The Secret Slipper
Being a cripple is only the beginning of Lia’s troubles. It seems as if Bioti’s goal in life is to make Lia as miserable as possible. If Lia’s purpose was to be a slave, then why did God make her a cripple? How can He make something beautiful out of her deformity?Raoul never questioned the death of his daughter until someone reports her whereabouts. If Ellia is still alive, how has she survived these ten years with her deformity? When Raoul doesn’t know who to trust, can he trust God to keep Ellia safe when evidence reveals Bioti’s dangerous character?As time brings more hindrances, will Raoul find Ellia, or will she forever be lost to the father she doesn't even know is searching for her?

The Secret Slipper Details

TitleThe Secret Slipper
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreChristian Fiction, Christian, Fantasy, Young Adult, Childrens

The Secret Slipper Review

  • Kate Willis
    May 24, 2017
    This is the third book I’ve read by this author, and I really love her writing style and strong Christian themes. From the cover onward, this book was charming and very unique. (Even just the chapter headings were adorable.) ;) I enjoyed every minute of Dumphey and Noel, but it was really sad how Lia misunderstood their helpfulness. The Raoul, Jolin, Galien team was very dynamic, which made for some fun exchanges and good lessons. Bioti? She made my blood boil. I thought she was horrid when she This is the third book I’ve read by this author, and I really love her writing style and strong Christian themes. From the cover onward, this book was charming and very unique. (Even just the chapter headings were adorable.) ;) I enjoyed every minute of Dumphey and Noel, but it was really sad how Lia misunderstood their helpfulness. The Raoul, Jolin, Galien team was very dynamic, which made for some fun exchanges and good lessons. Bioti? She made my blood boil. I thought she was horrid when she was first introduced, but she just got worse and worse. I knew exactly what she meant to do when she told Lia to keep driving. Poor girl. *sniffs* When everything went wrong (even sweet Dumphey’s loyalty), it went really, really wrong. I wasn’t sure for a while if a happy ending was even possible! But I loved how everything turned out, and Zuzarene’s words to Lia. (I want to be her when I grow up!) ;) The Cinderella elements weren’t extremely obvious, but they were there! And I LOVED the way this author did the slippers. <3 Not recommended for very young readers because of intense action and mentions of possible death.Altogether, I loved this book and can’t wait to share it with my sisters! (In fact, one of them started reading it the same day I finished.) ;)Also, Jolin should be real. :D
    more
  • Just Another Book-loving Baptist Girl
    May 9, 2017
    This was such a great book! It literally made me cry at the end! It is a fairly short read (I read it in one afternoon), but is definitely worth it. ;) I can't say that it really seems much like Cinderella (which I like; as you probably know, I'm not one for romance), but it is still a great book. :) I'm also not one for fantasy, but this book fit to my tastes quite well. ;) I might have to start trying more Christian fantasy, apparently! It did not have any magic or anything (another thing that This was such a great book! It literally made me cry at the end! It is a fairly short read (I read it in one afternoon), but is definitely worth it. ;) I can't say that it really seems much like Cinderella (which I like; as you probably know, I'm not one for romance), but it is still a great book. :) I'm also not one for fantasy, but this book fit to my tastes quite well. ;) I might have to start trying more Christian fantasy, apparently! It did not have any magic or anything (another thing that I like :P ). I'm trying to decide if I should give more details... Okay, I will. ;) (if you don't like spoilers, you probably shouldn't read this next section; I pointed out spoilers specifically, but still...)There were a bunch of twists to the story (the one that caught me most off guard was SPOILER!! that Galien killed the informer {can't remember his name right now- lol} SPOILER END!!). I did not expect SPOILER!! Lia to go to the dungeon; but that was a good thing, because then she asked the Lord into her heart SPOILER END!!. It had a great message of trusting the Lord throughout SPOILER!!, like when Raoul prays, etc. SPOILER END!!.So, basically, YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!! I feel like I'm saying that a lot lately, but it's really true!! :) Thanks for letting me review it, Amanda!*I was given a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*
    more
  • Sarah Grace
    May 4, 2017
    Wow! This was SO good! I loved it. I was hooked from the very beginning and couldn't put it down! I loved the fact that this was based on a father\daughter relationship as opposed to your stereotypical romance. I am always a sucker for a father\daughter story, and this one didn't disappoint! I also love how non-cliché it was. Based off Cinderella, yet so different. Never did I think, "wow, that was so expected, just like Cinderella!". I love how realistic Lord Kiralyn was; he was by no means per Wow! This was SO good! I loved it. I was hooked from the very beginning and couldn't put it down! I loved the fact that this was based on a father\daughter relationship as opposed to your stereotypical romance. I am always a sucker for a father\daughter story, and this one didn't disappoint! I also love how non-cliché it was. Based off Cinderella, yet so different. Never did I think, "wow, that was so expected, just like Cinderella!". I love how realistic Lord Kiralyn was; he was by no means perfect, and struggled with anger, and letting things go to God. His character arc was very well done, and so realistic! I felt like Ellia's was slightly lacking, but still very good. Similarly, Lia was not your typical oh-so-patient and perfect Cinderella either; she had real issues too, which made her far more relatable than Cinderella, which I loved. The writing was very well done, and had very few typos. It was clear and concise, yet still flowery and beautiful. I love how Amanda attempted to use "Old English" dialogue. It really lent to the story without confusing it.I have loved nearly all of the Amanda Tero novels I have read. Her stories are such that I would not be afraid to give to my younger siblings. I can trust that there will be no excessive violence, romance, language, or other explicit details. Highly recommend this and all of Amanda's works!
