The Caretaker (The Sin Bin, #2)
Nurse Freddie Whittle devotes every fibre of his being to his work with cancer patients. Their pain weighs heavily on his shoulders. Between losing clients, the expectations of his fathers, and bigot neighbours, he’s slowly reaching his breaking point.Taine Afoa retires from a storied career as an international rugby star. He’s moved away from London for a change of pace, never expecting to meet a man who’s far too young for him. No matter how hard he tries, it’s impossible to get Freddie out of his mind.Will Taine's resistance dissolve in time for him to give love the chance to flourish?

The Caretaker (The Sin Bin, #2) Details

TitleThe Caretaker (The Sin Bin, #2)
Author
Formatebook
ReleaseJul 8th, 2017
PublisherHot Tree Publsihing
Rating
GenreRomance, M M Romance, Sports and Games, Sports, Did Not Finish

The Caretaker (The Sin Bin, #2) Review

  • Kim Shofner
    July 16, 2017
    Another sweet book from this author. Freddie and Taine's story is full of sweet moments except for the one time Taine is a complete jerk. Both men have a lot of things happening in their life and they seek solace in each other. Taine is a retired rugby player. He's drifting from charity event to charity event. His former teammates are concocting all kinds of ideas for their future. But Taine just feels a little lost and unsure of what to do. Until he meets Freddie outside of a patients room. The Another sweet book from this author. Freddie and Taine's story is full of sweet moments except for the one time Taine is a complete jerk. Both men have a lot of things happening in their life and they seek solace in each other. Taine is a retired rugby player. He's drifting from charity event to charity event. His former teammates are concocting all kinds of ideas for their future. But Taine just feels a little lost and unsure of what to do. Until he meets Freddie outside of a patients room. The little nurse intrigues him. Freddie is a nurse for cancer patients. His job is rarely rewarding but when he can help save a patient his life is awesome. After a bad week where he lost a young patient Freddie is forced on a vacation. His friends and a coworker have conspired against him to get Taine to the train station. He had planned to go alone, but he's thankful for Taine's company. The two men get closer throughout the journey. All through this book the men face meddling friends, irate dads, an extensive age difference, and prejudice punks. The age difference is the only thing that almost rips them apart. Freddie and Taine are one of my favorite couples in this series. I look forward to the next book. Can't wait til to see what this author does next.
    more
  • Sassy Southern
    July 24, 2017
    In the Caretaker, Dahlia Donovan continues her Sin Bin series with Taine and Freddie's story. If you enjoyed book one, with all it's banter and fun, you'll enjoy this one as well. There are moments that will have you laughing and feeling right along with the characters. These two guys are going to have you turning the pages trying to find out how they come together and what happens next. There are plenty of sweet moments, and some where it will kick you right in the feels. These two men have a l In the Caretaker, Dahlia Donovan continues her Sin Bin series with Taine and Freddie's story. If you enjoyed book one, with all it's banter and fun, you'll enjoy this one as well. There are moments that will have you laughing and feeling right along with the characters. These two guys are going to have you turning the pages trying to find out how they come together and what happens next. There are plenty of sweet moments, and some where it will kick you right in the feels. These two men have a lot going on in their lives and find a solace in each other. These two topped the last book for me. Can't wait to see what comes next. - By Cat
    more
  • Bobbi Wagner
    July 8, 2017
    The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book 2) by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in her The Sin Bin series. This is a standalone book but I suggest that you read the first book in this series first as it will give you some background information on these characters that will make the story flow for you better. This story is about two people who come from different backgrounds but yet find a connection with each other. One thing that I enjoy about this author is how she has the ability to bring characters The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book 2) by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in her The Sin Bin series. This is a standalone book but I suggest that you read the first book in this series first as it will give you some background information on these characters that will make the story flow for you better. This story is about two people who come from different backgrounds but yet find a connection with each other. One thing that I enjoy about this author is how she has the ability to bring characters from her previous books into this one. Her characters are true to life and you will find yourself connecting with them. They will take you on a roller coaster ride of various emotions from laughter to compassion to just sweet romance. Find out how these characters connect even though they are opposites.Freddie Whittle is a nurse that devotes his life to his job working with cancer patients. The pain of losing patients, expectations of his fathers, bigot neighbors weigh heavily on his shoulders. He is slowly losing reaching a breaking point. Taine Afoa is a retired international rugby star. For a change of pace he has moved away from London. He never expected to meet someone who was far to young for him. He tries really hard to get him out of his mind but it feels like impossible. Will he get his resistance to dissolve in time so that they can have a future? Freddie and Taine's relationship is one where they find a connection even through they are not from the same side of the tracks. The more they talk and spend time together the deeper the attraction becomes. Will their feelings bring them together or will it tear them apart? What will happen when they start spending time together? These are two strong characters that will pull you into their world. They are put through life struggles that make them even stronger as a person. One is old and one is younger but they seem to complement each other and are good for each other. You will enjoy some of the secondary characters more then other in this book. Some are supportive and others are just plain trying to stop fate. I wish that the characters where a little more supportive to these characters. Will they finally find their happiness or will they let other dictate how their relationship will work? This is my second book by Dahlia Donovan and I can't wait to see what she will come out with next for us. Her writing style is creative and engaging. Dehlia's first series came from a dream about shifters and damsels in distress. She prefers to write about irreverent humor and unconventional characters. Her life wouldn't be complete without her husband and her massive collections of books and video games. You will enjoy how the story she has created is fast paced and engaging until the end. They will pull you into their M/M relationship that will leave you wanting more from them. I had a hard time putting this book down and I think that you will too. I highly recommend this book as I think you will enjoy this two characters as much as I have.
