Secrets of Skin and Stone
Something is wrong in Hidden Creek. The sleepy Alabama town is more haunted than any place fiend hunter Grisham Caso has ever seen. Unearthed graves, curse bags, and spilled blood all point to an evil that could destroy his gargoyle birthright. The town isn’t safe for anyone, and everyone says fiery Piper Devon knows why.Piper wants to leave Hidden Creek behind. She’s had enough of secrets—they hide in the shadows of her room and tell her terrible things are coming. Too-charming city boy Grisham might be her only chance to save herself.To survive, Piper and Grisham have to shed their secrets and depend only on each other. But what lurks in Hidden Creek still might take everything away from them, including each other.

Secrets of Skin and Stone Details

TitleSecrets of Skin and Stone
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreFantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Romance, Supernatural

Secrets of Skin and Stone Review

  • Sarah
    May 24, 2017
    (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.)This was a YA paranormal romance story about a gargoyle.Gris was an interesting character and I liked how he tried to look after Piper.The storyline in this was about Gris being sent to the small town where Piper lived to fight Fiends. Piper’s dog was then killed, and Piper and Gris spent time trying to work out who could have done it, and who was targeting Piper as well. This was an okay story, (I received an advance copy of this book for free. Thanks to Entangled Publishing, LLC and NetGalley.)This was a YA paranormal romance story about a gargoyle.Gris was an interesting character and I liked how he tried to look after Piper.The storyline in this was about Gris being sent to the small town where Piper lived to fight Fiends. Piper’s dog was then killed, and Piper and Gris spent time trying to work out who could have done it, and who was targeting Piper as well. This was an okay story, but I found that the pace dragged, and I did start to lose interest.The ending to this was okay, and tied things up nicely.6 out of 10
    more
  • Eve Recinella (Between The Bookends)
    May 16, 2017
    Very cool cover on this one. Grat use of graphics. Great composition. Great title work.This was a pretty decent read. A young adult or (maybe it's considered teen) story about a hero that is a gargoyle and the quirky, troubled girl he falls for. I found this one fairly well written. The pace of the first half was excellent then I found it dragged a bit over the second half. The plot was interesting and unique. There were some twists and turns. A little romance (kissing). Both main characters wer Very cool cover on this one. Grat use of graphics. Great composition. Great title work.This was a pretty decent read. A young adult or (maybe it's considered teen) story about a hero that is a gargoyle and the quirky, troubled girl he falls for. I found this one fairly well written. The pace of the first half was excellent then I found it dragged a bit over the second half. The plot was interesting and unique. There were some twists and turns. A little romance (kissing). Both main characters were likable, and everything was tied up in a nice little ending. So ya, not much more to say about this one. I liked it.
    more
  • Carrie
    May 21, 2017
    Gris is a Watcher, he changes into gargoyle form to protect and defend against fiends and has been sent to Hidden Creek, a small town in Alabama, to investigate a huge fiend problem that has been going on. Once in Hidden Creek Gris finds that something is very very wrong in the sleepy town, not only is there an abundance of fiends but also animal attacks and other very strange occurrences. Gris comes across Piper just after arriving in Hidden Creek and finds that her dog was brutally murdered so Gris is a Watcher, he changes into gargoyle form to protect and defend against fiends and has been sent to Hidden Creek, a small town in Alabama, to investigate a huge fiend problem that has been going on. Once in Hidden Creek Gris finds that something is very very wrong in the sleepy town, not only is there an abundance of fiends but also animal attacks and other very strange occurrences. Gris comes across Piper just after arriving in Hidden Creek and finds that her dog was brutally murdered so he offers to help find out what happened. Piper is not sure whether she should trust this stranger, she's already haunted by fiends and nightmares and feels that she's very dark inside due to her OCD she struggles with but Gris sees something in Piper and is determined to prove to her that she is worth more than she believes. First I have to warn of the content in this book as Piper is a cutter due to her anxiety and OCD so for those that do not wish to read about self harm then this wouldn't be for them. But that being said I have to applaud the author for making Piper feel very authentic from the opening pages. I think her character was very well written and I could feel Piper's anxiety and emotions all throughout the story. As far as the plot in this book I also thought it seemed original as I've not read anything myself containing any type of gargoyle protector. There is a bit of insta-love but not what you would normally find in a young adult read. While Piper did find Gris attractive her personality was more concerned about him being a stranger and refusing to open up to him quickly. It wasn't too long though the relationship progressed so I would still call it a "insta-love" in regards to that though but done in a way that fit Piper perfectly so I didn't mind and in the end I rather enjoyed this story. I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.For more reviews please visit https://carriesbookreviews.wordpress....
    more
  • Mandy
    May 25, 2017
    Okay, to tell the truth, I wasn't expecting much from this novel. It seemed intriguing, I had never read a gargoyle novel, and the cover was pretty cool. But did I expecting to really enjoy it? Nooooo, but it's exactly what happened! First and foremost, I want to say that this book deals with self-harm. It can be a very triggering topic, and it does get pretty detailed. I wanted to let you know up front that it does include cutting. This book also deals with mental illness - OCD in particular as Okay, to tell the truth, I wasn't expecting much from this novel. It seemed intriguing, I had never read a gargoyle novel, and the cover was pretty cool. But did I expecting to really enjoy it? Nooooo, but it's exactly what happened! First and foremost, I want to say that this book deals with self-harm. It can be a very triggering topic, and it does get pretty detailed. I wanted to let you know up front that it does include cutting. This book also deals with mental illness - OCD in particular as well. BUT HEY. THE BOOK TELLS YOU STRAIGHT UP. I will admit that it got a bit lost in the eARC format, but the trigger warning was there which was super A++++! Okay, I really, really enjoyed this book. I enjoyed the characters; I enjoyed the ship; I enjoyed the world building; I enjoyed the setting; I enjoyed the grittiness of it; I enjoyed so much. I lovedddddd the setting. I loved the whole small town Southern atmosphere. It was amazing. It gave such a cool feel to the whole novel, and it made it even that more interesting. Perfectttt setting.The whole premise was awesome as well. I loved the gargoyles and fiends. It was such an interesting idea, and I kind of want more gargoyle books in the world? Like, now? It was dark and full of cool fight scenes, mysteries, and some decently gory scenes (which I wasn't a super fan of it, but I accepted due to the gritty feel of the novel). I also loved Gris and Piper. I loved them as a ship, but truthfully, I loved them as individuals. Gris was your average main character, but he was sweet, had humor, and character. His characterization was deep, and I enjoyed him tremendously. He felt very realistic (even though he was, um, a gargoyle).I loved Piper a bit more, though. I thought she was wonderfully done. She was OCD, and while I can't speak to the authenticity of the representation, I thought it was well done. It wasn't one of the mental illnesses in YA that is mentioned and then just magically disappears. It was there and a main fixture when, you know, not hunting evil fiends. BUT STILL. I super liked her as a main character, and I super rooted for her.The ship was cute as well. I super enjoyed Gris and Piper together. There was only one time that the story moved back into the questionable romance paranormal stage circa 2009 time. But other than just one time, it was super cute and I loved them together. I thought it was pretty realistic as well, and Piper just didn't trust Gris right away. Definitely enjoyed the swoons.As you can tell, I really enjoyed the book. So, you're like, why do I feel like there is a but coming? There was just one little issue, and I'm not even sure where it went wrong. I was really enjoying the novel, really enjoying it, really enjoying...and then I wasn't. At about 80%, I just wasn't feeling it anymore. There was a mystery behind the whole novel, but it just felt that it was dragging out far more than it needed to be. I just wanted it to hurry up and reveal the mystery, and even the cheesy, cute moments between Gris and Piper couldn't hold my attention. That was the only issue I really had for it.Overall, though, it was a really good read. I wasn't expecting to enjoy this so much, but it turned out to be really good. I mean, who thinks a story of gargoyles and mental illness would mix? But Laine did such a good job, and I will totally be looking out for her books in the future. There was only the lag at the end, which knocked this down a crown for me. So four crowns, and an Ariel rating!
