Nostalgic Rain (Nostalgic Rain, #1)
What seventeen-year-old Leland finds in the abandoned basement of his house is something he will never forget.Leland lost his father when he was seven. Since then, he has successfully adapted to the awful life of being a student, the man of the house, and a father figure to his two younger siblings. All of that changes when he and his best friends stumble upon a secret in his deserted basement, and fall into another dimension with three moons, foggy woods, and an ancient castle-Oremanta.Learning who he really is, how he came to this remote planet, and the shocking, ugly mystery of Oremanta aren't as bad as the quest he finds himself obligated to complete-killing someone he never thought he'd meet in Oremanta to save everyone.

Nostalgic Rain (Nostalgic Rain, #1) Details

TitleNostalgic Rain (Nostalgic Rain, #1)
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 27th, 2017
Number of pages324 pages
Rating
GenreFantasy, Young Adult

Readers also enjoyed


Nostalgic Rain (Nostalgic Rain, #1) Review

  • Shaikha
    January 23, 2017
    I received an early copy of Nostalgic Rain and I just finished reading it.This book took me on a wonderful journey to another dimension, it was an emotional rollercoaster! Cliffhangers and plot twists are the two things I look for in the books I read and Nostalgic Rain HAS IT ALL. I'm impressed by the creativity and how smart this book was written. I can't recommend this to a specific group of people because honestly, anyone can enjoy this! The pace and development of the story was on point with I received an early copy of Nostalgic Rain and I just finished reading it.This book took me on a wonderful journey to another dimension, it was an emotional rollercoaster! Cliffhangers and plot twists are the two things I look for in the books I read and Nostalgic Rain HAS IT ALL. I'm impressed by the creativity and how smart this book was written. I can't recommend this to a specific group of people because honestly, anyone can enjoy this! The pace and development of the story was on point with perfect timing, I didn't feel bored reading this, it kept me at the edge of my seat. It's a real page-turner and impossible to put down because you keep wanting to know more & more. As for the ending; DAYYUUMM!! Mind = blown, I gasped so loud!!I don't want to spoil anything but If you're into YA Fiction/Fantasy and Mystery, then this book is for you. It will be released July 1st, 2017 so don't forget to get your copy!
    more
  • A.S. Altabtabai
    December 14, 2016
    I wrote the book in five years, so here's a star for each one. Thank you for the support, love you all!
  • Abrar Touq
    January 13, 2017
    Imagine reading about all of your favourite characters from all of your favourite books joining forces to defeat evil for once and for all. I'm talking about Katniss Everdeen going on the fellow ship of the ring to fight The Dark Lord for peace in Narnia. You can read that and more in Nostalgic Rain!The book consist of a whole new world with a history and a cause. It is not your typical YA fiction where the protagonist falls in love and conquer the bad guys then winning all the glory and fame. N Imagine reading about all of your favourite characters from all of your favourite books joining forces to defeat evil for once and for all. I'm talking about Katniss Everdeen going on the fellow ship of the ring to fight The Dark Lord for peace in Narnia. You can read that and more in Nostalgic Rain!The book consist of a whole new world with a history and a cause. It is not your typical YA fiction where the protagonist falls in love and conquer the bad guys then winning all the glory and fame. NR is about how selfishness can blind you from seeing all the beauty of this world, it's about how your willpower can let out what you are capable of doing without your knowledge, it's not about how important friends are but how good they are to you, how far they can go with you and fight your battles with you. I was impressed the whole time reading it. it reminded me of so many brilliant things I have already read, but somehow NR has its own vibe. I really loved how the transition from one place to another and the POV of one character to another took place. It was well-paced and not confusing. I've also always been amazed by how authors can create a whole new universe that has its own rules and people rather than just setting the book on earth regardless of the time (past-present-future) whatsoever. The creativity of one being can do wonders! The thing I liked the most about NR, is the characters development, although it's the first book (saying first because I'm hoping there will be a sequel).I only read the early review copy, the non-corrected proof and I was astonished and I can't wait to read final book once again. I hope I didn't reveal too much because I want everyone to go get, read and love Nostalgic Rain.P.s. The book's official release is on the 1st of July, 2017.