    more
  • Laura Furuta
    July 8, 2017
    The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book 2)By: Dahlia Donovan5 out of 5 starsThe story The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book 2) by Dahlia Donovan is a wonderful story of two people who come from different backgrounds and find they have a connection. This is the story of Freddie Whittle and Taine Afoa. When they meet there is an attraction between them. As they learn more about each other this attraction only grows stronger. Taine soon finds himself not able to think of anything else but Freddie. When times get The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book 2)By: Dahlia Donovan5 out of 5 starsThe story The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book 2) by Dahlia Donovan is a wonderful story of two people who come from different backgrounds and find they have a connection. This is the story of Freddie Whittle and Taine Afoa. When they meet there is an attraction between them. As they learn more about each other this attraction only grows stronger. Taine soon finds himself not able to think of anything else but Freddie. When times get tough and people get in the way will their feelings for each other bring them closer together or will their relationship fall apart?This is the second book in the Sin Bin series and the second book I have read by the author. It only reinforces that she is an amazing author who creates beautiful stories and wonderful characters. I really like Freddie. He is a person with a big heart and is always there for the needs of his patients. He works with patients with cancer which means that he deals with sadness all the time and tries to make them feel special. Freddie is someone who takes the death of a patient very hard. When he first meets Taine he is attracted to him and does think of him, however, his job seems to be overwhelming him. When a situation arises that causes Freddie to leave on vacation he finds that Taine is coming along with him. How far will their relationship develop? Freddie has people in his life that say they are looking out for him, Freddie thinks they are smothering him. Will they put an end to any relationship between these two?Taine is a retired international rugby star. He first sees Freddie when he is visiting the cancer ward of the hospital that Freddie works for. When they finally meet face to face Taine is interested. However, the age difference between himself and Freddie at first causes him to hold back. Then he is convinced that he needs to go to the Netherlands with Freddie. After they return a situation comes up that causes Taine to shut down. He knows that he should contact Freddie, however, can’t seem to make himself make that call. What will happen to this couple? Will Taine finally act on his deep feelings for Freddie and not let anything or anyone get in the way of their happiness?This story chronicles two people falling for each other and the obstacles they face. It also shows the ugly side of hate and deals with people who have no tolerance for those who are different from themselves. What Freddie has to endure by these ugly people left me angry and frustrated. I also felt happiness for both Freddie and Taine and rooted for their getting their happy ending. I can’t wait to read the next book in the series. This story does include adult situations which would make it a book for those 18 years of age or older.
    more
  • Angela Shirley
    July 27, 2017
    The Caretaker is a love story following the lives of Freddie and Tiane, with the ups and downs that their relationship has over the cause of the story.Freddie is a fun loving guy who has a tough job in being a nurse who deals with the terminally ill patients. He has have a tough life being bullied due to the fact he had two fathers, although he had love in his life from those two strong men, their family pushed against convention and that is what his peers could not stand.While making a stand ag The Caretaker is a love story following the lives of Freddie and Tiane, with the ups and downs that their relationship has over the cause of the story.Freddie is a fun loving guy who has a tough job in being a nurse who deals with the terminally ill patients. He has have a tough life being bullied due to the fact he had two fathers, although he had love in his life from those two strong men, their family pushed against convention and that is what his peers could not stand.While making a stand against his overbearing fathers he moved to Cardiff where he has the same bullying by every time it seems he has some unmentionable disgusting vile words written over his car or his front door, this morning was no different. Plastered on his Mini was the vile words relation to his sexuality, Freddie reports the act to the police but is under no illusion that they will be caught. So Freddie goes along with his job and drives to his patient Graham in Cornwall, he enjoyed visiting Graham as he could stop in on the way to visit his parents.Tiane is a rather large retired rugby player who enjoys his life and his hamster, yes you read right a Hamster called Speedy. Tiane has decided to take a journey to see his team mate BC and his partner in Cornwall. So as Tiane gets comfortable in the bed and breakfast along come a bright green mini. As Freddie gets out of his car he is bombard by these hunky man who are causing regarding the state of the car and wondering if Freddie has reported the shameful words plastered on the side of it.Freddie assures the guys that he has reported it to the police and that he will get the repairs done when he gets back to Cardiff, while Freddie is looking after BC’s partner Graham he feels eyes following him and when he turns around Tiane is starring at him with lust in his eyes.Tiane has always be Bio curious and has enjoyed relationships with both sexes, but he has never had such draw to one person so Freddie is special to him and he does not want to scare him off. Although Tiane feels these feelings his is fully aware of the age difference, so he treads carefully.As the story continues you understand that within Freddie’s life he has wanting to live life but has not found the right partner to do this with and with the constant overbearing parent he has never had a relationship which lasts. Tiane is a little worried about the age difference but he has never let what other people think put him off getting what he wants. So when he decides to follow Freddie on holiday there whole world turns upside down.This is the second book in the Sin Bin series and also the second book I have read by this author, I enjoy the way the author creates great characters who you can relate too. I enjoy the way she writes these macho alpha men who have these soft loving side. I can not wait to read more stories in this series and more books by this author.