    more
  • kariny
    May 28, 2017
    * I received a free ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review* Ello folks! Things have been so hectic around here with getting ready to move to London in less than 2 weeks! Which is why i haven't really been able to keep up with all the blogging and reading :/  And the worst part is i have the joy to pick and choose which books i get to bring with me to Uni while the rest stay here...anyways on to the review :P Piper is a haunted teenager. She's the town talk with her abnor * I received a free ARC from the publisher in exchange for an honest review* Ello folks! Things have been so hectic around here with getting ready to move to London in less than 2 weeks! Which is why i haven't really been able to keep up with all the blogging and reading :/  And the worst part is i have the joy to pick and choose which books i get to bring with me to Uni while the rest stay here...anyways on to the review :P Piper is a haunted teenager. She's the town talk with her abnormal ways and weird occurrences follow her. It's for that reason that most people stay clear of her and kind of refer to her as the town creep. But one night, after her dog is brutally murdered, Piper's determination kicks in; she will find out who killed her beloved dog and why. Though as she makes her lists of possible suspects, she puts her own name on it. She cannot ignore all the supernatural things that seem to happen around her and she knows that deep down, there is a darkness inside of her. There is enough of it for her to consider herself a suspect. Grisham or Gris, is a Watcher and his first job is to head to Hidden Creak and get rid of the fiends that plague the little town. He's desperate to prove to his father and to himself that he can do this job alone. But as he heads into town he realizes this isn't a small job and he starts to doubt his own capabilities as he finds himself in the middle of a bigger job than he or his father could ever have expected. And at the center of it all is Piper. I haven't read a lot of books with gargoyles- i think the only one i read was Jennifer L Armentrout's series-and this one had a pretty cool interpretation of these creatures. Piper isn't your usual YA protagonist. I think the author did a good job in writing Piper's POV so we could really get a sense of what goes on in her mind since she had an OCD. In the acknowledgements, the author mentioned she had also suffered through OCD so i think it was important to get to know a character like that because it was written by someone in the same situation.  Gris was a pretty cool character because he wasn't this all powerful and untouchable guy but someone with quite a few insecurities who felt the need to prove himself worthy of his birthright. My only issue with Gris is his "charm". We're told repetitively during Piper's POV that he's charming and that she won't fall for his charm. But even though i did like Gris, i did not find him to fit the description of "charming". I mean if Piper and the synopsis hadn't used that word, i definitely wouldn't have used it to describe Gris. It's like we're being told he's charming instead of being shown if that makes sense. Romance wise, there is like an instant attraction between the two. It wouldn't be Insta-Love in other circumstances but i think that when you have characters with a lot of mental turmoil and problems then it takes a while for them to open up to each other. Even though, Piper didn't really want to trust Gris at first, i personally think their relationship developed a little too quickly. But the romance was still kinda sweet! There was a lot of mystery in the book and it definitely piqued my attention but at some point, things really started to drag on so i had to skip a few of the lengthy paragraphs. The thing is, i liked the characters and i liked the romance. But the supernatural plot itself with the murder and stuff kind of lost me at some point. The background and setting was really well written! Throughout the novel, there was a dark and suspenseful atmosphere the author did an amazing job at maintaining!  This book can be read as a standalone since it had a good ending and the loose ends were all tied up! However the author did mention that there are two other books in the series that have already been written but it all depends on the reception of book 1! So rest assured, this book is still considered a standalone! In other news, the giveaway for The Best Kind Of Magic is still going but only for two more days so be sure to enter here :P Have a lovely week guys :P
    more
  • Alexis
    May 28, 2017
    * I received this book as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*Gris- a watcher who can shift into his protector form of a gargoyle. New in town trying to help solve a paranormal problem they seem to be having. Piper- trying to get the best score on her ACTs so she can leave her town. But she has a few secrets of her own. Together they meet and realize they can both help each other. I have to say I really enjoyed this book. This is the first book I've ever read with gargoyles! I * I received this book as an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for my honest review*Gris- a watcher who can shift into his protector form of a gargoyle. New in town trying to help solve a paranormal problem they seem to be having. Piper- trying to get the best score on her ACTs so she can leave her town. But she has a few secrets of her own. Together they meet and realize they can both help each other. I have to say I really enjoyed this book. This is the first book I've ever read with gargoyles! I thought it was very creative.I will say his book does have self harm in it, not too extreme but it may be a trigger for someone . I did like the romance that was involved, it did at times seem very predictable. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author, and excited to see what other worlds they can create for me to explore! All in all i really enjoyed reading this book.
    more
  • Brenda Drake
    May 15, 2017
    From the first page, I couldn't put this book down. The shadows have never been so deliciously dark with Gris, a shifting gargoyle, protecting innocents from whatever goes bump in the night. He meets his match in the obsessive-compulsive Piper and sparks fly between them. The relationship between Gris and Piper is so sweet, both accepting and loving to each other. Swoon! The mystery and evil that comes out at night had me sitting at the edge of my seat, and I couldn't put the book down. I hope t From the first page, I couldn't put this book down. The shadows have never been so deliciously dark with Gris, a shifting gargoyle, protecting innocents from whatever goes bump in the night. He meets his match in the obsessive-compulsive Piper and sparks fly between them. The relationship between Gris and Piper is so sweet, both accepting and loving to each other. Swoon! The mystery and evil that comes out at night had me sitting at the edge of my seat, and I couldn't put the book down. I hope there is a second book, because I'm so needing more Gris. Piper, too. But Gris!
