Alex in Wonderland
From New York Times and USA Today Bestselling Author Max Monroe comes a new, sexy, and exciting twist on fairytales. I’m Matt Hadder. I’ve been called ruthless, savage—even brutal—by the men and women who work for me. And I’ve earned my reputation.Wonderland Inc., a party planning organization for every major player in the world, is Oz, and I’m its Wizard. I can make anything—drugs, prostitutes, deals—appear for a night and disappear just as quickly.This doesn’t make me good or bad—it makes me essential.Wonderland Inc. was my life, until a beautiful contradiction of innocence and impurity, obedience and rebelliousness named Alex Little stepped in and turned both of our worlds upside down.Welcome to Wonderland, Alex. A place where everything appears normal. But we’re all mad.

Alex in Wonderland Details

TitleAlex in Wonderland
Author
LanguageEnglish
ReleaseJan 1st, 1970
Rating
GenreRomance, Contemporary Romance, Contemporary, Dark

Alex in Wonderland Review

  • Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤
    July 25, 2017
    4 stars ❤Alex in Wonderland was such a great read,I was hooked from the beginning.I loved the plot so much it was different and refreshing .I was excited and I have a smile most of the time I was reading it.This was a dark romance with some really hot moments,a little bit of drama and some really funny moments.I loved Alex and Matt. Both characters intrigued me , I love Matt he likes to solve problems and he is intrigued from Alex,he wanted to take care of her.He is dark,hot,possessive and sweet 4 stars ❤Alex in Wonderland was such a great read,I was hooked from the beginning.I loved the plot so much it was different and refreshing .I was excited and I have a smile most of the time I was reading it.This was a dark romance with some really hot moments,a little bit of drama and some really funny moments.I loved Alex and Matt. Both characters intrigued me , I love Matt he likes to solve problems and he is intrigued from Alex,he wanted to take care of her.He is dark,hot,possessive and sweet.Alex is funny and adorable, I love that she was brave .Overall it was a great story,I enjoyed every part of it and I find it refreshing.I wish we can have more of Alex and Matt.    
    more
  • Paige
    July 26, 2017
    5 "What Would A Bad Guy Do" Stars#ManMonroeTwistedFairytales are my new favorite thing. So I love #MaxMonroeRomComs. I also really love the their stuff that makes me think (as well as laugh) - Sex Says - and I now find that they can write anything apparently because their dark minds might just be my favorite yet with Alex in Wonderland. This had some laughs, definately dark undertones and was seriously sexy. The build up to the actual event was some of the best non-sex sexytimes I've read in a l 5 "What Would A Bad Guy Do" Stars#ManMonroeTwistedFairytales are my new favorite thing. So I love #MaxMonroeRomComs. I also really love the their stuff that makes me think (as well as laugh) - Sex Says - and I now find that they can write anything apparently because their dark minds might just be my favorite yet with Alex in Wonderland. This had some laughs, definately dark undertones and was seriously sexy. The build up to the actual event was some of the best non-sex sexytimes I've read in a long time. And the story was just as phenominal. It kept me on the edge of my seat but gave me the romance I crave. Matt Hadder is at the top of the figurative food chain. He owns Wonderland Inc which is a money making and deal brokering organization that operates outside the law mascarading as a party planning company. He's ruthless with a reputation to go with it. That is until he meets Alex Little. She's the kind of desperate that does things purely for survival. That's how she finds herself at a low point in her life entertaining ungrateful children at a celebrities birthday party and running into Matt. When he offers her a job she knows nothing about, she takes it. Because she doesn't really have any other options. And what she finds opens her eyes. Good and Bad start to blur but falling in love with her boss might just be the stupidest things she's ever done. Or it could be the very best. I was swept away and into this story right from the beginning. The prologue gripped my heart in a way I didn't expect. Then watching Alex struggle and Matt dominate kept me transfixed. With just enough darkness to keep me guessing, enough to sexual tension to melt my Kindle and enough romance to make me swoon, I fell for Matt and Alex and I cannot wait to see what other kinds of dark stories Max and Monroe come up with. ARC provided to A is for Alpha B is for Books for honest review.
    more
  • Shayna
    July 25, 2017
    I'm COMPLETELY OBSESSED with this book...with these characters...with EVERYTHING that Max Monroe has to offer! ALEX IN WONDERLAND was a PHENOMENAL and SEXY twist to a fairytale we all know and love. This dynamic duo has taken us in a VERY different direction to what we are used to with them, and all I have to say is...I NEED MORE! Even though this is a different style of writing for Max Monroe, they still grace us with unforgettable characters, witty and comedic banter, and epic storylines. Now, I'm COMPLETELY OBSESSED with this book...with these characters...with EVERYTHING that Max Monroe has to offer! ALEX IN WONDERLAND was a PHENOMENAL and SEXY twist to a fairytale we all know and love. This dynamic duo has taken us in a VERY different direction to what we are used to with them, and all I have to say is...I NEED MORE! Even though this is a different style of writing for Max Monroe, they still grace us with unforgettable characters, witty and comedic banter, and epic storylines. Now, it just comes in a darker and more sinister package, that's all. "...doesn't it feel good to be bad sometimes, little one?" If you take anything away from this book at all, it will be the likes of Matt FUCKING Hadder! He is an UNBELIEVABLE character that you will FALL so damn hard for, I guarantee it! His profession might not all be that legal...he may be a bit on the POSSESSIVE side when it comes to his woman...and he has no qualms when it comes to getting his hands DIRTY, but GOD DAMN...this man is a FREAKING KING in my eyes. Matt Hadder is THE BEST character that Max Monroe has ever created, hands down! He just gives you that tingly sensation throughout your entire body when that man speaks. It's hard to explain, but trust me, he will make you rethink your current book boyfriend, FOR SURE! "He made me want to be bad. And fuck if that didn't feel good." I may sing MANY praises for our hero in ALEX IN WONDERLAND, but I can't leave out his better half, Alex Little. Another amazing character, with so much heart and fire in her...the absolute PERFECT MATCH for Matt Hadder. These two together was INSANE! This was a SCORCHER of a romance that you will never want to put down. It's full of twists and turns that you will not see coming. I devoured this in one setting, and I bet you will have to do the same. Max Monroe definitely sets the pages on FIRE with this latest release and I can't wait to see what they throw at us next!