    more
  • Kerry Baker
    July 24, 2017
    The follow up story to the fantastic Wanderer, The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the next in the Sin Bin series. This time it follows the story of Grahams nurse Freddie and his decadent interest, Tens. Freddie tries to look at the positive side to life. Working with young cancer patients can make this a hard task for sure. Especially when he loses someone he is fighting hard for. Needing to reassure himself he goes to visit Graham, one of his successful patients, in an attempt to remind himself The follow up story to the fantastic Wanderer, The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the next in the Sin Bin series. This time it follows the story of Grahams nurse Freddie and his decadent interest, Tens. Freddie tries to look at the positive side to life. Working with young cancer patients can make this a hard task for sure. Especially when he loses someone he is fighting hard for. Needing to reassure himself he goes to visit Graham, one of his successful patients, in an attempt to remind himself that not everyone is lost.He unexpectedly meets the gorgeous Tens, one of BC’s old rugby teammates. Although definitely attracted to him he leaves without any further word from the man that he may be interested. Disappointed, sure, but he can’t miss what he never had.“In the deeper parts of his heart – the ones he usually ignored – he knew this could be different.”Shocked by his attraction to the younger man, Tens vows to himself he will stay away from him. And yet he finds himself doing the exact opposite. Pulled in by Freddie’s exuberance Tens finds himself thinking about more for the first time.And yet he cannot quite overlook the age difference between them, even while he tells himself that it should matter.“We’re family son. We share – the good and the bad. One day you’ll learn you don’t have to smile for us.”When things get a bit too intense, Tens walks away, leaving a bewildered Freddie behind to try and figure out what happened. But when he least expects it advice from someone close to him might be just what Ten’s needs to finally wake up and realise what it is he left behind.This book was, for me, even better than the first. I fell just a little more in love with Freddie and Tens than I did with BC and Graham. Their chemistry and compatibility was evident right from their first meeting and I instantly felt comfortable with them as a couple. An absolutely great pairing the two stole my heart. I cannot wait to see what is next from this series – hopefully a little bit of Scottie!
    more
  • Chanah Dickson
    July 30, 2017
    I have been readily waiting on book 2 in the Sin Bin series from Dahlia Donovan after meeting nurse Freddy in book 1 when he he was a tour of strength as the much loved Cancer nurse but here he takes centre stage and we learn everything that makes the Caretaker tick. Frederick Whittle grew up with two dads which made life in his small village pretty hard for an only child especially when you have two very overprotective fathers to contend with. After making the move to Cardiff to finally gain so I have been readily waiting on book 2 in the Sin Bin series from Dahlia Donovan after meeting nurse Freddy in book 1 when he he was a tour of strength as the much loved Cancer nurse but here he takes centre stage and we learn everything that makes the Caretaker tick. Frederick Whittle grew up with two dads which made life in his small village pretty hard for an only child especially when you have two very overprotective fathers to contend with. After making the move to Cardiff to finally gain some independence and hopefully start living his own life. While caring for Travel journalist Graham he met some great guys but one always stood out to him, but my god Taine was so out of his league he never thought twice on it until one day the normal banter between them seems to go to a whole new level that sees them sharing a holiday abroad. Taine Aphwa recently retired from a very successful career in rugby but it has caught up with him it's definitely time to have a life now. His friends from his rugby days are all on the same page as him so finding things to do is never a problem there's always someone to catch up with, but why does he still feel there's something missing? In walks Frederick and although Taine is hung up in the huge age difference he can't deny his attraction isn't going anywhere. After a brief flirting session and a huge interference from his meddling friends he finds himself spending a crazy few days on holiday with the lovely nurse that leaves him wanting so much more than he thinks he can offer especially when not everyone agrees with the age gap in the relationship. A brilliant follow up to book - that left me wanting again. You have definitely converted me as far as m/m books are concerned I can't wait to read more from these fantastic characters Dahlia Donovan brought to life. Wish I could give you more than the 5 star rating.