    more
  • Boutheina Dammak
    June 1, 2017
    I received this book today and it's so beautiful i can't wait to start reading it
  • John Matt
    January 15, 2017
    Disclaimer: I have received this ARC (Advance Reading Copy) as an exchange for my honest review. "The more you feed your fear, the more you become imprisoned by it" (Spoiler-Free) Let's start this review with the MC: Leland Hopegone. Leland is a 17-year old boy who lives with his mother and two siblings in the town of temblewood. Initially, I didn't find Leland to be really different from other YA MC'S. He had a good background story, but that was it. But as the story progresses, Leland became o Disclaimer: I have received this ARC (Advance Reading Copy) as an exchange for my honest review. "The more you feed your fear, the more you become imprisoned by it" (Spoiler-Free) Let's start this review with the MC: Leland Hopegone. Leland is a 17-year old boy who lives with his mother and two siblings in the town of temblewood. Initially, I didn't find Leland to be really different from other YA MC'S. He had a good background story, but that was it. But as the story progresses, Leland became one of the characters I felt attached to. The author was able to hide the traits that made Leland who he was, and was able to show them as the story unfolded itself. What I liked about this MC is that he has a reason to fight, a cause to defend, and one hell of a quest to complete. The world-building in Nostalgic Rain is unique. The author had the ability to build a brand new world and yet didn't bore me with pages upon pages of description as seen in many fantasy books. You barely notice that he was describing something, but right when you finish a chapter, everything is painted in your head as if you're living the story. I wish though that there has been less POV'S in this book. The story is mainly told through Leland's POV, but sometimes the narratives switches, which I found kind of distracting. Plot (Spoiler-Free): The thing I liked the most in NR is the plot. Every chapter moves the story forward, and the chapters end with some of the best cliffhangers i've read in a while, making it nearly impossible to stop reading. I have read many titles this year. But I can say, hands down, that this debut novel has one of the best endings i've read in a while. It is not your typical YA ending where the protagonist slays the enemy and then kisses the heroine. If there's a definition for a bittersweet ending, it is this novel. Character development: Leland, Jennifer and Dylan (The main characters) had a good character development. Some of the characters who were introduced half way through the book (Billy, Maya) had a good character development too. But I feel that someone like Aelfgar Hawx, one of my favourite characters in this book, did not receive as much development as the previously mentioned characters. I felt that I wanted to know more about this man, where he came from, how he became that strong etc.. Final thoughts: I tried, as much as I could, to hide my excitement as I wrote this review. I even wanted to wait a couple of days before writing it. This is easily one of the best books you might read in your life. It's a wild ride with real characters and a plot that will make you excited for days. The ending is so satisfactory -- yet you will want to read the second book the moment you complete it.Regards, John.
    more
  • Selena Richard
    January 16, 2017
    I asked the author for an early copy—as I found this from one my friends who marked it as “Want to read”. Before proceeding with the review, I’d love to give praise for the cover. It’s why I decided to email the author and ask him for a copy. Have you ever read a book, or books, that started with many questions and then only half of those questions get answered by the time you complete the novel? Well, Nostalgic Rain is the exact opposite. The first three or four chapters were risky—the author h I asked the author for an early copy—as I found this from one my friends who marked it as “Want to read”. Before proceeding with the review, I’d love to give praise for the cover. It’s why I decided to email the author and ask him for a copy. Have you ever read a book, or books, that started with many questions and then only half of those questions get answered by the time you complete the novel? Well, Nostalgic Rain is the exact opposite. The first three or four chapters were risky—the author had built some good suspense and raised many questions that I, personally, have thought were nearly impossible to answer. I can’t say much as this will spoil the story, but congrats to the author – he pulled it off and explained everything as the story went on. And not only that—the story started to build itself upon those pillars created in the beginning of the book, making you realize that the author knows exactly where he’s taking us. The foreshadowing in Nostalgic Rain is the main reason why I came here to write a review. As the story moves forward, there are hints here and there about things that would happen later on, but they are so subtle you can barely notice them. This makes the plot twists in this book all believable.I won’t speak much about the characters, but “most” main characters have a very good character development that forces you to sympathies with them and feel their struggles. If anything, I feel lucky for reading this novel before everyone. It is the best thing I’ve read in a while. And I’d like to thank A.S Balance for providing me with a free copy, much appreciated!