    more
  • ✰ Bianca ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰
    July 25, 2017
    🐰🗝🐰🗝🐰🗝🐰🗝🐰🗝🐰🗝🐰🗝🐰🗝15 years ago Matt inherited a huge empire from his dad.Some might say it's a bit mafia-ish. Some might say it's downright criminal.But Matt says it's all just on this side of legal. Especially with all the people they're paying and blackmailing to look the other way.Officially, Wonderland, Inc. is a party planning business. But unofficially it's so much more.And all of Hollywood is neck-deep connected!Enter poor 25-year-old-just-fired-waitress Alex.She's on her way to a job that' 🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️15 years ago Matt inherited a huge empire from his dad.Some might say it's a bit mafia-ish. Some might say it's downright criminal.But Matt says it's all just on this side of legal. Especially with all the people they're paying and blackmailing to look the other way.Officially, Wonderland, Inc. is a party planning business. But unofficially it's so much more.And all of Hollywood is neck-deep connected!Enter poor 25-year-old-just-fired-waitress Alex.She's on her way to a job that's supposed to make her 500 easy dollars!Show up at this rich kids birthday party in Hollywood .... in a bunny costume!!!!That's where Matt and Alex meet for the first time ...And seeing how uncomfortable she is as that rabbit, Matt offers her a job at Wonderland, Inc.Not completely out of the goodness of his heart - he might also be afraid that Alex overheard a very sensitive conversation. But he's also extremely attracted!!!!WHAT WILL HAPPEN WITH ALEX & MATT?WILL THERE BE A HAPPILY EVER AFTER??? OR ARE WE ALL WAY TOO MAD FOR THAT!?READ THE BOOK TO FIND OUT! ☺══════════════════════ Huh!That was something completely new and different from our darling Max Monroe ladies!AND I LOVED IT!!!!!I was a bit scared at first ... not sure about the twisted dark romance part and the Alice in Wonderland connection. But it was an amazing book.I think, now that I'm done with it, I wish Max Monroe would've made a two or three-book thing out of it. There is sooo much going on in that Wonderland, Inc. world. We could've been thoroughly entertained for another book or two!BUT, the book was great as a single standalone book too.There was so much interesting stuff in here.Lots of dangerous moments. Exciting and mysterious and erotic and funny and criminal moments ... and so much more!I kinda already fell in love with Matt in the prologue. I might've even cried a little!And then we meet Alex, and she's just as adorably loveable!We just know that they belong together - even though they are at so completely different places in their lives. They just (watch out! Cheesy line coming:) THEY COMPLETE EACH OTHER! ☺Matt would've never thought that he could have something like that. Love.He loved his mom and his dad, but he never cared for anyone else. And then this pretty girl bounces into his dangerous world. And suddenly nothing is as it was before.And now they have to fight for their happy-ever-after-future.Because living in such a dangerous world comes with the appropriate enemies....Amazing book!Like I said before, I wouldn't have minded more about Alex and Matt. A trilogy even!!I kinda didn't love-love the fact that Matt is 15 years older than Alex. But pfff - it's ok. He needed to be a bit older to have gotten to where he is with his life.And another tiny little thing that bothered me a bit. But it could've been just my mood today - I had the feeling that the story was not as 'flowing' as I wanted it to be. I took some reading-breaks. I didn't have that I HAVE TO keep on reading thing going. I loved it very much and I wanted to know how it would end, but it didn't keep me on my couch without breaks. Ugh, that sounds weird somehow. Maybe I just wanted a bit more ... romance? Action? Depth? Aunt Dolores time? It's all in there, but I just wanted a tiny bit more of things. Also, in the beginning we meet all those guys in Wonderland, Inc., and I could not for the life of me, keep all those names in my head! I only knew who Cal was, but that was it. There were just too many people!!!Some people might find some moments in the book a tad too violent and or criminal. It didn't bother me - it's the world Matt lives in, it belongs in the book.BUT, please don't let me scare you away ... it was still an amazing book. Even if it was completely different from our darling Thatch!!! ☺ ALEX IN WONDERLAND was such a beautiful & twisted #LoveStoryFairyTale! A completely different kind of Max Monroe book! I absolutely loved it!Please run to your nearest amazon for your own Matt, because this one is MINE! ☺ ♡ ♡ ♡ ♡ 🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️🐰🗝️
    more
  • Beneath The Covers Blog
    July 27, 2017
    I'm certifiably crazy now. Nuts, deranged, wacko, insane....because this book just went berserk on my thoughts and emotions!Alex in Wonderland...there are literally not enough words I could use to describe how utterly fantastic this book is! The literary wonder that is Max Monroe has given us yet another brand-new taste of what transpires in their minds. If you've read their previous books, I can tell you right now that you will be blown away with this book, as well. It is NOTHING like what you' I'm certifiably crazy now. Nuts, deranged, wacko, insane....because this book just went berserk on my thoughts and emotions!Alex in Wonderland...there are literally not enough words I could use to describe how utterly fantastic this book is! The literary wonder that is Max Monroe has given us yet another brand-new taste of what transpires in their minds. If you've read their previous books, I can tell you right now that you will be blown away with this book, as well. It is NOTHING like what you've come to expect from these two brilliant authors.I'm going to be completely honest, this review is difficult to write without giving away major spoilers. I LOVED how this story was loosely based on Alice in Wonderland, but with it's own dark, dirty, and delicious twist...obviously. The storyline, along with the spectacular cast of characters, will grab your attention from the get-go, and keep you hooked until the very end. The undeniable attraction and chemistry between Alex and Matt was pure heat, scorching the pages with their passion and desires. This book is hot, it's enticing, and it will pique your own curiosity to know more about what lurks behind the curtain that is Wonderland.I fell into the proverbial rabbit hole that is Alex in Wonderland. I devoured this book, and you'll be just as transfixed as I was. We're all mad here, indeed!5+ delirious stars!*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.* ~Kelly
    more
  • Lacey (Booklovers For Life)
    July 27, 2017
    3.5-4 stars!! Loved the first half of the book, but towards the end it started getting rushed and a little overdramatic. Review to come!Thanks to the author for generously providing me an ARC to review.