    more
  • Hannah
    March 10, 2017
    Enjoyable story...full review when published!
  • Victoria Minks
    May 28, 2017
    I really enjoyed this sequel to "Befriending the Beast" by Amanda Tero. It took me a minute to get refocused on who was who in the beginning but the preface was really intriguing and I quite liked that part. The storyline is very well done and I think younger girls, in particular, would love the book! My favorite thing about it... well, it's a toss-up between the characters and the descriptions. For some reason I just love Amanda's descriptions--they're beautiful and very vivid. But the characte I really enjoyed this sequel to "Befriending the Beast" by Amanda Tero. It took me a minute to get refocused on who was who in the beginning but the preface was really intriguing and I quite liked that part. The storyline is very well done and I think younger girls, in particular, would love the book! My favorite thing about it... well, it's a toss-up between the characters and the descriptions. For some reason I just love Amanda's descriptions--they're beautiful and very vivid. But the characters in this story are just awesome. They were well-rounded and interesting, and I'd have to admit captured my fancy quicker (and more) than the characters in the first book of the series. Dumphrey and Noel are by far my favorite characters--I love them! But I thought that Lia and Raoul were also done in an excellent fashion. The Christian themes throughout it were a good reminder and written well, and the salvation scene was also great. Overall, I thought the book was super sweet and held one's attention with a nice mystery and intriguing plot-line. Especially for young girls, I think this is a lovely little book. ;)
    more
  • Faith
    May 18, 2017
    4/4.5 stars What a sweet retelling story! <3 The characters were amazing and feel-able, the setting lovely, and the plot sucked me in. Lia was such a sweet dear and a character that made me just want to grab her and hug her. (And save her from Bioti!) Raoul was amazing too. His inner struggles and search for his daughter was just... <3 <3 I especially liked the relationship between Raoul and Jolin. Raoul was ready to run off into any situation, and Jolin was there to hold him back. I'm 4/4.5 stars What a sweet retelling story! <3 The characters were amazing and feel-able, the setting lovely, and the plot sucked me in. Lia was such a sweet dear and a character that made me just want to grab her and hug her. (And save her from Bioti!) Raoul was amazing too. His inner struggles and search for his daughter was just... <3 <3 I especially liked the relationship between Raoul and Jolin. Raoul was ready to run off into any situation, and Jolin was there to hold him back. I'm pretty sure Raoul would've ended up in trouble without Jolin around to keep him sane. ;) Dumphey and Noel were so sweet too, always looking out for Lia! <3 The antagonist storyline was very well done. Bioti and her decisions never felt 'forced' or unrealistic. The medieval-fantasy setting! Don't even get me started. Ahh, the people and town names were all sooo pretty. <3 Ordinarily speaking, I wouldn't have minded a closer connection to the original Cinderella story. But for this? It was perfect as it was. ^.^ If you enjoy fairytale retellings, particularly subtle ones with unique twists, then the Tales of Faith series is for you! **I received an e-ARC from the author in exchange for my honest review.**
    more
  • Kellyn Roth
    April 26, 2017
    Beta read. Review and rating coming when I read it again for review. :)
  • Kendra Ardnek
    April 28, 2017
