Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1
Three young witches head out on an East Coast road trip to retrieve their stolen belongings and track down the mysterious thief before he can do any damage to—or with—their possessions. Collects Spell on Wheels #1–#5.* Supernatural meets Buffy and The Craft!“A lively book that focuses on the strength of relationships that also promises a fun road trip along the way.”—Multiversity Comics

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 Details

TitleSpell on Wheels, Vol. 1
Author
FormatPaperback
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJun 20th, 2017
PublisherDark Horse Comics
Number of pages136 pages
Rating
GenreSequential Art, Graphic Novels, Comics, Fantasy, Graphic Novels Comics, Comic Book, Mystery, Paranormal, Contemporary, Witches, Adult

Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1 Review

  • Natalie
    March 21, 2017
    This graphic novel follows three young witches - Jolene, Claire and Andy, respectively - heading out on an East Coast road trip to retrieve their stolen belongings and track down the mysterious thief before he can do any damage to—or with—their magical possessions.And this is now my second (favorite) read where the main character overthrows her jerk of an abusive ex boyfriend, who's also coincidently called Nathan. I love it. Speaking of which, Spell on Wheels throws in so many of my favorite e This graphic novel follows three young witches - Jolene, Claire and Andy, respectively - heading out on an East Coast road trip to retrieve their stolen belongings and track down the mysterious thief before he can do any damage to—or with—their magical possessions.And this is now my second (favorite) read where the main character overthrows her jerk of an abusive ex boyfriend, who's also coincidently called Nathan. I love it. Speaking of which, Spell on Wheels throws in so many of my favorite elements together:• diversity.• the occult.• witches.• f/f ships.• supportive and positive friendships between girls.• road trips.• notable humor.• feminism and calling out men on their sexism (!!!)• vibrant and colorful art. #aesthetic• JUST SO MUCH GOOD STUFF.So I'm beyond excited to next share those cherished moments I mentioned above: Claire is #goals.I included the above simply for the "H... Hi?" because it reminded me of that noteworthy Skam moment between Noora and Eva: Which reminds me that there was another Skam moment in here that I absolutely adored: the usage of the ouija board.Iconic: #tfw your friend is being outed by a ouija board but there’s nothing you can do about it But circling back to the lively characters in this graphic novel, my favorite one remains to be Jolene Nguyen with her gorgeous name and tattoos:She had some of the best scenes!!! Between handling her technopathic abilities, kissing girls and producing striking one-liners, it was hard not to get swept up in my love for her.Plus, as I mentioned before, the art in here is just... so enthralling and fitting to the atmosphere. And I’m forevermore grateful that the style didn’t change throughout this volume.These two eye-catching panels remain to be my favorite.They showed that bastard Nathan exactly what they’re made of, just like they'd promised.And last but not least, Claire hitting it off with a certain someone made me giddy with excitement when I realized just how much their budding romance reminded me of Scarlet and Wolf from TLC.  Discussions on Beauty and the Beast is something I'm always up for. All in all: Though it took me a bit time to get into the story because of some info-dumps at the start, I'm more than glad I stuck with it. Spell on Wheels is guaranteed to stay with me for awhile to come.Also, I loved listening to this enthralling song while flipping from page to page.Expected publication: June 20th, 2017 4.5/5 stars Note: I'm an Amazon Affiliate. If you're interested in buying Spell on Wheels, Vol. 1, just click on the image below to go through my link. I'll make a small commission! This review and more can be found on my blog.
    more
  • Shauna (b00kstorebabe)
    June 23, 2017
    I think this book was written SPECIFICALLY for me. If I could give it a million stars, I would.
  • Vikki VanSickle
    June 24, 2017
    What fun! This graphic novel reads like the goth love child of Thelma & Louise and The Craft. Three twenty-something witches head off on a road trip to retrieve magical objects that have been stolen from them by an evil ex-boyfriend. What's not to love? This is not YA but reads like it and is perfect for readers who have devoured Lumberjanes and are ready for the next thing.