  • Donna ~ The Romance Cover
    July 29, 2017
    Alex in Wonderland by Max Monroe4 stars!!! “Hell, maybe we’re all mad here.” Alex in Wonderland is Max Monroe’s up to date interpretation of our dear Alice, who found the ultimate fairy tale after following her rabbit. I chased my own rabbit from the first to last page of this read as Max Monroe kept me captivated from first to last page. Gone are the Mad Hatters and tea parties, in are a mafia type corporation, orgies and lots of drugs. Some might argue that Alice could have been high, but ou Alex in Wonderland by Max Monroe4 stars!!! “Hell, maybe we’re all mad here.” Alex in Wonderland is Max Monroe’s up to date interpretation of our dear Alice, who found the ultimate fairy tale after following her rabbit. I chased my own rabbit from the first to last page of this read as Max Monroe kept me captivated from first to last page. Gone are the Mad Hatters and tea parties, in are a mafia type corporation, orgies and lots of drugs. Some might argue that Alice could have been high, but our Alex was certainly not.Max Monroe had already warned us that this was a dark romance, a twisted fairy tale and they certainly delivered. Definitely not their norm and set in a world where I found myself at home. I love reading about the edgier, darker and grittier walks of life and I seriously loved this one. “I thought I knew Wonderland... But it turns out I can be wrong because I was just eight fucking inches deep inside it.” Alex was a woman that had moved away from her Aunt trying to find her place in the world, with a crappy apartment and a crappy job she finds herself propositioned at a time when she most needed it. Alex was a woman that surprised me, she was incredibly brave, maybe a little naïve in the first instance, but she soon finds her feet. Her curious nature makes her incredibly strong or maybe a little stupid but none the less she thrives in the new situation she finds herself in.Matt Hadder was a man you should be scared of and yet I wasn’t. I feel if we had been privy to how he got where he was today he may have taken a little longer to warm up to, but being thrown into the helpful, yet intimidating Matt Hadder, it only made him intriguing and yet extremely loveable. At no point in time did I forget what this man was capable of, but the way he treated Alex redeemed him on many levels. “I thought for sure you were an immaculate conception born of the devil himself.” This book will make you question your morals as the true nature of Wonderland Inc comes to life and how and what they do to achieve their goals. The problem is, the more I read, the more convinced I became that there are actually companies like this that exist. Politics and money go hand in hand as do ego’s and success, just depends what you are willing to do or give up to get there. This book does question your morals and that of others, but for fiction, it made for some very entertaining reading. “Special… Enough to taunt me. Enough to tease me. Enough to lure me in a way nothing has for forty years.” For a man that had never fallen in love, had never even looked a relationship in the face, Matt falls hard. It was great to read about how the love of a woman can change a person. Matt and his company would never be changed, if anything it was Alex that did the changing, but on an emotional level Matt evolved and all for the better. “Ah. But doesn’t it feel good to be bad sometimes, little one?” Yes, this was a dark read, not the darkest I have read, but at least a decent grey. The plot moved at a fast pace and it was this pacing that made this but unputdownable. From first to last page I was swept away with Alex and Matt’s story, and while at times it was a little predictable the execution was fantastic. I cannot wait to read more from this series.www.theromancecover.com
    more
  • ✰ BJ's Book Blog ✰Janeane ✰
    July 27, 2017
    ARC received for an honest review A dark retelling of Alice In Wonderland - sure, why not! Alex In Wonderland is a step away from the fun, flirty and sexy tales we have had from the dynamic duo that is Max Monroe to date, but change is a good thing! Alex Little really does fall down the rabbit hole when she meets Matt Hadder - and she took me all the way with her! Matt is all kinds of adorable - for a criminal/gangter/mob guy (not really quite sure how to describe Wonderland Inc). Yet he is swee ARC received for an honest review A dark retelling of Alice In Wonderland - sure, why not! Alex In Wonderland is a step away from the fun, flirty and sexy tales we have had from the dynamic duo that is Max Monroe to date, but change is a good thing! Alex Little really does fall down the rabbit hole when she meets Matt Hadder - and she took me all the way with her! Matt is all kinds of adorable - for a criminal/gangter/mob guy (not really quite sure how to describe Wonderland Inc). Yet he is sweet and kind and there is such a juxtaposition between the business man and Alex's man.Now I am not going to lie, I did get a little confused at times as there were so many characters involved (but that could just me and my bookzheimery brain) I had to keep stopping and remember who these people were - but I finally got my head around them all in the end!Don't go into this expecting a story like Wes, Thatch or Kline's. This is a dark-rom-com if that makes sense? However these Twisted Fairytale stories are going to be ones that I am really going to enjoy. I need more.
    more
  • Aurora (Whoo Gives A Hoot)
    July 26, 2017
    * Read more of my reviews at Whoo Gives A Hoot * I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review... Oh my goodness there's seriously not enough stars in the world for this intensively captivating tale. Growing up Alice in Wonderland was hands down one of my all-time favorite fairytales so when I discovered that Alex in Wonderland was a modern and darker twist of this classic tale I jumped at the opportunity to read it. I still can't believe that this was actually * Read more of my reviews at Whoo Gives A Hoot * I generously received this ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review... Oh my goodness there's seriously not enough stars in the world for this intensively captivating tale. Growing up Alice in Wonderland was hands down one of my all-time favorite fairytales so when I discovered that Alex in Wonderland was a modern and darker twist of this classic tale I jumped at the opportunity to read it. I still can't believe that this was actually my first Max Monroe read ever, but it certainly won't be my last.Right from the very beginning I was hooked and could hardly put this book down. The writing was absolutely phenomenal and I had so much fun discovering the connections from the characters in the original tale. In this story we've got Matt Hadder (Mad Hatter), Alex Little (Alice), Jessie Cat (Cheshire Cat) and Eric Queen (Queen of Hearts) just to name a few! I seriously loved getting to know some of my favorite characters in a new light. This story undoubtedly captured my full attention from start to finish and I knew that it was going to be one of my favorites of 2017, which is exactly what happened. If you are a fan of darker romance and twisted fairytale remakes then Alex in Wonderland needs to be on your e-reader today!
