The Red Lily (Vampire Blood, #2)
When Red falls for the Big Bad Wolf... The Black Lily resistance needs a larger army if they are to defeat the vampire monarchy. In order to do so, former lieutenant and traitor to the vampire Crown, Nikolai must seek help from the red-hooded temptress he needs to avoid at all costs. The secret he carries could prove dangerous for her if she gets too close...even though keeping her close—very close—is the only thing on his mind.Sienna will do anything for the Black Lily, and when Nikolai asks for her assistance to gain the trust of the commonwealth, it's the last thing she wants to do. The thought of leaving her woods and her wolves behind is terrifying...not to mention the danger being with Nikolai poses.

The Red Lily (Vampire Blood, #2) Details

TitleThe Red Lily (Vampire Blood, #2)
Author
Formatebook
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 19th, 2017
PublisherEntangled Publishing, LLC (Select Otherworld)
Rating
GenreRomance, Paranormal Romance, Paranormal, Vampires, Fantasy, Fairy Tales

The Red Lily (Vampire Blood, #2) Review

  • Carol [Goodreads Addict]
    May 11, 2017
    “Be true to who you are and who you are meant to be.” The Red Lily is book two in the series, Tales of the Black Lily by Juliette Cross. Have you ever experienced that moment in time when you read the final word in a book and you just sit there, stunned, not knowing what to think or do after what you just read? Well, that happened! This book…if you thought you loved the first book in this series, just wait until this one, until you get to know Sienna and Nikolai, and fall in love all over again “Be true to who you are and who you are meant to be.” The Red Lily is book two in the series, Tales of the Black Lily by Juliette Cross. Have you ever experienced that moment in time when you read the final word in a book and you just sit there, stunned, not knowing what to think or do after what you just read? Well, that happened! This book…if you thought you loved the first book in this series, just wait until this one, until you get to know Sienna and Nikolai, and fall in love all over again.Sienna lives in the Silvane Forest guarded by the hart wolves who are also her friends and companions. As much as she loves the solitude of the forest, ever since she met Arabelle and Marius, she is committed to the cause of The Black Lily. To do all she can to help to free the peasants from the oppression of Queen Morgrid. Her task is to travel to several cities to try to rally recruits to help in the fight. To do this she will need to leave her beloved forest. She will also need a guardian. Who better to volunteer for this position than Nicolai, the former Lieutenant for the queens army, now active fighter for the Black Lily alongside his friend, Prince Marius. The same Nicolai that has filled her dreams every night since she first laid eyes on him.Nikolai didn’t hesitate a moment to volunteer to escort the beautiful Sienna on her journey. He would allow no other to be so close to her. He has thought of nothing else since he first met her, the woman in the red cape with the fiery red hair. “Was it his infatuation with this woman that colored his senses, washing him with desire and electric power? Or was it the woman herself who lit him on fire?”“This woman was certainly a witch, for she beguiled him every step of the way.” The chemistry is so strong between these two. But Nikolai doesn’t feel he deserves such a pure and beautiful sole. He is a monster, a monster with a dark past that he keeps hidden. A dark secret that surely if Sienna knew, she would cower and run from him as she should. But even with that, they can’t fight their feelings for very long before they give in to the pull that binds them together. “Is this…feeling because you’ve tasted my blood?”“No, sweetheart. It is not. This is pure, burning desire.” Danger lurks as their journey progresses and evil finds them. Nikolai will do anything to keep Sienna, the woman he knows now that he loves, safe. He tries to convince her to abort the remainder of the trip but she is committed to seeing this through. There is more to Sienna than even she realizes. A spark of magic deep within her, a spark only she can unleash once she learns not to fear it. This is one of those books that build slowly, pulling you in deeper and deeper and then, WHAM, the author hits you with a heart stopping turn of events. Then, just when you think your heart rate has recovered, she hits you again! Believe me when I say that this book won’t let you out of it’s clutches until the very final page. The love story between Nikolai and Sienna is so beautiful. I couldn’t stop thinking about them throughout the time I was reading this book. But there is also so much more going on. We meet new characters, and find out so much more about the atrocities and motives behind the actions of the evil Queen Morgrid. There was one particular scene that was just devastating it was so horrible.Juliette Cross’s storytelling was truly masterful throughout this book. Her descriptions painted vivid pictures in my mind that will remain for a very long time. This series has captivated me and I am so thankful I am given the opportunity to share my feelings with you. I truly hope that if you haven’t started book one yet, that you do now, so you will be ready when this one is released. I am sure you will fall in love just as I have. Book one, The Black Lily, was a Cinderella retelling. This one is a Red Riding Hood retelling. I am told that book three, The White Lily, will be a Snow White retelling. Don’t wait, and get started now. This series is amazing. “She wasn’t simply any woman. She was Sienna.”