    Have you ever read a fairy tale and had the thought, "You know what? This would be so much better without the romance. And, hey, while we're at it, let's toss out the magic, too!"?Well, those aren’t thoughts that I’ve ever had, specifically, but I am always looking for fairy tales told in new and intriguing ways. When I heard of Amanda Tero’s Befriending the Beast, a story where the “beast” was the heroine’s father, rather than love interest, I knew I needed to read it. There aren’t many B&B Have you ever read a fairy tale and had the thought, "You know what? This would be so much better without the romance. And, hey, while we're at it, let's toss out the magic, too!"?Well, those aren’t thoughts that I’ve ever had, specifically, but I am always looking for fairy tales told in new and intriguing ways. When I heard of Amanda Tero’s Befriending the Beast, a story where the “beast” was the heroine’s father, rather than love interest, I knew I needed to read it. There aren’t many B&B retellings – much less B&B retellings stripped of magic – that I actually like. This twist, though, was unique enough to intrigue me. Then the author contacted me asking if I’d like to participate in the blog tour for the sequel, a retelling of Cinderella where the prince was Cinderella’s father. I signed up to review, as well receive a copy of the first book, which I loved just as much as I thought that I would, then I plunged eagerly into Secret Slipper.This story directly follows the events of Befriending the Beast, but is about Lord Raoul, the uncle with whom Belle had lived following her own mother’s death. He had lost his wife and only daughter to a plague years before, and while he had remarried, his second wife provided him with no children. For a time, Belle had filled that hole in his heart, but now she has returned to her own father and Raoul's home is empty again.Until he receives a message that states that his daughter might be as dead as he'd believed. That she had instead been spirited away by a spiteful servant who blamed Raoul for her husband's death. Raoul immediately begins his search, dropping everything for the chance at having his child back.Meanwhile, Lia has led a pretty miserable life as her "stepmother" has continued to take her annoyance for Raoul out on her. They've run short on money, and Lia is the one forced to get a job to support them. Even though she has a club foot and can barely hobble about.This was a delightfully unique take on the fairy tale. There's no ball, no glass slipper scene, but it's touching and heartfelt all the same. The rags-to-riches story of redemption is ever so much stronger and more powerful when it's the father stepping in for his daughter than it is when it's a love interest that the girl meets for the first time in a rushed ball. Amanda tells her stories without shame for her faith, and the story of redemption is told clearly, even as it's shown. The characters are diverse and interest, with many different motives and struggles.While this is the second book of the series, and it does directly follow the events of Befriending the Beast, it can be read first without majorly spoiling its predecessor. It was a delightful tale, and I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys Cinderella retellings and stories of faith.
    more
  • Kelsey Bryant
    May 27, 2017
    4.5 stars. Full review to come!
  • Hanna
    May 11, 2017
    As a beta-reader, I helped revise this a bit. It didn't need much! For a fairy-tale retelling, this was really good. I didn't even realize that it was a retelling of Cinderella at first.The characters in The Secret Slipper were very well-developed. Raoul's struggle and pride was believable and actually affected me personally(The need for prayer is very important!). Lia's predicament and distress endeared me to her. Bioti was evil, but her motivation made sense- as much sense as an evil person As a beta-reader, I helped revise this a bit. It didn't need much! For a fairy-tale retelling, this was really good. I didn't even realize that it was a retelling of Cinderella at first.The characters in The Secret Slipper were very well-developed. Raoul's struggle and pride was believable and actually affected me personally(The need for prayer is very important!). Lia's predicament and distress endeared me to her. Bioti was evil, but her motivation made sense- as much sense as an evil person can make, that is. I also didn't appreciate Dumphey; on whose side was he, anyway?The plot was also very well-done, and full of plot twists. I wasn't sure why everyone had a grudge on Raoul for things he couldn't control, though. How shallow are these people??What can I say? Read this book, because it's really good.