    more
  • brittany
    May 17, 2017
    I got to 40% with this book - skimming much of that - and had to DNF, so I can't give it more than 2 stars. What we have here is a very cool premise wasted on a dull plot and even duller characters. My status updates are pretty thorough, so I'll try to keep this review brief. Summary: Gris is a Watcher, which means he can transform into a gargoyle and his job is to hunt fiends (kind of like demons). He travels to a small town because it's infested with fiends, and he has to figure out what's at I got to 40% with this book - skimming much of that - and had to DNF, so I can't give it more than 2 stars. What we have here is a very cool premise wasted on a dull plot and even duller characters. My status updates are pretty thorough, so I'll try to keep this review brief. Summary: Gris is a Watcher, which means he can transform into a gargoyle and his job is to hunt fiends (kind of like demons). He travels to a small town because it's infested with fiends, and he has to figure out what's attracting so many of them to one place. Except the story ends up being less about the dark supernatural elements and way more about the bland romance between Gris and the Super Speshul girl he meets in town. The Good: Own voices OCD & self-harm portrayal in Piper (the girl MC). I'll try and link to an own voices review later, if I remember to look for one. Despite my low rating, this book isn't... terrible. I made my status updates detailed because, while it hit all the wrong buttons for me, a lot of what I *hated* are things that others will only find mildly annoying. The writing is pretty good, I love the Watcher/fiend concept... yeah, okay, that's all I've got. It's average. It's on the lower end of average, but still average. My feelings of dislike are disproportionate to the quality of the book. The Bad: To sum it up - it's boring. It's just boring!!! Sorry!!!!!!The romance overshadowed the action. I could tell from the blurb that there would be romance, but I didn't expect it to become such a big part of the story so fast. Bad case of instalove here - Piper and Gris become fixated on each other very quickly in a way that's hard to believe for people with their histories, trust issues, and dark/dangerous secrets. Plus, their interactions were forced and the chemistry wasn't there (unless you count the parts where you can almost SEE the author behind the scenes, desperately trying to make the chemistry happen). An all-around uncomfortable, unpleasant, shallow romantic subplot. In case it wasn't obvious: I'm very, very harsh when it comes to instalove. If you don't mind it, then you'll probably enjoy this book way more than I did. You might even be able to finish it.But on top of the instalove, both protagonists were bland as hell and I didn't feel invested in either of them. That's part of why instalove tends to kill my interest in a story. Before I can get to know the characters as individuals, they start to moon over someone else and it takes over their personality. When Gris was introduced, he was set up to be this fierce, efficient, morally grey, ass-kicking hero, but before I had a chance to care about him he transformed into a horny teenage boy who cared way more about leering at a pretty girl than fighting monsters. At least, that's what it felt like. He rarely managed to go one page without thinking about Piper. Besides that, I've seen these exact characters a million times before; there's nothing memorable about them. And there's a lot of telling but not showing. We're told they're both smart, but they don't act smart. Etc. There's some action - fighting, fiend-killing - but even those parts were lackluster. I wrote in a status update that there's no sense of urgency and no stakes. It all felt pointless. I know instalove and 2D characters are common in mainstream YA fiction, and that doesn't necessarily mean the book can't be entertaining. But that's the thing. This one wasn't entertaining or engaging in the least. If you're going to give me instalove, at least make it a quick, fun, action-packed read, you know?TL;DR: I was expecting something really dark and exciting out of this, based on the summary and that gorgeous cover. But what I got was a flimsy romance with a thin lining of paranormal elements that don't get explored or utilized to the extent they could have (and should have) been. I was bored, and I found nothing appealing in either the characters or their love story. The plot does not do the premise justice.I received an e-ARC from NetGalley in exchange for a fair and honest review. Quotes used in my status updates are subject to change upon publication.
    more
  • Roxanne
    June 5, 2017
    Thank you to Entangled Teen and Netgalley for a copy of the eARC in exchange for a fair review.Gris has come to the small town of Hidden Creek to hunt fiends. He is a watcher and he also shape shifts into a gargoyle. Piper's dog has been killed when she decides to investigate the new renters at the farm near them. When Gris hears about Piper's dog he decides to help her.Gris is also trying to figure out why this town is so haunted by fiends, after facing nine of them at the old mill. The deeper Thank you to Entangled Teen and Netgalley for a copy of the eARC in exchange for a fair review.Gris has come to the small town of Hidden Creek to hunt fiends. He is a watcher and he also shape shifts into a gargoyle. Piper's dog has been killed when she decides to investigate the new renters at the farm near them. When Gris hears about Piper's dog he decides to help her.Gris is also trying to figure out why this town is so haunted by fiends, after facing nine of them at the old mill. The deeper he gets into the investigation the weirder things become. He is finding curse bags, and unearthed grave of a watcher. Plus the jealousy of his cousin, it seems like he will never get to the bottom of what is going on in Hidden Creek.The closer he becomes to Piper, the more he starts to fall for her, but she is in danger. There are curse bags in her rooms, and the fiends are drawn to her. Will he be able to figure out what is going on? Will he be able to save Piper?I haven't read that many books pertaining to gargoyles. This was a interesting twist and I enjoyed the mystery as well the paranormal aspect of it all. Piper was interesting and sort of dark with her OCD and self-harm, which also explains why the fiends were so drawn to her. I liked the fact that Gris wasn't necessarily trying to change her, but work with her and I love how she figured him out so quickly and could see the truth. This was quick, interesting read and I enjoyed it quite a bit.
    more
  • Leah
    May 29, 2017
    An interesting twist on gargoyle mythology, with wonderfully complex heroine and hero!Check out the full review on my blog.
  • Cassandra
    June 11, 2017
    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!!***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!The cover is what intrigued me to check out the book!I’m not sure if this will be a series, but right now it is just a standalone book! It is Young Adult, but it does have some sensitive topics like OCD and cutting. There is some kissing and hand holding, but there is murder My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 Unicorns - I really liked it!!!***I choose what I read and review based on what intrigues me!! Yes, I got a review copy of this book, but no one tells me what to think, feel, or write about any book!The cover is what intrigued me to check out the book!I’m not sure if this will be a series, but right now it is just a standalone book! It is Young Adult, but it does have some sensitive topics like OCD and cutting. There is some kissing and hand holding, but there is murder and attempted murder and more. I’d say that it is okay for high school students who are okay with all of the above, but I don’t know that I’d go younger than that.Gris and Piper are a matched set of many secrets. They both think they are monsters when really neither are. I love reading about Gargoyles who are guardians and protectors. There is tons of drama in this sleepy little town. You don’t know who is at the heart of what is going on, but I did have suspicions as I read. I really enjoyed this book!I have enjoyed each of the books I’ve read by Wendy though I stick to the paranormal ones which is my favorite kind of books. Wendy does a fantastic job bringing the story to life and making it feel real. I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next!I recommend this book to fans of gargoyles and perfectly good teens that people judge unfairly!!