    more
  • Sh3lly ✨ Bring on the Weird ✨
    April 26, 2017
    May 21, 2017: Oh I see there is now a cover! Much better than book 1! haha :) Nikolai. Swoon.And now it's called the Vampire Blood series? Interesting... Not that I mind the change. Oh, I hope there are many more to come...Original post:OMG OMG I GOT AN ARC!
    more
  • T's Book ~ Tanja
    May 1, 2017
    Juliette Cross is quickly becoming one of the premier names in the paranormal/fantasy romance genre. Her books deliver a mega punch of action, adventure, and heart pounding romantic tensions that make her books simply un-put-downable. The Red Lily is no exception. Sienna is a warrior in red who has been tucked away in her mystical forest. She has been called to duty by the Black Lily and needs a bodyguard— one all too willing to provide his services. Nikolai, a former Lieutenant of the vampire m Juliette Cross is quickly becoming one of the premier names in the paranormal/fantasy romance genre. Her books deliver a mega punch of action, adventure, and heart pounding romantic tensions that make her books simply un-put-downable. The Red Lily is no exception. Sienna is a warrior in red who has been tucked away in her mystical forest. She has been called to duty by the Black Lily and needs a bodyguard— one all too willing to provide his services. Nikolai, a former Lieutenant of the vampire monarchy, is a wanted man, yet he’ll risk it all to keep the lovely Sienna safe.““I’d rather take you away to some safe place and hide from the world so there is no one but you and me. I’d rather let the world bleed than put you in danger’s path one more day.”” Sienna and Nikolai create a calm in the storm for one another, and the way Cross weaves her words within this story is breathtaking. She makes this another stepping stone in her quest for storytelling perfection.“The wind gusted through the trees. The leaves rustled, and a layer of snow drifted in a swirl across the road, sparkling like faerie dust. The night was silent and lovely. The world seemed at peace. But Sienna felt the coming storm, whirling in her breast and building for the dark days ahead. For now, she would try to savor this time with Nikolai. Heaven only knew what fate had in store for them around the bend.”So, come. Join the magical journey of the Vampire Blood series. Revel in the feel of a magical world with a nod to the fairytales of old and immerse yourself in its wonder. You’ll thank me.5 StarsTanja*ARC Read Follow us on  KT Book ReviewsTwitterFacebookPinteresttumblrYouTubeBook Babblers
    more
  • Robin (Bridge Four)
    May 10, 2017
    Fairytale retelling of Little Red Riding Hood with Vampires. Um....yes please.