    more
  • Julie
    July 29, 2017
    The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is a five star novel that you will not want to put down. This is the second novel in the Sin Bin series. It could be read as a standalone although I recommend the first book as it is a great read as well and develops two of the characters that takes part in this novel. Rainey Afoa also known as Tens is a former rugby player. Tall, built, and dark complected from his father’s Maori roots, he is a force to be reckoned with. Women and men love him alike and he is not The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is a five star novel that you will not want to put down. This is the second novel in the Sin Bin series. It could be read as a standalone although I recommend the first book as it is a great read as well and develops two of the characters that takes part in this novel. Rainey Afoa also known as Tens is a former rugby player. Tall, built, and dark complected from his father’s Maori roots, he is a force to be reckoned with. Women and men love him alike and he is not one to discriminate either. His last relationship, with a girl named Claire, ended after a battle to get him to settle down. He didn't consider himself afraid of commitment, just felt like she wasn't his one and only. He heads out to visit his friends at their inn for the weekend and finds himself face to face with a hot nurse he saw on the cancer ward at the hospital the other day. He is only on the cancer ward of the hospital to try to cheer up the kids with his former rugby life. But Freddy, the nurse, is here for the long haul. Taine can see the pain in his eyes that he carries with him from the loss of some of his patients. Freddy shows up to look in on Graham who had a bout of cancer last year. He enjoys going to see his patients at their homes so that he can see them comfortable in their environment. He can't keep his eyes off Taine. Although Taine is handsome and built, he is also intriguing even though Freddy can't put his finger on why. Then the next morning, as Freddy is visiting with his fathers, he gets a frantic call from Graham saying they need his skills and medicine for a bunch of hungover older guys. He jumped at his chance to go to see Taine again and Taine asks for his number. As Freddy is excited, he is also nervous. Taine is much older than him but how can he avoid him? Taine also has these same doubts about any kind of relationship but also knows he will not be able to stay clear of Freddy forever.
    more
  • books are love
    July 10, 2017
    This book was just as wonderful as the wanderer. I love how mature Freddie was for his age. How he had a purpose and had such a open and caring soul. He understood where Taine was coming from and had patience for him. How he had kindness in his soul and how it hurt to him to see others in pain. How caring and compassionate he was. I loved his love of cheese.Taine I loved the journey he went on to acceptance of love in his life even when it wasn’t from where expected. I love how he gave space to This book was just as wonderful as the wanderer. I love how mature Freddie was for his age. How he had a purpose and had such a open and caring soul. He understood where Taine was coming from and had patience for him. How he had kindness in his soul and how it hurt to him to see others in pain. How caring and compassionate he was. I loved his love of cheese.Taine I loved the journey he went on to acceptance of love in his life even when it wasn’t from where expected. I love how he gave space to Freddie’s parents when warranted but when he realized he messed up he fixes it. He sees that Freddie is what has him live and feel free again. He loves taking care of Freddie and having acceptance from him. I love how he gains perspective and sees the love he has unconditionally from those around him and from the priest who helps him find his way once more. The group of friends Taine has and how entertaining they are but also supportive helps Taine on his journey as well. On his journey to finding himself and what he wants. On his journey of love and support. Seeing Freddie and Taine take care of one another and support each other is wonderful. Watching them fall in love and learn about each other beautiful. I was saddened by Freddie’s parents and how they first took to Taine. It was a little overprotective and almost set back both Freddie and Taine. Taine lost himself for awhile due to this but he did find his way with the help of his friends and the priest who adopted him and accepted him with open arms and love.A wonderful story on acceptance, love and finding the one you are meant to be with and fighting for them. Of showing patience and kindness. A great second story in this series that has you laugh, smile and cry but most of all feel the love and acceptance from the characters towards one another.