    more
  • Ginger Snaps
    July 26, 2017
    When Max Monroe announced this book is a dark romance and would be different from all of their previous books, they weren't kidding. I went into this book not sure if I would like it. The male protagonist, Matt Hadder is not an upstanding model of the community, but he is necessary to many people with questionable morals. He's a problem solver. He gets things done. He has no qualms about what he does or how he does it. Despite this, you'll have a hard time not falling for him anyway. Matt Hadder When Max Monroe announced this book is a dark romance and would be different from all of their previous books, they weren't kidding. I went into this book not sure if I would like it. The male protagonist, Matt Hadder is not an upstanding model of the community, but he is necessary to many people with questionable morals. He's a problem solver. He gets things done. He has no qualms about what he does or how he does it. Despite this, you'll have a hard time not falling for him anyway. Matt Hadder is taken with Alex from the first moment he sees her. But as they get to know each other, it isn't a case of her changing him. It's a question of whether or not she can understand his moral code and fit into it. While I was reading this, I got sucked in so completely that I found myself questioning the grey areas of morality myself if I were to find myself in the place of Alex. I absolutely LOVED Alex and her brave curiosity and refusal to stick her head in the sand while ignoring the things going on around her. She's a strong female character, which I always love in books I read. Fans of the Fairytale Alice in Wonderland will enjoy the little nods to the original, spread throughout the book.Final words? Yes this is a dark romance. If you're not used to dark romance, parts of this book could bring you out of your comfort zone, but maybe that's not a bad thing. Because Max & Monroe are a golden team and after reading this book, I'm sure they could tackle any genre and it would be a success. This is a standalone with an HEA and the first book in their new Twisted Fairytale Series. I can't wait to read the next one!I was generously provided an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Christy (CaptainReadsALot
    July 26, 2017
    Dude. DUDE! WHAT A TRIP! First, I'm a HUGE Alice in Wonderland fan. HUGE. I loved all the references to this beloved tale and the changes Max Monroe made to make things interesting. It was spot-on! Second, this book is not exactly what one would expect from previously reading this duo. Nope. It wasn't the light, fluffy, hilarious stuff. THIS IS NOT A NEGATIVE! If anything, it honestly makes me like them more. To see their depth, their total writing ability, is just amazing. Seriously. These char Dude. DUDE! WHAT A TRIP! First, I'm a HUGE Alice in Wonderland fan. HUGE. I loved all the references to this beloved tale and the changes Max Monroe made to make things interesting. It was spot-on! Second, this book is not exactly what one would expect from previously reading this duo. Nope. It wasn't the light, fluffy, hilarious stuff. THIS IS NOT A NEGATIVE! If anything, it honestly makes me like them more. To see their depth, their total writing ability, is just amazing. Seriously. These characters, their slow evolution over the story, their connection, growth, captivates you from the first word. I was sucked in and had to begrudgingly stop reading to feed my family ("Guys, there's cereal in the cabinet!" "But mom, that's not REAL food!" "FINNNNNNEEEEEEEE.")Anyway, this story is totally worth the wait. The hype. All the things. Read it. ***ARC provided - Review Voluntarily Given***
    more
  • Sarah - Musings of the Modern Belle
    July 28, 2017
    ***Available Now - Full Review***4 We're All Mad Here CROWNSI absolutely adore this twisted Fairy-tale retelling from Max Monroe. This romance had all the signature signs of one of their stories, unique humor and steamy chemistry, but it also took on a darker element in the form of Matt Hadder and Wonderland Inc, which I thoroughly enjoyed.This hero and his business are whre the darker aspect of this story are integrated. He is dangerous and mysterious, fulfilling the needs of the most elite. Hi ***Available Now - Full Review***4 We're All Mad Here CROWNSI absolutely adore this twisted Fairy-tale retelling from Max Monroe. This romance had all the signature signs of one of their stories, unique humor and steamy chemistry, but it also took on a darker element in the form of Matt Hadder and Wonderland Inc, which I thoroughly enjoyed.This hero and his business are whre the darker aspect of this story are integrated. He is dangerous and mysterious, fulfilling the needs of the most elite. His seemingly sinister nature is enticing, and underneath all the danger lies a man who opens his heart for the right person. His interactions with Alex are everything readers love about a bad boy. He is protective and passionate in his pursuit and claiming of her, and while he doesn't want her to change , he doesn't hide from her, which I found to be a refreshing change of pace.Alex is perfect as a new and refurbished Alice. She doesn't really fit in with society, even fleeing her hometown due to her feelings of isolation. Yet, even in her new town, she hasn't found her footing, very similar to that of Alice. When she meets Matt Hadder, though, her life seems to fall into place. She finds her niche and learns her preconceived notions about the world might not be so clear cut. Readers will love that she maintains all the essential parts of her character while growing and evolving to fit the life of Matt's world. Wonderland Inc. is perfect representation of the actual Wonderland. Behind the curtains, it is a land of fantasy and unbelievable options. Matt is a dream maker here, while also simultaneously running a shady business. It is here, amongst these people and the parties that Alex's lines begin to become blurred, and she learns that the world isn't so black and white. Readers will also enjoy the integration of character names and roles in the form of the secondary characters.The plot of this story will engage readers from the very beginning with Max Monroe blending humor with danger, making readers highly intrigued by Matt and leaving them with many questions about his profession. As his job is revealed and his interactions with Alex increase, so does the sexual tension between them. Once it ignites, it is a full explosion that simmers and burns, never extinguishing. Unlike their typical books, there is an element of danger and suspense that only serves to increase reader engagement, and this plot line played well with the plot of the actual Fairy-tale. The way the story is resolved is perfect, encapsulating the humor and the sexiness that readers have come to expect from these authors.Alex in Wonderland is a fantastic beginning to their new twisted Fairy-tale series. I like the change of trope and style for the authors, but I also love that it still contains their style and humor. It is certainly worth the trip down the rabbit hole.----------ARC in exchange for an honest review.For more reviews, and other book news, check out Musings of the Modern Belle at www.modernbellebooks.com--------Get your copy:iBooks: https://goo.gl/LzhaXLAMAZON: https://goo.gl/ptgvCxAMAZON UK: https://goo.gl/JS1rqHAMAZON AU: https://goo.gl/fyN787AMAZON CA: https://goo.gl/PWeogPKobo: https://goo.gl/UwJg5fNook: https://goo.gl/ACjMsXGoogle Play: Coming soon!
