Butterfly in Amber (Spotless, #4)
He's waiting for you...Under a blanket of snow, surrounded by dark woods and a frozen sea, lies an ogre's castle. There lives a little princess, trapped in the maze of her own mind.On a battlefield where the past meets the present stand a fairy godmother and a pirate, an old ice cream man and a knight in shining clean armor... The clock is ticking fast, and to pierce the ogre's secrets and defeat him, Island Chaptal will have to fight to remember...and stay alive.Can the Lions and the Roomba cats be stopped before it's too late?

Butterfly in Amber (Spotless, #4) Details

TitleButterfly in Amber (Spotless, #4)
Author
FormatKindle Edition
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseMay 12th, 2017
PublisherYaypub
Number of pages454 pages
Rating
GenreRomance, Suspense, Contemporary, Mystery, Humor, Adventure, Romantic Suspense, Contemporary Romance, Womens Fiction, Chick Lit

Butterfly in Amber (Spotless, #4) Review

  • Meredith
    May 20, 2016
    I loved every moment of this series...I had extremely high expectations for Butterfly in Amber, and I was pleased with the way it ended. However, I am also, at the same time, very sad that it's over. Once again, there’s nonstop action, some twists and turns, and, of course, romance. The one difference from the other books in the series is that Butterfly in Amber has a much darker tone. It's definitely an emotional roller coaster ride, but all finally settles down in the last 10% (or so).I think I loved every moment of this series...I had extremely high expectations for Butterfly in Amber, and I was pleased with the way it ended. However, I am also, at the same time, very sad that it's over. Once again, there’s nonstop action, some twists and turns, and, of course, romance. The one difference from the other books in the series is that Butterfly in Amber has a much darker tone. It's definitely an emotional roller coaster ride, but all finally settles down in the last 10% (or so).I think that I am going to go back and start at the beginning to help me cope. I’m not going to say much more--just read the Spotless series! Thank you Camilla Monk for creating books and characters that make me giddy!I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Aisling Zena
    February 18, 2017
    3.5-4 starsI can't make up my mind about the rating of this book. I absolutely adored the previous books and a big reason for that was the unique and humorous voice of Island Chaptal. I accepted the literary blue balls and endless cockblocking, the constant being in danger with no reprieve and honestly I enjoyed most of the twists and turns. But losing Island's "voice" for most of the book really disappointed me. (view spoiler)[ Truly, I don't think I was ever bummed out so much over a fictional 3.5-4 starsI can't make up my mind about the rating of this book. I absolutely adored the previous books and a big reason for that was the unique and humorous voice of Island Chaptal. I accepted the literary blue balls and endless cockblocking, the constant being in danger with no reprieve and honestly I enjoyed most of the twists and turns. But losing Island's "voice" for most of the book really disappointed me. (view spoiler)[ Truly, I don't think I was ever bummed out so much over a fictional character having amnesia. It simply changed the whole tone of the book for me, especially in comparison to the previous ones. (hide spoiler)] Though we had some moments where she shined through, it just wasn't enough for me. I've rated it with 4 stars because regardless of my disappointment, it was gripping, edgy, original and overall a fantastic series.P.S. Don't read the spoiler if you're planning on reading the series please. MAJOR SPOILERS and mini rant:(view spoiler)[I'm gutted by Dries's death even if I saw it coming. And why, oh why couldn't someone kick Stiles in the nuts? Just once?! After all the cockblocking we couldn't get an epilogue where they both get to have sex and orgasm together? She waited 26 years, we waited 4 books. I wanted an EPIC sexy time for an epilogue. (hide spoiler)]Prior to reading.
    more
  • Camilla Monk
    March 29, 2017
    A FOUR-HUNDRED PAGE LONG CHUCK TINGLE.
  • Stacey is Sassy
    May 9, 2017
    ****IT'S ALIVE!!!****One of the best heroes ever…and the heroine’s pretty cool too.In the nicest possible way, I think Camilla Monk has one of the weirdest minds around. Her imagination to think up the Spotless series is awesome. The characters and storylines are a little warped, a teensy bit creepy, kind of gruesome but so very, very interesting. If she didn’t have such a smutty mind I’d let my 13-year-old son read it. KIDDING!! Like, really kidding. Honest to goodness, I think this is the firs ****IT'S ALIVE!!!****One of the best heroes ever…and the heroine’s pretty cool too.In the nicest possible way, I think Camilla Monk has one of the weirdest minds around. Her imagination to think up the Spotless series is awesome. The characters and storylines are a little warped, a teensy bit creepy, kind of gruesome but so very, very interesting. If she didn’t have such a smutty mind I’d let my 13-year-old son read it. KIDDING!! Like, really kidding. Honest to goodness, I think this is the first series I have ever read (slight exaggeration) where the author has made me wait for the fourth book to get to the sexy times. The funniest part…I can honestly say that I would have loved it even without it AND THAT IS A BIG CALL!!So, you read the blurb for Butterfly in Amber and you might think that the author has written a mad fairytale. Well, anyone who has stepped into the Spotless world and met March and Island would know that Camilla has given it to us in a code to decipher.****He's waiting for you... (The sloth is under the bed waiting for his cuddle)Under a blanket of snow, surrounded by dark woods and a frozen sea, lies an ogre's castle. (In the middle of bloody nowhere, there’s a baddie living in a castle)There lives a little princess, trapped in the maze of her own mind.(Island is drugged to her eyeballs to distract her from her mission.)On a battlefield where the past meets the present stand a fairy godmother and a pirate, an old ice cream man and a knight in shining clean armor... (Her warden thinks he’s giving her exactly what she wants but the fairy wand is really a lock to keep her imprisoned. The pirate is insane, the ice cream man holds the key to her escape and the knight is cleaning as he goes)The clock is ticking fast, and to pierce the ogre's secrets and defeat him, Island Chaptal will have to fight to remember...and stay alive.(If they manage to escape from the baddies, Island must fly to mars, fight the - astronauts, men in black, sea monsters and T-Rex, to grab hold of March…and never let go)Can the Lions and the Roomba cats be stopped before it's too late?(Island and March must fight gravity to save the world)***Aren’t you glad I’m such a good reviewer? I’m sure you’re all saying *Thank goodness Sassy’s here to make sense of things.