    more
  • Rawan
    February 24, 2017
    Gah! Be forewarned: this one leaves you hanging in a beautiful yet must-have-the-next-book kind of way. Highly enjoyable, Got my attention from page one!Instantly, I loved the character of Leland and was amused by his unconventional introduction in the novel. I also liked the other characters and overall feel of the story. The book was so good, I had a hard time putting it down because I wanted to see everything get resolved so that everyone had their happy ending. I really had no idea what was Gah! Be forewarned: this one leaves you hanging in a beautiful yet must-have-the-next-book kind of way. Highly enjoyable, Got my attention from page one!Instantly, I loved the character of Leland and was amused by his unconventional introduction in the novel. I also liked the other characters and overall feel of the story. The book was so good, I had a hard time putting it down because I wanted to see everything get resolved so that everyone had their happy ending. I really had no idea what was going to happen! Altabtabai did a wonderful job of keeping the suspense going, and keeping me engaged. and I have to confess, I had no idea it would end as it would, but even though it wasnt how I may have ended, the way Altabtabai wrapped things up was wonderful. This is one of the first books I've read that I thought would make a WONDERFUL MOVIE. This novel, this ASTOUNDING novel is worthy of its reputation and its mystique. Memorable characters, amazing language and unforgettable story. A great, solid five-star read for sure.
    more
  • Sarah Alshraifi
    June 11, 2017
    "The pain inside you that drove you all the way through is stronger than anything else in the world" Aelfgar Hawx - Nostalgic Rain.Just like what the cover says, it's the kind of novel that takes you galaxies away. in this book you see different characters getting along so well and how Leland transforms from a normal teen boy to a hero who a lot of lives depends on him. The more you read, the more you fall in love with each character And the more curiosity you have about what's gonna happen. And "The pain inside you that drove you all the way through is stronger than anything else in the world" Aelfgar Hawx - Nostalgic Rain.Just like what the cover says, it's the kind of novel that takes you galaxies away. in this book you see different characters getting along so well and how Leland transforms from a normal teen boy to a hero who a lot of lives depends on him. The more you read, the more you fall in love with each character And the more curiosity you have about what's gonna happen. And I must say this, that after reading this book I really need an Aelfgar Hawx in my life.
    more
  • Manon
    July 1, 2017
    I was provided an ARC via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.RTC
  • Sarra Terry
    January 22, 2017
    Nostalgic Rain is the debut novel from A.S Balance. It revolves around a young boy named Leland who finds himself facing a series of mysteries ten years following the death of his father. What I LOVED about the book: The characters are NOT flawless. They try and fail and move on to do what they have to do next. It feels so organic. You get a good balance between failures and successes, making you wonder about the outcome of the next challenge they face. You know a novel is good when the characte Nostalgic Rain is the debut novel from A.S Balance. It revolves around a young boy named Leland who finds himself facing a series of mysteries ten years following the death of his father. What I LOVED about the book: The characters are NOT flawless. They try and fail and move on to do what they have to do next. It feels so organic. You get a good balance between failures and successes, making you wonder about the outcome of the next challenge they face. You know a novel is good when the characters other than the MC have a well-thought, fully fleshed characters with background stories and certain unique traits (Except for few characters, that I would not name here not to spoil the story.)Now, let’s get into the details. NR starts with Leland, the MC, hearing “creepy voices,”. I haven’t thought that this would be the best start for a novel(felt like a cliche to be honest). But one thing kept me going—the plot never stops evolving. I have read many books in which there’s a GREAT start, but then that’s it. NR starts with a good hook, and then, from there, it escalates. Leland’s character shapes up as the story goes on, and fragments of his old memories are often revisited throughout the novel from different perspectives. I was expecting to read another Narnia Rip off. NR is far from that. The plot is original and the characters are three-dimensional. Once you finish reading this, you will realize that you know more than you think about the characters and Oremanta.Speaking of the ending….that ending. Give me Book 2, right now, please.