    more
  • Rebecca
    July 28, 2017
    Max Monroe’s carefully construction Wonderland, Inc. is definitely not Alice’s, but this darker and decadent version of the fairy tale world has Alex Little falling down a rabbit's hole and involved with a Mad Hatter of a more dangerous and deadly variety. It’s an environment where anything goes…where there’s no such thing as only good or only bad when it comes to the members of this organization…where its surface depicts one idea and then hidden beneath the veil is something entirely different. Max Monroe’s carefully construction Wonderland, Inc. is definitely not Alice’s, but this darker and decadent version of the fairy tale world has Alex Little falling down a rabbit's hole and involved with a Mad Hatter of a more dangerous and deadly variety. It’s an environment where anything goes…where there’s no such thing as only good or only bad when it comes to the members of this organization…where its surface depicts one idea and then hidden beneath the veil is something entirely different. The setting for Alex in Wonderland is not for children, not even the one that serves as the cover for a lot of the party hosts and guests' nefarious acts. Nevertheless, it is the one that Alex finds herself in when her job in a rabbit costume puts her in the path of Matt Hadder - the man at the helm of Wonderland, Inc. A man whose calm and controlled exterior conceals his ruthlessness and savagery. Matt rules with an iron fist and isn’t afraid to use fear, bribery, and blackmail to protect his clients, his employees, and even himself. Alex Little is a curious person by nature, so when she’s invited into Matt’s world and is introduced to its sexy and sinister ways, she has to decide if she can be part of an environment that blurs the lines of right/wrong, good/bad, and legal/illegal, and interestingly enough, this innocent and moral beauty understands why an organization like Wonderland exists and excels because it’s human nature to push boundaries, to live life on one’s own terms, and to revel in a level of debauchery than can only exist if there are willing participants, and what Alex realizes is that this alternate universe that Matt has built and molded can only thrive with the backing of powerful and wealthy people, proving without a doubt, that people are only a little mad!The path of Alex and Matt’s relationship doesn’t follow a straight line, which makes sense because, at first, they live in completely different worlds, but when a set of circumstances brings them together, what starts out as a potential liability becomes a connection that neither Alex nor Matt are willing to give up, despite her fear and his need to not show weakness as the head of a company that is ripe with deceit and has people looking to get ahead by any means necessary. Alex in Wonderland is strikingly different than what Max Monroe readers have come to expect from the sassy and hilarious writing duo, but the new world they introduce us to in their first twisted fairytale is just as enticing and dynamic as any of their other stories; in fact, there’s a depth to Alex and Matt’s story with its explanation of human nature and the gray area concerning the deeds of men that isn’t necessarily a component of their other series because the settings and feel of the books are completely different than the mysteriously dark world that Max Monroe creates in this latest release. And, with the titles of Max Monroe’s other twisted fairytales, I can’t wait to see what alternate universes they send readers to and how amazing it will be to explore these warped, adult versions of children’s classics. 4.5 Poison Apples (The Fairest of All Book Reviews)
    more
  • Three Chicks
    July 29, 2017
    Review by Lisa KaneWealth. Extravagance.Sophistication.Drugs. Alcohol. Pleasure.Dirty deeds. Owed favors. Greed.Good deeds Charities. Contribution.Alex in Wonderland is a unique take on the fairy tale Alice in Wonderland. While I'm used to laugh out loud reads from this duo, I have to say this dark read was a welcome change!Matt Hadder had an upbringing few ever experience. After the death of his parents, John Hadder raised him. He was the owner of Wonderland. An event planning company on the ou Review by Lisa KaneWealth. Extravagance.Sophistication.Drugs. Alcohol. Pleasure.Dirty deeds. Owed favors. Greed.Good deeds Charities. Contribution.Alex in Wonderland is a unique take on the fairy tale Alice in Wonderland. While I'm used to laugh out loud reads from this duo, I have to say this dark read was a welcome change!Matt Hadder had an upbringing few ever experience. After the death of his parents, John Hadder raised him. He was the owner of Wonderland. An event planning company on the outside, but one that specialized in money laudering and anything else people in need desired. Matt made a successful company into a billion dollar organziation. He trusts few and allows only those few into his circle. All I knew was that John Hadder had taken me under his wing. He'd raised me. Loved me. Given me a generous start in life. I owed him nothing but my gratitude. Alex Little is down on her luck. She needs money to pay the rent on her hole in the wall apartment. Dressing up as a rabbit for a kid's birthday party might be humiliating but it pays $500 for the gig. After enduring kicked shins by the little terrors, she enjoys a smoke break (ok, maybe she stole the smokes from one of the guys there, but a forbidden smoke is the best!) when her quiet is interrupted by a gorgeous stranger. But with a scar that ran through one eyebrow and a jaw so severe it alarmed me, he seemed equally sinister.Matt thinks Alex might have overheard some information that was never intended for public ears. Alex is intrigued, Matt is more than interested.Then, I was in LA.Falling downdown down down the rabbit hold into Wonderland. Alex needs a job, Matt needs to keep Alex close in case you did hear something. But things change-can two people so different have a relationship? Look for characters who will send chills up your spines. Evil truly lurks in this story, as well as passion and redemption. There's funny dialogue but for the most part, this is a serious Mafia like read about two broken souls finding that other piece of themselves they never knew they were missing. Sometimes, life handed you gold or it handed you shit, but no matter what, it always moved on.