    more
  • Maura
    July 19, 2017
    The Caretaker – The Sin Bin Book 2 by Dahlia Donovan – 5 starsThe Caretaker is book 2 in the Sin Bin Series and can be read as a stand-alone. There are characters from other stories Ms. Donovan has written, but I think they are explained well enough that you will be able to enjoy the story if you’ve never read the previous stories.Taine “Tens” Afoa is a silver fox. He’s a retired rugby player who still has an amazing body, a love of life, and a desire to continue coaching rugby and bring his lov The Caretaker – The Sin Bin Book 2 by Dahlia Donovan – 5 starsThe Caretaker is book 2 in the Sin Bin Series and can be read as a stand-alone. There are characters from other stories Ms. Donovan has written, but I think they are explained well enough that you will be able to enjoy the story if you’ve never read the previous stories.Taine “Tens” Afoa is a silver fox. He’s a retired rugby player who still has an amazing body, a love of life, and a desire to continue coaching rugby and bring his love of the game to others. Freddie “Frederick” Whittle is a 26 year old “hospice” type nurse for cancer patients. He is kind and compassionate and the kind of nurse you want taking care of your beloved family member. Taine and Freddie have different life experiences and Taine is worried about what this May-December relationship would look like to others. There are just so many aspects of this story that I enjoyed. The relationship between Freddie and his dads cracked me up. So typical of helicopter parents worrying about their offspring. Taine and his friends’ relationships are strong. They are supportive and kind until they need to be the ones to kick someone in the butt to get a move on in life.Dahlia Donovan writes a story that has a natural flow and ebb to it. It’s not all butterflies and rainbows, there are real world problems in this story as well, and she allows us (the reader) to see inside the character’s mind to understand what they are thinking.This was an enjoyable read that I was able to read in one sitting. I would recommend this series to a friend and pretend that I flipped over the sex scenes when we sat down to chat about the books. Hehehe
    more
  • Dawn Daughenbaugh
    July 13, 2017
    5 star The Caretaker  (The Sin Bin Book 2) By: Dahlia Donovan The Caretaker By Dahlia Donovan is the second book in The Sin Bin series.This story is about Freddie Whittle and Taine Afoa who both come from two completely different  backgrounds. Freddie is a  nurse  who works with patients with cancer and he is always there for the needs of those patients, he has such a big caring heart.when one of his patients loses there battle he takes it very hard.When he first meets Taine he is attracted to h 5 star The Caretaker  (The Sin Bin Book 2) By: Dahlia Donovan The Caretaker By Dahlia Donovan is the second book in The Sin Bin series.This story is about Freddie Whittle and Taine Afoa who both come from two completely different  backgrounds. Freddie is a  nurse  who works with patients with cancer and he is always there for the needs of those patients, he has such a big caring heart.when one of his patients loses there battle he takes it very hard.When he first meets Taine he is attracted to him and often finds himself thinking about Taine,but with his overwhelming job he just can't go there.After a situation arises and Freddie is told to take a vacation he has no idea Taine is coming along.Taine is a retired international rugby star,when he first sees Freddie at the hospital on the cancer wing,he's intrigued. But when they finally meet, he's definitely interested but the age difference definitely bothers him alot.After he is convinced to tag along with Freddie on his vacation to the Netherlands, he changes his mind and they both enjoy getting to know each other. Freddie finds himself doing things he only ever imagined doing.After there week together and coming back to reality a situation comes sbout.Freddies father's are not at all happy with the much older guy and their son . Freddie is heartbroken when Taine doesn't contact him after a couple of months of both of the moping around their buddies step in.Can Taine get over the age difference? Can Freddie dad's get over the age difference and be happy their son has found someone who makes him happy?  I loved this book I've grown quite fond of the author  I love her style of writing. This book captured my attention from the beginning to the end. I highly recommend this book.
    more
  • Sarahe32
    July 10, 2017
    The Caretaker is book 2 in the Sin Bin series by Dahlia Donovan. Freddie Whittle is about to break, he is a nurse who cares to much about his cancer patients, he feels far too much when they sadly pass away, he wants to seek approval from his father in everything he does, and he lives in a neighbourhood that are anti-gay. All he wants is to be happy and people keep bringing him down.Taine Afoa is a retired rugby player, no longer liking the life in London he wants to move to a place he can relax The Caretaker is book 2 in the Sin Bin series by Dahlia Donovan. Freddie Whittle is about to break, he is a nurse who cares to much about his cancer patients, he feels far too much when they sadly pass away, he wants to seek approval from his father in everything he does, and he lives in a neighbourhood that are anti-gay. All he wants is to be happy and people keep bringing him down.Taine Afoa is a retired rugby player, no longer liking the life in London he wants to move to a place he can relax and unwind, being an international rugby star brings a lot of attention, attention that Taine needs that break from. There is an instant connection between Freddie and Taine. Beings from opposite sides of the tracks puts a strain on these two men, but they realise the more they take and listen to each other the more this divide does not matter. Will they get together? Will people keep them apart? Will Freddie break? Will Taine pick up the pieces?Dahlia Donovan has written a beautiful story full of conflict, lust and love. This is the second book in the series I have read and they are both an excellent as each other. The characters she creates are strong in their own rights, they might not be the dictionary definition but mentally and spiritually they are as strong as can be. You are instantly draw to both the characters and get sucked into the Sin Bin world. Once you start reading this book you will struggle to put it down. If you like M/M or this is your first time, I would recommend this book, I found it a nice ice breaker into a whole new world of books for me. I rate this book 5 stars, I can’t wait to see what Dahlia brings us next.