    more
  • Tim Gray
    February 14, 2017
    This was a good read, an interesting story, with some good ideas - I note the copy I read was not absolutely finalized. It's a mix of grand legend, family story, with a distinctly fantasy edge - the book does resolve some of it's plot lines, whilst leaving room to go on in a future volume. Some elements don't 100% gel, but others are very well realized, and the author is prepared to keep the reader on their toes with twists and turns in the plotting. The female lead was, I felt, left hanging on This was a good read, an interesting story, with some good ideas - I note the copy I read was not absolutely finalized. It's a mix of grand legend, family story, with a distinctly fantasy edge - the book does resolve some of it's plot lines, whilst leaving room to go on in a future volume. Some elements don't 100% gel, but others are very well realized, and the author is prepared to keep the reader on their toes with twists and turns in the plotting. The female lead was, I felt, left hanging on the sidelines a bit at times, but maybe she will get more developed later. All in all well worth a read.
    more
  • Helen Brown
    January 27, 2017
    My friend recommended this book to me. And I'm so grateful she did. "The most awful thing in life is changing into someone worse but not realising it"Nostalgic Rain is one of those books where you don't really know if it's plot-drived or character-driven, mainly because its a mixture of them both. The world-building is something I enjoyed in NR, mainly because it was different. What I mean is that I expected to read a lot of paragraphs about Oremanta and what it looks like. Instead, there were f My friend recommended this book to me. And I'm so grateful she did. "The most awful thing in life is changing into someone worse but not realising it"Nostalgic Rain is one of those books where you don't really know if it's plot-drived or character-driven, mainly because its a mixture of them both. The world-building is something I enjoyed in NR, mainly because it was different. What I mean is that I expected to read a lot of paragraphs about Oremanta and what it looks like. Instead, there were few paragraphs here and there describing Oremanta, mixed with action scenes and conversations that made me barely notice the writer described something. I won't spoil the book, or the ending, but NR left me mind blown. I want to read the sequence like right now.
    more
  • Kirsty Hanson
    June 14, 2017
    When I first read the blurb of this book, I thought that it was a middle-grade novel. The characters didn't sound like they were seventeen and the plot itself sounded like it was for younger readers. Let me just clarify this right now, this book is for older readers and I would definitely not recommend it to middle-grade children because of its mature content and gore.What seventeen-year-old Leland finds in the abandoned basement of his house is something he will never forget.Leland lost his fat When I first read the blurb of this book, I thought that it was a middle-grade novel. The characters didn't sound like they were seventeen and the plot itself sounded like it was for younger readers. Let me just clarify this right now, this book is for older readers and I would definitely not recommend it to middle-grade children because of its mature content and gore.What seventeen-year-old Leland finds in the abandoned basement of his house is something he will never forget.Leland lost his father when he was seven. Since then, he has successfully adapted to the awful life of being a student, the man of the house, and a father figure to his two younger siblings. All of that changes when he and his best friends stumble upon a secret in his deserted basement, and fall into another dimension with three moons, foggy woods, and an ancient castle-Oremanta.Learning who he really is, how he came to this remote planet, and the shocking, ugly mystery of Oremanta aren't as bad as the quest he finds himself obligated to complete-killing someone he never thought he'd meet in Oremanta to save everyone.As aforementioned, when I first started reading this book, I did think that the characters were younger than seventeen but when I was introduced to their every day environments, I quickly realised that I was wrong. The story instantly caught my attention; it had this very dark underlying theme to it at the beginning of the book and there's one scene that seemed just like it had stepped out of a horror movie like The Grudge.Then, as the story begins to develop, we are sent to another galaxy and I found the world so interesting. It reminded me of Game of Thrones in the sense where you shouldn't really get attached to any of the characters because, without spoiling anything for you, let me just say that a lot of people die in this book... like... a lot. As soon as I had gotten over one death, I was mourning the next, it was crazy. And I do feel like that craziness is one of this book's downfalls. In some parts, the plot was just way too quick and I couldn't keep up with what was going on. "In this life, we lose people we love, and we endure a lot of hardships. What I've learned in those years is that emotions are dangerous. When you lose something you loved, it's the memories that remain, and they haunt and suffocate and bury you alive. But it doesn't really matter. What counts is what you did during that time. Were you able to carry on? Were you able to keep on living? As long as you're keeping the necessary elements in your life alive, it doesn't matter what brutal realities you go through."