    more
  • Kimberly / Love Notes Book Blog
    July 29, 2017
    3.75 stars. This was a really fun, light read! This is Alex and Matt's story. Alex Little is down on her luck. Living in LA, about to be evicted from her apartment, she accepts a job as a dressup bunny character at a lavish party. She hates the job, but it is there that she meets Matt Hadder. Matt runs a company, Wonderland, Inc., which is part party planning for the rich and part organized crime. He is intrigued by Alex and hires her for his company. They both feel a connection to each other ri 3.75 stars. This was a really fun, light read! This is Alex and Matt's story. Alex Little is down on her luck. Living in LA, about to be evicted from her apartment, she accepts a job as a dressup bunny character at a lavish party. She hates the job, but it is there that she meets Matt Hadder. Matt runs a company, Wonderland, Inc., which is part party planning for the rich and part organized crime. He is intrigued by Alex and hires her for his company. They both feel a connection to each other right away, but Matt is very mysterious, peaking Alex's curiosity. He leads her down a rabbit hole of wealth, excess, danger and sexiness. They fall for each other and decide it's best to be "mad" together.This book is supposed to be a dark romantic comedy, but it isn't very dark. It is so cute and funny. I loved all of the Alice in Wonderland references. There were so many little Easter eggs slipped into the story, from character names to places, etc. This book was a zany, silly, sexy romp of a story. I really liked Matt and Alex. The writing was good as well. My only complaint was that I felt like it was a little too light. I could have used a bit more emotion or depth. There was no angst or pushing away, which I do like, but there also wasn't much to make me feel much of anything. Still, this is a fun, enjoyable read. It definitely kept me entertained. In fact, it had a very cinematic quality. I can see this book as a movie one day. I look forward to more from this series (especially that there will hopefully be a story for Cal, Matt's right hand man). Overall, Alex in Wonderland is an easy, funny and light read! I look forward to more from the Twisted Fairytales series!*arc provided in exchange for an honest review*
    more
  • Nerdy Dirty & Flirty
    July 31, 2017
    Well, this was quite different than any other Max Monroe book, and I was pleasantly surprised. Matt Hadder owns Wonderland, Inc., officially a party planning business. Under the surface though, it's so much more. The business is Matt's whole world, until he meets Alex. The fate of her life is in his hands when he fears she may have over heard something she shouldn't have. Now it's a waiting game since he can't really come out and ask.Matt has done some very questionable things in his life. Busin Well, this was quite different than any other Max Monroe book, and I was pleasantly surprised. Matt Hadder owns Wonderland, Inc., officially a party planning business. Under the surface though, it's so much more. The business is Matt's whole world, until he meets Alex. The fate of her life is in his hands when he fears she may have over heard something she shouldn't have. Now it's a waiting game since he can't really come out and ask.Matt has done some very questionable things in his life. Business is going strong and a huge deal is in the works. As he falls for Alex, danger lurks in the shadows just waiting to strike. I do wish there was more revealed about his story growing up. I found myself questioning some things where he and his father were concerned.I loved Alex. She was a strong character and I didn't have any of those moments where I wanted to strangle her for decisions she was making. I enjoyed her back story and learning about the game she and her aunt played.Overall, I loved the story line and the dual pov it was written in. Alex and Matt made an excellent couple. She was strong enough to deal with everything that happened, which made her the perfect match for him. I truly enjoyed devouring this book and I can't wait for Cal's story!
    more
  • Megan (escapeintoabooksite)
    July 29, 2017
    ARC kindly received from the authors in exchange for an honest review. I'm honestly not really sure about how I feel about this book. I haven't finished the Billionaire Bad Boys series yet, but I have read their other books and really enjoyed them. This one I was intrigued with, but not as much as the others. I don't think I particularly like Matt. I liked it, but I wasn't keen on it. Not really 100% sure what to say.
    more
  • Kathleen Lynn
    July 28, 2017
    This was a good book with a strong h and an alpha H. Some has described this book as dark but I didn't think it was dark at all. It was sexy and a quick read :)
  • Paula
    July 30, 2017
    This book started out good but then it went to cheeseville. I had a hard time finishing it.
  • Jenny
    July 30, 2017
    Dark romantic comedy is a good way to put this story. I enjoyed the duo and there journey. Curious where the series goes.