  • Sylvia
    April 29, 2017
    I am breathless and utterly speechless. The remarkable author, Juliette Cross, has simply consumed me with so many feels and many varying emotions, while reading this incredible retelling of Red and the Big Bad Wolf. I really don't think what I'm about to write is really going to do this beautiful and visually stunning story justice. But, I will try my best. Can you imagine feasting your eyes on an Apple?! Now, this isn't just any Apple. In fact, it's deep and dark, ruby red skin reflects the mo I am breathless and utterly speechless. The remarkable author, Juliette Cross, has simply consumed me with so many feels and many varying emotions, while reading this incredible retelling of Red and the Big Bad Wolf. I really don't think what I'm about to write is really going to do this beautiful and visually stunning story justice. But, I will try my best. Can you imagine feasting your eyes on an Apple?! Now, this isn't just any Apple. In fact, it's deep and dark, ruby red skin reflects the moonlight while it hangs upon a lowly branch, deep in the heart of a forest. You're probably wondering what this Apple has to do with this story but please bare with me, I'm getting there. Now, back to the Apple. You reach up a delicately wrap your hand around this deliciously looking Apple and proceed to gently pick it off its branch and take a bite. You savour that first crunch and revel in the sweet nector, as you gloriously succumb to the feel of how light and crisp each bite is until you devour the whole thing. Salivating at every turn and sating the hunger you didn't think you had. Well, that my friends is how I felt reading this vividly rich and colourful second instalment of the Tales of the Black Lily. I know this imagery might seem a bit much, but trust me, this is the only way I know how to express the way I feel about The Red Lily. I couldn't get enough of this book. Every word I read, evoked such feeling in which took over my body in many ways. It really was an experience like no other, as I literally inhalled this story that forever has indented its soul on mine.Everything about The Red Lily is divine. From the imaginative and seductive world full of the supernatural and the well-developed characters who set fire to your soul, to the fantastical imagery and depth to the very thorough plot and storyline, this book will have you roaring with all your might and leaving you ravenous, wanting and needing. This, my dear fellow readers, is what you call storytelling at its best. As I finish off, I just need to point out that I received this ARC thanks to Entangled Publishing via Netgalley and wanted to thank the wonderful Juliette Cross for entrusting me with this intoxicating book and for creating the sexiest most devilishly beast of a vampire that is Nikolai. Can I get a RAWR!!
    more
  • Rhenna Morgan
    April 29, 2017
    Did someone say, "The Big Bad Wolf?"Lordy, Nikolai had me the second he prowled onto the scene. I loved THE BLACK LILY, but Nik took that love and ratcheted it up about 1,000 degrees. All alpha and deliciously sexy, I found myself flipping the pages and ignoring reality until the very end. (Which came all too quickly.)And Sienna--she's the type of heroine I love to read. Strong, yet comfortable in her femininity. And while their overall journey, championing The Black Lilly's agenda, was rich and Did someone say, "The Big Bad Wolf?"Lordy, Nikolai had me the second he prowled onto the scene. I loved THE BLACK LILY, but Nik took that love and ratcheted it up about 1,000 degrees. All alpha and deliciously sexy, I found myself flipping the pages and ignoring reality until the very end. (Which came all too quickly.)And Sienna--she's the type of heroine I love to read. Strong, yet comfortable in her femininity. And while their overall journey, championing The Black Lilly's agenda, was rich and full of suspense, one of my favorite parts of the book was the slow unveiling of her history and how she came to live in the forest. (Extra double bonus points for the wolves. Fingers crossed they get a series of their own.)But the best part was the romance. One thing I can always count on from Juliette are smoldering interludes ripe with amazing chemistry and emotion, and THE RED LILY was no exception. Seriously, the ante in this series has been raised exponentially. So much so I'm practically begging for the next installment--THE WHITE LILY.
    more
  • Deanna from Deanna's World
    May 6, 2017
    The Red Lily is a a raw, intense and deeply sensual story which shows you what happens when little Red falls for the big bad wolf! Both Sienna and Nikolai are the quintessential embodiment of archetypes from the fairy tale.Full review to come ...See more from Deanna's World
    more
  • Cora Cade
    April 27, 2017
    Another stunning addition to Juliette's new series. With two more books to go until the conclusion, I can't wait for them to arrive.This book is a spin on Red Riding Hood and I couldn't have loved it more. With elements of fantasy, historical and paranormal, you can not miss out on this second book in the series.Add this to your TBR pile immediately!
    more
  • Erin Kelly
    May 24, 2017
    I meant to update, but couldn't stop myself..This is Red Riding Hood like you never imagined with the sexy Alpha vampire of your dreams. (Think Eric from True Blood with a tad more smolder and less sarcasm) Full review coming closer to release, but this one has all the feels and is hotter than the first in this series.