* NOT!! Sorry to say, but the number of crazy shenanigans in Butterfly in Amber would take a three-page review to cover. Island is the heroine (I know, crazy name) and March is the hero (yep, crazy name). The Lions is a group dedicated to...ummm doing stuff. The fairy godmother, pirate and ice cream man are just a few of the crazy character you meet if you step into the Spotless world.Honestly, the Spotless series has been one of my all-time favourites. It’s quirky, nutty and silly with a Mission Impossible/Bourne Identity/Bridget Jones/Hot Pursuit vibe that leaves you busting a gut laughing, then biting your nails in trepidation. While at times I was left scratching my head wondering where it will go next, I always knew I would be chuckling. Island and March are two of the most original characters I have ever come across. But…March steals the show. How could I not fall in love with an obsessive clean-freak, killer who would change his career, kerb his natural instincts and risk his life for his love of Island.If you don't mind a little crazy mixed into your suspense, I really suggest you give the Spotless series a go. You must start at the very beginning, a very good place to start.... I’m an Aussie chick who loves to read and review romance, drink coffee, be a Style Setter and stalk David Gandy. To see more of my reviews, fashion, food and pervathons -
    more
  • SamJ ★Needs a HEA★
    April 23, 2017
    Check out this and my other reviews at My Blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter and Pinterest Copy received from Author in exchange for an honest review★Book Basics★ Genre : - Cont. Romance Series : - Last in the series, should not be read as a stand alone Love triangle? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] HEA? - (view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)] Would I read more by this author/or in this series? - Yes Rating - 5++ stars ★Review★I think this gif Check out this and my other reviews at My Blog, Facebook, Google+, Twitter and Pinterest Copy received from Author in exchange for an honest review★Book Basics★ Genre : - Cont. Romance Series : - Last in the series, should not be read as a stand alone Love triangle? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] Cheating? - (view spoiler)[No (hide spoiler)] HEA? - (view spoiler)[Yes (hide spoiler)] Would I read more by this author/or in this series? - Yes Rating - 5++ stars ★Review★I think this gif perfectly describes my feeling about this entire series, not just this book.I actually finished this, and just went back to page one and read it all over again straight away!I loved how she took this last book in the series. It was sooooo not what I expected, but it was pure brilliance.And how much March felt for Island was just so obvious in every page he was on, and every interaction they had.I am just not good enough with words to describe how much I have adored this entire series, and this one, for me was the best in the series. It was just so full of emotion, and danger and completely unexpected. It blew me away. It was darker than previous instalments, but so much more emotional due to that.So original, funny, exciting, and overall a fantastic love story with a hero and heroine I will never ever forget about.But now, I have to deal with not being able to look forward to another book about these two. Not sure how I will manage that. Since the first book, I just fell in love with this author and how she writes. I am missing March already.5 stars, but in reality there are not enough stars in the sky for how much I have enjoyed this series.So Camilla Monk, the person who brought me bad sex sloth memes, creepy pictures of ostriches, The Cost of RicaThis is for you...
    more
  • Lillian ᴥᴥᴥ SO LYLY
    January 31, 2017
    ***** 4.5 Stars *****Cannot be read as a standalone.Will March keep getting cock blocked? Is Island finally going to lose her virginity?Will criminal organizations always threaten March and Island? You'll just have to read this book to find out!!!Butterfly in Amber is a bit darker than the previous books in the series, but it's still full of hilarious events and suspenseful moments. I love this series so much... I'm not sure what to do with myself once this is over. EVERYONE... JUST READ THIS BO ***** 4.5 Stars *****Cannot be read as a standalone.Will March keep getting cock blocked? Is Island finally going to lose her virginity?Will criminal organizations always threaten March and Island? You'll just have to read this book to find out!!!Butterfly in Amber is a bit darker than the previous books in the series, but it's still full of hilarious events and suspenseful moments. I love this series so much... I'm not sure what to do with myself once this is over. EVERYONE... JUST READ THIS BOOK!
    more
  • Sharon
    April 25, 2017
    *deep breath* Wowowowowow. I don’t even know what to say right now. As I was finishing up the last chapter, I found myself wanting to read slower because my heart was not ready for this series to end! This series was a neverending fuckin’ rollercoaster, and it just did NOT let me breathe… but when it did finally start to let me breathe towards the end, I somehow find myself missing it and wanting to dive back into the craziness and chaos.PlotAnyway, for a final book, yes pretty damn epic. It was *deep breath* Wowowowowow. I don’t even know what to say right now. As I was finishing up the last chapter, I found myself wanting to read slower because my heart was not ready for this series to end! This series was a neverending fuckin’ rollercoaster, and it just did NOT let me breathe… but when it did finally start to let me breathe towards the end, I somehow find myself missing it and wanting to dive back into the craziness and chaos.PlotAnyway, for a final book, yes pretty damn epic. It was slow in the beginning, especially when I was waiting for my favorite *cough* hitman *cough* to show up. This series was crazy. That was the word I thought of most… just…crazy, crazy, crazy - And I loved it. The action, the adventure, the humor, the romance – all on point.It was not afraid to go THERE. It was not afraid to rip our hearts out and feed it to the pigeons. However, it also had scenes that made me feel so touched, made me smile, made me feel at peace in a way. I found myself getting emotional in certain scenes, especially towards the end – both happy and sad at the same time.(view spoiler)[I have to say that I am not a fan of “memory loss” trope, and I was almost desperate to get past that stage. If you’re reading it now and hoping the same, it actually won’t be a quick, easy bump on the road, but it does get more bearable as the book progresses. (hide spoiler)]CharactersUghhh the characters were so cute. – Island: I loved Island. She was just so incredibly likable – not perfect, but honestly likable with her down-to-earth-ness and relatability. I liked her determination and her compassionate heart, even to the bad guys. I found her hilarious a lot of the times, and hey – any girl who literally kicked a guys’ balls once, twice… or maybe 3 times, for the sake of saving herself, her love, and the world – I have full respect for that. She did get frustrating in the beginning because she kept on pushing away people who loved her and being so damn distrustful – breaking the characters’ hearts, and thus, mine as well. However, it was understandable in a way, and she grew stronger and became more like herself after that bump.