- A.S Altabtabai, Nostalgic Rain: Galaxies Away However, another thing that I absolutely loved about this book was that with every chapter, the POV changed, so we got to see different sides of the war, different character's opinions and their strength and weaknesses. Which brings me onto my next point: the characters were enjoyable to read, sometimes they came across as a bit flat, but most of the time, they seemed like well-rounded characters. Leland annoyed me sometimes; I feel like he got a bit 'too-big-for-his-boots' at times and pushed Jennifer aside when he didn't need her. Also, I didn't see the point in Jennifer actually staying behind when Leland went on his adventure? If it was because she was supposed to have her own character arc whilst he was away, that didn't really pan out did it, to be honest... So, when Leland and all of the other male characters wanted Jennifer to stay in the Castle, I just got angry.But...! THAT ENDING! WHAT IS GOING ON THERE?! Is there going to be a second book? Because I really need to see what that ending is all about because I literally finished the book with question marks hanging over my head.Overall, this was an enjoyable book to read. It did have its problems like the ones I have mentioned above, but it's such a thrilling, gory, and exciting read. Remember, it may read like a middle-grade novel, but the content is bloody and stabby stabby most of the time!Disclaimer: this book was sent to me by the publisher in exchange for an honest reviewReleased 1st July
    more
  • Thoraya
    January 25, 2017
    Speaking as a person who can hardly be satisfied when it comes to finding a good material to read: Nostalgic Rain can be simply described as an intensively exciting book! You know those pages of some of our favorite books that we tend to ignore because they're just boring and not really adding something? Well, you won't experience such thing with NR "for sure". It's one of those novels that it would be really hard for you to put down! Felt more of something real than just a "good novel to read" Speaking as a person who can hardly be satisfied when it comes to finding a good material to read: Nostalgic Rain can be simply described as an intensively exciting book! You know those pages of some of our favorite books that we tend to ignore because they're just boring and not really adding something? Well, you won't experience such thing with NR "for sure". It's one of those novels that it would be really hard for you to put down! Felt more of something real than just a "good novel to read" because the author was excellent in describing even the very little details, helping you to imagine every single thing mentioned in this book clearly to have that one complete 3D picture of what's all NR about. If you look for a book with those exciting plot twists, I will -difinitely- recommend you Nostalgic Rain as one! Characters were wisely described, with a good sense of humor "that you will most probably enjoy"! Events were almost hard to be expected "prepare yourself to be shocked frequently while reading this book".And the end of this book was a BOMB! I can add nothing more than "Bring me the second book righ now!".
    more
  • Lori Murray
    June 15, 2017
    Pretty good book. More of a 3 1/2 stars but rounded up to 4 because of the reveal at the end. I have to say my favorite character is Leland. I loved that he wasn't the best fighter but he kept trying no matter what came his way. The book had a lot of death in it that's for sure.I loved how it ended even though it was a cliffhanger ending. I really can't wait to see what happens next in Leland's journey.I want to think netgalley, the publisher, etc for granting my request to read and review this Pretty good book. More of a 3 1/2 stars but rounded up to 4 because of the reveal at the end. I have to say my favorite character is Leland. I loved that he wasn't the best fighter but he kept trying no matter what came his way. The book had a lot of death in it that's for sure.I loved how it ended even though it was a cliffhanger ending. I really can't wait to see what happens next in Leland's journey.I want to think netgalley, the publisher, etc for granting my request to read and review this book.
    more
  • Sara
    July 1, 2017
    I'm so happy to (finally) win a giveaway.Still haven't received it but I can't wait till it comes so I can read it. Sounds so interesting. I'll update my review then.
  • Trudi
    May 14, 2017
    I really enjoyed the book. It was a quick read, couldn't put it down. Left me hanging though. I need more.