    more
  • Chelon
    May 24, 2017
    Loved this story, I felt like a voyeur on a really long sexy date. Sienna took a while to grow on me, but Nikolai just love. The story was written perfectly and as it progressed I found myself wanting more. Then bam, Mrs. Cross gave more and I read through the last 25% at breakneck speed. Now I'm left waiting for more until the next book.I was given an ARC for my honest review.
    more
  • Angela (Angel's Guilty Pleasures)
    May 14, 2017
    “Be true to who you are and who you are meant to be.” The Red Lily is the second installment in Juliette Cross, Tales of the Black Lily. I had goosebumps while reading and am in awe. The first book was a creative marvel and then comes The Red Lily. Sienna and Nikolai will having you falling in love all over again. I loved both Sienna and Nikolai. These two have thought of nothing but each other, though they don’t know it, not until they come together for the cause of The Black Lily. The chemis “Be true to who you are and who you are meant to be.” The Red Lily is the second installment in Juliette Cross, Tales of the Black Lily. I had goosebumps while reading and am in awe. The first book was a creative marvel and then comes The Red Lily. Sienna and Nikolai will having you falling in love all over again. I loved both Sienna and Nikolai. These two have thought of nothing but each other, though they don’t know it, not until they come together for the cause of The Black Lily. The chemistry is strong and they can’t fight their feelings for long even with danger around every turn. The Red Lily builds you up, pulls you in and then, hits you with heart stopping events. Just when you think you have your emotions under control and nothing more can surprise you, BAM the author hits you again. This book will not let you put it down. The love story is beautiful, the authors storytelling is skillful, the pictures described where vivid, and the emotions just come off the pages. I was taken on an action-packed, emotional journey, with some gut wrenching moments that had me in tears, along with some sweet and heartfelt moments, and several surprises along the way… Add it all up and you have a mind-blowing, unforgettable, and extraordinary romantic adventure. Don’t wait to pick up this amazing series. Book one was the retelling of Cinderella and this one was the retelling of Red Riding Hood. I can’t wait to see what comes next. Rated: 5 Stars*Disclaimer: I received a complimentary copy provided by Entangled Publishing, LLC via NetGalley with the sole purpose of an honest review. All thoughts, comments and ratings are my own.
    more
  • J
    May 28, 2017
    I love this series. "The Red Lily" is the second book in the "Vampire Blood" series, formerly known as the "Tales of the Black Lily" series, by Juliette Cross. (Not sure why the change, certainly liked the original series name over Vampire Blood. That just sounds hokey.) Although you could probably get by jumping into the series here, you would understand the story line and this world much better if you red "The Black Lily" first. (Plus it's just a good book.) I liked Marius and Arabelle from th I love this series. "The Red Lily" is the second book in the "Vampire Blood" series, formerly known as the "Tales of the Black Lily" series, by Juliette Cross. (Not sure why the change, certainly liked the original series name over Vampire Blood. That just sounds hokey.) Although you could probably get by jumping into the series here, you would understand the story line and this world much better if you red "The Black Lily" first. (Plus it's just a good book.) I liked Marius and Arabelle from the first book but I LOVED Nicolai and Sienna. Nicolai was just so sweet. The big bad vampire lieutenant cared so much for Sienna and took such care with her. He was respectful and thought of her needs before his own. And yet he was all alpha: sexy, possessive, and savage in his protection of her. I really like that Sienna was a strong character. Not quite what you usually see in a strong female lead, in that she wasn't this fearless badass. She was dainty and feminine and she was terrified of the mission set before her. And yet she didn't falter because she believed so strongly in the cause and the belief that she could help. Even when headstrong and protective Nicolai fiercely demanded she stop the mission, she didn't cave, didn't give in to his wishes, but stayed the course. All of these qualities made her so human, and so much more relatable than some one who just went in and kicked ass. (Although at one point we definitely saw this in her and it was awesome to behold.) I loved the heat the author created with Nicolai and Sienna . There were some very steamy, just down right delicious, scenes between the two. I definitely felt the connection and the chemistry.I did have a couple of issues. The book was very slow for