– March Such a unique character. I adored him too. He was so sweet throughout this book. He was a perfect mixture of badass killer and adorable, protective boyfriend. My heart melted when he doted on Island. One of my favorite things about him was how he got shit done. No remorse. Just efficiency. It led to some very fast-faced, crazy action scenes. – Other Characters: I love Dries. He’s so scary and funny and I honestly have a soft spot for him. I love how protective he is of Island, and gets all “stern father” when Island and March are being all lovey-dovey. Stiles. His Roomba cats – I can’t. Everyone who March and Island have met and who have helped them – love them and their crazy life. RomanceThis is honestly the kind of romance I would like to have. And here, I pause to ask myself, “Wait. You want to be in a romance with a hitman?”“Yes, yes I do, if it comes in the exact shape, form, presence, and personality as March.”March and Island were just the cutest couple. They were both weird, as individuals, and together, more weirdness. I felt so content and at peace seeing them together. It just felt right, y’know? Final ThoughtsThis series will be etched in my mind forever. I’m giving it 4 solid stars. It’s truly creative and entertaining and plain badass. The characters are also so lovable and endearing. They can be silly at times – in a good way, and I love how Camilla Monk is able to create these vibrant, unique characters. Their individual personalities really come through. With that being said, I really hope there will be a 5th book (full novel or novella) because I want a bit more of an epilogue – to get some closure.Things that you might want to know (WARNING: Spoilers below)Is there a happy/satisfying ending? (view spoiler)[I’m happy, but also, I want a bit more… There wasn’t an epilogue, so I felt like all the craziness ended without loose ends being tied up. Months ago, I asked Camilla Monk in her question box, and she said she might or might not be planning to write a 5th “lighter adventure” book to give closure to secondary characters. And I am #forit. (hide spoiler)]Love triangle? Cheating? Angst level? (view spoiler)[No, no, medium angst. (hide spoiler)]Tears-worthy? (view spoiler)[A little bit. Some sad things do happen. This is not a depressing book though. (hide spoiler)]Humor? (view spoiler)[Yep! (hide spoiler)]Favorite scene? (view spoiler)[Any scenes with March and Island (not a surprise). Also, the phone call to her dad got me emotional. (hide spoiler)]What age level would be appropriate? (view spoiler)[Debatable. Not for kids, not for any teenager. Mature teenagers and adults, I think. (hide spoiler)]NOTE: I am reviewing the ARC edition. I requested it, and I promised a completely honest review. ----------------Someone please hold me while I cry at the sheer joy of getting this ARC. I thought I would have to wait for another month for the release, but hallelujah for this. Also, after the cliffhanger of the last book, I. AM. DYING. INSIDE. and need to finish this series quick, but slowly, but ASAP, but must go slow enough to savor, etc.
    more
  • Cassandra
    November 15, 2016
    Yikes. So, I'm not sure how I'm feeling right now....Camilla Monk said this would be a darker read and she was right. I really don't want to say anything (much) since I can't think of what to say without spoiling the entire last book. (I'm definitely not over the shock) And god, that right there is adding so much to this .... severe funk I'm in. A lot happens, some good, some (really, really) sad, but it all gets wrapped up. Although there isn't a pretty pink bow on it. It'd be more of a teary, Yikes. So, I'm not sure how I'm feeling right now....Camilla Monk said this would be a darker read and she was right. I really don't want to say anything (much) since I can't think of what to say without spoiling the entire last book. (I'm definitely not over the shock) And god, that right there is adding so much to this .... severe funk I'm in. A lot happens, some good, some (really, really) sad, but it all gets wrapped up. Although there isn't a pretty pink bow on it. It'd be more of a teary, soggy, blood red bow.Damn, of all the series I've read, this is the only one that I wish wasn't ending. Not sure I'm going to get over March and Island never getting another adventure...*really big sigh*
    more
  • Sherwood Smith
    April 21, 2017
    The best summation I can think of, as usual, is visual. (I'm a visual reader.) If you've ever seen the movie Silver Chief, it's that last fifteen minutes, as you know the characters are approaching Chicago's Union Station, and yet the train just keeps accelerating.Well, that's how I felt reading this, the last in the "Spotless" series.The interesting thing is, unlike most endings-of-series, a new reader could actually begin with this one, because we open with our heroine, Island, living in a rem The best summation I can think of, as usual, is visual. (I'm a visual reader.) If you've ever seen the movie Silver Chief, it's that last fifteen minutes, as you know the characters are approaching Chicago's Union Station, and yet the train just keeps accelerating.Well, that's how I felt reading this, the last in the "Spotless" series.The interesting thing is, unlike most endings-of-series, a new reader could actually begin with this one, because we open with our heroine, Island, living in a remote castle as she recovers from what she was told was a catastrophic accident to a resort she'd been visiting on vacation with her roomie Joy. Joy didn't survive, and Island is all alone in the world, except for Mr. Stiles, who takes care of her (but is really, really good with knives), and intermittent visits from her psychologist . . . and oh, a massive security team.Island cannot remember anything, and is frustrated at having nothing to do, so to experiment, she starts barfing up her meds. As her mental state slowly changes, she begins noticing anomalies, but not fast enough . . .Just in the nick of time, everything changes, and she finds herself in the hands of a new set of people. On the run. And these all expect her to recognize them, especially the one who keeps shooting their pursuers, the one everyone calls March.It's a great cap to the series, with emotional drama tightly wired into the accelerating action (you will not believe where the climactic encounter takes place!), and lots of humor. We only get one "romance novel" quote, but it's a doozy. Meanwhile there are so many great bits, including the intrusion of the orange-toupeed President Steed in the background . . .Lots of vivid description, white-knuckle moments swerving into funny moments (an invasive sloth! Named Hadrian! In the middle of a high tech, sinister military compound!) swerving to to tender moments, accelerate to a runaway train of intensity. I loved this book, though I wish the ending had been a bit longer. I came away knowing that I will be rereading the entire series, and looking forward to what Monk writes next. Review copy provided by author.