    more
  • Bethany
    April 24, 2017
    I loved this book! I don’t read or like fairy tales, but I enjoyed Book One of this series, , because there was no magic, spells, witches, etc., so I was excited to be able to receive an advanced reader copy of Book Two.The plot was loosely based on Cinderella, but with a lot of surprising twists! I loved reading more about the characters from , and having the story told from two POVs instead of only one. It made the story interesting without being difficult to follow. (view spoiler)[I really I loved this book! I don’t read or like fairy tales, but I enjoyed Book One of this series, , because there was no magic, spells, witches, etc., so I was excited to be able to receive an advanced reader copy of Book Two.The plot was loosely based on Cinderella, but with a lot of surprising twists! I loved reading more about the characters from , and having the story told from two POVs instead of only one. It made the story interesting without being difficult to follow. (view spoiler)[I really liked it that Lia was a cripple, and that her father was able to identify her by her deformed foot! It made such a clever and unusual take on the original story. (hide spoiler)]I appreciated the way the author handled the characters and their emotions, struggles, fears, etc. and the only real complaint I have is that I would have liked to know more about Zuzene and what became of her and why she was there in prison in the first place.I look forward to future books in this sweet series!
    more
  • Sarah Briel
    May 11, 2017
    The Secret Slipper was one of the sweetest Christian books I’ve read this year.It’s technically the sequel/companion to the beautiful Befriending The Beast. That being said, The Secret Slipper works perfectly fine as a stand-alone. Like, I haven’t read Befriending the Best in around … 9 months and forgot most of the details but The Secret Slipper made perfect sense, save for about 5 sentences at the beginning of the book which made way more sense when I actually remembered stuff. As I’m re-readi The Secret Slipper was one of the sweetest Christian books I’ve read this year.It’s technically the sequel/companion to the beautiful Befriending The Beast. That being said, The Secret Slipper works perfectly fine as a stand-alone. Like, I haven’t read Befriending the Best in around … 9 months and forgot most of the details but The Secret Slipper made perfect sense, save for about 5 sentences at the beginning of the book which made way more sense when I actually remembered stuff. As I’m re-reading Befriending The Beast, it does connect it beautifully.- The characters were awesome. I feel like these were slightly more in depth than Befriending The Beast. They were very realistic and I seriously suffered along beside them in their pain and felt elated at their happiness.- The duel points of view worked wonders. I’ve oftentimes come across books that have way too much character head hopping going on that serves no point. Even in books with only two character PoV’s, they oftentimes fall short or really make no sense. This one was excellent. There’s just enough tension on both sides of the story, the perfect amount shown of the thoughts of both Raoul and Lia, that the duel points of view were perfection!- Lia’s and how she dealt with her deformity and life in general was really nice. I loved the real look into the bitter emotions behind everything, how she worked her way around it and knew she was capable and strong even with her deformity. Just … asdfjlnaerg. I said it before but I have to say it again the characters were epic. They were just so real and emotional and I’m going to go flail around on the ground for an hour because they were so lovely. I loved Lia’s entire outlook and how real it was.- Same with Raoul his entire outlook was also cool. I’m going to try to resist squealing about the characters for a year though, so bear with me.- The Christianity … Ach. This was so inspiring. It was beautifully written, not coming off as preachy, but also not afraid to tell the truth. Most books these days, even books labelled “Christian” aren’t really Christian. That can’t be said about The Secret Slipper. I’m not going to go too deep into the Christian message and spoil anything for any of you guys who haven’t read this yet but let me tell you: it’s beautiful and it was inspiring and I think I really needed to hear this again.The fairy tale aspect is interesting and really different. I don’t think I really have to say that most fairy tale retellings are getting kind of old. They’re predictable, generic and full of cliches. This one really wasn’t. I wouldn’t say it’s an exact retelling, it’s more of … there are aspects in this book that are based off Cinderella. So if you’re not into retellings … have no fear, this one isn’t quite the same as all the others, and if you are into them … read this anyway! ;)- There wasn't really any romance? Which, lemme tell you, is really refreshing when it comes to books, especially fairy-tale retellings which are kind of shoving romance in your face. The nice thing though, is it really didn't need romance! The relationship between father and daughter was the perfect twist to the original fairy-tale.Honestly there weren’t that many things that I disliked, but just to mention …- I wished it was longer. The story wasn’t exactly lacking anything, and no one part was rushed, but it was so. short. As an aspiring author I can completely understand this, but the reader part in my head was longing for more. - The names … were confusing … I mean, I didn’t dislike them but my poor little brain that’s realllly bad at remembering names was hurting. We have Raoul, two servant type guys, Lia, Lia’s two friends, Lia’s two step-sisters, Lia’s “step-mum” and others who don’t pop up this much. Like … how am I supposed to keep track of Lia’s friends and which one of the Raoul’s buddies is which as ahhhh … Albeit, this is kind of my fault for having a weird brain but … y’know. ;)And … honestly that’s all that comes to mind right now?My overall rating turned out to be 4.5 stars. There's a lovely, lovely lil book here. :D