    more
  • Emma
    July 8, 2017
    The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in The Sin Bin Series. Dahlia Donovan is an extremely wonderful and talented author. The way she has wrote The Caretaker has taken a new meaning to male/male relationships and falling in love with the same sex. Not only has she created something so beautiful between her characters in this novel, but she has thrown in the challenges that any male/male couple would face in today’s society with unaccepting and judgmental people. Dahlia Donovan is q The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in The Sin Bin Series. Dahlia Donovan is an extremely wonderful and talented author. The way she has wrote The Caretaker has taken a new meaning to male/male relationships and falling in love with the same sex. Not only has she created something so beautiful between her characters in this novel, but she has thrown in the challenges that any male/male couple would face in today’s society with unaccepting and judgmental people. Dahlia Donovan is quickly changing the way the genre is perceived and it’s a good thing because now more people will want to read this genre and find that it is as beautiful as any romance story out there. Step into a new story and adventure with The Sin Bin characters because they are unique and intriguing.Everyone deserves to find love. Why can’t it be with someone that understands you and cherishes you for who you are? Freddie is a wonderful person that tries to take care of his terminally ill patients and give them hope when they feel like there is none. Taine or Tens to those that know him has seen what Freddie is about at the hospitals with the children in the cancer wards. Who says you have to fall in love with someone your own age? When Freddie loses one of his youngest patients yet, they go off on holiday an fall in love. Will their families be accepting of their choices or will the world tear them apart?
    more
  • Kelli
    July 31, 2017
    Book Review: The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book Two)Author: Dahlia DonovanFIVE STARSDahlia Donovan is a romance writer and prefers irreverent humour and unconventional characters.I was excited to read this book as it continues with the nurse, Freddie, who took care of Graham in book one and Taine, who is a friend of BCs.. It is very tastefully written and it is a true love story. I laughed along with the characters and I cried even when they kept strong.This book will definately pull at your hearts Book Review: The Caretaker (The Sin Bin Book Two)Author: Dahlia DonovanFIVE STARSDahlia Donovan is a romance writer and prefers irreverent humour and unconventional characters.I was excited to read this book as it continues with the nurse, Freddie, who took care of Graham in book one and Taine, who is a friend of BCs.. It is very tastefully written and it is a true love story. I laughed along with the characters and I cried even when they kept strong.This book will definately pull at your heartstrings, the things that Freddie has to deal with on a day to day basis for his job as a nurse to cancer patients. Taine is unsure of things with Freddie because of the age difference but there is just something there that draws him to Freddie even more. This book is full of romantic and well thought out ideas.Both Freddie and Taine's friends are pulling for the relationship to grow and thrive. While on an impromtu trip to Amsterdam, the pair delve into the romance and the events that follow are so heartwarming and sincere. The heart does speak much louder than the mind in most cases. The saying is true. Follow your heart.I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did and I am looking forward to reading the Sin Bin Book Three in the very near future. Thank you Dahlia Donovan for a wonderful look into the lives of Freddie and Taine.Kelli Harper
    more
  • Kathy Wideman
    July 8, 2017
    I love Dahlia’s books and this one was no different. I have read almost every book she has written and always look forward to a new one by her. This is the second book in this series and I think they need to be read in order. Freddie is a nurse for cancer patient and loves his job. However, the recent loss of patients, his bigot neighbors, and other stress has him near his breaking point. Taine is a rugby player who recently retired and moved away from London for some peace and quiet. He never e I love Dahlia’s books and this one was no different. I have read almost every book she has written and always look forward to a new one by her. This is the second book in this series and I think they need to be read in order. Freddie is a nurse for cancer patient and loves his job. However, the recent loss of patients, his bigot neighbors, and other stress has him near his breaking point. Taine is a rugby player who recently retired and moved away from London for some peace and quiet. He never expected to find a man who’s far too young for him but that he desperately wants. When Taine finally gets up the nerve to ask out Freddie they will have their share of bumps in the road to overcome. Both men have their own worries about being together but will the way they feel about each other be enough to see them through? Both Freddie and Taine are great characters. This book also links to After the Scrum by Dahlia. I recommend reading this book as well but not necessarily before the first book in this series. This book does take you on a bit of an emotional rollercoaster. I felt for both men and how neither was completely secure and they had worries. I feel it made them more believe able. I can’t wait to read the next book in this series and see who falls in love next and read their journey.I was given this book in return for an honest review.
    more
  • Sunday
    July 28, 2017
    The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan Five StarsThe Caretaker is the second book in the Sin Bin Series by Dahlia Donovan. I love the way that Ms. Donovan portrays the characters in this series. I have to admit that m/m is one of my favorite genres so my recommendation may be reflective of that, but Ms Donovan has just to the top of my go to authors. This book can be read as a stand alone, but I highly recommend that you read the books in order to get backstory in all the characters. This was a lighthe The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan Five StarsThe Caretaker is the second book in the Sin Bin Series by Dahlia Donovan. I love the way that Ms. Donovan portrays the characters in this series. I have to admit that m/m is one of my favorite genres so my recommendation may be reflective of that, but Ms Donovan has just to the top of my go to authors. This book can be read as a stand alone, but I highly recommend that you read the books in order to get backstory in all the characters. This was a lighthearted romance of the May/December variety. I like this story as well, if not more than the first book.Freddie Whittle is nurse that helps patients on the cancer ward. The pain of losing patients, the bigoted neighbors, and expectations of his fathers are taking a toll. Ne is looking for something/someone to ground him. Taine Afoe is a retired international rugby star. He has decided to move to the country to get away from the rat race. He never thought he would meet someone especially someone so much younger than him.When Freddie and Taine meet the there is an instant attraction. Taine had some second thoughts about getting into a relationship with someone so much younger, but he couldn't get Freddie off his mind. Will Taine let his walls down fast enough to keep Freddie around? You must read to find out if they will become a couple. I really love this series and author. I can't wait to see what Ms. Donovan has instore for us next. She is definitely on my TBR list. This is a great summertime read!