    more
  • Ivy Deluca
    April 23, 2017
    Full review to come closer to release date of May 12, 2017. In the meantime...Possibly the most emotional entry of the series, I adored every moment of it, and I even teared up a bit at the end. I have a bit of a book hangover (seriously read late into the night, so a bit tired right now), so it will take me a moment to draft a full review. If you have not read this underrated gem of romantic action-adventure series, you are missing out. Highly recommend. Ok, Ms. Monk, what’s next?**ARC provided Full review to come closer to release date of May 12, 2017. In the meantime...Possibly the most emotional entry of the series, I adored every moment of it, and I even teared up a bit at the end. I have a bit of a book hangover (seriously read late into the night, so a bit tired right now), so it will take me a moment to draft a full review. If you have not read this underrated gem of romantic action-adventure series, you are missing out. Highly recommend. Ok, Ms. Monk, what’s next?**ARC provided by author for review**For more reviews, visit
    more
  • Helen
    April 21, 2017
    I received my ARC of this yesterday and didn't get off my sofa until I'd finished it.So, is it a fitting end to the 'Spotless' series? It's more somber in tone than the earlier books. The poignancy of Island's loss of memory and the pain this causes March in the earlier part of the book would have made too much humour jarring. Although the ice cream van and most sinister clown ever was a lovely touch. That's not so say there's no humour in the book. Hadrian the sloth anyone? Hard to say too much I received my ARC of this yesterday and didn't get off my sofa until I'd finished it.So, is it a fitting end to the 'Spotless' series? It's more somber in tone than the earlier books. The poignancy of Island's loss of memory and the pain this causes March in the earlier part of the book would have made too much humour jarring. Although the ice cream van and most sinister clown ever was a lovely touch. That's not so say there's no humour in the book. Hadrian the sloth anyone? Hard to say too much about the story without issuing major spoilers, but there's world travel, mass destruction, some familiar faces and names and a baddie with James Bond villan levels of craziness. I'm talking wearing underpants on the head levels of nuttiness!The return of the romance quotes at the chapter headings was really moving when the reason for it became clear and the ending was lovely.Is Island still a virgin at the end of the book? Not telling 😀Is this a fitting end to the 'Spotless' series? YES!!!!
    more
  • Hilda
    January 29, 2017
    Coming in I knew this book would be different. Crystal Whisperer ended in a bad place and there was so much blood. Our MC's suffered really dangerous wounds. I knew it would be different and I knew it would be great BUT I wasn't ready for all the feels. It was such a great read!! This was such a good final book and a great way to wrap up this series. I don't want to say goodbye to these two but I'm so happy I got to go along this crazy ride with them.I loved Crystal Whisperer so much because you Coming in I knew this book would be different. Crystal Whisperer ended in a bad place and there was so much blood. Our MC's suffered really dangerous wounds. I knew it would be different and I knew it would be great BUT I wasn't ready for all the feels. It was such a great read!! This was such a good final book and a great way to wrap up this series. I don't want to say goodbye to these two but I'm so happy I got to go along this crazy ride with them.I loved Crystal Whisperer so much because you saw how much March loved Island, and vice versa. Their love was growing and becoming so much more. In this book you see a different side of this love. March is scary and you see what "The Devil in Love" is capable of. If you hurt her, I will kill you all. I will carve up every single one of you until there's only meat left. There was even more action, bullets, lots of blood, and even more death. Seriously, that death toll must be huge. I lost track. I keep thinking each book can't get better or crazier but it does and I love it. Lecherous dads, super villain uncles, double crossing agents, one eyed pirates, under bed slots, old and new characters. This book had it all and I'm amazed Camilla Monk can come up with such great stories. This is a must read!! Pick up Spotless as soon as you can, you won't regret it!
    more
  • Tina
    May 27, 2017
    I've had this book forever and read it the same day I got it. But I had a very hard time writing a review for it because honestly, I think I would just reiterate what I've said about the last three books in the series.Which makes sense because this is a continuing narrative. It isn't just a series of sequels, this is one story that takes place over five volumes.So I suppose I am going to give some thoughts about the series in general.I loved this series. If you look at my shelves for it, you wil I've had this book forever and read it the same day I got it. But I had a very hard time writing a review for it because honestly, I think I would just reiterate what I've said about the last three books in the series.Which makes sense because this is a continuing narrative. It isn't just a series of sequels, this is one story that takes place over five volumes.So I suppose I am going to give some thoughts about the series in general.I loved this series. If you look at my shelves for it, you will see this book fits on just about every genre shelf minus fantasy or horror. I think part of my enjoyment is because the series is such a genre bender. I love that it was action and mystery and suspense and romance with a dash of that chick lit humor built around two incredibly fun and charismatic characters.This book was a bit darker and felt a little out of sync with the rest of the books. But I realized that is because our heroine Island felt a little off kilter. Her personality and voice have been the barometer by which the mood in all the books in the series are measured. So having her not really herself made this book feel a little apart. But that was ok (if a teensy bit frustrating) because I was sure our adventure would work out in the end.It does. And I loved it. Such a cool series and I enjoyed the mad roller-coaster ride of the whole thing!
    more
  • Simii Khanom
    May 20, 2017
    Holy crap, what a bloody exhilarating ride! Butterfly in Amber delivers everything; action, thrills, romance, angst and sacrifice❤It was an honour to be along this journey with Island Chaptal and her sweetest beloved OCD Hitman, March November (I love this man too much!) Also Dries... took me a while to navigate through love hate relationship I had with him but in the end, he couldn't have been more amazing and protective father he tried to be for his "Little Island" (excuse me, while I go cry s Holy crap, what a bloody exhilarating ride! Butterfly in Amber delivers everything; action, thrills, romance, angst and sacrifice❤️It was an honour to be along this journey with Island Chaptal and her sweetest beloved OCD Hitman, March November (I love this man too much!) Also Dries... took me a while to navigate through love hate relationship I had with him but in the end, he couldn't have been more amazing and protective father he tried to be for his "Little Island" (excuse me, while I go cry some more). I loved him in this book... he made me laugh at times with his dry sense of humour and had me cheering on when he's badass. Now the villains here, you'll definitely despise and repeatedly chant: "die you SOB, die!" - they get their comeuppance, of course and it's satisfying :) Fans of Island and March since day 1, prepare for an angsty and bittersweet reunion after book 3 but it was oh-so worth it, at last :))) I was squealing like a psychotic fan girl! I do not have the heart to say goodbye to Island and March... I need more!❤️ Thank you, Camilla Monk for introducing me to this series and for being such a tremendously kickass author!