    more
  • Kira
    June 2, 2017
    2.5 starsThis had too strong of a YA vibe to really enjoy it. The focus of it was more on the romance than the paranormal plot. The first time Piper and Gris kissed it specifically mentioned they did not use tongues. They were 17 and 18. Most teens that age would do far more than an innocent kiss like that. The romance wasn't exciting when the best thing I could hope was for them to hold hands or maybe a french kiss. From the start it was mentioned that Gris would not be staying in town, so ther 2.5 starsThis had too strong of a YA vibe to really enjoy it. The focus of it was more on the romance than the paranormal plot. The first time Piper and Gris kissed it specifically mentioned they did not use tongues. They were 17 and 18. Most teens that age would do far more than an innocent kiss like that. The romance wasn't exciting when the best thing I could hope was for them to hold hands or maybe a french kiss. From the start it was mentioned that Gris would not be staying in town, so there wasn't much hope for an epic HEA.The world building was simplistic. The gist of it was revealed early on, and there wasn't anything exciting to learn after that. There was a mystery to it. Gris was trying to figure out why so many fiends were gathering in the town. It was too boring, and the most obvious solution was the answer. Piper was dealing with some mental issues. Gris was dealing with issues but his were completely different. Their issues made each of them outcasts. More depth to the characters would have been better considering what they were dealing with.I received this from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Kimberly Vanderbloom
    June 5, 2017
    I received a early copy courtesy of NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I was excited to get my hands on a early of this book because well look at that cover. I mean it is just gorgeous and unusual. I found myself just staring at it a couple of times. I read the blurb and knew it was something that I would be interesting in. I found it to be rather addicting. I loved the characters and the plot. I really enjoyed the small town filled with secrets. It added an extra layer to an unforgettab I received a early copy courtesy of NetGalley in exchange for a honest review. I was excited to get my hands on a early of this book because well look at that cover. I mean it is just gorgeous and unusual. I found myself just staring at it a couple of times. I read the blurb and knew it was something that I would be interesting in. I found it to be rather addicting. I loved the characters and the plot. I really enjoyed the small town filled with secrets. It added an extra layer to an unforgettable story. The characters were unique and well developed. It also touches on some issues that need to be heard. It was at times uncomfortable but it gives you a new perspective of cutting and OCD. It was so well done in fact that you could immerse yourself in the character and understand her. I've never been able to understand it and I'm not saying that I'm an expert now but I have more empathy and awareness. My favorite character was Piper. I loved her storyline and her struggles. She has to be one of my favorite characters of all time. She isn't your typical type of main character and it was rather refreshing to put yourself in the point of view of a sassy, stubborn, beautiful, hurting, and honest sort of girl. I loved how even in a crisis she would yell "Don't profane". It was sweet and made me fall in love with this girl. My favorite Piper moment was when she was with Gris at the diner and ordered the Piper Special. It was a moment of glee for me because she was so excited. I just can't get over how much I love this girl. I also thought Gris has amazing but Piper outshines him in my opinion. My favorite moment was hard to choose because there were quite a few. I loved the ending with the big fight but I don't want to give away spoilers so I'm not going to talk about that. So I'm going to talk about my second favorite scene and it was when Piper was going over her list. She gives such a neat observations about everyone that it is hard not to believe her. She talks through each person and I just loved her reasoning why each person was on the list. It was special for me. If there was one thing that I wanted that it didn't have was a town map. I think that would be a cool addition. The shape of the town makes sense and brings everything full circle.Overall, I'm going to be recommending this book to all of my paranormal loving friends. I'm personally recommending it to my book soulmate as we speak. She is going to love it as much as I did. Even though I received a free copy, I also purchased a copy for my collection because I just loved it that much.
    more
  • Olivia Farr
    May 19, 2017
    “Secrets of Skin and Stone” is an enthralling YA fantasy that wraps the reader in mysteries that aren’t solved until the end! Grisham (Gris) is a Watcher, meaning he turns into a gargoyle and kills fiends. He is coming to Hidden Creek at his uncle’s request and at no cost (usually he gets paid to take care of fiends) to take care of their fiend problem. Pretty much upon arrival, he learns there is a lot more to Hidden Creek than one would suspect, and they have a fiend disaster. To complicate ma “Secrets of Skin and Stone” is an enthralling YA fantasy that wraps the reader in mysteries that aren’t solved until the end! Grisham (Gris) is a Watcher, meaning he turns into a gargoyle and kills fiends. He is coming to Hidden Creek at his uncle’s request and at no cost (usually he gets paid to take care of fiends) to take care of their fiend problem. Pretty much upon arrival, he learns there is a lot more to Hidden Creek than one would suspect, and they have a fiend disaster. To complicate matters, he starts having feelings for the girl down the road, Piper, and needs to investigate some odd occurrences with disappearances, the murder of animals, and even a grave robbing.Piper is ready to get out of Hidden Creek. She’s turned down dates with most boys in town, and her grades are the best in town, such that she should have her pick of colleges. She is haunted by fiends and nightmares, plus worsening OCD symptoms, which only get worse when she finds her dog, Jester, brutally murdered. When she meets Gris, she enlists his help to figure out who killed Jester and what is going on around town. A bond rapidly forms between the two, and Piper’s natural intelligence drives their case with her knowledge about people and ability to see through lies.Piper and Gris’s relationship was well done- there’s a bit of instant attraction, but they spend a lot of time getting to know each other before anything really develops. They both have insecurities, and Piper was very quick to write him off when things didn’t go her way (there were 3 or 4 scenes of her walking away), and while sometimes this seemed to be an overreaction, I think it fit with her personality well.The book is less about killing the fiends than it is about the mysteries surrounding the death of Piper’s dog, the Watcher grave which was dug up, and the two teens that went missing (Trina and her boyfriend). There was a lot of guessing which was fun, and I couldn’t really figure it out before the final resolution/conclusions. I enjoy a book that keeps me guessing until the end! This is a really strong story with romance, fantasy, mystery, and adventure, and I loved every second of it!Please note that I received an ARC from the publisher through netgalley. All opinions are my own.
    more
  • Stephanie
    June 8, 2017
    Really enjoyed the unique world and characters in Secrets of Skin and Stone. It's nice to have a book take a different approach to mental health and it's characters. Piper's OCD is not a plot device, but a piece of who she is. So the notes of behaviors and thoughts feel natural and not over wrought.A quirky and nicely dark paranormal romance. Out-of-towner Gris meets cute Piper. Both are more than they seem, both live in the dark, and both have something to offer that the other needs. I feel lik Really enjoyed the unique world and characters in Secrets of Skin and Stone. It's nice to have a book take a different approach to mental health and it's characters. Piper's OCD is not a plot device, but a piece of who she is. So the notes of behaviors and thoughts feel natural and not over wrought.A quirky and nicely dark paranormal romance. Out-of-towner Gris meets cute Piper. Both are more than they seem, both live in the dark, and both have something to offer that the other needs. I feel like this will be a good read for my daughters in a few years. Language is PG, romantic scenes PG, and violence PG/PG-13.