    more
  • Robin Rankin
    July 28, 2017
    The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in the Sin Bin series which follows a group of former Rugby teammates after they have left the game and trying to start the next stage in their lives. I have enjoyed both books and the love the way the guys are with one another. They act like giant children who have money and can drink which isn’t always the smartest but so far, they have been my favorite scenes in the books. We met Freddie in the first book while he was helping care for Graham The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in the Sin Bin series which follows a group of former Rugby teammates after they have left the game and trying to start the next stage in their lives. I have enjoyed both books and the love the way the guys are with one another. They act like giant children who have money and can drink which isn’t always the smartest but so far, they have been my favorite scenes in the books. We met Freddie in the first book while he was helping care for Graham during cancer treatments and there was just something incredible sweet about him and we learn his back story and why he is the way he is which made me love him more. Taine is a former Rugby player, he goes up to the hospital to visit the children in the cancer ward when he sees a young man outside a room talking to himself when a parent calls out to him to get some additional questions answered and Taine gets called to go meet with the children but that doesn’t keep the thoughts from wandering towards the nurse.Freddie has a heart of gold and will do anything for his patients, it takes a special person to not only work in oncology but to work with kids who are so sick is just beyond amazing. On a weekend visit home to see his Dads he stops by the Inn and meets Taine for the first of many times and their attraction is instant, but they both seemed reluctant to admit to themselves let alone anyone else.
    more
  • Morgan
    July 8, 2017
    The Caretaker by Dahila Donovan is the second book in The Sin Bin Series and it's a great addition to the series! While it could be read as a standalone, I would recommend reading them in order just to give a better feel for the story. This one is about two people who come from two different backgrounds but make it work. I absolutely adored the characters and loved seeing this series grow. Another amazing 5 stars! Freddie is a nurse who has devoted his life to his job working with cancer patient The Caretaker by Dahila Donovan is the second book in The Sin Bin Series and it's a great addition to the series! While it could be read as a standalone, I would recommend reading them in order just to give a better feel for the story. This one is about two people who come from two different backgrounds but make it work. I absolutely adored the characters and loved seeing this series grow. Another amazing 5 stars! Freddie is a nurse who has devoted his life to his job working with cancer patients, he feels the pain of losing his patients as though they were his family. His father has certain expections set for him and his neighborhood is a pain in the butt. He's at his breaking point and he's not sure what to do next. Taine is a retired rugby star who needed a chance of pace, and decided to move away from the fast paced London. He never expected to meet anyone who he would share this type of connection with, especially someone who was so much younger than him. But he can't deny their attraction, chemistry and connection. He tries to fight it, he tries to push it away; but in the end, can he? This book was SO good! Dahlia Donovan has once again brought more than just a book to the table. She's created a whole new world and I can't wait to see what she does next with it!
    more
  • Shelley
    July 13, 2017
    The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in the series and it is as good as the first!Freddie Whittle is a young nurse who is dedicated to his work with cancer patients. After losing man family members, he feels like he has to help everyone that he can – no matter how hard it is on him. He just gives and gives and gives some more. It doesn’t help that his fathers have such high expectations of him. They also can’t seem to realize that he is an adult at twenty-six, even if he looks much The Caretaker by Dahlia Donovan is the second book in the series and it is as good as the first!Freddie Whittle is a young nurse who is dedicated to his work with cancer patients. After losing man family members, he feels like he has to help everyone that he can – no matter how hard it is on him. He just gives and gives and gives some more. It doesn’t help that his fathers have such high expectations of him. They also can’t seem to realize that he is an adult at twenty-six, even if he looks much younger! To get some space to be able to live his life, he has finally moved out from under their roof. Taine Afoa, an orphan raised by a very forgiving priest, is slightly lost. He had a great career as a rugby player, though his age lead to his retirement. He is looking forward to the next stage in his life, even if he is not quite sure what that is at the moment. A chance meet between Freddie and Taine changes both of their lives. However, neither are ready to make a move due to the big difference in their age. Will they even try or will they simply walk away? I enjoyed The Caretaker. The only thing that I didn’t enjoy was that there was a lot of sexual content and bondage. Otherwise, it was a good story about two men who are attracted to each other, yet neither is ready to try anything due to their difference in age.