  • Kelly Emery (Beneath The Covers Blog)
    July 27, 2017
    5+ stars...I need my own Matt Hadder, cause I'm in LOVE!!Full review can be found at Beneath The Covers Blog --> https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...*ARC provided in exchange for an honest review.*
  • Amy
    July 28, 2017
    Max Monroe fans accustomed to breezy and comedic Hot Romance Novels are in for a change of pace with Alex in Wonderland. This book has a darker edge to it - dare I say a welcome darker edge.Matt Hadder (GET IT) runs a company called Wonderland (GET IT) that caters to the various social needs of its clientele. It also launders their money, takes care of "problems" in a permanent manner, and wheels and deals in a variety of entrepreneurial efforts, one of which might just have to do with a preside Max Monroe fans accustomed to breezy and comedic Hot Romance Novels are in for a change of pace with Alex in Wonderland. This book has a darker edge to it - dare I say a welcome darker edge.Matt Hadder (GET IT) runs a company called Wonderland (GET IT) that caters to the various social needs of its clientele. It also launders their money, takes care of "problems" in a permanent manner, and wheels and deals in a variety of entrepreneurial efforts, one of which might just have to do with a presidential campaign.Alex Little (GET IT), meanwhile, finds herself in a bit of a spot. She lost her bartending job and is about to lose her studio apartment. She's so desperate that she agrees to dress as a bunny (GET IT) for a child's birthday party. One good thing that happens while she's there: she meets Matt.Trading as he does in some nefarious dealings, Matt may not, on the surface, be a good fit for our Alex. But nearly immediately, she realizes that he will protect her, and one thing Alex needs - whether she realizes it or not - is protecting.Even better, he can protect her with his naughty bits, if you know what I'm saying.Max Monroe play with Alice in Wonderland, riffing on Lewis Carroll's tale in a somewhat faithful way. Granted, Mr. Carroll probably never foresaw his book turned into a Hot Romance with thugs and strippers, but who's to say he absolutely didn't? The allusions are fun to spot, and Max (and) Monroe do a good job of incorporating them.I didn't always love Matt. For one thing, he's almost fifteen years older than Alex, and I'm kind of over the older-successful-man-loves-younger-naïve-girl trope. But I can overlook that because Matt, for all of his sinister behavior, is a good guy. He's loyal to his friends (unless he has reason not to be, in which case WATCH OUT), and he is absolutely besotted with Alex.What needs a little tweaking is the build-up of tension. It's almost absent in this book. Yes, you worry about a subplot involving some of Matt's enemies, but Max Monroe sort of rush through it. You don't have that sense that you absolutely must finish this book right now. You want to read it and you want to know what happens, but you don't feel a sense of urgency.The sexy times are scorching hot (thank you, Max and Monroe!) and will leave you breathless. I do love the way Max Monroe write the hot headboard rocking.I would love to tell you that Thatch is not mentioned in this book, but he does show up, albeit in the dedication. Maybe - and I say this with all the love I have for that character - he'll be absent entirely in the next book.
    more
  • Peggy Lee (Reading Keeps Me Sane Book Blog)
    July 30, 2017
    Max Monroe takes us for a walk on the darker side of life by blurring the lines between good and bad. I loved, loved, loved it! It was dark but romantic. Savage but sexy. Ruthless but heartfelt. I found myself tumbling down the Wonderland hole without any need for a safety net because Matt Hadder was there to catch us.Welcome to Wonderland, a "party planning" organization for every major player in the world with similarities to the mafia. Matt Hadder is Wonderland's ruthless, savage, and even br Max Monroe takes us for a walk on the darker side of life by blurring the lines between good and bad. I loved, loved, loved it! It was dark but romantic. Savage but sexy. Ruthless but heartfelt. I found myself tumbling down the Wonderland hole without any need for a safety net because Matt Hadder was there to catch us.Welcome to Wonderland, a "party planning" organization for every major player in the world with similarities to the mafia. Matt Hadder is Wonderland's ruthless, savage, and even brutal at times CEO. Alex Little is twenty-five and trying to make it on her own. She had a job as a bartender that she just lost before taking on a costume gig as a rabbit. She needs money fast to pay her rent. At her first birthday gig she ends up taking a break at the wrong place at the wrong time.Matt can't chance the possibility Alex may have heard more than her share of private information. He quickly catches up to her and after enjoying her snarky, quick wit he decides to take a chance on her. Alex finds herself in desperate need of a job after receiving a seven day eviction notice. She turns to Matt for a job which soon has her tumbling down the Wonderland rabbit hole. Wonderland is a contradiction. It's not black or white but lives in the gray, dirty deeds, owed favors, greed, good deeds, charities, contributions. Max is king (although someone is trying to dethrone him). He runs Wonderland with an iron fist. Alex tumbles her way into Max's world. She proves herself time and time again to Max. Soon becoming his weakness. When Alex is threatened Max goes all Alpha and blurs the lines for love. Alex in Wonderland is hard to put down. I loved the darker elements. I loved Alex and how she opened her mind to the possibilities. 5 Stars
    more
  • ViolinVixen
    July 28, 2017
    Whoa. We're not in Kansas any more kids! I knew Max Monroe could write hilarious comedy, filthy, but swoon worthy men and strong, sassy women, but when you add all that into the cauldron with a dash of organized crime, a fixed presidential election and a beloved fairy tale you get one mother effing twisted fairytale!!Matt Hadder is a not a bad guy, but often has to ask himself, what would a bad guy do to solve this problem...and then he solves it. He's a fixer, however often his fixing involves Whoa. We're not in Kansas any more kids! I knew Max Monroe could write hilarious comedy, filthy, but swoon worthy men and strong, sassy women, but when you add all that into the cauldron with a dash of organized crime, a fixed presidential election and a beloved fairy tale you get one mother effing twisted fairytale!!Matt Hadder is a not a bad guy, but often has to ask himself, what would a bad guy do to solve this problem...and then he solves it. He's a fixer, however often his fixing involves breaking people, but hey technicality.Alex finds herself in the wrong place at the wrong time in the absolute wrong outfit and it ends up changing her life forever.This rabbit hole isn't your grandmother's rabbit hole, so hang on for this wild ride. Sex, crime, murder, mayhem, bad guys, good guys, sweet girl, intense passion and of course they lived happily ever after. Well the ones that lived anyways...It'll take more than a spade to dig Alex out of this rabbit hole. Surrounded by jokers and jacks (as$es), this little sweet heart ends up being the wild card in this crazy club. How well can Matt bluff once his own deck is stacked against him and he's shown the world his tell. His weakness. His strength. His Alex.
    more
  • BookSmacked
    July 27, 2017
    Gladly fell down the rabbit hole with this book. I never thought I would see Dark and Rom Com in the same book, but it is Max Monroe and they find a way to put a unique twist on the fairytales that we read when younger. I'll be honest I was sure whether I could deal with the twist on the names in this book without thinking that they were a little too much and I had a bit of tough time with it at the beginning. But as the story continued I jumped head first into this story. It was unique, with a Gladly fell down the rabbit hole with this book. I never thought I would see Dark and Rom Com in the same book, but it is Max Monroe and they find a way to put a unique twist on the fairytales that we read when younger. I'll be honest I was sure whether I could deal with the twist on the names in this book without thinking that they were a little too much and I had a bit of tough time with it at the beginning. But as the story continued I jumped head first into this story. It was unique, with a devilishly hot Matt Hadder who does what he wants, when he wants and if you get in his way well you definitely won't be invited for tea. Alex she was pretty fierce and I loved that she was exactly what he needed. She fit so perfectly into his world and it had me feeling like these two are a force that could rule the world together. And let me tell you the sex was woah. Hot, intense, and Matt !!!! Oh my fuck. The desire, the lust it was heady it was fire. "So, call us whatever you want, but I know, when it comes to you and me, we motherfucking burn."Max Monroe will have you fucking skipping down the yellow twisted road and jumping head first down the rabbit hole with this deliciously sexy twist on a fairytale.