    more
  • Katherine Paschal
    June 4, 2017
    **4.5 Stars**Gris has been given his first solo assignment, a simple fiend removal from the small town his aunt and uncle live in. Simple and quick. Well, at least that is what he expected. But he may be in over his head with mysteries and secrets piling up, as well as the danger one teenage girl seems to be in. Piper has a darkness living inside her and the only way she knows to calm it is to cut. When she meets Gris she instinctually doesn't trust him, but he worms his way past her defenses to **4.5 Stars**Gris has been given his first solo assignment, a simple fiend removal from the small town his aunt and uncle live in. Simple and quick. Well, at least that is what he expected. But he may be in over his head with mysteries and secrets piling up, as well as the danger one teenage girl seems to be in. Piper has a darkness living inside her and the only way she knows to calm it is to cut. When she meets Gris she instinctually doesn't trust him, but he worms his way past her defenses to try and help her with her darkness. But can she really trust him when he says her nightmares are the doing of something supernatural, and not just her consuming inner darkness? Wow, I had no idea what I was getting into when I first started this book. When I fist learned of the book, I was initially lured in by the gorgeous mysterious cover (as I often find myself when choosing what to read next) without any real idea what the story content was except for a vague idea of gargoyles. Well, this was so much more than I expected, and I mean that in the best of ways. The story was compelling, engaging, complicated, mysterious, detailed, scary, exciting, dark and the best part was the characters. I need a solid plot to enjoy a story, but even more than that, I need to be connected and like my character, and I can honestly say that I love Gris and Piper, darkness and all.Gris was just awesome, a force to be reckon with all on his own. He has a family legacy that he has to deal with of being a Watcher (aka someone who can turn into a gargoyle at night to battle darkness or fiends), not something he asked for but that he will uphold to his death. That boy was chock full of integrity, intelligence, intuition with people and a freaking caring soul. I loved Gris (in case my feelings weren't clear). He had the ability to make Piper see herself as he did, when everyone else failed to understand her issues. He needs a hug, and maybe an award for being so patient... Piper was such an interesting character, unlike any other YA character that I have read about. She struggles with a lesser known form of OCD called Pure-O, with symptoms that are not as well known or understood. When I read the author's note at the end it made Piper even more real since her struggles were what the author went through, adding a layer of realism to what is primarily a fantasy story. I liked how stubborn Piper was and how she made Gris (who was more than happy to) work for her trust, not to mention her affection. And man was that girl smart, blowing all her classmates out of the water when it came to grades, yet making her more of an outcast. She appeared to have a tough skin, but inside she was breaking apart, almost to her end. She needed a hero more than anyone, at least someone who would understand her struggle and make her feel so not alone. I expected a fun supernatural story, but instead I was given a complicated scary mess that I absolutely loved. This book appeared to wrap up so I think this is a standalone, but I would love to have more story about Gris and Piper. Actually, I would love to read more from Ms. Laine (aka Sparrow) in general because she was able to create strong, damaged characters that I related to and rooted for, and I fully appreciate that. Anyone looking for a dark paranormal mystery with some romance splashed in needs to read this story.I received this title in return for my honest review.Visit my blog at http://smadasbooksmack.blogspot.com/
    more
  • Eva
    June 5, 2017
    when i read books about supernatural creatures, i tend to read ones about vampires or angels or fairies or demons. i tend to avoid animal shifters because the idea weirds me out. it never occurred to me that you could write stories about gargoyles. but secrets of skin and stone proved to me that you can write a compelling story about a gargoyle.grisham "gris" caso is a watcher, the youngest in his bloodline he's sent to the town of hidden creek on his first solo assignment. he expects it to be a when i read books about supernatural creatures, i tend to read ones about vampires or angels or fairies or demons. i tend to avoid animal shifters because the idea weirds me out. it never occurred to me that you could write stories about gargoyles. but secrets of skin and stone proved to me that you can write a compelling story about a gargoyle.grisham "gris" caso is a watcher, the youngest in his bloodline he's sent to the town of hidden creek on his first solo assignment. he expects it to be an easy, boring kind of job, and that soon enough he'll be back on the road to atlanta. but from his first approach into the town, he senses an unusual amount of fiend activity. so much that at times he worries that he's in over his head. but when all the danger seems to surround piper devon, he wants to be the one to save her.piper has had her fair share of sadness and dark thoughts and demons. sometimes the only way she finds relief is by cutting herself open and bleeding away the pain. she hides her scars from her family. she hides her pain from everyone. but gris can see it. his watcher superpowers render him especially attuned to darkness. it's how he finds the fiends that are torturing piper. and the more he investigates the town of hidden creek, the more obvious it becomes that piper is a target for some reason.gris is certain that all the strange happenings in the town are connected and even more concerning, that they are also connected to his watcher background. so it becomes his mission to protect piper from all of it, but he can't protect her without opening himself up. because she won't trust him without him offering her his trust in return.there's this one scene, where she sees him in his watcher skin and it's the first time he's ever let anyone see him that way, and it is so intimate and poignant and beautiful. they touch each other's skin and scars and stone it doesn't matter, it feels right. and it's just an absolutely lovely moment.this book doesn't shy away from hard topics, the author and the main character have a history of self-harm that is difficult to read about. at the same time, the author's personal struggles really inform the narrative and add a depth and a level of understanding to piper's mental health problems.**secrets of skin and stone will publish by june 5, 2017. i received an advance reader copy courtesy of netgalley/entangled publishing (entangled teen) in exchange for my honest review.