    more
  • Linda Matchett
    May 15, 2017
    The Secret Slipper is a wonderful retelling of the Cinderella story. I loved that the prince in this case was the father, and even though I’m quite familiar with the popular fairy tale, I found myself rooting for him as I wondered if he would ever find his daughter. I liked the flavor of the setting-kind of medieval, but not as primitive. The villain is so evil, it was a pleasure to dislike her, and I found myself getting angry as I read the injustices she meted out to Lia. There was a character The Secret Slipper is a wonderful retelling of the Cinderella story. I loved that the prince in this case was the father, and even though I’m quite familiar with the popular fairy tale, I found myself rooting for him as I wondered if he would ever find his daughter. I liked the flavor of the setting-kind of medieval, but not as primitive. The villain is so evil, it was a pleasure to dislike her, and I found myself getting angry as I read the injustices she meted out to Lia. There was a character near the end of the story whose only purpose seemed to be to present the message of salvation to Lia. The woman seemed to have her own story, and I was disappointed the author didn’t follow through with it. Perhaps a sequel? This is the first book of Amanda Tero’s I’ve read, and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I plan to read the first in her Tales of Faith series, Befriending the Beast. Anyone who loves fairy tales or stories set in medieval times would enjoy this book. The main character, Lia, is thirteen, so teens may also like The Secret Slipper.I received this book for free from Celebrate Lit, and a positive review was not required. All opinions expressed are my own.
    more
  • serena482*
    May 15, 2017
    My rating 3.5 stars. The Secret Slipper was an interesting read. I enjoyed it for the most part. There was not much of action, for that reason (because I really love action. (: ) I am rating it 3.5 stars. But don't let that deter you from reading it! I still enjoyed it, and my preferences are different that a lot of people. ;) Amanda did a very good job on the writing, and the story was a very interesting retelling of Cinderella. Over all it was a good read and I enjoyed it. i would recommend it My rating 3.5 stars. The Secret Slipper was an interesting read. I enjoyed it for the most part. There was not much of action, for that reason (because I really love action. (: ) I am rating it 3.5 stars. But don't let that deter you from reading it! I still enjoyed it, and my preferences are different that a lot of people. ;) Amanda did a very good job on the writing, and the story was a very interesting retelling of Cinderella. Over all it was a good read and I enjoyed it. i would recommend it to ages 10-up maybe even younger. There is no romance and the main girl is 13 years old, plus there is little to no violence. So a good read for young to old. :D
    more
  • Faith
    May 7, 2017
    Title: The Secret SlipperWritten By: Amanda TeroGenre: Christian Fantasy/Fairy TaleRecommended Ages: AnyIntroduction:I like fairy tales. Mostly. I don't like magic, though, so it's really hard to find one I will read. Amanda has done a great job not only writing fairy tales with no magic, but also with no romance! How does she do that? Read her Tales of Faith series to find out.Characters: 1/1Rebellious, kind, angry, willing to risk everything, grudge holders, desperate, helpful, cruel, sweet. A Title: The Secret SlipperWritten By: Amanda TeroGenre: Christian Fantasy/Fairy TaleRecommended Ages: AnyIntroduction:I like fairy tales. Mostly. I don't like magic, though, so it's really hard to find one I will read. Amanda has done a great job not only writing fairy tales with no magic, but also with no romance! How does she do that? Read her Tales of Faith series to find out.Characters: 1/1Rebellious, kind, angry, willing to risk everything, grudge holders, desperate, helpful, cruel, sweet. All of these can describe at least one character in this book. Ellia, Raoul, Josin, and Noel were my favorite characters.Dialogue: 1/1All the dialogue was perfect. There was desperation, wit, cruelty, and so much for a wonderful, heart-wrenching, nail-biting book.Plot/storyline: 1/1Par excellence. Truly. There isn't much more to say than that, honestly.Overall writing quality: 1/1 I found a couple typos, but nothing egregious. Besides those, the was wonderful and high quality.Un-put-down-ability: 1/1I was happy I had time to read this basically in one sitting. Because I needed to. Once you get a few chapters in, you don't want to put it down.Conclusion: 5/5Tired of the same old, same old fairy tale retellings? Look no further for a beautiful Cinderella/Rapunzelesque mash-up.