    more
  • Bookgyrl J (Janet)
    April 21, 2017
    Yesterday, I was crazy happy I received an ARC so I could FINALLY get past the cliffhanger of the last book. Today I am still crazy happy, but I also have a major case of book hangover.. as I assume it's called when you're really sad the book is finished. Really really sad. And this does not happen to me very often. I will not spoil anything, so let me just say this book is - again - freaking awesome. Just like the other books the author takes you on a rollercoaster ride and I felt so many emoti Yesterday, I was crazy happy I received an ARC so I could FINALLY get past the cliffhanger of the last book. Today I am still crazy happy, but I also have a major case of book hangover.. as I assume it's called when you're really sad the book is finished. Really really sad. And this does not happen to me very often. I will not spoil anything, so let me just say this book is - again - freaking awesome. Just like the other books the author takes you on a rollercoaster ride and I felt so many emotions while reading. I love Island and her stubborn tenacity. While she is no gun-wielding badass, she is badass in other ways and really smart. And March.... big sigh. If you have not started the series yet, do so now! And let's all hope and pray that maybe, maybe! the author will write another book in this series or some novella, or a Christmas story. I will take anything!!
    more
  • Alisia
    April 21, 2017
    It's no secret that I am a huge fan of this series. I kind of stumbled across book one, enjoyed it and never looked back. It has just got better and better with each book. As a final book this is a great wrap up to the Island and March story, but plenty happens from where we left the last book to where this one finishes. And oh the feels. Be prepared to feel equal parts devastated, elated and highly amused. From a series that has been so entertaining I certainly wasnt expecting the emotions but It's no secret that I am a huge fan of this series. I kind of stumbled across book one, enjoyed it and never looked back. It has just got better and better with each book. As a final book this is a great wrap up to the Island and March story, but plenty happens from where we left the last book to where this one finishes. And oh the feels. Be prepared to feel equal parts devastated, elated and highly amused. From a series that has been so entertaining I certainly wasnt expecting the emotions but man, did I relish it. Well done Monk, very well done.
    more
  • Josiane
    April 30, 2017
    **ARC generously provided by author in exchange for an honest review** This is the 4th installment of the Spotless series. If you remember, Crystal Whisperer left us on a nail biting cliffhanger.This book finds our heroine 8 months later stuck in a fortress and poor Island is… not quite herself.  Amnesia’s a bitch and she’s forgotten her entire past including March.  10 pages in and I’m hooked!This book is an adventure with non-stop action; it starts a little slow, which fits perfectly but quic **ARC generously provided by author in exchange for an honest review** This is the 4th installment of the Spotless series. If you remember, Crystal Whisperer left us on a nail biting cliffhanger.This book finds our heroine 8 months later stuck in a fortress and poor Island is… not quite herself.  Amnesia’s a bitch and she’s forgotten her entire past including March.  10 pages in and I’m hooked!This book is an adventure with non-stop action; it starts a little slow, which fits perfectly but quickly picks up. These people cross boarders from one country to another more often than they change underwear, literally. Wild rides and close calls galore.While the action is fast paced, there are quite a few poignant moments that just take your breath away as Island tries to connect the dots of a past she can no longer remember.I loved it from beginning to end and really hated turning the pages knowing that the very last page would be the last words written in these characters’ saga.  I have so much more to say but I promised myself I would write a “spoiler free” review so I’ll have to keep the rest to myself since it’s impossible to continue writing without revealing plot twists. Allow me to end this review by sending Camilla “mon cri du coeur” I love Island and March and I really don’t want this to be the last we see of them. When I read Spotless and Beating Ruby I could totally see these characters becoming for CM what James Bond was to Ian Fleming. I know this is “supposed” to be the final chapter of the series but, I’m an optimist so I’ll keep hoping. Besides, am I the only one who wants to see how a world class assassin with a cleaning fetish would handle parenthood? I think not.
    more
  • Celestine
    May 9, 2017
    Dazed and ConfusedDevious, devious Camilla Monk. My first notes as I read through the fourth (and final) book in the Spotless series were: "I am feeling this complete confusion. Did I forget how the last book ended?" Cheater that I am, I went back to look at Crystal Whisperer, and nope, I remembered correctly how I was left gritting my teeth at the edge of the cliff. Problem was that Island, the heroine of said series, did not. Take the blurb at face value when it says, "Island Chaptal will have Dazed and ConfusedDevious, devious Camilla Monk. My first notes as I read through the fourth (and final) book in the Spotless series were: "I am feeling this complete confusion. Did I forget how the last book ended?" Cheater that I am, I went back to look at Crystal Whisperer, and nope, I remembered correctly how I was left gritting my teeth at the edge of the cliff. Problem was that Island, the heroine of said series, did not. Take the blurb at face value when it says, "Island Chaptal will have to fight to remember...and stay alive." Monk wants you to be dazed and confused at the beginning of Butterfly in Amber.Everything about the tone of this book is different than the previous three in the series. It is somber and tentative and has this closed-in feeling. It is remarkable - the loss I felt of Island's effervescence, her joie de vivre, her ebullience. I mourned it. Island truly is a butterfly caught in amber, and the subdued voice of the heroine is the epitome of that image. She is tentative and muddled and complacent. Who is this woman? And what did she do with my favorite ballsy moppet? Unfortunately for Island - and readers who love her - it takes a long, long, long time to find her mojo memory. While this book is filled to the brim with outlandish adventures, spectacular constructs, and villains who could be first cousins to Hugo Drax from Ian Fleming's Moonraker, it was nearly bereft of the humor and wittiness that characterized the first three books. (Well, with the exception of the cat costumes purchased from Etsy - "where the boldest names of feline fashion gather"). Clearly competing to be the Queen of the Slow Burn, Monk proves it here. Just when you think that the romantic/physical relationship between March and Island is finally, finally going to progress to, well, third base or home plate, suddenly everything is back in the batter's box. I mean, she doesn't even recognize the guy. I wanted to cry."I have no walls for this man." The saving grace is that on a deep, instinctual level, Island knows March. They even have a few, quiet interludes that are classic to their relationship despite Island's captive memory. Plus, she still lusts after his chest hair (thankful prayers to Raptor Jesus for that). The recovery of her memory is the plot line I wanted to pursue, but nope, off we go on an Odyssey to Russia, Romania, Ecuador, Paris and beyond, plus every side character from the first three books is resurrected. *sigh*What does come through in this book is a more mature, complete Island. Early on she is handicapped by her memory loss and a chemical fog, but the lion-like alphas around her begin to recognize her value. March has the ultimate proper response to where he is going to stash his woman when he replies, "I'm sorry. I'm afraid I have no control over this untamed Amazon." Island's father, not so much. There is action-adventure, discovery, flashes of humor, great imagination, and tragedy in this final installment of the Spotless series. The most consistent humor stems from Dries's hound dog behavior. We are taken to the height of overblown megalomaniac ambition. The touching moments have a depth and resonance not seen in previous books. Our hero, March, did exactly what I expected of him. However, I have to argue with Monk's - and Island's - assessment that Island truly knows the meaning of carpe diem. Overly considerate and kind Island wouldn't know how to seize the day if it bit her nether regions.3.5 frustrated stars rounded to 4.Book source: ARC from the author.