    more
  • Pragati Chaudhari
    June 5, 2017
    For full review - Secret of Skin and Stones on The Inked In Book Blog*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*Okay, first things first. I LOVE THE COVER. IT IS SO DARK AND GRITTY. Gah! I love it! The cover drew me into the book in the first place and it is definitely one of those cover buy spurts we book mongers tend to have. I really adore the cover! :DWhat I liked about this book was the mystery. It was intriguing and kept up till t For full review - Secret of Skin and Stones on The Inked In Book Blog*ARC received in exchange for an honest review. The thoughts are entirely my own and in no way biased.*Okay, first things first. I LOVE THE COVER. IT IS SO DARK AND GRITTY. Gah! I love it! The cover drew me into the book in the first place and it is definitely one of those cover buy spurts we book mongers tend to have. I really adore the cover! :DWhat I liked about this book was the mystery. It was intriguing and kept up till the end so that the reader was hooked into reading. The first half was great, but towards the end, the book got extremely slow and I was just thinking that the author should hurry up and reveal the mystery already. Apart from that, I have no complaints!It's #OwnVoices because the author herself suffers from OCD and was into cutting like the MC Piper. I like how her character is handled. She is OCD. She knows it and she tries her best despite her circumstances. I like how her illness didn't miraculously disappear on meeting her love interest or for whatever other reason because that is not how it happens. I also liked how these two things didn't define who Piper is as an individual. She is strong and smart and intelligent and brave. I like her. I like her a lot.Then, there's Gris. He's got the mysterious air to him. But, he's sweet and caring. He doesn't come off as arrogant or self centered and full of himself like boys in such novels usually are. So, I like that a lot. I like how dedicated he is. I like how the author showcased that even he was insecure in himself and his capabilities. And then, there's the shipping. It was a bit of an insta love with the enemies to lovers kind of trope but I enjoyed it. Their relationship was nice to read about as it unfolded and they had plenty of cute moments which made me all the more happy because I am such a sucker for romance. I like how things were tied up with their relationship in the end. It was a bit open ended but it was realistic because Gris was never meant to stay in Hidden Creek, so the hopeful note at which it ended where it could go on to be more but maybe not was fitting.All in all, I really enjoyed the book. It had all the elements of an interesting read and I would recommend it to people who are looking for paranormal romance. :)
    more
  • Taylor Fenner
    May 19, 2017
    4.75/5 Stars! Review Originally Posted on Taylor Fenner's Bookish WorldGrisham "Gris" Caso has been sent on his first solo fiend-hunting mission to the small town of Hidden Creek, Alabama, the home of his aunt, uncle, cousin, and his crazy former Watcher uncle, Critch. He figures it will be some easy task foisted upon him to test him. Until he reaches Hidden Creek and realizes this will not be a simple get-rid-of-the-fiends mission. There are way more fiends in this small town than Gris has seen 4.75/5 Stars! Review Originally Posted on Taylor Fenner's Bookish WorldGrisham "Gris" Caso has been sent on his first solo fiend-hunting mission to the small town of Hidden Creek, Alabama, the home of his aunt, uncle, cousin, and his crazy former Watcher uncle, Critch. He figures it will be some easy task foisted upon him to test him. Until he reaches Hidden Creek and realizes this will not be a simple get-rid-of-the-fiends mission. There are way more fiends in this small town than Gris has seen, even in major cities and it's affecting the people in town, making them do crazy things. And then he meets Piper Devon. Strange, brilliant, beautiful Piper Devon who everyone seems to fear.Piper Devon knows everyone in town thinks she's crazy or evil - or both. And she thinks they might be right on the evil front. She feels like there is a darkness inside her. She doesn't have the bright, organized OCD like her mother, she has to stick to patterns and she cuts her shoulder to try to absolve herself of the wrongs she thinks she does. And she definitely doesn't trust charming boys, so when she meets the handsome and probably charming Gris she knows better than to trust him. But when Piper's dog is mysteriously murdered and it might be connected to the other strange occurrences in town trusting Gris is exactly what she'll have to do.To work together they'll have to tear down their emotional walls and reveal their secrets to each other if they have any chance of finding out who is stirring things up in Hidden Creek. But in working together will they also begin falling in love? And what will happen when a deranged soul realizes the duo are onto them? Will Piper and Gris end up in the crosshairs of a killer?To be completely honest, I wasn't sure about this book at first. Piper's OCD is definitely extreme and some of the "Southernisms" were a bit laughable (although probably authentic to how people in the deep south actually talk. Ex: Don't profane) but I could look past that because I liked the idea of the book. As I read further I really fell in love with the story. The author paints an excellent picture of the fiends and the Watchers (gargoyles) and I could easily see Gris fighting off the fiends while Piper slept on, oblivious at first. I thought that the characters blended well together and I kept guessing to see who was gathering the fiends in Hidden Creek. This book had everything I look for and love in a good novel; romance, humor, and some seriously awesome supernatural creatures. I've read stories with gargoyle characters before but this one was definitely my favorite! Overall, I can't enthuse enough about this book, it really hooked me and although it doesn't leave the reader in a cliff-hanger I can definitely see the author expanding on these characters and Hidden Creek. I know I would love to read more!
    more
  • Jennifer Ricketts (Donnie Darko Girl)
    June 5, 2017
    There aren't nearly enough gargoyle stories in the YA world, so when I heard about Secrets of Skin and Stone, I knew I had to read it and am so glad I did. Grisham (Gris) and Piper are now two of my favorite characters for this year, and the storytelling was fab.    Told from the alternating POVs of Gris and Piper, Secrets of Skin and Stone is about Gris, who's a Watcher by birthright and transforms into a gargoyle to fight off monsters called fiends. Gris is called by family members to investig There aren't nearly enough gargoyle stories in the YA world, so when I heard about Secrets of Skin and Stone, I knew I had to read it and am so glad I did. Grisham (Gris) and Piper are now two of my favorite characters for this year, and the storytelling was fab.    Told from the alternating POVs of Gris and Piper, Secrets of Skin and Stone is about Gris, who's a Watcher by birthright and transforms into a gargoyle to fight off monsters called fiends. Gris is called by family members to investigate the little town of Hidden Creek, where he meets more fiends than he ever has before as well as a firecracker of a girl named Piper. I can't tell you how much I love Piper because she's a real character with real flaws. She's her own person, strong and resilient, and I really enjoyed her fiery personality. Piper engages in self-harm with cutting and has a form of OCD that isn't as easily recognizable due to the symptoms. I identified with her so easily because I used to be a cutter, just not with OCD. For any readers out there who could be triggered by this type of self-harm, there is a warning from the author at the beginning of the book. The cutting scenes are pretty detailed. There's a lot of misinformation out there about cutting, and I felt the author did a great job with portraying it in a realistic and sensitive manner. Hopefully, this will open up discussion about a problem that's difficult and uncomfortable to talk about but which needs to be brought out into the open. Gris and Piper each have a lot of secrets they feel they can't tell the other, but the thing is, they can only work together on the problems in Hidden Creek if they shed their inhibitions and trust one another. I liked that Piper didn't immediately fall for Gris's charm, although I'm not convinced that Gris was trying to be charming anyway. Watching the two of them grapple with trusting each other was realistic and interesting. While the ending was neat and tidy, (actually a little too tidy, hence four stars instead of five), I'd love another trip back to Gris and Piper where they could once again investigate fiends together. I received a review copy of this book via NetGalley and the publisher for my stop on the blog tour. Thank you to Entangled Teen! For more of my reviews, visit me at Donnie Darko Girl.