  • Joanna
    May 5, 2017
    I received an ARC from the author as an exchange for my honest review. Book Name| Nostalgic Rain: Galaxies Away. Author| A.S AltabtabaiRelease Date| July 1st 2017. Genre|Young Adult Fantasy. "The events of today are tomorrow's memories. And memories, sometimes, are even worse than the actual events" Summary from Goodreads: What seventeen-year-old Leland finds in the abandoned basement of his house is something he will never forget.Leland lost his father when he was seven. Since then, he has succ I received an ARC from the author as an exchange for my honest review. Book Name| Nostalgic Rain: Galaxies Away. Author| A.S AltabtabaiRelease Date| July 1st 2017. Genre|Young Adult Fantasy. "The events of today are tomorrow's memories. And memories, sometimes, are even worse than the actual events" Summary from Goodreads: What seventeen-year-old Leland finds in the abandoned basement of his house is something he will never forget.Leland lost his father when he was seven. Since then, he has successfully adapted to the awful life of being a student, the man of the house, and a father figure to his two younger siblings. All of that changes when he and his best friends stumble upon a secret in his deserted basement, and fall into another dimension with three moons, foggy woods, and an ancient castle-Oremanta.Learning who he really is, how he came to this remote planet, and the shocking, ugly mystery of Oremanta aren't as bad as the quest he finds himself obligated to complete-killing someone he never thought he'd meet in Oremanta to save everyone.- - - Nostalgic Rain is the debut novel from A.S Altabtabai. The story revolves around a young boy named Leland and the unexpected events that suddenly occurred in his life, that will ultimately change it forever. The story is breathtaking. I have thoroughly enjoyed the whole journey. There are SOOOOO MANNNY twists and turns in this one, and the characters are just as amazing as the plot. The writing is clean, and some quotes are just to the point. "Not all mistakes are bad. Some have that great power to make you realise you need to change, right now" The story start in a very mysterious and somewhat horror way. Not Stephen King-kind-of-horror, but damn, that basement was really scary. But then the theme kind of shifts slowly into swords with some hint of magic. And that's what I liked about Nostalgic Rain. There wasn't too much of sword&sorcery in the book. There wasn't too much world-building. There wasn't too much magic. But there was a good combination of them all with some good plotting and good characters. The recipe is just perfect. The story climaxes in the end - great fights and a lot of surprises to be revealed in the last few chapters. But then the last page made my jaw drop. Literally. Like... jeez. Omg. Damn you Altabtabai for that twist at the end, now all I want is book 2. A breathtaking debut novel. You won't be disappointed, believe me.
    more
  • Diane Potter
    January 26, 2017
    Enjoyable, fast-paced, with an awesome plot. I highly recommend this to YA fans. NR had its own vibe, which was certainly weird and different at the beginning. I loved the characters, all of them even the bad ones. The chapters end with some really great cliffhangers. And finally, the ending made me shiver with excitement!
    more
  • Aiden Liam
    January 25, 2017
    This book is a must. The next big thing, probably. Just go read it now!
  • William Bitner Jr.
    May 7, 2017
    “Nostalgic Rain: Galaxies Away” by A.S. Altabtabai. I had the pleasure of receiving a copy of this book from the author as an Advanced Reader’s Copy. This book is due to be released July 1, 2017. This is A.S. Altabtabai’s debut novel, a young adult fantasy/epic fantasy which to my way of thinking is comparable to any adult epic fantasy out there, or that I’ve had the opportunity to read. The beginning of the book is a backstory taking place in the real world in the here and now. As the book buil “Nostalgic Rain: Galaxies Away” by A.S. Altabtabai. I had the pleasure of receiving a copy of this book from the author as an Advanced Reader’s Copy. This book is due to be released July 1, 2017. This is A.S. Altabtabai’s debut novel, a young adult fantasy/epic fantasy which to my way of thinking is comparable to any adult epic fantasy out there, or that I’ve had the opportunity to read. The beginning of the book is a backstory taking place in the real world in the here and now. As the book builds, and continues we find ourselves in another time, dimension and location. As a matter of fact we are transported to a completely different planet called “Oremanta”. The inhabitants seem to be humanlike in appearance, but have some abilities unlike that of earthlings. Fantastic story along with incredible characters and world building this is a book for all ages. Once we arrive on “Oremanta” the action and adventure is nonstop and fast paced. The books ends nicely but there are questions left to be answered and I am sure they will be answered in future books in what I think is going to be a fantastic epic fantasy series. I look forward to more chapters of this intelligent well thought out adventure.Synopsis (from back cover): What seventeen-year-old Leland finds in the abandoned basement of his house is something he will never forget.Leland lost his father when he was seven. Since then, he has successfully adapted to the awful life of being a student, the man of the house, and a father figure to his two younger siblings. All of that changes when he and his best friends stumble upon a secret in his deserted basement, and fall into another dimension with three moons, foggy woods, and an ancient castle-Oremanta.Learning who he really is, how he came to this remote planet, and the shocking, ugly mystery of Oremanta aren't as bad as the quest he finds himself obligated to complete-killing someone he never thought he'd meet in Oremanta to save everyone.