    more
  • Raechel
    April 30, 2017
    4.5This was a well written story, based on Cinderella - yet with a different twist, just as Miss Tero's "Befriending the Beast" had. I found this to be a enjoyable read, and liked it quite a lot. The faith-message sprinkled through out was very good, and the Bible verses gave great structure and depth.I am normally a fan of sweet romances, yet even without a romantic interest, this story captured my interest and was a very sweet tale, showing the love of family. Fairy-tale retellings have a soft 4.5This was a well written story, based on Cinderella - yet with a different twist, just as Miss Tero's "Befriending the Beast" had. I found this to be a enjoyable read, and liked it quite a lot. The faith-message sprinkled through out was very good, and the Bible verses gave great structure and depth.I am normally a fan of sweet romances, yet even without a romantic interest, this story captured my interest and was a very sweet tale, showing the love of family. Fairy-tale retellings have a soft spot for me, and "The Secret Slipper" was indeed a good retelling! I appreciate it being clean and 'simple' in all the good ways, yet with faith involved. I would definitely trust my younger sister to be able to read a book like this, without concern.
    more
  • Esther Filbrun
    March 30, 2017
    One fairly standard thing in our family has been that we don’t read many fairy tales. We’ve always tended to lean towards biographies and other more believable stories, but every once in a while we’ll read or hear stories from a more fictionalized point of view. This book is one such story—possibly not totally believable, but charming and well-done all the same.As long as Lia can remember, she’s always been something akin to Bioti’s slave. She does what the older woman tells her to do, even when One fairly standard thing in our family has been that we don’t read many fairy tales. We’ve always tended to lean towards biographies and other more believable stories, but every once in a while we’ll read or hear stories from a more fictionalized point of view. This book is one such story—possibly not totally believable, but charming and well-done all the same.As long as Lia can remember, she’s always been something akin to Bioti’s slave. She does what the older woman tells her to do, even when it’s almost physically impossible for her, a cripple, to accomplish. And although Bioti claims Lia as her daughter when it is convenient, Lia can always feel the undercurrent of bitterness in the woman’s life. Is there any way she can escape the life of servitude that has been forced upon her? What will happen when Bioti asks her to do even more?Meanwhile, Lord Kiralyn has been told his daughter might still be alive, ten years after she supposedly died to the plague. Will he be able to find her if the rumor is true, or will searching for her just open up the old painful memories again to no avail?The Secret Slipper is a beautiful story of hope and forgiveness in the face of a lot of ugliness. I felt deeply sorry for Lia’s condition and the same for Lord Kiralyn, and eagerly read to find out what would happen for both characters. And even though I’d classify this book as a light, easy read, it did have some deeper thoughts in it as well that made it well worth reading. A truly delightful book.
    more
  • Olivia
    May 16, 2017
    Funny how I've never liked fairytale re-tellings until Amanda started writing them! Instead of focusing on the romance, she gives a nice twist to the story...and in this one, the prince charming is the father :)This is a lovely read for all ages, and I was really drawn into Lia's life. The strong threads of salvation is very prominate as always, and I really appreciate that! All the characters are unique, and I just smiled at Dumphey's name every time I read it :) I highly recommend this book, a Funny how I've never liked fairytale re-tellings until Amanda started writing them! Instead of focusing on the romance, she gives a nice twist to the story...and in this one, the prince charming is the father :)This is a lovely read for all ages, and I was really drawn into Lia's life. The strong threads of salvation is very prominate as always, and I really appreciate that! All the characters are unique, and I just smiled at Dumphey's name every time I read it :) I highly recommend this book, and any others by this author!*I received this in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Rebekah Morris
    May 10, 2017
    This is really 3.5 stars not 3.I'm not much of a fan of fairy-tales retold or original. However, I have liked every story so far by Amanda Tero and was eagerly looking forward to what she would do with "Cinderella." The father/daughter twist was a delightful change from the usual "lover to the rescue" stories. I also appreciated that the author incorporated the importance of following God's leading and the Salvation message without it feeling 'preachy' or out of place. All in all, I enjoyed this This is really 3.5 stars not 3.I'm not much of a fan of fairy-tales retold or original. However, I have liked every story so far by Amanda Tero and was eagerly looking forward to what she would do with "Cinderella." The father/daughter twist was a delightful change from the usual "lover to the rescue" stories. I also appreciated that the author incorporated the importance of following God's leading and the Salvation message without it feeling 'preachy' or out of place. All in all, I enjoyed this tale and would recommend it to those who enjoy fairy-tales. (And those who do now too.)
    more
  • Crystal
    May 12, 2017
    Review to come at publication.... one thing I will say is that this book has officially become one of my favorites! A MUST-READ!