    more
  • Heather Eagar
    June 10, 2017
    This is the type of paranormal novel I want to read more of.Piper, our main heroine, is strong, and yet she doesn't see how awesome she is. Based on Wendy Sparrow's own experiences, Piper struggles with OCD, which manifests itself in the form of cutting. It was intriguing to be inside Piper's head as she fought these demons. She would keep tabs of mistakes she made during the day, and then punish herself for them that night. But she isn't just dealing with her own inner struggles, there are also This is the type of paranormal novel I want to read more of.Piper, our main heroine, is strong, and yet she doesn't see how awesome she is. Based on Wendy Sparrow's own experiences, Piper struggles with OCD, which manifests itself in the form of cutting. It was intriguing to be inside Piper's head as she fought these demons. She would keep tabs of mistakes she made during the day, and then punish herself for them that night. But she isn't just dealing with her own inner struggles, there are also actual demons that are plaguing her.Enter Gris. He can turn into a gargoyle at will and is trying to rid the town of Hidden Creek from the demons that are plaguing it. As awesome as that sounds, he also struggles with feelings of inadequacy, and trying to live up to his legacy.Gris and Piper both feel weak individually, but they rely on each other to discover their inner strength. This is the type of romance that takes time, work, and trust. Exactly how I like it. If you are looking for insta-love, this is not the book for you. It brings real and serious issues to light in the context of a stellar paranormal story line. The writing drew me in from the beginning, and I loved every minute of it.I am giving Secrets of Skin and Stone 5 out of 5 Stars!
    more
  • Lynndell
    June 5, 2017
    I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book.Thanks to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for the opportunity to read and review Secrets of Skin and Stone by Wendy Laine! Gris is a shape-shifting gargoyle called a Watcher. He travels to Hidden creek to reside in his relatives' extra house. He meets Piper while she is searching for what attacked and killed her dog, Jester. For some reason, Hidden Creek is full of fiends and that's why Gris has been called to live there. Gris becomes intrig I voluntarily read and reviewed an ARC of this book.Thanks to NetGalley and Entangled Publishing for the opportunity to read and review Secrets of Skin and Stone by Wendy Laine! Gris is a shape-shifting gargoyle called a Watcher. He travels to Hidden creek to reside in his relatives' extra house. He meets Piper while she is searching for what attacked and killed her dog, Jester. For some reason, Hidden Creek is full of fiends and that's why Gris has been called to live there. Gris becomes intrigued with Piper and they start a friendship and try to solve the mystery of Jester's death and why there are numerous fiends in Hidden Creek. Piper deals with a specific type of obsessive compulsive disorder and it interested me because of how she handles it in her daily life. The author discusses OCD at the end of the book and opens up with her own experiences of dealing with the constraints and struggles that go along with it. 5 stars for a fun supernatural read for young adults and for the advice and wisdom offered by the author!
    more
  • Laura Hernandez
    June 4, 2017
    First off, I loved the cover and at first i found myself intrigued by the story and Gris but as I continued to read this I found myself having a difficult time getting through it as it appeared to become a dull read and maybe that's my fault as I went in with the expectation of getting at least the creeps but it didn't happen. I will warn readers that this does contain some self-harm issues which at times can be very descriptive.{I requested a copy for reviewing purposes via Entangled Teen and N First off, I loved the cover and at first i found myself intrigued by the story and Gris but as I continued to read this I found myself having a difficult time getting through it as it appeared to become a dull read and maybe that's my fault as I went in with the expectation of getting at least the creeps but it didn't happen. I will warn readers that this does contain some self-harm issues which at times can be very descriptive.{I requested a copy for reviewing purposes via Entangled Teen and NetGalley and made no guarantee of a favorable review. The opinions expressed here are unbiased and my own.}
    more
  • Lisa Richards
    June 9, 2017
    My first genre love was paranormal romance so I was tickled to get the chance to read this awesome story. I got to admit while the cutting made me a bit uncomfortable, I throughly loved the sassy OCD Piper. I've only read a few books that featured gargoyles so it was pretty neat getting to learn the rules of this new world. The mystery was pretty satisfying as I was never 100% sure who was behind the bedeviling of the townspeople. I love being able to accurately figure out this character but I d My first genre love was paranormal romance so I was tickled to get the chance to read this awesome story. I got to admit while the cutting made me a bit uncomfortable, I throughly loved the sassy OCD Piper. I've only read a few books that featured gargoyles so it was pretty neat getting to learn the rules of this new world. The mystery was pretty satisfying as I was never 100% sure who was behind the bedeviling of the townspeople. I love being able to accurately figure out this character but I don't want it to be too easy or from out of left field. There were just enough clues to keep it interesting and not give it away. I guess the only thing I didn't enjoy was knowing this was a standalone and I wouldn't get to visit Piper, Gris and the World of Watchers.
    more
  • Josie ~The Bookworm~
    May 22, 2017
    *I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW*I really enjoyed this book - it gave me major Supernatural (Sam and Dean anyone <3) vibes, but was still unique in its own way.Gris is a Watcher, and has been sent to Hidden Creek to rid the town of Fiends.Piper is a girl with darkness inside, who seems to attract trouble - and the towns people distrust her.There is more to the both Piper and Hidden Creek than there first appears - and this book kept me guessing r *I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM NETGALLEY IN EXCHANGE FOR MY HONEST REVIEW*I really enjoyed this book - it gave me major Supernatural (Sam and Dean anyone <3) vibes, but was still unique in its own way.Gris is a Watcher, and has been sent to Hidden Creek to rid the town of Fiends.Piper is a girl with darkness inside, who seems to attract trouble - and the towns people distrust her.There is more to the both Piper and Hidden Creek than there first appears - and this book kept me guessing right to the very end.Perfect for fans of paranormal/supernatural books; this one won't disappoint.
    more
  • Randi Perrin
    June 10, 2017
    There's so much about this book to love. I love the realness of Piper's OCD (which was written from the author's own experiences, which I adored because it gave such a breath of fresh air into the behaviors that are often glamorized into something they are not in movies and books), and I absolutely adore Gris. Wendy will have you on the edge of your seat guessing what's going to happen, and then she'll throw you for a loop--she always does. But rest assured, Hidden Creek is full of secrets and y There's so much about this book to love. I love the realness of Piper's OCD (which was written from the author's own experiences, which I adored because it gave such a breath of fresh air into the behaviors that are often glamorized into something they are not in movies and books), and I absolutely adore Gris. Wendy will have you on the edge of your seat guessing what's going to happen, and then she'll throw you for a loop--she always does. But rest assured, Hidden Creek is full of secrets and you owe it to yourself to find them out.
    more
  • Ashley
    May 19, 2017
    I devoured this book. A fantastic #ownvoices YA novel with an OCD main character and fascinating paranormal bits. I highly recommend it. I really hope there will be more!