    more
  • Emily (Infinite Lives, Infinite Stories)
    June 17, 2017
    I received Nostalgic Rain for free in exchange for an honest review. This in no way, shape, or form affects my opinions of the book or my review.Stop. Start. The overall pace of the book was slow. Given, there are numerous action scenes; however, they are brief and it might be another twenty-thirty more pages before it starts back up again. It was near the middle of the book when I began to fall away from the story. I had no ambition to want to continue reading. But I persevered. I won’t say tha I received Nostalgic Rain for free in exchange for an honest review. This in no way, shape, or form affects my opinions of the book or my review.Stop. Start. The overall pace of the book was slow. Given, there are numerous action scenes; however, they are brief and it might be another twenty-thirty more pages before it starts back up again. It was near the middle of the book when I began to fall away from the story. I had no ambition to want to continue reading. But I persevered. I won’t say that it was a complete waste of time trying to finish. I will say that it was a challenge. The character development was lacking in many different ways. There was little backstory regarding Leland and his friends. Often, they acted or said something out of character. I wish we could’ve gotten to know each of them a little bit more.Death. Death. And more death. One this is for sure, don’t grow too attached to some of the characters. You may find yourself regretting it numerous times throughout the book.The plot. Yes, there are many plot holes. But that is expected in science fiction. That’s why it’s called fiction. However, some of the situations (traveling to another planet, mostly) were kind of far-fetched, even for science fiction.
    more
  • AnisaAnne
    June 10, 2017
    Nostalgic Rain is a spectacular debut for A.S. Altabtabai will take you on a journey in another dimension. Seventeen year old Leland has been the man of the house ever since his father’s passing. One day he stumbles upon secrets in his basement that will uncover his shocking truth, falling into a world of Oremanta. Leland and his friends embark upon a bittersweet quest of legend and bravery. "Fear can paralyze one's mind and create thousands of fake barriers."Nostalgic Rain is perhaps one of the Nostalgic Rain is a spectacular debut for A.S. Altabtabai will take you on a journey in another dimension. Seventeen year old Leland has been the man of the house ever since his father’s passing. One day he stumbles upon secrets in his basement that will uncover his shocking truth, falling into a world of Oremanta. Leland and his friends embark upon a bittersweet quest of legend and bravery. "Fear can paralyze one's mind and create thousands of fake barriers."Nostalgic Rain is perhaps one of the most elegantly written book. The author seamlessly creates a new world with just enough words. All the characters are cleverly developed, especially Leland as we experience his growth while he is facing his blood ordained destiny. With great plot twists and cliff-hangers culminating at the end……We are left craving for more. Book 2."Good men want to change the world, but hurt men are the ones who actually change it." Thank you Netgalley and A.S. Altabtabai for this ARC in exchange for my honest review
    more
  • Rayden
    March 20, 2017
    "Mercy at times of war is suicide" Ojoy Steelhart. I'm in love with Ojoy. I have no idea why reviewers here haven't mentioned anything about this character, but this is easily one of the best, most brutal, awesome characters I have ever known. **Fanboying heavily** Leaving that aside, I think Nostalgic Rain lives up to the hype surrounding it, and its obvious Altabtabai clearly knows how to keep his readers interested. The story twists and untwists and the characters, especially Leland the MC, g "Mercy at times of war is suicide" Ojoy Steelhart. I'm in love with Ojoy. I have no idea why reviewers here haven't mentioned anything about this character, but this is easily one of the best, most brutal, awesome characters I have ever known. **Fanboying heavily** Leaving that aside, I think Nostalgic Rain lives up to the hype surrounding it, and its obvious Altabtabai clearly knows how to keep his readers interested. The story twists and untwists and the characters, especially Leland the MC, grow from confused little teen to a man able to make decisions, and most importantly understands and fully accepts the consequences of his decisions. "The events of today are tomorrow's memories. And memories, sometimes, are even worse than the actual events." All in all, this was a very good read-- a fast-paced novel with an original, intriguing plot and good set of characters. Would love to read the sequel.
