and Atria Books for the ARC of this book in exchange for a honest review.“Little Broken Things” grabbed my attention because it was billed as being a great book for Liane Moriarty fans, which I am. I definitely could see how this book could be billed that way but Nicole Baart is an author all herself. “Little Broken Things” starts off very quickly. In fact the first page alone grabs your attention. From there the pace of the book moves very quickly and every time you think Thank you to NetGalley and Atria Books for the ARC of this book in exchange for a honest review.“Little Broken Things” grabbed my attention because it was billed as being a great book for Liane Moriarty fans, which I am. I definitely could see how this book could be billed that way but Nicole Baart is an author all herself. “Little Broken Things” starts off very quickly. In fact the first page alone grabs your attention. From there the pace of the book moves very quickly and every time you think you’ve figured it out there’s a new twist. I thought I had this book figured out by Chapter Five but the ending really took me by surprise. And Baart will keep you reading until the very last page before she reveals the books truth.I highly recommend this one if you’re looking for something that’s going to keep your attention. You don’t want to start this one at 8 PM on a Sunday night like I did unless you have Monday off!
    more
  • Tara Repucci
    January 1, 1970
    Thank you to Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, and NetGalley for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review. Nicole Baart fans now have something new to dig into. Little Broken Things is the suspenseful story of a Minnesota family in a wealthy lakeside community and their carefully concealed secrets that come to light with the arrival of a mysterious little girl simply introduced as Lucy. It is an entertaining novel that may be a bit formulaic but is nevertheless un-put Thank you to Atria Books, an imprint of Simon & Schuster, and NetGalley for sending me this book in exchange for an honest review. Nicole Baart fans now have something new to dig into. Little Broken Things is the suspenseful story of a Minnesota family in a wealthy lakeside community and their carefully concealed secrets that come to light with the arrival of a mysterious little girl simply introduced as Lucy. It is an entertaining novel that may be a bit formulaic but is nevertheless un-put-down-able.Baart cuts back and forth among three main characters, continuously moving the narrative forward with clues about the little girl’s identity and the terrible circumstances that led to her being left on a doorstep in Key Lake, Minnesota. The impossibly sweet and beautiful Quinn Cruz who is married to a talented and ruggedly handsome artist. Her sister, Nora, for whom fierce loyalty and independence are main character traits. Their mother, Liz, recently widowed and slowly discovering authenticity after years of acting. Each woman narrates in alternating chapters. The men remain two-dimensional: self-centered at best and pure evil at worst. Baart is skilled and controlled. Some of her passages are downright stunning, like this one: “Carnelian and tangerine, indigo and pink stirred so soft it looked like the raspberry sorbet she had loved as a girl.” Her book doesn’t shock like Gone Girls or sparkle like Big Little Lies but the plot is strong and the characters are likeable and the setting is interesting, making it the perfect Thanksgiving holiday read. Best paired with a tin of dark chocolate “laced with flakes of chili pepper.”
    more
  • Amanda Coak
    January 1, 1970
    2.5 stars. I feel like I may be the lone wolf in a sea of positive praise, but I have to be real about my thoughts on this one. Although I feel like the basic plot was fine, and the suspense was there, I just did not find myself really drawn into this novel. First of all, it was totally predictable. That twist? I figured it out way before it was supposed to shock and startle me (it didn't). I also found the characters a bit problematic. None of the characters felt like real people to me. They al 2.5 stars. I feel like I may be the lone wolf in a sea of positive praise, but I have to be real about my thoughts on this one. Although I feel like the basic plot was fine, and the suspense was there, I just did not find myself really drawn into this novel. First of all, it was totally predictable. That twist? I figured it out way before it was supposed to shock and startle me (it didn't). I also found the characters a bit problematic. None of the characters felt like real people to me. They all felt very vanilla and two-dimensional. This is a beach read, and a quick page turner, but I wanted a lot more from it.
    more
Write a review