  • Ann Elise Monte
    June 9, 2017
    I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.This book took a while to grow on me. Up until around the 50% mark, I seriously considered DNF-ing. Most of that had to do with the instalove-esque relationship dynamics between the two protagonists. I mean, do heterosexuals really get distracted by a person's attractiveness while said attractive person is a potential danger to them? Eventually it all fell into place and stopped annoying me, but it did result in me taking much lon I received an ARC from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.This book took a while to grow on me. Up until around the 50% mark, I seriously considered DNF-ing. Most of that had to do with the instalove-esque relationship dynamics between the two protagonists. I mean, do heterosexuals really get distracted by a person's attractiveness while said attractive person is a potential danger to them? Eventually it all fell into place and stopped annoying me, but it did result in me taking much longer to read this book than I'd originally planned.This next point is *slightly* spoilery, but it happens early in the book so I don't think it's too bad. Warning for spoilers anyway.The other issue I had was (view spoiler)[the handling of the animal death early in the book, which turned out to be a huge plot point. I hadn't yet established an emotional connection to either Piper or her pet, before suddenly this apparently beloved animal had been killed and therefore it had absolutely no impact on me. I felt extremely detached from the animal's owner for the longest time because of this. While her devastation was understandable, I simply hadn't had the opportunity to connect before I was plunged into this. (hide spoiler)] While some readers' experiences may vary, especially those who are particularly sensitive to animal cruelty, I found my immersion was negatively impacted by the lack of establishment prior to this happening.I was fairly connected to Gris early on, primarily because his emotional arc didn't hinge largely on a sudden tragedy that occurs before a reader connection was established. Piper grew on me over time as I got used to her, so I was fairly invested in the two of them by the time I passed the halfway mark. Gris needs to learn to shut his face sometimes, but I have mentally adopted both him and Piper anyway. I really loved both protagonists' relationships with their parents. Gris's dad, despite not being physically present, is bloody hilarious at times.Once I got past the instalove issue, I really warmed to Gris and Piper's relationship. Once they were established as a couple, I found the whole thing far less irritating. Do be aware that Gris does try to make Piper think she's imagining things at one point, and therefore doubt her own perceptions, in an attempt to avoid her finding out his secrets, but she calls him on it immediately and they resolve the issue.I can't comment on the OCD or self-harm rep, but the author is writing from personal experience and also used sensitivity readers. She has also included a trigger warning for self-harm at the beginning of the book and discusses her experiences a little bit in an author's note at the end.I tend to be a little easier on mentally ill and neurodivergent/neuroatypical authors when they use ableist language in their works since it's not my place to really judge what's appropriate, but do be aware there's a fair amount in there and not all of it is Piper, the character with OCD, referring to her own experiences with the condition.There is also a passing mention of a teacher potentially having untoward relations with their teenage students, in case that's a trigger for anyone.Overall, I didn't end up hating this book as much as I thought I would and found myself rather enjoying it around the 2/3 mark. Having followed Wendy on social media for a while, back when I was still a teen myself, that was an immense relief.
    more
  • Andreia Nuno
    June 28, 2017
    This review was originally published on NetGalley.Addictive, new and unforgettable. This novel is just as promising as its mysterious cover and I couldn’t put it down.Grisham is Watcher, he turns into a gargoyle to get ride of fiends. When his uncle requests his help in Hidden Creek, Gris slowly begins to realise that there is more to the town than meets the eye. Piper is the exemplary teenage girl: perfect grades, popular with the boys and she is more than ready to leave Hidden Creek to go the This review was originally published on NetGalley.Addictive, new and unforgettable. This novel is just as promising as its mysterious cover and I couldn’t put it down.Grisham is Watcher, he turns into a gargoyle to get ride of fiends. When his uncle requests his help in Hidden Creek, Gris slowly begins to realise that there is more to the town than meets the eye. Piper is the exemplary teenage girl: perfect grades, popular with the boys and she is more than ready to leave Hidden Creek to go the university. Haunted by nightmares and dealing with OCD, her life doesn’t get any easier, especially after the brutal murder of her dog Jester. Piper joins forces with Gris and together they try to solve the unexplained events that haunt the small town. From murder of animals to disappearances and grave robberies, nothing and no one are what they seem.I got completely addicted to this book: the characters, the setting, the reality and the build-up of the mystery. The whole idea of gargoyles and fiends is brilliant and it was refreshing to read something a bit different when it comes to the YA genre. I also really enjoyed the mentioning of more sensitive topics like OCD and self-harm; it’s a way of showing the reality and the obstacles people with these issues have to go through every day. And the best part? It’s done brilliantly.This novel mixes romance with mystery and supernatural in a unique way and it was impossible not to be pulled into the story and its characters.I really enjoyed the setting of the story: Hidden Creek. Right from the beginning, the atmosphere around it, I could feel that there was something more about this town and it definitely set the mood for the rest of the novel.The characters are very well-developed and they are unique in their own way. It’s impossible not to like them and to truly feel for them. I completely connected with them. It’s impossible not to like Piper: she is perfectly imperfect and that’s refreshing. She struggles with accepting herself but at the same time she’s beautiful, incredibly stubborn, honest and spontaneous. Reading about her burst of happiness and excitement, made me feel excited for her. Her knowledge on people and her gift to detect lies is brilliant to read as well as her connection with Gris. I think they perfectly balance each other out. Gris is an amazing male protagonist: even though he is a gargoyle, he feels deeply and struggles to accept what he is, something he has in common with Piper. He is head-strong, very loyal and always whiling to help. I absolutely loved the chemistry he has with Piper, they are perfect for one another.Overall, a great read that I recommend to all the fans of supernatural YA. This is definitely a book that I get my hands on as soon as it comes out!
    more
  • Meekachii
    May 29, 2017
    I recently received an e-arc copy of Secrets of Skin and Stone so that I could give you all my honest review. Upon reading the synopsis of this book I was really intrigued. It seemed to be a scary, thrilling read which is sometimes just the thing I want to dive into. This story is about a girl in Hidden Creek where a lot of creepy things are happening. She has had some bad things happen to her in the recent past and has a lot of inner conflict in which she has been dealing with her whole life. T I recently received an e-arc copy of Secrets of Skin and Stone so that I could give you all my honest review. Upon reading the synopsis of this book I was really intrigued. It seemed to be a scary, thrilling read which is sometimes just the thing I want to dive into. This story is about a girl in Hidden Creek where a lot of creepy things are happening. She has had some bad things happen to her in the recent past and has a lot of inner conflict in which she has been dealing with her whole life. Trigger warning! This book does contain cutting and OCD. Gris, a guy from the city with a special job description comes to help the situation at Hidden Creek. I won’t spoil the story in case you guys want to get the full experience for yourselves but this is a paranormal romance. I don’t really feel like this book is as scary/creepy as I was expecting but it did have its disturbing moments. I won’t be having nightmares anytime soon but I feel like the author definitely created a unique paranormal world. That being said, I feel like the story could have been told a little differently. I feel like sometimes you find out about things in a little too straight-forward way. When introducing a new type of paranormal being you have to explain a lot about that creature to make it interesting for the reader and to help the reader understand them but I feel like it could have been written to flow a bit easier. I don’t know how better to explain this except maybe having a third party character experience this new paranormal creature instead of the main character explaining it to the audience for himself. I feel like the romance was cute although didn’t give me any sort of extra tingly feelings. There weren’t really any toe-curling moments but maybe I’m just a sucker for some gushy romance. All in all, I do feel like it was a cute story as far as the romance and relationship between the two main characters go. I also think the world created was unique and could definitely be built into an awesome plot, leaving room for more books.
    more
Write a review