  • A.M. Heath
    May 29, 2017
    What I Loved: I appreciate knowing that when I pick up a Tero story, I'll find something with a strong Christian message. This young lady has much respect for the gospel and presents it well within her work and The Secret Slipper was no exception.Tero brings a new and creative take on the classic Cinderella story. She strips it of all magic and, instead of a common romance, it's a love story between father and daughter. I admire the creativity that went into this novella as well as the series.Th What I Loved: I appreciate knowing that when I pick up a Tero story, I'll find something with a strong Christian message. This young lady has much respect for the gospel and presents it well within her work and The Secret Slipper was no exception.Tero brings a new and creative take on the classic Cinderella story. She strips it of all magic and, instead of a common romance, it's a love story between father and daughter. I admire the creativity that went into this novella as well as the series.The setting comes to life with authentic names. And among the rich setting was a timeless message about God turning the difficult things of life into blessings.Rating and Recommendation: I'm giving The Secret Slipper 5 stars and I recommend it to those who enjoy fairy tale retellings and especially to the younger audience. This a series mothers can feel confident about handing to their daughters.~ I received a copy from the author. I was not compensated for this review. All thoughts are my own.
    more
  • Jesseca Wheaton
    June 1, 2017
    4.5 starsI had the privilege of beta-reading The Secret Slipper and I enjoyed the story immensely! The father-daughter take on an old fairy talk classic was delightful, and I cannot wait to share it with my sister, who is impatiently awaiting the paperback. The characters were all done very well; there really wasn't any that were in the book for no reason. They all had a purpose. Which was nice to read for a change. ;) The struggles of the characters were also very well done and very relateable. 4.5 starsI had the privilege of beta-reading The Secret Slipper and I enjoyed the story immensely! The father-daughter take on an old fairy talk classic was delightful, and I cannot wait to share it with my sister, who is impatiently awaiting the paperback. The characters were all done very well; there really wasn't any that were in the book for no reason. They all had a purpose. Which was nice to read for a change. ;) The struggles of the characters were also very well done and very relateable. And, as always, Ms. Tero was able to weave the thread of the gospel message into the story flawlessly, in a way that didn't at all feel preachy. It made it stand out so much more because of that. So yes, a wonderful retelling that I would definitely recommend!
    more
  • Melissa
    May 30, 2017
    The Cinderella story as you've never before seen it!A king believes his daughter has died in a plague...but years later hears that she is likely still living. The search begins, and the impatient father forgets for a while that he should be seeking God's guidance. His faithful servant and friend, Jolin, lends gentle wisdom.Will Ellia, on her own journey of hardship and bitterness, find rest for her soul?This is a well-done story, with emotional twists, suspense, godly lessons, great characters, The Cinderella story as you've never before seen it!A king believes his daughter has died in a plague...but years later hears that she is likely still living. The search begins, and the impatient father forgets for a while that he should be seeking God's guidance. His faithful servant and friend, Jolin, lends gentle wisdom.Will Ellia, on her own journey of hardship and bitterness, find rest for her soul?This is a well-done story, with emotional twists, suspense, godly lessons, great characters, a refreshing lack of romance, and a satisfying ending. 4.5 stars.
    more
  • Liberty Baehr
    May 31, 2017
    This is kind of a non-magical Cinderella, estranged father/daughter, "castle on a cloud," Hinds Feet on High Places type of retelling. The Dad has to just stop & pray. The crippled daughter (reminds me of Much Afraid) who was thought to be dead is still alive & her dad has to find her before she is killed by her kidnapper ...who has sold her as a servant. Who doesn't love a GOOD mystery?
    more
  • Janell R.
    May 29, 2017
    Full review coming soon!
  • Amanda Tero
    February 18, 2017
    Coming soon!!!!What if... the daughter you thought dead is alive?What if... you see no end the blackest of your dark troubles?Loosely inspired by Cinderella. With a twist, of course. ;)
Write a review