    more
  • Alexa
    March 22, 2017
    **ARC received from author in exchange for an honest review**4.5 stars!Camilla Monk is an extremely talented writer and the book is excellently written. Now, usually I would have nothing but absolute disdain for the 'amnesia' story line in romance, but in the case of BIA, it has been really well done. There is no sudden recollection or instant reversal, which would have driven me crazy, it is blatantly nonsensical and yet so overused. The mood of this book is different from the others, it is not **ARC received from author in exchange for an honest review**4.5 stars!Camilla Monk is an extremely talented writer and the book is excellently written. Now, usually I would have nothing but absolute disdain for the 'amnesia' story line in romance, but in the case of BIA, it has been really well done. There is no sudden recollection or instant reversal, which would have driven me crazy, it is blatantly nonsensical and yet so overused. The mood of this book is different from the others, it is not as lively or humorous, which is entirely appropriate as you really get a sense of Island's depression and confusion. Some of the scenes involving March are really emotionally charged and well worth the wait since reading Crystal Whisperer. I really enjoyed reading Butterfly in Amber, however, it wasn't my favourite of the series. I found that the plot took some outlandish turns that just did not appeal to me as they were just too bizarre. That being said though, Camilla Monk is still one of my favourite authors and I am really looking forward to her next project.
    more
  • Cher
    May 22, 2017
    I just finished reading this book, I mean I was done five minutes ago. I usually won't write a review right after because I like to think about the story. Figure out what bugged me or what I loved and go from there but I couldn't with this book. I just had to share. This was the final book in Camilla Monks Butterfly series. I openly give this series a five star and this book was no exception. I somewhat believe that Camilla Monk might be an oracle or a witch because it's like she knows what I lo I just finished reading this book, I mean I was done five minutes ago. I usually won't write a review right after because I like to think about the story. Figure out what bugged me or what I loved and go from there but I couldn't with this book. I just had to share. This was the final book in Camilla Monks Butterfly series. I openly give this series a five star and this book was no exception. I somewhat believe that Camilla Monk might be an oracle or a witch because it's like she knows what I love in a book and gives it to me. The humor, adventure, mystery and a great romance. In this book, we find out what happened from the previous book cliff hanger. (loved that Camilla added Island talk about her book series and cliff hangers. very funny). We get to reconnect with great side characters and some truly evil villains. My heart did break at one point because we lose a character that I didn't think I would mind losing until it happened. (I told you, Camilla must be a witch) She made me love a character that I started out disliking. I can't give this book a review it deserves but I will still recommend this book and this series because it's perfect. Thank you Camilla Monk for sharing your story of Island and March. I can't wait to see what happens next!
    more
  • MegK
    May 11, 2017
    I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.I have so many feelings! Loss, confusion, elation.I said in my review of Crystal Whisperer that I felt like the series is getting darker. I was not wrong! Camilla Monk takes Butterfly in Amber to a much, much darker place. I was really shocked by the turn of this story. Monk doesn't ease you into the darkness. She dropkicks you down a flight of stairs face first into itThe characters' struggles are...epic, to say the least. You k I received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.I have so many feelings! Loss, confusion, elation.I said in my review of Crystal Whisperer that I felt like the series is getting darker. I was not wrong! Camilla Monk takes Butterfly in Amber to a much, much darker place. I was really shocked by the turn of this story. Monk doesn't ease you into the darkness. She dropkicks you down a flight of stairs face first into itThe characters' struggles are...epic, to say the least. You know how Nic Cage does action movies and you think - COME ON NOT LIKELY! - and all this crazy stuff happens that is so unreal, but you still love it because it's amazingly intricate and all-consumingly entertaining? That's this book. It's Nic Cage stealing the Declaration of Independence to the umpteenth power. But the struggles aren't only the physical, action-movie ones. Their inner struggles are no less intense. I actually had chills during some parts because things got so creepy and unsettling. There were also a lot of heartbreaking moments; some which equated to a quiet sadness, where your heart wrenches in your chest, and others where nothing would stop the tears rolling down my face. There is not a lot of laughter in this book. It's still there, and there are plenty of quirky moments. But overall this book is more on the heavy emotional scale. (view spoiler)[ Sadly, we lose our beloved Island for a lot of this book. Due to her trauma she doesn't have the same personality we've come to know, though we are able to see it peek through occasionally. It's frustrating (or was at least for me) because I'd want her back - I'd get so angry at the choices she was making because I knew how she would normally handle the situation.Seeing March struggle so hard was different, too. We are finally able to see him bare emotionally. While in the other books he's mostly stuck to his poker smile personality, he struggles throughout this book to reach Island. It's clear how much he truly has come to feel for her, and they both battle to cope with it. Cue the heart wrenching. Also - can we just talk about how much I love Dries? Because, that's a thing. I think it will be for anyone who reads BIA. There is a lot of emotional upheaval in this book. I was a bit everywhere and it got confusing at times trying to figure out how I should feel. The characters have such different takes in a lot of ways; we see them from such different points of views than we have previously because, as we did in CW, we get more background history. A lot of it I still don't know how to handle. I started feverishly reading through the action at the end and caught up in everything going on - there is a lot to take in. I still don't know what the hell to think about Stiles. I have to admit, I marked it 4 stars versus 5, because (as another reviewer said) the ending was rather abrupt. It was happy and everything, don't get me wrong. It's just I felt like there were a lot of things that seem unsolved. I am going to have to do a reread to see if I missed certain clues that would button everything up completely. I realise some people like that kind of ending, because it lets them come up with their own ideas of what happens afterward. I am not one of those people. I want someone to lay out everything that happened so my mind can sit back and enjoy it. Lazy reader, here.I am happy we finally got some frisky-business action. What's more, that it was realistic - unlike Island's (and my) romance novels. It was a nice piece of reality thrown into the semi-unrealistic whirlwind of all the rest. So if you're expecting throbbing members you'll be disappointed, jussayin. (hide spoiler)]Overall: 100% recommend this book. But don't expect it to be all romance, giggles, and sloth memes.