    more
  • Shannon
    July 25, 2017
    I really liked this story. It is book 2 in the Sin Bin Series. Even though there are not many references to the characters in book one, The Wanderer, some characters do make an appearance. This story was a little hard to read for me. There are a lot of characters at the beginning that I sometimes could not keep straight. However, I enjoy Donovan’s storyline and writing style so I was able to get my head right. This story has some humor, some tough issues like homophobes, and even some age issues I really liked this story. It is book 2 in the Sin Bin Series. Even though there are not many references to the characters in book one, The Wanderer, some characters do make an appearance. This story was a little hard to read for me. There are a lot of characters at the beginning that I sometimes could not keep straight. However, I enjoy Donovan’s storyline and writing style so I was able to get my head right. This story has some humor, some tough issues like homophobes, and even some age issues, but overall it has a heart melting love story. “After all, it occurred to him that not every story had to written down on paper with ink. Theirs could easily be etched into their skin using the bed for a desk. They could provide the canvas and paints with their body.”Freddie is a 26 year old nurse who works with cancer patients. His heart is clearly, very big. He is a sweet guy, who tries to make everyone around him happy first. Taine, also known as Tens, is a 40 year old retired rugby player. Where Freddie is soft and sweet, Tens is big, tough and hard. Their reaction to each other is fun to watch. Their adventure to getting to know each other even better! Donovan creates an ending that ensures we get to read more from the Sin Bin! I recommend this story!
    more
  • Lisa
    July 8, 2017
    Freddie and Taine are Dahlia Donovan at her best!!!I felt so at home and so comfortable with this book and proud that the author decided to showcase some of Wales and some Welsh. Being Welsh and proud of it made me proud whilst reading it and took me back to my school days where we all learnt how to swear in Welsh before anything else!! Freddie, in his role as a cancer nurse, spends his life caretaking and looking after others in the darkest moments of their lives. He is generous with his time a Freddie and Taine are Dahlia Donovan at her best!!!I felt so at home and so comfortable with this book and proud that the author decided to showcase some of Wales and some Welsh. Being Welsh and proud of it made me proud whilst reading it and took me back to my school days where we all learnt how to swear in Welsh before anything else!! Freddie, in his role as a cancer nurse, spends his life caretaking and looking after others in the darkest moments of their lives. He is generous with his time and his love. Even in the face of being targeted by residents in his neighbourhood, he still retains his calmness and patience. Taine, ex-rugby player and older and than Freddie sees Freddie and has a burning desire to care for the caretaker. But over-protective dads and a lack of belief in himself from Taine places plenty of bumps in the road.I did a complete full on happy dance after reading this very sweet, poignant read. Da iawn Dahlia, da iawn.***Reviewed for LBM Book Blog***
    more
  • Erith
    July 11, 2017
    So amusingI can see why Dahlia had fun with this book. I'm sure that Freddie must be related to the adorable Fwannie!Freddie's cheese is Frannie's Watson.Freddie is a lovely guy with a really big heart, good friends and very caring and over protective fathers.Taine is a recently retired successful rugby player who doesn't do relationships but once he meets Freddie he can't get him out of his mind and his fellow retirees (overgrown school boys) encourage him to go after Freddie as they can see he So amusingI can see why Dahlia had fun with this book. I'm sure that Freddie must be related to the adorable Fwannie!Freddie's cheese is Frannie's Watson.Freddie is a lovely guy with a really big heart, good friends and very caring and over protective fathers.Taine is a recently retired successful rugby player who doesn't do relationships but once he meets Freddie he can't get him out of his mind and his fellow retirees (overgrown school boys) encourage him to go after Freddie as they can see he's attracted to him.He struggles with the age difference between them but it's clear that it's not an issue for Freddie who is much more worried about his clients than a budding relationship with the kind and loving dom.Dahlia definitely knows how to entertain her readers.I've pre-ordered next in the series but I'm also champing at the bit to read about the troubled Scottie.
    more
  • Socially Book Nerd
    June 27, 2017
    the Wanderer, had me in tears, and now we get Freddie's story. He is such a giving individual, a nurse to terminally Ill paceints, is tough. Ten's is a rough built former rougby player, but he has a soft gentle side to him, he sees Freddy's pain and torment and wants to shield him. Relive some of that weight he carries. But being so much older than the young nurse he has reservation about starting anything with him. a wonderful book about two people who are missing something in their lives, and the Wanderer, had me in tears, and now we get Freddie's story. He is such a giving individual, a nurse to terminally Ill paceints, is tough. Ten's is a rough built former rougby player, but he has a soft gentle side to him, he sees Freddy's pain and torment and wants to shield him. Relive some of that weight he carries. But being so much older than the young nurse he has reservation about starting anything with him. a wonderful book about two people who are missing something in their lives, and don't realize it until they find it in each other... I can't wait for more from the sin bin!
    more
  • Amanda Jane Williams
    July 26, 2017
    While this can be read as a stand alone I would recommend reading #1 so you can get a little bit of background information. I enjoyed reading this and would recommend it to everyone.
  • Candice
    July 25, 2017
    HATE Freddie's parents! UGH!
Write a review