    more
  • Danielle
    June 12, 2017
    (I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review)DUDE. I did not know that fake Goodreads ratings were a thing until I saw all of the glowing reviews for this novel. Either you are all leaving fake reviews OR you received a different book than I did.This novel has a plot that makes little sense, characters who are two-dimensional, and a narrative voice that grates.The best way that I can describe exactly what bothered me about this no (I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley and the publisher in exchange for a fair and honest review)DUDE. I did not know that fake Goodreads ratings were a thing until I saw all of the glowing reviews for this novel. Either you are all leaving fake reviews OR you received a different book than I did.This novel has a plot that makes little sense, characters who are two-dimensional, and a narrative voice that grates.The best way that I can describe exactly what bothered me about this novel is this: it felt like I was reading someone's first-ever (unedited) NaNoWriMo novel. The writing felt unpolished and choppy, and the pacing missed the mark entirely. Scenes that should have been gutwrenching for both the MC and the reader were just bland. And honestly? The author did very little work to sell us the premise.This is not a novel that I would recommend to anyone. And also the title sounds like a Romance, not a Sci-Fi.
    more
  • Joel
    May 5, 2017
    The book is kind of Narnia thing only that remove the idea that the main character, Leland Hopegone, might enter a wardrobe. It doesn't seem like that but the idea is there and that's how it happens for Leland being transported accidentally to a place he never sees in his whole life. Less he expected that the daydream he suffered is the reality he will now be faced on. His journey was destined to be in his blood, the decision will just be made if he will choose to be or he will never do it. Then The book is kind of Narnia thing only that remove the idea that the main character, Leland Hopegone, might enter a wardrobe. It doesn't seem like that but the idea is there and that's how it happens for Leland being transported accidentally to a place he never sees in his whole life. Less he expected that the daydream he suffered is the reality he will now be faced on. His journey was destined to be in his blood, the decision will just be made if he will choose to be or he will never do it. Then that goes this adventure, once open upon and see by your own eyes, taste every bit of plot twists, cliff-hangers and actions because you might miss this epic plot that was been born to be.Full review at https://descendantofposeidonreads.wor...
    more
  • Samantha Myers
    June 8, 2017
    I received an ARC copy of this book via Netgalley and the author in exchange for a fair review.I wanted something original with this book but it also seemed familiar enough to have maybe certain things I could enjoy about it. It definitely didn't disappoint and I felt like this was a mashup of certain things but also fresh and entirely new in terms of world building and creation and was definitely new and welcome to read by a "new" author. The POV changes were hard to follow once I started but b I received an ARC copy of this book via Netgalley and the author in exchange for a fair review.I wanted something original with this book but it also seemed familiar enough to have maybe certain things I could enjoy about it. It definitely didn't disappoint and I felt like this was a mashup of certain things but also fresh and entirely new in terms of world building and creation and was definitely new and welcome to read by a "new" author. The POV changes were hard to follow once I started but by the end I found them seemless. Will definitely be looking forward to a sequel.
    more
  • Crowsy
    May 24, 2017
    "The more you feed your fear, the more you become imprisoned by it". Those were the thoughts that made Leland the hero of Oremanta after being mentored and trained by an old wise man. After receiving an early copy from the Author, and having read it from cover to cover, i have to say that it makes you want to know more about the protagonist and the world he's in. The world building is well structured. Characters are distinct. The fight scenes are well written. I really loved the book. And the en "The more you feed your fear, the more you become imprisoned by it". Those were the thoughts that made Leland the hero of Oremanta after being mentored and trained by an old wise man. After receiving an early copy from the Author, and having read it from cover to cover, i have to say that it makes you want to know more about the protagonist and the world he's in. The world building is well structured. Characters are distinct. The fight scenes are well written. I really loved the book. And the end was absolutely wonderful and unexpected that it leaves you with many question marks.
    more
  • Fatemah Almezel
    May 9, 2017
    ' Fear can paralyze one's mind and create thousands of fake barriers' - A.S AltabtabaiThis novel is perfect in every aspect,well-written! It's something new and very unique. It will make a great movie one day.You will never get bored reading 322 pages.And I'm sure it will be " the new favourite book!" You don't want to miss a book as good as this one. Highly recommended!
    more
  • islam_mohd
    March 22, 2017
    This was my first book to read. Ive really enjoyed it a lot and once you start reading it you never stop until you're done. I liked how its detailed and how it makes you more curious the more u read. Reading this book feels much like watching a movie and actually it would make a good one! The book is simply amazing and am really excited to read the sequel to it.
    more
Write a review