    more
  • Nocks
    May 22, 2017
    "5 stars isn't enough goodreads"I have only one word to describe Butterfly In Amber and that's Epic! I've been impatiently waiting for this fourth installment in the Spotless series since the beginning of the year and after that cliffhanger from the previous book I'm glad to say it did not disappoint.IslandMarchI was a bit weary at the beginning as this book takes place 8 months after the destruction of the Poseidon and Island is suffering from amnesia. I wasn't sure how this one would go but I' "5 stars isn't enough goodreads"I have only one word to describe Butterfly In Amber and that's Epic! I've been impatiently waiting for this fourth installment in the Spotless series since the beginning of the year and after that cliffhanger from the previous book I'm glad to say it did not disappoint.IslandMarchI was a bit weary at the beginning as this book takes place 8 months after the destruction of the Poseidon and Island is suffering from amnesia. I wasn't sure how this one would go but I'm glad to say it ended up exceeding my expectations. It is a little bit darker than the previous books. It gets really emotional towards the end but wow, what an intense, suspenseful but overall fun journey it was. If you're a fan of the series you can expect the same humour we've come to love. Guns blazing non-stop action and a stunning visual of all the places they go on their globe trotting adventures. I loved every minute of it from Isiphoro and Dominic's antics to Dries' s quips and his overall badassery but most importantly March. He was so swoonworthy and patient (ultimate book boyfriend right there)And I’m twenty-six. Still a virgin.After I’ve processed this news, I blurt out the first thing that comes to mind. “So you’ve been trying to bang me for fourteen months?”He strokes his chin pensively. “In a way, I suppose.”My jaw goes slack.“I’ve been told I’m very persistent.”But of course most importantly is that Island FINALLY gets deflowered!!!!I mean I love this series, with ot without the sexy times but I sure ain't complaining that Island's first time wasn't just a fade to black scene like I feared. I can not praise Camilla Monk enough. She's a genius and I can't wait to read more from her in future. This has been the best book series EVER! I'm actually sad now because I'm done but I'm still not satisfied (will probably suffer from book hangover for many weeks to come) I want more. Maybe a novella? (nudge, nudge. Wink, wink)If you're seeing this review please do yourself a favor and start from the beginning. Pick up Spotless! It's definitely the best decision I ever did.
    more
  • Melissa
    May 25, 2017
    4.5 stars. UGHHH this book DESTROYED ME! As much as I disliked some aspects of the previous books, I was hooked to the story and the characters in a way that I had to read this one asap on Kindle (as opposed to waiting for the audiobook) - and then proceeded to read it at every possible spare moment, even amidst moving apartments. Without giving away any major plot points (as I'm sure others likely will, but I liked being able to go in fresh!), some major, life-altering events went down between 4.5 stars. UGHHH this book DESTROYED ME! As much as I disliked some aspects of the previous books, I was hooked to the story and the characters in a way that I had to read this one asap on Kindle (as opposed to waiting for the audiobook) - and then proceeded to read it at every possible spare moment, even amidst moving apartments. Without giving away any major plot points (as I'm sure others likely will, but I liked being able to go in fresh!), some major, life-altering events went down between last book and this one - and journeying with Island as she unravels the knots that is her life at this point is fascinating. I'm still upset by the FOUR. BOOK. LONG. tease-fest this series entailed, and the numerous missed opportunities to fix that (I can't be the only one whose mind wandered for an alternate playing out of any shower scenes - right?), but I love the depth this book added to the series and I will be looking into other books by Monk in the future. I recommend the series!
    more
  • Britton Epps
    April 24, 2017
    I started this series on a whim while browsing Amazon one day. This one had all of my requirements.. Mystery.. Check, quirky characters ... Check , action .. Check , romance ... Check. So I grabbed it up and quickly became engrossed in the entire series. I couldn't read fast enough what would happen next to March and Island. I think March has become one of my favorite male characters. If you love a flawed, quirky, nerdy character .. With tons of passion he is your man. In this final installment I started this series on a whim while browsing Amazon one day. This one had all of my requirements.. Mystery.. Check, quirky characters ... Check , action .. Check , romance ... Check. So I grabbed it up and quickly became engrossed in the entire series. I couldn't read fast enough what would happen next to March and Island. I think March has become one of my favorite male characters. If you love a flawed, quirky, nerdy character .. With tons of passion he is your man. In this final installment we are thrown for a major loop. I don't want to say to much, but there are many obstacles for these two to overcome. The action and mystery was well placed through out the book, and the " obstacle" was portrayed realistically as well. One of my favorite things about these two is that they have to fight for everything and they take nothing for granted. There were many emotional scenes in the book as well as thank you Jesus ones 😉If you are looking for a series where you feel that the author was born to write this story, than this is defiantly for you. The plot is one of the best I have read in a mystery novel. I am going to miss March's idiosyncrasies, and Islands stubborn nature. Hope we get a novella one day of them in the future. Five this series should be a TV show stars. I was provided a ARC for my honest review.