    more
  • Lindsay
    June 17, 2017
    Easy breezy super fun comic that taps into two things I love--witches and road trips. Definitely overdue for a rewatch of The Craft.
  • m. rosa
    May 29, 2017
    3,5*super cute, super gay and written by Kate Leth. so, of course, i enjoyed reading this!------------muito bonitinho, bem gay mesmo, e escrito pela Kate Leth. então (é óbvio) que foi muito bom ler!
  • Sophie
    May 31, 2017
    Cute and enjoyable AF. Read it! Support ladies makin' good stuff!
  • Sara Rainsberry
    June 21, 2017
    *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployeeSpell on Wheels introduces readers to a diverse cast of unique and likeable characters. The story follows three protagonists: Claire, Andy and Jolene. These girls head off on a road trip after some of their belongings are stolen and sold on the magical black market. Leth presents a tale full of acceptance, an abundance of witches, mysteries of the occult and positi *I received an advanced reader copy of this book from Indigo Books & Music Inc. in exchange for an honest review* #indigoemployeeSpell on Wheels introduces readers to a diverse cast of unique and likeable characters. The story follows three protagonists: Claire, Andy and Jolene. These girls head off on a road trip after some of their belongings are stolen and sold on the magical black market. Leth presents a tale full of acceptance, an abundance of witches, mysteries of the occult and positive/supportive female friendships. Not to mention the artwork is beautifully done! Leth is also Canadian and is working at a comic book shop in the East Coast. I love to support talented Canadians and cannot wait for her next installment!Recommended for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics, Lumberjanes comics and Rat Queens comics.*This comic supports same sex relationships, feminism and also cautions on the dangers of drinking alcohol provided by strangers.
    more
  • Olivia
    June 25, 2017
    The only reason I knew about this was from following the artist on Twitter. I don't really know if I would have bought it otherwise, especially if I wouldn't have seen the art of the comic vs. just the covers. I love her work with Buffy so the story could be about almost anything and I'd probably read it. This one did sound fun, so I grabbed it on sale via ComiXology.This is a fun, quick read about a trio of witches on a road trip. I think that's all I'll say to avoid spoilers. I loved the art a The only reason I knew about this was from following the artist on Twitter. I don't really know if I would have bought it otherwise, especially if I wouldn't have seen the art of the comic vs. just the covers. I love her work with Buffy so the story could be about almost anything and I'd probably read it. This one did sound fun, so I grabbed it on sale via ComiXology.This is a fun, quick read about a trio of witches on a road trip. I think that's all I'll say to avoid spoilers. I loved the art and the witchy girl power so if these things are relevant to your interests then you'll probably enjoy it. I'm sorta sad it's a one-shot thing but it's refreshing to read a story that's not going to go on until the creators are tired of doing it.
    more
  • Michelle
    June 24, 2017
    This is the book I've been waiting my whole life for. Three hot witches are best friends, supporting each other INCLUDING calling each other on their shit, going on a magical road trip to solve a magical mystery. And the build up to book 2: is book 2 going to be even better? YES IT IS. Also Paul is super dreamy. I'm with Claire. Also Claire is the best. Basically I loved every moment and if you like the first half of the craft you will too.
    more
  • Paula Poff
    June 11, 2017
    Oh, man. I really love this graphic novel! Three diverse women, with strengths and weaknesses, and personality - being best friends and saving the day??? I need the next volume of this book IMMEDIATELY.
  • Jennifer
    July 1, 2017
    I wanted to love this more than I did. The art was lovely and the premise and characters had a lot of potential, but the story this book was trying to tell needed more than 5 issues, and as a result the narrative winds up wrapping up abruptly and unsatisfyingly.
    more
  • Liz
    June 23, 2017
    Review to follow
  • Lizzy
    June 11, 2017
    Very cute comic! Love the Nancy Drew vibes mixed with witches, didn't know I needed this!
  • Morgan
    June 28, 2017
    I want to be Claire when I grow up.
Write a review