me. It was interesting, but I really wish the pace had been faster. I kept having to make myself get back to it. The last 25% or so of the book I flew through. It was intense and I loved it. I just wish the first part of the book had more momentum. Also, there were two extremely brutal scenes in the book. One scene with Sienna was particularly graphic. It was too much for me. These are definitely dark books. Although only loosely based on fairy tales, think original Grimm's. Exciting and interesting, but also quite tragic in places.All in all though definitely a series I would recommend. It's an original take on many levels from vampires, to fairy tales, to world building. I am definitely looking forward to the next book. I can't wait to hear more about Friedrich, Mina, Riker and others. I'd love to hear more about Dane as well. Each book does a good job of sucking you into the world it's set in and I can't wait for more.I received this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review
    more
  • Talking Books
    May 3, 2017
    The Red Lily by Juliette Cross was a fiery read with its own surprises revealed in the story. Centred around the characters of Sienna and Nikolai, the story tells of the mystery surrounding these two characters with some revelations unveiled. Twists in the story and scorching chemistry between Nikolai and Sienna that are sizzling page turners.Another great read in the Tales Of The Black Lily series from author Juliette CrossReview copy received from Entangled Publishing via Netgalley
    more
  • Ashley Nelson
    May 19, 2017
    Review to be posted closer to publication date.ARC provided by Entangled Publishing via Netgalley
  • Christina
    April 29, 2017
    5 Stars - 3.5 Flames This series will be the death of me. Why? Because I'm already chomping at the bit to get the next one and technically, this one hasn't even released yet (sigh). Why do I like this so much. Tales. This is the best kind of tale. One that mixes different tales together, adding spins and twists that leave you speechless. Let me start by mentioning that although this could be read as a standalone, I strongly recommend that you start from the beginning. You'll understand more of t 5 Stars - 3.5 Flames This series will be the death of me. Why? Because I'm already chomping at the bit to get the next one and technically, this one hasn't even released yet (sigh). Why do I like this so much. Tales. This is the best kind of tale. One that mixes different tales together, adding spins and twists that leave you speechless. Let me start by mentioning that although this could be read as a standalone, I strongly recommend that you start from the beginning. You'll understand more of the story line, which will only pull you in further.Sienna has been living in the woods for a while now. In fact, one would say that she's one with the woods. Others just call her the Red Witch of the Woods. Why witch? Because many believe that the woods are magical, and she's the only human brave enough to live in it. Now that Sienna is a friend of the Black Lily, she has also joined the cause to bring down the Queen (yep, read the first book). The Black Lily has asked Sienna to help recruit humans who'd fight by her side. But the journey is dangerous and she'll need protection. Who better to offer her protection than the former royal lieutenant himself, Nikolai. Did I mention he's a vampire? Nikolai was the royal lieutenant who's charge was Marius Varis (son of the Queen - I mentioned that you needed to read the first book, right?). Now that he knows the truth about the Queen, he's left the royal guard and joined his best friend Marius and the Black Lily cause. He's also been assigned (ok, he asked for the assignment) to protect Sienna on their recruitment journey. But during the journey, it's apparent that his need to protect is becoming stronger by the minute. Probably because Sienna has gotten under his skin and there's no way he's letter her go.Where the first book mixed Cinderella and Vampires, this one mixes Little Red Riding Hood and Vampires. And like I mentioned before, there are twists to the story that even surprised me. Man, I wish I could read this again for the first time...I digress...The chemistry between Sienna and Nikolai has been building since the end of the last book and keeps building throughout this one. Although I really enjoyed Arabelle and Marius' relationship in the first book, these two have captured my heart. I love this duo and the way they work together to fight the cause is wonderful. We get to learn a little more about the hart wolves in this story too. And boy oh boy, do we learn more. I LOVE THIS BOOK!!! Ok, I need to stop talking or I'm gonna give this way....READ THIS!!!*I received this book from the author in exchange for my honest opinion.
    more
  • Juliette Cross
    February 27, 2017
Write a review