    more
  • Hayley
    April 27, 2017
    After the cliff hanger of the previous book we are quickly brought up to speed with what has happened to Island and I could not tear myself away for a second.There are plenty of the humorous moments that we have come to expect from Ms Monk, as well as the appearance of a sloth called Hadrian & the return of the Roomba cats! Yay!Other reviews have mentioned that this book is darker in tone than the earlier books and this is certainly true. However there are only so many death defying situatio After the cliff hanger of the previous book we are quickly brought up to speed with what has happened to Island and I could not tear myself away for a second.There are plenty of the humorous moments that we have come to expect from Ms Monk, as well as the appearance of a sloth called Hadrian & the return of the Roomba cats! Yay!Other reviews have mentioned that this book is darker in tone than the earlier books and this is certainly true. However there are only so many death defying situations a character can experience before it begins to seem ridiculous that no one is seriously injured, so this actually made a lot of sense to me.To sum up without spoilers I loved it, even when I hated it!!!So please please please don't let this be the last book!!! I had no idea that it was until I looked at other people’s reviews. Although this does explain why so many things were wrapped up by the end, I still have unanswered questions and adore the characters Camilla Monk has created!
    more
  • Suzy (ereaderuser)
    May 24, 2017
    Such a fun series. Loaded with great characters, tons of action, and a bunch of humor. Really everything you could ask for. Highly recommend!
  • Arissa
    May 18, 2017
    I thought this was going to be the last book! You have no idea how happy I am that there's one more.BTW (view spoiler)[Forever bitter about Dries' death. I'm still hoping it was fake. (hide spoiler)]
  • Melanie
    April 27, 2017
    What a perfect ending to an amazing series! The only disappointment I really had was that the series is over. The fourth and final book in the Spotless series finds Island (who is still a virgin btw) isolated in a winter castle. Island is recovering from her injuries that occurred at the end of "Crystal Whisperer" and the biggest issue is her persisting amnesia. While her "father," doctor, and caretaker, Stiles, try to help Island fill in the blanks in her memory, she has the unsettling feeling What a perfect ending to an amazing series! The only disappointment I really had was that the series is over. The fourth and final book in the Spotless series finds Island (who is still a virgin btw) isolated in a winter castle. Island is recovering from her injuries that occurred at the end of "Crystal Whisperer" and the biggest issue is her persisting amnesia. While her "father," doctor, and caretaker, Stiles, try to help Island fill in the blanks in her memory, she has the unsettling feeling that not everything is alright. After months inside the castle, Island is starting to feel stifled and her rebellion leads to some pretty scary consequences. Luckily, before the dastardly plan can be carried out, some returning cast members, including my favorite hit man, come to the rescue! The rest of the novel follows Island, March, and Island's real father trying to fix Island's memory and take down the bad guys. As with the previous books in the series, "Butterfly in Amber" features lots of action, cool weaponry, hilarious dialogue, and characters with heart. Readers will experience the full range of emotions. There will be no shortage of laughs or tears in this book! While the ending of the book isn't 100% happy, it is satisfying and Ms. Monk doesn't leave any threads dangling. Not to mention, many fans are sure to be happy that (view spoiler)[ Island FINALLY loses her virginity! (hide spoiler)]While I'm sad that one of my favorite series is now at an end, I look forward to whatever project Ms. Monk works on next. I suppose I'll have to bide my time waiting for her next book by re-reading the Spotless series!*I received an ARC in exchange for an honest review.This review is also posted on https://adventuresofanavidbookworm.bl...
    more
  • Sally
    January 31, 2017
    Can't wait! So excited omg omg omg!Edit April 25th:This book will come out a few days before my graduation... ANNDDD that's how I'm motivating myself to finish my final project.... 'Finish your work, then sit back and take your time reading the last book of this amazing series!' #Motivation
    more
  • Christine
    May 22, 2017
    Due to mixed emotions about Butterfly in Amber, I have decided to write two reviews, one as a standalone novel and one as part of the Spotless series.As a stand-alone novel, it has a good hook, lots of action, and enough character development to make you feel like you know them. In addition, the author reveals information from the previous books in a way that does hold up the story in an endless narrative, but in a way that helps the reader understand the plot and what drives the characters. Wit Due to mixed emotions about Butterfly in Amber, I have decided to write two reviews, one as a standalone novel and one as part of the Spotless series.As a stand-alone novel, it has a good hook, lots of action, and enough character development to make you feel like you know them. In addition, the author reveals information from the previous books in a way that does hold up the story in an endless narrative, but in a way that helps the reader understand the plot and what drives the characters. With an excellent plot, humor, and action, Camilla Monk does not disappoint. I rated this book a 4.As the fourth and final story in the series, I still stand by all of the good qualities that I noted above and I would also like to add that the author does an excellent job of revealing information from the previous books in a way that does not feel repetitive and does not interfere with the flow of the story. With that said, I feel Butterfly in Amber was a disappointment as the ending of the arc of a story. Here is why.First, the big plot development (Island has lost her memory) seems almost impossible to resolve this late in the game in a satisfying and timely manner. Describing the extent of her memory loss takes up a big chuck of the story in which the reader is deprived of the fun, interaction and sexual tension between Island and March. This interaction is what makes the characters so endearing, and the reason I have been a fan of the previous Spotless books. Second, the resolution to Island and March’s romantic plight was again disappointing (huge understatement). I understand that the message was possibly that relationships aren’t always about sex and thus their first encounter was realistic and not mind blowing or perfect, but come on! We went to space with these two which asked us to hang on and go with the fantasy so why couldn’t we be given more of a fantasy that all of the buildup promised and have the first time they had sex be amazing?! Ugh, such a letdown. As a book ending a story arc I rated this one a 3.Don’t get me wrong, I LOVE the Spotless series. It is unique, witty, and well written. I would and have recommend it to friends. And regardless what I think of the fourth book and ending of the story arc I know that if you have read the first three books in the series you have to read Butterfly in Amber, to get your ending. So my opinions won’t really matter because if someone had told me they were disappointed in the last book I would read it anyway.I look forward to reading all of Camilla Monk’s future work.I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
    more
Write a review