    more
  • Crystal's Book World ~ Crystal Cordova
    July 26, 2017
    Holy smokes Alex in Wonderland was such a great and capturing read! I love reading anything by Max Monroe. They make their book releases so fun and exciting that you go into reading their books ready to take on the twists and laughs that they have for you. Alex in Wonderland was phenomenal!!! Alex is a beautiful, strong, and sassy woman. I really did not see her true personality from the get go. Not only does she surprise the characters in the book with it, but also to the reader. I love how thi Holy smokes Alex in Wonderland was such a great and capturing read! I love reading anything by Max Monroe. They make their book releases so fun and exciting that you go into reading their books ready to take on the twists and laughs that they have for you. Alex in Wonderland was phenomenal!!! Alex is a beautiful, strong, and sassy woman. I really did not see her true personality from the get go. Not only does she surprise the characters in the book with it, but also to the reader. I love how this story gives you the unexpected. Not to mention the steamy hot sexy scenes that you get is more than a bonus ;)Matt is sexy as sin!! I was addicted to him and could not stay away. With that said, I read this book in one setting. I would book mark a chapter I would finish and put my Kindle down. Within minutes I had it back in my hands and continued on. I love this book!Alex in Wonderland is deviously HOT and has a twist for the life of the good, the bad, and the ugly. You will get your laughs in some parts, and then we get down to business. I love the way Max Monroe brings this story together with the right amount of drama and complexity! Alex in Wonderland will surely exceed your expectations!
    more
  • Nikki
    July 27, 2017
    Cheese and crackers. I had a feeling that I was going to love this book. Since the first time I read the blurb- I knew it was going to be a winner. I have loved every single books that Max Monroe has written, but I feel like this one was different from the others. Maybe it came just when I needed a break from whatever else I was reading, but it's quickly become a favorite. I LOVED the adaptation of the traditional characters into the ones in this story. I thought many of them were brilliant and Cheese and crackers. I had a feeling that I was going to love this book. Since the first time I read the blurb- I knew it was going to be a winner. I have loved every single books that Max Monroe has written, but I feel like this one was different from the others. Maybe it came just when I needed a break from whatever else I was reading, but it's quickly become a favorite. I LOVED the adaptation of the traditional characters into the ones in this story. I thought many of them were brilliant and very clever. Matt Hadder....he was to be feared. I really found him endearing. I wanted to like him. I wanted to get to know him better. Alex Little....oh, how I envy her. I found her to be a little naive. But, wasn't that kind of the point?I am a little bummed that this is a stand alone. I am more than thrilled that there are more fairytale adaptations in the works. I can not wait!!!I am an original Camp Counselor of CLY, so I did receive an advanced reader copy in exchange for an honest review.
    more
  • Sheila'S Book Corner
    July 30, 2017
    Let me say this First. Yes this is something new by Max Monroe. Yes the words Tad bit Dark was used but If you don't read this because you scared of the new adventure Max Monroe is taking us, you are gonna miss out on one of top 10 books this year. Alex in Wonderland was absolutely Amazing. Different in the best kind of ways. The Dialogue, Banter, Scene after Scene I was enthralled. This book was so addicting that I sat, started and never stopped reading till I reached the end. Matt and his love Let me say this First. Yes this is something new by Max Monroe. Yes the words Tad bit Dark was used but If you don't read this because you scared of the new adventure Max Monroe is taking us, you are gonna miss out on one of top 10 books this year. Alex in Wonderland was absolutely Amazing. Different in the best kind of ways. The Dialogue, Banter, Scene after Scene I was enthralled. This book was so addicting that I sat, started and never stopped reading till I reached the end. Matt and his love, trust and sincerity to Alex was so beautiful. I love from the first moment he saw even though it was an unconventional meeting, she captured his attention and the rest was really history. Alex knew exactly what Matt was and I fucking loved how she accepted him for who he is and never once tried to change him. This is really what adults Fairytales should be like. Matt was a Hero that sits in the top 10 of all time for me that is how much I loved him. Grab this book ladies I promise you that you will enjoy every second of this book.... Happy Reading!!!!
    more
  • Treena
    July 28, 2017
    I think you have to be in the right mood to read this book... that is, don't expect too much from it. You need to be in the mood for some brainless fun otherwise you'll definitely nit-pick the heck out of the holes in the story. (And boy, there are many!)I found myself finishing it rather quickly because it's a pretty fast paced book. The plot is not deep. You don't get too far into the thoughts or backgrounds or emotions of the MC's either. It's all very shallow and light... zero angst. Sweet V I think you have to be in the right mood to read this book... that is, don't expect too much from it. You need to be in the mood for some brainless fun otherwise you'll definitely nit-pick the heck out of the holes in the story. (And boy, there are many!)I found myself finishing it rather quickly because it's a pretty fast paced book. The plot is not deep. You don't get too far into the thoughts or backgrounds or emotions of the MC's either. It's all very shallow and light... zero angst. Sweet Valley High/Sweet Dreams books had more angst and drama, tbh. I like the "twist" Max Monroe put on these fairytales --- because for something that is supposedly "dark", the story ended up being sweet and oddly quirky. I will for sure check out the next book in this series.
    more
  • Saniya
    July 30, 2017
    this one was totally unexpected....the story was intense and full of emotions that were least expected. Matt was more intense that most heroes in mafia romance and that I liked the most. I also liked how elated he felt when Alex was casually smacking him on the chest or his shoulder ( very few guys take it sportingly in real life).loved the story. totally worth it
    more
Write a review